The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Inteliusfraudulent charges

S
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

Intelius submits recurring fraudulent charges to your account on a monthly basiI used Intelius one time to purchase a "report." Since that time, the company has submitted numerous monthly charges to my bank without my knowledge or permission. There is no way to redress this situation; when you try to get in touch with someone from the company there is no way to reach them. And so the charges keep coming and coming with no recourse...and thats the way it goes. on and on and on. And the company does this to numerous other people, from what I see on the internet. They should be shut down if this contninues.

RESOLVED

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

  • Intelius's response · Oct 14, 2009

    If you select a promotional price on the Intelius website, you will also receive a free 7 day trial of Identity Protect. After the 7 day trial, it will convert to a regular subscription and bill out at $19.95 monthly.

    However, there’s no obligation. If you determine within the 7 day trial that you no longer want Identity Protect, you can cancel your service anytime, online or over the phone with a customer support representative.

    Please call [protected] Monday – Friday 4:30am – 9:00pm PST. We will be more than happy to assist you with your account.

    If you don't wish to accept the 7 day trial, you always have the option to pay the regular price as well.

  • Intelius's response · Oct 23, 2009

    If you select a promotional price on the Intelius website, you will also receive a free 7 day trial of Identity Protect. After the 7 day trial, it will convert to a regular subscription and bill out at $19.95 monthly.

    However, there’s no obligation. If you determine within the 7 day trial that you no longer want Identity Protect, you can cancel your service anytime, online or over the phone with a customer support representative.

  • Intelius's response · Jun 03, 2016

    Intelius is required to keep your credit card information on file for tax purposes. The credit card information is kept secure.

Responses

  • De
    debbie60435 Jun 17, 2009

    I used this company one time for a search, paid for it, and then they charged me $19.95 on my credit card without my consent. They have refused to answer my emails and calls for a refund. DO NOT ever give this company your financial information. They are a fraudulent company and an unethical one.

    0 Votes
  • Cl
    ClassAdvocate Jun 17, 2009

    I have seen a bunch of these complaints over the past 6 months. HEre is a list of class actions against internet service providers. Nothing yet on your company, but take a look and I will keep you posted.
    http://www.classadvocate.com/?direct=y&category=product&product_root%5B%5D=406

    0 Votes
  • Mm
    mmwfy Aug 07, 2009

    I ordered 2 address searches from Intelius back in May for $0.95 and $1.75. I recently found out from my bank that they have been charging my bank debit card every month since then for $19.95 a month for something called Identity Protect. In total, they have charged me $59.85 for this service which I never ordered, do not need, and do not even know what it is! I was never sent any confirmation for this supposed order either. I contacted their customer service via e-mail and they said they would not give me a refund because I agreed to their "terms of service" (which must include fraud and stealing money out of their customers' accounts) and instead offered me credits for their website worth a couple dollars! Is there anything I can do besides file a complaint with the BBB (I already did and am waiting for Intelius's response)? I have found hundreds of complaints online against Intelius for the EXACT SAME THING!

    DO NOT USE INTELIUS FOR ANYTHING! ONCE THEY HAVE YOUR CREDIT/DEBIT CARD INFO, THEY WILL CHARGE YOU MONTHLY FOR THINGS YOU DID NOT ORDER!

    -mmwfy

    0 Votes
  • An
    anonyMiss Aug 07, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    In order for them to charge you have to have agreed via verbal command on a recorded phone call. They have to check their records. Keep bugging them about it and hopefully they will eventually check the recorded calls.

    1 Votes
  • Si
    Sillohed2 Sep 09, 2009

    I am having a similar problem. If you order an Intelius report they automatically sigh you up for their identity protection service. You have to cancel it by going to http://www.intelius.com/manage
    It does appear to work BUT I will have to check my next visa bill to make sure.

    1 Votes
  • Tr
    trudyism Dec 02, 2009

    This company is a big rip off. Beware they offer a 1 time fee and once they get your credit card number they charge you $19.95 a month. Check your bank statments carefully. Don't use this company.

    0 Votes
  • Up
    upset80631 Dec 19, 2009

    I requested a number look up and was shown on the screen that if I paid $4.99 I would receive the name and address of the person owning the phone. I requested this information and got NAME:" CELL PHONE" CRICKET CUSTOMER AND THE NAME OF A CITY. When I checked my debit card it was charged $4.99 and $19.95. I could not sign on to cancel because the site said I had no account. I stopped payment at my bank and notified them via e-mail. Waiting for reply?

    1 Votes
  • Mm
    mmwfy Jun 29, 2010

    Intelius should be upfront with their customers and only charge them for things that the customers ask for instead of trying to SCAM them by subscribing them for some useless program without their consent. Glad I contacted the BBB who helped me get a refund!

    0 Votes
  • Ba
    Baitcar Jul 10, 2010

    I ordered a phone number check. When I attempted to cancel the membership because the info was not correct, I received an email that stated "IF WE DECIDE TO CANCEL YOUR MEMBERSHIP..." The membership info clearly states that if you notify them within 7 days, you can cancel. I ordered it on Friday and attempted to cancel on Monday. Do we have any recourse? That is straight out theft!I will contact the BBB.

    0 Votes
  • Je
    Jewell Whitmill Sep 12, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    i notified intelius that i just wanted to find a phone number and the number could not be found so they would not charge me for the services. and that i wanted to cancel any services that i had with them . come to find out they charged my debit card for what i believe was a member ship fee after i had already canceled. and i would like for them to cancel that service and also replace me for the charges that they charge to my card .I would be appreciated to contact with a response to this matter at my email address [protected]@yahoo.com

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Mary K. Smalley Jan 09, 2011

    I also was scammed. I just noticed I have been charged 19.95 plus 19.95. plus 4.95 on three seperate months. That is over $135. to my knowledge I have not received any service for these charges. WOW! I must be more vigilent in the future and check every bill every month. [protected]@aol.com

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Mary K. Smalley Jan 09, 2011

    I do not understand how they can justify charging me 19.95 twice 2 days apart and then another charge of 4.95 all in the same month. They have done this three months in a row. I do not recall recieving any service from these people. What a bunch of theives.[protected]@aol.com

    0 Votes
  • Ic
    icjr Feb 03, 2011

    I have been fighting with these folks for almost a year...they have defrauded my account for at least a year. WHEN I called them and requested a refund they indicated they could only authorize 1 Month.
    I will taking them to small claims court. I also notice that there is a Class Action suit against them but they know the Legal system and by the time the Judge grants a settlement They will be broke. [protected]@gmail.com

    0 Votes
  • Sq
    Squash68 Mar 03, 2011

    I too tried to look up a name associated with a phone number, I was charged $0.99. The website was a little tricky when navigating but I did see that in order to get the .99 price I had to agree to a Protect membership that could be cancelled within 7 days. I tried to cancel on line but could not figure out to do it…I then called and waited for 8 minutes. The lady was very nice she refunded me my .99 (b/c the number search didn’t turn up anything) and canceled the subscription for protect, with no charges. Pay attention to what your buying folks! I have no issues this company.

    0 Votes
  • An
    anon2000 May 25, 2011

    It sucks. I supposedly agreed to the trial which then turned into a "subscription"! Then, when I called and asked for a refund they said no... even though I didn't even use the stupid service. Liars and Cheats. UGH!

    0 Votes
  • An
    andrea18 Jul 20, 2011

    Same fraudulent charge for me. never give credit number to this site. I never authorized them to charge any monthly fee.

    0 Votes
  • On
    ONESICKPUPPY Nov 09, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    ALL YOU HAVE TO DO IS SAY DISPUTE AND THEY HAVE NO CHOICE BUT TO REFUND ALLLLLLLL THE CHARGES I USED TO WORK THERE TRUST ME I KNOW HOW MUCH OF A SCAM THEY ARE!!! JUST SAY DISPUTE AND THEY WILL REFUND EVERYTHING

    0 Votes
  • Be
    Believesinhonesty Jun 03, 2016

    I have had the same problem with them. I am frightened that this information gathering company refuses to respect my strong request for the deletion of my credit card number and other information, especially when that company's consumer representatives are so rude and unprofessional. Since I did not purchase anything they had no reason to keep my cc number on file "for tax purposes". I immediately reported this to my credit card company and had a new card issued.

    0 Votes
  • Cr
    cristina capobianco Jun 03, 2016

    I asked for a specific ownership and property details, paid for and it was delivered without the answers I called and spoke to someone called Dianne 9supervisor) asked to have my credit card deleted fro their records due to the situations that have been brought to my attention on the complaint board, she answered she could not do that... they have deleted my report, and no other concern for my issue...I want to make sure my credit card is no longer available to them. the 2 companies are one they are completely the same...

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions