Having problems with Intelius?

File a complaint and get it resolved. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!
Proudly resolving consumer concerns since 2004

Customer Service

C/O Intelius, 500 108th Ave. NE, 16th Floor
Bellevue, Washington
United States - 98004
Mon5:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Tue5:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Wed5:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Thu5:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Fri5:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Sat6:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Sun6:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Complaints & Reviews

refund

My card was charged 29.95 without my permission i have not signed up for any subscriptions and i want you to refund my money that is not fair to me that you just charge my card for something i don't want and did not even use i tried contacting customer service but it keeps saying closed i really need a response and a refund on my end because i was not notified anything was being taken off my card and i was not satisfied this service is horrible and i need my money back to me ASAP my email is [protected]@gmail.com for contacts

unauthorized monthly charges to my checking account in the amount of $119.80

I used this service once to find/confirm past residential addresses of mine for a job application.

I see numerous charges over months to my personal checking account.

$29.95 on Oct 15
$29.95 on Sept 12
$29.95 on Aug 12
$29.95 on July 12

I need this money refunded to me immediately.
I need this money refunded to me immediately.
I need this money refunded to me immediately.

-Darby Erin

people search rip off

I paid for a one tinme fee of $29.95 on Sept. 29, 2019 to do a person search. They have since started billing me monthly. They are making it difficult for me to sign in and cancel the charges.
looks like they make the money by ripping people off.
Also the background check was pathetic. They only showed basic information that you can get for fee on the net.
ep 29 2019
Intelius Automatic Payment
Loading transaction details for Intelius Automatic Payment
- negative $29.95
Online Services
Close

Sept. 29th 2019
Paid with
FIRST SECURITY BK x-2066

Manage Intelius payments

Category
Online Services

Transaction ID
3RP23961LN2760603

Seller info
Intelius
[protected]
http://www.intelius.com
[protected]@intelius.com

Invoice ID
PC00558319

Purchase details
Purchase amount
$29.95
Total

ct 22 2019
Intelius Automatic Payment
Loading transaction details for Intelius Automatic Payment
- negative $29.95
Online Services
Close
There is an open dispute associated with this transaction. Visit the Resolution Center to view status.

Oct. 22, 2019
Paid with
FIRST SECURITY BK x-2066

Manage Intelius payments

Category
Online Services

Transaction ID
22070465FW301411C

Seller info
Intelius
[protected]
http://www.intelius.com
[protected]@intelius.com

Invoice ID
PC00742445

Purchase details
Purchase amount
$29.95

product/ scam

$29 was taken out of my account and I don't know what for. I am requesting a refund and a cancellation! I used this site one time only and they changed me and I got one piece of information, so why was I charged $29. I'm 65 years old on a fixed income. I can't afford this. Please look into this and refund my money. Thanks for letting me leave this message. Hope to hear from someone. [protected]@yahoo.com

pch*intelius

I never once put down my credit card or personal address information while accessing the site I didn't make any authorization or purchases for any subscription.. and yet I'm getting charged for a $39.95 monthly subscription.

How are they even doing this? This should be absolutely illegal.

I called my bank and told them this was never authorized by me and now I had to cancel my card and have a new one replaced.

We are here to help

  • 16 years' experience in successful complaint resolution
  • Each complaint is handled individually by highly qualified experts
  • Honest and unbiased reviews
  • Last but not least, all our services are absolutely free

subscription

I had signed up for the 7 day free trial to try it out but wasn't what I expected at all, didn't get any of the information the page had told me I'd be able to obtain, waste of time that's the reason why I cancelled it and still got charged for the month after cancelled on the 7 day free trial. Can I get my refund for the month I was charged? Greatly appreciate it! Thank you!

fraudulent membership created in my name & fraudulent charges on my bank account

An account was opened without my creating it & when I saw the first charge a month ago, I emailed and called Intelius advising this was not an account I created & I wanted it cancelled AND REQUESTED A REFUND OF THE FRAUDULENT CHARGES.
The rep assured me it was cancelled & I did receive a refund a few days later. Imagine my anger tonight while checking my card statement online, and I see I was charged an ADDITIONAL $29.95 to my MasterCard ending in 5317 for a fraudulent account using my name (Kelly Collins) that I was assured had been cancelled.
The account was set up under
[protected]@gmail.com
BUT, my personal email address is
[protected]@gmail.com
Just a 1 number difference!
I'M LIVID!!

membership

Cant [censored]ing cancel this membership.

The [censored] directions they give on their site do not contain the 'Cancel My Membership' link as they listed below. They have [censored]ing charged me $29.95 for 5 months now. I want my [censored]ing money back.

You can cancel your membership directly from Intelius Premier.
https://intelius.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/articles/115002739991-How-do-I-cancel-my-Intelius-Premier-membership-

To cancel your Intelius Premier membership, follow these steps:
Go to www.intelius.com/premier and sign in to your account.
Click the My Account tab.
On the My Account page, under My Membership, click the Cancel My Membership link.
A window will appear asking you to confirm that you want to cancel your membership. If you do so, another window will appear with a printable Cancellation Confirmation. If you require additional assistance, please call [protected], Monday-Friday, 7:00 AM to 4:00 PM Pacific Time.

unethical behaviour

i signed up for a 99 cent trial. tried to cancel after that because i was not able to do anything on the site. couldn't cancel. kept telling me there would be a place soon where i would be able to do that. never showed up in my in box. shortly after that i was charged 39.95 for a service i do not want. i tried to log in and couldn't. asked 3 times for a code so i could use a new password and sign in . each time it said it was sending a code to my hotmail and each time nothing came. they are scamming me out of my money and i cannot find a way to get rid of them. Please help!!

website for locating information

SCAM - They discreetly sign you up for a monthly fee and then it is impossible to have the monthly fee...

charges to my paypal account

you charged me 3 months service of 29.95 per month for services i did not approve. I have already stopped...

three different charges posting to my bank account

I have 3 different charges pending to my bank account. One is in the amount of $19.95, $29.95, $39.95. I have...

Intelius

scam!!! they are stealing my money!!!

Without authorization they are taking $29.95 a month out of my bank account. I paid for a one time search for $2.95 then a month and a half later they just began taking money out of my account with no way to remove my card from the profile nor is there an easy way to remove the account. I am so angry I want to drive to the home office and show them why you do not mess with people and why you do not steal from hardworking Americans.. I am at my limit and they refuse to even reply to my complaints. THIS IS A SCAM and if you do a white pages search you get the exact same information and its more up to date. DO NOT GIVE THEM ANY OF YOUR BANKING INFORMATION YOU WILL REGRET IT!!

complaint

I thought maybe l will use intelius so l filled out all my information even my credit card, as it said 0.99 or 0.95, but after l completed my information l read further and could not quite understand the charges and with that l decided not to request any information, so in short l have not received any information. I'm concerned as it looks like they plan to charge regardless that i've not used their service and theirs page is like a fly trap if that is so, don't l deserve the right to change my mind, especially that your business has not given me anything. L grid to remove my information but so far what it says to do to cancel is not there

  • Updated by Sunfish21 · Jun 06, 2018

    intellius Flytrap

  • Sa
    Sandra Kirkland Jun 29, 2018

    I just signed up for one month o f classmates because I had been receiving emails that other former classmates had viewed or messaged me. When I went to the Web site, I discovered that this was not true. I have tried to cancel this, , but there is no way to do so. I hope the phone number is not bogus.

    0 Votes

misleading advertising

I would like a full refund please. I have already paid for two different things and still do not have access to the records I originally was trying to purchase. I do not want to continue to be billed for any of your services. what I actually bought was not what I wanted. it was not explained clearly and seems to me that the intention was to trick people into having to spend more and more money. the whole thing is completely misleading. please refund all of my money immediately and cancel my subscription or I will have to contact the better business bureau. thank you.

intelius removed money from my bank account without my explicit knowledge or permission.

Intelius removed money from my bank account without my explicit knowledge or permission.
· there were absolutely no service or product rendered in exchange for the money intelius removed from my account.
· after contacting intelius several time to explain the details, intelius terms of service would not return the money even though no services were rendered.
· I made a small one time service purchase. intelius states that a clause during checkout entitled them to continue to bill for no additional request for service.
· the clause was not prevalent (hidden) because I was careful not to agree to or did I want any service contract throughout the initial purchase.
· most companies, with a reasonable business model, would consider this overlooked mistake grounds for a full refund.
· intelius has chosen to take the low road of hidden fees and contracts with a policy of not returning money for no service rendered.

repeated charges on my credit card

I purchased a.95 cent search in october 2016 and since that time they have been charging my card $29.95 per month which was not authorized! this is a total scam. I would never have knowingly purchased a subscription for this unless it was hidden. I want all the charges taken off. I have never received any goods or services for this. refund my $359.40 I am filing a report with cfpb and the state ag immediately.

bait and switch. single report $1.00 but billed $30

They intice one into a report for a dollar, but in the fine print bills $30 on ones crdit card. the "cart" does not reviel the $30 charge. so it looks like you just paying for a onetime reportfor one search result.

For example today it says,
"people search report

Includes 1 search result for xxxx xxxx in anytown, usa

Report includes when available:

Full name
Address
Age & dob
Aliases
Phone number
Relatives
Address history

Premier member, you get this report at no charge!

No charge view report

So you might think its free for today.

  • Updated by Vegan life · Mar 29, 2017

    Here is the receipt of the Original Transaction:

    Phone Report #114871340 $0.95
    Tax $0.08
    Total $1.03
    Intelius Premier Plus #114871342

    NOTE: Your card statement will show 2 line items.
    INO*INTELIUS.COM/RT $1.03

unauthorized credit card charges

I signed up for a free one month of service, got the one phone number I was looking for and then cancelled before the free month was up, about September 10th 2016. Since then I have continued to get unauthorized charges for 29.95 a month for the months of September, October, November, December, January and February. Unfortunately, I was not receiving paper statements and did not notice the charges. I also have autopay set up on the credit card. I would like to request a full refund of all 6 charges of $29.95

phone lookup service

On February 4, 2017 I used the service to lockup a phone number.
The lookup cost $9.95. The information it provided was incorrect.

I expected that might happen and was not upset until I found they had signed me up for a Intelius Premier membership fee for $19.95, which they had already billed to my Chase credit card account.
I received a fraud notice from Chase, (I presume they are on the bank's watch list) and contacted the bank. I want the $19.95 charge removed and cancel any membership they signed me up for.

phone lookup service

Intelius

In The News

Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem