The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Hondanavigation system

Latest update for Honda Navigation system (2010 Navteq) does no contain highway construction that is at least 2 years old. Company admits that the 2010 disk has 2008 data. Don't spend the $180. You will not be able to re-install your old disk, without help from the dealer. Honda did agree to reimbursement if you send the disk back.

Responses

  • Kc
    KC wen Jun 15, 2010

    They are the worst company I have ever dealt with...I even told Acura I would never buy another Acura vehicle since they do business with Navteq. I guess that would mean Honda too.

    0 Votes
  • Kc
    KC wen Jun 15, 2010

    Unfortunately, I spent the $180(which I should have just bought a Garmin and saved money) and the update didn't even have data that was over 2 years ago...When I called, they said I should have checked their website to make sure the address was in their system. How am I suppose to know where I am going ahead of time... that is why I have a GPS. Then they try to tell me they personally check the info, so it is delayed...I called BS...since it still tries to send me down a dead end road for the last 6 years...

    I wish the media would put the info out on this scam...selling old info as an update...FRAUD!!!

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    paidtoomuch Jun 22, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I paid over $3000 for the navigation system package on my 2010 Honda CRV, and the mapping information is very out-of-date. The DVD says 2008, but I think it is older than that, at least 3 -5 years old. The buyer needs to be told up front that the navigation system is out of date before paying this kind of money. My stand-alone Nuvi Garmin for which I paid $300 was much superior. I can't even type in some street numbers that have been added in the last three years, it doesn't recognize state highways that were four-laned at least 5 years ago, has taken me off of state highways onto pig trails, etc. Honda told me to contact Alpine. Alpine told me I could buy an update (September 2009), but I refuse to put out that kind of money on a new vehicle. Consumer Reports needs to mention this issue when rating cars.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    chaithu Sep 21, 2010

    improper service

    0 Votes
  • Jm
    jmuduke99 Nov 07, 2010

    I just got the new 2011 navigation "upgrade" for $200. WHAT A SCAM!!! There is absolutely NOTHING about it that is updated (perhaps they added a new road in Nebraska or something). The LOW quality graphics and menu interface are the exact same as the previous version. WHAT A WASTE OF $200!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ye
    yentz Nov 08, 2013

    own an 2010 accord w/ nav. little usage of nav. am also getting error message . contacted alpine and was told they would cure all my problems if I sent them the dvd unit in trunk for a mere $358. I understand that sometimes repairs can cost a lot because there is labor costs involved. I figured I could probably buy a brand new unit for maybe a little more ! WRONG --they told me the cost of new was around $2500 !!! boy do they have a good gimmick going!! don't waste your money on the repair and buy yourself a portable gps for less than the repair cost ($350) . they are more user friendly, more up to date, and give you FREE lifetime updates

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem