Direct TVvery poor service and unacceptable contract

J
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer
Review updated:

I have had direct TV now for about three months and have had one problem after another. I had initially switched from cable to DirectTV because I thought that their high definition service would be superior. Big mistake. Since the time of install I have been through 4 high definition receivers, each one failing for a different reason. When your service goes out with DirectTV your only option is to wait for a replacement box or for a service tech which in my case has taken close to a week each time. My service has been so spotty that I have had to retain my cable so that I have a backup. Talk about spending too much for T.V. service. Now that my experience with these buffoons has soured to the point it has i decided that i had had enough. Unfortunately their two year contract insulates them from having to provide any level of acceptable service at all. Even though my experience has been a nightmare and I have spent countless valuable hours trying to resolve issues they will not offer to terminate my contract no matter how many times I have requested this. I am currently without any service again and I have decided that I am going to bite the bullet and pay the termination fee. I am not litigious person but have considered taking these bullies to court. I can't imagine that I am the only person that has had these issues. I would avoid doing business with this company at all cost. I wish good luck to all those that are in the same boat as me.

Responses

  • Ma
    Mary Ames Feb 24, 2021

    help me Mary Ames [protected] tv does not wor k send me someone to fix it for me am old

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Marvin & Martha Harris Mar 23, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    WE HAD DIRECTV FOR TWENTY YEARS AND NOW SINCE AT&T TOOK OVER FROM THE HUGHES COMPANY WHEN IT WAS GREAT >>> THEY DO NOW TOTALLY SUCK AND ARE NOW DO NOT CARE IF YOU COME OR GO; CUSTOMER SERVICE WENT FROM #1 TO HELL IN A HANDBAG. STAY AWAY FROM THEM AS LONG AS AT&T IN CHARGE AS EVERYONE IS BOUND TO GET THE SHAFT AND WISH YOU WERE NEVER A CUSTOMER. PLEASE READ ALSO OUR FROM MARVIN & MARTHA HARRIS POST ON 03/23/20 REGARDING OUR TERRIBLE EXPERIENCE AFTER TWENTY YEARS WITH THE NOW CRAP OF A COMPANY.

    0 Votes
  • Biggus Dickus Feb 26, 2020

    Dear idiot,

    It seems to me that you failed to read the terms of the contract and are now reaping the rewards of your flagrant stupidity. Look on the bright side! Now that you have cable as well, you’ll never have to worry about missing out on service exclusive channels and you can skip the extra random 3.99 charges for the movies of guys getting railed from behind because that’s precisely what you get when you visit your mailbox each month to pay the bills. Enjoy!

    Hope that helps!

    Your friend,

    Biggus Dickus

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Ron Beach Mar 04, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Direct TV and their rip-off- I read on line about getting a FREE UPGRADE and if I didn't get the upgrade my TV Service would be interrupted so I took the free upgrade and no time was anything mention about an increase in my bill - well they LIED. I will not tolerate being lied too, and now I have a $20.00 increase on my bill for the FREE UPGRADE. I should have been told about the added fee but wasn't until I got the bill. When the first bill came I called to asked why the increase and the agent took the $20.00 off my bill. But then the bill came for Feb and there was the increase again. I called again and was told they could take off $29.00 a month. It isn't really the money but that I wasn't told about the increase in my monthly bill by anyone that is until I got the bill. I am about at the point that I will cancel my contract for TV service, there are other ones out there and cancel my AT&T telephone and go to someone that will tell you the truth. (my email - - [email protected] if you care to reply

    0 Votes
  • Ar
    Arlene Hood Jun 24, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    On the 24 June 2018, I telephoned the Directv for Location Replacement clarification on bedroom TV...What I received from Jasmine, Resolution Dept., was the worst customer service ever. Jasmine was condensing in her delivery of upgrades. She kept over-talking me and she disconnected my call.

    Prior to being disconnected, I asked for a supervisor, Jasmine stated, "there is NO supervisor on the floor for me to speak...

    Remedy: Jasmine should be retrained or discharge to look for a more fitting career.

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    June Jan 22, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I urge all people that complaints about Direct TV and their deceptive sales practices to sell their service to people to file a complaint with the Federal Trade Commission. There is a page there for filing complaints against internet and TV providers.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    cablehoax Jun 03, 2016

    My daughter wanted to get cable and direct tv told her they could install satellite cable if she gave them $1.00 as a special installation deal but it would have to be by credit card. I didnt like the idea sounded fishy to me but the direct tv representative said that i as the mother could charge the $1.00 and they would take my credit card off of their system. I use at&t uverse...Never had any problems with them but my daughter wanted to try the direct tv . Well, she didnt pay her bill for two months of $80.00 (Basic satellite) and they lied about not using my (Mother's credit card) and 3 months later they took $481.00 from my acct. I talked to a supervisor in billing and he told me that if we gave them the card # at the beginning for her even though our name is not on the acct that it was just too bad. This is a totally unauthorized transaction. They dont care and they appear per the complaints to be doing it all the time to other people all over the country. This is stealing and it appears that our laws are letting them succeed stealing from people that are not even their customers. They dont care if you threaten to sue they will tell you to go right ahead and still keep your money. They tell you to fax in a dispute and they will return it but they do not! This company has got to be shut down . Does anyone know how without it costing me an arm and a leg ? Doesnt our consumer laws protect us at all??????????

    0 Votes
  • Zb
    zbarsan Jun 03, 2016

    definity i won't ever get direct tv and won't ever recomended.. i just had the worse experience ever... just lier like timewarner!! my contract was up last year and i decided to cancel but they offered me alot much things so i won't go.. i decided that i would stay and specified that i didn't want contract.. but they never told me that by getthing the free dvr for 12 months i was getting a contract for 24 months.. so now i have to moved and cancel the service because they lanlord doesn't alow satelic.. and they told me that i have a contract that it will cause $280 to cancel.. i can't freaking believe this is happening again just like timewarner did to me back in the days. def i won't recomended like i was doing to my friends.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    joe amo Jun 03, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I GOT TAKEN BY IYOGI TECH SUPPORT FOR $ 199- ABOUT THREE MONTHS AGO THEY TOLD ME I HAD A BUG & THE COST WOULD BE $ 199- SO I TOLD THEM TO FIX IT NOT KNOWING I DIDN, T HAVE TO PAY. THEY TOLD ME THAT I HAD TO PAY THAT I WASN, T COVERED. I COMPLAINED BUT GOT NOWHERE. JOE AMO

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    joe amo Jun 03, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    directv is getting to be exspensive i, m thinking about droping them there are other co. out there less exspensive.

    0 Votes
  • Sg
    S.G Jun 03, 2016

    I purchase service from DIRECT TV on November 10, 09, $39.99 pckg, I received bill statement asking for a payment in full in about a week with the full price for $87.00, I called and asked if I could cancel my service because I was dis satified with their lack of telling us customer, they did my rebate on line from their office themselves, so I wasn't going to receive the special offer for $26, only $21, then I wasn't told that this package was for 2 yrs, I asked if I cancelled before my 30 days would I still be charged for 24 month they said yes $480.00, they are very unfair and dirty. I spoke with a supervisor, he didn't offer no support

    0 Votes
  • Ry
    Ryandlogan Jun 03, 2016

    Cindy-
    I have had Direct TV since 2001. and I have found out a lot about their business practices that I am not liking. I, too have tried to cancel, and when I called they stated that I had another year left. Which is ridiculous. They extend your contract if they replace a remote control, a receiver, add a receiver and even if you change your programming package, ... Which is completely unbelievable yet true. I am looking into fighting them at this moment. Let me know if you find anything out.

    0 Votes
  • Ci
    Cindy Wolf Jun 03, 2016

    The Direct TV DVR converter we were issued stopped working. After spending "forever" on the phone trying to get the thing working again I was told that we needed this replaced. We had to wait for a replacement to arrive and then mailed the broken one back. Again I had to spend time on the phone getting the new converter working.

    Some time later when calling Direct TV with a billing issue we found out that the replacement of a non functioning converter now extended our contract another two years! We wanted to cancel the service but if we do, we have to pay a fee to get out of this extended contract. How can they do that without informing us?

    0 Votes
  • Ji
    Jilline Cornett May 24, 2016

    I am going through a divorce, at the time I got service I had two incomes, now I have one so I had to get rid of cable and you are trying to charge me $362 to cancel it and put me in financial hardship when I have enough hardship. My next step is the BBB if my fee is not waived.

    0 Votes
  • Ph
    Phil Klitzke May 03, 2016

    We signed up for Direct TV HBO On Demand. They took our payment. When trying to sign in, they told us the service has not been available for over a month and they didn't know when it would be ready. WTF. Stay away!

    0 Votes
  • Le
    Lena Monceaux Apr 26, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hi I have been scammed by these people they charged me 49.99 and when I called they never answer it's linfinity sales group location [protected] fl posted date 4816 category utilities please someone help me get a refund

    0 Votes
  • Af
    afguy45 Feb 09, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Direct TV is bad and even worst now that the crooks ATT&T has taken over. I never signed an agreement with them but am being charged $200 cancellation fee. I will pay it to never return to this Company again in my life.!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    Radhey Radhey sharma Dec 23, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    As per advertisement by airtel dth my order no sd 0012248 -sansui mobile model no u30 received in Peking box totally defective on 19/10/15 immediately complain to customer care on 20/10/15 to till date 50 times on std phone & 50 mail sent to company reply only forward you complain& reverse pick up shortly after 60 days mail received you send defective pro.to Delhi contact no.mr.pragti tiwari n.o [protected] this no false please arrange to refund amount rs 2990+500 std charge

    0 Votes
  • Is
    Iselamky Sep 14, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Direct TV is becoming a nightmare!!! I moved almost a year ago and had two techs come to my new apartment and both stated that there was no line of service from my apartment...Direct TV kept billing me until I called and told them that I did not have service because the techs were not able to install the satellite due to no line of service. Direct TV stated that the techs did not write on their notes that there was no line of service and that I had stated that I did not want the satellite on my patio. I never stated I did not want the service and still Direct TV sent my account to collections for 180.00 for not paying a cancellation fee!!! I NEVER CANCELLED MY SERVICE!!! We should be able to sue Direct TV for damage to credit and for having to receive harassing phone calls from collectors!!
    I just spoke to someone at Direct TV for about the 10th time and they told me to file a dispute for the charges and then they will call me with a result to my dispute. I already did this about 7 months ago and Direct TV stated that I need to pay 40.00 to reactivate my account because it was disconnected when it was sent to collections!! I DID NOT CANCEL MY SERVICE!!!
    So, I refuse to have to pay 40.00 when I DID NOT CANCEL MY SERVICE IN THE FIRST PLACE!!!
    FRUSTRATING...FRUSTRATING...FRUSTRATING!!!...
    I am telling all my family and friends about this nightmare in order for them to NEVER make business with this company!! and I am taking it to the radio, since I have a very good friend that can do me the favor to pass on this horrible service from this company!!! This has to come to an end...I feel bad for the people that work for this company!!!

    0 Votes
  • Re
    Reviewer48850 Aug 25, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I had direct TV in North Carolina. Over a year ago I moved back with my parents in Pennsylvania. At the time, June 2014, I called Direct TV to cancel my service as I was moving in with my parents. I was told by the representative that my "contract" was not up and I should suspend my service. Well, I did that and moved home. Here it is August, 2015 and I am still being billed. Called Customer service which is a joke, and found out that for as many months as I suspend my service, they tack it on to my contract. If I cancel I will have to pay the termination amount for as many months as remain on my contract. It is a revolving door. Suspend and your contract will NEVER be up. So for me to cancel, they are going to charge me approximately $240.00 because they keep extending the contract time. This is highway robbery as far as I am concerned. I am filing a complaint with the Better Business Bureau. Something needs to be done about Direct TV!

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    Kelley Cahill Aug 21, 2015

    I have to say please check the address of the Bill RPM sends you from Direct TV. I am looking at a Bill from RPM saying I owe Direct TV 610.58 . It says it is from my account dating 4/26/2014. The address is correct but the street is wrong, the zip is wrong. I looked up the address they had and it is someone else's home but they are using my name. Also, I have lived in my current home for over 3 years and have not had direct TV since 2011 and yet they say my bill is from 2014? These people are crooks and someone has a great scam going. I say to dispute with the credit reporting agencies if these people have ruined your credit and contact the FTC at 1-877-FTC-HELP.

    0 Votes
  • Ni
    NitaJ Aug 21, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    On June 9, 2015 I contacted Direct TV to cancel my service. I let an agent by the name of Erma talk me into Select Choice service...much to my dismay I was overbilled by AT&T/Direct TV for the 2015 NFL Sunday ticket/MAX (I do not watch sports). I had received the letter about cancellation if I was not interested in this to cancel before September 13, 2015...Why would I be billed in July for this service if Erma did not add this on my account arbitrarily? How could this be? I believe this is a mis-representation of the company and had to jump through hoops and still do not believe that this issue will probably be resolved. I spoke with four different reps today and felt that I was basically being given the run around, including having to contact AT&T. Addition poor customer service. I want to be sure that my account is corrected. My account # is [protected].
    I am a senior and sincerely disgusted having to go through so much to get an accurate bill. These people/agents are so nice as long as they are selling you something but follow up is sad and terrible, all the apologies mean nothing for all the distress that these problems cause.
    Spoke with Erma on June 9th and Candace, Shanita, Jenny and Leslie at Direct TV today...this is extremely poor customer service.

    Juanita Copeland
    [protected]

    0 Votes
  • Vi
    visciouss Aug 20, 2015

    I'll b back tommorow ive email, called, wrote, complaint, someone help let get them once n for all, let me get my mortgage out of direct acct, how would u like that what goes around comes around believe that and it comes fast these days, walking around this world like u haven't did nothing not caring as long as your family is good, well we are devasted over here if u no it or not, my damn mortgage money has been robbed out of my acct, can I call the police cause we been robbed

    0 Votes
  • Vi
    visciouss Aug 20, 2015

    Thou shall not steal, you money hungry thieving cowards, give me my money back into my acct

    1 Votes
  • Vi
    visciouss Aug 20, 2015

    Direct TV I'm waiting put my money back in my damn acct

    1 Votes
  • Vi
    visciouss Aug 20, 2015

    What's up direct TV u are liars and thieves but I gotta give u one thing you have them representatives trained like a mug cause them foees saying the same thing when u call all of them from different #, well all of us saying the same dang thing refund our money back into ours accts I'm not giving up

    0 Votes
  • Vi
    visciouss Aug 20, 2015

    Mr. Chase aka, CEO / president of direct TV give us ormay I say refund our mo ey back into our acct assp, u can have it done from your yacht now, no way to treat humans or even dogs,

    0 Votes
  • Vi
    visciouss Aug 20, 2015

    Someone gotta help us get our money back from direct and all these other people complaining its all similar, they getting money out of people acct, and this wasn't our acct but my husband had paid the bill twice off his credit card so they took it off there, they should've handled that sh-- with my son, mr.chase getting rich why they doing his dirty work help someone this is sick

    0 Votes
  • Vi
    visciouss Aug 20, 2015

    I am furious with direct TV, they robbed my husband acct for 468.90, and that was part of our mortgage money, and the acct was in our son name, we cancelled and gave all the equipment back, they said they will refund it back, now they saying its been denied call the billing department, something gotta be done about this, this is just ducked up, took our ducking mortgage money and they don't give a durn but let it be them, people need to care more and imaging theyself in this position, our ducking mortgage money robbed outta our acct not authorized what the duck, LR ark

    0 Votes
  • Or
    Ortance Robey Aug 16, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Trying. To do a bill dispute for 182. 10. . Yall saying its not showing in yall computet but the bank showing you guys took the money out. So i need tou guys to send and wmail ro my bank staring yall stop the transaction so they can put my money back on my card. . At [email protected] . . The to transation bank confirmation number is 059804 for$172. 80 the next one is 017047 for $10. 00. . And my service been cut off. This the thrid time this happen. . Fax number [protected]. . Ny account number with direct tv is [protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Mayla Aug 03, 2015

    Today direct tv withdrew 474.00 dlls from my checking acct. without notice . I cancelled my contract and was told it was a 200.00 dll. Penalty fee. They are the worse company ever I wish someone would do something about the way they conduct their business.

    0 Votes
  • Ge
    Genilson Jul 02, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I cancelled my services before 30 days and they still trying charge me for the bad services provided. Besides the technics spent almost 3 days to turn my service on in my residence.

    0 Votes
  • Me
    Meya19 Jun 01, 2015

    There was 275.00 taken from my card and I want to know why I would like my money back I never had direct tv called my card and seen 275.00 gone and the coustemer center told my direct tv took it

    0 Votes
  • Li
    Lisa J. Gibbs Apr 28, 2015

    I was actually talked into getting direct tv when I called to sign up for AT & T internet. But I took it because it seemed like a good deal. Well, I couldn't pay the bill, so they disconnected my service. At he time, I owed them $136. Last Saturday, I noticed a charge in my bank account, on hold, for $535.64. OMG!!! I checked my account and it was Direct TV. I called them to find out why they went into my account without authorization, what was all of this money for. They gave me all of this story about your bill, early termination charges, and unreturned equipment. I returned the equpment the very next day after I got their box . Luckily, I still had the receipt. They would not give me my money back. I couldn't believe this was legal. They said that when I signed the contract, I agreed to this. No, I did not. So my bank filed a dispute, for $399 of the $535 to pay the acual bill that I owed them, and refunded me the $399. I also called my bank back, after I thought about it, and had the card cancelled and ordered a new one. What a nightmare. Do not get direct tv. My bank was telling me about some states that disputed direct tv for dong this, and because of that, direct tv is not allowed to charge anyone's account, without permission, anymore in some states. I am trying to file a class action lawsuit against them in Georgia, so that we can become one of those states.

    0 Votes
  • Un
    Unlawful Company Mar 15, 2015

    3/14/15 We have had many issues with Direct TV and their service. We are now on Level 4 which means we have complained about their techs and their messing up our whole house system. What prompted me to respond to this, is that we purchased their repair/replacement insurance and pay on it monthly for when any electronics go out . About a month ago, our 4 year old 50" plasma TV went out and their repair service called and said it was finally fixed about 4 days ago. They set up a time for me to be home on a Friday. I waited all day and they never showed. I had to call them and spoke with the Driver and he said he would be coming. I took off of work for this again and he never showed. My husband called Driect TV"s Sarter Repair in Plano, TX who Direct Tv contracts with and the Manager said he would bring it out on Saturday. We waited all day again and they didn't show nor bothered to call. Matter of fact, the Manager at Sarter hung up the phone on my husband when he tried to corner them on a time. We feel the pain and don't bother complaining to Direct TV as it falls on deaf ears. We are hoping they return our TV set or we ourselves will go over there to pick it up as it is not theirs. I think a class action suit against Direct TV is a wise choice. My email address is [email protected]

    Direct TV has gotten too big and they evidently don't have enough employees to service their contracts and that is why they contract out on their jobs. I agree with the complaint from Washington. We would agree to joining a class action suit against Direct TV as they have caused enough stress and downtime from our jobs. They have definitely breached our contract with them and I will be contacting the Texas Attorney General's Office of their misconduct.

    0 Votes
  • Ml
    MLopez01 Mar 12, 2015

    File a complaint with your State Attorney General.

    0 Votes
  • Ml
    MLopez01 Mar 12, 2015

    I cannot believe that they have the ability or right to collect like this. They can basically take their money before one can pay their Mortage. How is it possible that they can get ahead of the line before housing and utilities. I filed a consumer complaint with our State's Attorney General. I requested that the law be change to prevent this kind of theft, because it IS theft, and that since they collected ALL their money, that no negative comments or rating show up on my credit record. We'll see what happens.

    0 Votes
  • 42
    42cunning45 Feb 21, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    2/21/2015 DRT are the biggest liars and thieves I have ever had to try to deal with in all my seventy years and my husbands seventy three. we've witnessed a lot in our time but truly nobody that could take peoples money like these people.and keep right on taking.We are just two ordinary old people who have minded our business and worked hard for what we havc.We grew up in a time when people didn't lock doors which makes life today so hard.Every word above is true we have experienced every single thing mentioned above right now we are fighting charges we did not make Lord it is so Tiring. I'm like judge Judy [WHAT A WORLD].This is so wrong so many people being BLANTNALY treated like this We are going to find us a new source or have none, they have robbed enough from us.

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    PaulHagg Feb 09, 2015

    Folks,
    I have a similiar story. Ordered up Direct TV, and when I found out ESPN was a premium channel with them, I tried to cancel and was charged the pre cancelation fee. I NEVER EVEN GOT STARTED WITH DIRECT TV!!

    We all can complain and post up; That doesn't get their attention. We need a class action sort of lawsuit, claiming that Direct TV uses deceptive advertising and unfair practices. Anything else is worthless.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    john kollmann Jan 23, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Direct TV was ASK to stop auto pay on my account but did not so got charge a overdraft fee worst service FOR A NEW CUSTOMER i think i will go back to dish or some were else

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.