The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

Whirlpool.com / bad experience, poor quality products!

1 United States Review updated:

Furthest below is my note to Whirlpool, directly below is the response from Whirlpool. Note the multiple grammar and spelling errors in their note.

Dear P--- M----:

Thank you for visiting the Whirlpool website, we appreciate hearing from you.

We are sorry that you did not receive a response to your previous email regarding your Whirlpool dishwasher. We have reviewed your file to determine why you have not received a response. Our records indicate that a email was sent to you however, it was returned to us as a delivery failure. One our representative then tried to contact you via phone and was unable to reach you, as the phone just range and range without the option to leave a voicemail.

We are truly sorry that you are still experiencing a problem with your Whirlpool dishwasher, as we know how disappointing it is whenever any manufactured item requires servicing and even more frustrating when there are multiple problems, which create further inconvenience and expense.

Although we continually strive to use the best components available in all our appliances, any electrical/mechanical component can deteriorate or malfunction, and it is impossible to predict just when this might occur. To protect our consumers against the possibility of a defect in materials and/or workmanship at the time of manufacture, we provide a warranty with our product's that states that we will repair or replace any part that proves to be defective within a specified period of time.

It has been our experience that manufacturing defects will appear and should be reported well within warranty, at which time repairs are made at no cost to our customers. Unfortunately, we cannot guarantee that an appliance will not require some service or component replacement throughout the life of the product. We do understand and appreciate your feelings concerning the problems you encountered and we regret in this instance, we are unable to offer any assistance with your concern.

We do apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you.

Thank you for giving Whirlpool the opportunity to assist you. For future needs please visit our website at http://www.whirlpool.com. Whirlpool offers several online customer service resources 24 hours a day 7 days a week. These resources include the ability to retrieve product literature, installation literature, and local authorized service companies. You may also schedule your own service call, purchase products and accessories, and register your Whirlpool appliances.

Thank you,

April Ruffins
Whirlpool Customer Loyalty Specialist

If replying, please leave this message intact as it will help us to respond faster.

[THREAD ID:1-3YBQS8]

-----Original Message-----

From: p----@aol.com
Sent: 1/21/2007 05:20:42 PM
To: whirlpool_customerexperience AT whirlpool.com
Subject: Whirlpool.com Email Us Form Submission


class: CIC
form: Whirlpool Experience
subject: Continued issues with my dishwasher - please respond quickly
model: GU2400XTPB1
serial: FR5116732
contact_method: Email
product: Dishwasher,Built-in
body: It's been a week since I submitted a question with no response I am sending this again:

I have just spent another $250 on a repair call for my Whirlpool dishwasher (model GU2400XTPB1, S/N FR5116732) added to the $575 I'd previously spent on this appliance that we purchased less than two years ago. To date we've had the "thermomister" replaced twice and the "thermofuse" fixed twice. There were also multiple problems with the heating coil and control board. Today's problem was related to the poor design of the microswitches that, apparently, need to be engaged precisely when the door is closed or the unit "fails." So I just paid $250 to learn how to close my door.

I am unhappy with the quality of your product and I would like Whirlpool to recognize the frustration and financial burden that we've endured by choosing your brand over your competitors. Please let me know how Whirlpool can compensate me for this aggravation. At the least I would expect a free multiple year service offer that includes parts and labor. What I'd really like is a rebate for all the labor and parts charges. I understand that electronic appliances sometimes fail but this has been unacceptable. As such, I will no longer accept this chronic problem and will aggressively pursue a resolution via a more public forum unless Whirlpool demonstrates a willingness to recognize and remedy the bad experience of this customer.

Please respond.
regarding: Owner Support

  • Whirlpool Corporation Customer Care's Response, Jul 05, 2012

    Hello a01133. My name is Melanie and I am a representative with Whirlpool. We apologize about the frustration you have experienced with your microwave plate. If you would like us to look into this further, please provide your name, the name of the site you were contacted on (ComplaintBoard), your user ID name (a01133), your phone number, your address, the full model and serial number, and email the requested information to Whirlpool.Digital@whirlpool.com. We would be happy to review your concerns further. Sincerely, Melanie.

Pm
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Co
      20th of Apr, 2008
    0 Votes

    We purchased a Whirlpool Diswasher Model GU2548XTPQ6 less than 1 1/2 years ago for $499. The motor has burned out. we are waiting on a quote to repair it. We are very dissapointed. We would expect a $499 diswasher to last more than 1 1/2 years. Once we have the quote, we will determine whether to repair the diswasher or buy a new one.

  • Sc
      10th of May, 2008
    0 Votes

    I have a GU2400XTPB1 that is less than 4 years old. Contacted Whirlpool about a leak in the bottom of the tub that soaks the floor beneath the Dishwasher. After several e-mail correspondences to give them all the info they needed (Model number and Serial number, they replied with what appears to be the standard company response of how they can't predict if or when a component will fail and try to provide the best quality appliance on the market. They went on to tell me that they are sorry but that the only thing they could do was offer me a 15% discount on a future purchase within 90 days. I later found my manual which states that the tub is warrantied for 25 years for leaks. I also mentioned in my e-mails that one of my trays had rusted and was told in the cooperate correctness "Too Bad" . This same manual states that the trays are warrantied for 5 years. Not sure why I wasn't told this by the rep I e-mailed. I also did a search on yahoo for my model number and the first page that came up, 10 lines down had a thread from a customer that had the exact trouble. A molded plastic nut on the underside, rear is located directly under the heating element and when the dishwasher goes through its heating cycle gradually melts this molded nut and creates a crater where water will leak out. There is obvioussly an issue with this model or all of their models as far as I am concerned, but they appear to want to cover it up. I also registered my dishwasher and while researching this issue with my dishwasher found a recall on the motor that can potentially cause it to catch fire. I never received any recall notice, but had to have my motor replaced 6 months after I bought it. I do not know yet if the motor that was installed is still one of the recalled motors or not, but I am curious why I wasn't contacted when this recall went out. As far as I can tell at this point I have been puting my family at risk for all this time even though I went through the trouble to register the thing. I know they received the registration because I continually get mail wanting me to buy their extended warranty. I would not recommend Whirlpool Dishwashers to anyone. This is not to say that their other appliances are bad. I bought a new refrigerator, oven, and microwave and have had no trouble with them to date. Thanks for reading my rambling and FOR GOD'S SAKE DO NOT BUY A WHIRLPOOL DISHWASHER!

  • An
      6th of Jul, 2008
    0 Votes

    From :- Dated 7th July 2008
    Dr. Anil kumar Thakur
    112- C DDA Red MIG Flats,
    Rajouri Garden, New Delhi. 110027.
    Mobile 9350103337
    E Mail anilkthakur@sify.com
    Subject Extremly rubbish and worst customer care by whirlpool
    Sir,
    Through this mail I would like to draw your kind concern regarding poorest of poor quality as well as customer care in India.
    1. That I bought whirlpool refrigerator 10846 310L MAXIGERATOR NEW STEEL 3S
    from KAPILA ELECTRONICS PVT. LTD. B-1/6, COMMUNITY CENTER B-1, BLOCK, JANAK PURI on 26th June 2008 vide their invoice no. 2651 for Rs. 13600/-. In my mothers name Mrs. Thakur.
    2. That no engineer came for said demonstration on the time requested by us neither did any OK installation report was given.
    3. That soon after I had to go for my emergency knee surgery and couldn’t really looked after performance of said item.My mother is aged so she couldn’t see that fault as described ahead.
    4.That when I returned after my surgery on 4th night I noticed that refrigerator is totally faulty in sense of cooling and door could not be closed totally leading to leaking.
    5.That I contacted my dealer on 5th July telling them complaint and asking why engineer/company personnel didn’t come for demo/installation report.
    6.That engineer came noted complaint but refused to comment on cooling status of the item.
    7. That you can understand the utility of refrigerator in such heated environment in India particularly north and such callous reply by engineer was totally frustrating and disturbing keeping in mind the multinational company whirlpool.
    8.However, soon after they did replace refrigerator which was dropped at my place by a laborer and no authorized personnel did come to check this replaced item or not.
    9. Again to my surprise this replaced refrigerator has more problems then previous naming again faulty door closing, secondly noisy, thirdly lower half body was too much heated up and water droplets were dropping in all over items placed in fridge.
    10. That as there is no option for attachments in the contact online else I could have sent you the pictures of faulty door closing and water droplets hanging all over inside refrigerator.
    11.That I feel that this Fusion model of whirlpool has some manufacturing defect in toto so whole pieces should be withdrawn from Indian market and I may be given an option to go for another model on same rate or option to change company and my total money may be refunded immediately with interest.
    12.That this complaint needs immediate attention so that I can have cool summers as even one day delay will cause mental and physical problem concerning my family.
    13. That I am afraid that lower half heating of body is so much that I fear of any fire disaster in my home for which whirlpool would be exclusively responsible should any consumer or criminal section as may apply in case of mishappening as decided by law authorities.
    14. That please look into matter personally so that I may be freed of mental and physical torture immediately.
    15. That I may be contacted on my mobile 9350103337 with India and Delhi code as apply. Call should preferably be made after 4pm.
    16. That I may be kindly provided with correspondence address of highest of controlling authority in India and chief of headquarters which I believe is USA.
    17. That any further delay in this will cause me lots of mental and physical torture including my family persons.
    18.That I am son of Mrs Thakur and on her behalf and also as utilizing member of refrigerator I am sending this mail.
    19.That a copy of this mail in print will be sent to USA HQs as soon ### I will get their contact.
    20.That any clarification or query by your officials can be done by contacting on my mobile given after 4 pm.
    Thanks Dr Anil Thakur

  • De
      12th of Sep, 2008
    0 Votes

    I bought a Whirlpool dishwasher in late November of 2004. Because of holidays, remodeling, etc, the dishwasher was not installed until after the new year. The first time I tried to use my new appliance, it failed to work and I was told that a circuit board was faulty. It was covered by the warranty and was replaced after a short period of time. As soon as the serviceman installed the new circuit board and attempted to run the dishwasher, that circuit board failed. So we were back to square one. I think it was some time in February when i actually got to use my new dishwasher.

    Last week, I went home to find the laminate floor in my kitchen had warped and there was water leaking from my dishwasher. I called a local repairman who told me that there was a hole in the tub, and he could not fix it. After speaking to the man that sold the dishwasher to me (he was very nice), I called Whirlpool and was told that the tub had a twenty-year warranty and would be replaced.

    I really don't want the tub replaced - I want a new dishwasher! I got no response when I told them about my floor.

    Currently, in addition to my dishwasher, I have a Whirlpool stove, refrigerator and washer. From this point forward, I will never purchase another Whirlpool product. And be sure that I will check to make sure that any appliance that I purchase is not made by Whirlpool and disguised as something else.

  • Ce
      19th of Jun, 2009
    0 Votes

    The motor of our two year old Kenmore model 665.1322 dishwasher (built by Whirlpool) died last week.

    This is an $800 dishwasher purchased from Sears Canada.

    The Better Business Bureau won't help us as it is outside of the warrantee period.

    Does anyone have any suggestions as to what we can do?

  • Sr
      16th of Mar, 2010
    0 Votes

    I bought a Refrigerator whirlpool 340 lit vol DLX Prof Titanium e ZONE 162 Luz church Road Mylapore Chennai -4 vide Invoice no 138055415 dt 2-1-2010 delivered on 4-01-10 Your service dealer called on us on 5th Jan for demonstration. He was a very young man hardly of 18 yrs age and could not fix the stand by himself. Any way I pointed out the scratches at the lower level of the door not visible viewed from a standing position. He promptly repoted to his office and I was assured the door would be replaced. Sometime later I was told the door received in replacement had also scratches and was therefore returned. I am thoroughly dissatisfied with the service and the continued delay and would appreciate if prmpt action is taken . S.Rajagopal Ph 24996654 Cell 9840859236

  • Sa
      15th of Apr, 2010
    +1 Votes

    we have bought a whirlpool double door refridgrator on august2009 and eight months after on april 2010 it start giving us only trouble as mentaly and phycicaly both first off all evry day waste of food and second the worst thing from poorest customercare since the trouble started i have been calling evryday to check it and registered the complaint no.(hr0410002700) ten days before.On 13-04-10 an engineer visited and said there is gas problam in the fridge and some other engineer will come for this now still calling and waiting for someone to come resolve the issue.
    finaly we have decided to take them into consumer court as the matter is still unresolved and the product is still under worranty.

    S.Kumar
    9716188911
    Sagadevan.kumar@rediff.com

  • Hu
      26th of Jul, 2011
    0 Votes
    Whirlpool.com - Made an error but would not exchange product
    Whirlpool.com
    United States

    Received a reminder for refrigerator filters that were on file with correct part number. Had ordered in the past and without any problem. Bought three filters for 96.00 in November but didn't need to replace the filter until the light changed (July) which was over 6 months from the date ordered. When i tried to replace the filter, it was obvious that it was the wrong one. When I looked on the invoice the original filter number was stated, but the 3 they sent were a different number. Tried to explain to customer service about their error and felt there wouldn't be a problem to exchange the filters for the correct ones since it was their mistake. No such thing past their mind. No and ifs or buts, it had been over 6 monts and they wouldn't do anything about sending the wrong part even though the correct part number was on theri invoice. Since there hadn't been any problem with them sending the wrong filters in the past, there wasn't a need to check that they had sent the correct ones. Needless to say, we won't be buying any products from Whirlpool in the future.

  • A0
      30th of Jun, 2012
    0 Votes
    a01133 - microwave' s plate cracked
    whirlpool
    India
    whirlpoolindia.com

    our microwave's plate was cracked

Post your comment