Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In
The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website

Chrysler Pacifica

Posted:    

Sub frame rust

Complaint Rating:  97 % with 36 votes
97% 36
4.85
Contact information:
Chrysler
United States
Went to get my 2004 Chrysler Pacifica inspected and was told it was "Unsafe to Drive" due to the front sub-frame being completly rusted through.
Have been told by Chrysler and Military Exchange New Car Sales that they won't cover repairs under the warranty since the car is almost 6 years old.
The inspector said he hasn't ever seen anything like it even on cars 30 years old! Already filed my complaint with NHTSA, everyone check your Chrysler Pacifica and do the same if you've got the problem.
Complaint comments Comments (54) Complaint country United States Complaint category Cars, Parts & Vehicles

Comments

Sort by: Date | Rating
N  25th of Aug, 2016 by    0 Votes

Chrysler Corporation - Refuses to correct warranty date
Chrysler Corporation
United States

Chrysler refuses to correct the in-service date (warranty start date) for my 2007 PT Cruiser. This vehicle was first titled in Feb 2008, with an odometer reading of 15 miles. This should be the start of the warranty period. Instead, Chrysler has a date 5 months earlier (Oct 2007) with an odometer reading of 123!!! miles. Can't have more miles at an earlier date-- but Chrysler customer service will not recognize the logical fallacy here. I am the second owner, but Chrysler will not correct their database without my producing the original sales document (why would I have that??) -- so they say my car is out of warranty when it is not, and will not pay for the repairs I recently required. They have created a catch-22 -- only their database is correct and I can only disprove it with documents it is impossible for me to possess! I've tried going up the chain of command within customer service, but everyone just repeats the same nonsense.
N  25th of Aug, 2016 by    0 Votes

Chrysler - I'll never use them again
Chrysler
United States

Paid off my truck with an insurance claim. I only owed $1200 and the over payment was in the amount of $5800... They cashed the check 11/10/10 and I was to have the over payment and title back in 21 days... Its now 12/30/10 and Chrysler still has my $5800 and are unable to tell me when they will send it to me. I have been told 4 times someone will return my numerous phone calls. I have been told the check is in the mail 3 times and now they simply say they don't know when I will get my $5800 back. I have brought 3 vehicles from Chrysler over the years and I will NEVER USE THEM AGAIN! Companies like this need to go away and our government needs to let them SINK!
N  25th of Aug, 2016 by    0 Votes

Chrysler - Engine Failure
Phil Long and GOChrysler Colorado
Colorado
United States

I have 30 pages of repairs--bought this new--Chrysler would even laugh when we came in saying "oh not you again". 5 documented complaints of engine noise--always blown off. Was even given a free extended warranty to 70000 mi b/c of all the problems. Opened two client cases with them. Three sets of brakes, new engine, oil pump work, tire problems, and power steering sensors and pump replaced, transmission work, radio work, door tracks replaced twice on both sides, interior and exterior parts falling off and on and on. So last week at 72000, the engine blew a rod. We had free oil changes with the dealership and had them regularly--but they refuse to help!! Last Phil Long closed-- they lost some of the repair records. Even the mechanic (whom works for GO Chrysler) said he could not believe they wouldn't help me--he was a very nice man but said it was out of his control!! Oh but they can offer me a new engine for 6700.00. UGHHHHHHHHH I will never buy Chrysler again,

jennw
N  22nd of Aug, 2016 by    0 Votes
I have a 2006 pacifica and dealing with the subframe and engine cradle rust... Basically will cost more than what the car is worth to fix.. I am driving a death trap... Chrysler will not fix it, but yet they will fix the same issues on certain ones years 2004-05.. BS!!!
N  21st of Apr, 2016 by    0 Votes
I am also in the same sinking boat. Bought my car used and when a week later went for my state inspection (at the dealership I bought it from!) I was informed that the car was unsafe to drive due to the engine cradle rot. The repairs are more than the car is worth! The car was purchased with less than 88K miles! I now get to pay 5 years of car payments on a death trap! Chrysler needs to step up and take some responsibility. Unfortunately the class action lawsuit that was file has recently been dismissed. What does it take, and how many people have to be hurt before this gets addressed. I will NEVER buy a Chrysler car again and will make sure everyone I know hears about this. Please, if you haven't filed a complaint at NHTSA, DO SO!
N  30th of Mar, 2016 by    0 Votes
My 2006 Chrysler Pacifica has the same issue cradle rust. The vehicle was purchased in Nov. 2014 and only has 75, 000 miles on it. How in the world does a vehicle with only 75, 000 miles on it have a cradle that is completely rusted out. It was deemed unsafe to drive by the service department where we were having a popping sound checked. This is literally the only part on the vehicle that is rusted. I contacted Chrysler and explained that at any moment this cradle is going to fall off and cause a catastrophic accident. Their only response by the agent Brittney was I'm sorry there is nothing that can be done your vehicle is not within the 2004 or 2005. So is it going to take someone getting into an accident being seriously injured, death, or someone else becoming injured or killed because of this issue?!?!?! I will never ever buy another Chrysler again. This is absolutely ridiculous that they will not do anything. Oh wait yes they will take your information and register the complaint so that if they decide to extend the warranty to other vehicles we can be reimbursed. This was their exact words. They need to take responsibility and recall the vehicles fix them make them safe. Even if we have the mechanics fix this and pay the money how can I trust that the vehicle will ever be safe again.
A  6th of Sep, 2015 by    0 Votes
Same situation here. Have car in for a water pump and got a call about the K-frame. Said is was rusted out. Have not looked at it yet but certainly found hundreds of complaints on the net. Never been a Chrysler / Mopar fan, ( cept the '70s mussel ), this is first AND LAST I will own. Blatant denial of responsibility. I will let everyone, I strike up a conversation with, know about their Dodge-ing of this issue. YEA pun INTENDED. I have not seen ANY help from Chrysler on the complaint threads.
A  7th of Aug, 2015 by    0 Votes
Took our 2004 Pacifica in today for an alignment to fix the shaking when the car is driven on the highway and was told that an alignment would be a waste of money due to the rusted out frame under the car. Hadn't heard a single word about this issue until today.
We've had this car since 2005, bought with 12, 000 miles on it and now it has 85, 000. Still not bad for a car that is 11 years old and the body and interior are in very good shape.
Now what to do?!!! Thank you Firestone for being honest and not charging us for your time. (Can I mention that the car has been in for repairs about a year ago for another issue to a CHRYSLER DEALERSHIP and not a word was spoken about this!!!)
N  13th of Jun, 2015 by    0 Votes
2005 Pacifica, engine about to fall out


N  27th of May, 2015 by    0 Votes
If anyone is looking for subframes contact me via mywebsite www.mossouthernautoparts.com
A  26th of May, 2015 by    0 Votes
bought car in for routine oil change and told car is unsafe rust on k frame assembly which would need to be replaced! not sure what to do!! 2004 chrysler pacifica
N  19th of May, 2015 by    0 Votes
2006 the car looks and rides fantastic... That's it ! A piece of-----. Replaced tranny, catalytic converter, fuel pumps, alternator. Total little over 5500. Take in for oil change now engine cradle rust issue/ sub frame. Oh yeah ABS also. Mechanic quote 2200. That is 7700 on top of what I paid for the ---------- car. Can't afford a new car just bought one this is paid off and wanted a couple of yrs .out of this car with no payments. I have 4 complaints in to Chrysler with claim numbers, nothing they are willing to to do. Now a new one .

I agree go to the att. gen. in your state CLASS ACTION SUIT how to start one, I guess look on line
A  6th of May, 2015 by    0 Votes
I have 2008 Chrysler Pacifica with the same engine cradle rust issue. Chrysler dealer said vehicle is unsafe to drive. All Chrysler Pacifica owner with the engine cradle rust problem, please file a complaint at NHTSA web site https://www-odi.nhtsa.dot.gov/VehicleComplaint/index.xhtml, file an online complain at your state Attorney General office, Contact your local TV channel to involve, Tweet to Chrysler. This is the only way Chrysler is going to pay attention to this issue.
A  24th of Mar, 2015 by    0 Votes
2006 Pacifica. Same issue, a lot of rust. Called Chrysler, it only covers the 2004 and 2005. The 2006 is not covered. My car has 120, 000 on it. The engine is going to fall out.
A  16th of Mar, 2015 by    0 Votes
j'ai acheté un chrysler pacifica 2005 touring sans l'avoir fait inspecter et par après mon garagiste a constaté que mon subframe était pourri et que le véhicule n'est plus sécuritaire à conduire. J'ai appelé chez mon concessionnaire et il n'y a aucun rappel sur mon véhicule !
A  14th of Feb, 2015 by    0 Votes
I have the same problem that everyone is talking about. 2005 Chrysler Pacifica that is just outside the range that Chrysler is willing to fix by a couple months. Not sure what to do with the car now. Chrysler quoted me just over $3000 yesterday to replace the sub frame and said I shouldn't drive the car. Any advice would be helpful. I'm thankful that the class action lawsuit was filed, hopefully we'll see some results with that.
N  9th of Feb, 2015 by    0 Votes
I just had Pacifica just had my 2004 Pacifica in for an oil change. They told me I need to get rid of the car as soon as soon as Possible
because it was unsafe. I am recently divorced with three children I was a stay at home mother. I am not currently emloyed. I desperately need my car . I don't believe how terrible this looks plus the safety of my children is in jeopardy now. Please howI don't believe how terrible this looks plus the safety of my children is in jeopardy now. Please Help us!!! Sincerely, Karrene O'Dowd
N  3rd of Feb, 2015 by    0 Votes
Class action suit was file in January 2015 for the premature engine cradle rust / failure... lets see what happens now!
N  14th of Nov, 2014 by    +1 Votes
I am the current, not original owner of a 2005 Chrysler Pacifica, and in a word it is a piece of crap! This car has cost me thousands of dollars since we purchased it in 2011 with about 75K miles on it. Immediately after purchasing the vehicle we noticed some sort of lurching or loping in the vehicle and took it to several mechanics who could not identify the problem. We were told that it was a throttle positioning sensor but that was not the case. About seven months after purchasing (three days before Christmas if memory serves me correctly) this junk heap had a timing belt snap on it with less than 90K miles on it! The damage ruined Christmas and destroyed our family finances for over a year. When this car was returned I noticed a strange pull in it and it developed an oil leak. In 2012 we went to smog it and found that the Catalytic Converter had gone out in the vehicle. To order the unit from the dealer, because I was told that there were NO CALIFORNIA RATED converters available ANY WHERE, would cost me over $1300 which I refused to pay and had the vehicle impounded for my actions. I finally was able to find a cheaper after market unit in 2014 for just under $500. This scrap heap now is not wanting to pull and it appears it needs motor mounts that will cost me over $200 just to purchase and then take a weekend installing if I do the job myself. I have more than a year and a half to left to pay on this pitiful excuse of a car and I would like some compensation for my families troubles with it. I have a nearly 24 year old Toyota 4Runner that I paid less than $400 bucks for 4 years ago that gives me less grief than this thing has. CHRYSLER YOU OUGHT TO BE ASHAMED OF YOURSELVES for producing such a low quality vehicle! I have read the many postings on this cite and many others that explain all of the problems that people are experiencing with this vehicle yet you choose to sit there stoically claiming innocence in the production of such a low grade product! Several years ago you stood be for the people of this nation begging us assist you and bail you out of the financial mess you had gotten yourself into an now you refuse to repay that assistance, UNBELIEVABLE! Many of us have were struggling to pay for the car when we thought we had purchased a decent vehicle, these burdensome repair costs are dragging many of us under! If there is ever a class action law suit please contact me at crossdaddy@gmail.com.
N  27th of Oct, 2014 by    0 Votes
I just found out in March that I have the same problem with my subfaframe being rusted in 6 places! The dealership said $2000 to fix and no help from chrysler because I'm out of the warranty range! This is frustrating I will never buy another Chrysler again!

Post your Comment

Please check text spelling before submitting a comment
Your attitude towards Complaint Agree Neutral Disagree
Comment text
Attach photos (optional)

Chrysler Logo Chrysler
Customer Care Service
United States
1-800-334-XXXX
View Full Information
Contact Us
bdomains.com
     

Reply to

Send