The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Classmates.comonline scam

D

This actually is a story for the entire country - Two years ago, I joined a website called classmates.com - this site will let you find old classmates, get reunion info, etc - In the two years that I had this service, I really never used - So, I was just going to let my subscription expire - Wrong! This website billed me for another two year subscription - When you call the number to talk to a rep of the company, the phone number provided will only give you a message in regards to your credit card being charged and the message will basically tell you, too bad - You can either either email or do an online chat - I sent an email and told them that I wanted a refund in full - in their email reply to me they said, we have removed you from automatic billing, enjoy the next two years of our service - in 2009, your subscription will default then to the free subscription - First of all, I never opted to automatically renew my account - I feel that in a resonable amount of time that I should be able to inform them that this service is no longer desired and for them to refund my money in full - the only way that I knew that they billed me for this service was looking at my online credit card statement - I was not informed by email to my knowledge, that I would still be billed - thanks for your time and assistance...

Responses

  • Ka
    Karen McGinty Jul 30, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Bank of America CC
    07/24/2008 AP9*ATHOMEREWARDS+-V $29.95
    07/24/2008 AP9*ATHOMEREWARDS+-V $29.95

    How do I fix this?

    0 Votes
  • Valerie Nov 15, 2008

    The only thing good from this web site, was finding an old class mate from third grade. I was looking a my bank statement back in Oct 08 and saw a transaction that looked fishy. I called the 800 number to see who they where and they said that they got my card number when I signed up with classmates.com. I told them to return the $13.00 or I'd report them to the Oregon attorney generals office. I then canceled my bank card.

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    Richard Dec 30, 2008

    Three years ago I joined Classmates.com on a 1 year manually renewed membership.

    I was dissatisfied with their service and did not plan to renew. I went to their website to make sure my membership was canceled whereupon they pulled their deception, they offered me a two year GOLD membership for 1/2 price and promised I would be much more satisfied with that membership.

    Was I ever a sucker! I thought 'oh what the heck' for 1/2 price for two years and they say it is better...why not!

    Well it was not better...same old webpage with 90 million ads and pop ups on it, which made it very slow to load even with broadband. I had decided that the next time they approached me I was definitely going to cancel, and I wondered why they had not contacted me. I thought that perhaps I had forgotten my renewal date and perhaps they would contact me this month!

    I went to my credit card website for an entirely different purpose and that is when I noticed they had automatically billed me for another 2 years...

    That is about as deceptive as you can get, especially when you consider that I am legally blind and can't read that fine print anyway!

    I just want to get this out to the general public so someone else won't get cheated like I did!

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    Rick Mar 02, 2009

    Classmates.com aka Classmates Media Corporation did not send me a renewal reminder before charging my card (they stated it was and auto renewal and I stated that I never knowingly authorized an auto renewal). This leads me to the assumption that they as a policy do not remind their members of impending renewals as a whole. It is further my opinion (based on my treatment) that they force (strong arm auto renewal policies) the members to keep their service for an additional 12 months after the member states they do not want to renew. They state that there is no after the fact opt out provision once your credit card is charged. Your only option is to involve your bank and card company (which they don't tell you). They state there is a manual opt out in their terms but it is not easy to find (still can't find it). There is no phone number that I can find associated with their web sites. Their corporate office does not list a number either.

    In my dealings with them, I have formed the opinion that they practice bad customer service and strong arm renewal policies. It is also my opinion that good legitimate companies that offer good value for their services or memberships do not have to force their members to renew and ALWAYS (as a policy) send warnings of impending renewals to their customer/members.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    joe Sep 11, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    WWW.MYLIFE.COM...WWW.REUNION.COM ...WWW.MYLIFE.COM

    I am an attorney researching the business practices of WWW.MYLIFE.COM, WWW.REUNION.COM and WWW.MYLIFE.COM . I am interested in their practices as it relates to the unauthorized SCRAPING OF EMAIL ADDRESS BOOKS.


    Pending my review, consideration of legal action shall be evaluated. I located your complaint from a google search of all those complaining about reunion.com and my life.com . Any information you may provide would be helpful so as for me to understand the issues, but response should not be considered as developing an attorney-client relationship. I merely need to obtain information.

    Here's a few questions:
    1) Did you join the dating portion of these sites and have any issues and concerns?

    2) were you enticed to visit any of these websites after an email came to you, appearing like it was from a friend, inviting you to join?

    3) do you feel the terms of service and privacy policy noted on the site explained what exactly they were going to do to your email addresses?

    4) Were your email address contacts emailed an invitation to join after receiving an invitation which claimed you sent them the invite?

    5) how has your involvement damaged your reputation or any finacial losses?

    6) Were you contacted by any other companies associated with any of these sites claiming that you had joined their site also, being sent marketing info from companies, ASKING FOR YOUR TELEPHONE NUMBER, OR RECEIVING MONTHLY CHARGES TO YOUR TELEPHONE BILL?

    So as to support my interest and qualify my identity, I would refer you to a few of my recent cases I filed, so that you can confirm that I do represent individuals in internet privacy matters. Google my recent cases:

    lane v facebook,
    valentine v nebuad
    simon v adzilla
    slater v tagged.com

    Once you locate these cases, review the atorneys noted, and then confirm I have the same email as the attorney noted on the lawsuit:

    "Attorney Joseph H Malley
    [email protected]"

    Please feel free to contact me in confidence to discuss any issues. As noted at this point I am merely researching and discussing complaints to determine if there is any allegations of merit.
    Thanks
    Attorney Joe Malley
    1045 N ZANG BLVD
    Dallas, Texas
    United States
    Phone: [protected]

    email me back at: [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Charles Lindberg Nov 10, 2009

    I had the same experience. I see there are MANY others, as well. Sucks, huh?

    0 Votes
  • Al
    AlyCO Nov 28, 2009

    Same happened to me- even though I emailed within a week of the auto renewal I discovered on my credit card (don't recall ANYTHING about such when I did my deal of one year- of course NOW they have it there); Emailed them 2x's but never got reply. Only when disputed on ccd did they say they canceled (in the following month). So now you pay for the renewal anyway since they don't refund it.

    I am still fighting it, though I doubt I'll see any refund at all -- at least voicing about it so they know people aren't going to sit by and let it happen.

    LESSON LEARNED- If you see some DEAL - FREE Trial or SPECIAL OFFER--- it ISN'T- JUST DON'T DO IT!

    0 Votes
  • Bo
    bobmcalister Nov 29, 2010

    would like to offer that I do buy online with this offers..some are too good to pass up. BUT I use my paypal debit card with the mc logo. I have had 100% success rate at canceling those charges for products I have found to be unsatisfactory. Use paypal is what I recommend.

    0 Votes
  • Tr
    Tracy Bankston Smith Jul 23, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Signed up for the "Free" Classmates account in 2009. No big deal. Never gave much info & DEFINITELY no card number. Going thru my bank statement online today, I see a $39 charge I NEVER authorized! I contacted Classmates via online chat to get my money back & show me proof that I had signed up for this. Their response was; Agent (La Shawn): "We do not maintain members receipts for online submissions. Sorry." RIIIGHT. A company that keeps NO copies of how they get their money. So somehow, they have stolen my card number and stolen $39. I contacted my bank & they have started a fraud investigation as well as blocked that company from my card. I have found their corporate website and address and will report them to that State's Attorney General. I will also file a strong complaint with the BBB AND alert EVERYONE I know that Classmates may be stealing their money.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.