Menu
ADVERTISIMENT
Home Solicitors Classmates billing
M
Author of the complaint
2:45 pm EDT
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

I would like to cancel my subscription to Classmates.com and can't find out how. It is not very good when you call the number you are given and can't talk to a person.

ADVERTISIMENT
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

More Classmates complaints & reviews

Classmates - renewal fees deduction automatic without approval
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Classmates - personals on home page
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Classmates - unauthorized billing
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Classmates - unauthorized transaction
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Classmates - unauthorized charge for membership
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Classmates - automatic deduction without my knowledge
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Classmates - no way to cancel
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Classmates - unauthorized auto renewal
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
134 comments
Add a comment
T
Jul 25, 2016 7:32 am EDT

I did not agree to auto renewal and most definitly at $39. I want my credit card credited . And cancel my membership. Classmates.com I have called your customer service and they say they are closed and are open 8-5.Well its 9:33.

K
Jul 05, 2016 6:08 am EDT

On 7/1/2016 my credit card was charged $42.35 for a membership that I did not request. Classmates Inc WA [protected]

P
May 29, 2016 1:12 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Please cancel Invoice [protected] [protected]
I cancel my subscription some time ago and do not want to be billed the $15 through Pay Pal.

Pat Smith Lifke

[email protected]

Invoice ID: [protected]-[protected] (Please cancel or refund)

D
Mar 24, 2016 12:06 pm EDT

I cancelled in account in December. I paid with my credit card. Yesterday I received a dunning telephone call from Pay Pal, because I had an outstanding bill. I did not at any time authorize Class Mates to use my pay pal account. I plan on notifying the better business bureau.

R
Feb 09, 2016 6:43 pm EST

Feb.1, 2016 received bill from credit card company with debit for Classmates.inc..
[protected]

D
Apr 24, 2012 9:31 am EDT

This company has charged my credit card and I have never signed up or authorized it's billing.

N
Jun 06, 2012 12:12 pm EDT

Signed up for 1 month trial period, and they kept on billing plus there is no place to cancel...

J
Mar 24, 2011 12:41 am EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I did not authorize 15.00$ taken automatically out of my account

O
Feb 09, 2011 6:05 pm EST

automatically charged my account without notice then said it is non refundable.

J
Dec 07, 2010 1:21 am EST

I cancelled quite some time ago via the internet and now I am charged $39.00 as of 12/1/2010

C
Nov 29, 2010 1:46 pm EST
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I did not agree to automatic billing -- I would like a refund to my account immediately.

J
Oct 26, 2010 12:27 am EDT

unauthorized charge of $39.00 to my credit card

B
Aug 22, 2010 11:48 am EDT

They took an unauthorized payment of 39.00 out of my account on 8-02-10

B
Oct 26, 2009 6:03 pm EDT

Was billed for renewal without my authorization. Barbara S Corson [email protected]

C
Sep 20, 2009 11:35 am EDT

Took money from my checking account for renewal fees in which I did not authorize.

K
Sep 09, 2009 8:44 am EDT

Unauthorized $39.00 charge to my debit card Please stop transaction

B
Nov 05, 2008 10:59 pm EST

They took my money and then DID NOT upgrade my membership!

G
May 26, 2009 1:50 pm EDT

I have been charged 2 times after I canceled. I did
everything they told me to do. I was billed in March
on one credit card. Then again in May on another
credit card. I've been e-mailing and calling for over
2 months. They keep saying they cant' refund
any of my money.

I did not renew my membership what can I do?

D
Jun 19, 2009 2:40 pm EDT

I have cancelled classmates.com several times and then they hit my account again in February of this year and I cancelled (again) and now last month they did it again. i have called the phone number for Classmates as listed on my bank statement twice and they don't give you the option to talk to anyone-hitting O for operator hangs you up completely. I am in the process of closing the bank account but if they charge me again it will put it in the red-the bank tells me they can't block it from their end I have to cancel it from mine. I can't even get into my so called Classmates account because I don't remember the password(didn't need to-didn't have an account) and I have asked to have it emailed to me and that hasn't happened either. twenty million junk mailers can send stuff to my account but not Classmates? come on.

M
Jul 15, 2009 8:35 pm EDT

I have been charged for 39.00 on my credit card and did not order. Please credit my account.

P
Dec 03, 2009 10:22 am EST

These people are billing you and not telling the people about auto renewal and will not take off charges after cancallation

L
Dec 15, 2009 7:32 pm EST

I NEVER gave you people the authorization to bill me $39.00 for whatever reason. I don't even get ANYTHING from classmates. I will call the BBB on you people. I am tired of this and for billing it to my charge card.

J
Feb 04, 2010 3:44 pm EST

Why am I still getting billed. i only got a 3 month membership?

M
Oct 01, 2010 9:26 pm EDT

want results. Call the CEO direct, really pisses him off but I got my money back and gave him a piece of my mind, you can too. His name is Mark Goldston. Classmates parent company is called American Online.
To reach him call [protected] then press 3
then press 1 for woodland hills office
then press 365
then press 2
now you got the CEO, give him hell.

Nov 05, 2008 6:37 am EST

For the 3rd time this year Classmates.com has made a $15.00 charge to my credit card. I'm forced then to call the credit company and stay on the line for long periods, speaking to several people just to get them to mail me the forms to contest the charge. Then I have to take the time to fill out the form and pay the postage to send it back only to wait over a month to get the charge off my credit card. This SCAM organization possibly feels that most folks wont take that much time and effort over such a charge, BUT I WILL.

D
Dec 07, 2008 10:05 pm EST

I signed up for a 3 month membership. At the end of the 3 months, they signed me up for another membership. We exchanged some emails, but it boils down to this. They say I agreed to let them auto renew the membership and they are not going to return the money. We should begin urging Congress to stop this deceptive practice. Classmates.com could have included anything in their fine print, but the spirit of the agreement was a one-time 3 month deal and nothing else. Reputable companies like GoDaddy.com advises you numerous times that a membership is going to be auto-renewed and give you many opportunites to opt out. There should be a law making prior notification a mandatory practice.

M
Jan 07, 2009 5:33 am EST

Classmates.com after years of constantly barraging my email with spam, finally coerced me to become a “gold" member for a price of $9.95. I made the payment and kept the credit card on file believing, as stated in my “Account Info" that I would be charged $9.95 the successive years. However, after one year membership they charged me for $39 without my approval, then when I went back to investigate my “account" settings, the monetary amount for membership had been changed to reflect their theft for the amount stolen from my account. When I inquired via their customer service, they stated it was under my membership services contract I agreed by submitting payment in the first place. I was blindsided by this since indeed the statement within membership services had changed. Hopefully my bank will stop payment.

L
Jan 13, 2009 12:57 pm EST

I never signed up for automatic renewal on classmates.com, yet without warning, they hit my credit card with a renewal charge. I keep a close eye on my credit cards and therefore have caught the charge early. I have contacted my credit card company regarding a fraudulent charge and dispute. I will post again with the results.

N
Feb 05, 2009 11:07 am EST

Beware! This company has deceptive practices including 'teaser' email to those with the free membership to convince them that long lost friends are wanting to get in touch - but you can't access the information unless you join and become a 'Gold' member. When you join, you find that the 'friends' are not even remotely known to you, but they cover their tracks by being cleverly vague.

When I was taken in by their deceptive advertising... and joined. I realized it was a totally lame & useless website and kicked myself for falling for the advertising. Whatever.

Recently, I went to balance my checkbook on line - and found that they had automatically stolen 39 bucks from my debit account. They said they couldn't refund it.

Long story short - I've contacted my bank. I've filed a complaint with the BBB (over 500 complaints and the BBB still gives them AAA rating? give me a break), Consumer Affairs is next.

This company should be sued for deceptive practices. They change the contract after you have signed up and they can say you had a choice to opt out - but it didn't exist when I signed up. It's such a lame site that most people abandon going to it, so they are unaware that Classmates changed the contract. They do not email you to let you know of any potential charges. I believe they bank on the fact that most people don't want to deal with the hassle of getting their 39 bucks back... (that's a lot of money for all the people they screw over).

Hello? Any attorneys out there? Meanwhile- Get the word out! Steer Clear of Classmates.com! Tell everyone to pass it on.

J
Apr 01, 2009 11:14 am EDT

I have attempted to ‘cancel’ this service twice. The first time was last fall when I went to my online account to change settings so I no longer received numerous emails. I was no longer using the membership and it was due to expire in 2009. I noted that my account was set to automatically renew, which I was unaware of. I changed this to manual, even though the card on file expired in December 2008. Because I made this change, I did not change my email options alone. I have no documentation regarding this, as it was done online at their website.

I saw the charge on my card’s February 2009 statement and went online to classmates.com again. My account was still set to automatically renew. I changed this again and I sent the cancellation request included in the attachment. I did this using the email form in the classmates.com help section, as instructed.

The page linking to the email form displayed a notice that I could terminate by contacting Member Care Services or by ceasing to use the site. Either way, my account would continue through until the next billings period (two years) with no refunds, as per the agreement. I disagreed with such and agreement and note this in my cancellation request. My account is still active as of this morning (04/01/09).

Additionally, according to the email ‘acknowledging’ my cancellation request, unless I personally change the automatic renewal, I will continue to be charged even though I have canceled my membership. It is unreasonable and unethical business practice to refuse to refund 23 months of a 24-month renewal membership charge, particularly when the renewal charge should not have occurred in the first place. And it is unreasonable and unethical business practice to continue to bill a customer because of a vendor-imposed automatic renewal after the consumer has changed it to manual, and after a consumer has cancelled a membership.

This ‘agreement’ is undoubtedly deceptive and unethical. Parts of it are intentionally buried in fine print and not included in the section a reasonable person would expect to find it. References to not refunding unused memberships is NOT located in Section 8: Termination/Cancellation of the Terms of Agreement, but under another section titled Additional Terms, subtitled Subscription Services and Automatic Renewal.

I have several issues here: 1) I previously changed the automatic renewal to manual but my account apparently never made this change; 2) Classmates.com charged against an expired card: 3) Classmates.com is deceptive about renewals and cancellations; 4) The only effective way to cancel a membership is to request cancellation THEN change the automatic renewal billing.

A web search using specific terms ‘complaint “classmates.com”’ returns 32, 100 hits and includes numerous complaints filed with Consumer Affairs, BBB and other official organizations. Nearly all of these are regarding unauthorized billing practices. I certainly will be filing my own complaints regarding this company.

M
Apr 09, 2009 3:21 pm EDT

I subscribed to this online service 2 years ago. I did not want to re-subscribe, but they took the money out of my bank account. I called the company to complain, and they basically said tough, its our money now, but we won't take any more out. DUH.. well thanks! I got no where with their customer service department.

The company maintains no fax or telephone number on their website. Hard to find their number.

I want my money back!

L
May 11, 2009 4:20 pm EDT

Classmates.com automatically charged my credit card without my authorization for membership fees, then refused to refund the money after I'd alerted them to the mistake. They had changed the Terms of Service (which is a contract) since my initial membership to an automatic charge of my card at the end of my membership and told me they could change their TOS anytime they wanted. Classmates.com refused to cancel my membership unless I logged into the site and requested the cancellation online. THEN they informed me that by logging on, I had agreed to the new Terms of Service and had forfeited my membership fee by doing so! I complained to the company via snail mail, email and phone calls without success. I had to resolve the issue via my credit card company by disputing the charge and providing copies of my complaints to Classmates.com. The credit card company refunded my money. My next step would've been the Better Business Bureau. READ THE TOS OF ALL ONLINE SERVICES PRIOR TO LOGGING IN EACH TIME! Companies can (and do) change them often and without notice to you!

A

A year ago my wife used our debit card to purchase Classmates.com gold membership, was a 3 month special for $15. She canceled the account a couple weeks after she purchased the membership, so when the 3 months was up we didn't get charged. We got billed by Classmates.com yesterday for $39 exactly 1 year after the original account was bought, even though the account was canceled. We tried calling [protected] which conviniently is on a 24/7 message that says their number is being repaired. So no way to contact them by phone, so I sent an e-mail and got the following reply:

Thank you for your reply.

Unfortunately, our records do not reflect a previous cancellation associated with your membership. On your renewal date, which was Jul 7, 2009, your Gold membership renewed for another term because you were still enrolled in the automatic renewal program at that time.

Please be assured that your membership is no longer enrolled in the automatic renewal program and you will not be charged again. Your Gold membership will expire and revert to FREE status on Jul 7, 2010. After your membership reverts to free status, you’ll still be listed on Classmates and receive email notifications about your account activity.

We make efforts to ensure our members understand the terms of the membership they are purchasing by providing information about the automatic renewal program directly on the credit card payment page, right above the “Submit Payment” button. On the same page, it states that payment for a Gold membership is non-refundable.

The automatic renewal program and no refund policy are also explained in the Classmates Terms of Service, which you agreed to when you clicked the "Submit Payment" button to finish your membership payment.

We hope you'll take some time to explore and enjoy Classmates.com and get the most out of your Gold member benefits. We're constantly updating the site to make it more valuable to you and more fun to use.

Thank you for your cooperation and patience. If you have any further questions or concerns, please reply directly to this email and we will be happy to assist you.

Sincerely,

Classmates.com

Venita

The account was canceled and of course they say they have no record of it. If it wasn't canceled then why not bill us after the 3 month special was over? I want to make sure I can inform as many people as I can about Classmates.com crooked billing practices.

Charged my account without approval. This casused my account to bounce. Then while trying to resolve it they keep hanging up. This makes me very angry.

B
Jul 22, 2009 5:37 am EDT

I was charged $15.00 for a classmates.com gold subscription on my debit card without my permission or knowledge. I want a full refund along with the permanent cancellation of my subscription.

Jul 22, 2009 3:07 pm EDT

I was charged an unauthorized $17.00 on my debit bank card on July 17, 2009. I cancelled my membership mounths ago and this charge must have been a mistake. I would like a full refund on my account and for you all to check my cancelation and re cancel it if needed. i have been trying to call [protected] for 3 days and was unable to get through. Please be prompt against fixing this matter.

K
Oct 28, 2009 10:36 am EDT

I was reviewing my credit card statement for October and found an unauthorized charge for $39.00 posted from Classmates.com. I have not requested any services from this company, nor agreed to anything and in no way signed up for anything. I want this charge removed immediately from my card. I have contacted American Express concerning this matter and they have started an investigation of this matter.

D
Jan 22, 2010 10:24 pm EST

Classmates.com just billed me 39.00 which I did not authorize. I am going to initiate a chargeback through my credit card.

S
Apr 05, 2010 6:37 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Requested cancellation of membership in classmates, several months ago, have gone unheeded and unauthorized charges still appearing on my charge card.

H
Jul 29, 2010 6:19 pm EDT

This company renewed my membership without notification. I never agreed to an automatic renewal. Upon pulling up MY copy of the agreement, nowhere is an automatic renewal even mentioned. I do not wish to continue any relationship with this flim-flam company. Please pro-rate, return the 11 months of payments that I don't want. My page on the site was torn down online by this company on July 9th. So I, an Arizona teacher looking at a pay cut, need that money returned to my account now. I never agreed to any renewal

ADVERTISIMENT

Learn how the rating is calculated

79 complaints
43 resolved 36 unresolved

Classmates contacts

(added by reviewer)
Phone number
Address
1501 4th Ave Ste 400, Washington United States
Website
Category
ADVERTISIMENT