Menu
ADVERTISIMENT
Home Credit Cards Classmates renewal fees deduction automatic without approval

Classmates review: renewal fees deduction automatic without approval

D
Author of the complaint
7:22 pm EDT
Review updated:
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

2 years ago I signed up for classmates.com When it was time for renewal, I tried repeatedly to cancel without success. They have taken the liberty of deducting the annual fee automatically from my checking acct. I do not wish to continue membership with this company. Repeatedly I have logged on to their website, entered my e-mail address along with my password, and have repeatedly been denied access into my account to cancel, they tell me that my password is wrong, which it isn't . Now I have their telephone # due to a deduction from my checking account recently, their # is [protected]. I would like my money back, my e-mail is don.[protected]@sbcglobal.net

ADVERTISIMENT
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

More Classmates complaints & reviews

Classmates - personals on home page
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Classmates - unauthorized billing
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Classmates - billing
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Classmates - unauthorized transaction
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Classmates - unauthorized charge for membership
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Classmates - automatic deduction without my knowledge
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Classmates - no way to cancel
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Classmates - unauthorized auto renewal
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
53 comments
Add a comment
M
Sep 19, 2010 12:25 pm EDT

Last year I joined a site called Classmates.com. It was only $9.95 for one year. Today my credit card was billed for $39.95 a charge I did not authorize . To me this is unscrupulous and dirty way of doing business. Anyone reading this PLEASE IF YOU ARE IN THIS COMPANY GET OUT NOW BEFORE IT IS TOO LATE. IF ENOUGH PEOPLE QUIT THEIR COMPANY THEY MIGHT LEARN TO TREAT PEOPLE RIGHT. LETS TEACH THEM A LESSON. QUIT CLASSMATES.COM AND BANKRUPT THEM. PLEASE HELP ME TAKE THEM DOWN.IF WE ALL WORK TOGETHER WE CAN DO IT.

M
Jan 15, 2010 1:53 pm EST

This company is without ethics! I had an account for $19.99 for a year, i was auto charged the following year, as soon as i realized i called the company. They informed me that when i signed up i was automatically agreeing to be "auto-renewed" and that there was nothing they would do about it. I then changed my account to manual. They changed it to "auto renew", when i called this time they told me to read the agreement and i had it on auto-renewal. I argued with them and called my credit card company. Then i went to "my account" and made sure to remove my credit card information. I thought it might be a one time mistake and i would just learn from it.

Now they've done the exact same thing to my son... Changing his from manual to auto! I know it was manual because i was there when he set up his account, i made sure it was on manual. They not only charged his account but they charged $39.99! An amount i have never seen offered! I'm furious because discover said they would investigate and now refuses to refund!

J
Nov 02, 2012 5:57 am EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

One membership purchased at Classmates almost five years ago led to an unauthorized credit card charge one year later which I disputed and won. Then, FOUR YEARS later suddenly there's a charge on my credit card for Memory Lane. Numerous emails and calls complaining resulted in them declaring they have the right to do this. They don't. It's theft, pure and simple. I swallowed the $60.00 loss and had to change credit cards to avoid it ever happening again. DON'T JOIN MEMORY LANE OR CLASSMATES...THEY WILL STEAL FROM YOU TOO. It's not worth it.

K
Aug 31, 2016 6:23 am EDT

I had classmates.com.. at one point it stated (years ago!) that I was a GOLD member and was lifetime. ok.. but not so. they keep billing my credit card for the $39.00 as stated in other cases before mine! SOMEONE has to be able to put a stop to this. I NEVER authorized them to keep deducting. I have contacted several times via emails etc. and only to be told in so many words that I HAVE to pay as I signed up for it > NO we are senior citizens and CANNOT afford a bunch of "extras" in our budget. will someone please help me get rid of this. It is stressful to our health to keep fighting this! thanks in adavance! KM HOOFTALLEN

B
Aug 25, 2016 1:47 am EDT

Classmates.com took $39.00 from my checking account so I called the bank I do business with and they told me I would have to get in touch with Classmates to discuss a refund. When I called the number, I got a voice mail directing me to their web site. The choices on their web site do not give a space to withdraw membership. They offered a price of $9.95 last year when I signed up and now their price has gone up and according to the bank, because it is a subscription, I have to contact them. They are a rip-off.

L
Aug 11, 2016 1:28 am EDT

The company renewed my membership without notification. I never agreed to an automatic renewal. Upon pulling up MY copy of the agreement, nowhere is an automatic renewal even mentioned. I do not wish to continue any relationship with this flim-flam company. Please pro-rate, return the 11 months of payments that I don't want. My page on the site was torn down online by the company on July 9th. So I, an Arizona teacher looking at a pay cut, need that CASH returned to my account now. I never agreed to any renewal.

B
Sep 07, 2009 4:25 pm EDT

I DIDNT AUTHORIZE THIS 39.00 DOLLARS TO BE TAKEN OUT OF MY BANK ACCOUNT AND I WANT IT PUT BACK ASAP. THANKS, bamonroe52@yahoo.com

I
Aug 15, 2011 8:15 pm EDT

Website has little participation from alumni of my specific high school, therefor I have little to no use for it. The problem is, having decided to vacate my subscription, I could find no way to do so. Only through several redirects did I finally get an e-mail address to contact them directly. They were extremely persistent in trying to convince me to just let it run out, assuring me that when it did (on July 13, '11) I would not be automatically renewed. As of 8-13-11 I'm still receiving alerts, e-mails, newsletters etc. from them. The alerts are always the same; "See who signed your guestbook". But it's never anyone new! Since July of 2010 I've gotten maybe 6 contacts total. And half of them are people I never even knew because they're from classes years after I graduated. I've sent them at least 2 e-mails (sternly worded) since my subscription "expired". They apologize for my frustration, and claim to want to "resolve my concerns" and yet they seem incapable of understanding or acknowledging what they are! And, by the way, they're STILL sending me all that useless crap that I have to delete (twice) from my e-mail on a nearly daily basis. I'm totally fed up with them, and I've told them so in an increasingly profane and undignified manner! Somebody, please make them GO AWAY!

Well, I joined Classmates, afew yrs. sgo--- not sure if its been 3 yrs. yet... Anyways, to my problem--I was sent overdrawn notice Classmates did an unauthorized draft from this acct. They will pay all overdraft chgs..plus undo the $59.00 charge for Gold Membership----they sent no notice to me... I currently have a new e-mail and if they have a problem, then they better get ready to undo my problem-Contact-----CLASSMATES MYSELF--- THEY WOULD NOT DO A UNAUTHORIZED CHARGE AGAINST THEM FOR ME...? PLUS just afew months ago, I gave a fee of $9.95 for a yrs. membership (may have been less_) but needless---- I want CLASSMATES TO TAKE CARE OF THIS MATTER AND CLEAR UP THIS PROBLEM THEY MADE------- NOW... MY NEW E-MAIL IS: halfpintlgc68@aol.com I look for a ANSWER from YOU ---- like within the next 5 days... thanks, Linda Gillen Cashwell

L

company automatically debited our account without warning and put us into overdraft. every penny counts these days and we have been so careful with our money. we are in the middle of filing for bankruptcy and would have liked a warning at least via e-mail that this were about to happen so as to prevent overdraft. this is a non-refundable fee, as i have found out from calling them and they refuse to credit us but will cancel automatic billing which i never signed up for in the beginning. I would advise no one to deal with this company! I will pass the word on!

R
Jan 25, 2009 1:24 pm EST

I discovered a charge on my credit card while checking my account online that I did not remember authorizing. I keep extensive records on all credit purchases, and the charge for $39 was not found, nor was Classmates found in any of my records.
I have just visited another website in which the victim of Classmate's "practices" describedthe "How-They-Did-That": It seems that when you sign up with Classmates for the first time, you agree to their lengthy fine print "Agreement". Buried in that agreement, on page 7, in fine print, it states that you agree to automatic renewal. Further, there are no refunds. Worse, if you dispute the charge with your credit card company, they can provide a copy of the agreement and you are out $39. There is no recourse.
If you close your account, you forfeit anything you have paid them.
I recommend that you immediately file a dispute with your credit card company and then ask the credit card company to issue a new card with a different account number. Yes, that is a real hassle - I've gone through that before - and will now need to do it again.
A caution if you cancel your credit card or change account number: If you have monthly payments to a merchant charged on the card, make sure you notify them about the change in the account number.

I'm an elderly senior citizen and I thought I knew how to avoid these type of business practices. I guess I'm not nearly as knowledgeable as I thought I was.

O
Nov 01, 2009 2:09 pm EST

I only signed up for classmates .com for 1 month, they have continues to take money from my account for 5 months now. Have tried to cancel serveral times. I am not able to sign into my account, I have called severals times and always get a recording saying not in at this time, no matter what day and what time I call. I do not want this service and I do want my money back for the last 5 months, 15.00 a month for something I did not subscribe for but one month is getting a little out of hand.

T
Jun 01, 2011 6:42 pm EDT

I signed up for a reduced price special about 6 months ago. I checked it over and over to make sure there was no auto-renewal acceptance as part of it. I just got charged for an auto-renewal that I did not want. I asked Memory Lane to show me where I agreed to the auto-renewal and they can't do that, but they have not refunded the money either.

M
Dec 01, 2008 12:32 pm EST

THIS "SERVICE" HAS NO TELEPHONE NUMBER, OR CUSTOMER SERVICE EMAIL ADDRESS.
THEIR METHODS OF BILLING ARE UNACCEPTIBLE. ONCE THEY BILL YOUR CREDIT CARD, YOU CANNOT GET YOUR MONEY REFUNDED, IF THE AMOUNT THEY CHARGED YOU IS MUCH HIGHER THAN STATED.

N
May 27, 2012 9:19 am EDT

They have been taking $15 out of my account every three months for a service that I never asked for! This is a big scam operation

G
Jun 02, 2011 6:34 pm EDT

Want results. Call the CEO direct, really *** him off but I got my money back and gave him a piece of my mind, you can too. His name is Mark Goldston. Classmates parent company is called American Online.

M
Mar 24, 2021 4:46 pm EDT
Replying to comment of Graabu

It is United Online

M
Feb 07, 2011 10:07 pm EST

I recieved my billing statement today and noticed Classmates billed me twice.Once on 1-16 and then on 1-24 please remove the 1-24th payment of $39.00. Thank you
Verna Humburg Hampton, Iowa 50441

W
Jan 12, 2011 3:58 pm EST

We started seeing charges on our bank account atarting in January of last year. They have now ammassed charges of $415.08. Have contacted them on their website customer contact and they will not respond.

C
Nov 05, 2010 8:53 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Checking my bank acct saw that classmates had run 39.95 charge when I called was told no refund and my gold membership would expire on 4 Nov 2011 I will not use this again and consider this lesson learned

M
Jan 13, 2010 1:02 pm EST

An amount of $39.00 was charged to my Visa account. I haven't been on Classmates.com for 9 months. Why did I get a yearly fee of $39.00 on my card?

S
Dec 29, 2009 8:28 am EST

I did not authorize $ 39..00 billing. Please credit my Visa.
I also called Visa to deduct from my billing.
Thanks You
Sebastian R. Papa
83 Ivy Lane
Newington, CT 06111
sebbypapa@aol.com
[protected]

J
Sep 15, 2009 4:51 pm EDT

I was charged $39.00 on my Capital One Credit Card for which I did not authorize. I can't understand how you can get away with a scam like this.

J
Jul 30, 2009 2:36 pm EDT

I have requested cancellation of the classmates billing repeatedly and again this month I recieved my visa bill and there is another charge for classmates. Please cancel this immediately.

K
Apr 22, 2009 4:50 pm EDT

NOTIFIED ME TO CONTACT MY CLASSMATE WHO DIED LAST WEEK! This is sick. I will never, ever use them again and suggest others do the same. I suggest using facebook.

G
Jul 14, 2014 10:23 am EDT

Same thing happened to me.

L
Apr 18, 2014 11:12 am EDT

Yesterday I joined Classmates for 3 months for $7.50. Today on my checking account there were two charges for $7.50. Would you please credit my account for the additional billing? Thanks, Lola Leggio, lleggio@live.com or call my cell phone: [protected].

S
Nov 07, 2010 8:35 pm EST

I want to cancel = I do not use the site at all - have sent 3 requests - have not gotten a response. I just want them to take me out and stop charging me.

C
Jun 24, 2011 4:53 am EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Classmates/MemoryLane is made up of a bunch of rip-off artists. They took $39.00 from my bank account without warning. Even though I am on "AUTO-RENEWAL" (which I DO NOT remember signing up for), there should STILL be a warning sent a week in advance so that we have the option of cancelling. I mean, who the hell can remember after one whole year?!?! I emailed them and got a response from "Reba" telling me that there is no paid account associated with my email address on file. I immediately emailed back and gave the ### the what-for. Then I called that 206 phone number, and it was merely a message telling me to look at the "FAQ" section of the website. And I don't know who the hell you are, "Calvin247365", but it sounds like you work for the company. You're an ### along with the rest of them.

D
Apr 20, 2011 8:03 pm EDT

I just encountered the same where they took $39 out of my account and when I disputed the charge (on the same day as the withdraw) the Rep. "Dan" told me that it is non-refundable. It was when I threatened to file a complaint against Classmates he offered a "one time exception" to refund my account. He then told me that it will take 30 days for the refund to take place. So, I made him repeat his name, date of the call and confirmation that I will receive a refund before leaving the call. YES, VERY UNETHICAL INDEED!

Needless to say, I have canceled my account with Classmates and will relentlessly post on Facebook and Twitter to be aware of Classmates unethical practice.

G
Feb 27, 2011 5:34 pm EST
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I sign up for one month service and now am being automatically charged again without my knowledge.

I
Jan 11, 2011 6:35 am EST

I phoned them spring of 2010 to cancel this membership. I was told there was no refund, but, it would not be renewed. Today, I see on my bank statement a charge of $39.00 that was totally unexpected. I don't use the site and don't want the subscription. It seems they do not honor cancellations. I am calling them tomorrow and am sure it will take many attempts to get someone to acknowledge the call.

C
Dec 06, 2010 5:22 pm EST
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

MAKE SURE YOU GET A CANCELLATION NUMBER FROM CLASSMATES AND DELETE ANY CREDIT CARD INFO YOU HAVE ON YOUR ACCOUNT NOW. SAME THING HAPPENED TO ME.

C
Dec 06, 2010 5:18 pm EST
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

get the cancellation code from them to give to the credit card company

L
Oct 07, 2010 7:40 pm EDT

I signed up for one year, I dont remember what it stated about auto renew. I do know I don't like leaving my acct info online so i went to delete it and classmates.com told me it could not be deleted until the charge had cleared and I forgot to delete the info and they changed the fee to 39, and charged without even a renewal reminder email. VERY UNETHICAL! They should be shut down. Rachel and Calvin you sound like employees that have to sit and get yelled at all day cause your company sucks!

Sep 19, 2010 1:37 pm EDT

I have never used Classmates.com, but have found from experience, that if you click yes to their agreement
they may have you agreeing to an automatic renewal of their services . They call it their End Users License Agreement (ELUA), and it
probably has 15 pages of nonsense that none of us read. Can you go to their site and view this by any chance ? Have you contacted
your credit card company, and filed a dispute with them ? Sometimes this will work...sometimes it won't !

B
Aug 22, 2010 11:42 am EDT

they did the same thing to me---never sent me an e-mail asking if i wanted to renew unauthorized payment also .i found it on my bank statement something has to be done

Barbara Nunez

R
Jun 15, 2010 6:48 pm EDT

clasmates has gone in to my bank acoount and has charged me 39.00 without my permission and i have no one to speak with edgewood87@msn.com

E
May 24, 2010 3:14 pm EDT

I did not ask them to renew my trial membership to classmates. They charged me 39.00 and will not refunf it. Is that legal?

D
Apr 12, 2010 10:25 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

i am not the only being charged with out knowing it. i see clasmates is doing bad bussiness, i want the money returned to my credit card

S
Mar 27, 2010 6:54 pm EDT

I like classmates. It's been a fun way to get back in touch with old high school acquaintances. True, the auto-renew policy isn't in fine print, but they *are* being unethical. I signed up for a year, and set renewal to manual last year. Then, early this year, I also found an auto-renewal charge on my credit card statement, with no warning, and with a non-descriptive phone number for the name of the payee. So they switched it back to auto on me. I just went back and changed it to manual again. I suspect they switch it to auto every time you choose to renew, so you have to change it after each renewal.

ADVERTISIMENT

Learn how the rating is calculated

79 complaints
43 resolved 36 unresolved

Classmates contacts

(added by reviewer)
Phone number
Address
1501 4th Ave Ste 400, Washington United States
Website
Category
ADVERTISIMENT