The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Classmates.comautomatic deduction without my knowledge

I signed up with classmates last year, have been member for sometime, but decided to join the gold membership, well I guess they automatically deduct once your year service s up and I dont recall seeing that anywhere in their website, this is totally uncalled for, I have now got an overdraft charge to my account because of them deducting $39.00 when I joined it was only $19.95, SO WTF!!! I have told bank this was not authorized by me and to tell me what steps I need to take now to get my money back, I have read many complaints about this recently, and I feel something needs to be done about this, its wrong, they should of contacted me and asked if I wanted to join another year, not just go and take my money, thats what has PISSED Me off!!!
Classmates, .com watch out cuz you have pissed off a whole lot of people and we WILL FIGHT BACK!!!
A concerned soon to be ex classmate.com member

Responses

  • Be
    Becky Dec 02, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This company is absolutely the worst company ever to deal with! I signed up a year ago but specifically checked to make sure that they were not going to automatically take any fees from me! This morning, I noticed that they did automatically renew my membership! I cancelled immediately and called them to have them credit my account back. They refused, saying I agreed to the automatic withdrawl, which I know I did not!! Most companies will just cancel and refund your fee. This comapny is nothing but a scam! I thought they were reputable... Pft! Not in the least!

    0 Votes
  • Su
    Susan Mader Dec 26, 2008

    I quickly called my credit card company to dispute the $19.95 charge from this company because I did not authorize it. While AP9 is indeed a legitimate company, it is like a sneaky leech or parasite with online companies you DO do business with. For example, I did purchase a membership with Classmates.com - unbeknownst to me - this identity protection service was attached for a "trial" period.

    My credit card rep initiated a conference call with an AP9 rep and the charge was instantly removed - NO HASSLE! Apparently this happens quite often without the consumer's knowledge.

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    Pamela Apr 27, 2009

    I foolishly signed a 3months membership with Classmates.com and the charge was on my account, but there was a charge from Homesavings Mall in Feb, Mar and now Apr for $19.95. Upon calling Homesavings Mall they said I signed for their service on Classmates.com. I did not. I am having April reversed and working with my back on the other charges, which I protested and now have re-protested. Stay away from Classmates.com. Bad for legit on line companies. They operate a scam.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    maurice May 01, 2009

    I myself have just got off of the phone with the people who i purchased a pay as you go credit card and i am thinking that my last money $200.00 was on my card, which i only use for small purchases, and little things.Well much to my surprize money was deducted from my credit card whichi knew nothing about, the reason being that i received no information, written(mail)or otherwise thru other communication means letting me know that these funds were being deducted.All of the money transactions were done on lines...bad move on my part...so i will give up my credit card if nothing but for the sake of my own sanity and reasoning, and not to become a part of this countries big MACK game.For those who dont know, the MACK is where a person is lead to believe that they are getting alot of something for a little of nothing, and here is why this country and its people are in the situation they are in today(sic). I will just chalk this experiance (loss), up to experiance and rely on my god to give me guidance.

    0 Votes
  • Ba
    barbara toma May 26, 2009

    this is the second time classmates.com billed my credit card with out me approval, i did not sign up for automatic renewal and now i want to cancel all toegether. i want this charge removed from my credit card today.

    0 Votes
  • Fr
    Frank May 27, 2009

    Send me a picture. If you okay looking, I'll take you out.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    David Hatcher Jul 21, 2009

    I was charged twice when I renewed my subsription in June When I called my credit card company, the told me to call Classmates and told me their phone number is on the bill. When I caled Classmates .com, I was told to go to Classmates.com/ billing. That is where I am now . Yesterday, I sent an e-mail to the m explaining what happpened. I have not heard from them yet.

    0 Votes
  • Ky
    Kyle Jul 21, 2009

    Stated we had an auto-renewal and deducted $39.00 twice (Once for me and once for husband) in the middle of christmas shopping season. Can't contact them. Going to protest through the bank. Bad billing practices!

    0 Votes
  • Dl
    D. Lythgoe Jul 24, 2009

    My credit card was charged for 59.00 for which I did not renew nor was I asked to renew. I did sign up in 2017 on some trial basis, knowing that I had a 50 yr reunion coming up in June of that year . I have tried to call their number and they just hang up.

    0 Votes
  • Dl
    dlakers Jul 24, 2009

    So you said hello and they just hung up? What did you say to make them hang up?

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    joe Sep 11, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    WWW.MYLIFE.COM...WWW.REUNION.COM ...WWW.MYLIFE.COM

    I am an attorney researching the business practices of WWW.MYLIFE.COM, WWW.REUNION.COM and WWW.MYLIFE.COM . I am interested in their practices as it relates to the unauthorized SCRAPING OF EMAIL ADDRESS BOOKS.


    Pending my review, consideration of legal action shall be evaluated. I located your complaint from a google search of all those complaining about reunion.com and my life.com . Any information you may provide would be helpful so as for me to understand the issues, but response should not be considered as developing an attorney-client relationship. I merely need to obtain information.

    Here's a few questions:
    1) Did you join the dating portion of these sites and have any issues and concerns?

    2) were you enticed to visit any of these websites after an email came to you, appearing like it was from a friend, inviting you to join?

    3) do you feel the terms of service and privacy policy noted on the site explained what exactly they were going to do to your email addresses?

    4) Were your email address contacts emailed an invitation to join after receiving an invitation which claimed you sent them the invite?

    5) how has your involvement damaged your reputation or any finacial losses?

    6) Were you contacted by any other companies associated with any of these sites claiming that you had joined their site also, being sent marketing info from companies, ASKING FOR YOUR TELEPHONE NUMBER, OR RECEIVING MONTHLY CHARGES TO YOUR TELEPHONE BILL?

    So as to support my interest and qualify my identity, I would refer you to a few of my recent cases I filed, so that you can confirm that I do represent individuals in internet privacy matters. Google my recent cases:

    lane v facebook,
    valentine v nebuad
    simon v adzilla
    slater v tagged.com

    Once you locate these cases, review the atorneys noted, and then confirm I have the same email as the attorney noted on the lawsuit:

    "Attorney Joseph H Malley
    [email protected]"

    Please feel free to contact me in confidence to discuss any issues. As noted at this point I am merely researching and discussing complaints to determine if there is any allegations of merit.
    Thanks
    Attorney Joe Malley
    1045 N ZANG BLVD
    Dallas, Texas
    United States
    Phone: [protected]

    email me back at: [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ga
    gail m. allo Sep 14, 2009

    I signed up for a one week free trial, nothing more. I was charged $39.00 on my credit card. I decided not to join.
    Gail M. Allo

    0 Votes
  • Je
    jenniffer harr Sep 15, 2009

    you renewed my classmates account without authorization in the amount of 15.00.please refund to my credit card or ill notify the attorney general and the better business bureau. thank you jenniffer kay harr

    0 Votes
  • Bi
    Bill Miller Sep 24, 2009

    I did not authorize a subscription renewal. Your policy of having an automatic renewal is a scam. I've been unemployed since the end of April 2017, with nothing coming in not even unemployment. I have less than a seventy dollars in my checking account and I need every bit of it for FOOD. Not for a subscription that I seldom use. Please refund the entire $39.00 or receive the wrath of my bad publicity to all my fellow classmates, friends and family members.

    0 Votes
  • C1
    c1gm Nov 03, 2009

    Classmates.Com made an unauthorize charge to my cr card for subscription renewal. Their policy of having an automatic renewal is a scam. I did not sign up for automatic renewal of my acct. Their refusal to credit my acct for this unautorized charge is nothing short of robbery. Please refund the entire $39.00 . I hope other people see these complaints about Classmates before they too become subjects to Classmates pilfering of their accounts.

    0 Votes
  • Pe
    penelopepage Feb 16, 2010

    Please be careful with the Gold Membership with Classmates.com. They gave me a special deal last year and you have to sign up for automatic renewal. You are allowed to go back in and change it to manual which I did. Somehow, it got changed back and they charged my credit card $39.00. They will not refund your money back either so you will have to post a dispute with your credit card company. I feel like this is the reason they want you to sign the automatic renewal. How do they keep staying in business when they do this?

    0 Votes
  • Va
    ValerieP Feb 24, 2010

    you renewed my classmates account without authorization in the amount of 39.00.
    Please refund to my credit card or ill notify the attorney general and the better business bureau.

    Thank you
    Valerie Plucinski

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    Rachael6227 Mar 19, 2010

    Its not in Fine print. It is bold and highlighted in yellow directly above the submit button when you are purchasing your membership. It is In the same size font as the rest of the page. All you have to do is follow the instructions they give you to change your account to Manual. So if you purchase a membership online use the instructions that are provided for you so your account will not renew at the current rate of $39 not the promotional rate you were given . Classmates fee's are non-refundable and that is alo put in bold and highlighted. You have no one to blame but yourself and your lack of reading skills. I don't pity any of you, suck it up people. You made a mistake and it cost you money. If you want to see the exact payment page for yourself click on the help link in classmates and than click on payment options, choose the payment option you signed up with and read. The copyright for this page format started in 1995. No lawyer will touch this if he wants to make any $

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    Rachael6227 Mar 19, 2010

    Its not in Fine print. It is bold and highlighted in yellow directly above the submit button when you are purchasing your membership. It is In the same size font as the rest of the page. All you have to do is follow the instructions they give you to change your account to Manual. So if you purchase a membership online use the instructions that are provided for you so your account will not renew at the current rate of $39 not the promotional rate you were given . Classmates fee's are non-refundable and that is alo put in bold and highlighted. You have no one to blame but yourself and your lack of reading skills. I don't pity any of you, suck it up people. You made a mistake and it cost you money. If you want to see the exact payment page for yourself click on the help link in classmates and than click on payment options, choose the payment option you signed up with and read. The copyright for this page format started in 1995. By the way your bank may do a chargeback but it will be contested by classmates and your bank will simply pull the charge back out when the contract is presented.

    0 Votes
  • Cl
    classmates.com May 05, 2010

    classmates.com solicited me for membership with their company on 5/4/10. the advertised price that I entered was changed from $2.69 to $59.00. classmates.com fleeced my checking/debit account and refuse to answer their phone. I want that amount removed from my account. TODAY!!! ken king, pobox 2506, Fort Bragg. Ca. 95437

    0 Votes
  • De
    delliemonte Jun 06, 2010

    I am actually complaining about 2 websites that just automatically took money out of my account without authorization. Classmates.com and Norton Anti Virus.
    This is unethical when you trust someone with your account information for previous charges to just asssume because you didn't get back to them that it is ok to take money out of your account for renewal fees. Alot of time I just don't have the time to read every email which is what they are banking on ( literally). Unless they get a positive response from me about a renewal they should not just automatically assume that they can take my money. Because of this assumption my account was charged and some small bills I needed to pay where comprised! I am really unhappy about this and now I have to wait for a refund!

    0 Votes
  • Go
    Gold Membership Stripp/For No Reason Jul 12, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I need help... If you are not able to transfer my classmates gold membership over to my yahoo account, will you please switch it back to my previous account ([email protected]) otherwise it you can't do that and it doesn't work, I want my money refunded for the 2-yr membership I paid out to you, I have only been able to use this account for a little under 2 months.

    To me, it seems like a scam. Changing emails for the account should not be such a difficult task.

    Please take this into consideration. If I have to, I will consult a lawyer and my bank!

    Thank you for your cooperaition in this matter.

    Thank you sincerely and god bless - rhonda/ronnie bauer

    0 Votes
  • Su
    SUE DUHON Jul 28, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Just saw where there is a $39.00 debit pending on my checking account...
    I did not authorize this debit and want to know why and for what?

    0 Votes
  • An
    Anne Shanahan Aug 18, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Same thing happened to me! I just now filed a complaint with my bank concerning this unauthorized charge.Classmates said they could do nothing for me!

    0 Votes
  • Ze
    Zexmania Sep 13, 2010

    I am having the same problem with Classmates.com

    0 Votes
  • Cm
    CM1986 Sep 13, 2010

    Do you have an account with them ?? If not then report it to your bank as a unauthorized charged then move on :)

    0 Votes
  • Br
    BRENDA UPCHURCH Sep 20, 2010

    I would like to unsubscribe to classmates.com. My e-mail :

    [email protected]

    Tell me how to do it ??

    I am disabilated. Can't keep up with they bill my account.

    Tell me, I am 64 yr female. Tell me how to unsubscribe. Thank you very much. I used to be smart buy, I not anymore/// please
    help me.

    BRENDA UPCHURCH

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.