The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Carnival Cruise Linesmy cruise extra charges

K Apr 16, 2018 Review updated:

I'm writing this to inform carnival cruise line of my situation. I was planning a lady's cruise for June 30th 2018 on the carnival valor. My self( Katina ), Mellony (friend), Wilberneisha (Mellony daughter), and Alexis (Mellony daughter in law).Mellony mother was unfortunately diagnosed with brain cancer. Now the ladies can't leave her side. I'm left alone to pay for everything. I got penalized for $450.00 i would like my money back cause i still want to go on the cruise. This is a hurtful crisis. Email me at katina.[protected]@yahoo.com For more information i got it. Thanks in advance.

my cruise extra charges

RESOLVED

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

  • Carnival Cruise Lines's response · Apr 19, 2018

    Dear Katina,

    We are sorry to hear that Wilberneis, Mellony & Alexis had to cancel due to Mellony's mom's condition. We hope and pray that she responds well to her treatment should they chose that route.

    We apologize if you have been given incorrect information the entire booking does not need to be cancelled in order to file a claim. We show that all guest purchased the Vacation protection Plan therefore the guests who have cancelled can go ahead and submit their claims for possible compensation. Please note that all claims are not payable however the Vacation protection plan does cover Cancel for any reasons that provides guest with a 75% Future cruise credit based on the penalty amount when they cancel.

    On another note you will have to pay the balance due remaining on your reservation.

    Should you have any inquiries you can contact the Carnival Service department for assistance, please do not communicate via this open forum or post personal information. If you have any questions regarding the cancelled guest you can reach Guest Administration via [protected]@carnival.com. Make sure to include your name, booking information and ship/sail date to accurate locate your reservation.

    Regards,

    Guest Administration

Responses

  • Ge
    General Service Apr 16, 2018

    Hi Ms Brooks.

    So very sorry to hear of your friend's mother.

    When booking the cruise, was there any form of insurance purchased?

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    Katina Brooks Apr 16, 2018

    @General Service Yes but i was told i can't file a claim unless im cancelled the whole cruise

    0 Votes
  • Ge
    General Service Apr 16, 2018

    @Katina Brooks Good. The travel insurance is the proper solution to receive reimbursement.

    Contact the insurance provider directly. Make sure to receive their communication in writing.

    * Get confirmation that your covered for such cancelations.

    * Get a detailed explication of getting reimbursement.

    It should be that straight forward. Hopefully this helps.

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    Katina Brooks Apr 17, 2018

    @General Service I tried. They said unless i cancel my cruise i can't get the 450.00 back

    0 Votes
  • Ge
    General Service Apr 18, 2018

    @Katina Brooks Sounds like you're under some sort of group package. I guess you now have to decide whether the cruise, on your own, is worth the additional $450.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem