The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Barclays BankUnwanted phone calls

I want to start off by saying I feel sorry for anyone who has a credit card with this company. Read further in for ways to get some issues resloved for I have worked for credit card companies in the past. About 4 weeks ago I started receiving phone calls for a person whom I did not know. I told them countless times that they have the wrong number. Then I started getting up to 19 phone calls per day from these people. I have spoken to countless managers who tell me that my number will be removed by the end of the day because of the dailer, then was told 3 to 5 business days then 30 days. I can't ever get someone who speaks good english enough for them to understand that in the US you can only call someone 7 times per number they have listed and that once someone tells you 3 times that they have the wrong number that it is to be removed. To explain the 1st call can be a person trying to run from them so they need to verify it but some companies do remove the number after 2 calls. I am also on a Do Not Call list here in the US. I had one guy tell me that I was wasting his time by asking for a manager when he was one. I little secret here, when I worked for a call center we could say we were a manager if we had been there for a certain amount of time and if the caller wanted to speak to our manager then we put the person next to us on the phone. I now have a call into the privacy officer of Barcalys Bank Delaware.

Tips: Per the FDCPA they can only call a given number 7 times per day, can't call you at work unless you give them the number or you do not have another good number. They can only call between 8 am and 9 pm in your time zone and from 9 to 9 on sunday. To get your interest rate lowered you must complain about it from 2 to 4 times depending on the company. Also if you can't make your payments ask for a hardship program or see if ou have insurance on your account, they will not suggest these offers to you because if you fall behind they make more money. If those don't work go to a CCC or credit place where they will get your interest rate lowered for you and make your payments lower (sometimes they can even get your rates frozen). If you do go CCC then make sure it is a non profit one. As far as getting late fees or over the limit fees reversed, you must be concerned about it and some times speak to a manager, but remember just cause they say they are a manager doesn't mean they are...try asking for the department manager. Also they can not call a cell number unless you tell them they can or it is the only number they have for you. Words of advice, never give up and try to pay off your credit cards, I will never own one after working for a credit card companies...It takes the average person about 25 to 40 years to pay them off cause about 90% of your min due is interest alone. Best wishes to you all.

Responses

  • Aa
    A.A.Mulla Aug 07, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This is to inform you that I have been telling your call center executives to send some one to me & have the EMI collected in cash from me every month. I have been telling this for the last SEVEN MONTHS. I have clearly instructed the your call center that I have stopped dealing with my bank (SBI) & the ECS should not be sent to my bank. Every month your call center people call me & say that the ECS has bounced. Every month I have to dictate my office address over and over again. Your call center people do not understand simple English nor Hindi. You have a bunch of foolish & uneducated staff. They always say that my call is being recorded, if so why don't they play that recording & stop wasting my time. Today (07/08/2010) again some Ruksana Siddique calls me at 2:18pm from [protected] & the entire story had to be repeated. Last month this same female had called me where she had confirmed that my instructions & office details have been updated in her records. Today when I told her that all this has been going on since 7 months, she flatly refused & told me that I was SPEAKING LIES & they don't have any such instructions. (IN HINDI " AAP JHOOT BOL RAHE HO"). LISTEN TO THE RECORDING.
    YOU HAVE SUCH ILLITERATE & MANNER LESS BUNCH OF FOOLS IN YOUR CALL CENTER.
    PLEASE NOTE THAT I AM NOT GOING TO MAKE ANY PAYMENT UNLESS I GET A WRITTEN APOLOGY FROM YOUR BANK & THE MANNER LESS FEMALE.
    Also not that this loan was supposed to last for 30 months, but it still continues. I want my statement of account immediately.
    A.A.Mulla.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    shaiksalar May 10, 2010

    Dear Sir,

    I am getting daily more than 10 time disturbing and blank calls from (+91-22-[protected] ) Barclay Card Credit cards Mumbai, in India. on my BSNL, A.P mobile number.

    All the time this people calling me and giving blank calls and disturbing me, if i called back no one felting the call.

    Finally i came to know this is from Barclay Card Credit cards Mumbai, in India, i warned them that if they called me back again i will give Police compliant against them.

    Please advice me or guide me on this disturbing and blank calls from (+91-22-[protected] ) Barclay Card Credit cards Mumbai, in India.

    Thank you,
    Shaik Salar.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    milawton Dec 30, 2009

    Good day!

    Sorry all Barclay card holder. I'm currently working as an account manager in Barclays Bank. I know all of you guys are upset with our phone calls. Me, too! Every time I tagged the call, I noticed that our system keeps on dialing you're # especially if no answer, voice mail, and hung up. I'm very frustrated with the bank. Even on holidays we are open. I really apologize. Maybe I'm one of those account manager called you and try to collect. I hope the bank will rectify this issue (increase of interest rate without notification, payments not posted on the account and decrease of credit limit). I will be resigning soon because I can't take what they are doing.

    0 Votes
  • Bo
    bobobobobobob Jun 21, 2009

    I have been getting one cal per hour from them for days. Most times they dont even speak to me now.

    0 Votes
  • Jd
    J. Dsouza Oct 14, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have been receiving non-stop unsolicated calls from Barclays Finance and Barclays Credit cards for the past many months. This is inspite of asking to be put on their DNC list and being assured and reassured of the same several times. I am completely frustrated and do not know what to do any more. The worse thing is that they call during business hours as early at 9 am and it is so annoying when you have to be interupted in the middle of a meeting or a conversation with a client.

    Please help!

    0 Votes
  • Di
    Dilipsinh Jadhav Aug 05, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    this is very true that the people handling the indian affairs, have attitude problem. i fully agree with almost all the comments mentioned there in.
    But is there anyone to take a note of all these complaints.
    Recently this bank started charging me for the priority circle membership with out my consent.when I asked what these charges are for. The reply was rude.Iinstead of solving the problem they started harassing me by sending 'sms's' & telephone calls at odd hours.
    Is there anyone to control these indiscipline employees ? Are you top people are listening to all these complaints.

    0 Votes
  • Ar
    arungowda Jul 16, 2008

    Hi

    I am a credit card holder of Barclay, actually I ve recd a statement, in which 1025/- debited to my a/c, actually i have not used that amount, regarding this i have spoken many times with exicutive of customer care . eventhough i ve recd next month statement saying to pay 1650/- & also m getting daily msg to pay the due amount. I am sick and tired of getting messages from Barclays. If anything can be done about this, i would be really happy. so pl pls pls contact me on this # [protected]


    Regards

    Arun D A

    0 Votes
  • Gi
    GILES TALLENT May 14, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    HOE MUCH MONEY DO I HAVE IN YOUR BANK AS OF RIGTH ON THINKS
    AND DO YOU HAVE A PETER WEST WORKING THERE

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    S. Hannah Nesamani Mar 06, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Need to open an SB as well as an Current account. Need details.
    I live in Chennai, a registered consultant.

    Thanking you,
    Hannah.

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    Kannan Nov 26, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I think this would be a good place to put up a notice.

    I am a good customer you know for past ten years no bad credit history i have .But your out source (sparsh BPO Ambattur, chennai, india. )- Employees are harassing me by doing everyday two to three times every day. My friends also decided to close their barclay credit cards. Because my friend received card just one week before. But still today he received above five calls. For payment, if customer is in angry then they are telling just information. What is this nonsense? Is the a world bank or any local financier (roag). Wether we have 50 days time from statement generated date or we have 1 day time when we purchase (the same day we have to pay) what foolish these things are going you know. Within 2 months how may cards will you lose you know from customers. Our group are going to cancel now itself. If you hardly believe this you only going to lose!

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    Kannan Nov 26, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    i think this would be a good place to put up a notice.

    iam a good customer you know for past ten years no bad credit history i have .But your out source (sparsh BPO Ambattur ,chennai,india. )- employees are harrasing me by doing everyday two to three times every day .My friends also decided to close their barclay credit cards. Because my friend recieved card just one week before. But still today he recieved above five calls . For payment ,if customer is in angry then they are telling just information. what is this nonsense? is the a world bank or any local financier(roag) .wether we have 50 days time from statement generated date or we have 1 day time when we purchase (the same day we have to pay ) what foolish these things are going you know.Within 2 months how may cards will you lose you know from customers.our group are goiing to cancel now itself .If you hardly belive this you only going to lose

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Mahesh D Oct 23, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am getting Unsolicited Phone calls from a DST called Tag Financial Services which works for Barclays Bank. I really don't know how Barclays has become so useless by giving a DST to such a stupid company like TAG. I keep getting at least 3 calls from the same number +[protected], the problem is they don't understand basic English as well, i have registered with DNC list of Barclays and still i keep getting calls. I am sick and tired of getting calls from Barclays. If anything can be done about this, i would be really happy and i am ready to pay if this can be stopped.

    Thanks,
    Mahesh D.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.