The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Barclays BankUnfair practice for balance transfer

A Review updated:

I had inherited this credit card because llbean changed visa providers. I noticed in my bill that they were offering a 2.99% interest rate for the life of the balance for any balance transfer. When I called, I specifically asked customer service rep about any hidden charges or fees I would incur by transferring a balnace. The answer was no. I asked this questions three times! All resulting in a no answer. The customer service rep, peter, told me that I did not have to use the checks enclosed in my bill and he would be more than happy to transfer the balance over the phone. Well, beware of the helpful customer service reps...

I received a 3% charge on my balance for the transfer. I immediately called and spoke to supervisor loita mcneal. Basically, her answer was we don't care that you are upset!
The kicker is that I didn't even request this card. I got stuck with it because its who llbean has decided to give their visa services to. So, after I check the fine print on the back of the statement, I will pay off the balance except for the 3% charge and only pay them monthly the smallest amount possible. Now, I will cost them money to maintain, in good standing my balance for their delightful charge for screwing me!
Angry in new jersey

Responses

  • Ca
    Candice Jul 24, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I opened an account with Juniper/Barclay's in May 2007. I requested a balance transfer of a Well's Fargo deferred interest account in June 2007. Juniper/Barclay's paid the wrong person. A representative from Juniper/Barclay's said the account numbers were "not clear" so they "matched" the account numbers. Why would they be so careless considering they have all my contact information including my SSN? They eventually retrieve the monies & paid Well's Fargo, after the deferred interest promotion resulting in $500+ finance charge posted to the account. The account would have zero balance had Juniper/Barclay's not paid the wrong person. I informed Juniper/Barclay's July 12, 2007. It is July 24, 2007 & they have yet to contact me regarding the dispute. I should not be held accountable for another's incompetence. I will seek legal action.

    0 Votes
  • An
    Anirban Das Aug 29, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I'm in receipt of the mail from Mr. Paul Morrison, who claims as the clearance officer of the company BARCLAYS PREMIER LEAGUE SEASON AWARD [protected]. In which I could receive the informations that I had won a huge some of money.

    The only thing I had to do is to send the courier service named, World Express Courier Service, the charges for delivery. On the same I had already paid an amount of 450 Pounds, and in Indian Currency Rs. 38012 including all taxes.

    They told me that they will deliver the parcel with in 72 hours, but till date I hadn't received any. At first they had sent me a Form from British Inland Revenue Board, and demanded 1,500 Pounds, but when I denied to pay any sum and requested them to return me back my courier charges, they were all mum. Then they sent me another form, in which they are demanding the amount of 640 Pounds in the name of British Inland Revenue board.

    They had not only send me the mail, but also had a conversation over phone. But when I asked for the scan copy of the documents present in the parcel they told me that they are confidential.

    Sir, I had already laughed a complaint to British Council in Kolkata- India, regarding the authentication of the same. I would be really obliged if you could take some serious steps, and let me know that whether there is any chances of getting back my Courier charges that I had paid. I knew that it is a great blunder done by me. But then also, is there any way to sort out the problem?

    Thanking You,
    Regards,
    Anirban Das.

    0 Votes
  • Di
    Dipankar Mukhopadhyay Aug 29, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am in receipt of a email from Mr. Paul Morrison who claims to be an clearing agent of England Barclay Premier League 2007/2008, in which I was informed that i have won an amount of GBP 3000,000.00 from the said premier league. And he also send me a form by mail, asking me to fill up my personal details like my postal address, details of the award etc.

    After receiving the mail I immediately without thinking anything I filled up the form and send him at his email.

    Very next day I received an mail informing me that my winning amount has been dispatched in the form of cheque and other documents through a "World Courier Express", I have not yet received any parcel so far.

    In between I browsed the web site of the England Barclay premier League where I came to know that this is absolutely a fraud case and from your site I came to know that Mr Anirban Das was cheated by the same way.

    As I have not received the said parcel, could you please give me your value added suggestions to avoid any further problems.

    At the same time I would like request you to do something against this person so that common people like Mr Das and me should not be tried to be cheated by a person like this.

    Thanking you,

    With regards

    Dipankar Mukhopadhyay

    1 Votes
  • Ke
    Kevin Carson Sep 12, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    In addition to sending a documented complaint to Juniper, I've filed complaints with the Delaware attorney general and the Delaware Better Business Bureau.

    I called Juniper's automated hotline in June for my balance, and sent a payment for the full amount with a note to close the account. I received the July statement with a $10 "finance charge."

    Since 1) I had cut up my card when I canceled; 2) Juniper's monthly statements include only the last four digits of your acct. no.; and 3) their customer service line charges you $15 to talk to a "relationship manager" (the term itself makes me gag), I decided to just pay the $10 and have done with it.

    But I got another monthly bill in August saying the payment was late. After another attempt to figure out a way to contact them without paying $15, I finally gave up and sent in the $39.

    But this time I sent it Priority Mail. And suspecting I might need it, I paid for delivery confirmation. Sure enough, Juniper sent me another bill for September, claiming they didn't receive the payment (due Aug. 31) until Sept. 4. But GUESS WHAT? I checked the USPS Priority Mail tracking number, and it said my payment was delivered at 4AM on Aug. 30! How about that? Now I wonder if they also lied about the other "late" payment, and just sat on it for several days like this one.

    Needless to say, I'm fighting that bunch of crooks. These people are human garbage.

    0 Votes
  • Lg
    L G May 06, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    RUN AS FAST AS YOU CAN FROM THESE CROOKS!

    I pay my bill on time every month and sometimes more than once a month. I am in the process of paying off my balance. In March, $39.00 overlimit fees starting showing up on my bill. They have even upped my interest rate! Calling gets you nowhere and I don't know where to turn for help, so I paid the fee. The next month, I was charged again. I begrudgedly paid the fee again. This month, there is another fee! I call again and the lady tells me that even if I paid off the account right this minute, they are going to bill for another $39.00 overlimit fee next month! So I say to her that no matter what I do or how low my balance is, I am still going to be charged a $39.00 overlimit fee EACH MONTH and she told me YES!!!

    If you receive an offer from these crooks, RUN LIKE HECK!!!

    THEY ARE CROOKS AND THIEVES! THEY WILL SCREW YOU OVER AND UP YOUR INTEREST RATES FOR NO REASON!!!

    0 Votes
  • To
    Todd W May 07, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This is a warning to be taken seriously by anyone contemplating taking out a credit card from this so-called bank ! Juniper Bank is the worst bunch of crooks on this planet. They are evil...evil...evil. I am working on what financial advisers call the "snowball plan " where by in order to reduce your consumer debt you take the smallest card you have pay it off then then next smallest card and so on. Juniper bank is not my smallest card but because of their banking practices bordering on in-human they are on my list as first to go. Pay them off if you have a card with them...and never look back. Even when you pay down your balance there is someway that they will infuse more profit for themselves by using the consumer as the victim. They will stop at nothing to get you imprisoned into paying time after time after time for fee's and more fee's and more fee's after that ! If you pay more then once in a month they nail you for that! As the computer "Joshua " said on the hit 1983 film wargames..." The only winning move is not to play "

    0 Votes
  • Valerie Jun 02, 2008

    First, Juniper increased their fee so much in one month that it nearly hit my credit limit.

    Then, on top of that they sent it to collection to another firm. They even called a neighbour to relay the message--harassment!! So my advice to you is to not do business with Juniper because they will take you to the cleaners.

    After this experience, I plan to stop using credit cards--without thoroughly checking them out first. Oh yes, you might want to file a complaint with the FTC. Quite possibly if they have enough complaints they might check them out.

    0 Votes
  • Valerie Sep 19, 2008

    Paid my account payment online Used the due date for the date the transaction to take place Didn't pay attention that the due date was a Sunday They didn't accept it until the following Monday and then charged me a service charge When I called about it they explained to me how it wasn't their fault that the due date fell on a date that the transaction couldn't take place *** Juniper I'll stomp the CEOs *** I plead with everyone who sees this to not do business with this worthless *** up company screw juniper!!!

    0 Votes
  • Valerie Sep 23, 2008

    Thanks Juniper. 1st you stated you could transfer a high interest card to juniper's high interest and finally you only transfered a third of it. I was late on a payment cause I thought it was a late bill done before the transfer. One straight I paid off your card. The day after you got the payment in full... a maintenance bill went out for 25 dollars... well 6 months latter and no additional bills sent... I found out through applying for a loan you were reporting me as being behind 6 months. After 4 months it is still on my credit report and you company sends me nasty letters saying I owe money and better pay. Well... everytime I call it says I OWE ZERO DON"T READ YOUR OWN RECORDS THREE PHONE CALLS AN HOUR EACH AND YOUR STILL F*&(&^*%* UP. I work hard for my money and making a future for my family. I bet if I took a bullet in Iraq you would still send bills to my wife..***... nothing but

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Joe Roa Oct 02, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    One way to have your neighbors stop telling you about your bills: Pay your bills.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Joe Roa Oct 02, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I don't think they would send bills to your wife, sir. Not in Iraq.

    Afghanistan, maybe...but not Iraq.

    Pay your bills.

    0 Votes
  • Gr
    GREGORy BUTLER Mar 28, 2009

    I was issued a credit card from juniper bank with a 500.00 dollar credit limit. The intrest was 3%. I always paid more than what they requested for the month. But i received a bill about 1 month ago that had late fees attached. so I called to investigate and was told my payment was 1 day late. I spoke to customer service and was told they would remove the fee. They did not remove the late fee and they raised my interest rate over 20%. My balance started out @ 480.00 and i have never missed a payment and I send more money than requested. My balance is now all most 600.00 and i havent used the card 5 months.

    0 Votes
  • Bl
    blbny Mar 28, 2009

    It will be a cold day in hell before I ever use anything associated with Barclays again. Such a shame, too...as I love LL Bean and have shopped them for years. I've purchased skis, snowshoes, jackets, shoes, backpacks, apparel, sleds, everything under the sun. I make it a point to detour through Freeport whenever I'm in Maine just so I can stop at their store. But, since I use their Visa for the "freebies, " they will now loose a most of my business.

    I closed my account with Barclay's this afternoon. Back in January, I received a statement with a ton of fee's for none-payment. This has never happened to me - I sent them a check payment on time, as usual. When I called them months ago, the rep. on the phone reversed all the fee's because I had sent payment. I thought this was all taken care of until today - when I received my statement. My APR shot up to something like 23%!! I called and they said it was because I had a delinquent payment. They were the rudest people I've ever dealt with; treating me like I was some sort of deadbeat. I kept telling them the fees were reversed because I did indeed send payment. They keep telling me they can't control the mail (like I can?). How convenient an excuse...and the perfect way to scam fee's. How do I really know the mail failed??! Maybe these people threw my check in the garbage just to raise my rate and hit me with fees - or- one of their ever-so attentive CS reps could've lost it. I had a Citi card a while back where my check was actually applied to someone else's account?!
    And, yes, I really did send a payment. In fact, if one of these drones bothered to look at my history, they would have seen I'd been paying the card off completely - on time - every month.
    I have never gotten so angry with a CS rep.; to the point of telling them to go to straight to hell. Who wants to deal with a company that makes you that aggravated??? You would think Barclays would want to keep their good customers. Use some common sense before branding them degenerates. Pull my credit report, look at my history - they'd easily see my accounts have no problems.

    I called LL Bean's CS reps - as usual, they were outstanding and professional. I think everyone who's had a bad experience with this bank should let LL know. They're ruining LL's name and costing them customers.

    Please LL, drop this crappy bank soon - I have a lot of shopping to do but I'm not doing it through Barclays.

    1 Votes
  • Ve
    Veronique Foti Apr 02, 2009

    I had the LLBean credit card for years with no complaint. When they changed to Barclay's Bank, I accepted their balance transfer offer. The balance transfer check (to another visa company with Barclay's Bank) cleared but was miscredited. Despite inquiries since November (and a copy of the cancelled check they finally produced), they claim they do not know whom it was paid to and I finally, after harassment by the other company, paid the disputed amount to them but am still paying the transfer check plus interest. In the meantime, my credit rating has been ruined. After this unresolved horror story, I will NEVER deal with LLBean or Barclay's bank again.

    0 Votes
  • Cj
    cje Apr 06, 2009

    Yes they are a horrible bank and I am a customer of LLBean and had the experience of Barclay not sending the credit card bill in November, calling me in December on Christmas Eve and telling
    me I missed a payment. Rasing rates and not notifying me that they were doing their dirt. I have never had a problem receiving bills or making a payment on time . Barclay is useless to speak with. Nasty, Nasty and unprofessional. We shall see if LLBean stands behind them or their customers. I have spoken to LLBean Customer Service 4 times and just today sent a letter to LLBeans CFO Chris McCormick. They need to do something about this Company or they will lose several more customers. Sorry for all the grief people are experiencing but I was glad to see that I was not alone. CE

    0 Votes
  • Ha
    Hates Barclays in Seattle Apr 08, 2009

    I just received a letter I owe 150$ for a 9.$ charge made 6 months ago to LLBean.
    Barclays never sent me a bill. It was sent to my"email".
    It's "your your problem you made the charge."
    I can see I'm not the only one being ripped off by them.
    What recourse to we have?
    pissed off in Seattle

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    Carol Crabb Apr 14, 2009

    This same thing just happened to me--they sent me an email bill - and I never got it because my SPAM system on my email caught it and wouldn't let the bill come to me. I had originally owed $2.95 and they told me that now I owed over $100. After much arguing, Barclays agreed to have me pay only the $2.95 but they said they would have to cancel my card. I will call LL BEAN to complain. I would like to have an LL BEAN credit card, though. North Carolina

    0 Votes
  • Rh
    rhode island red Apr 16, 2009

    I thought I was the only one!! I've been an LL Bean customer for 30 years and NEVER had a problem with them or when their cards were through Bank of America. I've had the Barclay's card for 6 months and have had nothing but aggravation. The bank's customer service reps are arrogant and don't care about Bean's customers. When I wasn't getting any satisfaction I mentioned I'd have to cancel my card, the rep said to go ahead, he could do that faster than to find me the answer I called about. Hey, LL Bean!! You're voted one of the top companies for customer service in the world consistently----do something about this!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ed
    edg Apr 24, 2009

    Did anybody notice the Bean/Barclay card is a 20 day account? And that the statements are mailed late so many times the payment has to be mailed the day the statement is due?

    The card rep said they are receiving many complaints about the 20 day period and that will have to change it next year due to a new Federal Law. Why not change it now? LL Bean says the problems are between the customer and the bank and they are not involved. Now is a good time to run this one up the flag pole since Obama is castigating credit card companys .

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Rosemarie Apr 29, 2009

    We received a 25 dollar late fee in addition to a 1 dollar finance charge for a 9 dollar bill that they posted 3 days after the due date. We are currently cutting up our LLBean card at this moment. We will never shop at LL Bean again or use any service even remotely connected with Barclays. Disgusted in Waterville, Maine. Rosemarie Kenney- Lavin Home State of LL Bean!!!

    0 Votes
  • Wi
    Will Jun 04, 2009

    Something did not look right and I immediatly wondered why would the online banking system need my telephone banking details.

    Called telebanking immediatly. They confirmed that I had handed all my financial details to spammers. My worst nightmare!!!

    Anyway, the guys at barclays immediatly suspended my debit card and my telephone banking number. Mercifully, no fraudulent transaction had occurred. Since then I have used the login page above 20 times to feed him false info and hopefully making him realize that his phishing attempt will not work.

    Please check the https sign before logging in

    Please learn from this.

    0 Votes
  • Cl
    Claudia Jun 05, 2009

    These complaints are useful and I'm glad that many of us are sharing our experiences with the awful bank of Juniper. However, I wonder if there is anything else that we could all do as a group? Complain to our Attorney General, BBB, lawsuit? If you have any ideas, please feel free to post them.

    0 Votes
  • Ba
    Bartrick Jun 12, 2009

    After talking to the incompetent customer service department I am writing this note to you. On June 5th 2009 I had an available balance of $25.85 which included the pending charges of $14.95 and $29.99 which is only 44.95. My credit limit is $250.00 On June 4th I made a payment of $100.44 which if my available was 25.85 my balance on the account was $224.15 less the payment that was on hold the account balance would have been 123.71. Even if the 44.95 was not included which would have put me over my limit my balance would have been $168.66. Not 224.42 which the balance is stating now. The payment was taken off of hold but not applied to the balance. I just made another payment that paid the balance in full. Maybe not the twenty something for fuel however my balance is not reflecting the payment of $100.44 from June 4th. I have made one fuel purchase since I have talked to the customer service department on the 5th of June I received a notice that the payment was on hold for seven business days. This issue needs to be resolved immediately I have made my final payment and I am not making any more payments because when this issue is resolved I will not owe anymore money. I will also be contacting the FRB and BBB regarding the company. I have never delt with more people that are most incompetent in all of my life my four year old could probably manage this situation better. Not to mention that when a payment is made directly from a checking account it is ridiculous that the payment is on hold the payment is cash. One other idiotic thing that I have had to deal with. I have had more problems with this company than any other company I have had any issues with. You do not care about your customers and I did not need the credit card I was using it for a convenience an it turned out to be a pain in my back side it has cause major unneeded stress and it certainly was not a convenience.

    0 Votes
  • Tr
    Trey 1776 Jun 19, 2009

    I knew this was a bad company when I got my card. One look at their website and you get the feeling something is not right. There is no toll free number to call for one thing. The website itself, looks like it was designed as a middle school project. Do not, for any reason, sign up for one of their credit cards. I was one day late paying my bill. I have never been late to pay. My payments have always been early and I make a payment every month that is substantially more than the min. payment. So as a result of my one day late payment, my APR was changed from 7.99% to 23.24%. They increased my interest that much because I was ONE DAY LATE, ONE TIME. The ### on the phone ( I know its not their fault) spoke broken english and could only repeat what ever they had told her to say. I asked to speak to the manager and he was just as redundant and he to could not speak english very well, either. I asked them how, if they had any moral or ethics ( values at all ), how could they work for such theives. I am sure they are pondering that right now. I mean if they treat customers like this do they really think they give a damn about them. I don t know, maybe it the only job the could get in the prison.

    Dont use Juniper Bank < Dont use any Bank ! Put your money in gold and shoot anyone that trys to take it!

    0 Votes
  • Wp
    wport Jun 24, 2009

    I have been a loyal LL Bean customer for 30 years, and switched from Bank of America to Barclay's because I expected the same excellent customer service form them as I get from LL Bean. Reading these other posts, I see I am not alone in my frustration with Barclay's.

    I received a 3% charge for using the courtesy the checks issued by Barclay's bank as well, and was not informed of this when I called to ask them to send the checks to me. Imagine my surprise when I got my bill which had a $500 fee on it. I had planned on paying off the bill in full when I got it, which I have done every month for the past 20 years. So, in fact, I paid $500 to float $17, 000 for two weeks. Isn't that what a loan shark charges? I called customer service and got nothing but rude consideration, bounced form person to person and was repeatedly told that the rate was on the check. I finally got a fax number and address from them, and sent my bill with the charges and a copy of a blank "courtesy" check, which has nothing of the sort on it! This was three weeks ago. I called and asked if they got my fax. They replied that the had, andthat they sent a letter declining my request (which I still have not received.) Again, the same rude manner. I guess that must be because they are used to talking to people who have been ripped off, like me. I called LL Bean, they could do nothinb to intercede on my behalf. I plan to pay yhte bill when it comes, and cut up the card. This is my first time using the courtesy checks, and it will be my last. I also noticed that all of the terms and conditiond printed on the monthly statement conveniently leave out this interest charge figure. Shame on you, Barclay's- you are a predatory lender.

    0 Votes
  • Bl
    blbny1 Jun 28, 2009

    If you are looking for free shipping at LL Bean but don't ever want to use their Barclay's card again, try this code: 3003260

    I found it online, just used it and it worked! When checking out, enter it in the space provided under the "promotions" tab.

    Good luck!

    0 Votes
  • An
    Angry in NH Jul 13, 2009

    Absolutely rude customer service. LLBean should be ashamed and nervous to have a partnership with Barclays. I tried to use the email route with a complaint and Barclays sent me a cut-and-paste boiler plate response which clearly showed they didn't even open my account history to review it!! how embarrassing. And I know this sounds crazy, but I feel that they have "lost" two of my online payments in the last eight months...keep your payment confirm numbers! I didn't...and they dinged me $39 and the finance charges. I noticed the very next day after payment was due (I always check to make sure my payments were made as expected on all my bills) and made payment immediately. No understanding from Barclays. I got the "you signed a contract, blah, blah blah." I also agree that the 20 days is crazy...by the time I get my bill, I have less than one week to react...what if you're on vacation? Nonetheless, we had it only for free shipping, so if the code aboves works...I'm good...the coupon earnings were not great anyway, especially since I can get 1% CASH back on other rewards cards...Closed it!

    1 Votes
  • Tm
    tmf13 Jul 22, 2009

    They also have the Carnival Cruise line card so watch out for this one as well. I got the card with the bait and hook 0% intro rate. The first mistake I made was getting the card right before I moved - the second was thinking I was smart to register for the online paperless banking so the move wouldn't be such a problem. So the card I got was a Carnival Master Card ... the bank name on it is Barclay ...the EMAILS you get are from a very suspicious looking cc.juniper email address which my SPAM filter immediately flagged. I also didn't recognize it to find that mistake. I admit I was late then with the first payment and they automatically charged all the late/interest fees they could find, revoked the promo interest rate, and took all the "sea miles" away. I feel they intentionally use all these names so it is easier for mistakes like this to lean in their favor. BEWARE!!!

    0 Votes
  • Bl
    blbny3 Aug 07, 2009

    Hey, you can still get free shipping without using that awful credit card!

    Visit http://www.retailmenot.com/view/llbean.com
    for the free ship coupon code - 3012422 is the current code.
    Enter it in the "Promotions" section.
    Used it tonight and it works fine.

    I use to be a loyal LL customer - had their credit card for several years. I will never use a credit card backed by Barclays - NEVER! It's disappointing that such a stand-up company like LL Bean would partner themselves with such trash!

    Good luck!

    0 Votes
  • Je
    JessicainMaryland Aug 07, 2009

    I just cancelled my L.L. Bean Visa after having it for more than a decade. The interest rate jumped from 10% to 29.9%. Bank of America, which you may recall had the L.L. Bean Visa before Barclay's, gave me 1.9% on everything I transferred and then a fixed rate of 11% after April 2010.

    I am so turned off that when I did my kids' back-to-school shopping this week, I went to LandsEnd.com. (And they were having a sale!) I love L.L. Bean, but not enough to have a 29.9% APR and bad customer service.

    0 Votes
  • Jw
    jwalkervermont Aug 13, 2009

    I join the list of people who feel screwed by Barclays Bank and by extension LL Bean. Like others I had enjoyed shopping LLBean. When Barclays took over I received a balance transfer offer which I accepted. At the time of the balance transfer I had a small balance with them of around 90.00 with 15.00 due. I had always paid my bill on line to keep the finance charges low but for this particular month I did not receive the email that my statement was ready. When I did check I noticed I was two days past the due date. I paid the total amount immediately figuring I might get the late charge but will call them and explain. When I got my next statement not only did I have the 35.00 late charge but the interest rate had jumped to 28%. They credited the late charge but would not lower the rate so I cancelled the card. That move seemed to have upped the rate on the balance transfer also to 28% (although it probably would have went up anyway). I then moved most of the balance to a BOA Credit card with a 2.99% rate. That left me with a balance of about 500 plus dollars. But because they do the daily balance thingy my August bill had a finance charge of 110.00 since they didn't post the transfer until 7/31. That left me with a balance of 659.00 which I just paid in full even though I could't really afford it at this time but I did wanted to be rid of them. Needless to say I won't be shopping LLBean until they ditch this card company..

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    JohnInConnecticut Aug 17, 2009

    I just cancelled my LL Bean card. I happened to notice the interest rate had gone for around 11% initially when they took over from BOA to 26%. When I called them I was told it was due to 2 late payments putting me in default. I always pay the entire balance every month and to payments in question were applied 1 day late. Their service rep was at first seemingly helpful and said they could lower the rate, and transferred me to the person to do that. That person said they could lower the rate to 23%! End of conversation. I am now writing a letter to the CEO of LL Bean to let them know that a 20 year + customer is now history.

    0 Votes
  • Bl
    blufox51 Sep 04, 2009

    Juniper was OK until they just sent me a letter jacking up their already borderline high interest rates from almost Vari. 23% to almost Vari. 28% : (
    I just paid the greedy Ba$%^$#@ off. I was a stellar customer now they can take their card & shove it. By the way a week earlier they raised my limit without my asking & sent me some checks. I am glad I did not take the bait from these crooks.

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    Moppet Sep 06, 2009

    I have a Juniper/Barclays credit card and I have a balance on mine. I never missed a payment or paid late or purchased over my limit. I miscalculate the interest accrual and went over my limit by not even $10.00. They increased my rate to a ridiculous 24.24%.

    I contacted them in July 2009 due to this issue.

    They credited my account for the increase in the APR for the month and told me they put my interest rate back to my original 8.99%. I thought it was finished until I got my online statement for August 2009 showing again the ridiculous 24.24%.

    When I contacted them they stated that they would not change my interest rate and that it did not show in their system, but when I showed them the credits from July and information provided to me in July the Barclays customer service told me they would not do anything and I was stuck with the ridiculous APR.

    I am paying off the card and passing on to everyone to BOYCOTT the Juniper/Barclays Bank of Delaware Company due to Lies, Unreasonable, and Terrible Customer Relations.

    0 Votes
  • Cn
    CNMC Sep 20, 2009

    I just canceled my LL Bean credit card, too. I noticed my interest rate jumped up to over 26%. When I asked why, the "relationship manger" from Barclay's couldn't tell me, but said that there were many people paying higher rates. I've always thought LL Bean was a socially responsible company that cared about its image and the people who shopped there. I will call LL Bean tomorrow to let them know that my family, which has a tradition of shopping at LL Bean for more than 50 years, will no longer shop its catalogs and stores if they continue to put their name on Barclay's credit cards.

    0 Votes
  • No
    nothappymn Oct 07, 2009

    Glad to see I'm not alone. I have been an LL Bean customer for 20 years and have never had a problem with them or their credit card companies until now. Barclays has not sent me a bill for the past two months and then has called to collect payment over the phone. When this happened the first time, the customer service rep said that the bill may have gotten lost in the mail. In any case, they jacked up my APR to 22% even though I have never been late or missed a payment in the past. I negotiated a lower rate of 20% which is still complete robbery, in my opinion. Last night I received yet another call notifying me that I had not sent in a payment for September. While on the phone with customer service, I physically went through my checkbook register, my bank statement online and my "current bills folder." I realized that once again, I had not received a bill from them! I have excellent credit (well, I did prior to working with Barclays- don't know how this has affected me) and I am very diligent about paying every single one of my bills in a timely manner. Of course they treated me like any deadbeat credit card holder who claims not to have gotten a bill. Outrageous! I have transferred the balance of my card to another card with a 7.14% interest rate and am closing my account with LL Bean. Barclays needs to be reported to an entity that can deal with their fraudulent practices.

    0 Votes
  • Aa
    aaugh Oct 22, 2009

    IF YOU ARE ON THE WEST COAST, MAKE SURE YOUR ONLINE PAYMENT ARRIVES BEFORE 2:00 PM ON THE DUE DATE. ANY LATER, AND THIS CREDIT CARD COMPANY (Juniper/Barclays) WILL CHARGE YOU A LATE FEE OF $39.00 AND INCREASE YOUR ANNUAL PERCENTAGE RATE (APR) TO: 26.24%, WHICH WILL INCREASE AGAIN, SINCE IT IS A VARIABLE RATE.

    ALSO, THEIR SERVER MAINTENANCE ALWAYS FALLS ON OR BEFORE YOUR PAYMENT DUE DATE, SO YOU CANNOT PAY THEM EVEN IF YOU ARE READY AND ABLE TO.

    PAY OFF THE BALANCE AND CUT UP THE CARD.
    .

    0 Votes
  • Ei
    Eileen M.Callahan Nov 22, 2009

    Please, please
    I do not want checks sent to me.
    I have my own checking account.

    Eileen M.Callahan
    31 Hickory Way Mt. Arlington N.J
    07856

    0 Votes
  • Lu
    Lukky Nov 27, 2009

    Juniper credit card company is one of the largest and most inefficient companies you will ever deal with, stay clear of them. They continue to bill you for after paying off card and in fact there online service is the reason for them being able to collect service fees, they continue to not update it with current balances.

    They are the worse customer service company i have ever dealt with and refuse to do anything to accomodate their customer, do not deal with them.

    They will never give out any more phone numbers and will not assist you in anyway beyond the person u get on the phone, period.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    mandamoose Dec 03, 2009

    O happy day to see I am not alone. On the one hand, I am sad because I've always loved LL Bean, but on the other, I REFUSE to do business with this horrible Barclay's, so I canceled their card. I actually did more shopping at Lands End this year for Christmas, even though I prefer LL Bean, but on principle I am just not going to forego the free shipping and monogramming I used to get. I had a $0 balance forever on my card, but missed a $4.67 payment (that's right, FOUR DOLLARS AND SIXTY SEVEN CENTS) that automatically posted to my account after I failed to return a movie to Blockbuster. I'd forgotten that I used my LL Bean card as my default card there. One day out of the blue, I received a letter from Barclay's stating that they were a) reducing my credit limit, and b) raising my percentage rate to something crazy (I think it was over 25%) because of "too many late charges." Um... what?? For a balance under $5 that I missed ONCE? I was so outraged that I immediately canceled the card. As the above posts concur, I was treated like a sack of you-know-what from the guy at Barclay's. The woman at LL Bean could not have been more courteous, and suggested that I state my complaint to her so that she could record it. Apparently LL Bean does take complaints seriously, but if they were really serious, they would ditch Barclay's. I will do what one commenter did, which is write a letter to the LL Bean CEO, but somehow I doubt that will fix it. It's a sad day for LL Bean when they are literally losing customers because of a stupid decision to move to Barclay's. Bah humbug!

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions