The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Barclays BankUnfair practice for balance transfer

I had inherited this credit card because llbean changed visa providers. I noticed in my bill that they were offering a 2.99% interest rate for the life of the balance for any balance transfer. When I called, I specifically asked customer service rep about any hidden charges or fees I would incur by transferring a balnace. The answer was no. I asked this questions three times! All resulting in a no answer. The customer service rep, peter, told me that I did not have to use the checks enclosed in my bill and he would be more than happy to transfer the balance over the phone. Well, beware of the helpful customer service reps...

I received a 3% charge on my balance for the transfer. I immediately called and spoke to supervisor loita mcneal. Basically, her answer was we don't care that you are upset!
The kicker is that I didn't even request this card. I got stuck with it because its who llbean has decided to give their visa services to. So, after I check the fine print on the back of the statement, I will pay off the balance except for the 3% charge and only pay them monthly the smallest amount possible. Now, I will cost them money to maintain, in good standing my balance for their delightful charge for screwing me!
Angry in new jersey

Responses

  • Ja
    Janel51 Aug 24, 2016

    My husbands bank was switched from a non interest charging account to an additions plus account charging £16 per month. No permission was obtained from my husband for this or consultation and as an elderly man he did not understand what they had done. They took £600 off him before he realised and only gave £180 back.. has anyone else got a similiar story?

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    joe mccullough Aug 16, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Bought a car from this garage over 6 months ago, still have not got my log book or tax book or service history for the car, Phone calls and emails are ignored as are texts. This is not the way to run a car show rooms. would I buy another car from them???? never and would suggest others to avoid this place.

    0 Votes
  • Ly
    LynneM Aug 16, 2016

    I had a credit card through Bank of America and it got switched to Barclay Bank of Delaware, in the past 3 weeks alone, I have received 18 telemarketing calls from the same number. The first I answered and refused the service, the following 2 days in a row, I received identical calls for the same promotion. I told them not only am I registered on the Do Not Call Registry I have also registered with their company and to stop calling me. This past week I have received calls everyday but Sunday. I once again called their customer service, and informed them that at this point I am simply filing complaints with the FCC and the Attorney General's office. I urge everyone to not use these idiots. No wonder our banking system is failing!

    0 Votes
  • Ba
    Bamboozled Aug 16, 2016

    Juniper Bank is a creditor that will scam you in OVERLIMIT Fees. I have never experienced an overlimit fee scam as the one that Juniper Bank is putting on. Here's the just: The Credit Limit is not high at all. I have always made my minimum payments on time and remained under the credit limit. I went on a two week emergency trip out of town and forgot to post my paymet. I was accessed a $39 Late Fee and a $39 Over Limit fee. I knew this was my error and made both payments of $39 each plus an additional $20 payment to cover the regular monthly minimum payment. At that time, with all of the payments made I was under my credit limit with enough room to cover the expected finance charges. Long and behold, the following month I was accessed another overlimit fee. As it turn out, Juniper will access an over limit fee of $39 regardless if your balance was under the credit limit at the close of the billing cycle date. Now, by charging me this over limit fee, it actually placed my balance over the limit. I paid again both the minimum and the overlimit fee, then the next month was accessed another overlimit fee. Today, I called upset. I was advised that the overlimit fee has three rules:
    1. The moment your card is over the limit, you will be accessed an over limit fee at the close of the billing cycle, regardless if you attempted to pay down your card prior to your billing cycle being closed. This fee will appear on your next month's bill.
    2. We NEVER waive any fees
    3. Because this fee is charged during the next month, if the $39 overlimit fee places you over the limit in the new month, you will be charged another over limit fee the next month.

    It is a cycle that one can not get out of unless you pay your balance off in full, then even at that time you will receive one last statement with a balance due of $39 for an overlimit fee the next month.

    I have truly never heard of anything like this in my entire time dealing with creditors. I've requested their terms and agreements, and will take to a credit attorney to compare among standardized practices with other creditors. I'm also thinking about taking it further to my local channel stations and maybe Good Morning America. This is a credit card scam and I'm not sure how they have gotten away with it thus far!

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    Justice_Fighter Aug 16, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Before my long list of complaints about Barclays banking practice, I just want to complain first about their complain website. I was trying to complain by email through their web, I in the text, I was writing a long complaints, but after spending 15 minutes writing, when I was trying to submit, it tells me "Sorry - Barclays Online Banking is currently unavailable". I tried 3 times both last night and this morning, it gave me the same message. But if I just write a couple of lines there, it went through. I am suspecting they may have a maximum allowed number of words, but they don't say so on their website! So I called the complaint phone number, they simply told me they are not aware of this problem. This bank does not seem very serious about customer's complaints. And the complaint center is situated in Liverpool, from which you can tell how important the bank thinks the complaint process is. They may as well outsource the complaints center to Bangladesh to save money!

    0 Votes
  • Bo
    boxFrontier Aug 16, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Wow, what a joke of a bank. Barclays Bank's customer service department is by far THE worst I have encountered. I am surprised Frontier Airlines has not moved on to a different bank to administer the frequent flier credit card offer. The customer service at the bank is the worst I have ever experienced.

    If I did not love Frontier Airlines and want the mileage credit I would have dumped Barclays Bank long ago.

    Seriously, I do not understand how a company (Barcays) can stay in business with the poor customer service, lack of follow through, incompetent employees, not well-trained employees on their own products (e. g. stating they don't offer a "Pay Pass" credit card through Frontier Airlines, when they do!!!), weak supervisors, not calling back within 24 hours as they state a manager will do and managers not even aware of what the problem is.

    This goes back to mid-May when I was sent a new credit card because I was "upgraded" to a better card. Two months later and nearly 30 phone calls and I don't have resolution and continue to get incompetent customer service employees who give me incorrect information and do not seem to care to fix the situation. Stay clear of getting one of these cards if you can help it. (I read the negative post by a person who "was roped" into one there at the Denver Airport.)

    I am so disappointed in this product, Barclays Bank, any Barclays cards, especially the Frontier Airlines Barclays MasterCard, the incompetent call center they use in Manila, the uniformed bank customer service personnel in the U.S. who do not follow through and seem uninterested in helping, Frontier Airlines.

    There are other better choices out there. Be aware - Mike

    0 Votes
  • Am
    Amardeep Tanwar Aug 16, 2016

    I am an absolutely disgusted customer of Barclays. I am using Barclays card from last a & half year but the services which was provided by them is pathetic.

    I dont what type for excutive are sitting in there call center they only know one line "THIS CALL IS RECORDED FOR QUALITY PURPOSE" Thats it.

    From last 6 month i asking about my statement each & everytime they just give me a reason thats it.

    I had already pay all the bill but there is a balance of Rs20000 is left i dont know how.

    Anticipating your earliest reply on that,

    A disgusted customer.

    0 Votes
  • Ho
    Holly Prud Aug 16, 2016

    This company has still not refunded me the £42.36 it owes me for cancelling my membership. After losing my key and them failing to send out a replacement after 6 weeks (!!!) of my request (it should take a max of 5 days) they finally promised to issue a refund although I was outside the 8 week cooling off period of product purchase (clearly because they hadn't sent me a replacement in time!!). However it has been over a month since the request for a refund was made and I have spent probably 20 hours on the phone trying to sort this out (not really worth it for £40 I hear you say). They never call back when they say they will and I really have no idea how I am ever going to get my money back.

    0 Votes
  • De
    Dermot O' Dowda Aug 16, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I applied 21st. March 2012 for online banking facility with Barclays to manage my mother's finances (she has dementia and lives in UK. while I live in Ireland and have Lasting Power Of Attorney). After 10 weeks of many hours on hold to their Indian 'Help' Centre where you are told to wait 'just a couple of minutes' for 'specialist help' and then basically ignored I am giving up ; I would prefer to spend the time exploring the potential for legal action as the consequences for my elderly parent of not being able to pay for her care are extremely serious.

    0 Votes
  • An
    antinouus Aug 16, 2016

    Barclays Bank is worse bank I could have come across in whole my life. The staff of the Bank are very unscrupolous people and very unfriendly they think they are the best people in the world. I have experience a lot of unfriendly and uncourteous behaviour from them. Barclays is a very bureoacratical bank with a lot of employees that they are waste of space for being inexperienced and not well trained.
    I had a bank account in London that was there for many years since I was a student and I wanted to keep it as a memory of my goliardic year. I could not have it at that branch anylonger. I didn't receive any instruction what to do with it and it became Dormant.
    I finally riunited with my money and when I ask to transfer the money to my saving account they just could not care less about the instructions i gave and they send me a cheque in Italy at my resident address. A cheque wirtten in English in English sterling that could not be changed or accepted by any institutition in Italy. I tried to send a complaint to the head office but the email address is not working. Is this a bank? it seems to be that it is a bank of third world country or worse it is like a zoo.

    0 Votes
  • Nu
    Nunya2009 Aug 16, 2016

    President Obama's Tax Dollars Bail out US BASED BANKS !!! Not UK based banks

    0 Votes
  • Ed
    Eddie hargreaves Aug 16, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I took out a 5 yr and a 3yr Global Equity investment with Barclays Wealth in July 2007. The 3 yr one is due to mature and I received a letter from Barclays telling me that my investment crashed in August 2007 (one month after it began) and I will receive NOTHING in interest. I will only get my original stake back. I was told that these investments would probably double or even treble when they mature. In fact, the 3 yr one has made me NOTHING !!! I have lost 3 yrs interest that could have been earned in a deposit account. The 5 yr one matures in 2012 and I expect that one to go the same way. I have demanded the rest of my money back to give me the opportunity to at least minimise my losses but Barclays will almost certainly refuse as under the investment terms, no withdrawels are permitted until maturity. Surely, they cannot lock me into a totally useless investment and should return my stake so I can get at least something back ?? I have been conned and treated with contempt. I was vigorously encouraged to take out these investments at the time although I wanted to put my money in a high interest deposit account. Had i done that, I would now be several thousand pounds better off !! Can barclays really get away with this ?? I think it is robbery and want to know what I can do ?? Can you help ?? Eddie Hargreaves

    0 Votes
  • Ty
    tylor2003 Aug 16, 2016

    I received a form letter stating effective April 1, 2009 my 8.99% APR was being raised 67% to 14.99%. I have NO late payments, Never over the limit, no cash advances, been a perfect customer. When I asked why, they told me QUOTE" we are tightening our policies".
    I am outraged! President Obama is bailing out these banks, and they are now DOUBLE DIPPING, getting our tax dollars from the bail out and raping good credit worthy customers by raising interest rates for NO REASON!

    0 Votes
  • St
    stinko Aug 16, 2016

    It sounds like you beleived something that was too good to be true.

    The way these investments work at a high level are as follows:

    $5000 now is worth $7, 000 in 5 years.
    Therefore, $3600 now is worth about $5000 in 5 years.

    So... the company will take $1, [protected]) and basically invest it in something really risky where that $1400 might triple. ie. a penny stock, derivatives, roulette table, whatever. that's how they can make things double.

    Unfortunately the company lost the bet. But... I wouldn't be too upset. You didn't lose your principal and interest rates suck now anyways.

    What you should do it just buy a low cost index fund and let your money sit for 20yrs and grow.

    0 Votes
  • Rk
    RKESH KUMAR SINGH Aug 16, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    To
    Head of cards
    India
    I had a Barclay Gold card No.[protected] isued in Nov.07 After that I used this card for some item purchase.I not received any statement from you, after 50 days there was a call for me to pay Rs 1379=00 I paid the same amount by central bank of India cheque no.331731 for clear my dues, after that I received a call for late charges of Rs 427=00, Ipaid this amount also by cheque No.719678 (of ICICI Bank Ltd.) on date 1-06-08, after that I received a call/message from [protected] to pay Rs. 1314.99 two payments overdue.Please check and conferm me with full detail.
    I am not going to pay any one rupees to you, I had been sended my cradit card to you at the addres-Barclay card, p. o.Box 11567, Nariman Point, Mumbai 400021, by rsisterd post from NEPZ POST OFFICE (201305), SP EU325157078IN, COUNTER NO.2.OP-CODE:002 ON date 9/08/08, Further I clear to you that I not want to have any relation in future with you, please dont, call/message to me.It is very samefull to you, and to your bank.Please replay to me soon with all the clearefication.


    Regards


    Rakesh kumar singh

    0 Votes
  • Da
    darkeegan Aug 16, 2016

    this is clearly a scam. you have people deposit forged money orders into their accounts and then transfer x amount of dollars to your account. two weeks later the bank discovers the forgery and you are long gone while the idiot who fell for it is out all that money.

    SCAMMER!!!!!!!!!!

    0 Votes
  • To
    Tom Smith Aug 16, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We offer loans to individuals and corporate bodies who are in need of money to improve their business. We give mortgage, car, personal loans. Contact tom smith from the website www.markilo.netfirms.com for a loan.

    0 Votes
  • To
    Tom Smith Aug 16, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Barclays Finance needs people in the usa and canada area that have equity line of credit or e-trade account that will enable our clients customers in the usa and canada area to receive money on their behalf and takes a commission of 10% at each receipt. Contact Tom Smith on [email protected] for more details.

    This is scam, beware!

    0 Votes
  • Za
    Zack M Aug 16, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I signed up for a USAirways MasterCard with Barclays Bank. One of the benefits was supposed to be that I would earn 2 miles for each $1 spent on USAirways purchases. I just found out that this is completely untrue. Checking my recent statement after a recent USAirways purchase I found that I only earned 1 mile per $1 spent. When I called to ask why, I was told that "my account" was somehow different than all the others which is why I only get 1 mile per dollar. I was then transferred to USAirways, who has absolutely nothing to do with the issue. So I called Barclay's back and once again I was transferred back to USAirways. Livid at this point I called Barclays back again and asked for a supervisor. I was put on hold then after a 10 minute wait, I was told a supervisor was not avaialable. I asked them to close my account and they said, please talk to my supervisor first, then I was put on hold again and then dis-connected!! I'm beyond frustrated at this point and plan to close my account if I can ever get someone on the phone. This is the worst customer service experience I can remember having in quite some time.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    shaiksalar Aug 16, 2016

    Dear Sir,

    I am getting daily more than 10 time disturbing and blank calls from (+91-22-[protected] ) Barclay Card Credit cards Mumbai, in India. on my BSNL, A.P mobile number.

    All the time this people calling me and giving blank calls and disturbing me, if i called back no one felting the call.

    Finally i came to know this is from Barclay Card Credit cards Mumbai, in India, i warned them that if they called me back again i will give Police compliant against them.

    Please advice me or guide me on this disturbing and blank calls from (+91-22-[protected] ) Barclay Card Credit cards Mumbai, in India.

    Thank you,
    Shaik Salar.

    0 Votes
  • De
    DeliberateBB Aug 16, 2016

    Have had a Barclays card primarily because of the Frontier Airlines Early Returns Program. It is my favorite airline and I have tolerated Barclays Banks BS for far too long. I believe this company is guilty of usary, legal & illegal. I believe this company is predatory and has developed a computer system designed to exploit their customer base in every possible way. The company reporesentatives, no matter where they are based, are all well trained to lie and to excuse the company's inappropriate treatment. If this is the answer to regulating credit card companies, the legal eagles for the US have missed the boat almost entirely. The benefits that resulted out of the new legislation were completely trumped by other liberties that the credit card companies have probably always had in their back pocket. Thank goodness that all credit card companies are'nt as sleazy and unethical as Barclays.

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    sadasiv acharya Aug 16, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    i have got aphone call that my lotery won amount is going to be transfer to me 1, 500, 000 GB Pounds as told me by Sir Mr. Brown Smith
    (Assigned Senior Account Officer)
    Account Department (Local/ Foreign)
    International Banking Unit,
    Barclays Bank Plc..,
    Tel: +[protected]
    Barclays Bank Plc.
    .the information true or false let me konw as soon as possible

    0 Votes
  • Me
    me in ca Aug 16, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    NO, all they are doing is trying to get your bank information to do fraud.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    makethechange Aug 16, 2016

    Seriously guys...before you go pick up the phone and cry to the "relationship managers" at this company about how you were done wrong...do your damn homework...there is a little thing called "Terms and Agreement"...in that it discloses ALL the things that can happen to you or your account...by signing your application and opening an account you are agreeing to this...agreement. If you dont like it...DONT sign up for the damn card...and here are just a few other specific concerns I would like to voice.

    1. It is not YOUR money...its the bank money that they lent you...and you are paying them back...so if you get a paymenthold on your account...deal with it...it will be removed in just a few days.
    2. Dont try to make threats..."Well if you dont remove that fee Im going close my account"..."If you dont lower my APR Im going to just not pay you"...this will get you nowhere...promise.
    3. Dont brag about the money you have...they see credit limits all day...I guarantee they have seen one larger and are not impressed with yours...and it just makes you look douchy.
    4. It is NOT the banks responsiblity to monitor your spending unless they deem it fraud...in which case they will let you know and assist...so dont bother calling up and saying "you let me go over my credit line"...(this is in the terms and agreement) they are not babysitters...and literally have millions of accounts to monitor...so if you dont even know what your spending theres a good chance you should just go ahead and close your account...your bad at math and this will only lead to more problems for you...and another thing...just like there are some that dont want to go over the limit there are some who do...and for those of you who knowing do go over...dont cry when your rate goes up and you get a fee.
    5.And as far as responsibilty goes...when you call up and say "I just didnt open the bill"..."I was on vacation"..."wah, wah, wah...waive the late fee"...no...its your job as the card holder to pay attention to your due date...not the banks...so pay attention...and plan ahead if need be...you can make payments through the mail, over the phone, or on the internet...and schedule them for the future...what a concept.
    6.Dont make death threats or tell the reps to performs dirty sexual acts...theres a good chance they are putting you on mute and just laughing with their co workers at your crazy ###...and remember...while you may think you are making them angry...unlike you...they are actuallygetting paid for that call...the people you talk to on the phone are not the ones that make the rules...but they do get paid to enforce them and educate you.
    Its mind boggling how some people can take an unsecured loan...sometimes and huge loan..and not read up on all that they can about it...the information is given to you...so read it! Have you at all been paying attention to the economy or how businesses work...they are in it for money...but they do inform you in one way or another...even if the bank is based out of delaware ( a state that has some pretty crazy banking laws) they are still require to give you all the info you need to keep from getting screwed.
    7. Go ahead and get a lawyer...Barclays is a multi billion dollar company...I can assure you they have a better lawyer than you and will win...they werent born yesterday...and have surely come across another card holder who didnt read their terms just like you and have already dealt with a similar case.
    8.Dont try telling them about another card you have and what their policies are...they will not bend the rules to fit your prefrences...and they know that other banks practice close to way they do...so dont try schooling them...they know what banks "really" do...they work for one.
    9.If you dont like companies like this...then stop supporting them and just close your account or better yet...dont open it in the first place.
    So for all the complaining you do to the banks...this ones for you...read your terms and agreement...or SHUT UP!

    0 Votes
  • Kl
    KLjr Aug 16, 2016

    You cannot tell me that you have never made a mistake and asked for forgiveness...

    While I understand what you are saying, I don't totally agree. I recently had a run-in with Juniper/Barclay's... I was $0.94 over the limit on the last day of my billing cycle. I was notified the next day by email about going over and immediately made a payment (literally within an hour of receiving the alert) and called in to make sure that the payment posted. When I called, the "relationship manager" explained to me that I would be charged $78 for being over the limit two months (last day of the billing cycle and now, the first day of the new cycle).

    My issue comes down to this - we are all human and we do make mistakes. I have always been on time with my payments and have always maintained a reasonable balance, yet was unable to receive a break for being NINETY FOUR CENTS over for less than a business day. The "relationship managers" were more like computers than people - no heart, no compassion.

    These banks write-off upwards of 60% on some people's accounts... money that they will never see again (except a small percentage through tax breaks). Why would they not help a customer that has had an excellent track record with their company for quite some time?

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    juniper interest Aug 16, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I entered a balance transfer agreement with Juniper in 08, for 0 percent interest on the balance transfer, for the length of the loan, providing payments made on time. Two months ago the company informed me the agreement expired, and are now charging me a significantly higher interest rate. They also state that I entered the agreement one year after I did. After daily requests, via phone and fax, they still haven't sent me the original contract language, or the alleged new agreement I allegedly entered with them in 2009. Has anyone else had the same experience? If so, please email me at [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • nikalseyn Aug 16, 2016

    Do as I do: any company that uses a call center in some foreign country does not retain my business or gain it. It is hard enough trying to get graduates of American public schools to use common sense or have a modicum of smarts. Trying to communicate with someone whose native language is not English is usually an attempt in futility and any company foisting this "customer service" on unsuspecting customers does not deserve my business.

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    kayharley Aug 16, 2016

    Been a customer for over 15 years...they refuse to dispute a fraudulent charge because I don't have a cancellation number on a reservation made on a mobile device. I will pay my balance and never do business with them again. Should have used my BOA card.

    0 Votes
  • Le
    LewisFarnworth Aug 16, 2016

    I want my money that you stole from my account I want it back or I am going to sew you for fraud

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    JohnMF Aug 16, 2016

    Tried to contact Barclays Abroad using number provided. Was put on hold each time. First call was cut off after 4 minutes; second call was answered after 24 min. Person claimed not to be able to hear me and cut me off. My phone works perfectly well, so problem at Indian call center. Maddening!

    0 Votes
  • Ad
    Adrian Arnold Aug 16, 2016

    I have just wasted 22mins.50secs.speaking to a call centre in India where the person I was speaking to seemed only able to repeat the same phrases parrot fashion.Looking on your comments page I see plenty of others are brassed off with these call centres, they really are next to useless.Why can we not have call centres in our own country where the person we speak to understands what we are saying, the present system is abysmal.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Milwauke Aug 16, 2016

    I paid in £800 cash on the 6th of April to transfer £749 to a university in America. 3 days later, the transfer had gone though but there was no record of the £800 I paid in. As the bloke behind the counter only gave me on receipt (i found out later that was for the transfer but not the deposit), Barclays refused to investigate any further. When i repeatedly requested that the cctv footage be reviewed to show me hading money over to him, they refused. After 8 days and persistent complaints, they came back to me to say the cctv wasn't working on the day i went in so there is nothing to review. That was the extent of their investigation and they weren't going to do anymore.

    One month later, I haven't had anyone come back to me from Barclays and the only time i hear anything is when i ring up. I wrote in on the 20th of April and didn't hear anything back. When i followed up with a phone call today, 8th May 2009, they told me they hadn't received anything by way of a letter from me and they haven't dealth with the matter any further.

    i'm still outstanding £800 which Barclays bank is refusing to investigate and refund and they still have the nerve to charge me for April and May, £14 a month account fee even though i haven't been able to use my account since the 6th of April.

    When i confronted the cashier in question, David Tunney, he claimed to remember me coming in and him serving me. Interestingly enough, he doesn't remmeber taking £800 off me. I have been back since and now he refuses to talk to me.

    What is also baffling is that i don't have an overdraft facility with that account. On the day in question, i had a balance of £320 in my account and had i not paid in £800, how was a transaction of £749 processed. It should have been declined like all other transactions when you have insufficient funds to clear it. Again, Barclays have not answered that despite my repeated questioning it.

    0 Votes
  • Pu
    punctualdiva Aug 16, 2016

    Barclays is awful - RUN away from them. I'll post my bad experiences here in another thread

    0 Votes
  • R2
    r2roni2 Jan 26, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My identity was stolen very easily by someone making just a simple phone call stating their card was lost and wanted a new card and oh by the way "I" moved and have a new phone number. Barclay issued them a new card with my name and all my info!! Barclay mailed me a letter months after the fact the changes took place verifying my new info! I freaked! I could not access my account as the new card holder changed all accounts to e-mail bills only! Took me a very long time to "fix" this mess they made and my credit report shows I am at fault!! Never ever do business with Barclay. I love LLBean and I too contacted them to change credit card companies.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    MariaQ Feb 09, 2015

    I too have excellent credit FICO score of 823 and Barclay's usurious rate is 22% I will not be using my LL Bean visa. LL Bean needs to drop them and go back to Bank of America a United States bank.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    shopper999 Jul 02, 2014

    Barclay's LL Bean Visa is a scam. One of their scams is issuing customers new credit cards, with new numbers, and declining to transfer merchandise refunds from the old card to the new card. I have never once had a fraudulent charge on any credit card in 25 years - except the LL Bean Barclay's Visa. They constantly reissue a new card, with a new card number, due to 'fraud, ' they say. This means that LL Bean refunds are not provided to the customer, because they've 'closed' the old card. Meanwhile, LL Bean tells me they 'provided the refund' and feels they are done with the situation. But I never get the refund, because it is never transferred from one LL Bean Visa Barclay's 'closed' card to the new card (with a different card number). After 2 months of back and forth w/LL Bean, I finally received a credit owed. And now, the same thing is happening again with a different purchase. Once it is straightened out, I will close the LL Bean Barclay's Visa once and for all. I also am going to shop as little as possible at LL Bean in the future. I have loved LL Bean and hate to say goodbye to them. But this is off the charts absurd. Trying to get refunds from LL Bean (via the Barclay's LL Bean Visa card) is a part-time job. I have spent thousands at Bean over the years. No more. Just google Barclay's and marvel at the corruption of the company that Bean partners with.

    0 Votes
  • Xl
    Xlandria Apr 09, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Wake up people!!! no one is out there just waiting to lavish you with money. the only ones who get money are these scammers who collect from those whom they rip off. that would be you. the person who believes anything they say are asking to have their money taken from them. if it sounds to be good to be true... there's a 99.9 % chance it's not.
    There are two things I will stake my life to without any danger of being wrong:
    1) all of these "fine & generous" folks who are just dying to give you hundreds & thousands of dollars are nothing but rip off artists. it's all they do, all day, everyday, send out e-mails to literately thousands of people, 'advising' them of how much money they have coming. most people ignore their claims but these crooks know that there will always be plenty of "suckers" who will send them money. and they are correct. if you have to send them money to get money... quick - run, don't walk, as fast as you can in the other direction & don't look back.
    2) all the people who are singing the praises of those who they claim got their money recovered their money... they are the same ones who sent you the e_mail claiming they have your money.
    Just remember this - once any money leaves the u.s., it is gone. no court in this country has the power to force others in a foreign country to do anything. so, if you're thinking of sending any money to jokers like this, well, I have a bridge & a statue for sale, cheap.

    0 Votes
  • Bm
    bmarshall Feb 27, 2014

    don't trust anyone don't send anyone else anymore money this is a scam stop sending these people money if you haven't bought a lottery ticket you haven't won the lottery if you don't have family (someone you actually know) saying I sent you a check there is no check!!

    0 Votes
  • Dinah Anetta Hilda Smith Feb 25, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My name is Dinah Anetta Hilda Smith I also hired a Private Detective Carl Roux he is from Scam Investigators Email: [email protected]:us I paid him R2, 000.00 already but came up only with answers the fraudsters are all arrested, without any proofs to me, now he wants another R4, 000.00 from me to get my money back for me..He checked VAMILE SITHOLE ACC: [protected] STANDARD BANK BRANCH CLEAR WATER CODE: 001255 IN SOUTH AFRICA and tells me she is arrested. her phone number is: +[protected] can you call her if this is true, because I am not allowed to do so myself. Also check out Detective Carl Roux his number: +[protected] if he is for real? I don't know who to trust any more! please help me!

    0 Votes
  • Dinah Anetta Hilda Smith Mar 17, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Dinah Anetta Hilda Smith Has vamile sithole acc: [protected] standard bank branch clear water code: in south africa arrested yet?? my money was deposited into her bank account the bank received my money!!! during february or january 2014

    0 Votes
  • Sc
    scam corpp Feb 24, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hello
    this so call scam cop just want to demand the image of barclays bank and it is very bad and i quest that if they over head your saying they will sue you to high court for publicly saying bad things against the barclays bank london...

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.