U.S. Bank Car LeasingI will never lease a car from u.s. bank again

R
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

Over the past twenty years I've leased many, many cars. At the end of each lease I've turned in the car and have never -- not once -- been charged for any out of he ordinary wear. All of the cars I've turned in had some minor scratches, the occasional door ding, and so forth. No charges. Ever.

U.S. Bank, on the other hand, seems to have discovered a profit center in charges for "out of the ordinary" wear. After 39 months of use on a Lexus RX330, they found a buffable scratch on the front fender, treads too low on one tire, and scratches on the outer 1/2" of the rim or two wheels. The total charges for wear are $836.00. There is not a single other scratch on the car -- anywhere.

I called to tell them that I was willing to pay for the worn tire, but the scratches on the rims were going too far. I was curtly told that this is in their stated policy and that I could write a letter but they would bill me regardless. Thank you for calling U.S. Bank.

I will never lease a car from them or use any other U.S. Bank service. They have no interest in the customer and they appear to be using fine print to boost the bottom line.

Responses

  • Ke
    Kenn45 Feb 22, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This is by far the worst car leasing institution. I leased a vehicle for 4 years and it has 30, 000 miles on it when I returned it. They had AutoVin come and do a "free" inspection in which the said that a scuff mark was a scratch. The scuff mark was underneath the front bumper and when I tried to have it repaired, the auto body shop was shocked to hear that they would charge for a scuff mark that was hard to find. I called US Bank and told them that the scuff mark was rubbed off, but they said I would still receive a bill for it unless I had a receipt showing that I paid for it to be repaired.

    0 Votes
  • Rj
    RJ100 Mar 07, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Be forwarned. Absolutely the worst financial services firm we have ever dealt with. Period. No matter the issue, you can find 1, 000's of complaints about US Bank online. Not only is the overall oepration sloppy & unprofessional, but the abject INCOMPETENCE is mind-boggling. We paid off our 24 month lease "in full -- 10 months in advance". However, due to an internal system glitch US Bankdebited "duplicate" payments from our checking account. Instead of deducting $3, 600, they deducted a 2nd identical amount of $3, 600 for a total of $7, 200, & it took almost 3 months of HASSLE to get them to refund the money they had improperly deducted. A true sham operation. Almost identical complaints related to the "dulplicate" payment scam are easy to find online. At the end of the lease --- even though we paid it off in full 10 months EARLY --- we started getting "past due" notices, & a letter about our "seriously delinquent account" & threatening legal action. This for an account that has been fully paid off for 10 months! The group of incompetents who run the Consumer Banking Operation at US Bank, should prompt a Class Action lawsuit, & we would gladly be a party. Gladly. Why is the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB) not taking this shoddy operation to Court, &/or closing down their Consumer Finance Division?
    Another sign of their auto leasing scam is the end-of-lease inspection: Our vehicle was returned to the same dealer we leased it from, & we were told that on a 1 to 10, our car was definitely a 10. As close to showroom condition as a car can be after 24 months. Only a single 3" scratch on 1 wheel. NOTHING else. ZERO other issue. The inspector wrote up a paragraph about TOTALLY non-existent scratches, etc. The best part was the tire tread measurement, which clearly demonstrates: a) that US Bank employs complete incompetents; &/or b) they are running a purposeful scam. The tread on all 4 tires was rated the same ---- even though a TOTALLY NEW tire had been put on only HOURS before the inspection & had ZERO miles on it. Zero! This shows that the inspections are purposely scamming customers, or the inspectors absolutely do not know what they are doing.

    1 Votes
  • Bo
    bosseb Jan 13, 2016

    Completely agree class action suit ready to go. They call their termination fee a required payment, it is not a termination fee, it is the end of an agreement. Upon returni g your vehicle the company will not provide a bill in time to make an informed decision about repairs. Also has no clear information about the location of your vehicle. Unfortunate for a company with many competiors and many upset clients. Will never lease from them. Absolutely read other comments and see how people are in agreement before leasing with US Bank.

    0 Votes
  • Mb
    Mbifive0 Dec 07, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    A class action lawsuit against US Bank is required to have them stop these illegal practices. When everyone complains but takes no action lead them to be no better than ch of thieves. When the lease is up you need to close the bank account they had access to or credit card to cut off their unauthorized access. When they threaten to turn you over to collection or report you to the credit reports you can file a consumer rebuttal to the credit reports and sent the credit bureaus all of these complaints as evidence. Next show the dealer that allows US Bank in their dealer if they continue to use US Bank then you will go public with all these complaints and that dealer is jeapordizing the customer's financial stability. Write a few letters to the BBB and include all of these complaints to bolster the complaint. Contact the Attorney General in the State US Bank is in and your State and provide them with all these complaints.. They can not act if they do not know the problem. In Central NYS Senator Chuck Shumer is a great advocate for the consumer but they have to know who is ripping off their voters and action will be taken. Mike [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ha
    HalB Nov 09, 2015

    I am having the similar happening to me and 5 months later I am still trying to get some of my money back.
    I turned a lease in early to Cadillac dealer, they got the payoff total from u.s. bank, I gave the dealer two checks one for the car I was purchasing and one for the difference that they were short on the lease payoff. that was June 30th.

    U.S. Bank took out 4 more payments after the full payoff of the lease, no damage to lease no over miles way under actually, no excessive wear and tear.
    They still have not sent a close letter, I did threaten them with legal action and I got a partial refund about a week ago yeah almost 5 months they have had over 1240.00 of my money and the dealer even sent an extra payment to them to make them close the account and they did not.

    I have turned in leases early almost all the time, I have never had a problem, but never until now used us bank before.
    I am still trying to get money back, I have spent hours and hours and hours on the phone during lunch hours and after work, and I have had the dealer sales manager call also and she got no where even with me sitting right there to make sure she can get information. I am not an attorney but feel that they should be able to produce a payoff letter or payed in full letter or a letter showing where all payments went in detail?? I have not seen anything like that, so my original lease balance was 5600.00 and the total payments equal 6400.00 so If I would have just parked the car for 18 months it would have been cheaper than turning it in with only 20, 000 miles on it when I get 15, 000 a yr makes absolutely no sense to me at all.
    I think there should be a class action lawsuit against us bank.

    0 Votes
  • Li
    LisaLL Oct 20, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I too just received a letter/invoice from US Bank for excess wear and tear and the termination fee that I wasn't aware of. I called to dispute/get an explanation. The guy I talked to pulled up my account and explained the pictures he was looking at. Said there were 3 dents in the car (BS) and a scratch that was longer than the ruler in the picture (BS). I know they don't care, but I told them i'd never do business with them again. I wish I read these posts before I leased with US Bank. So sorry I now. I leased 2 cars before this through different banks and had no problems whatsoever. I find it hard to believe I treated this car any different and caused $700 worth of damage. I am really upset too...but there's no recourse...

    -1 Votes
  • Di
    Dishearten Aug 11, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Has anyone tried to take them to small claims court?

    0 Votes
  • Su
    Super PO'd Aug 07, 2015

    I got a letter from US bank after turned in my lease after 3 years. i was NEVER late always made a payment, and released another car from another dealer. Thank God its not thru US Bank. Now they want me to pay a contractual termination fee!!! WTF is that!!! if they wanted this money in the first place roll it into each monthly payment! the total is more than my lease payment was! And i asked to talk to a manager to see what in the world this fee included she told me very rudely, it is for: not purchasing the car, transportation and thats it!! Bull [email protected]@@!!! They are going to have an office party!! Oh the best part of it all she hung up on me!! Really PO'd right now!! DO NOT EVER SIGN A LEASE WITH US BANK YOU WILL GET ROBBED!!!

    0 Votes
  • Li
    Lissahay36 Jul 24, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have my car thro u.s bank I never been late but my car note is only two weeks late n they are acting rude saying they need their money with out giving me time I had to find a new job n they r being unfair when I have paid ahead or on time all year

    0 Votes
  • Bd
    BDub76 May 20, 2015

    We leased a car through US Bank a number of years ago and are finally at the point of turning it back in. We had excessive mileage on it so decided we'd just purchase it instead of dealing with the inspection process and paying for our overage on miles. Well, come to find out, this isn't so easy. The vehicle has a kbb value of about $16k for dealer trade in, or $17.5k to sell to a private party. We found the car we wanted, got the buyoff from US Bank, but were told they had a different price for a dealer buyout. Say what? We think that's a little strange, but had the dealer call anyway. The dealer was offering us $16.5k trade-in value for the vehicle, but now US Bank is saying for the dealer to buy it they have to pay $22, 500 for the same vehicle we had a $16k payoff on.
    I called asking for clarification on the discrepancy and was just told that their computers show this is how much the car is worth at auction so that's what they are charging the dealership. First of all, I'd love to find an auction that is going to pay over 25% more than a private party sell. Second, it sounds like they are just quoting a hugely inflated number that is so far out of the realm of possibility of anyone ever paying it to force you to not go that route "or else." Considering they've never done an inspection on the vehicle, how are they coming to these numbers? How are they determining this 2011 vehicle with almost 100k miles and several scratches/dents/etc.. is going to fetch that much money? They are not operating in good faith but because they say in the contract they can charge a different price (without any mention of how they arrive at that price) does that allow make this legal? What if they stated it would cost the dealer $100k to purchase the vehicle (thus completely eliminating that option), is that operating in good faith? If anyone starts up a class action please let me know, I'd be the first to sign my name.

    1 Votes
  • Di
    DisappointedinUSBank Apr 22, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I just received from US Bank my "... itemized breakdown of the remaining contractual charges due on your contract." They listed that I owed them for: Contractual Termination Fee - $395.00; Excess Mileage Charge - $187.38; Property Tax* (their asterisk which referenced to nothing on the document); or Estimated Property Tax - $331.45; and Sales Tax - $23.70.

    I agree with the Contract Termination Fee of $395.00 and the Excess Mileage Charge of $187.38. I'm uncertain about the sales tax of $23.70 and I totally disagree with the Property Tax of $331.45.

    I work in my county's courthouse (am Deputy Judge/Executive) and so I walked across the hall and asked our County Clerk how much were the 2015 property taxes (called "ad valorem taxes" in Kentucky) on this vehicle and they informed me it was $275.57.

    Also, in my lease I paid a $475.00 Refundable Security Deposit which they did not list in their letter.

    So I called them. The lady said they charge last year's property tax and that after I make my final payment I can apply to get the difference back. When I noted they had neglected to list my Refundable Security Deposit she said her records didn't indicate any such payment had been made. I told her that I had my original copy of the lease agreement and was looking at it and it was in Section 7, subsection A.(4) and she said, "Yes, that is where it would be listed." So I asked her if she wanted me to fax her a copy of my lease agreement and she said yes.

    I did so with a full cover page detailing everything and finished by saying, "Please respond to me via email or fax (I want it in writing) if you disagree with anything I have provided above. I will either: (1) submit payment in the amount of $406.65; or (2) delay making payment until we settle our disagreement on what is owed you."

    Frankly, I don't think, I KNOW that this has the potential of being a very viable class action lawsuit because the vibes I get off of this are that US Bank does this kind of thing with every customer, depending on many never questioning the amount they are told that they owe US Bank. Well, I have to think there are a lot more customers like me who actually keep track of such things and that the numbers would prove out that they deliberately: (1) charge you too much on your property taxes; and (2) fail to give you credit for the refundable security deposit. It is the next thing to being a full-out scam and should be below an institution that claims to be a B-A-N-K.

    Somebody out there who is a lawyer start a class-action lawsuit on this. You would win millions on it and US Bank might cease trying to short-charge their customers.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Dave Wales Mar 04, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I just turned in my 2012 buick regal. I was charged 250, 00 for the engine light being on even though I had to tun it over. I was also charged 180.00 for the most minor scratches you can imagine. Then come to find out that I have to oay 400.00 for a termination fee, i have leased 5 vehicles priorto this one and neve once have a even heard of a termination fee. There was more difficulty with them a year ago when i wanted to pay the lease off early and just getting them to send me th information i needed to do that. It took over 2 months.

    i am calling the dealership that i leased through to let them know they steered me in the worndg direction.

    0 Votes
  • Ed
    Ed looking for help Dec 29, 2014

    Turned in a 2011 Cadillac CTS that the Dealership said was in excellent condition! Got a letter from US bank saying we 0we
    Contractual Termination Fee $395
    Excess Wear and Tear $125
    Sales Tax $ 31.20
    Total Termination Charges $551.20
    This needs to stop. I will contact every Gov. Agency I can think of, including State and Federal Reps and Senators.
    Ed

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    mo and jim Dec 18, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Just turned in our 2011 Cadillac CTS on December 1st...did everything that I was asked to do..including detailing the car before
    it's inspection...man who inspected it said it was perfect...in spite of this...we got a contractual termination fee PLUS tax (what?)for a grand total of 426.60 on a car with under the mileage...no late payments...in perfect shape AND no paper anywhere from the original papers that say there's a fee to turn it in. What kind of business does this us bank run..whatever happened to good service and fair treatment. We will never do business with any car dealer that uses us bank.

    0 Votes
  • To
    Tom not liking US Bank! Dec 02, 2014

    Scammers trying to charge more interest by not providing the information you need to buy your lease out. I am in the process of buying my leased vehicle through (unhappily) US Bank. I have called numerous times about buying the vehicle and what needs to be done, paid, completed, etc.. Twice they told me that they would mail out a payoff quote and that the payoff amount was good for something like seven days. Ok -- so you are going to mail the payoff quote today along with documents that I must complete and you give me a window of seven days! On top of that, the quote was never received. I have now asked them to fax the info to my bank that I will be financing it through (no way i would stay with US Bank!) and they are not faxing it. Is there a government oversight board that I can file a complaint with. This is just wrong!

    0 Votes
  • Pe
    peteeeee Oct 22, 2014

    You should do what I did and file a complaint on line with consumerfinance.gov. If enough people do it a class- action law suit is possible.

    0 Votes
  • Bw
    Bwglombo Oct 13, 2014

    Our experience is like others have had. We've leased many vehicles, and this was a first. We turned in a US Bank lease vehicle and a couple months later received a Lease Termination Billing Statement. The only flaw with the car was two excessively worn rear tires. The dealership tried to negotiate on our behalf, but to no end. The dealership and I were surprised US Bank was being so hard-nosed about the condition. Surely, the otherwise immaculate condition would offset the excessive tire wear. With the amount of time wasted by the dealership communicating with slow-to-respond US Bank, we have now been reported to the credit bureau for delinquent payment. Obviously, we'll make it our mission to avoid doing business with US Bank, and with any luck, a class-action lawsuit may come out of this.

    0 Votes
  • Pe
    peteeeee Aug 16, 2014

    Am I liable for dents on a lease turn in that sat in a dealers lot for 4 days before it was inspected ?

    0 Votes
  • Wo
    woop123 Jul 24, 2014

    US Bank is the worst! I was told I could drop my Dodge Journey off at any Chrysler dealer so I called one near my house they were not sure how to handle a US Bank return but the person I was speaking with said to bring it in and that any salesperson could help me. When I got to the dealership they were dazed and confused and finally a manager came up and said that they will not accept US Bank lease returns due the fact that they will not use them due to too many customers complaints (as sited in the previous posts). I had to call another dealer and am now returning the car to another dealer who does not offer their financing but was nice enough to accept it. After dealing with there inspection, lease return fee, and who knows what else I am cancelling my US Bank credit cards and will NEVER use them again!!! DO NOT USE US BANK!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ti
    Title please Jul 12, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am in the process of buying my leased vehicle through (unhappily) US Bank. I have called numerous times about buying the vehicle and what needs to be done, paid, completed, etc.. Twice they told me that they would mail out a payoff quote and that the payoff amount was good for something like seven days. Ok -- so you are going to mail the payoff quote today along with documents that I must complete and you give me a window of seven days! On top of that, the quote was never received. Obviously the reps never put the payoff request in. They just told me they did. I called again. This time I asked them to fax the figures. Received the package along with very poor instructions on what is needed to complete the request. Again the payoff quote (which was received on 7/3) was good until 7/6 !! So you are supposed to go to your bank (they request a certified check which I refused to do having 841 credit), get a certified check, go home, complete the paperwork, mail everything so that they receive all in 3 days. On top of that 7/6 was a Sunday. Idiots. Well its now almost a week later and the check still hasn't been cashed and the account is still open. So are they now going to change the payoff amount so that I have to put a stop on one check and issue another? I feel like I am being held captive and all I want to do is give them money and get my title. On top of this, if you send a personal check they said it could take two months to get your title. TWO MONTHS?? Folks, I am a bank officer and manage a call center for one of the top global banks. I would never allow this kind of inept customer service. But, my dealer put me into this and here I am. My recommendation--buyer beware.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Checkbook is closed Jun 10, 2014

    Like many people posting to this site, my family has been leasing vehicles forever without any issues, UNTIL we made the horrible mistake of leasing our last vehicle through U.S. Bank. After the end of the 39 months, we attempted to purchase the vehicle -- we were denied. Then, we took the vehicle to a dealer to see if they would be interested in purchasing it (they were.) The dealership contacted U.S. Bank to receive the payoff ... the dealer received an OFFICIAL payoff statement from U.S. Bank. The dealer agreed to purchase the vehicle, based upon the payoff received from U.S. Bank. We proceeded to lease a new vehicle from the dealer (someone was watching over us, because we didn't lease the new vehicle from U.S. Bank - THANK GOODNESS.) Roughly 3 weeks AFTER the transaction was completed, U.S. Bank told the dealer that if they wanted to buy the leased vehicle we had traded in, they would need to pay them AN ADDITIONAL $12, 300!!! They flat out refused to honor the document sent by THEM to the dealer 3 weeks prior. Both the dealer and I made countless attempts to determine why they would not honor the official payoff THEY, THEMSELVES, generated and sent to the dealer ... those attempts were either 1) met with customer service reps who -- obviously -- didn't receive the proper training, because we'd receive 5 different responses when speaking with 5 different reps... some of whom stated that the reps we'd spoken to before clearly didn't know what they were talking about, 2) flat out told the dealership that they would much rather sell the vehicle at auction than work with either myself or the dealer (WONDERFUL customer service, U.S. Bank), and 3) did not enter into a contract with the dealership, so they could quote whatever price they wanted. It is CRYSTAL CLEAR that U.S. Bank, in their (obvious lack of) wisdom, didn't calculate the residual correctly at lease inception and, with the used car market being so "hot" right now, are doing everything in their power (including treating their customers like nothing more than a revenue stream by sending lessors end-of-lease invoices, based on nothing more than the Bank's effort to line the pockets of the top execs (let's face it -- it's hard being an exec at banks these days ... do you know what it costs to join the local country club? Staggering!!) to strong-arm the lessors to return their vehicles to them so that they can attempt to reap the so-called benefits of selling these vehicles at auction. I urge everyone reading these posts to contact the dealer where he/she leased a vehicle via U.S. Bank and let them know the h*ll they've been through. While we can't "force" dealerships to stop utilizing U.S. Bank, we can tell them our horror stories in hopes that they will refrain from giving this so called "bank" the luxury of more customers/victims whom they can continue their rant of strong-arming people through they obvious lack of knowledge of how business should be done.

    0 Votes
  • Ta
    Taylormad May 28, 2014

    So we pay our payment every month on time! We have excellent credit! My husband had me added onto the account so I could talk to them in order just to make the payment, nice they have such great security especially when someone is wanting to pay them! So, we finally started having them just do a direct withdrawal, never got a Bill for the first month, I looked at the bank account a couple days prior to the Bill being due to see if it had come out yet. The payment never got taken out, so I called them, since I didn't want to get behind. The lady said she couldn't talk to me, even though we have a joint checking account the money was coming out of, been married for 9 years. Then she mentions that the time he talked to them about being able to talk to me was a one time deal. The guy on the phone told me, the company could talk to me anytime since I was added to the account. Well that wasn't true, the lady mentioned the account being in collections, and she couldn't talk to me! We only missed 1 payment, because they did not withdraw it, and I was calling to find out why, plus pay the Bill!

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    MarcSup Feb 19, 2014

    Like most of you in this post, I have the same experience. I'm returning a Volvo C30 on a 36-mo lease with US Bank. We did the termination inspection here in my company parking lot. The inspector took tons of pictures and gave me a preliminary report saying, "most of this will probably not be an issue." When I followed up on my report a few days later, I learned that US Bank was asking for $1300 for "Excess Wear and Tear."

    • Minor curb scratches on 2 rims: $125 a wheel (The dealership will resurface the rims for $60 apiece)
    • Worn front tire: $237 (I did some online research and found the tire costs $140)
    • Regular road scratches on the bottom rocker panel: $90
    • Missing Key Fob: $200 (this one is my fault and I can't argue with)
    • Low Tire Pressure Light on Dashboard: $250 (This is ridiculous and can be fixed by filling a tire)
    • Termination Fee: $395 (of course this will be waived if I lease another Volvo)

    I'm beside myself about this. Gonna try to get as much of this done ahead of time at lower costs. It's obvious US Bank is pumping up the fees for their benefit. I mean, charging me for a LOW TIRE PRESSURE warning on my dash?!?)

    Had over five leases prior to this, even a mini with a chipped windshield, and NEVER had an issue returning those cars at the end of the term. This is highway robbery, literally.

    0 Votes
  • Lp
    Lpantovic Dec 30, 2013

    My husband and i have leased cars for years without issues for 12 years. We have excellent credit and are very meticulous about our cars even with 3 kids you would honestly never know it. Yesterday we tried to trade our car in early and upgrade since we just recently had our 3rd child we wanted something bigger. When the sales person called US bank to get our pay off amount for was told they were closed, then they were transferred, then then were told we are close to maturity rate when we actually have 13 payments left and finally 30 mins into the conversation was told pay off was 38K. I replied not possible we put 7 K down, and we have been making payments of $475 for 2 years and the car was 44K. Then the representative says oh but if you want to buy the car it's 30K. Really you add 8K if I want to trade the car in. I pulled my contract read all the find print and cannot find a thing about that. But I did find the termination fee everybody else is complaining about. It is standard on all my lease paperwork but never actually been charged by anybody as long as I get another vehicle. This is horrible banking, customer service and a scam. The dealership recommended I get a loan purchase the car and they will buy it back from me so I can keep my equity in the car. Not looking forward to dealing with all if this. Already wasted 2 days just to realize my nightmare is just beginning!!!

    0 Votes
  • Co
    Corinne27 Dec 26, 2013

    Would like to see US bank fined for consumer manipulation. Leasing over the years has educated me on various aspects of a lease agreement - however, to charge fee for not returning as a customer is by far the most manipulative fee of all. This is not for wear and tear, exceeding mileage or any tangible reason. This fee is merely because I did not choose to use their company again... ... Not quite sure how its legal to charge a customer for not returning...When I spoke to the US Bank reps, they refused to waive or reduce the 395.00 " contractual termination fee" stating, "you signed the document and we sent you a Welcome letter advising you to read the terms of the lease." Last time I checks, if I signed the document its probably too late to reneg on the deal.

    0 Votes
  • 3f
    3forfun Dec 23, 2013

    Same issues for our recent experience.
    Who can start the ball rolling for a class action suit against these fraudulent scammers ?
    Looks like the Feds are suing U.S. bank principal for alleged questionable activities (June, 2013)

    0 Votes
  • Al
    Alex566 Dec 16, 2013

    US BANK is an unprofessional organization that seeks to scam consumers. I recently leased a Chevrolet Volt and US BANK has been trying to SCAM me at every turn. They send you $50 invoices for not properly filling out paperwork. I will never work with US BANK again and I am extremely unhappy that Connell Chevrolet (Costa Mesa, CA) would do business with this institution.

    0 Votes
  • Sk
    Skyking15 Nov 09, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    For my two Euros worth, US Bank from outward appearances, is possibly in collusion with unnamed inspection services. Clearly it is a profit center for both parties. Like many others that have posted I have leased vehicles from reputable firms and never charged EWT (excessive wear and tear) fees. I take pride in the vehicles I drive and maintain them according to manufacturer specifications. One of the EWT charges included on my inspection report was $100 for EWT on the battery. Seriously, EWT on the battery? The battery was less than two years old. If that charge is not bordering on a scam, maybe the two blemishes on the passenger door that would be buffed out for $250 qualify. Word needs to be spread via Social Media to beware of leasing a vehicle from US Bank. When I leased my vehicle it was suggested that I take EWT insurance, which I did. Hopefully that will pay off the frivolous charges listed as well as other so called EWT charges.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    DaisyCinder Nov 06, 2013

    Just turned in a 2011 Ford Focus - $2, 000 worth of "hail damage" - are you kidding me????!!!

    0 Votes
  • St
    StuBecca Aug 05, 2013

    They provided me with a pay of of $37, 600. I went to a dealer to buy new cars and the dealer said they would pay off the $37, 600. When the dealer called the number it was given was $45, 000. I questioned US Bank about this and was told that they could charge whatever to whom the wanted. So, they tell me what they will accept, they then refuse that exact amount from someone else, want the car back and the milage over charges. They then point blank lied to me about selling cars to dealers, told me they would not lend me the money ot buy the car, go to the dealer and sell it and pay them back. This is nothing more than a money grab and they are a prime example of why the financial services industry let us all down and collapsed.

    0 Votes
  • 48
    48070 Jul 22, 2013

    I'm going through the same thing with them -- ridiculous end-of-lease wear charges. The dealership inspected the car and found nothing wrong with it when I turned it in. They have an inspection report dated 20 days later from an auction lot, "showing" a scratch on the bumper. The charge is only $120 but I am NOT paying it!

    0 Votes
  • St
    Steve1961 Jun 14, 2013

    US Bank engages in profiteering at the end of the lease. Charges are excessive and for items that US Bank will not fix, and have no impact on the value of the vehicle when it is sent to the auction house. Any monthly pricing advantage will dissipate at the end of the lease. Steer clear of this institution.

    0 Votes
  • Ps
    Psalms26 May 19, 2013

    I am adding this page to my bookmarks, i just leased a car with US BANK and first thing tomorrow morning i am going to make a video of every single inch of the car and point out the flaws that the car came with when i bought it new. I will show the mileage to only be at 125 miles and make evidence on the fact that the car is in perfect condition as of todays date, then i will continue filming walk into the house and film this whole forum about US BANK complaints and explain that if they try to scam me i am already prepared and knew this was coming 2 years prior. I will be able to give my future lawyer evidence to work with and it wont be a problem at all.

    WISH ME LUCK...i still have 3 more years till i have to deal with them. Any other suggestions to my plan?

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    Shaylee_Mom Feb 05, 2013

    Purchased a Ford Focus and was financed through U.S. Bank. I have had many leases but never had been financed through them before. I just turned in a lease two months ago and got a bill this week for Contractual Termination Fee, Wear and Tear Charges, A monthly payment and Sales tax. It totaled 900. I called US bank and they told me to ask the dealer about the Term fee and then when i took my concern to the dealership they explained that US bank does this crap to everyone and they no longer use them for that reason. Unfortunately I got no where in my travels and phone calls so i will have to eat the bill whether i like it or not. To anyone that leases a car do not let them finance you through US bank. They should be sued for there poor customer service, and shady business practices.

    0 Votes
  • Pi
    pissed/upset customer Dec 12, 2012

    I will never use US Bank for lease or any other services. Charging $495 for terminating your lease is absurd. Charging $125 plus sales tax for a wheel cover with a minor scratch on it is absurd. I made all payments complete and in a timely manner. I turned in my leased vehicle is fantastic condition with new brakes, a remote car starter that was purchased out of pocket, and with 6, 000 miles under. US Bank charges me almost $700 in return for being a good customer. US Bank is nothing but greedy and will rip off as many people has they can. I never thought anyone could be worse than GMAC, but I was wrong. My experience with US Bank was horrible. Lesson learned.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    michgirl91 Oct 08, 2012

    Well, I bet you can guess what I'm going to post! I bought out of my lease, AKA I forked over the rest of the money for the lease and sent US Bank a check. Oh, and lo and behold, what happens a month later? I get a bill in the mail for $809.84. Why, you ask? Well, they charged me the $395 disposal fee (which is a crock of ###, but it's in all of our contracts, so shame on us for not reading it thoroughly) because apparently you get charged for not purchasing the vehicle. If I wanted to purchase it, I wouldn't have leased it in the first place. They also charged me $369.00 in excessive wear and tear and $103 in sales tax. Sales tax, huh...interesting, considering this should have been considered in my monthly payments of $250 which I paid ON TIME EVERY TIME for the past 3 years. My 2010 Focus was UNDER MILEAGE and in good condition - the oil was changed on time, the tires rotated regularly, etc. I called to speak to a representative today to question the "excess wear and tear" charges. They charged me $194 for the two rear tires "not meeting standard code of measurement by the inspector", $75 for only turning in one of the keys (which the dealer told me wouldn't matter), and $100 for a cigarette burn in one of the seats. I asked if I could send in the extra key - she said no, the car had already been auctioned. I questioned her and asked if the seats, tires, and spare key had been replaced before auction. NOPE. I'm refusing to pay these charges until I speak with someone else. Why would I pay for something when they already auctioned the car without fixing it? I paid nearly $9, 000 after my lease was all said and done and the car has a KBB value of approximately $12, 500. I asked her what they auctioned the car for, and if it was more than $3, 500 (what they would need to sell it for to make a profit) and she told me that they cannot disclose that information. Absolutely some sort of sick joke. In the end I'll probably have to pay the ridiculous charges for "excess wear and tear", but it's worth a shot to try to dispute it. I documented my phone call today since Miss "Elaine" verbally told me I would not incur any late charges or be sent to collections while my dispute is being handled. We'll see if they hold to their word. For those of you who asked what each of us are doing, I am sending a check for the $395 disposal fee + the $103 sales tax with a letter stating that I am not paying the "excess wear and tear" charges until my dispute is properly handled.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    Shove ur bank Oct 08, 2012

    US Bank and all of its employees are lying incompetent crooks. I called them 3 weeks ago and asked when my last payment was due. I was told it would be October 1. My automatic payment was made on that date and I moved on to leasing another car from another company. I requested an expedited inspection and they then informed me that they were mistaken and my final payment was due November 1. I checked my records and felt the October 1 date was correct and called a third time and was told that October 1 was really the correct date after all. I contacted their partner in crime Data Scan to schedule my inspection who told me I had to tell USB to send a request for the inspection. In doing so I was told - - - SURPRISE - - - the real date was November 1. Does anyone there have a brain or are they all so wrapped up in chicanery and dishonesty that they don't have a clue what they are doing? I then contacted a supervisor who claimed he understood my plight and said he would contact "corporate" with my request. Not surprisingly they were not available until today and I would hear from him as soon as he got to work. He has been avoiding my calls for the past 3 hours when I came to this website and found what a bunch of lying banditos everyone associated with US Bank really are.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Mike Kelly Jul 30, 2012

    Same thing, my car is 12, 000 Miles UNDER! and they still have the nerve to charge me $960 for "Excessive Wear" BS! a couple of chips is not excessive wear... they even measured paint color with a meter and charged me because a garage kept car was slightly faded so they say... how do I proove that one wrong!!! they are the biggest SCAMERS!!!

    0 Votes
  • Id
    I D Jul 18, 2012

    Everything stated in all of these comments is very accurate based on my very recent experience The wear and tear fees are indeed ridiculous and VERY high. Imagine that a 3 inch scratch (literally) on the wheel will cost you 125.00 ...multiply that times 2 to 4 wheels...worn leather seats are also considered EXCESSIVE wear and tear...well what can you expect if the vehicle is over 5 years old? By the time the inspector finished with inspecting the vehicle, the "excessive" wear & tear charges added up to over $1200.00; clearly this is just another profit opportunity for US Bank ... as if the $395 fee for lease termination was not enough. I tried to reason with them on some of these so-called “excessive” wear & tear, but no concessions were made. Stay way and save your money! I will never do business with them again.

    0 Votes
  • Yl
    ylong1963 Feb 25, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I will never ever do any business with US Bank anymore. I have leased about 8 cars in the past and I never got any termination fees from GMAC and Ford Credit. But, my latest one was from US Bank, and I was charged over 900$ for termination fee and excess wear.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.