The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
University of Phoenixfraud

The University of Phoenix is a huge scam meant to con people into taking worthless classes while they take your money. They need to be stopped. If you have been victimized by them as I have, please e-mail me. I am trying to get a class-action suit together to sue the University of Phoenix for their fraudulent activities.

Pauline De La Garza
[protected]@yahoo.com

Responses

  • Je
    Jennifer Stanley Oct 29, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Several companies do not recognize them even though they tout on how they are nationally accredited. It is almost not worth taking courses online and just head to your closest community college. (Which seemingly will yield you the results you're looking for higher education+better job="American Dream")

    0 Votes
  • An
    ANGELYOUSUFI Oct 07, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    THE UNIVERSITY OF PHOENIX IS A HUGE SCAM!!! THE TEACHER I AM NOW DEALING WITH, ASHARA MC-KEE WILLIAMS, IS HIGHLY UNPROFESSIONAL, RACIALLY BIASED, LACKS PROPER TEACHING STRUCTURE. THE ACADEMIC ADVISORS I HAVE REACHED OUT TO TELL ME THAT THE TEACHER HAS FULL DISCRETION OF THE GRADES THEY GIVE THE STUDENTS...UNFAIRLY SO.
    I HAVE BEEN GOING THROUGH HELL, I HAVE INVESTED TWO YEARS INTO THE MASTERS PROGRAM AND YET THEY KEEP HOLDING ME BACK FROM GRADUATING. KEEP IN MIND I'M PAYING OUT OF POCKET FOR THE EXTRA CLASSES I NEED TO TAKE. THEY DON'T ALLOW THIS AS THE TEACHERS ARE GIVEN BONUSES TO KEEP YOU BEHIND ON YOUR GPA-CORPORATE SCAM!!!
    I WANT TO SUE THE UNIVERSITY OF PHOENIX AND SEE THEM SHUT DOWN PERMANENTLY ASAP. PLEASE PLEASE IF YOU ARE A LAWYER OR CAN HELP ME PURSUE A LAWSUIT CONTACT ME IMMEDIATELY.


    [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Me
    MelissaSmith May 27, 2014

    I recently had enrolled in the UOP and found that they had lied to me about the cost of attendance when I enrolled my enrollment adviser said the total cost would be $10, 200 with interest and with no out of pocket costs and after I enrolled and had almost finished my first block of classes the price had jumped to $19, 971 with interest and that I would have to pay for two additional classes out of pocket. They said that I would have to apply for more student loans and the second half of my grant funding. I had called and asked my enrollment adviser several times regarding the costs after speaking with my financial adviser and every time my enrollment adviser told me it was $10, 200. I have put in a Official Withdraw from their University and will probably have a dept owed to them but I was wondering if there is anything that can be done? I feel like I have been taken advantage of.

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    riped-steve Dec 30, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I found no respect in the business world with a MBA from UoP. Before you earn it you will be required to do more work and pay more in tuition then at other universities for a degree that for me has been worthless. The reasons are many. The caliber of the student body extremely low because of open enrollment anyone can attend UoP, and as you will see, most of them could not get accepted anywhere else, so you will be forced to carry those students through the program in the Learning Team environment. UoP does not employee professors or licensed teachers only facilitators who do no teaching only facilitate the class according to a predetermined curriculum. Everything you learn, you will learn on your own, and those who not want to learn anything and just want a degree, they can get that here, which is why I have found their degrees are not respected in the business community. That has been my experience.

    0 Votes
  • Er
    EricaNoyes Sep 19, 2013

    We’re working on a project centered on improving transparency and increasing student success at for-profit universities. We need input from you! Please take our student survey to tell us more about your experiences. Here is the link to the survey: http://action.seiu.org/page/content/respondent-survey/

    0 Votes
  • Lo
    Lousy School Jun 08, 2013

    DO NOT ATTEND University of Phoenix! You will loose time and Money Period! This is a set up! A person with no previous math experience will fail! There is no support here and you will lose! They have no one on one support with your math! If you are an online student for the associates program...you cannot attend on-campus math courses unless they can sell you some more education, which isn't worth the paper it is written on! Customer service sucks! You can call their nonchalant academic and financial advisers all you want! RUN FROM THIS INSTITUTION!

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    JuliaG2013 Apr 11, 2013

    I am currently a third year student at UoP. I am $31, 000 in debt. I recently (March, 2013) had to drop a class due to an unexpected health issue but instead of sending leave of absence forms, my academic adviser just put me in the next available class. Needless to say, I could not attended weeks one or two of this forced class. I have now, done more research on the history of UoP and I also believe they have misappropriated my federal funding to improve their bottom-line profit. This accusation alone should be a concern to someone at the Department of Education but I do not know whom I should contact. I have not officially withdrawn from this fraudulent for-profit school but I have currently been blocked from accessing my payment history information. I am very concerned I will become just another statistic and my current FASFA eligibility may be used or returned by them, which will leave a balanced owed on my account. I need help.! I am determined to finish my BS of Business, concentrating in sustainable enterprise management, but it will not be at UoP. Please contact me at [email protected] if You have any information that could help me and hundreds of other people who have been defrauded by this institution.

    0 Votes
  • Bu
    buckmurray1 Dec 07, 2012

    I have been "attending" Ashford University for 2 years now and I am 4 classes from getting my degree. I will be recieving a good size raise from my company for earning this and I have not one had to pay Ashfrd a dime while using my Post 9/11 GI Bill. Some people have said on this forum that they were billed and collected, well it isnt happening to me. Perhaps there are a few loose screws in this university but with only a few months left I have been getting a decent education and have not paid a dime... I also get books for free through them (and sell them back to an online company and make money off of them). So don't be judgemental on one person's review. It has been bad to some students, but it has been good to others.

    0 Votes
  • Te
    texasgreyhound Jun 27, 2012

    Don't worry about your transcripts, Kendra. Having worked for many years at colleges and universities, I am comfortable saying that the majority of your classes will not transfer. I don't say that to be mean. It's just a fact. You just need to get away from that school as quickly as you can. Don't give them anything you don't owe them. Don't worry about your transcripts. Just act like it never happened. They're not worth it. Just ask...well...everyone in the academic community.

    Good luck!

    Robbie

    0 Votes
  • Uo
    UofPhoenix Jun 19, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hi, Kendra:

    I'm sorry that you're upset. Please know that I would like to assist. If you would like to file a formal grievance with the University, please contact me at [email protected] for assistance.

    Libby Bailey, Dispute Operations Manager
    University of Phoenix

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    kendra g Jun 18, 2012

    I have attended the university of phoenix for almost 3 years now. I recently withdrew from the university because of the lack of quality for my program and I could never get a response from either my financial advisor or my academic advisor. I am now receiving threatening phone calls and I am being told that I owe the university $3610.00 for two classes that for some unknown reason my FAFSA won't pay for. This school is a joke and a rip off!! I am unable to get my transcripts to attend another university until I pay the balance. I am a single mother and I don't have that kind of money even if I believed that I owed them the money. It is terrible what they do! I still have yet to receive my diploma from my associate degree that I obtained back in February almost 5 months ago...

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    MisterEC Nov 18, 2011

    One thing I am certain of at Univ of Phoneix, if you pay the money, you will get the degree. It is so beautiful! You can not fail, and you get a degree, just no education guarantee. Remember that if you ever look at resumes.

    0 Votes
  • Go
    gotscammedby Marcie Nov 18, 2011

    Marcie Salmon is a fraud

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    jamaica1 Oct 22, 2011

    There seems to be a lot of disgruntled people on this and as a former finace advisor at Cal State San Marcos I can tell you that it is not a scam. The difference is that at a public/private school there are deadlines for students to fill out their paperwork for the next semster where as the typical for profit private school allows you to start while you are being certified by the federal financial aid. A school does not determine how long the government takes to certify your funding for school and the school waits just like you do. Furthermore it is completly untrue that financial aid gains interest while in the hands of the school. Interest on a student loan is accrued in the name of the student for them to pay back a loan. So that should be common knowledge. For example a bank can lend you money but you still pay them interest. The school is not lending you the money the government or whoever your lender is. As for the student who was in the wrong program I see that all the time at a lot of schools both private and for profit. A lot of for profit schools are a joke but I will say that with UOP having so many students and happy graduates you wonder how many peopl are actually upset about their education. I went to UCLA and there were plenty of people who were misadvised and told to take courses they didnt even need. The bottom line for people to remember to read what you are doing and ask someone you trust because often strangers either dont care about you really or what to do whats best for you.

    0 Votes
  • Be
    beverly torrance Oct 07, 2011

    I was with phoenix university for my batchlor degree and the finacial aid office never gave me finacial but gave me 3 classses I know owe the collage 50000 dollare. My name is beverlt torrance contact me at [protected]. My email address is [email protected], iadtchicago.edu I am tring to sue the collage as well.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Marcie74 Jun 01, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Look at how many Fair Debt Collection laws have been violated in an attempt to collect an alleged debt. Look at how many Fair Credit Reporting laws have been violated to attempt collection of an alleged debt or embarass soemone into paying an alleged debt. Another good question: What authority does UofPhoenix have to collect debt on behalf of the U.S. Dept of Ed? NONE!!! They try to collect PELL GRANT money from anyone who thinks about attending or actually attends! I have spoken to an authorized represenataive of the US Dept Of Ed and the formal statement is: Uof Phoeniz HAS NOT EVER been authorized to attempt to collect any PELL GRANTS for the US govt! The CEO of Apollo Group which owns UofPhoenix paid $45Million cash for his son' s Malibu, CA mansion while he attends Pepperdine! Where did that money come from?
    Individuals like you and me who are not sure what to do. I think IU know what to do-SUE THEM IN FEDERAL COURT AND MAKE THEM SPEND CASH ON LEGAL FEES! They are a corporation and CANNOT represent themselves! Classify the lawsuit as a 440-other civil right case- then they will have spend more money to hire a Civil Right Defense lawyer! Remember- it is only about the laws and civil right that were violated and broken causing you damages in the attempts to collect an alleged debt. When you sue them - it has nothing to do with whether you or owe anyone or any entity money!!! You did break any laws trying to collect allegded debt! Why do I refer to an alleged debt - because until someone can prove I owe them money- it is not a valid claim! It can be legalized extortion! [email protected] [protected]

    0 Votes
  • Bk
    B.Kiz May 04, 2011

    I agree... I think that the University of Phoenix online is not all truthful about their educational business practices. I think that they set students up to fail at least one or two classes just so that they can make extra money. I also think that the way that their GPA system is calculated with B- being like a 2.7 is a bunch of bull^$#@! Any B should be a 3.0. I also think that they do not always give students their correct amount of excess funds that are due to them. I think that we should all report them to the Better Business Bureau.

    0 Votes
  • Uo
    UofPhoenix Dec 29, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hello,

    Have you tried working with the Office of Dispute Management regarding this issue? They are a department within the University that works with students regarding issues of this nature, and they would be glad to look into your dispute. Please contact the Office of Dispute Management at [email protected] or at [protected].

    Kind regards,
    Libby Bailey, Sr. Student Relations Administrator
    for the University of Phoenix

    0 Votes
  • Al
    Allan22 Dec 28, 2010

    should have researched this before going to UOP - quite a few stories like this all over the place...not to mention most employers dont even look at UOP as a real school...

    1 Votes
  • Ti
    tinadeestone Dec 28, 2010

    I enrolled at UOP in June of 2009 to get my AA in Business Management. After a year and a half and coming close to completing my degree I began to talk with public universities about enrolling and obtaining my B.A. I was informed that UOP degrees do not meet the state of Florida educational guidelines therefore most of my 64 credit would not transfer and I would have to attend an school that meet these guidelines and complete another AA from the school I chose. So I finished the classes I was currently in at UOP, made sure I passed and withdrew from the school and enrolled at another school to finish my A.A. degree which I practically have to start from the beginning with. Now my financial advisor from UOP is calling me telling me that I owe them $2350. When I ask why, they tell me that they had to return funds to the government that were due to be disbursed next year and I have to pay them for the returned funds. I think not, they are saying if I do not return the funds that they will hold my transcripts until I pay the money I owe. Well at least I was smart enough to request the transcripts the day before I withdrew and have already received them and they can take their threats and stick them. I was made to get loans by my financial aid advisor and now am in debt for a useless degree. I will be contacting an attorney for the cost of the loans, the lost time of getting a worthless degree and harrassment.

    0 Votes
  • Ss
    SSanchez Dec 02, 2010

    I spoke with a UoP relations specialist and she assured me that they are continually looking for improvements in their educational methods. So that was good to hear, that they are changing their ways.

    0 Votes
  • Ss
    SSanchez Nov 28, 2010

    I was also tricked into thinking University of Phoenix is a great school and enrolled. I was very disappointed with their online degree program after jut 1 short week so I withdrew from the school.

    I was in shock when University of Phoenix "decided" that I owe them $750 for withdrawing after just 1 week. And the thing is, they don't tell you any of it and they keep insinuating each and every student to just try it.

    The top people who are running Univ. Phoenix absolutely do not care about the student's well-being. They JUST WANT YOUR MONEY ANY WAY POSSIBLE.

    0 Votes
  • Vi
    Virginia Miller Oct 15, 2010

    I have the same problems as some of the students have in trying to get back in school, and the school has not

    gave me an pay scale plan as yo how I am going to pay the school back.

    0 Votes
  • Uo
    UOP FRAUD Sep 27, 2010

    We are a private investigation firm, with class action lawsuit lawyers on our side. We are on a hunt to bring this company, University of Phoenix of Apollo Group to justice, due to manipulation and theft of their company.

    If anyone feels like they have been treated wrongly from University of Phoenix, UOP, Apollo Group, or any affiliates of this company please contact our fraud email [email protected]

    It is very important to inform us of your experience at their school. This will be a class action, civil suit.

    0 Votes
  • Uo
    UOP ripped me off Apr 29, 2010

    Will any lawyer represent honest citizens who were mislead and taken advantage of by the University of Phoenix???? [email protected]

    1 Votes
  • Kr
    Krogers Mar 10, 2010

    I am disputing this amount due on my account. I have sent this letter to over 5 people, and hoping you will get it as well. I am disputing this because I stopped attending classes based on I was lied to by my enrollment counselor and felt pressured into taking classes here at UofP. Lyn Hatton sent a letter in response to my complaint filled with AZ BBB, and I never contacted UofP, they came after me. In February 2007 Valissa Armistead had been calling me 2-3 times a month. I believe that I met her at a college fair we had at where I work. Yes, the dates and times in her letter are correct, but she is wording it as if I made contacts. Either or I made the choice to attend, but not until June…if I was so EAGER to get in, don’t you think I would of in Feb. Also, I SENT THEM my transcripts from each college. They did not request them. I have the fax cover sheets and verifications of time and date sent. This is where I am very upset. I felt rushed into attending and had concerns about taking an online class, I explained to Valissa that I plan on using the degree to go to St. Mary’s Hospital, from there I was going to work at the Job Corps in Cassadagga New York. I just found out though if I did get the degree from UofP that it would not be good in New York, they will not recognize it. This was verified through our HR department. Your accreditation also lacks what I am required to have through my work, I need the University to have AACSB accreditation for when I would complete my masters. This was told to Valissa as well, but she went ahead and enrolled me without saying a thing. My boss was very upset because she told me that my degree would not be valid where I would be working NOW. Also, regarding title IV financial aide. I talked to Wachovia and they said that University of Phoenix includes other funds in this money as student living expenses. They stated only $550 has been returned to them out of the $3237 dispersed. So, I am confused at how UofP puts living expenses into my financial aide when I am living in my own apt, paying my own rent and not even going to your college. Also, I have a very close friend who works at your Grand Rapids location who states that it is University of Phoenix policy to hold the funding in accounts until the person has completed the first few weeks of class. This allows them to send the money back if the student does not complete the class without reporting anything to the lender. The student is then in debt to UOP collections and not to the lender. Not to mention, FA doesn't pay for dropped or failed courses. What of the money in the holding tanks for months at a time. Hmmmm. Well, when you have over 100, 000 students, 80% of which use FA in the sum of roughly 15K per year, they are basically counting that money as income for the organization even though technically it does not belong to them yet. Oh just to remind you MY money still has not been sent back to Wachovia...it is gaining interest in U of P account until I pay. Regarding Mr. Harmon contacting me by phone and email on August 18-29 and on July 1, 2008, are also false. I received one letter and email, which I still have. Also, I was not happy with the classes. I did not receive feedback from the Instructors. One instructor did not even come to class for a whole week. I asked that I not be part of a learning team as I wanted to do the research on my own. I was told I HAD TO DO THIS. Also, the AMOPS manipulation process Valissa used to get me enrolled did work. I have been forced to seek a lawyer about this since no one sees that what UofP has done is wrong. I have taken classes from other University’s and switched, without this trouble, which leads me to believe that there is some fraud being committed on your end (not you personally), but I am having my lawyer pull Valissa Armisteads financial and payroll records to see exactly what she is earning for her enrollments. I have filed complaints with:
    Federal Trade Commission
    Consumer Reports
    BBB of AZ
    MI and AZ higher Education
    Attorney General
    Office of ombudsman
    I truly am not looking to get any money out of this, and education, which I did not. I feel that your company used me and many others. I will talk only and directly to you, and I will be civil. But, I want ALL of the money returned to Wachovia, you can have your grades and credits back, since I will not be able to use them at any of the University’s I attended, or want to attend. Davenport and GVSU said they will not transfer them, in fact Davenport called them FLUFF and a waste of money. This is the worse experience I HAVE EVER HAD!
    Thank you,
    Ken Rogers

    0 Votes
  • Co
    conner717 Mar 05, 2010

    I don't entirely agree with the above but I do say UoP use "bait & switch" tactics to sign you up.

    I had credits that needed to be transferred in and kept asking them for two months to verify everything with transcripts I had. My enroller showed it to their transfer guru and came back with an answer that worked for me. My out of pocket expense was to be around $600 every 15 weeks or so. On the 5th week of my first class I was told my OOP was to be $1500, something I am unable to pay. I had been very insistent to know my OOP before signing and was assured that the $600 was reliable. Now I owe $1675 for completeing my first class and because I am not willing to continue have no student loan to help out.

    They asked me to get a personal loan to cover the additional expenses. I told them I had already calculated out my payments I could afford and signed based on their intial assessment. To me this is no different than making a deal with a car salesman and when walking into the finance office finding out the salesman was wrong. The only difference is that I have the option of walking away with nothing lost except my time. UoP has taken my time and my money!

    I have emailed the campus director only to be told he was out of country when I wrote. I received a phone call from him once he returned but was unable to answer when he called. I returned the call within 20 mins but got his voice mail. I left a message for him to get back in touch with me and have not heard anything back. I understand his time is valuable and all but so is mine. I can't just sit around calling everyday in the hopes the director isn't to busy on the day I call so I would hope he'd call back. I've sent a second email to him. If I get any response I will post back here later.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    Jack424 Feb 08, 2010

    In the early fall of 2009 I enrolled at the University of Phoenix via a enrollment counselor in Orange Park, Florida. Her name is Diane. She was all about "helping" me enroll.She even gave me her home telephone number to complete the enrollment. With her "help" she more or less told me what to do on the computer to enroll me in my first class and "helped" me with my financial aid. She rushed me through everything.
    Anyway long story short I paid for and finished my first class from my financial aid. The cost for one class and e books? $ 1, 675.00 USD !!!
    I called Sallie Mae and told them that this was a rip off and they told me since I already had my financial aid money I could use it at another school.So, I did.
    Now I am being billed by UOP ($4, 600.00 ) for classes i did not attend. I did drop from the the school. Now they are threatening collections. I am having to retain an attorney to deal with this so called University. Do not waste your time or money with UOP!!!

    0 Votes
  • Da
    DangerouslyPassive Jan 26, 2010

    I am currently having issues with the UOP regarding my degree. I clearly stated my goal of obtaining a BSED/E in 2007 when I became a student. I first needed to pursue my Associate's Degree. My enrollment counselor assured me that I was on my way to becoming the elementary teacher I always wanted to be. 11 credits from a previous college I attended (with a major in elementary education) 10 years prior was applied to the 60 needed through UoP. I received my Associate's from the UoP in Nov, 2009, and just began my BSED/E program in Jan, 2010. I recently was informed by my academic counselor that 24 of my 60 credits from my Associate's program will not transfer. Apparently, I was enrolled in an AAPE program rather than the AAEE program that was necessary for a smooth transition to the correct BS program. I now owe $20, 000 for classes I never needed, and have put forth a year of "extra" schoolwork, studying, and time away from my three children that I can never reclaim. Thanks, UoP. apparently money means more to you than the lives of those who pay you. If I have any chance of successfully suing this school in any of your class-action suits, please let me know. I'm in.

    Amber Farnot
    [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ga
    Gallant Dec 13, 2009

    Well if someone is using thier own financial aid and grant money for drugs that is thier problem and not the schools fault. I have been a student of the UOP for 2 years now and will have my associates in 3 months. I have not ever had a problem and I paln on continuing with my Bachelors. I have all so learend a great deal of knowledge from the instructors. You learn as much as you put into it. Online doesnot mean 1 hour a day!!!
    I hear a lot of whinning and crying, but no eveidence to back any of it up. Sounds like everyone wants thier money ASAP and if they dont get it they talk crap !!! Be pateint there is a process that everything has to go thru. The ones that are desprate for funding and are talking crap might have a drug problem !!!
    GET EDUCATED and then you will understand how things work in the real world.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    carolynfrances Dec 09, 2009

    They are way out of line when it comes to Financial aid and the return of funds.

    0 Votes
  • Co
    collegebound09 Dec 04, 2009

    I have to say that this is the most ridiculous complaint. First of all...Who goes to college to wait on money left over from Pell Grants or student loans? You are supposed to be there to learn and get an education. I am looking into this school and feel that it is a good alternative to a full time college. I also have many friends that have received their BA and MBA from this school and are incredibly happy. On the other hand, if you need to use your daughter's child support than maybe you should wait until you have a job to continue. That is pretty sad and the comment sounds pretty immature.

    0 Votes
  • Je
    Jennifer Stanley Oct 29, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @collegebound09 The government does not dictate how a parent uses child support. So if that meant using it to obtain an higher education so that you would not need to depend on it is as immature as your response was. Several low income students live off of their Pell grants and or student loans.

    0 Votes
  • Wi
    WillD75 Nov 27, 2009

    I have been a student since october 26th and I have been having the most miserable time so far. The school seams to be fun, but I have not seen a dime as far as grants or financial aid. I have been too two colleges and I have always gotton money asp. I have been having to use my daughters child support to pay for the internet and all my supplies. So as far as I am concerned I would not even give this school a referral. And I don't even drink or smoke or use any kind of drugs, But I know someone who uses her school money for drugs, just makes ya wonder what kind of school this is. so far I do not think very highly of this school.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Mad123 Sep 19, 2009

    Everyone always has complaints against this or that.. The fact is UOP is very intense they offer shorter classes, and its just as expensive as other online courses.. Some people are not meant to attend college online, they dont have the time, dedication or whatever the reason.

    I was one of them I attented UOP years ago, but I didnt have the resources, time, or energy to complete the intense online courses. so I dropped out. I did'nt have any issues with refunds, financial aid, or such.. The thng with these type of boards, is that you really dont know both sides of the story and the complete situation

    Well, after many years I have decided to attend UOP again, I was happy to see that this time, their is an office close to me, I can vist any time, I know their will be issues, arent their always issues when you work hard to accomplish something in life

    but through the issues I am determined to get my BA .. what I dont understand is why people pay thousands of dollars to get an A.A when you can go to your local junior college with online courses, for pennies, , I think that some people have a very difficult time attending college, and they need some one to stand over them constantly and to do the work for them.. well guess what college doesnt work that way.. I know I will feel fustration, get mad, get angry, face issues, but in the end I will obtain my B.A from an accredited school, that emplyers do NOTICE>.as far as the woman with the issues who is attending OK .. college, who and what is that.., lol

    0 Votes
  • Je
    Jennifer Stanley Oct 29, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Mad123 College did not help your grammar though, so money wasted.. Point proven.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    JadedbyUOP Jul 12, 2009

    If you are a student or an employee of UOP and you feel you have been treated unfairly, or even discriminated against please email me at [email protected] with a discription of what happened to you. Please also include the campus the incident occured. A class action suite against the university is being put together. Please only email if you are serious.

    0 Votes
  • La
    laura 68 Jun 30, 2009

    I have been with Univesity of Phoenix for 2 years now I am trying to get my associates degree They have keep my pell grants twice saying that it ran into the next year but in my account it was posted a distrubation date and they never sent it they kept them also put me in math classes that I should of been innever been .they dropped from anothe rclass claming I did not post when I clearly did all my assignments all my check in but two never sent me a warning So I know owe them 975 for that class and 975 for a math class and now once agin I am suppose to get a pell grant and I am not getting that It is the principle we are not in for the money but it are money not theres . We take out theses loans and have to pay them back If you can help let me know [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    CherriSue Jun 18, 2009

    I too have just discovered that the University of Phoenix is taking people for their money--federal financial aid money. I have not withdrawn yet but I will. I am afraid what this will do to my finacial aid standing. I have only been in class for 2 months and have taken one class for $720.00 and am in the second one. The other two I was forced to take were not for "credit". when I asked my financial aid I was told not to get "stuck" on the chart she sent me because charges always varied! I asked why I only received $311 instead of the $560 that the chart showed I was to receive the first round of "credits". I also asked if they had a place on their website like state universities where I could ckeck my financial aid. Of course, they don't. My dispute is only questioning $249. but if they take $249 from 49, 000 people who are enrolled, they are bringing in $12 million dollars! I don't know what to do about my loan at the bank where I got my financial aid. Is anyone doing anything about the University of Phonex fraudualent practices?

    1 Votes
  • Da
    Danielle Jun 17, 2009

    Sorry today's date is wednesday the 17th.

    1 Votes
  • Da
    Danielle Jun 17, 2009

    I originally started UOP in Late December of 2008, ever since then I have been dragged around by enrollment counselors as well as academic "advisors" and financial aid "advisors."

    My first BIG problem was in my Critical thinking class last block. In week 4 I received an e-mail from the instructor stating I had plagiarized a discussion question. This discussion questions was 10 points and I had a 98% in the class. I still called my academic advisor, everyday for 6 days and emailed her before even receiving a response. After she finally got in touch with me I was told I had to appeal to the board of academic affairs once I had received my letter. I did and did not hear anything back until I had called numerous people for many weeks. They told me they were standing by the teachers decision, and would not give me any proof of what I had done, or tell me what I had copied. Nothing I could do, by the end of the class I received a 97.61% as a final grade, but my participation points as well as discussion questions points were taken away which added up to 30 points. Being a A student with a 3.5 GPA this whole situation just astonished me.

    Monday June 16, 2009 I called my academic counselor saying I wanted to withdrawal; she then 3-wayed my financial aid advisor and we had talked. Both of which were very rude, in the end I backed out of filing the paperwork because they both told me if I withdrew I would receive a penalty from Wells Fargo (Student Loan Lender) for not completing the 24 credits through UOP. They also stated they could not tell me how much this penalty would be and that I would not know until the whole withdraw process was already completed but it could be anywhere from $20 to $1, 200.

    Today, Wednesday the 18Th I called Wells Fargo and was told there is no withdrawal fee from them and the withdrawal fee from Wells Fargo as a lender and that the fee must be from University of Phoenix.

    Needless to say, I will be withdrawing and if there is a fee from UOP I will not be paying it.
    They do not teach you ANYTHING. The instructors do not respond within the 24 hour said limit. Also, if you attend there good luck on getting a hold of anyone, it seems like all they do is transfer you to other workers voice-mails!

    **Most of there classes are not transferable! Talk about wasting over $7, 000.

    0 Votes
  • Ty
    tyler789 Jun 13, 2009

    Coffman it sounds like you failed a class. I too know that feeling. However, a failed classes at any school goes against the requirements of Financial Aid. Financial Aid is a privilege. Take accountability and realize “you” failed the class. Retake the failed class, and FINSH YOUR DEGREE.

    Kyndra it sounds like you got a burn out. I notice that after you took a LOA you decided to not get back into school until your son starts college. umm... Stop procastinating and FINSH YOUR DEGREE. Set that foundation for your son.

    Sorry if i sounded rude, but this is college. What did u expect?

    Do you two even really want a college education? Instead of talking about money, maybe you two should remind yourself the benefits a college education provides.

    0 Votes
  • Je
    Jennifer Stanley Oct 29, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @tyler789 And by your response, what benefit from a college education did you receive? It is so funny how people with PISS POOR grammar skills want to dis other's experiences with college/higher education.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.