The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
University of Phoenixfinancial

I became a UOP student in March of 2017 I couldn't complete my paperwork there uless I signed up for a student loan. I was a single parent at the time with 3 teenages at home one being my nephew. I was making $25, 000 a year and on food stamps. I did FASFA the beginning of that year and qualified. I ended up with a $3500 loan through Sally Mae because of UOP not to mention only 1 of their credits transferred to another college. I am so upset with all this crap that I have been through with UOP it just makes me sick. I can only imagine how many others this has happened too!!!

UOP hater!!!

Responses

  • Ni
    NICU65 Aug 20, 2013

    The MSN/FNP program is in jeopardy and some of the instructors have become belligerent and abusive. now that we are well over halfway to our degree, there is chaos and they are being investigated. Beware. Do your home work before signing anything with this "institution".

    0 Votes
  • Ba
    Barbara R. Jones May 16, 2013

    I registered with University of Phoenix back in 2017, I later withdrew from the classes and a couple of years later I re-registered and was told that I owe approximately $1800.00; which I thought was outrageous since I withdrew. Later I paid with the amount and re-registered. My work load became more intense at work because I had to also work another position, and with that I emailed and called and told them I would have to end my classes and was told that I should withdraw and I wouldn't be charged. Well, low and behold due to identity theft I got a copy of credit report and who was on there...The University of Phoenix...I sent an email and told them I do not owe this money and they refuse to zero it out. What can I do to get this off of my credit report? I am disputing the claim that I owe this money and they will not work with me.

    0 Votes
  • Co
    Corinne Gossom Dec 20, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have conversed with many students of UOP who have had issues with student funding . I have, also, conversed with many students of other credible universities who did not experience issues with receiving their funding or charges relative to their education. I am aware that I have wasted both time and money with UOP and will advise others of the dilemmas they will face with UOP. I find humor in their marketing schemes that advocate the importance of an education when, in fact, the importance is their major financial gain. I wish you the best in obtaining your goals; however, it seems that UOP enjoys their ability to destroy the vision of accomplishment.

    0 Votes
  • Al
    aluvspink Dec 07, 2012

    I have been attending uop since August 2017, because of my financial situation I couldn't continue to go to school and I asked for a break on August 2017 my financial advisor told me this would affect my financial aid and I might have to pay loans back. I felt a lot of pressure from my counselors to return back to class especially from my financial counselor, making me feel like I was going to lose my financial aid if I didn't return soon. so I returned to school even though I wasn't ready and I ended up having to drop the class and now I have to pay more than 300 dollars or return to class next week for it to be paid by financial aid. I feel Like all my financial advisor cares about is for me to attend class so that my financial aid keeps coming In. I don't know what to do, I know that a lot of people have complaints and that this is not as good of a school as I thought but I have a little over a year and I get my bachelors I don't want to just quit, have no degree and have to pay all this money for nothing.

    0 Votes
  • Ve
    veteranophx Oct 17, 2012

    If your advisors were aware of your circumstances, you should have have easily either been approved for an leave of absence or at the least referred to disability services (this department assists with situations of all types temporary or chronic). Granted, documentation of your illness would have to be provided, but if that is the case they would probably work with you. They really hate disability discrimination complaints and lawsuits.

    0 Votes
  • Co
    Corinne Gossom Sep 02, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I should have graduated in February 2017; however, UOP scheduled me for only one class, rather than two, which extended my graduation date. I had major medical issues that required me to break from classes. I was given only a short absence before I would be billed for that class. I was advised that I now owe $800.00 for a portion of that class, and until that is paid, no records could be accredited. In addition, I never received the Pell Grant money for that period. My education, (and student loans), have all been in vein. Thank you Phoenix!

    0 Votes
  • Ms
    msrealistv May 29, 2012

    I am attending UOP and they have been giving me the run around about my FA and Pell grant. They took all my Pell grant of 5, 550. And Student loan of 9500 and I was told my classes is 9800 and the overage is mine. Well I have not received one red penny from them and I been going to UOP since March and it is April 29 and still no funds. Now they are telling me I need to pay for other courses and giving still lying. I'm fed up I never miss class and my grades are good they need to be shut down.

    0 Votes
  • To
    tottoro89 Apr 25, 2012

    I can't wait to cut my ties with University of Phoenix and I was suppose to graduate from University of Phoenix next month. However all of a sudden at the last of my current class (1 more before graduation) they told me I can't move on and graduate ontime and unless I pay $ 400.00, and I havee been looking for a job since last July 2017, and a month ago they told me I was short $ 300 and unless I pay that I can't move on to my next class, and now they told me I am short $ 400 or they won't allow me to attend my last class and graduate in June.
    If I have a choice I will NEVER EVER choose University of Phonenix EVER!!!

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Daculane Feb 02, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Horrible school, horrible customer service. I started one class and I tried to withdraw from the class because I had just started a new job and I was living in a hotel room for two weeks. In that time I fell behind. When I approached my instructor, she gave me pointers on how to try for a D. When the class was over I was told that if I had sought help to leave the class sooner they could have helped me. Because I didn't pass the class financial aid didn't cover it and I couldn't continue the class until I paid the $1700 for one class. They are over priced for such horrible customer service. They wont help in any way and they will mess up your credit. They also have no fear of the Better Business Bureau. Save yourself the effort and just register for online classes with a community college or your local state college.

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    justmyself01 Jan 21, 2012

    I'm not here to bash because that's not my style, however, what in the world made you sign up with that university??? They seem like a scam to me, always have, if you are going online to a university, pick a reputable one, like a university in your hometown or state that offers online courses. I agree with you, if they are making statements like that, that isn't right especially on a school site, that shouldn't have even happened and should have monitors reviewing comments because you (and anyone else in school) is not there for that, you are there for an education and who wants to see such negativity. Too much of that going on that's why everything is a$$ backwards lol. If I were you, finish out your semester and find another university (either go find one to sit in or find a decent online school) and get away from them. Something about them always rubbed me wrong.

    -1 Votes
  • St
    [email protected] Jan 20, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I was recently blocked in the online community because I reported Religious Abuse. There were people making comments ( I made None) Only reported what I saw were people were stating any religious beliefs other than their own were going to "Burn in Hell". I found this to be very inappropriate not to mention against anyone that read this university online community against peoples First Amendment Rights. So I reported it. Now over three weeks I have been blocked in all communities by the AC office stating I wrongfully reported abuse where there was non to mind my own business, get over it, and move on. They did not only block me there but I have lost my Library, Help icon and many more. I would really like to know what right do I have and what can I do about this. We as student do pay resource of 95.00 per class and if I am being denied these things. Then why should I pay these fees? Please advise me on what I need to do.

    0 Votes
  • St
    [email protected] Jan 20, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I was recently blocked in the online community because I reported Religious Abuse. There were people making comments ( I made None) Only reported what I saw were people were stating any religious beliefs other than their own were going to "Burn in Hell". I found this to be very inappropriate not to mention against anyone that read this university online community against peoples First Amendment Rights. So I reported it. Now over three weeks I have been blocked in all communities by the AC office stating I wrongfully reported abuse where there was non to mind my own business, get over it, and move on. They did not only block me there but I have lost my Library, Help icon and many more. I would really like to know what right do I have and what can I do about this. We as student do pay resource of 95.00 per class and if I am being denied these things. Then why should I pay these fees? Please advise me on what I need to do.

    0 Votes
  • Al
    Albert1201 Oct 26, 2011

    Citizens of the United States of America do not attend this university. They overcharge, do not communicate, and at the end of the day you will get screwed. Stay away you all have been warned.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    cactus5th Jun 16, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I filed a formal grievance with the University Of Phoenix. The financial department still denied that I received the grant and never answered my questions directly. It is insulting I have to deal with people who outright lie to me. Brad Beyer lied to me.

    0 Votes
  • Vi
    Victim of pheonix Apr 14, 2011

    I too suffered the misinformation of the uiniversity of phoenix. I am currently on my way to the court house to sue them for fraudulent billing. They never traznsfered my credits to a college i was attending and have claimed credit against my credit report. This action halted my funding and has motivated me to sue the appollo group for 120 million in mental anguish and damages. The key here is that you can not buy time and they have wasted mine and my education has been put at risk. They have stolen money from government by neglecting the the concerns of the students and claiming services not rendered. I am disabled and they violated my civil rights. I am putting a class action lawsuit together to cloase the apollo group and there false claims bureau. If i am compensated they will be closed forever

    0 Votes
  • Uo
    UofPhoenix Mar 18, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hi Justin,

    I am very sorry to hear about your situation, and I would like the opportunity to investigate it. Please contact the Office of Dispute Management, which is housed in the Office of the President, for assistance with this matter. They can be reached at [email protected] or [protected].

    Kind regards,
    Libby Bailey, Sr. Student Relations Administrator
    for the University of Phoenix, Office of Dispute Management

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    Justin Merrill Mar 16, 2011

    I completed the requirements of the MBA program at the University of Phoenix while under the impression that my credits would be fully transferable to any "Regionally accredited" college. After completing the MBA program, I enrolled at my local community college for some technical courses regarding web development and sustainability. I discovered that I could not only use any of my courses as transfer credits, but that I also have an outstanding balance of well over $3000 that the University of Phoenix claims I owe for courses that I have completed.

    While working as a part-time delivery driver last year, I was the victim of an attempted armed robbery and a brutal assault. I was just beginning a course that I had to withdraw from due to injuries to my skull, neck, back, and face. After speaking with five different people who represent the University of Phoenix, I am being told that I was charged for this course by two of them, and not charged for it by the other three.

    Since I cannot satisfy this debt with a settlement through the collection agency the University of Phoenix has not authorized to take any less than full payment, I cannot receive my official transcripts for financial aid to continue my education.

    So in summary, I am being told that I owe over $3000 despite the fact that I was using federal student loans to pay for the majority of my Masters Degree. I am being told two different stories about whether or not I was charged twice for the course which I had withdrawn from due to unforeseeable circumstances that I later completed. I am being talked down to by the financial advisors that I've spoke with thus far because of the debt they have convoluted. I cannot receive financial aid until I pay the balance in full in order to receive my transcripts.

    I may, in fact, owe this debt in full, however, I cannot get a straight answer as to why I owe this money given the fact that I was using financial aid. The financial advisors, and the University of Phoenix dispute department have done a sub-par job at clarifying how and why I am being charged with this debt.

    All in all, I am very disappointed with the administration of University of Phoenix and its policies, and a lack of respect to the students time, money, credit, and energy. Until I receive a clarification as to where, why, and how the debt was incurred, I refuse to pay.

    Comments

    0 Votes
  • Co
    Corinne Gossom Mar 07, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have not received my Pell Grant money in 4 1/2 months. I agree with your opinion of their practices and will pursue this at a higher level.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    Shirley McLaughlin Feb 11, 2011

    University of phoenix is not releasing my excess pell grant funds. They have ripped me off by not only making me take extra classes to complete a "new" degree program, after I was enrolled in a program they said was no longer available. Then while I was attending on "ground", I had to transfer to an online degree program. I have since discovered they are offering the original program. They made me take extra classes to complete the "new" program. I can not transfer my credits and I am one class away from graduating. They have told me over and over again that I would receive my excess pell grant funds. Now they say I was out of enrollment for 29 days, so they can't release the funds. I passed that class. They didn't bring this up until after I contacted them wondering where my money was. They are the worst college ever. Ripping off student in this economic resession should be a crime. Don't ever go to university of phoenix. They are a scam of the worst sort.

    0 Votes
  • Se
    Sem H Feb 11, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Phoenix University is charging me for a class I did not take. Was told by financial ad-visor would receive partial credit for a class and now does not want to honor the credit.

    wanted to go from online to campus for my accounting degree and was told by counselor would be better if I stayed online. Was told to stay online and major was changed and class drop. Was not told had to pay for class, now ready to graduate is been told I owe 1200 for the that my counselor dropped.

    Need to pay or change graduation date to a later time so that I can get another loan to pay for this class.

    Within the two years I have been in Phoenix online classes my financial ad-visor and couselor has been change 3-4 times and the each one has given me a different story from the other.

    I do not understand if my financial ad-visor said I would no have to pay and sent in for credit it is going to be denied and I have to pay for a class I did not take and is no longer part of my major.

    When I asked why this was not explained to me and why I was forced to stay online and change major when all I wanted to do was to change to ground campus. No answer said they apologize my counselor did not inform me of that. But they are not willing to give me the credit for the class all they want is more money.

    0 Votes
  • Hm
    Hmmm! Feb 11, 2011

    I really have only one complaint with UoP and I have done my BSM and MBA through their online program. (Run-on sentance much?)
    This is a simple request (insert comma here) yet some students can barely form a whole sentence.

    Talk about the pot calling the kettle black.

    1 Votes
  • Uo
    UofPhoenix Jan 03, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hello, Felice:

    I am very sorry to hear that you had a bad experience. The University has an office dedicated to hearing student disputes, such as yours, and doing their best to find a resolution. If you would like to file a formal grievance, please contact the Office of Dispute Management at [email protected] or [protected].

    ~ Libby Bailey, Sr. Student Relations Administrator
    for the University of Phoenix

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    cactus5th Dec 29, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    With only five classes left to take, the University Of Phoenix suddenly returned part of my student loan back to the lender. The financial counselor told me the next class must be paid out-of-pocket before they will let me continue.
    Wondering what happened to the AZ Grant I applied for months ago, I checked their website. It said I was awarded their grant. Bonnie Gonzales, a financial counselor at the University Of Phoenix told me she could not find any information. I telephoned the office for AZ Grant that day. The representative from AZ Grant told me I was awarded their grant months ago and they have been waiting for the University Of Phoenix to approve it. Then, Brad Beyer, a financial manager at the University Of Phoenix told me told me I might quality for the AZ Grant, but they are still reviewing all the students who signed up for it on their website and my case was undetermined. Once again I telephoned the office for AZ Grant. They assured me I was already awarded this grant. The financial counselors at the University Of Phoenix lied to me about the AZ Grant.
    I was also awarded a Pell Grant two months ago. I am currently not attending class because the financial counselor told me the next class must be paid out-of-pocket by me before the Pell Grant can be applied. This is ridiculous.
    Over a year ago, while stating my concern over the high tuition, the enrollment counselors at the University Of Phoenix assured me I would be graduating in May of 2017. I wish I would have paid more attention to the smiles on their faces. There was no smile on my face, but believing I would have my bachelor's degree in May of 2017 was just enough to get me to sign up for the program at the University Of Phoenix. Now it feels like a con artist tricked me out of my time and thousands of dollars.

    0 Votes
  • Uo
    UofPhoenix Dec 03, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hello there,

    Thank you for sharing your insights. Please understand that part of the mission of the University is to provide access to higher education to everyone. Additionally, in order to be admitted to a graduate program, a student must have completed an undergraduate degree from an approved regionally-accredited or nationally-accredited institution and graduated with at least a 2.5 GPA. Also keep in mind that due to the Family Educational Right to Privacy Act, instructors cannot share any grading information about another student with you. Other students may be getting coaching from the faculty member that you do not know about. Should you have a problem with any learning team member, I encourage you to bring it up to the instructor and your Academic Counselor. If you have any questions about the University's mission, goal, or admissions requirements, please visit www.phoenix.edu.

    ~ Libby Bailey, Sr. Student Relations Administrator
    for the University of Phoenix

    0 Votes
  • Ss
    SSanchez Dec 02, 2010

    I spoke with a UoP relations specialist and she assured me that they are continually looking for improvements in their educational methods. So that was good to hear, that they are changing their ways. Or at least we can hope..

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    Justme2 Dec 01, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I really have only one complaint with UoP and I have done my BSM and MBA through their online program. My complaint is that they allow students into the MBA program that cannot even speak proper English. If you have taken UoP classes online, you understand there is a participation requirement. This requirement states that you must post within the class 2x, 4 days a week. This is a simple request yet some students can barely form a whole sentence.

    I would like to see UoP raise their standards for the Master’s program. I expect people in a graduate level degree program to be able to communicate in complete and proper English. With the standards where they are, I am slightly embarrassed to tell people that I received my MBA from UoP.

    I really do not see any reason some students would continue to progress without a good grasp of the English language. I have to wonder; Is UoP passing students just for the money?!?!

    *Note – your grade is based on your performance but also on team projects

    0 Votes
  • Ss
    SSanchez Nov 28, 2010

    I was also tricked into thinking University of Phoenix is a great school and enrolled. I was very disappointed with their online degree program after jut 1 short week so I withdrew from the school.

    I was in shock when University of Phoenix "decided" that I owe them $750 for withdrawing after just 1 week. And the thing is, they don't tell you any of it and they keep insinuating each and every student to just try it.

    The top people who are running Univ. Phoenix absolutely do not care about the student's well-being. They JUST WANT YOUR MONEY ANY WAY POSSIBLE.

    0 Votes
  • Ba
    babygirl26az Nov 15, 2010

    i think i am being taken of because i failed one class and they withdrew me from a class after i started it and i was stuck paying the bill but i told them that i can not pay it and i got some of my money back from fin.aide but now i am stuck again because i am trying to get pell and they are taking there sweat old time i think that all they want is my money that i do not have and will never have if i can not get my degree. i am getting so fed up i am about to get a lawyer and ask them what i should do that is right and i wont get in trouble and have to pay out of pocket . If anyone has any advise please send me an email at [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ba
    babygirl26az Nov 15, 2010

    I feel the same i am going to university bof phoenix axia online and i failed the math 116 and then they withdrew me from math 117 and i was screwed i told my financial adviser thay i can not pay for the classes so they got me fin.aide and it covered only part of my class and they want me to pay the class i am in now out of pocket i have been waiting to get my grant money but nothing they tell me there are alot of people trying to get grants and hat they have a new system. can anyone please help me my email address is [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ne
    nekar Nov 04, 2010

    I have just one question I am hoping someone - anyone can answer. When an Axia instructor gives an assignment that is accompanied with a rubik, does the teachers grading of that assignment need to follow the parameters set forth by the rubik?

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    Say No Oct 31, 2010

    University of Phoenix will not be Employer of the Year any time soon. They treat their Enrollment Counselors with little respect. It is all about numbers, even though they deny it. While they state company policy is not to contest unemployment benefits they do. One manager in the Southern Arizona Campus even questioned an employee why he was taking so many days off on his approved FMLA. May I say Illegal. The campus director on this campus has allowed his middle managers to operate in a frenzy mode. Sometimes when you let some one go without good reason you irritate more than the ex-employee; you irritate an entire village.

    0 Votes
  • Vi
    Victor Oct 29, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have a lawyer for a class action talk to him today on my case this is what mine is where they charge you for classes you dropped and claim they sent money back to student laons and pell grant and refuse to give you transkripts till you pay them off they claim i owe 4400.00 if you have a case like this. he has several other lawyers ready to jump on board but each set of class acation has to be the same he told me today that it sounds like they are doing a pozy sceem

    0 Votes
  • Vi
    Virginia Miller Oct 15, 2010

    I agree with you, in fact, I have same identical problem and I feel that something shall be done, but how?

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    MayaRich Oct 03, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am very disappointed that this has happened to you as well as myself. I was a student at Axia and I was attacked by a student who told me I needed to open up an African American history book not to mention I am from a mixed ethnic background and i found that to be very racist and prejudice. my feelings were hurt and I too went to my academic advisor and he told me that there was nothing that he could do. there are truly no numbers that you could go to. I feel bad because you are in my grandmom age range and you should not be treated unfairly.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    MayaRich Oct 02, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My name is Maya and I am complaining about the University of Phoenix/Axia College. I have been with the University of Phoenix/Axia College for one year and it was going great in the beginning. My grades were perfect and I had no problems until my last two courses which were Environmental Science and Cultural Diversity. I was told in my Environmental Science class to express how I felt about nature and not to mention my HONEST opinion, that's exactly what I gave and I was attacked by the instructor. That is just the beginning of my problems with UOP. In my Cultural Diversity class I was told off by one of the students who happen to be older but i did not sweat it. The student told me that I need to open up a African American history book. We were told in the beginning of the course to write a autobiography of ourselves and that is with every course you start at UOP. I am an African American and I found the remark to be very racial and prejudice. I also stated in one of my discussion questions that I was from a mixed ethnic background and I felt I was attacked for it. I recommend anyone who wants to go to this scandalous school read up on your facts first because if you do not do this they will leave you in the dark and drag you though the mud so please be careful. I am in the middle of a situation right at this very moment with UOP, they want a very hefty amount of money for classes that they failed me in and not to mention again they asked my HONEST opinion and I gave it. I should not be punished for my personal opinion especially since it was asked for. In my time at UOP, I have only heard from my adcademic, financial, and enrollment counselors a few times. They tell you to call and leave a message if they are not available but contrary to popular facts they do not call you back. it is the same process with emails they do not get back. So, once again I recommend for anyone who badly wants to go to online schooling or should I say distant learning make sure you read all of the complaints and all of the paperwork they send in the mail it will help you see how scimmish and scandalous they are.

    0 Votes
  • Te
    TechGirl Sep 13, 2010

    UOP has been notorious for this! I applied for my grants in January of this year UOP has received my monies in June 30, 2017 and still to this day have not received my disbursements. They are eager to assist the new students but when it comes to returning they blow you off. I am not even sure I am doing the right thing here? I am almost finished with my BSIT and now I am hearing that many companies will not even look at my resume because of where I obtained it! I have just received a notice that my financial aid will not be reviewed or dispursed until October...meanwhile I have receive two bills for payment on my loans that I still have not received! But UOP has! There are a growing number of concerns here and one of them is why did I go into debt only to find it was a useless degree! Wow I am pissed.

    0 Votes
  • Be
    BeckyB. Sep 03, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am in the same boat, I called the education Approval Board. I am in Wisconsin. Pat Sweeney there has been handleing it with me however there are times I think they pay him off too. He is always really supportive that he talks to his "contact" from UOP and he gets all cr---py with me. I think the gov. is on this too. This whole world is full of scammers and losers. We just happen to be the losers until we get educated on how to scam like they are.

    Good Luck,

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    shaykat0426 Aug 04, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I enrolled with the university of phoenix in july of this year and i did not begin classes because i hadn't received my financial aid award package. When i asked the university for this they said I was to get it from the department of educations so i called them and they told me this comes directly from the school i have asked numerous times for this and at this point i am yet to receive it, they wanted me to start classes even before i knew how much i was awarded and how it was going to be disbursed. Don't let them fool you the department of education told me not to ever start a class without knowing how much i was awarded and how the money was going to be disbursed.

    0 Votes
  • Mb
    M Braintree Campus Jul 09, 2010

    Pell Grant Problems at UOP,
    Who ever may be interested. I have graduated from UOP. I am please about that. I am still waiting for my Pell Grant disbursement. The problems I have incurred with the financial office is simply outragious. I must have submitted my paper wotk a dozen times. Lost by UOP many times, either a new advisor has been appointed, one leaves, again missing information. what ever the reason i have placed hundreds of calls, emails thatbounce back as unread. faxes sent with the same information over and over. I think they are hoping I'll give up. Now my info had to go to professional review.What the heck. One office is pointing fingers at the other. Is there an official office to file a claim againt UOP for mismanaging Pell Grants. Of course I they got all the tution out of me. Some one out there must know where to go to get help.Please!

    Student of UOP from the NorthEast

    0 Votes
  • De
    DeMayo Jul 09, 2010

    I am in the middle of trying to collect the 'refund' or credit balance due to me. UOP Campus level FA department lied to Sallie Mae delaying my funds, they instructed the loan company not to release my money due to 'non-attendance' when I was enrolled and attending my class everyday online. I had to get Sallie Mae and UOP on the phone at the same time with a conference call and document the lies I was being told in email, and phone calls to even get the ball rolling to have my funds disbursed from Sallie Mae. Now because of an illegal business practice I am still waiting on my funds and have bills I can not pay timely. I am a single parent borrowing money to attend an overpriced school that appears only some of the classes transfer that I have spent thousands of dollars on already. UOP knows I want to transfer schools due to cost and they are doing everything in their power to delay the process by messing with my funds. I will be filing a complaint with FAFSA, Sallie Mae and Direct Lending that the colleges are now using for student loans.

    Not to mention the fact that 2 of the 4 classes I have taken are totally useless and the syllabus is cookie cutter molded so that EVERY class for ANY subject is exactly the same, the instructor is not even teaching. The STUDENTS teach themselves the class you pay $1000.00 or more for is a complete WASTE of money and time.

    I have attempted to contact management level and the Dean even to no avail. Appears no one cares what is going on to a student needing their money.

    I feel I am only one in the long list of people who have been screwed over by UOP. My advice keep searching for a less expensive community college who will allow you to obtain an Associates Degree online, one of those degrees no matter where it is obtained I have learned is as good as any other obtained from an over priced online University. A couple of online community colleges I can recommend having recently learned about them is Dallas Community College and Lone Star College System, they are both Texas based schools. Now that I know about them I will be transferring as soon as possible to one of them.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.