TXU Energy Retail Logo

TXU Energy Retail

Having problems with TXU Energy Retail?

File a complaint and get it resolved. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!
Proudly resolving consumer concerns since 2004

TXU Energy Retail reviews first appeared on Complaints Board on Oct 16, 2006. The latest review Letter of credit requested. was posted on Apr 30, 2021. The latest complaint txu a/c heat protection was resolved on Mar 23, 2018. TXU Energy Retail has an average consumer rating of 4 stars from 90 reviews. TXU Energy Retail has resolved 63 complaints.

TXU Energy Retail Customer Service Contacts

+1 800 818 6132 (Residential)
+1 855 750 0899 (New Customer Sales, Residential)
+1 888 399 5501 (Business / Commercial)
+1 855 881 0489 (New Customer Sales, Business)
+1 800 316 2135 (Property Management & Apartment)
+1 800 711 9112 (Construction & Builder)
6555 Sierra Drive
Irving, Texas
United States - 75039

ComplaintsBoard.com is not affiliated, associated, authorized, endorsed by, or in any way officially connected with TXU Energy Retail Customer Service. Initial TXU Energy Retail complaints should be directed to their team directly. You can find contact details for TXU Energy Retail above.

ComplaintsBoard.com is an independent complaint resolution platform that has been successfully voicing consumer concerns since 2004. We are doing work that matters - connecting customers with businesses around the world and help them resolve issues and be heard.

Use this comments board to leave complaints and reviews about TXU Energy Retail. Discuss the issues you have had with TXU Energy Retail and work with their customer service team to find a resolution.

TXU Energy Retail Complaints & Reviews

TXU Energy RetailLetter of credit requested.

I have asked for a letter of credit 3 different times and have been told they can't do that. Which is a lie. People have been very rude and unable to help me after being a customer with y'all for over a year. I am no longer a customer with them because of stuff like this. And I will definitely let everyone know how I have been treated if it doesn't get resolved.

Add your opinion

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    TXU Energy RetailElectricity

    Consumer Issue-TXU Energy
    Dishonest, Misleading & Disloyal!

    I have been a TXU customer for an estimate of six years and don't plan to make it seven. I opened my TXU bill for February on January 28, 2021 and the amount of $544.65, usage of 3315 khw. I thought they charged me double, so I called TXU thinking the amount would get adjusted immediately. Instead, their apologies were turning into excuses, realizing customer loyalty didn't matter. Centerpoint came out the next morning, turned off my electricity for a meter test, requested by TXU, without any notice . I am on time with payments, so I knew that wasn't
    the reason, so I immediately went to the meter, where I asked the Centerpoint representative why he turned off my electricity. He was doing a meter test and due to Covid-19 he couldn't come to apartment door to inform us. After our conversation, I learned he had installed a new smart meter on September 20, 2020, the same date I transferred to this apartment. I confirmed the installment date with three TXU customer representatives, two supervisors and a senior manager. I was told the smart meter is working correctly and I would have to pay the due amount. This amount was double from All my past monthly bills and compared neighbors usage with same floor plan, of which was around 1400 Khw for that billing cycle. I spent several hours on my TXU account dashboard, where customers are told the information is accurate & able to track real time usage, showing an estimate during billing period and an actual at the end of billing period. I manually added all daily usage/cost from my TXU dashboard for February's invoice and the total was half of what was showing on bill for Total due. Supervisor & Manager confirmed the mistake, only to tell me they had to open a new investigation ticket with Centerpoint. I stated several times, I am a TXU customer, not a Centerpoint customer, and why do I have to wait on what they decide about my TXU issues, when TXU is their customer, not me. After my research, I found misleading information on several past invoices, needing explanations, only to receive dishonest answers.
    My first day of electricity usage, starting the bill cycle at the new apartment, of which was the same day the new smart meter was installed(September 20, 2020). No other Meter ID should be on any of my bills for this location and the first billing cycle ended October 20, 2020, Due November 11, 2020. When I reviewed the first bill, it showed an Actual reading from old smart meter ID, that was replaced on September 20, 2020. My December 2020 bill shows old meter ID with estimated reading. My January 2021 original invoice(usage dates Nov. 18, 2020 to Dec. 21, 2020) is the first invoice showing new smart meter ID, of which is the only meter that should be receiving data for my apartment. This bill also showed corrections for Nov.& Dec 2020(already paid), and showing Actual readings from New meter ID. TXU, states on "my account dashboard", "your monthly bill provides your official usage as
    determined by your local transmission and distribution utility" and is the Original invoice with accurate, Actual readings and other information. As I stated above, my February 2021 bill was a Big Shock, showing usage of 3315 khw, Amount Due $544, double from any bill in 6 years as a TXU customer. While waiting for Centerpoint to complete their investigation, requested by TXU, I received my March 2021 invoice, showing corrections, for February, along with new Actual readings for all past paid invoices at new address, Oct, Nov, Dec 2020, Jan. & Feb 2021(the adjustments for February were divided and placed in Dec/Jan paid invoices). All corrections are showing Actual readings from New meter, installed on September 20, 2020 and making changes for 3rd time. After many hours reviewing the invoices, phone conversations with TXU representatives and consumer support representatives, I am upset and will Not allow TXU to bully their loyal customers, especially when TXU are not following their own policies. I filed a complaint with Better Business Bureau(BBB), Public Utility Commission(PUC) and Attorney General's office, all have opened investigations. TXU needs to take responsibility for their misleading, dishonest and disloyal actions. I paid All of the Original bills and don't understand how TXU can keep changing bills that have Actual readings. I have all original invoices, invoices showing the changes and other documents pertaining to this matter. How do you trust billing information, if continuously changed. Stay far away from TXU and don't allow them to steal money from you, like they did with me. If they do not fulfill my request that I stated in my letter sent to their registered agent, I will see them in a small claims court.

    Add your opinion

      By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

      TXU Energy RetailEnergy plan and early cancellation fee

      When it was time to renew my energy plan I assumed they would give me the best plan available since I was a loyal customer who has always paid on time (auto payments) but I was wrong. I signed up for the texas choice 36 month plan and I noticed instantly my bill each month was a lot higher. My husband and I are seniors (80 years old) on a fixed income and can not deal with these extreme bills. I called to cancel and found out there is a $395.00 early cancellation fee. I would like to negotiate a cheaper fee or at least get a different energy plan with a lower rate. These are the highest rates and added fees for any electric company

      Add your opinion

        By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

        Jan 28, 2021

        TXU Energy Retail — Light services

        1/27/2021 My husband I had called to ask why our bill keep going up? The gentleman told us our contract ha...

        TXU Energy Retail50% rate is misrepresented

        I called TXU about the 50% off during summer months gimmick. The sales rep from a country of different origin than the US, had to be slowed down to fully explain the net net. The deal is that my base rate would be raised by 2 cents per KWH, for a couple of months remaining, and 50% of that was discounted. You don't have to pass junior high algebra to know that is NOT 50% off. After summer, the rate goes back to the new and improved higher base rate. I guess we have to pay for actor Matthew McConaughey BS-ing us.

        When I had the guy slow down to my pace, I figured I might save $200 or less over 12 months, however I couldn't get out of him whether or not Center Point's 'Pass thru' charges would fluxuate with the base rate.

        I took the 12 month deal to give me time to do my homework on providers such as Cirro's flat rate.

        Bottom line - misrepresenting any of the facts constitues fraud - or in other words - a lie.

        Add your opinion

          By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

          We are here to help

          • 16 years' experience in successful complaint resolution
          • Each complaint is handled individually by highly qualified experts
          • Honest and unbiased reviews
          • Last but not least, all our services are absolutely free

          TXU Energy Retail Companyelectricity bill

          Signed up 11/11/2019 and after a week, they state I've used 447kwh by 11/17/2019. Highly unlikely, unless literally everything was running 24/7 for the entire week, and even then, there's no way it would be that much. My thinking is the meter reader made a huge mistake, as I switched from direct to txu, and they probably just counted the direct consumption as txu... We're not happy with this company.

          Add your opinion

            By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

            TXU Energy Retail Companyswitch hold

            I'm moving to an address my electrical provider is telling me that txu it's saying that I have enough spending account for txu i've never had an account with txu i've contacted tx you gave them my social security number had them verify that i've never had an account I need my power on i've gave documents occupancy statements utility bills so on and so forth but no avail I have not been able to have my power turned on

            Add your opinion

              By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

              TXU Energy Retail Companynon compliance with cust. service & questions submitted

              I phoned today about my powerbsnk acct. After being hung-up on 13 times and no answers given to my questions. I decided only alternative was to write. *my remaining bill this month was $27.50 — I prepaid $100. Last month when I had a zero balance. I had points in my powerbank, so assumed this would cover my next bill, which it should of. But after having a current bal. Of 27.50., I called ro try and find out what happened. I rec. No answers as everyone either hung-up or I was disconnected. The worst of all is all reps I spoke with were extremely rude and continued to tell me I was just wrong, with no answers or explanation"just pay your bill."I m a senior (I realize you hate seniors but we alwys pay our bills — unlike many 20-30 ages.. I only want to know what I am paying for. I was promised that powerplan bank) was the best plan fot me.. I live in a 55+ commu.in a small apt with a little yorkie my only elec. Is lites and a/c. I watch myconsumption as I said im on a "fixed income". I always feel I am being cheated by txu, that im not to ask and questions and that you I was promised I would only pay for what I use — as long as my p-bank points are being saved forever (?) im ok — I just want to be sure that they will be there in may-aug. When i'll need them for the hot mo's. Also that im not paying for anyone elses bill. *I also wanted to know what they buy out onmy contract was, as the rep continued to try an convince I had 2 tes left. — knew this was wrong. You guys are fine as you treat all of us fair and speak to us as persons with brains, as many of us have multiple degrees, including a law degree and bach. Of science. — plus one other but I never count it... Lol *I hope someone from retention gets back to me as i'm leading a meeting next week for many of us to shop as a group of approx. 450 for the best energy plan in houston. We get a better rate if we act as one instead of indivifuals….. * thank you zita church

              Add your opinion

                By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                TXU Energy Retail Company — electric service

                Stay away from TXU. I singed up for a plan with reasonale price. Ended up the bills that were neary double...

                The complaint has been investigated and
                resolved to the customer's satisfaction
                Resolved
                TXU Energy Retail Company — txu a/c heat protection

                I had a great deal of difficult cancelling. I had to call in three time when I was transferred and then the...

                The complaint has been investigated and
                resolved to the customer's satisfaction
                Resolved
                TXU Energy Retail Company — I received a bonus gift card, and I was unable to use it. I have tried at least 15 times to get info on their recorded line.

                Each time I call, I am eventually told I did not answer correctly, and to call again when I have the correct...

                The complaint has been investigated and
                resolved to the customer's satisfaction
                Resolved
                TXU Energy — Extrem bill charges to the account

                WE had service with TXU since 01/2015 and its been pretty normal billing, between 05/15 $74.06 we did not...

                The complaint has been investigated and
                resolved to the customer's satisfaction
                Resolved
                TXU EnergyTXU Energy Did Not Honor 3% Cash Back Loyalty Reward

                We were TXU Energy customers for slightly more than six years until December 2012. Even though TXU seemed to always discontinue the plan we were enrolled in for the previous service year, we always enrolled in one of their new plans and eventually one with a 3% cash back loyalty reward in the form of a prepaid Visa card. For the [protected] service year, we chose the Texas Choice 12 plan and received our reward card without any problem. We then re-enrolled in the same plan with a 3% cash back loyalty reward for the [protected] service year, although there was a problem with the promotional code and initially TXU did not offer us this plan.

                When it came time for the [protected] service year, TXU’s rates were more expensive than our budget would allow so we decided to fulfill our contract obligation and switch to another provider at the end of our term, which was 12/15/12. The switch was made 12/13/12 and within the seven business day time frame per the State of Texas Public Utility Commission (PUC).

                Since TXU mails their reward cards at the end of February and we had not received our reward card as of 3/27/13, I called Customer Service. That representative then transferred me to their Rewards Center. The rep at the Rewards Center did not know why we had not received the reward card, so I was transferred back to Customer Service. I was then told by a third rep we did not qualify for a reward card because our account was inactive. I explained I was aware of the inactivity because we switched providers but still had fulfilled our contract. Then I was transferred to a manager who explained our account was not active as of 12/31/12, which was their “payout date”, and we would have received a reward card of $39.54 had our account been active for another 16 days after our term ended on 12/15/12. The manager further explained that we should have chosen a month-to-month plan (at least for the duration of 12/16/12 – 1/1/13, which is actually 17 days) after our contract ended so our account would have been active as of 1/1/13 and then we could have cancelled the service, switched to another provider, and received our reward card. Here I thought completing our contract for the full term as allowed by the PUC, paying every bill on time, and being in good standing would have been enough to earn our reward card for doing business with TXU as agreed.

                The idea of a “payout date” was news to me and sounded something like a loophole, so I asked to be transferred to the Complaint Department and spoke with a rep in the CEO Office. The rep said the reward program is not part of the contract (!) and we should have gone to the TXU website for more information. I explained that the portion of the Electricity Facts Label (EFL) which identifies the reward program does not state anything about a payout date, nor does the Terms of Service Agreement. I stated that furthermore, the EFL does reference their website for more details; however, I did not believe information we would have to obtain by visiting a website constitutes a contract like the EFL and Terms of Service Agreement and I thought TXU was not abiding by their contract. The rep said they would not honor our request for the reward card. In light of such a decision, I told the rep it would be very hard for us to come back to TXU in the future and the rep said they don’t know if we would come back either way.

                Here are the reasons as to why I’m just now stating my complaint and warning my fellow consumers about TXU Energy. What initially infuriated me was I spoke with five reps over the course of an afternoon which surely cost TXU more than our 3% cash back loyalty reward of $39.54. Secondly, TXU would have had to respond to an informal complaint had we chosen to file one with the PUC and would have cost the company more money. Additionally, we had no control over when our contract ended which just happened to be 16 days before their “payout date” and would have never thought about enrolling in a month-to-month plan for half of a month in order to meet their “payout date” requirement. I guess TXU would be familiar with their loophole.

                But the real “kicker” is since we left TXU thirteen months ago, we have received ten offers to come back and receive a $250.00 bonus as well as (you guessed it) a 3% cash back loyalty reward. Nine of these offers were sent for nine straight months, the most recent one received by us in January 2014. With more such offers likely in the future and costing the company even more money, TXU is simply rubbing salt in the wound because I feel like they cheated me and my family and yet they want us to forget about it, sign back up with them, and let the matter go unresolved.

                There was never a doubt in my mind we were going to check TXU’s rates once the contract with our current provider neared the end of the 2013 service year. To not do so would be a bad business decision on our part. If TXU’s rates would have been within our budget, we may have switched back to them. However, it appears unlikely we will ever switch back because I don’t think they have the business sense to retain good customers. It appears TXU has no problem making bad business decisions when it comes to customers past, present, or future from what we’ve read and experienced.

                All in all, I guess a multi-million or billion dollar company like TXU needed the $39.54 more than we did. Just remember loyalty works both ways, TXU Energy!

                Add your opinion

                  By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                  RESOLVED

                  The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

                  • Updated by [email protected] · Feb 07, 2011

                    Thu,

                    I sent you a message. Please respond so we can discuss.

                    Thanks
                    Greg
                    TXU Energy

                  • Updated by [email protected] · Mar 25, 2011

                    I would like to see if I could help. Please email me at [email protected] so we can discuss.

                    Thanks
                    Greg
                    TXU Energy

                  • TXU Energy Retail's response · Jan 27, 2014

                    Gunter66 - We are sorry that you had a less than satisfactory experience and would appreciate the opportunity to investigate what took place. If you don’t mind emailing us your contact and account information to [email protected] we will further review the account details and contact you.

                  • Gu
                    Gunter66 Apr 21, 2014
                    This comment was posted by
                    a verified customer
                    Verified customer

                    I contacted TXU via [email protected] and corresponded with a very helpful representative. The rep reviewed my account and the history of the issue. The matter was recently resolved to my satisfaction and I consider it closed. I will now include TXU when it comes time to research the rates of various providers.
                    I did offer a suggestion to identify the actual payout date on the letter that accompanies the contract documents. According to the rep, rewards info cannot be listed on the EFL because the document language is closely regulated and there is not enough space.

                    0 Votes
                  • De
                    DECEPTIVE TRADE PRACTIVE VICTIM Mar 25, 2011
                    This comment was posted by
                    a verified customer
                    Verified customer

                    WE SIGNED UP FOR THE TWO ( 2) YEAR CONTRACT WITH TXU ENERGY. THEY PROMISED A 3% PER YEAR CASH BACK LOYALTY REWARD.
                    THE FIRST YEAR, THEY DID HONOR THE 3% CASH BACK REWARD, HOWEVER AFTER THE SECOND YEAR WHEN THE CONTRACT MATURED WE CHANGED SERVICE PROVIDERS. TXU NOW REFUSES TO PAY THE 3% CASH BACK REWARD FOR SAID YEAR. ATTEMPTS TO CORRECT THE PROBLEM THROUGH TXU CUSTOMER SERVICE DEPT. HAS BEEN FUTILE.

                    0 Votes
                  • Th
                    Thu Huong Feb 07, 2011

                    They did not give me 3% cash back after 2 years contract. Never recomend this light company to new customer.

                    0 Votes
                  • Cc
                    CCAHelp Oct 10, 2010

                    perhaps there was a problem with the postal service at your area thats why you received 2 bills.

                    0 Votes
                  • Ga
                    Gaby19842003 Oct 01, 2010

                    I received a bill twice in one month. Their costumer service was HORRIBlE. They denied any wrong doing they said it was just the way the reading cycles fell. One costumer rep even blamed it on the postal service being to fast.

                    0 Votes
                  • Gl
                    globex Jan 29, 2010

                    THE BACK OF OUR PROPERTY HAS AN EIGHT FOOT FENCE AROUND IT. THE ELECTRIC METER IS INSIDE A WOODEN STRUCTURE CONTAINING POOL SUPPLIES. TXU IS TELLING ME THEY READ THE METER BECAUSE THEY HAVE BINOCULARS. I TOLD THEM HORSE FEATHERS. THEY NEED INVESTIGATING.

                    0 Votes

                  The complaint has been investigated and
                  resolved to the customer's satisfaction
                  Resolved
                  TXU — COMMENTS

                  I SIGNED WITH TXU ENERGY FOR THE FREE WEEKEND AND 14.5 CENTS PER KWH DURING THE WEEK. WHEN I RECEIVED MY...

                  TXU EnergyRude and ignorant people

                  We had used TXU Energy for almost 17 years even though other electric companies had approached us to switch. In August I received a bill of $179 with a due date of 8/21/12. On 8/15 I received another bill of $429 stating that I was late with my payments and a due date of 8/31. I called to see what was going on and was told that I needed to pay both bills when they are due or my services will be disconnected and I would be turned over to a collection agency. I asked to talk to a manager, who was even more rude than the first person. I asked how they can send two bills with only 10 days between each due date, she told me that they sometimes are late sending invoices and I needed to pay. No apology, no alternatives, nothing. I hung up and signed up with another electric company with much lower rates. A few days later I get a call from one of their account fixers. He seemed to care but kept badmouthing the newly chosen electric company, even though I never told him who it was. I was also told to expect my final bill in the next billing cycle. Really?? I received the bill the next day with a due date of 9/7 only 7 days after the previous bill. Now you would think this is now over but NO! They keep calling me 3-4 times a day even though I told them to stop harrassing us. I will never switch back to them.

                  Add your opinion

                    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                    • Di
                      Dixie Chick Texas Sep 08, 2012
                      This comment was posted by
                      a verified customer
                      Verified customer

                      I don't know where you live, but I used this website to help me make a decision: http://www.texaselectricityproviders.com/

                      0 Votes
                    • Di
                      Dixie Chick Texas Sep 08, 2012
                      This comment was posted by
                      a verified customer
                      Verified customer

                      Wow. Great advice. They are calling and emailing and mailing me to switch back. I will follow your advice and will let you know what happens. Thanks!

                      0 Votes

                    The complaint has been investigated and
                    resolved to the customer's satisfaction
                    Resolved
                    TXU EnergyRude sales people

                    TXU called to ask why we stopped using their service at one of our company’s locations. Lori was extremely rude when I was unable to transfer her to the person who handled the utility decision. I attempted to explain why it was not possible and she refused to accept that she could not be transferred to that person. I offered to take her number but she said it is an outbound only line. Her call will be reported to the person in charge of energy to ensure that we do not ever switch back to this company with such aggressive and rude sales people. If they want to know why we left them, they should start with calls like this.

                    Add your opinion

                      By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                      The complaint has been investigated and
                      resolved to the customer's satisfaction
                      Resolved
                      TXU Energy — Customer Service

                      After a high pressure door to door salesman repeatedly came to my house, I agreed to switch to TXU as my...

                      The complaint has been investigated and
                      resolved to the customer's satisfaction
                      Resolved
                      TXU Energy — billing problems

                      When I built my park consisting of 24 cabins for rent and 42 rv spaces in 2007, I used TXU for my electric...

                      Fairfield

                      The complaint has been investigated and
                      resolved to the customer's satisfaction
                      Resolved
                      TXU Energy — won't extend bill date

                      Every month I get a disconnect notice for my Electric service, am currently unemployed and every month I have...

                      The complaint has been investigated and
                      resolved to the customer's satisfaction
                      Resolved
                      TXU ElectricityI am being charged by TXU for electric in an apartment I never lived in

                      I am being charged by TXU for electric in an apartment I never lived in. They have referred me to a debt collector. I have contacted them several times and continue to be hung up on, put on hold for LONG period of time AND told that my account is taken care of when it is not. I want to resolve this issue and yet can not get it squared away. I don't know what to do... I have been dealing with this for 15 days.

                      Add your opinion

                        By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                        RESOLVED

                        The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

                        IN THE NEWS

                        Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
                        If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
                        One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
                        A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
                        ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
                        You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
                        Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.