The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
TJ Maxxlied about return policy

TJ Maxx has a return policy that you can return merchandise w/o a receipt within 90 days. I went in to get store credit for an item and the employee - Jenn Whiting and the manager - Shan Lee would not return the item.

They said it was not "in the system. However, I bought the item and tried to return it within 3 weeks --well within TJ Maxx's 90 day return period.

PROBLEM:

Misleading return policy. Item should have been in TJ Maxx's database and it wasn't.

Jenn Whiting was a rude employee and Shan Lee, the manager, was not helpful.

Responses

  • D2
    d23 Nov 14, 2009

    And your one of those ### customers. You ###.

    -1 Votes
  • Ke
    Kennedy3601 Jan 19, 2010

    30 days actually.

    0 Votes
  • At
    A thrifty shopper Jan 20, 2010

    Have you read the return policy? Most stores have them posted at either the doors or at their customer service desk. I have never heard of a store with a certain number of days for a return with NO receipt, in fact very few store will return without a receipt. If the store is willing to return it is very rare a customer would receive anything more than a few dollars.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Minayang Mar 06, 2010

    I agree mhmm! If it's not there it's not there. Can't be returned period.

    0 Votes
  • Il
    ILanonymous831 Jun 14, 2010

    Umm the return policy is stated on the receipt & it is only 30 days with original receipt. If you don't have a receipt, they have to look it up in the system. And yes, if it's not there.. it's not there.

    1 Votes
  • Ja
    Jaz1991 Aug 05, 2010

    Well I work at TJ Maxx and I think they were wrong and I actually agree with the complaint. If you do not have the reciept we look it up in the system and if it say "Item not found" we write inf on the store copy of the reciept after we do the return. You must have went to a crappy TJ Maxx because the employer's policy is to keep the customers happy and they did not meet their standards.

    -1 Votes
  • Jl
    jla122982 Aug 28, 2011

    30 days ###. and don't use their real names.

    -1 Votes
  • The actual policy if you read it states 30 days w/ receipt. They'll take items back for store credit up to 90 days but only if it's in the system. And they count that based off of when the item arrived in the store. NOT when you bought it (that would be a virtual nightmare for any POS system to track).

    2 Votes
  • Re
    Retailbuff12 Feb 22, 2016

    You have 30 days to return
    Stores encourage customers to keep their receipts for proof of purchase during returns
    Due to the fact that their systems are very basic they need to have the tag or receipt to verify the item
    If you do not have your receipt and they cannot verify the item they cannot return the item
    Having your return denied does not mean a crappy store... It means that store is sticking to company policy
    some stores will make exceptions others won't they are not obligated to make exceptions
    Tjmaxx Marshalls Homegoods Sierra trading Post etc. return policy is the same
    If they were rude that's different you have a reason to be upset but if you were ify with the item to begin with you should have saved your receipt and asked for them to verbally tell you the return policy so ... Yo bad !!!
    Just because in retail the customer is always right you do know you aren't always right, right ?

    1 Votes
  • Qu
    QueenieJabo May 07, 2017

    I find they make up things as the go, and it differs from location to location and type of clientel, if u understand what I am saying

    2 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.