The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
The Bayreturn policy

M

On april 5th I purchased two pieces of luggage from this store. On april 28th I left for florida with one of the pieces of luggage. On mothers day I received a set of luggage from my children, so when I returned to canada on may 9th I tried to return my one piece of luggage that I had not used to the store to get my money back. They told me that since I had paid for it with my debit card and not not their store credit card that they would only give me a store gift card! If I had purchased it with their store credit card they would have given me back my money up to 90 days after buying it! They are punishing me for using cash and not their credit!!! What kind of company is this? I thought it was good to buy from a canadian company, guess I was wrong!! All they said was that "all stores are doing it that way"wrong!!! Canadian tire, toys r us, home depot, and walmart all have 90 day return policies no matter what legal tender you use!! Shame on you hudsons bay!! I have lots of other places to spend my money where they know what real customer service is!!!

Responses

  • Fr
    Frenchy May 30, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I use to work for the bay and they trained us to rip people off and trick seniors on seniors day discount to sign up for a credit card when I refused to do it they cut my hours back and hudson bay company isn't canadian anymore it is owned by a us company lord & tayler.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    camaro92 Nov 27, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    There is something you are not telling us. what you have said makes no sense! either you had no receipt, or the product was used or not sellable..

    0 Votes
  • Fr
    Frenchy Nov 27, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    There is nothing wrong with what she is saying it is very true and as an employee at the Bay we rip people off all the time it's our job!!! she bought the luggage with a debit card and when she returned it they would only give her a store credit and the Bay tells everyone that it's like that everywhere NOT TRUE i shop at canadian tire, walmart, sears and when i return stuff with my receipt they give me the money as i paid for it cash, debit, credit card .People need to stop shopping at stores that rip them off ( HBC) and start posting and reporting it so evryone knows the scammers they are specially the seniors they are much more vulnerable!!!

    0 Votes
  • Du
    duachua May 07, 2012

    You should read the fine prints behind the receipt out loud to those incompetent associates. April28th - May 9th is within a refundable 30 days window if paid by debit, and with a receipt.

    0 Votes
  • Ge
    Geoff Sherman Dec 30, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @duachua They bought it April 5th, read before you comment...

    0 Votes
  • Fr
    Frenchy May 08, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    good luck with that!

    0 Votes
  • Bi
    Bill Richardson Robinson Aug 01, 2016

    We went into the bay in vernon bc. the service there and the people were awesome. we bought all new household items totalling $2100. the clerk there suggested we sign up for a bay credit card and we would save 15%, so we did (smart move). they automatically gave us a $800 limit - we requested a raise in limit. even though we had paid off $65, 000 in debt in the last 3 months and had money in the bank, they refused an increase. so we paid the $1700 and credited the new bay account (the 2100 less 15%). the transaction would not go through because the 1700 charge to the account was over our 800 limit even though we had just paid 1700 cash on the account. the clerk in vernon phoned their head office and we spoke to them. I explained that they now had 1700 in cash from our account and she was rude and beligerent saying too bad. so we did not get our merchandise and were out 1700 in cash. she said they would mail us a cheque in 2 weeks. not good enough. I am phoning a lawyer this morning.... I told her I was going to write letters and tell everyone the story. she said write 100 letters it won't do any good. what kind of attitude is this for customer service. stop these big companies from treating their customers who pay their wages, like crap!!!

    0 Votes
  • Es
    essara Aug 01, 2016

    "So if they put $1700 on the card before any purchases, they should have been able to buy up to $2500 on that card and stay withing the credit limit."

    What? That isn't how it works at all...

    *****************
    If you read my post, they had not purchased $1700 worth but paid cash on the card.
    If the have a $800 limit on the card, that means they can go down to -$800 on the card . Still following??
    If they add cash to the card, their balance becomes +$1700 (at this point the credit card company owes them money), Still following??
    So now they should be able to purchase $2500 worth and still be within the cards -$800 limit.

    0 Votes
  • Fl
    flutee Aug 01, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I was yelled by a Philippine BA named Marites. I was just trying to return some products I bought online. She said "You should return to wherever you got it. You are cheating." I am cheating for what. When the other staff came, Marites even didn't admit what she said.

    1 Votes
  • Es
    essara Aug 01, 2016

    well the way that The BAY works here in Canada is that the 15% discount is only applied to the amount purchased on the Card. If they only got a $800 limit then if they split the purchase 2 ways, so $2100+tax in BC is ~$2394. If they can only put $800 on the card, the 15% they save is only $120.

    If they put cash on the card, then purchase it all on the card, they save $360 instead.

    You may be right on posting the next day but the method of saving money was valid.

    -1 Votes
  • Es
    essara Aug 01, 2016

    I guess both of you didn't read the complaint.

    The credit card has a limit of $800. before the purchase, they transferred $1700 to the credit card meaning that they had a POSITIVE balance on the card. The $800 credit limit is not a purchase limit. So if they put $1700 on the card before any purchases, they should have been able to buy up to $2500 on that card and stay withing the credit limit.

    -2 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.