The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
State Farm Insurancewill not pay claims

S Review updated:

Like others I have had State Farm refuse to cover losses. I had insurance with them for more than five years. Auto, Home, Life insurance in all 8 policies. I had hail damage and reported it. First they assigned an adjuster in the wrong area and had to start over. Then I get an adjuster who said I had no damage other than three singles damaged. (more singles than that were on the ground). At first we dropped it until we noticed that EVERY neighbor around us were having their roofs replaced. I spoke to each of the who told me their insurance was replacing their roof for hail damage. My sister who lives one street over reported her roof and State Farm said no hail damage. I asked my agent why everyone around me had hail damage and I didn't. He said there must have been a hole in the hail storm that missed my house. The only thing in common with the houses that got their roof replaced? They did not have State Farm Insurance. One lady in our neighborhood did not know she had hail damage until she received a check from Farm Bureau Insurance, they told her since others they covered in the area had hail damage they had come and checked her roof on their own. (now that is good neighbor service).

My story doesn't end their, to protect me, my agent instead of resubmitting my claim (he told me it would make me look like I was trying to get paid for nothing) he sent out a roofer to check my roof. He called me later to say my roof was fine and had no damage at all. I was in the process of selling my house, so that is what I was concerned with and let it drop. The buyers were told a roofer said roof was fine and asked to speak with the roofer. I was happy to provide the information knowing he would tell them everything was fine. Imagine my surprise when I was informed by the buyers that the roofer told them not only was their major structural damage to my roof and leaks but that I had already been told about and was I lying to them. When I called my insurance agent he was not apologetic for being dishonest, he was to busy telling me about how much money he personally spent on repairs at this house. He asked me what I thought he could do, I suggested repairing the roof as he was paid to do. He said insurance did not pay for structural damage (there wasn't any just incompetent roofer) or leaks that had been let go. I pointed out that if State Farm had repaired the roof when first notified the leak would have been fixed. I canceled all my policies and moved them to Allstate.

Responses

  • Jo
    Jovial Jack Jul 05, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    You seem to have left a lot of information out of the story. Either there was big roof damage, or there was no damage. The Closing papers will show if you were charged to get the roof repaired, for the new owner. Ask the Closing Agent for the name of the man who said that you were lying. His file will have a Report in it.
    .
    You need to ask the Insurance Agent for the name and address of the roofer that he says he sent out to inspect the roof. You need to find your Claim Number for the Adjuster's visit where he said that you had three damaged shingles. Then you send that data to the State Insurance Commission as a complaint.
    .
    You had better make sure that the Adjuster took photos, and wrote a report based on the photographs ... that only three shingles were damaged. You are not entitled to a new roof just because all of your neighbors got their's replaced. You have to have damage, beyond your Deductible, to get paid. How long was it between the hail storm, and the day you sold the house? You don't get structural damage from little pieces of bouncing hail. Wet rot (structural damage) comes from years of neglect with a lot of rain storms. How old was the roof, and how long did you live there ... five years? Where is the Condition Report from the Closing Papers when you bought the house?
    .
    When the Insurance Commission asks for the Claim File, the State Farm Claims Managers and Superintendent get involved, and every thing that you say had better be Gospel. The Insurance Commission can look up any and all damage histories on that house. They also have Meterological Weather Reports for the day that the hail hit, including every rainstorm that passed over your house between the date that you bought the house and the date that you sold it.
    .
    What you should have remembered, was that State Farm goes to bat for their OLD policy holders, moreso than with newer ones, as does every other company. You were supposed to feel sorry for the Agent who spent a lot more on his repairs than you did.
    .
    In case you wondered, I spent 40 years in the claims business.
    .

    -2 Votes
  • Sc
    scarpetta1 Jul 05, 2008

    I lived in the house for eleven years and had replaced the roof about 7-8 years ago. Roof was replaced with 25 year shingles. Time between hail storm and sale of the house was about 9-11 months. Buyers got $3000.00 off the price of the house for repair of roof and they did replace it. There was NO structual damage, roofer backed down from that claim when confronted and admitted he had not actually seen damage, just guessed because there was a low spot in the roof. (when roof was replaced it was confirmed there were no broken rafters as he claimed). My brother in law works as a disaster claims adjuster, so yes I know that they can check all the meterological weather reports. I was not asking for a free ride because my neighbors got theirs replaced, I only wanted my roof to be put back to the state it was before the storm minus my deductible. I do not believe in using insurance as "FREE MONEY" but I pay good money to be covered the one time I make a claim. Also it was not one or two neighbors with damage, but more like 12+ including houses on all four sides of me and a street away. I appreciate the information on filing a complaint with the insurance commision. I have considered it, but since I did not take any pictures of the roof and have no idea what the appraiser did, I have not gone forward with my complaint. I changed insurance companies along with making sure everyone I know hears our story.

    3 Votes
  • Jo
    Jovial Jack Jul 06, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Mr. Scarpetta ...
    .
    The additional information that you supplied above, fills in the gaps very nicely. The $3, 000 that you mentioned came out of your pocket at the Sale Closing. You lost $3, 000 ... not the agent or the roofer. Technically, it's called "Dimunition of Value".
    .
    The insurance adjuster took pictures of your roof, and he wrote a report. The house Buyer probably kept the roof repair bill, and would be glad to give you a copy, because it's a Capital Gain offset when he sells the house.
    .
    The Insurance Commission should order State Farm to pay you $3, 000 less your Deductible, after they review the Claim File. The only unknown at the moment, is whether you Waived any Claim Rights when you Closed on the house. You have those papers and so does the Buyer. The Insurance Commission will figure it out for you. Were Escrow Funds set aside for the Buyer's roofer, and if so, get a copy of the check from the roofer or the Closing Agent.
    .
    Good luck.

    0 Votes
  • Je
    Jeff Harris Jul 30, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Had the same problem, except they paid for the damage in the house, but wouldn, t pay for the roof damage. They stated they don't pay for poor installation when constructed. Funny, the didn't complain about the construction when the house was built and they inspected it!!!

    0 Votes
  • We
    weng Oct 07, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    TO ALL STATE FARM INSURERS, I hope you will drop your insurance policy. I had my roof inspected after hurricane GUSTAV hit in Denham springs, LA by the independent adjuster, he just paid my roof damaged for 1, 300. For 13 yrs. of this insurance company and my car insurance I now can tell they're not good to buy your policy insurance. The damaged of the barn at the back of the house is total, they paid 6, 900 minus depreciation plus the roof damaged money of 7, 600 plus. But the roof of the house that i really got mad for 1, 300 that had been damaged by the wind isn't enough to pay the roofer. Our entire roof needs to be replaced, the edge of the roof infront of the house are not in good condition after hurricane gustav, but what we got was just 1, 300? I need to hire somebody to do the estimate and we'll find out what's next, maybe we can bring this to court or the media.

    2 Votes
  • Mo
    Morales Jan 09, 2009

    I am going through a similar problem. Our home was in Hurricane Ike. We had roof damage and received a check for $912!!! What am I supposed to do with that? They did not even include the roof for my garage. We had fence damage and our big tree cracked in the middle and could fall at any given time if we do not cut it down. We had food spoilage since our power was off for quite some time and all we wanted was to replace our roof! But we cannot do much with $912. I am planning on going to see my insurance agent this weekend, but I do not understand insurance well, and as far as I am concerned, ... WHAT IS INSURANCE FOR ANYWAYS?? We all pay an insurance to protect our home and as soon as a big disaster comes, our insurance companies are not there for us. But they sure are there to collect our money!

    This is so sad for many of us homeowners who get ripped off by these insurance companies. What is the point of doing a claim if we cannot even get the damage repaired or replaced? We all work too hard to pay our bills and we work way to hard to be able to keep our homes. Why dont they explain this to many of us when we purchase the insurance? Why dont they inform us of the differences of the policies?

    By the way, I have Farmers Insurance as my agent. The company that holds the insurance, which Farmers got for me was, McClelland and Hine, Inc.

    I do plan on canceling all my policies with them if they cannot get anything done for me. All I ask is for my roof to be either replaced or repaired completely! They do not even have to issue me a check, I could care less about the money, I just want my roof taken care of properly. My brother claimed his fence, and some minor things around the home and received close to $8000!!! He did not even include his roof in his claim!!!

    Well, this helped me release some anger as well. Good luck to all of you on your claims.

    2 Votes
  • Cg
    cgs Apr 03, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Re; State Farm Insurance complaints, , They dont care if you cancel your policies, they already got some of your money! State Farm is chicken ###!! We just had a major hail storm here (Texas) and the first thing my agent said to me when I called her was "you'll have to pay the first $2800", a 2% deductible, I asked her why she did'nt tell me about this deductible when she sold me the policy, , she started making up excuses, so for me to get anything it'll cost me $2800, State Farm can KMA!!

    0 Votes
  • De
    Denver Roofer Jul 30, 2009

    Well I heard through the grapevine, that they are going to cover the roofs but, only one time no matter what only one time trying to put lifetime shingles on which we all now the lifetime really is bull!So if another storm hits and destroys your roof your SHOL!They will not cover it so then you deal with maker of shingles and you thought it was tough to get money from state farm wait !I recomend concrete tile, or metal, only lifetime roofs out there in my opinion .Denver, CO

    1 Votes
  • Cl
    Clint C. Blackman III Oct 12, 2009

    I understand your frustration. Before you accept what an adjuster tells you, talk to a consumer lawyer who sues insurance companies. For Hail Claim "Do's & Don'ts, check out www.hail-claims.com

    Clint Blackman
    Dallas, Texas

    1 Votes
  • i took out a new policy with state farm on dec 4th, 2009. WHen i came home on Dec 23th someone had broke in my home that day. I first call the police. I done everything what they told me to do. I call my agents 24 hour service and went ahead and file my claim. WIthin a week later i call them back and they finally found my info were i had call in., they sent me the papers so i can do my inventory on things that had gotton stolen and damage. I went to the agent myself and they also help me. The adjuster was out the office at the main office that day so she would get it the next day she return. She question me about an item that was on my sheet and i didn't know it was more then what the police ask me. I had a receipt of how much i paid and i gave them everything showing proof of owner ship also i had a few items that i was still paying for. I call everyother day to see what the progress was and i call today [protected]. they told me that they would send someone out to my house to fix my door that was damage and the gentleman said he would make sure my claim was done this week. Well within 2 hours after the company that was going to come out and fix my door i get a call from state farm and they inform me that they had cancel the company from coming to my home and they are waiting on the underwriter to see if they will pay for my lost. What is really suckie that the company that i am still owing i had to sign a paper showing were i have home owner insurance in order for me not to have to pay extra for there insurance. The police department has even told them that there has been alot of break ins in the area. I don't know what to do next . they took my money and now they don't want to honor what there promise is just because my home was broken into within the first month of my policy. DOes anyone know what i can do to get a fire under there butts?

    2 Votes
  • Fr
    Frustration... Mar 16, 2010

    March 2008 hail storm...many of my neighbors received new roofs...had State Farm come out...they stated no hail damage to my house or roof...well then a leak comes in my kitchen...had them come back out...now I have hail damage to my air conditioner, gutters, but none seen on the roof...hummmm...but you might need to replace the boots on the roof...so did this and later we had a windy rain storm and another leak comes to my sons room...roof being right above and had state farm come back out but again the agent says no roof damage...well I got a second opinion and they took pictures and stated I do have significant hail damage to my roof. After talking to my agent, he states there is no damage to my roof but has no answer for the leaks...well my house never leaked until after the hail storm... now 2 yrs later i have outside damage to the hardiplank on side of house near the garage from the ground up to the roof...I call state farm and they tell me if I file anoter claim I will have my policy dropped. Been with them for over 24 yrs now, what is wrong with this company! What can I do? I have at least 6 neighbors that got new roofs right next to me and had no problem with getting there claims taken care of. Did the hail really just miss my house? and these leaks are all just a coincidence? Anyone, have a suggestion or a solution...I am completely frustrated. The only money I got from them was for hail damage to gutters and airconditioning unit and to replace the boots on the roof...now how did the hail miss those shingles????:(((

    0 Votes
  • Wp
    Wpayton5599 Mar 31, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    To CGS...They send you a policy in the mail. On the first page it tells you what your deductible is. I am tired of ###s like you buying things and never asking basic questions about what you are getting. Who the hell doesn't know that you have a deductible on homeowners insurance. $2, 800 is a smart deductible for someone who doesn't make claims all the time. GOOD LORD!!

    -2 Votes
  • Lo
    Loosers May 28, 2010

    I am now going thru a similar problem with State Farm regarding a claim I have filed for roof damage from hurricane Wilma in 2005. Following months of wait I am now being subjected to a EUO examination under oath by State Farm. I too have many neighbors that have other insurance companies and have received compensation for their loss. Following the claim submittal we got a notice informing us that we are being dropped. A day or two later we received a letter from our agent thanking us for their business. We have had coverage with State Farm for 20 years. They S___.

    1 Votes
  • An
    Angry In Florida Jul 17, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    State Farm sucks!!! I submitted a claim for roof damage due to tree limbs falling on my roof. As a result, water leaked in my den. Their adjuster told me that the water was due to flooding and that I didn't have floode coverage. Flooding??? No water in my yard, no water puddles on my street, no water on the carpet closest to the window. Are you kidding me? I complained to my agent, a really nice guy who had another adjuster come out. This one told me that I waited too long to report the damages and now since the damage is old, they can't honor the claim. I'm suing them!! I don't want money from them, I just want a new roof. In the past 10 years, I've paid them enough to have 10 roofs.
    If you're in need of homeowner's insurance, don't use STATE FARM they're a rip-off

    3 Votes
  • Mi
    Michael Dailey Nov 05, 2010

    Bad move going to Allstate. They're almost as bad.

    1 Votes
  • Fi
    figjam98 Dec 17, 2010

    I have a 1973 43ft cruiser insured by state farm. On jan5th 2010 it sank part way, I found the boat sinking. I purchaced a pump and pumped it out and saved the boat. The insurance company doesnt want to pay anything, they think that i tried to sink the boat. I said then why did I save it? no answer. I repeatedy told them that electrical systems were going bad one by one. Well on dec 13th of 2010 she finally gave up the ghost and sank completely due to failing electrical systems from the first sinking. State farm told me to file another claim. NIce huh, I spent aprox 3500.00 since the boat sank the first time till now on insurance (state Fraud Ins.) electric and dockage. That a lot of money for me and I didn't even get to enjoy the boat a bit. If anyone else has had this same problem with them, Plaese contact me and let me know. I have a great atty. that would like to end this problem for good Thanks John [protected]@aol.com

    0 Votes
  • Bi
    Bill Aycock Mar 26, 2011

    My claim was just denied for a plumbing leak under my foundation. The leak was traced to a sewer line under the toilet in the middle of my house. I noticed something wrong when I started seeing cracks in the sheetrock in the area of the bathroom, and halls nearby. I called a foundation company to inspect the damage thinking it was a foundation problem, but the engineer told me it was the result of a water leak under the foundation, and once it is repaired, the cracks will close back up. I contacted my State Farm agent with the problem and opened a claim. The adjuster was a very poor example of what an adjuster should be, and didn't even show as he was said he would do when the plumbers arrived. All throughout the process (a couple of months) he was pretty useless. In talking to my neighbor, he informed me he had been a State Farm customer for years, the same thing happened to him, and his claim was denied as well, but ended up taking them to arbitration, and won. Immediately after that, he dumped State Farm. He told me they would deny my claim as well, but I found it hard to believe since I had been a customer for over 30 years with State Farm. Well, he was right, and the engineer was right. The cracks have closed back after the leak was fixed as the engineer said, and State Farm denied my claim as my neighbor said they would. Just last week, I received the denial letter in the mail. The adjuster failed to call me prior to that as he said he would do. I told him I would be out of town and specifically told him to call my cell phone, which he never did. Instead, I returned home only to find the denial letter. I called my agent, who also failed to return my call as she said she would. It was very clear to me that I had become just another number with State Farm. As a result, I just dumped ALL my business with State Farm, and will do all in my power to persuade others to leave State Farm, and spread the word to those looking for coverage, to go elsewhere. I am a business professional, and thought they were a professional company, but found I was wrong. Personally, It's hard to say which company is good since they are in the business to make money, not pay claims. The moral to this story is, don't use an established agent because they are too busy with personal matters, and loose sight as to who pays their salaries. My agent has a new, high dollar office which should have been a red flag. She didn't go to battle for me as I thought she would. My mistake! Be cautious when searching for insurance, and by all means, stay away from State Farm.

    bill 925

    1 Votes
  • Wp
    Wpayton5599 Mar 28, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    That sucks Bill! I know how frustrating that is. I had the same situation happen to me with another insurance carrier. I live in California and unfortunately, it is industry standard now to deny a water loss that originates outside the dwelling. There is not much your agent could have done in this situation. Years ago, insurance companies covered everything in a water loss. Now, the loss must originate within the confines of the dwelling and be a sudden and accidental burst of water. And, the company will only pay for ensuing damage of the water. They will not cover replacement of pipes, etc.

    0 Votes
  • An
    andyz28 Apr 15, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    One day I was driving my 4th generation Z28 Camaro when I got caught in a storm. The water was getting high and I had no where to pullover (back roads) I went through a dip in the road, water got into my intake and the car hydrolocked and threw a rod through the side of the block. I called state farm explained what happened and they told me to take it to a shop. About a week later the adjuster looked at the car and said there were no signs of water damage because there were cobwebs up under the car and the k&n air filter was dry. A week had gone by and it was about 85 degrees every day. The mechanic even said it appeared to be water damage because there was about 8oz of water in the intake manifold. State Farm called that water "just condensation". I asked state farm what I should do, they told me to have the engine torn down to look for the water damage. The rep on the phone even said "by this time if there was water damage it should be found as rust by now. I then found a different shop to do the repairs because they quoted me far less. I had the car towed there and that mechanic too said the damage appeared to be water damage. They preformed a tear down of the engine, and found that the #8 cylinder had in fact hydrolocked and even still had water in it as well as a considerable amount of rust. State farm looked at this then called me and said "the damage does not appear to be related to the water and rust found in the cylinder". They had not answer for me when I asked what they thought caused the failure, since wear and tear was ruled out by both of my mechanics and water damage was ruled out by state farm. I will never go with state farm again and will encourage all others covered by them, even if it is not auto to drop them.
    I have attached what state farm describes as not water damage.

    0 Votes
  • An
    andyz28 Apr 15, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    A dip in the road does not mean river. When the water is rising around your car I guess you would just leave it to be completely submerged and be a total loss instead of a destroyed engine. Shure I guess you are smart enough.

    -1 Votes
  • An
    ANDREWBR May 31, 2011

    YOU PEOPLE WITH 10 YEAR OLD ROOFS LOOKING FOR INSURANCE COMPANIES TO PAY FOR A NEW ROOF MAKE ME SICK...QUIT LOOKING FOR A HANDOUT! NO WONDER MY RATES KEEP GOING UP...PEOPLE EXPECT SOMEONE ELSE TO PAY FOR MAINTENANCE. GET THE ROOF ON YOUR OWN AND QUIT JACKING UP MY RATES!!!

    OH! AND ITS POSSIBLE THAT YOU DON'T HAVE HAIL DAMAGE...CONSIDER YOURSELF LUCKY!

    -2 Votes
  • Wp
    Wpayton5599 May 31, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Easy Andrew...Many of the problems that people are experiencing are just a lack of communication. People pay a lot of money for insurance and when it doesn't pay out, the insurance company may have a legitimite reason, but it still sucks. Be nice to your fellow humans!

    -2 Votes
  • Ly
    Lynne - Phoenix area Jun 06, 2011

    I feel betrayed and abandoned by State Farm. We have had State Farm for 45 years and prior to that, both of our parents were with State Farm. We have always trusted State Farm and knew that "Like a good neighbor, State Farm will be there"
    We have not filed frivolous claims or have not taken advantage of State Farm. However, when we have had problems, we knew we could count on State Farm for help. My husband had wanted to change to a less expensive insurance, but I always insisted that we stay with State Farm, because they were so reliable. Now we have learned that they will no longer renew our homeowners policy. We are unable to find someone else to take us due to cancellation. We have filed 5 claims in the past 14 years, from minor to rather extensive. 3 of those were weather related to winds and hail over the past 10 years. They do not even forgive "acts of God" related claims. They happily take your premiums over the years, but forget to tell you that if you file on them you eventually "max out". They actually went back 14 years looking at filed claims. How about the 30+ years that almost nothing was filed? State Farm is not as dependable as you think! When you take out a policy with State Farm, they should tell you the guidelines for how many claims are acceptable so then you can change when you reach their maximum instead of being cancelled. STATE FARM I AM SO DISAPPOINTED IN THE WAY YOU TREAT LONG-TIME POLICY HOLDERS.

    1 Votes
  • Su
    SueBee66 Jun 09, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I agree with you. We have been with State Farm for over twenty years. We only had to file three times with them, (since yes they will not cover act of God with lightening strikes to a computer). One was the wind storm that ended up in Ohio. I believe it is crap that they only pay you half up front and will pay you the rest when the roof gets fixed and give you limited amount of time to due it in. However, they did due a good job when I total my car last year in an accident. But my complaint was when my son, thank God he wasn't injured or another car involved, ran off the road into some bushes. I was late on my payment, and had received a notice (NOT CANCELLATION) that I needed to pay $$$ dollars for two months. I had to wait until payday, and sure enough my son had the accident on the same day. I couldn't get over there to pay it till I got off work, and in the meantime he had the accident. So I called them when I got home to let them know that I needed to make a payment and the ususal questions followed. When I told them about my son's accident I was told they probably won't cover it since it was 2 HOURS later. I'm thinking to myself we pay you premiums, and high at that, for over 20 years and your telling me you won't cover my car claim because of two hours!!! Get real. So when the claims office called he told me they won't cover it. I said okay. He then hounded me over the phone about not filing a appeal and how bad of person I was trying to get money from them knowing my policy was canceled and yet I didn't receive a notice. So on so forth. I was appalled. I then filed a complaint against him, and the next guy who called about that was so "politely" about my complaint and apologize then told me they still won't cover it. I told him I wasn't complaining about that I was complaining about the guy who make me feel like a I'm trying to extort money from them. Now they are taking their good old time getting me my policy paperwork where I can read up on this "time issues" and where I can look for other insurance elsewhere. Guess I'll have to call and complain again.

    1 Votes
  • Wp
    Wpayton5599 Jun 09, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am sorry Sue, but you not only passed your due date, you passed your grace period as well. So you were two hours over your grace period, not the policy due date. Insurance is very specific on this and they must treat every customer the same way. This is your fault for not paying the bill regardless of the circumstances and you must take responsibility. You should already have the policy paperwork that was delivered to you with your insurance policy. You sound very unorganized. With any company you deal with, keep records of everything, and know the details of your agreement with them.

    -2 Votes
  • Su
    SueBee66 Jun 10, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I'm not unorganized. The last statement I received from them was that I was due for XXX amount of $$$'s . If I had been able to pay earlier in the day they would have probably covered the accident. That is what upsets me. It should not come down to hours or minutes. Since I made the payment on the day of the accident, regardless whether there was an accident or not, I would have been covered. That is the point I'm making. Don't talk to me as a child. I'm an adult in later years and I'm organized and take responsibility very much on everything. You don't know me or my circumstances. I'm not asking for special treatment or anything, but there comes a time when you are a loyal customer to a company that they should be willing to work with you. That is all I have to say on the subject.

    1 Votes
  • Wp
    Wpayton5599 Jun 10, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Again Sue, insurance policies don't lapse during the day. They go from midnight to midnight. My problem is that you are blaming the company for something that is your fault. I am not trying to knock you down or claim you are a child. I am trying to get you to see where you have contributed much more to your problems than State Farm. But, if you are organized as you claim, why did you not pay the original bill that you received? You obviously had that bill because you received your policy id cards.

    -1 Votes
  • Jj
    JJL2U Apr 19, 2012

    I hear what you're all saying. I have an 11 year old roof (the shingles were supposed to last 25 years). I've been patching it when necessary for the last 5 years, to avoid leaks and other problems (4 bundles of shingles worth so far). In my area along the mountains, we get 80+ mph winds several times each year, and it takes a toll on a roof. My neighbors, who never lifted a finger to keep up with damage, finally had interior leaks, called their insurance agents, got everything on the inside repaired and a new roofs to boot, no problem. I called my State Farm agent, the adjuster comes out, refused to even speak to the contractor (who'll give me a sweet discount and do what others charge 8-9k for, for only 6k, and no, NOT shoddy work, but top rate, done right work, he just has low overhead). Well, the adjuster only wants to cover half of the roof for replacement, and the other half repaired, despite that fact that the shingles have become brittle, and surrounding ones break off when trying to repair obviously damaged ones. My agent couldn't believe that the adjuster would not speak to the very honest contractor (he's done several jobs for State Farm in the past, high quality, for very reasonable prices, and highly regarded by my agent, the contractor, not the adjuster). So, now, three weeks later another adjuster is supposed to come out, and he is willing to talk to the contractor. Hopefully common sense prevails. I've paid in over 25k in premiums, with only one minor (a couple hundred dollars) for vandalism done to one of our cars, no other accidents, and to date, State Farm is balking over about 2k, to do the job right, unreal. :/ If they do the right thing, and act like a good neighbor, I'll keep my insurance on my two residences, two cars, camper and boat. If not, well, it'll be time perhaps to go shopping for a company that steps up, when you have a valid claim. As for the 4 bundles of shingles that I replaced, even the difficult adjuster said, "Ya', if you hadn't done the repairs, which you did very well, you would easily be covered for a whole roof". I guess no good deed goes unpunished. Almost a month into this ordeal, and the situation still isn't resolved. My neighbors, their roofs were done about a week ago, I'm yet to feel like I'm in good hands, hopefully that changes, soon, :/

    0 Votes
  • Vp
    v pas Jul 12, 2012

    I have had State Farm for 35 years. Made my first roof claim this month due to hail storm in Midlothian TX. Some guy came to look at my roof and said very little damage to the back. However since the storm all my roof coating is running off in the yard, sidewalk and street. Soon I will have another claim and they will then have to replace the other half of my roof and hit me with another deductable. Coating started running off only after hail storm so yes no holes on the roof but enough hail to loosen the coating. Plus the adjustter was a coward he left and stated he did not like to pay for only half a roof and he would talk to his mgr and get back to me in a couple hours. That didnt happen. 30 hours later we finally got hold of him and he said he already sent us a ck for $1100.00 case closed.
    2 roofers have come out here since then and both said we need a full new roof because holes in the back and coating runninf off the front and sides. What can I do>>>> He wont let me speak with his manager.

    0 Votes
  • Vp
    v pas Jul 12, 2012

    Can anyone help me!!! My State Farm adjuster will not allow me to speak with his manager. No one at State Farm seems to be able to help. They all say I must go thru the adjuster to get that contact info. Please HELP!!!

    2 Votes
  • Mi
    MICHAEL JUSTICE Jun 13, 2013

    I was offered a rate that i took. We kept asking over & over if this was correct. Oh, yes. After we paid off the truck & put in my name, which i am under 25, & paid 6 month premium, they changed the rate . The agent made a mistake. This has cost me hundreds of dollars . She found a ticket dated 2 years ago. Why did not any one check her for this? Now they will not adjust & admit it''s their fault.I am so upset with linda little agency ! People should not b e able to do this to you. I am looking elsewhere because of their blunder. The board needs to repremand her & adjust my premium. For at least the 6 months i paid for. Thank you m. Justice [protected]

    0 Votes
  • Br
    Brenda Kidd Jul 18, 2013

    STATE FARM: Auto Policyholders, Homeowners Policyholders, Rental Policyholders, Businesses Policyholders, Hurricanes Policyholders, Tornadoes Policyholders, Storms Policyholders, Earthquakes Policyholders, and None Policyholders, who will be seeking Insurance in the near Future, Be Aware of State Farm Insurance Companies and its Consultant, as well as the Adjusters, who Prolong Your Policyholder Auto Accident and all the ABOVE Claims.
    Tell State Farm CEO Edward B. Rust, Vice Chairman and Coo Michael L. Tipsord, Senior Vice President Chief Financial Officer and Treasurer Paul J.Smith, State Farm Rep. Ronald Gates and Russell Pargeon the auto accident whereas to I was rear ended, on July 2, 2013 was not my fault. The rear ended auto accident claim must be rewritten in such a way that I am not at fault. It is deliberately, wrongful, and misleading for State Farm to file an auto claim that wasn’t my fault, as a collision claim. It is also deliberately, wrongful and misleading for State Farm to deny pain and suffering compensations to the passengers that were in my vehicle on July 2, 2013. This not at fault, auto accident is going to be on my record, as an at fault accident, if state Farm do not change my claim, which means wrongful points will be taken off my driver license. I, the Policyholder, should not have to pay my passengers out of my pocket, when it is State Farm duty and contractual obligation not to refuse payment and prolong payments for a Legal Insurance claim, which is bad faith on State Farm BEHALF.

    Please Sign The Coming Soon Petition Against State Farm...

    I had an accident. I was rear ended from behind. When I looked at my bumper I saw that the lady had knocked paint off my bumper, no dent, so being a good person, (GOOD NEIGHBOR as State Farm claim to be) I let her go, as well to find out that my car would not start and that there were other damages that had been done to my car from the accident.

    Besides myself I had 4 more people in the car, 3 of them were children and the other was an adult, all relatives. They all suffer pain from the accident, which caused the children to not return to day care. They all took over the counter medications for their pain, but if their pain worsen, the kids, their mother and I will be going to the Doctor to seek medical care for pain, stiffness, as well as, soreness.

    The auto accident that was not my fault (not caused by me), have the children in fear. At times they can’t sleep, they can’t eat and they have nightmares because of the auto accident.

    As for the adult that was in my car and do not live in my house, she had to pay extra for a sitter to keep her children, who was injured in my car, because they were unable to return to daycare due to body pain caused by the wreck, and she also had to pay the day care center for service, too. She during the time of the accident had a television in my car.

    Later the adult passenger, who was in my vehicle talked to Robbin Merrell, who was handling the medical coverage and was willing to pay their doctor bills, (but at this time there were not any bills). Sometime after, I talked to State Farm Rep. Ronald Gates.

    I was told by State Farm auto insurance Rep. Ronald Gates that since I let the lady go, the automobile accident was my fault, and that my passengers are not entitle to pain and suffering from State Farm, but they are entitled to have their medical bills paid only because I have medical coverage.

    However when I asked him to send the submitted false statement in writing to me stating that the accident was blame on me, he held the line for a while before he said no. Surely, for State Farm to avoid, fully covering my claim and by State Farm Rep. Ronald Gates falsely blaming the accident on me, means that State Farm will raise my insurance premiums.

    Since Ronald Gates mind was set on the accident being my fault, I asked him to give me the CEO name, phone number and I also asked him for the CEO secretary, name and phone number, he would not give it to me, he told me that he didn’t know their names and numbers, which went on and on and on. I told him you mean to tell me, you don’t know the CEO, name, he said again no. I said again, you mean to tell me that you don’t know the CEO name. He then said wait. After that Ronald Gates told me that the CEO name was Ed. Rust. However I found that the CEO name was and appeared on the Internet websites, also as Edward B. Rust.

    Then he told me that he could give me his supervisor name. I told him that I don’t need your supervisor name, what I need is the manager name who, is over your supervisor. He told me that he could not give me the Manager name who, was over his supervisor, but again he said I can give you my supervisor name. When I gave in and said ok give me your supervisor name and number, he started to give me the runner around. He held the line for a while, before he told me his supervisor name. Finally I called his supervisor Russell Pargeon and left a message along, with my phone number, on his machine, explaining what I was going through with State Farm claim Rep. Ronald Gates. Russell Pargeon never returned my call, which was Monday July 8, 2013 and today is Friday July 12, 2013.

    So, I called State Farm back and asked to file a Consumer Complaint. The man on the other end asked for my claim number. After I gave him my claim number, he gave me the wrong phone number [protected], but keep in mind I repeated the number to him to make sure I had written down the correct number. Since I was given the wrong number I called back. This time I talked to a lady. She also asked me for my claim number. I gave her my claim number and she connected me to a phone, which had a busy signal, without giving me the complaint number. So again, I called back and talked to another lady, but this time I did not give out my claim number, instead, I asked her again and again for the Consumer Complaint number, which is [protected] before it was given to me. Finally I called the Consumer Complaint number and file a complaint against State Farm for the bad faith in which my claim was being handled by Ronald Gates, who has a nasty voice tone. I was told it would take two to three days before I hear from anyone. Well it has been over two days and I have not heard from anyone from State Farm. Afterward, I called the Corporate Office to speak to the CEO. Edward B. Rust. I got a machine, so I left a message explaining everything along with my phone number.

    Later, a lady name Evelyn called me. She told me that she was calling from the Corporate Office, but for the reason by the sound of her voice, I thought I had talked to her before, which lead me to believe that she was not calling from the Corporate Office. Anyway, she then went on to say that they were going to contact Ronald Gates Supervisor and have him call me, but whatever, Ronald Gates supervisor, namely Russell Pargeon says his decision, as to handling my claim is final, she repeated herself it will be final.
    Evelyn went on to say that they don’t get in disputes with Employees and Policyholders, but she said she was going to write him concerning my auto claim and she said that it would be in my favor. She reassured me that I will definitely here from Russell Pargeon by Friday July 12, 2013. Well today is Friday July 12, 2013 and I have not heard from Russell Pargeon and nor have I heard from anyone from State Farm. Keep in mind not only did Evelyn from the Corporate Office supposedly email him, I left Russell Pargeon a telephone message on, Monday July 8, 2013 and still I say I haven’t heard from him. Although, we the victims have cooperated 100% with stated Farm, we should not have to continue to try and contact State Farm on an ongoing basic to settle this prolonging claim, they don’t have to contact me for my premiums.

    My auto insurance coverage consisted of: Liability, Medical Payments, Collision, Comprehensive, Uninsured Motor vehicle, car Rental, Emergency Road Service, use of none owned cars, Loss of Earrings, Physical Damage, Death Dismemberment and Loss of Sight .

    This wreck and State Farm Claim Rep. Ronald Gates have caused me, as well as 4 people with injuries, who were in my vehicle during the accident to go through emotional and physical stress. This accident was not my fault therefore you should not blame me to gain profit by raising my insurance premiums. It is bad faith on State Farm part to not pay or to prolong pain and suffering claims to the victims of an auto accident, who are covered by State Farm Insurance. I should not have to pay my passengers for their pain and suffering when I have State Farm Full Coverage Insurance, on my Vehicle.

    Now, in knowledge of false information is defined, as being actual knowledge, deliberate ignorance of the truth or falsity of the information, or reckless disregard of the truth.

    State Farm is a Mutual Company (it is owned by its Policyholders, it doesn’t have shares that trade publicly) which means without Policyholders, State Farm would not, EXIST.

    A Consultant Firm whom I won’t name at this particular time, court records showed that State Farm hired the Firm as a consultant. The Consultant Firm developed methods for companies to become more profitable by paying out less in claims according to Videotaped evidence presented in Court.
    Below are the Consultant Firm Methods for the Company: When a Policyholder files a claim, first make, a low offer, if a Policyholder (customer) protests or hires a lawyer the company should fight back. The Consultant Company slides, which were presented in Court says…can discourage Policyholders (claimants) by delaying settlement and stalling court proceedings.

    By postponing payments insurance companies can hold money longer and make more on their investments and often wear down Policyholders (clients) to the point of dropping a claim. By paying less to its Policyholders will lifted their income.

    Town hall meetings with adjusters have been held to urge them to pay less to Policyholders.

    No Policyholder should ever have to go through something like this from any Insurance company. I pay my premium for full coverage Auto Insurance monthly and for State Farm to do business in a bad faith way is very, unprofessional on their part.

    This type of doing business gives State Farm a bad name.

    The lie, as to I was at fault and the denied payments of this Legitimate, pain and suffering claim is BAD FAITH on State Farm BEHALF.

    In my opinion, to avoid fully covering my claim completly, State Farm Rep. Ronald Gates falsely blamed the accident on me and said I was at fault, which means State Farm will raise, again, I say my Insurance Premiums.

    This should have been resolved in a timely manner.

    On Monday July 15, 2013, I finally received a call from Russell Pargeon. Russell Pargeon answer was no, I don’t know if your Insurance will go up. His answer was no, I cannot give you anything in writing stating that your insurance want go up. His answer was no, I cannot give you anything in writing stating that the accident want be charge to you and his answer was no, I cannot pay pain and suffering to your passengers. He went in silent mode, which means he did not answer me, when I addressed to him that Ronald Gates told me that the accident was charge to me, will be on my record, and my premium will go up. He also went in silent mode when I addressed the baby sitter expenses, day care expenses, as well as, the car seats and the passenger, television set that was in my car. However, after we continued to go back and forth with one another, which was the the last time that we spoke to one another, Russell Pargeon, through phone conversation told me that he will have to see about whether the passengers in my car are entitle to pain and suffering. As of this day I have not heard back from him.
    I recalled about what Evelyn from Corporate Headquarters told to me, Mr. Russell Pargeon decision, as to handling my auto accident claim is final, she repeated, it will be final, which was a truthful statement.
    Therefore whether wrong or right Russell Prageon decision is final, but I can’t settle for wrongful decisions made by Russell Prageon and State Farm Executive Employees.
    On July 15, 2013, after Russell Pargeon and I had disagreed twice (because I stood up for myself), through phone conversations the rental car service was discontinued without warning. The next day the Rental car service called me, which was on July 16, 2013. The tone of the Rental car lady voice was in surprise mode after she realized that I had not been notified by State Farm to return the Rental. In my opinion according to State Farm consultant court records things like this happens when you speak up for yourself.
    Of course the RENTAL CAR was set up from July 2, 2013 to July 16, 2013. Now I have to pay out of my pocket for an extra day of Rental in which I have a document in writing, stating, when the Rental service will end, July 16, 2013, which is today. I was also told by State Farm employee who set up the Rental for me, when the rental service was going to end, which was on July 16, 2013.

    Anyway, I pick up my car today July 16, 2013, from the repair shop even though my auto claim has not been settled by State Farm.

    Although my vehicle has been repaired the following things below, which are included in with the auto accident claim must be settled by State Farm.
    I want State Farm to rewrite the auto accident in a truthfully manner. Just because it is wrote up as I was hit from behind does not mean it want be charge to me. According to Ronald Gates the accident is charged to me and is my fault because I let the other vehicle go for knocking paint off my bumper afterwards to see that more damage was done to my car, as well. I want State Farm to not raise my Insurance Premiums, but how will I know, without taking State Farm word for it, after all in my opinion, premiums goes up more than pennies on a dollar without policyholders knowing why.


    I want State Farm to settle the pain and suffering auto claim for my passengers and if possible for myself, as well. I want State Farm to reimburse me for the July 16, 2013 rental service. I want State Farm to reimburse the adult passenger baby sitter and day care expenses for the days that her children could not attend daycare, because of their injuries what the accident caused and at the same time, the adult passenger still had to pay day care expenses, too. I want State farm to replace the passengers, car seats and the television set that was also in my car.

    Factual facts:
    Liability insurance-Body injuries is used to pay for the following:
    Medical bills, time lost from work, legal representation for injured parties, funeral expenses, long-term rehabilitation or nursing care and pain and suffering.

    State Farm Claims Employees, Ronald Gates and Russell Pargeon have caused me, as well as the people with injuries, who were in my vehicle during the accident to go through emotional and physical stress.

    In my opinion, with regard to bad faith, State Farm has demonstrated an element of dishonest, moral obliquity, and an ill will to support bad faith not only to me but to other, Auto Policyholders, Homeowners Policyholders, Rental Policyholders, Hurricane Policyholders, Tornado Policyholders, Storms Policyholders, Earthquakes Policyholders and Businesses Policyholders in the United States, and Canada, too, as well as, Policyholders all around the world. State Farm Policyholders must stand up for what they believe is right.

    Please share…

    1 Votes
  • De
    Destiny84 Sep 24, 2013

    If you get injured in a car wreck. You better go to trial. They will pay your lawyer behind your back to make you lose your case, Then use scare tactics to make you not want to go to trial.

    0 Votes
  • Le
    Leo Henderson Dec 19, 2014

    Nothing but a run around, get a lawyer right away. They will do everything to delay and ignore you until you get nasty.

    1 Votes
  • Kf
    Kfrap Dec 22, 2014

    I agree 120% yes over a 100% I was rear ended by a State Farm client, They accepted responsibility. Then the games began. Sent me to one of their shops, tried to rip me off. My insurance had to step in and repair my truck. Then the claim. I lost my home I was trying to buy because of loss wages due to injuries from the accident. All I get is the runaround and excuses from State Farm. State Farm there for their clients only, to prove it they made this disabled war veteran homeless for Christmas.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    jacehill Jun 30, 2015

    I was talking to Sarah Warrington trying to get a quote. She seemed to not care fory questions. She kept mumbling to her co workers about marijuana and pills. I can't believe that you all allow your representative to act like that.

    0 Votes
  • Fo
    Fox pat Nov 25, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I agree, it is very poor customer service. I insure two houses an a car with State Farm. That will end at the expiration of the current policies. I have the first claim in over 30 years, and forty years with the company. The minimum wait on hold is 25 minutes. Mine was a paint transfer accident. I was in a small plastic Fiat and side swiped a six inch section of an older model substantial pick-up truck's rear bumber with only paint transfers. The rental company did not charge me for the paint on the Fiat.
    I can get no information about the amount claimed by the other driver.

    0 Votes
  • Mu
    Mustang 06 Jun 03, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Stay away, had wreck, company no help, did all work myself, they stand there with their hand out, Get GEICO, they know how to treat PEOPLE

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Chocolate Cheerios Jun 03, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My Grandpa used Geico for 86 years and was a happy customer.

    -1 Votes
  • An
    Antone Braga Feb 11, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    The Cat In Your Hat
    holding your own

    Those who hold high places left you holding a near-empty toolbox ...
    Good luck on a rainy day with that disability! disasterprepared.net

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem