The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Shaw Flooring (Anderson Hardwood Floors)/Magellian Brazillian Ipe hardwood floorsDefective floors - bad service

K

In 2007 i purchased engineered hardwood floors, a brazilian ipe from anderson hardwood flooring's magellan line. Within 1 week of installation the boards started to lighten along the edges and split. The wood was separating from the finish. Anderson sent out an inspector and he determined that the wood was indeed defective and theorized that the wood had not been cured long enough before the finish was applied (Quality work from china where the wood was processed) . Anderson accepted fault and replaced my floors. I re - ordered the same floors after their customer service rep assured me that they had sold this same floor for 2 years with no issues like mine. My local flooring retailer who has sold anderson hardwood floors for years backed that up stating that he had never seen anything like this. The 2nd order came from a different lot number - i even had to wait a few extra months for it to be shipped in from china. Sure enough, it happened again - same exact issues. My local retailer, the anderson distributor and another inspector all agreed that this floor was indeed defective. Only catch this time was that anderson had been recently purchased by shaw flooring and shaw would not accept liability. They told my retailer that it was moisture issues in my slab. This despite the fact the anderson distributor brought his state - of - the art moisture reader to my house and could not detect moisture beyond the acceptable limits. My slab is over 35 years old and i had wood floors down for 12 years prior to this drama with zero issues. Shaw would not provide me or the retailer with a copy of the inspector's final report. Fortunately for me, my retailer stepped up and took care of me even though shaw would not. Shaw / anderson have since removed my floor from their offerings. I will never purchase anything with the shaw name on it even if they buy up every reputable flooring company in the country. I will polish my concrete slab and live on it first.

Defective floors - bad service

Responses

  • Ke
    Ken Dombroski Jun 12, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I totally agree with the above comments about Shaw Hardwood Flooring. I would NEVER use Shaw products again. We made the mistake of using the Shaw Engineered Plank Brazilian Cherry. After the installation, we could not walk on it without scratching or marring the finish. We complained to the local retailer, W & W Flooring, and they had a Shaw inspector come out and examine the floor within a month of the installation. We Never received a report or an explanation even though we repeatedly inquired about the results from W & W. In a year or so the finish started to come off the planking. We had another company finish laying hardwood in the rest of the house and I showed him the Shaw flooring and after examining the floor stated that it was defective and we should contact Shaw immediately and file a warranty claim. Same song second verse, we contacted W & W and they contacted Shaw and the inspector comes out and again no report. We are getting stonewalled again. I am researching Shaw complaints on the internet and maybe a class action lawsuit will get their attention. Bottom line, save yourself some grief and anxiety and purchase another brand of flooring!

    0 Votes
  • De
    Debra January Oct 29, 2011

    We used Shaw hardwood flooring as well, and it's been a nightmare. There is a group investigationg them call the Construction Defect Center and you should call them too. We thought we were the only ones with a floor that delaminated. We never used water to clean it, we were always careful & now we are stuck.

    1 Votes
  • De
    Debra January Oct 29, 2011

    We used Shaw hardwood flooring as well & its been a nightmare. The floor cracked, and has delaminated. There is a group called the Construction Defect Center investigating them. If you have had problems with Shaw wood flooring, you should call them too. What a mess!

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    Jane/Wally Feb 02, 2012

    We had the same issues stated above and more too numerous to go into here however one of Shaw's inspectors came out and said we had a moisture problem, humidity, problem, etc. Knowing we did not have these problems, our installer hired an independent inspector (highly respected in the field) who found fault with Shaw's inspectors report. This second inspector's report was sent to Shaw and they rebutted each point.. stonewalled, Shaw has pockets much deeper than ours.. if anyone know of a class action suit please let me know at [email protected] Thank you!

    0 Votes
  • Jf
    JForbes Aug 22, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We have been dealing with this for over a year. We've had two inspectors out, the most recent one, last week. Each have many errors in their report stating foundation issues (we're on piles), humidity issues (we're climate controlled with humidity varying between 40-53% at the highest in summer). Long and short is they are refusing to stand behind their ridiculously cupped, cracked, checked floors.

    We invested $14k in this floor and had problems with it within the first 3 months.
    Warren Buffett should be ashamed of this company and their lack of customer service and integrity.

    1 Votes
  • By
    by_the_gulf Aug 30, 2012

    We are having the same problem with cupping of their hardwood floors. They are blaming moisture but are saying it was installed correctly. Our neighbors have the exact same builder and log home but have Bruce Hardwood floors and have NO problem, same installer too. I would suggest NOT buying any type of Andersen flooring and will update this with my results since I'm just starting this warranty process,

    0 Votes
  • Jf
    JForbes Aug 30, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We've had two "independent" inspectors out. Apparently, the school these people were trained at was a school founded by Shaw in, I believe, Dalton Georgia. Both of the inspection reports were full of errors and in some cases flat out lies.
    I suggest hiring your own independent inspector that has a certification from the a board other than that one. I'm in the same stage, now. NWFA is one of them. A letter from an attorney to your supplier may be in order. It isn't fair that they should cover it as it really is a Shaw issue but even worse than that scenario is you (or in my case- me) getting stuck with it.
    Best wishes and keep us updated!

    0 Votes
  • Ci
    Cindy Lou woo Feb 01, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We had Shaw flooring installed and with in a month it cracked and delaminated there inspector said it was bad flooring but all they will do is replace the planks so we hired our own inspector and he states that the flooring will continue to fail Shaw is saying I need to get a humidifier I live in the desert why would they sell flooring that need a humidifier I had wood flooring for 12 yrs before putting this crap down and did not have any issues with it I also have wood flooring in my motor home that is not climate controlled and its not cracking and delaminating ? Also the construction defect center is no longer helping people with this problem that's what they told me. I'm hoping to find a lawyer to help because I want this crappy flooring removed.

    0 Votes
  • Ti
    tinatucker Sep 01, 2013

    Same issues as everyone else. Had a Shaw floor installed a year ago and within months saw checking and gapping. Contacted Shaw, they finally sent an inspector and I had to go out of my way to finally get the report which stated it's our fault as to the low humidity. The floor is horrible and so is Shaw. I would love to join a class action suit.

    0 Votes
  • Mc
    Mckee Nov 04, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I'v been installing floors for over 7 years. Finally installed a shaw floor and I'd joint that suit in a heart beat. They've destroyed a perfect install record. Have since installed 2 other shaw 3/4 hardwood jobs figuring the first was a fluke because of moisture issue. Had cupping issues with all 3 installed floors while all my moisture readings read perfect Conditions. Even the boxes that weren't installed cupped. Now tell me that's an installation issue!? Will attach photos when there done downloading.

    0 Votes
  • No
    No-Anderson/Shaw Feb 07, 2014

    Ditto to everything that has been said. We had the same problem, had a certified flooring expert attest that there was no moisture, and finally, one of the more conscientious managers decided that since he was not going to get anywhere with Shaw, he arranged for his store to do a free, one-time top-sanding/refinishing, which improved the appearance of the floor somewhat but not completely. Never trust Anderson/Shaw, either as a seller or as customer support.

    0 Votes
  • Mm
    mmoro May 12, 2014

    Oh no, I'm now going through the same process on my pre-finished engineered wood floor that has only been installed 5 weeks ago. An independent contractor was here and confirmed delamination and the edges are rough. One rough edge caught on my sock and liftedup the top layer. I have a bad feeling about this and I had my whole first floor done.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.