Shaw Laminate FlooringBeware

K
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

I'm a most unhappy owner of a $15, 000 Shaw Laminate floor. After a little over a year, the edges of the boards are blistered and bubbled and the finish is starting to chip off. It looks to me as if it is a manufacturing defect where the laminate was improperly applied to the board. Not all the boards are affected, but a significant number of boards in specific areas are bad, as if the boards came from the same pack and unfortunately there were a lot of bad packs. To me, it was fairly obvious but not to the dealer.

The Company rep from the dealer theorized that it was because water had been on the floor, but was at a loss to explain why the areas affected weren't near a water source and were in multiple rooms, and why the areas affected were clustered near each other. He accused me of washing the floor! I admitted that I had removed dirt from the floor. (Apparently this is a floor that is too delicate to withstand cleaning?) He theorized that I had washed it incorrectly or used the wrong stuff to clean it. He couldn't give me the name of the product and the warranty book didn't name any specific brand, but he was sure that whatever I used was bad for the floor. I'm not the most fastidious housekeeper. I vac weekly and spot clean any spots with a sponge. The floor has only been "mopped" once since I've owned it and I was careful about getting the water up to prevent water spots. I asked the rep to explain to me how the cleaning solution damaged the floor only in certain locations and not others, since it wasn't my custom to vary the cleaning solution depending on which boards I was cleaning. He hemmed and hawed and switched his tactic when I pressed him for a direct answer. Then it was due to pets. Except that I do not own any pets and no animal has ever been in the house. We don't have small children anymore or I'm sure that would have been next.

The dealer's rep needs to have to have someone else look at the floor. He maintained that this is a high quality floor even though it didn't last 2 years. It must be my fault. Hopefully the person they send out to look at the floor will be able to recognize a manufacturing defect when they see it. I know they don't want to deal with this. It's not the highlight of my life either, but the floor is obviously defective if the floor is truly too fragile to handle cleaning what lands on it within 18 months for whatever reason.

Responses

  • Vi
    Victoria Vicky Wells-Snavely Jun 18, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have Shaw floor ..Hampshire 3 1/4" Natural Maple installed in 11/15/10 by Sherer Flooring in Jasper, Ala. I later installed the same floor in the only room., left, so all the floors in the house would, match. I hate this floor. it is horrible, because I can not even have a rocking chair on it, because it grooves so bad. I had to get rid of my family rocker, because of this. The floor never looks clean, shows every spot, every scratch, dirt and in one room., the finish is peeling off. I went to shere's and complained showing them pictures of this floor. Their reply was, I was not cleaning it right, I could not use any type of cleaner on it, nothing but water. I am stuck with an eternally dirty looking floor. They admitted that I had a lifetime warranty on it. They did order new risers, because they looked like something had been ran over them, but they knew, it was not that, because it is only me and my husband and our dogs. We got this floor because it was supposed to be pet friendly .. That is a joke.

    1 Votes
  • Su
    Suzette Daniels Jun 06, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We're all in the same boat. Crap floor. No help from the installers, the distributor, or the company (Shaw). My floor wasn't even a year old when it started curling and warping. "Independent" investigator couldn't wait to blame me, my pets, and the lady who cleans my house. I recently saw on the news that the local Shaw manufacturing plant is closing down. Good ! Hate it for the workers, but love it for the company.

    2 Votes
  • Ki
    Kim Gerry Jun 05, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I just got my report back from the "independent" investigator who is claiming that my floor is buckling at the seams in multiple areas from water because of most likely...are you ready for this. THE DOG'S DISH. What in the actual fck are these people thinking. I am sorry, but there is no way that my dog dish is causing the floor to come apart in multiple places. I almost laughed, almost. 6 year old floor supposed to be durable enough for a kitchen. It even looks like tile. Yet a dog's water dish can destroy the whole thing. Shaw has to be joking with this. I am sure I will have no resolution but I had to treat to warn others.

    1 Votes
  • Su
    Suzette Daniels Dec 07, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Is there a class action suit against Shaw Flooring regarding their laminate? If so, please provide me w/the details so I can join. If not, I'll go at it alone. My situation is EXACTLY like all of yours. I could have written all of these complaints. I just received word from the company that installed my laminate- the inspector said I was at fault. "Site issues". Moisture is from how my cleaning lady cleans them, or from my pets. This played out EXACTLY as I knew it would after reading all of the complaints before me. Floor buckled and warped after less than one year. Local installer sent out their guy- he says they're not at fault. Shaw sent out their inspector- he said the product isn't faulty. It's my fault. Can someone let me know what if anything is going on w/the complaints against Shaw? If there's not a class action suit to join, then I'm filing mine in my local court system.

    1 Votes
  • Da
    Danielle Lea Apr 01, 2015

    We purchased $10, 000 worth of Klondike Walnut Shaw Flooring with a life time warranty. When it was being installed we noticed Green Marks across the planks as if they were meant to be culled during the boxing process but were not. After discarding those, the planks with bad ends, surface problems, small runs, etc., we almost ran out of wood. When you tried to nail or staple the wood, it splintered, even though the instructions said it could be nailed. The entire floor had to be glued. The side of the face surface started peeling as soon as it was installed. When walking across the floor with socks, pieces of the floor come up. When we asked for a Shaw rep to see if this was under warranty, the inspector said the floor was improperly installed even though I have installed 100's of floors. I think Shaw sells salvage goods at retail prices and they get away with it because no one complains. This floor should be sold as salvage goods and then it would probably not even qualify. It was sold by Acme Brick, they should warranty it if Shaw does not.

    1 Votes
  • Mi
    mizzoo57 Jan 12, 2014

    Our Shaw laminate is about 5 years old & curling ALL over the house. Moisture or not - doesn't matter. In fact it's better in the kitchen than the living room! I hate this stuff but from everyone's comments, I don't see any reason to contact Shaw. I think it will come up & vinyl will go down. We have pets so I don't want carpet. Guess it's nice to know it's not just us & we didn't do something wrong. We had Columbia brand in a previous house & it was stellar. Should have stuck with what we knew! If there is a class action suit, count us in!

    0 Votes
  • Wo
    Wodon Mar 29, 2013

    I have the same problem. I might just as we'll have flushed 18, 000 dollars down the toilet because that is exactly what Shaw floors are!

    1 Votes
  • Am
    aml712 Mar 15, 2013

    I am having the same problem. My flooring has only been in for three months. Any suggestions or feedback on what to do to get the flooring replaced would be helpful. [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Lk
    lkemp Mar 10, 2013

    Buyers beware of the Shaw VersaLock product. You should ask yourself questions. For example, will the flooring be in the kitchen and hallway? Do you have children, pets, and a slider off from the dining room? I bought this product for a couple reasons. Roughly fall of 2010, was a time when many jobs in my area were being eliminated because those jobs were going to another country. So, "Made in the U.S.A." was a major factor, ability to install it myself, and appearance of wood flooring were important. The dealer knew our family and our needs, and should not have recommended this kind of flooring. If you have similar home like mine, then go with vinyl. This product is HORRIBLE for kitchens and hallways. Any ounce of moisture or potential areas near water. The area around the slider, clothes hamper, and my dogs water dish. If your children happen to miss the hamper with their tiny bit wet towels, or if your dogs drink a lot of water and dripple too much, or if your slider's framing sweats a lot, then forget this product.

    1 Votes
  • Re
    ReggieVan Feb 22, 2013

    this is what you all need to be looking at these days...www.aquastep.com.au

    -1 Votes
  • Fr
    francine griffin Jan 24, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I also purchased Shaw Laminate flooring. The flooring is curling, creaking, popping and I got no satisfaction when I called the company. This flooring cost me over $3000.00 and is the worst stuff to put in your home. It is not durable, you can't wash it like any other floor and god forbid if you have kids that spill! It is not a good product for anyone with a family or pets. If you just want to sit and look at it ok but don't use it! The biggest waste of money and time!

    0 Votes
  • At
    Athena Terrell Sep 11, 2012

    DO NO PURCHASE SHAW FLOORING !!! We put there laminate flooring though out our entire home, you might as well throw thousands of your dollars in the trash. That is what their product and company is, total trash. Their warranty is absolutely useless a total joke. After 2 months the floor started blistering and when you ask for someone to come out to see the problem they sent a "floor detective". He was not allowed to tell me what was wrong with the floor that he would submit his report to Shaw and Shaw would send it to the Installer. The Installer won't give us the report and neither will Shaw. I am in a bad dream..we had Pergo flooring in our Hair Salon for 13 years and it looked brand new !!! Water all over it and scissors dropping and blow dryers over 13 years and not a scratch, not a blister !! The worst part is that the company gives you the run around as if they already know their product is garbage and they deal with this all the time. So BEWARE Not even take the gamble on their product or company. Shaw does NOT stand by their warranty !!! Totally disgusted !!
    I drop one scissor in this horrible Shaw laminate product and it put a gauge in

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    Pamela and Davis Leino-Mills Jul 28, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    In sections of my dining room and in two bedrooms, my Shaw laminate floors look like the picture posted by Diana Reynolds. Shaw determined that it was not the fault of the product which they advertise as being resilient and water resistant. And, they offer a 40 year limited warranty, which is obviously worthless. Initially we were thrilled with our beautiful new floors, tauted to be more resilient than real wooden floors. Within months, the seams began to swell despite the fact that any moisture or liquid was always wiped up immediately. After 12-18 months there are areas that look ugly and cheap. They must be reinstalled - at our expense. How soon will it be before this begins to happen again. Will the same color even be available??? I would be satisfied if the company would give us the amount of laminate we need to repair the damage. We would pay for the installation.

    0 Votes
  • Fo
    foggynights Oct 13, 2011

    I am trying to build a legal complaint against Shaw flooring. We have a consumer protection act in our state. Can you please send your complaints and any associated pictures with names, addresses and phone numbers to shaw_flooring_complaints @hotmail.com. I would like to get together a class action dealing with this issue and would like to show any attorney I contact that there is value for him in this complaint.

    0 Votes
  • Di
    DianaReynolds Aug 19, 2011

    I, too, am having major issues with my brand new shaw hardwoods. We built our home and a month after settlement, we noticed extensive creaking, popping, curling, and delamination. Shaw, the installer, 2 inspectors, and the builder are all blaming humidity levels in the home, even though we have maintained the recommended humidity levels. We've NEVER used water or anything but a dry swiffer to clean the floors.

    0 Votes
  • Co
    ConsumerReporting Jul 24, 2011

    Here's a picture

    Comments

    1 Votes
  • Co
    ConsumerReporting Jul 24, 2011

    I have had very similar experiences with a Swiftlock Bronzed Birch Product from Shaw. Can everyone provide their product details?

    1 Votes
  • Un
    unhappy in PA Jan 06, 2011

    I too purchased a Shaw floor from Bedford Carpet (pa). The exact same thing has happened to me. A representative from Shaw said the installation must be faulty, installer said not. Said there the humidity level in my house was 12% to high. Had the boards tested. Nothing. NO explanation. Distributor will not stand behind installation either. Please tell everyone Shaw will not stand behind their product !

    2 Votes
  • Sh
    Shawna Hardy Aug 30, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Ive had my SHAW floor for 1 month. Its peeling and coming apart. We are so dissapointed. Should have got PERGO. At least its a lot more durable. Company just gives you the runaround. I hope that they realize that their floors are junk! Sorry to all of you that have had this same problem.

    1 Votes
  • St
    Stuart Upchurch Aug 21, 2010

    I totally agree with you and after my own personal experiences with TWO SHAW flooring products, I will never purchase another SHAW product again! Like you, I noticed edge curling in a few areas but I figured the installer might have been a tad aggressive while interlocking sections of laminate. After 6 years (into a 20 year worthless warranty) I contacted the supplier and asked for a claim to be submitted. At this time, most of the seams are curling, there is no water even near most of them and the floor is cleaned on my hands and knees with no heavy use of water and all moisture is promptly wiped up with a chamois. An inspector came out (a smart aleck) and I didn't hear another thing for a month. I finally contacted Shaw and they said the supplier was sent a written response. I contacted the supplier, the response was that the owner over wet the floor causing the damage. My wife and I are livid! SHAW totally turned from their warranty responsibility and in effect told me to go scratch. The floor looks horrible and anyone who asks what is wrong with the floor gets an ear-ful. If I see anyone near the SHAW displays at any flooring or big box store, I tell them that SHAW manufactures flawed products and won't stand behind their warranty.

    Something that was interesting- I gave the factory the EXACT wording of the maintenance instructions from a product package insert (I still have two cases of laminate left from the job). I followed maintenance instructions exactly. They told me that their maintenance instructions were not worded in the way I described. I faxed the factory the insert and they do not know how those instructions got in their product. The product was shipped directly from a GERMAN manufacturer. There is NO DOUBT in my mind that SHAW LAMINATE is defective and will not last five years into its warranty.

    DO NOT PURCHASE A SHAW MANUFACTURED PRODUCT! You will be kicking yourself within five years for sure!

    3 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.