The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Servpro Of Birminghamfraud and overcharging

Because of water damage from Hurricane Irene we called SERVPRO for service, Their Marketing Representative, John David Scozzaro, gave us a quote of $4, 000. They were suppose to come early afternoon to provide the service, they didn't show up until 9:00PM. And didn't do all they said they would do. However, they billed our insurance compy $7, 835.24. Almost double what they quoted, for less work. I call their company to find out why on 9/3/2011 and spoke to an Edith Castleberry, she said she would get back to me. I called again on 9/6/2011 because I had not heard from her. They told me she was away fro her desk, and she would get back to me, which she didn't. I called again on 9/7/2011 to no prevail, I am still waiting to hear from her. It appears this company is taking advantage of Hurricane victums and insurance companies. So please beware if you plan on using SERVPRO

Responses

  • Al
    Allen49 Oct 07, 2011

    This is a revision of above.
    Because of water damage from Hurricane Irene we called SERVPRO for service, Their Marketing Representative, gave us a quote of $4, 000. They were suppose to come early afternoon to provide the service, they didn't show up until 9:00PM. And didn't do all they said they would do. However, they billed our insurance compy $7, 835.24. Almost double what they quoted, for less work. I call their company to find out why on 9/3/2011 and spoke to a representative, she said she would get back to me. I called again on 9/6/2011 because I had not heard from her. They told me she was away fro her desk, and she would get back to me, which she didn't. I called again on 9/7/2011 to no prevail, I am still waiting to hear from her. Just a word of caution when using this company.


    Comments

    0 Votes
  • Al
    Allen49 Oct 10, 2011

    Wantied to edit the above, but can't figure how to do it. So I am submitting as a comment. Heard from SERVPRO of Birmingham today, they are looking into the matter and I should hear from them soon. Thank you SERVPRO

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Cheryl Foldes Dec 31, 2011

    I had a similar complaint. Water damage from power outage. Two separate bills for water mitigation and mold mitigation. No written estimates. I called within three days as told to get a confirmed price. I paid 50% upfront and 50% upon completion based on firm negotiated price. Weeks later I receive another invoice that was never disclosed for another 2500.00 plus for water mitigation services that were never performed. They placed two dehumidifiers in the basement; unmonitored. I checked to see the progress and noticed that the equipment was not working. I called on Monday to tell them the dehumidifiers were not working. They still billed me for the 3 days of inoperability and added another two days for equipment at a cost of 2500.00 for equipment that was faulty. I received a letter after I complained that said the original invoice (never saw) was 3360.40, which included rental of drying equipment (ineffective) then discounted to 2507.17 (because I had to clean the basement myself after I discovered their equipment was doing nothing to help), then the invoice was lowered to 1420.84 and they admit that the dehumidifer wasn't working. My question is why I am being billed for work that was never performed, not performed properly, and invoices that were generated without a written notification. Does this company think that this is how work is really done when people are paying for it? I now received a letter stating that they will honor their discount of 1420.84 but are placing a lien on the home where services were rendered and that the discounted price is good only for a two week period. Talk about deceptive practices and consumer bullying. I will be notifying attorney general in state of Ohio about these deceptive practices. Do not trust these franchises. They are deceptive and they generate estimates based on square footage at a rate of 32 dollars per hour without telling the consumer. BEWARE!

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.