The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Sears.comterrible online store

O

Sears.com is the most terrible online store.

1. They charged my credit card and gift card (over $1, 000) instantly after placing the order no matter whether they have the item or not.
2. They advertise the Store pick-up option in 5 minutes. After 3 weeks, nothing happens. Nobody called me to pick up any thing.
3. I called online store. They did't have any clue and asked me to contact local store because it is a store-pick up option. Then, I called local store and they said it is online order, I have to contact
online store. They were playing ping pong. Nobody wanted to take responsibility.
4. Basically, taking money from customer and doing nothing.
5. Then, I called online store again to cancel the order. They said they will leave a note for local
store to cancel the order. Go to local store and they said it's not their job to cancel the online order. Give me a break!!!
6. It's been 5 weeks now, no confirmation whatsoever from sears that they will refund me the money.

RESOLVED

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

  • Sears's response · Dec 17, 2010

    Dear upset01,

    My name is Scott and I'm with the Sears Social Media Support Team. I'm so sorry for the disappointment and frustration with your sears.com order. That is not normally how we conduct business. No matter the outlet (in store, online, Sears Auto or home services) we strive to maintain the highest levels of customer service in the industry. We'd like to help look into this for you. At your convenience please contact my office via email at [email protected] so that we can assist with resolving this issue. Please provide us a contact number and we will call you at your convenience. In addition, include your screen name (upset01) in the email so we can reference to your case.

    Thank you,

    Scott J.
    Social Media Support Team

  • Sears's response · May 02, 2011

    To neveragain!,
    I want to apologize for the frustration you have experienced in ordering items on Sears.com. Sears.com does allow other vendors to sell their products on our website and we do make sure that the company name is listed on the main page for those items. Our market place vendors do have their own procedures for returning their products that may differ from Sears’ return policy. This is not an excuse for the service you have received, just an explanation. Sears does want to make sure that all our valued customers who purchase online are satisfied with their purchase and their customer service experience and we do have resources to assist you.
    My name is Laura with the Sears Cares Escalations team and we are a single point of contact for escalated concerns. At your convenience, please contact my office via email at [email protected] so you don’t have to continue to be frustrated by this. In the email, please provide a contact phone number and the phone number the tractor was purchased under (if different than the contact phone number) and we will call you directly. Also, in your email, please provide the screen name (neveragain!) you used to post on this site, for reference to your issue, and we do look forward to talking to you soon.
    Thank you,
    Laura D.
    Social Media Moderator
    Sears Social Media Support

  • Sears's response · May 31, 2011

    To Kay10,

    I'm so sorry you continue to have issues with Sears regarding the replacement of your refrigerator. My name is James and I am part of the Social Media Support Escalations team at Sears and we want you to know that we're here to help! At your convenience, please contact our office at [email protected] providing your screen name (Kay10) for reference to your issue and we do look forward to talking to you soon.

    Thank you,
    James H.
    Social Media Moderator
    Sears Social Media Support

  • Sears's response · Feb 28, 2012

    Dear NeverSearsAgain,

    My name is Brian and I am part of the Sears Social Media Escalations team. After reading your post, I have to say I am very concerned, and would like to offer my team's help in making this right. We sincerely apologize for the disappointment surrounding your online purchase, and any trouble you experienced trying to cancel the order. Third party vendors can best be viewed as separate retailers that lease selling space on Sears.com. We'd be happy to connect you with one of our dedicated case managers who can help you communicate and work with the vendor in question on a solution. At your convenience, please contact our office via email at [email protected] so you don’t have to continue to be frustrated by this. In the email, please provide a contact phone number and the phone number the order was placed under (if different than the contact phone number) and we will call you directly. Also, in your email, please provide the screen name NeverSearsAgain you used to post on this site, for reference to your issue, and we do look forward to talking to you soon.

    Brian S.
    Social Media Moderator
    Sears Social Media Support

  • Sears's response · Mar 20, 2012

    Hi bc2522,

    We apologize your recent online purchase experience has been such an aggravating and disappointing one. Especially when you consider a Christmas gift, this is definitely concerning. Third party vendors are best viewed as separate retailers who lease selling space on Sears.com. We'd be happy to connect you with one of our case managers who will then help you work with the vendor in question on a solution. At your convenience, please contact our office via email at [email protected] and a dedicated case manager will contact you directly. In the email, please provide a contact phone number and the phone number the tablet was purchased under (if different than the contact phone number) and we will call you directly. Also, in your email, please provide your screen name (bc2522) you used to post on this site, for reference to your issue. We do look forward to speaking with you soon.

    Thank you,
    Scott J.
    Sears Cares Social Media Support

  • Sears's response · Nov 29, 2013

    DeAnna B

    We’re sorry our customer service did not meet expectations with regards to your refrigerator purchase. My name is David with our Sears Social Media Support team. We would like the opportunity to have a case manager contact you directly to discuss this experience and assist in addressing any other concerns you may have. If you would like to discuss this situation further, please send the following information to [email protected] – contact number and phone number used at time of purchase. Also please provide this screen name (DeAnna B) for reference to this issue. Again, we’re sorry for any trouble we have caused and we hope to talk to you soon.

    David W.
    Social Media Moderator
    Sears Social Media Support

Responses

  • Valerie Dec 19, 2007

    I am writing this complaint to see if going through this route can help me, as I am not receiving any help from the Sears.

    I placed an online order as a gift on 8/12/07 which never made it to my sister's place.

    I made more than 10 calls to sears, not including many made later by my sister and also e-mailed sears to obtain info with no resolution.

    I initially did not cancel the order as it was meant to be a surprise gift for my sister, But when I realized that I was not getting anywhere with the order, after asking sister to also follow up which did not help, I asked for a refund, I was refunded only 10% of the initial purchase price, once again despite a number of phone calls I have not received my full refund.

    When I call the customer service there is no one who takes responsibility or takes steps to rectify the problems, every time after talking to the initial representative explaining your story for nth time you wait for a long time to be connected to a supervisor (if you are lucky or the phone disconnects) only to be given false promises of the matter being dealt within 24 hours.

    I have spent more than 7 hours on the phone and e-mail to get this matter closed but with no luck.

    I do not know where to turn to, as I see nobody at sears.com or at their national customer relations wanting to solve my problem, which in my opinion should take them no more than a minute.

    I am truly appalled at sears.coms's unreliable service, complete disregard for the customer and no accountability or responsibility on their part.

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    Kay Taft Jan 03, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I placed an order 12/18/07 for binoculars. Sears.com website indicated item was in stock so I requested expedited shipping and used my bank check card to pay for the order!.
    I called customer service on12/24 and was told the item was shipping from the vendor and would "probably not arrive by Christmas". I called again the end of that week and was told the order was shipping from the vendor and no other information was
    available. Today, 1/3/08 I again spoke with customer service and was told the order had been cancelled on 12/18- the day it was placed. I never received an email indicating cancellation - only an order confirmation stating it would ship within 2 days! Nor did the first two calls to customer service come up with the info about the cancellation!

    On top of that, my money has not been refunded to my bank account! I spoke with customer relations and a Sears.com supervisor today and was told it takes 7 to 10 days for the refund to go through. Well- it's been over 10 days and NO MONEY! I WILL NEVER PURCHASE FROM SEARS STORES OR SEARS.COM AGAIN AND INTEND TO ADVISE MY FRIENDS AND FAMILY OF THE SHODDY TREATMENT I RECEIVED!

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    Kay Taft Jan 03, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I placed an order 12/18/07 for binoculars. Sears.com website indicated item was in stock so I requested expedited shipping and used my bank check card to pay for the order!.
    I called customer service on12/24 and was told the item was shipping from the vendor and would "probably not arrive by Christmas". I called again the end of that week and was told the order was shipping from the vendor and no other information was
    available. Today, 1/3/08 I again spoke with customer service and was told the order had been cancelled on 12/18- the day it was placed. I never received an email indicating cancellation - only an order confirmation stating it would ship within 2 days! Nor did the first two calls to customer service come up with the info about the cancellation!

    On top of that, my money has not been refunded to my bank account! I spoke with customer relations and a Sears.com supervisor today and was told it takes 7 to 10 days for the refund to go through. Well- it's been over 10 days and NO MONEY! I WILL NEVER PURCHASE FROM SEARS STORES OR SEARS.COM AGAIN AND INTEND TO ADVISE MY FRIENDS AND FAMILY OF THE SHODDY TREATMENT I RECEIVED!

    0 Votes
  • An
    ann Jan 03, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I'm STILL waiting for a refund to my gift card that I used on Dec. 3rd/order cancelled on the 5th! I've been getting the runaround from everyone I have spoken to. The last person I spoke with said I would be getting a check, no one had ever mentioned that before so I'm sure that's not happening either. Good luck with your refund. I'll let you know when and IF I receive mine.

    0 Votes
  • Ms
    M Sawyer Jan 04, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Good Luck. I have been waiting on a refund of the exact same situation since THANKSGIVING!

    No one seems to knwo whats going on!

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Christina Cooley Jan 16, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Sears.com - bad experience. Ordered a pancake air compressor as a Christmas gift well before Christmas, not received. Spoke to many Sears.com customer service representatives - some rude, some not properly trained, some know nothing. On January 15, 2017 I received a call from a Sears technician on their way to my house to fix my home air compressor on my air conditioner. Yes, I was confused also, how did that happen? I ordered a tool, they want to fix my air conditioner. One Sears.com customer service representative told me I could not cancel the order and re-order like I wanted to, later another asked me "why didn't I just cancel and re-order? ARRRHH. Please do not order from Sears.com

    0 Votes
  • Br
    Brenda Feb 27, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have had the most frustrating experince w/Sears com. Have been trying to resolve an issue for over two months now about the return of a mattress protector that was delivered after I was assured the order would be cancelled because i found out it could take up to 28 days for the product to arrive. Product arrived after I no longer needed it; called was told they would make arrangments for it to be picked up for return. After nothing happened several weeks later I phoned; wasted over 2 hours of my time; manager hung up on me after stating that I would need to pay for the return shipping. She was rude and I contacted the coprorate office to notify them; do not know what will come of it but i know I will never visit or shop sears.com again and am unlikely to shop at any sears or kmart stores in the future as a result. I plan to donate the mattress pad to our local homeless shelter. Shame on you sears.

    0 Votes
  • Br
    Brenda Feb 27, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Try calling their corporate office. I think I got it from their national consumer relations phone number which is listed under contacts on their website... call that number and just ask for the corporate phone number. And never ever shop @ sears.com again... horrible. I am sorry for anyway who has had to learn the hard way. Good luck.

    0 Votes
  • Lf
    LF May 10, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Write to them. Don't call. It will preserve your consumer rights. If you haven't filed a complaint with the Federal Trade Commission, your state's Attorney General's Office and the Better Business Bureau, suggest you do.

    0 Votes
  • Jw
    jwdundee Apr 19, 2009

    On 4/11/09 a Sears2Go.com ad came out listing a 1468pc. tool set and storage combo model # CO505 for $494.99. On 4/13/09, the last day of the sale I tried unsuccessfully to buy it for this price. I was told it was an error and the price would not be honored. On 4/14/09 the price on Sears2Go.com was changed to $549.99. I emailed them to see if this was another mistake but got no response. On 4/15/09 I tried again to buy it but they would not deliver on the price. I contacted PriceMatch Sears who said they would not honor the price. On 4/15/09 I received an email from PriceMatch that stated after reviewing my emails they determined a Sears2Go pricing error occurred. They apologized and instructed me to place my order, respond to the email with the confirmation number, and a price adjustment would be made honoring the ad. After placing my order on 4/16/09 and emailing them back I received another email on 4/17/09 stating the order had been cancelled and the offer had been retracted. However, as of 4/18/09 my money has not been returned. They stated pricing errors were rare and unintentional but posting 5 different prices on that web site in one week does not seem rare and emailing me stating I could buy it at this price was not unintentional. They are practicing false advertising and taking my money for a product they do not intend to deliver.

    0 Votes
  • Cn
    cndylou Dec 14, 2009

    I placed an order with Sears .Com on November 11, 2017. The item was a green pea coat for my daughter for Christmas. It was supposed to be delivered to my home, but they have said that it was sent to a Sears store in Portage MI. I had gone to my local (30 minute drive) Sears store where a wonderfull caring employee named Pam has called Sears .com 4 times for me. They tell me a bunch of lies about how it is being shipped to my home but it takes a special team to retrive the package and ship it to me. At this point that will be Christmas eve. I have asked if I can drive to this store(1 1/2 Hour drive) and pick it up? But they have told me they can't answer that the special team will do the retrival. I really want this coat or I would have told them to shove it weeks ago. I remember when Sears shipped things between stores on a daily basis. This is so stressfull I thought I could order it get it and be done. I email customer service on a daily basis and get told a pack of lies about delivery or a beat around the bush and don't get my question answered. You can bet that if I don't get this coat before Christmas this is the last I do buisness with Sears. What a bunch of uncaring jerks with a poor excuse for customer service. I have used ther catalog service since 1977 and have never been unhappy with them untill now.
    Thank you Cindy Carter

    0 Votes
  • Tc
    t c Jan 19, 2010

    i won't shop online. Thanks Sears! you had show me your true color!
    Sears claims the credit for the cancelled order was back to my account. No, it was not yet, now Sears demands I send them proof not receiving the credit. Obviously, they don't know what they are doing.

    0 Votes
  • Up
    Upset Maria Jan 22, 2010

    I took have a problem with sears.com. On December 13, 2017 I placed an order, got an email with a conformation number. 'til this day January 22, 2017 I have not recieved my order. I tried cancellating my order and have called customer service, they too told me my order has been cancelled but my money has not been refunded back in my card. I'm tierd of calling and hearing explaination like in 24hr your money will be but back on your account or it will take 3 to 5 days for a refund. So guess what no ORDER OR REFUND. Something must be done sears can't get away with is they are stealing from their customers and they must be stoped.

    Maria

    0 Votes
  • Tt
    ttgdr923 Jan 25, 2010

    I ordered and paid for a pair for boots for my nephew as a christmas present through sears. I was told that they would be delivered to my home by Christmas. On christmas eve, I received and email stating they were at the Sears store. (about 45minutes from my house) I drove up there to pick the boots up, to find out that the email was a mistake. They informed me that I would have the shoes by Dec. 30th and they would be delivered to my home. That date came and went. I called Sears repeadedly and they continued to tell me that they would check into the situation and call me back within 24-48 hours. I never received a phone call back. After several complaints I was offered a five dollar gift card for having to wait so long. (I think I spent more in gas running up to the store to pick up the boots that were not there). Today, after about 2 dozen phone calls, I was told that they don't have the boots and that they are going to "try" to issue me a refund. I have not yet received this $5.00 gift card that I was supposed to receive. The "customer service" team they have is horrible. These people are extremely rude and just don't care. I will never do business with Sears.com again.

    0 Votes
  • Fe
    Festus2010 Feb 18, 2010

    I canceled a mattress order 2 days before delivery because the mattress is not available to lay on in any store, and there is a 15% restocking fee if you don't like it (beware). I received my statement today and I was charged the full amount, over $800 even though it is confirmed the order was canceled. It is now in "dispute" status. WHY? Any other company just issues a credit and it's done. DO NOT SHOP AT SEARS.COM!!! I have had mnay, many problems with Sears in the past. My bad for shopping there again. NEVER AGAIN!!!

    0 Votes
  • Lb
    lbishopgadsden Mar 01, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    It has been 36 days that I have been trying to get a refund of $318.00 for a microwave I purchased from Sears.com using Paypal. I made the purchase on January 23rd and cancelled on January 26th. I waited the 7-10 business days they specified to receive my refund. On the 9th business day, I received a check in the mail. I deposited the check the next day only to find out a few days later that there had been a stop payment placed by Sears and that the check was not good. I was charged a $5 bad check fee and the funds were withdrawn from my checking account. I contacted Sears.com customer service several times, I sent numerous emails and was told they would send me a $35 gift card for my troubles and to cover any fees I may have been charged by my credit union. I am charged $30 each time a check or debit is not good, so this $35 card is of no use to me. I have been unable to pay my power bill and a few other items because of this. SEARS could care less. I have tried to explain the situation and the STRAIN they are putting on my finances, but they are making no effort to resolve the situation. In the meantime, I am waiting on an apology letter from Sears for me, my credit union and my refund. HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE!!!

    0 Votes
  • Up
    upset01 Dec 15, 2010

    I have to say that I'm very disappointed with sear. On 11/30/10 I ordered Essential Home bridgeport Armoire from Kmart.com. I paid a extra $3.99 for next day shipping. The shipping info insured that I would receive it with in 3-7 business days. Here it is 12/14/10 I'm just receiving it. Worse yet it arrived in pieces. The shipping box was not a full box, it was just pieces of a box taped together. Then the merchandise box was in tatters. It had water damage and was paper thin in many places, It was also taped up extensively in the areas where the box was coming apart. I have been calling sear over the last 2 days. 1st to find out where my order was, then to complain about the severe damage to the item. However every time I call the computer system has been down and no one can help me. AT this point I want my money back (including shipping fee's) and I want them to come pick up this pick of junk merchandise. I would tell anyone who will listen to never buy from sear/kmart..com

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Mitch Dec 15, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This is a doozy. I requested repair for my LG TV, told them it was the Xsustain board and wanted to make sure they had the part. They said Yes and if they didnt they would return with it free of charge. The guy arrives doesnt open TV but claims Im right its the Xsus board, he calls his office and then tells me they dont have access to that board anymore, but they will give me a estimate on a LCD panel for $1600! I said "why would I pay that for a five year old TV and why would I pay that when its not the correct part?" He got nervious and said well I still have to charge you for service call because your refusing the estimate. REALLY??? OK BUt Ill tell ya what, Ill dispute it then tell everyone how you rip off people into paying your service charge by making a huge estimate, on a pretend part just to charge me a service call, NEVER AGAIN!!!

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    shawnette Dec 19, 2010

    On Dec 12th i made and order from sears.com"the purchse was supposed to be delivered on dec20th"im just receiving and inbox stateing my order was cancelled on dec 18th:when calling it was as if they cared less on the fact that christmas is yet a week and its going to take atleast that just to get my money put back on my card"when calling to show my unhappiness i still was faced with the run around just to stress the point of my inconvince.The econmy is already ruff ;why should i have to suffer on the fact that there company is very much unorganized. We as the customer should feel a lot more appericated off the fact of us giving them our money"inwhich i will inforce to all my friends and there friends not to shop on line dealing with this company

    0 Votes
  • Ga
    Gary Hatterman Dec 27, 2010

    Made purchase on Sears.com on Nov 21. Paid $200, Monday Nov 22 saw the item on sale for $112.00. Tried to cancel 1st order but said I needed to let the process happen since they couldn't stop it. Once receive it take to a Sears store to get full refund. Talked to 2 other customer service to confirm could take to store which they confirmed. I went to Sears store, Metro Center Phoenix AZ. Manager Don was nasty, said I need to read the fine print says "you must return by mail" He could not and would not help me. "Go home and follow the steps". Nasty! Kept calling Sears.com customer service, funny how each one gives you a different answer. Finally after 6 calls, emailed and got a reply from Sarah S.. "Why do you want to return", well now if they would read the history of my calls they would know why. Replied to explain the issue AGAIN. Received an email from Mervin K who said "please return to the nearest Sears store for full refund". lol, , can you believe it. The run around continues and I will call every day, maybe twice a day and document all the stories. Will most likely end up contacting a local TV station with his "story" and let them put Sears in their place for horrible service.

    0 Votes
  • Ha
    Hatesears Feb 17, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    OMG! 2/11/11 ordered treadmill from Sears.com within minutes tried to cancel the order. Sears charged my acct and said it shipped (no tracking #) on 2/11/11. What! You know that's not possible! American Espress will help me dispute the charge. 23 emails with web customer service. Called store manager at local Sears - he found out it's a third party vendor - nothing on the website states this...Sears says just refuse the order - they can't cancel the order - they will charge me the shipping cost! Why? Just cancel the order - have SOMEONE pull the order - I tried to email the CEO - No luck. Spending time on twitter and facebook. Let's all do that and have the govt look into this fraud. My receipts says it's a Sears product...lie lie lie.

    0 Votes
  • Ne
    neveragain! May 01, 2011

    I am in the same boat! i ordered from sears.com but it really came from another vender. Now i have to send it back AND pay for shipping as they wont send me a return label! What a mess!

    0 Votes
  • Td
    TDhillon May 28, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have a online profile Sears.com and have ordered numerous times through this website. I had similar problem prior, thought it may have been a isolated occurrence, it happened again. I ordered 2 ipad 32gb @300.00 as advertised on sears.com, paid with paypal option. Paypal has my shipping address (confirmed), and have seller protection provided they ship to address on paypal payment. Verification department from Sears called the next and they were provided the same information as on paypal but it seems like sears.com just wanted to find a way to cancel the order because they did not have the item to fulfill. I told the obnoxious verification person, who would not give me his name that I can go to the Sears store and have them verify whatever they want to verify and not cancel the order, guess what ? they cancelled the order. I called customer service at sears.com and they said they will reinstate the order and I will need to pay with another credit card besides paypal. I said okay, go ahead and I will give them a new credit card number. Could not complete order because of course they did not have any in stock and but for $80.00 more they will sell me the similar item. What a scam... Sears.com ought to be ashamed of themselves. I will try to call their headquarters @ [protected], although I do not expect much from them. I have filed complaint with FTC for false advertising.

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    Kay10 May 29, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Today, April6, 2017, I took off work to wait for Sears to once again deliver to my home my new refrigerator. The delivery guys were rude, unfriendly Hispanic guys. One of them walked into my home reading a religious tract that he found on my door. Yes, he actually walked through my living room, dining room and then stood in the kitchen as he proceeded to read the religious tract that was in Spanish and ignoring me as the customer. They refused to bring my refrigerator into the house because I (a female) did not know how to put a valve on the old refrigerator. He then called his supervisor and lied on me and said that I was refusing to accept my refrigerator. I said I wanted to speak with his supervisor and he handed me his cell phone. The supervisor tried to offer me a 10% coupon to calm down; what did she think that I need a 10% constellation prize for the Sears Delivery employees’ nasty lying attitudes. Sears has completely gone downhill!! And to make matters even worse, these unprofessional delivery guys took drove in the truck with my refrigerator – leaving me in the street screaming for them to give me my refrigerator. I am sickly and cannot continue to deals with these problems from Sears. I am so disappointed with Sears that I have made it my job to let everyone know about the horrible experiences I have been having with Sear for the past two months.

    0 Votes
  • Ne
    neverSearsAgain Feb 27, 2012

    Ordered a computer monitor on sears.com and called back the very next day to cancel. Sears.com, though charged my card, but refused to do anything and referred me to the supplier. I called all day to the supplier and only got busy signal. Finally, at 4:30 I emailed the canc. then someone called me at 6 to informed me that the item had shipped (at 5PM) and cannot be canceled. I then refused to accept the delivery from Fed ex. now I have to pay the $18 of shipping and likely another 15% of restocking fee. Wow, a simple $50 mistake I made. So buyer beware, the moment you hit the enter key to buy the item, consider to pay a few dollars.
    Never buy from Sears.com again. Fool me once, shame on you, but fool me twice shame on me. I fully intend not to be fooled again by Sears.com

    0 Votes
  • Bc
    bc2522 Mar 19, 2012

    i ordered tablet for a christmas present for my daughter on black friday and it came long after it was expected. daughter opened on christmas, didnt work. piece of junk, made in china.even the instructions are in chinese. called sears, they said contact merchant who isnt even taking phone calls and their website is down... sears said that due to the 14 day return policy they couldnt help. have been trying to get problem solved for months. nothing. horrible business!!

    0 Votes
  • Ki
    Kismet.1983 Dec 03, 2012

    I order two patio chairs and a table from Sears.com. I received the chairs, then received an email the table was destroyed somehow and would be investigated by UPS. I have contacted the store four times for information and each time a different person tells me they are requesting the investigation into it because it is not noted on my account. In addition, I had to fax a copy of my statement to them as they deducted the entire purchase twice from my debit account and they are stating they did not. Don't order from Sears.com. I have received emails from Imran Jooma Senior Vice President, e-Commerce [email protected] numerous times on the table but nobody seems to be able to assist, nor or the return of the second deduction of the total amount.

    0 Votes
  • Jd
    J Dawson Dec 19, 2012

    Dear Mr. Johnson,

    I’m writing to you in the hope that the “ ---- Runs Down Hill” theory will still work in your organization.;

    I placed an order online on November 1st, for a blouse, using Paypal for payment. I received an
    e-mail confirmation, a flurry of spam from Sears.com and nothing else. When I returned to the site and attempted to use the order # to check the status, the site did not recognize it.
    I e-mailed Imran Jooma, listed as Senior Vice President, e-Commerce at [email protected] – to date I’ve had no response. Then I tried calling your “customer service” department: t 3 calls produced t 3 different explanations to the problem. One representative said the order was still processing- 3 full weeks after I’d placed it! At the end of each of these calls I requested a refund, which I have yet to receive, nor did I ever receive the promised confirmation e-mail they promised.

    I understand mistakes are sometimes made, but after exploring all avenues even you must find that something is very wrong at sears.com. The blouse is not very expensive, but it’s my money and I’d like it returned. What is more costly, if anyone there still cares, is the cost of your reputation. Needless to say I will never shop your site again
    J. M. Dawson

    0 Votes
  • Do
    doomsday0516 Dec 21, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I ordered a kid bike from Sears.com twice and they shipped me another bike twice. The wrong bike was still the Huffy Disney Cars 16" Bike, but not the one I ordered and of course I returned it. The 2nd time, I asked their online representative to order and guarantee for me that I'd get a right bike, but they still shipped me the wrong bike. I noticed that the Huffy(manufacturer) model # was different but the Sears item # was the same as the one I ordered. I strongly suspect that from the very first, Sears.com was actually selling that order(?Not Sure) model bike #K1789 but they posted it as a newer model #21782 to attract customers. This is unacceptable dishonesty. Anyway, I got fully refunded and fairly speaking, the staffs of their local stores were friendly. But I wasted about 20 days waiting and had to communicate with their customer service and wasted gas for picking-up-at-store-return-picking-up-return and still couldn't get the bike I wanted. And they neglected my complaint finally. Very bad experience dealing with them.

    0 Votes
  • De
    DeAnna B Nov 28, 2013

    On October 30, 2017 I called the Sears store at the Chicago Ridge Mall & told the associate I would like to put a Kenmore refrigerator on layaway. The associate lied & said they don't do layaway at the store, the only way was to go online to sears.com. This is where my nightmare began.
    The customer service at sears.com is below average, piss poor, basically non existent. Customers with layaway orders are treated as second class citizens & are not of any particular importance. Every time I called for assistance it took between 30 & 45 minutes for the customer service rep to "find the order".
    Beware of the classic blow off line they all used, for you to "call the store". Every rep I dealt with, including the on line rep, used this line. The store cannot access your account or help you in any way. All they do is refer you back to sears.com. This ends the call for the sears.com reps & they don't have to do anything. The sears.com reps don't take payments over the phone for layaway orders & claim they are not able to get any information about your order. Customer service is basically non existent for layaway orders.
    I made the last on line payment early so I could get the delivery on the day before Thanksgiving, Wednesday 11/27/13, the only day I could get off work to accept the delivery. Something went wrong when I made that payment, & I wasn't able to set up delivery or tell if my payment went through. I later received an email from the delivery department stating the fridge would be delivered on the day I requested, but I had to confirm that because every rep I dealt with was highly unprofessional, didn't offer any assistance & I was concerned they were going to screw this up too.
    I called customer service again on to confirm payment was received so things would go as planned for that day. It took the rep 40 minutes to "find the order, then she told me because it was a layaway order she could not help me & told me to "call the store" to get rid of the call, knowing the store would not be able to help me. The classic response from the customer service dept. I couldn't get any assistance from her, so I called back, got a different rep & explained the situation. It was very simple. I needed to make sure the last payment was received so all would go as planned for the delivery date. I also requested she confirm the delivery date. After waiting 45 minutes for her to "find the order, " her response was "they will call you the night before". I asked repeatedly what day would they call & did she see a delivery date in the system. She repeated, "they will call you the night before." I explained I needed to know WHEN, WHAT DAY? "They will call you the night before." I told her response was unacceptable & to stop it. I was so frustrated & angry & I was trying not to yell at her, but this was RIDUCULOUS!!It was maddening. Again, she replied, "they will call you the night before." This rep needs to have her employment terminated for stupidity. She has no business being on the phone. I do not deserve to be treated with such abuse from an incompetent rep who doesn't know her job & is just plain stupid. I was so angry & frustrated with her, it was completely inappropriate for her to repeat this statement like a trained parrot & do nothing to resolve my issue. I ended the call in complete frustration, I couldn't believe this has actually happened.
    The delivery day comes & they don't show up. I was on the phone from 7:00am until 9am trying to straighten this out. The rep lied to me & said "they are on their way." I didn't believe him. Finally he transferred to me to another department, & the rep there explained my last payment didn't go through due to a "web error, " & the fridge would not be delivered. I would have to make the last payment again & set up a new delivery date.
    I took a day off of work for nothing, waited for a delivery that never arrived & I was exasperated from the reps, who are basically useless. They are lazy, incompetent, not properly trained & have no interest in assisting the customer. The rep who repeatedly said "they will call you the night before, " is just plain stupid & incompetent. They also have these long rambling sentences where they apologize that they can't help you. Sears has put me through a nightmare. I've spent hundreds of dollars on a fridge & I've been treated in the worst way possible.
    For the past several days I have been getting automated phone calls from sears.com starting at 2am! Yes, the calls start at 2am! They continue throughout the day. I've had to turn my phone off because of the calls. Some go to voice mail & a recording says "sears protection plan." I am being harassed & if they don't stop immediately I am going to file a police report for harassment. I'm also going to file a complaint with the Illinois Attorney General's office.
    I'm giving this a 1 because it is the lowest rating available. They deserve a negative number, like -10. This has been a horrible experience. My advice to anyone thinking of putting anything on layaway at sears.com is don't do it. It's not worth the aggravation & abuse you will go through.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.