Sears Rebate Centerridiculous way to credit consumers

T
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

Sears employs a classic bait and switch with its purported "rebate" enticement for large appliances, which it runs several times per year. It offers 10% off one appliance, 20% off two appliances, and 30% off three or more appliances over $399 in value. But the incentive is nowhere near as good as it sounds because soon after you sign on the dotted line, the friendly folks at Sears disclaim any knowledge of, or connection to, your rebate. Instead, you are directed to the Sears Rebate Center, which either intentionally or incompetently mismanages the rebate process, taking no action on the rebate for at least eight weeks while Sears holds your money and earns interest on your savings.

The Sears Rebate Center employees will cheerfully inform you that "it takes 6 to 8 weeks to process your rebate application" as if that is a perfectly reasonable amount of time to log something into a computer. Then after six weeks of "processing" the application (which any mechanized system with a handful of staffers could do in a single day), Sears then takes "up to 30 days" to mail the check to you because the company inexplicably chooses to send the check via third class mail.

Nothing makes a customer feel so appreciated as when a Fortune 100 company sends rebate checks via third class mail. Rest assured, the billing statement for the full price of your appliances will be "processed" in less than two weeks and mailed via first class mail so that you will have to bear the entire brunt of the cost of these appliances for weeks before your money is returned to you. Sears should be ashamed of itself. Rebates are a ridiculous way to credit consumers for sale prices on appliances and the money should be taken off at the cash register as it is at Best Buy, Home Depot and Lowes.

T. Manganello.

Responses

  • Ab
    abishag israel Aug 27, 2011

    I have never recieved my instant rebate credit card.

    0 Votes
  • Ms
    Ms. OParfait Nov 16, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Why have these rebates if you are not going to follow through on it?! I've been waiting for my rebate since June. I received the same ole’ automated emails indicating that if will take 4-6 weeks to received. After not receiving my rebate 8 weeks later, I contacted Sears online on the rebate status site. It said to check my address to make sure it was right. Of course it was right. "I never had a problem getting a rebate from anyone else." I then received another automated email indicating that they would send a new rebate card out and not to use the old one if I received it. Six weeks later I still didn't receive my 'new rebate card'. I called the so-called 'rebate center' and they told me the new card was mailed out September 23, 2010. I received my rebate card on November 5, 2010 and to my surprise the card expired October 29, 2010!!! I finally decided to go the an actual Sears Store to argue with them. When the Assistant Manager called the rebate center they gave her the same run around saying they would process another card and it would take 4-6 weeks to receive it! I told the Assistant Manager that was unacceptable and she called them again and they told her that they had to turn my account over to the finance center and to call them within 3-5 days. Seriously, it is a rebate card, not my taxes! The Assistant Manager said she would call the rebate center in 3 days and I should as well. So, I call the rebate center 4 days later and they said that my rebate was approved and they are sending me a gift card for $50 dollars and I should receive it in a few weeks. I just went off... We will see if that happens. I am NEVER signing up for a rebate again with Sears and seriously considering closing my account with them.

    0 Votes
  • Fo
    FORMER sears shopper but no more. Aug 28, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am done buying stuff from Sears. When they say that something is on sale, then they should disclose that you have to send a rebate in which will take two months to receive. But the sears rebate center always seems to find a loophole to where they can just keep your money. We bought a tractor in May, because we thought it was a good price. Only did we find out that we had to pay the full price at the register not the sale price. We paid in cash and credit card but the store conveniently only printed out the receipt for the visa transaction so when we sent in the rebate the companys reason for not giving us the rebate was that we didn't pay full price, but the cash transaction wasn't even listed on the receipt thanks to the wise sales clerk. Just another scam to basically lie to you and get your money without giving you anything back in return. I hope Sears goes out of business. I am in the military and will be spreading this from Georgia to California and yes I do know many people.

    0 Votes
  • Am
    amy in jackson, mi Jun 28, 2010

    I have had several problems with Sears. I made a purchase on May 26th and on May 28th I tried to do an online price adjustment, but guess what the screen to fill the information in would not submit, so I sent an email in. I am still emailing back and forth with them over a price adjustment issue. Also I have tried to use the online rebate program what a joke. They keep telling me that it does not match up with the sales receipt. I even emailed them the receipt I have they say can't do anything with that it does not match our records in our system. I finally mailed in the rebate information let see how this goes. I wish I was under the 30 days right now I think I would return everything and go somewhere else. I spent close to $4, 000 and this is how I am treated. I need to buy a few more appliances, but they will not be at sears.

    0 Votes
  • Ha
    HapaiMountain Jun 22, 2010

    On May 9, 2010, I purchased an electric range from Sears and was promised a rebate. I submitted the rebate application online and indicated I would take the rebate as a prepaid Mastercard. To date, I have not received the rebate. So I contacted Sears about it. They replied that they had reviewed my records, and that the rebate had been issued to me two weeks ago. They suggested I look around for it, and also that I should check with Mastercard. I called Mastercard, and they have no record of me whatsoever. It is clear the rebate could not have been issued if Mastercard did not so much as have my name in its computer. I contacted Sears again with this information, and they continue to insist the rebate was issued. They again suggested I look around my house, and also that I just need to wait 21 days. That's the last time I buy anything from Sears.

    0 Votes
  • Tr
    triker1943 Jun 18, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I had to call the manager of my ROUND ROCK TX. IH 35 store many times. He finally credited my rebate $65. for rebate + delivery of Sears Dish Washer. I definately would call the store manager before I let rebates go down the drain. He was super nice. God Bless

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    Sad, Sorry Sears X-customer Jun 05, 2010

    We purchased $14, 119 worth of replacement windows. The crafty salesman said, because our daughter recommended him, she'd get $300. A little later he said she'd get $100. I asked why $300, now $100. He said because she didn't recommend him by name, but she'd get the $100 the next day. His name is Don Wisialowski. He made a commission off of her and because she recommended Sears he ended up being our salesman also. So he made a nice commission off both houses, and I said the $300 should stay. She, to this day hasn't received ANYTHING! We were set to take advantage of the interest-free financing. He said if we could pay cash, we'd get $350 back. That was March 27th, 2010. Here it is June 5, 2010. Haven't received it yet!!! Also, ON OUR CONTRACT, it says because it was such a large order, we'd get a $1, 000 gift certificate in 2 weeks. How many weewks is it now? Over 10 ???? I called MANY times. Got ( fake ) sympathy, but NO RESULTS!!! We didn't make them wait for their money. Don't they want customers like us? Are they going out of business that they no longer care what people say or think about them. Screw the hell out of whatever customers are still uninformed about their lying tactics and get all the bucks you can before they FOLD??? Is that the plan!! I'll help spread the word...DON"T TRUST SEARS. NOT THE COMPANY, NOT THE SALESPEOPLE, NOT THEIR CUSTOMER SERVICE DEPARTMENT. They are all LIARS and CROOKS!!! SS

    0 Votes
  • Av
    AvoidSears Jun 03, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have been waiting 6 months now for my rebate. I inquired several times only to get a generic response. They are now saying I do not qualify for rebate. They were promoting a sale with free delivery. We bought the appliance and Sears used a third party company in which we had to pay directly (not Sears), which costs us an additional $150 and no rebate! So what I thought was a good deal ended up costing us much more than expected. Bait and Switch! May be contacting the BBB.

    0 Votes
  • Gr
    Grumpier May 17, 2010

    We bought a new Kenmore washer / dryer set in 2009. The washer has been a problem. Water would not fill when starting a load in every cycle but delicate. Would switch cycles when filled. The dial does not align with cycles listed.

    Repairman came and changed a water relay something-a-bob under warranty. Said he couldn't fix dial alignment.

    These Kenmores are made by Whirlpool, who makes other brands. Junk ! You see Whirlpool, run !

    0 Votes
  • Gr
    Grumpier May 17, 2010

    I just want Sears to stop calling for survey and extended warranty sales ! [protected]

    Stop !

    0 Votes
  • Fa
    familyjohns Jan 28, 2010

    No wonder Sears is having financial problems. Who wants to deal with a company that does this terrible rebate program. I have been waiting for months for our rebate. Their idiotic email responses tell us to wait 21 days for the mail. Mail across the country takes 4 days max! We have now waited over the 21 days and they still refuse to give us a supervisor or way to contact them by phone. NO WONDER! They would have so many irate customers on their phones. We are very disappointed and were pretty faithful Sears appliance buyers. We will definitely question our next purchase as this has left such a sour taste in our mouth.

    0 Votes
  • Xa
    Xaero Meng Dec 10, 2009

    Update: I finally received the rewards card from Sears on Dec 9th, 2009. I have contacted their customer service for at least ten times during the past four months.

    0 Votes
  • St
    stoverebatescam Oct 12, 2009

    Carlos--I had your exact same experience. Call Sears Cares--they will get you your rebate. A pain, and doesn't make up for their horrible rebate process, but at least you won't be cheated out of your money! Email [email protected] .

    0 Votes
  • Xa
    Xaero Meng Oct 06, 2009

    I made a purchase on 06/13/2009, which qualified for a $50 rebate card. However, I haven't received the rebate reward yet. I've contacted the Sears Rebate Center for several times. The first time, they said my rebate was on the way and I would receive it in 21 days. Then after one month, I contacted them again, and they cannot find my rebate info from their system. Last week, I called them again and they said they would contact me in about two business days. This the the email I received today:

    "Unfortunately, we are unable to reissue you a Reward Card. You may have to contact Sears if you require further assistance."

    I won't buy anything from Sears from now on.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    Carlos in Miami Oct 02, 2009

    Yes, Sears is a company that I and my family have been buying from for over 30 years. But my last purchase of a $2, 200 GE Profile stove/range will probably be my last purchase from them. I don't appreciate being lied to! The salesman at the Hialeah location in Miami told us that our purchase qualified for a $150.00 rebate. We carefully filled out the paperwork and submitted it. Only to get a post card back 4 months later saying; "We have analyzed your submission and have found that it does not match our sales data. As a result, your rebate submission is not eligible for a rebate payment at this time." And when you go to the rebate web site, www.mysearsrebate.com I got no where. I guess it's too much to ask that a big company like Sears treat their long time customers with respect. I will now by from Brandsmart, or Best Buy next time I need a big ticket item for my house.

    0 Votes
  • St
    stoverebatescam Sep 30, 2009

    Contact Sears Cares and they will help you with the rebate. Not that I'm willing to go through it all again, but at least I FINALLY got mine thanks to them.

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Robert Jaubelli Sep 24, 2009

    Evrything I read is true, but I saw them very late.I bought a Kenmore dishwasher at Sears which has on the top big notice it was under the rebate program.The salesperson confirmed that this dishwasher is on program.She gave to me all rebate forms and receipts and from July until now, end of September, I hoped for $75 check rebate.Three days ago I had an Email from that famous Sears Rebate Center which said for receipt# or other reasons they can't proceed this rebate.I replyed to the mesage and they called me back and gave a phone number to call.I did and the person I talked said they can't pay because the salesperson informed me wrong and that dishwasher wasn't on rebate program.So at the end she offered me a $25 gift check.I wasn't agree and asked her if Sears can spend that "gift" for qualifying its employees .Any way Sears emploees are very qualifyed at laying their consumers.Looks like they are trained for this.Please don't go to bay at Sears.Not me any more.

    0 Votes
  • Te
    TERESA GARSTECKI Sep 15, 2009

    THIS HAPPENED TO US TO WHEN WE BOUGHT OUR FREEZER.WE HAVE JUST BOUGHT A STOVE AND I GUESS WE WILL BE GOING THRU THIS AGAIN.MAYBE THE BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU WOULD BE INTERESTED IN THIS.I THINK IF IT TAKES A LONG TIME FOR THIS REBATE I WILL BE DOING THIS.

    0 Votes
  • La
    Laima Uboniene Sep 12, 2009

    In May 2009 i bought a stove at Sears and in June Sears Rebate Centre sent me the check, but i never received.So i called theme and they did tell me, that check was cashed in on June 15/2009. So, please take a look at this meter and let me know who took my check. Sincerely

    0 Votes
  • Cj
    cjmartn Aug 24, 2009

    Have been waiting for $71 gift card rebate since last Dec. Call rebate center every month. Answer always the same - "we're forwarding your request to the finance department". After many calls finally asked to talk to someone in finance but they tell me they can't let me do that. Last call was told card reissued on 25 July and I should receive it within 20 days. Here it is 24 Aug and no card!

    0 Votes
  • St
    stoverebatescam Aug 01, 2009

    I finally found a contact that helped me. "Sears Cares" agents patrol the message boards on "my sears" and respond to complaints in an attempt to smooth over the bad pr generated by the contracted service provided by the rebate center. Doesn't make up for their horrible program, but at least I got my rebate.

    Give it a try: [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Sz
    szamprogno Jul 28, 2009

    I fell for the same trick. I've been waiting for almos a year. First they told me that what I sent them was illegible but they couldn't tell me what they were missing. I'm glad I kept copies of everything. I sent them the same thing again but this time certified. I haven't heard back from them but if they come up with any other excuse, I'm going straight to BBB.

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    ken c Jul 17, 2009

    On March 29, 2009, I purchased a stove at Sears in Pasadena, California. The salesperson who helped me was Jeana. She even guided me on how to submit my rebate on the internet.

    This morning, I called the rebate center [protected]) to check the status of my rebate, since the status page on the website still shows "in process" - yes, after 4 months later, nothing has changed. I was told I was not qualified because I did not meet the purchased price of $399. Why didn't they tell me this earlier?!?

    First of all, Jeana said I was eligible for this rebate. Why would she bother guiding me in submitting the rebate in the first place? I guess they do anything to gain a sale, giving me fault information on a rebate I will never get back. Second, they didn't give me a rebate form. It looks like Sears doesn't want the consumer to know what's the qualifications - the terms and condition. All you had to do is enter the numbers on the receipt and wait 6-8 weeks for a result. Sears knows the facts, they hope the consumer will forget about the rebate and not follow up after 6-8 weeks and get denied. In my case, they didn't even notify me, I had not contact them.

    I've been a loyal Sears customer over the years and I feel betrayed. I am so mad right now. I will never shop at Sears again. This is indeed a bait and switch tactic.

    I am going to send a letter to Mr. W. Bruce Johnson, the CEO of Sears. This kind of business is unacceptable. Anybody here try to seek legal action? We need a class-action suit against Sears!

    0 Votes
  • De
    Debbie Coker Jul 17, 2009

    After spending 7, 000 in Feb for three appliances, we will never do business with Sears again. Their rebate dept which I was told by Sears Consumers Solutions (yeah right) was a third party co and that Sears had no control of when the checks were sent out. Well Sears may want to do something about this third party co, becuase it is costing them customers. I was told in June I would receive my 259.00 check in 3 weeks when I didn't receive it I called back and they told me it would be another three weeks. Aug will make 6 months. We are getting ready to purchase a 55 in LED television and a washer and dryer and it will not be from Sears.

    0 Votes
  • Co
    Compl Sears Jul 07, 2009

    I called [protected]. I am fully convinced the rebate center employs only those required to wear a helmet at all times. I called them most recently this morning. When speaking to a supervisor I was told they have issued my check 3 different times. I have even received confirmation emails saying my check has been mailed. While I understand the post office isn't the most efficient operation, there is no way they take upwards of 6 months to get mail to its destination, and continually lose mail. I received a $75 rebate card, but they have conveniently not processed my $202.64 payment. Sears and their rebate system is a complete joke. I like their products and prices, not their service after the purchase which is just as important in my eyes.

    0 Votes
  • St
    stoverebatescam Jul 05, 2009

    Those of you who have managed to speak to a person on the telephone--what number did you call? I can only get the online email form. My story is much the same as many of you--my claim was denied twice, and then after an angry email (since I could find no phone number) it was "magically" approved, but I am still awaiting payment (which, according to the website, was mailed on "01/01/0001"). Perhaps the issue is that it was sent third-class mail?

    Has anyone contacted an attorney to see if we have grounds for a lawsuit? It seems to me that Sears is hoping consumers will just give up on their rebates, or if they are contracting with a company that the company is doing the same. I am extremely frustrated and will not purchase more appliances from Sears.

    0 Votes
  • Se
    SearsRebatesAreaFarce Jun 29, 2009

    I bought a TV on January 5th online using my Sears credit card. It's the same story as all those above - first they said I had to wait past the return period, then in April the online form said my record did not match, so they fixed that, and now in June the Sears Rebate Center claims there never was a rebate at that time, and unless I can prove otherwise, my rebate is denied.

    I canceled my Sears credit card. I will never buy from Sears again. Potential customers - be warned.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    DadDog Jun 27, 2009

    Yesterday I bought a new Kenmore dryer at Sears and was given the rebate form to recover the cost of delivery of the new unit ($65) and haul-away of the old ($10). When I got home I looked at the form only to discover it is not a true rebate of cash, but instead comes in the form of a store credit. I returned to the store and confirmed that was indeed the case, and that the change from cash to store credit happened about 3 weeks ago, so the beginning of June, 2009. The manager was called and I talked with him, but he said it was out of his hands. I asked to cancel the delivery and have my account credited for a full refund, but he couldn't do that either. I had to call the 800# of the delivery outfit to "cancel delivery with refund." So, Sears customers be aware: the salesperson will tell you the delivery and haul-away costs will be rebated to you, but he won't tell you the rebate will be in the form of a store credit.

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    richard perry Jun 21, 2009

    I purchased a washer from Sears in Hyannis, MA on 4/27/09 and applied for the $75 delivery rebate on line on 5/2. The only response in almost 2 months has been to have my email flooded with Sears ads. When I go on line to check the status I am informed that I am unqualified as they cannot find my receipt. It is clear to me this is a scam intended to maximize their profits (but while making enemies of its customers). I will never buy from Sears again. I plan to make a consumer demand under Mass. Consumer Protection Act and sue in small claims if my demand is not satisfied within 30 days.
    richard Perry

    0 Votes
  • Ng
    Nghia Jun 10, 2009

    I made a purchase of a mower and a bagger almost 2 months ago. I submitted online a rebate request (for %5 on purchases of Lawn and Garden equipment of $299 or more). About a week later I received an email from the Rebate Center saying that the receipt/salescheck could not be found although the information that I entered has been carefully verified several times to be correct. I called in and talked with a Rep. She asked to check back after 31 days, from the day of purchase, for the purchase receipt to be validated. So, the 31st day went by and I checked back with them. They then said I needed to fax in the rebate offer along with a copy of the receipt because the pricing on the receipt was somehow(?) messed up. And I did that. Two weeks later, just now, I called in and they said my submission does not meet the rebate requirement because the item (the bagger, first item on the purchase) was less than $299. How about the mower, which was $1435, that was purchased together with the bagger? I asked. He, Tom a Rebate Supervisor, employee #5226, said he did not see that on the system! Why other Reps saw the item [mower], but you don't? I asked. He said " don't know. Is there anything else that I can help you?". I wasted a lot of time talking with Sears Rebate Center Reps, but still don't get the rebate that they advertised for. I think this is a fraud.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    MAD AS HELL!!! May 15, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Welcome to my world!!! Been there, done that as mentioned above. NOW, try filing a complaint with the Ca. consumers ???? located on the Attorney General's site if you think Sear's "jump through the hoops" process is bad. Their on-line form is horrific and I doubt that they have more than 3 to 5 people on staff for the whole state. Let's face it, we;re like those fish on Discovery channel that circle into a ball while the predators dart in and out feeding on the ones most accessable. A National Consumers Protection Act is needed and a special unit to enforce it. Don't hold your breath. BUT WAIT...WHAT ABOUT A CA. PROPISITON THAT WE COULD VOTE IN TO CREATE AN INDEPENDENT COMMISIION IN OUR STATE AT LEAST??? UUMMMMM!!! By the way, Google Sears and learn that Sears is really a holding company more interested in finance than consumer merchandise. You do know they sold out to KMART>>>>RIGHT??? AMERICAN CORPORATIONS ARE INHERENTLY GREEDY AND EVIL!!!

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Dana May 15, 2009

    I purchased a microwave, warming oven, refrigerator and dishwasher at The Great Indoors/Sears store, Irvine, CA on 9/28/08 and did receive a $65 delivery refund (after several phone calls to follow up because they said the original store receipt was too light to read, but I could read my photocopy) but not the GE Profile rebate for buying 3 GE products. I mailed the rebate form without serial numbers because they were not delivered until 11/22/08 (remodeling a new home, not moved in yet) which the form says is fine as long as you mail before the deadline. I mailed the rebate forms with serial numbers on 1/26/09. On 3/14/09 I followed up and after an hour holding and speaking to several different people, a supervisor 'Eric' said he would expedite my refund check so I would receive by 4/25/09. He said they had the serial numbers and read them off to me. Today, 5/15/09, I called the 'higher' rebate level phone # for rebates mailed before 11/08 and Sears could not even find the 3 GE appliances I purchased. After speaking to 2 people, I was transferred to the regular 'lowever level' Sears rebate line to find the rebate. Brett said he could not find any rebate and would ask the 'higher' level rebate center to investigate and they should know what the problem is within 7-10 days. He took my phone number but said to call if I don't hear anything. He said to call the 'higher' level I originally called today to follow up.
    Stay tuned...this is ridiculous!
    Dana, Tustin, CA

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    MAD AS HELL!!! May 02, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Suffice it to say that Sears intentionally and systematically offers home delivery and installation rebates that they do not honor. Isn't this a fraudulent business practice? Many roadblocks are thrown up around the rebate application process that are frustrating and humiliating. This is my 3rd experience jumping through the "on-line and telephone" hoops to try and get a resolution. My daughter is dealing with the same problems re: "free home delivery and installation" of a gas range purchased in Nov. for Thanksgiving. WHERE ARE THE LAWS PROTECTING CONSUMERS FROM THESE "BAIT AND SWITCH" GREEDY & PREDATORY PRACTICES??? Since our politicians are bought and paid for by major corporations, forget contacting them. The media scrambles for advertisings dollars and have decimated consumer fraud reporting...guess we'll all have to come together and boycott these @#$$%$#@ one day...SURE WE WILL!!! A BUNCH OF DOCILE SHEEP BEING FLEECED AND ACCEPTING IT WITHOUT EVEN A "BAAAAA!"

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    Jay Rock Apr 30, 2009

    We are getting the run around from Sears over a $56 rebate on Michelin tires. They mailed our check to an old address, then waiting another 4 months to contact us and resend the check. by the time it got to us, it was expired, which we did not know until it bounced at out bank and created a $15 fee.

    I e-mailed Sears customer relation who advised me to call the customer service department. I did and spent 30 minutes on the phone with an agent who could find no record of my rebate check. She conferenced me in with their rebate department but the rep there claimed his group did not handle that rebate program. Then I was disconnected.

    I e-mailed customer relations again and they gave me the number of the rebate center. I have called it 3 times and gotten a busy signal each time.

    When Sears goes out of business I will do the happy dance. They suck.

    1 Votes
  • Gr
    greg Apr 30, 2009

    I purchased 3 appliances to qualify for the 20% off rebate #H090029 and lo and behold, the rebate center somehow received a purchase date of 1/12/2009 despite the fact that I ordered it on 1/09/2009 and sears.com confirms that date. The rebate expires on 1/10/2009 and there is of course nothing they can do on the rebate side about the incorrect date and sears.com wont help me either so it appears I am SOL. Similar to other people on here I would have purchased elsewhere had I known the rebate wouldnt go thru for some asinine reason. Anyone who still has a chance though, I recommend calling the [protected] number as close to 8am eastern as possible, you can generally get an agent right away or within a few minutes. Anytime after that during the day the hold times are ridiculous.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Mary Apr 06, 2009

    Matt, I am having the exact same experience. Submitted rebate request 1-16-09 after purchasing a new fridge 1-11-09 (was told to wait until after delivery, since it is a delivery charge rebate). Checked online over and over. Status was always "processing rebate request" - until today, when I got the same message you did about "record does not match". Spoke with a Sears CS rep who researched it and confirmed that the records certainly DO match and there's no reason for the rebate to be denied. Their rebates are handled by a contractor called Ohana Companies, whose toll-free number [protected]) gets you nothing but eternal hold with a message asking you to call back during non-peak hours (whenever those are).

    So they keep my money, collect interest on it, and force me to use valuable (i.e. BILLABLE) time on the phone trying to correct THEIR mistakes.

    I didn't even make them hual away the old fridge - I recycled that through a local agency that works with the power company. I received THAT rebate in less than 3 weeks!

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Matt Apr 02, 2009

    How did you make out Lynne? We purchased a new oven and dishwasher for a little over $3000 in Dec of 2008 under the assumption of a 15% rebate. I submitted my rebate within 10 days of the purchase and I keep checking up on the status of my rebate, but nothing has changed. Today I checked and see this status "Record does not match after 5 days of searching". This is ridiculous and I'm wondering if I should go to the store and demand someone come pick up my appliances as well. The company I work offers employees access to the GE store where we can buy appliances at reduced prices. I almost bought my appliances from there, but similar appliances at Sears where cheaper when the rebate was factored into the cost. This is a complete scam and I wonder if anyone has contacted the better business bureau about this!

    0 Votes
  • Ly
    Lynne Mar 27, 2009

    On hold with the second Sears Rebate Center and then I'm off to the store to demand they pick up the refridgerator and refund all of my money! This is a complete joke. We will no longer shop at Sears or Kmart!

    0 Votes
  • Fa
    Father Frank Ivey Nov 13, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    The on-line rebate center is unable to find my rebate or its form. I have a copy of the Rebate Form (#H080004) with a start date of 11/06/08, an end date of 11/21/08, and a postmark date of 12/21/08.
    It is for a $75.00 max. rebate value for free delivery on a Kenmore Top-Mount Refrigerator.

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    Judy Green Nov 04, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Been waiting for $100.00 rebate on generator. Had to resubmit for a third time several weeks ago, with the paperwork correct all three times. Rebate center says something is missing. Excuses...I won't buy from Sears again with a rebate.

    -1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.