Menu
Register
Write a review File a complaint
CB Department Stores Sears ridiculous way to credit consumers
Sears

Sears review: ridiculous way to credit consumers 47

T
Author of the review
12:00 am EDT
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

Sears employs a classic bait and switch with its purported "rebate" enticement for large appliances, which it runs several times per year. It offers 10% off one appliance, 20% off two appliances, and 30% off three or more appliances over $399 in value. But the incentive is nowhere near as good as it sounds because soon after you sign on the dotted line, the friendly folks at Sears disclaim any knowledge of, or connection to, your rebate. Instead, you are directed to the Sears Rebate Center, which either intentionally or incompetently mismanages the rebate process, taking no action on the rebate for at least eight weeks while Sears holds your money and earns interest on your savings.

The Sears Rebate Center employees will cheerfully inform you that "it takes 6 to 8 weeks to process your rebate application" as if that is a perfectly reasonable amount of time to log something into a computer. Then after six weeks of "processing" the application (which any mechanized system with a handful of staffers could do in a single day), Sears then takes "up to 30 days" to mail the check to you because the company inexplicably chooses to send the check via third class mail.

Nothing makes a customer feel so appreciated as when a Fortune 100 company sends rebate checks via third class mail. Rest assured, the billing statement for the full price of your appliances will be "processed" in less than two weeks and mailed via first class mail so that you will have to bear the entire brunt of the cost of these appliances for weeks before your money is returned to you. Sears should be ashamed of itself. Rebates are a ridiculous way to credit consumers for sale prices on appliances and the money should be taken off at the cash register as it is at Best Buy, Home Depot and Lowes.

T. Manganello.

More Sears reviews & complaints

Sears - customer service department 972
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company left an official comment to this complaint.
Sears - Poor quality product! 158
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company left an official comment to this complaint.
Sears - Terrible company! 187
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company left an official comment to this complaint.
Sears - Dept of energy agreement does not compensate me properly 85
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company left an official comment to this complaint.
Sears - it should be named the die easy battery 39
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company left an official comment to this complaint.
Sears - buyer beware/contracts changed 1
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company left an official comment to this complaint.
47 comments
Add a comment
L
L
Linda Gualandi
Aug 05, 2007 1:48 pm EDT

We have been waiting for a rebate since our purchase of a $597 gas grill from Sears on [protected]. I looked up the rebate online and the tracking said it was mailed on July 17. They told me it was mailed to the wrong address and they couldn't send another check until at least August 2. They said to call back if I hadn't received it by then. I still haven't received the check so I am making a complaint since they said it was sent on the 17th of July. I am loosing faith in Sears due to their very very poor rebate processing. I had to have all sorts of info to mail in to them and prove who I was with MY CORRECT ADDRESS. So then they screw it up anyway? Who is running the show there? Get rid of incompetent help or else there will be no people shopping with you Sears...

D
D
DENNIS P. McHENRY
Aug 14, 2007 3:03 pm EDT

On 05/10/07, I purchased four Appliances that was over $399 each, for a total of almost $7000, where I was supposed to get 20% back on Rebate which totals to almost $1500. I sent the rebate forms in on 5/11/07. When I went to check with the rebate center in June, they stated that they show no record of receiving it and that I need to re-send it to the Special handling dept in America, MN. I sent it certified mail return receipt. When I call the rebate center they still indicate no record. I have also emailed America Rebates with no response back. The Salesman at sears has even faxed the necessary papers and we still get negative results. I think Sears needs to investigate this Rebate Company as it appears to me that they are pocketing the big money rather than sending it to the Consumer. It is now August 2007 and still nothing positive. This is quite aggravating to say the least. If I had known that we were not going to get this 20% discount, I would have never spent so much at Sears.

Can someone give some advice on what else I can do to get my Rebate?

K
K
Kristen Satre
Oct 16, 2007 10:36 am EDT

I am absolutely livid at the Sears Rebate Center. In late August, 2007, we purchased a microwave, dishwasher and range from Sears, with the promise of a rebate that should have come to about $500. Just yesterday, we received a letter from Sears saying that our rebate was DENIED because their "records show that we returned or exchanged the merchandise", which, by the way, never happened. When I called to explain that they had apparently received some misinformation, I was told that we had probably changed our minds on the color or something like that and I had just forgotten. Excuse me? I think I would know if I exchanged the merchandise! I informed them that no return or exchange had ever taken place and asked that they call the Sears store to clear it up. I was told that they can't make outbound calls, so I asked for a Supervisor.

"Sylvia" was the worst "supervisor" I have ever dealt with. She was condescending, rude, and refused to help. She even, yet again, suggested that maybe I exchanged them and didn't remember. When I said I would like her to call the Sears store and clear the matter up on my behalf, she informed me that she is in Rebates - NOT Customer Service. When I asked who her supervisor was, she informed me that his name is Anthony and he is a Manager, but that I would not be allowed to speak with him. When I tried to ask why, she promptly hung up on me.

Sears should be ashamed of themselves for employing such ignorant, unhelpful employees. They should also add something to their training program to make sure that all of their employees know that if they deal with the customer in ANY way, they ARE in customer service, even if they don't want to acknowledge it. Right now, I am sitting here wondering if I'll ever see my money at all. They obviously have some kind of scam going where they try to falsely deny rebates and then pocket the money. I am now in the market for a new refrigerator to match the new appliances I bought (and didn't return) from Sears. Guess where I won't be buying it from?

T
T
Teri Ourada
Oct 24, 2007 6:55 am EDT

I am still waiting for my rebate check for 882 dollars as well. The rebate center received my information at the beginning of June and it is now October. I was told if I didn't receive my check after 30 days to call so a stop could be placed and a check reissued. 2 days later the check came but could not be deposited. WEEKS passed by and no change on the rebate status online. I called and raised a stink and finally an update showed on the computer. The check was mailed out on September 18th... we are now at day 36 with no check. When I spoke with Delores, one of the supervisors she told me my address could be incorrect, there could have been a storm, or the mail truck could've been in an accident. They didn't know. I laughed at her and told her that her excuses were utterly ridiculous. A check being sent from Minnesota does not take over thirty days to get to North Carolina! I can send a package overseas to a person in a war zone and they can get it in less time. I do think there are some suspicious practices going on... holding the money to gain more interest and unusual reasons for denying people their rebates. I would encourage you all to do the same thing I am...I am writing the Chicago newspapers in hopes that someone in authority will see the letter and respond. I am so livid I am ready to purchase a ban sears t-shirt and sit outside their store at the mall! I am writing to any venue I possibly can to warn fellow consumers. Don't waste your time with the rebate center or customer service... they are a waste of time.

D
D
Dawn Gnandt
Mar 30, 2008 1:48 pm EDT

I went online to find a homebase job, this looked good, come to find out that it was a scam. I had waited for my 5 minute E-mail, and when I didn't receive it I started to worry. I went to rip off rebates and found out that there were many other people who were also scammed by this same coompany.

R
R
R. Myers
May 29, 2008 6:03 am EDT

Sure wish I'd checked this website before we made our purchase! Here's a letter I sent to a senior executive six weeks ago; no response.

Mr. Mike McCarthy
Senior Vice President, Retail Operations
Sears, Roebuck and Co.
3333 Beverly Rd.
Hoffman Estates, IL 60179

Dear Mr. McCarthy:

I write to you because the people in your rebate program are either terminally incompetent or guilty of outright fraud.

My wife and I made an online purchase of a Sears washer/dryer combination on January 31, paying careful attention to the parameters of the rebate program then in effect and following the instructions and advice of several of your employees with whom we spoke by telephone regarding the rebate process. Now we are informed that our application is "invalid" for reasons that are untrue and ludicrous on their face (see enclosed copy of rejection notice).

Calling your rebate center is pointless, since your employees there seem to be under instructions to say "no" to every request and dismiss every appeal for rationality. To add insult to injury, when we asked to speak to a manager, we were put on hold for ten minutes or so, only to be cut off; that has happened twice, so it's no accident.

There was an exception, however: On March 4, I spoke with someone who identified herself as "Angelica." She said your rebate online system was down and we would need to mail the application form. When I expressed concern regarding the "postmark date" requirement, she said the promotion was good till June 30 and advised me to mail it in anyway. If the application should be denied, she said, we should call the rebate center and they'll "put it through themselves." I took careful notes of that conversation, but now we are unable to reach "Angelica, " much less get satisfaction from any other rebate center employee.

We are not trying to bilk Sears & Roebuck out of 300 dollars, Mr. McCarthy; we simply want what was promised to us when we made our purchase.

We will be happy to answer any questions you might have about this matter, but we expect you to take appropriate steps to ensure our satisfaction and uphold the integrity of your company."

A
A
Arlene Brown
Sep 22, 2008 10:43 am EDT

I purchase a washing machine Friday September 19, 2008. So far I have been unable to get the rebate form processed on-line. I can't get the processing center to take my information. I wish I had read the rebate comments before I made my purchase. I would not have made my purchase there.

J
J
Judy Green
Nov 04, 2008 3:36 pm EST

Been waiting for $100.00 rebate on generator. Had to resubmit for a third time several weeks ago, with the paperwork correct all three times. Rebate center says something is missing. Excuses...I won't buy from Sears again with a rebate.

F
F
Father Frank Ivey
Nov 13, 2008 7:07 am EST

The on-line rebate center is unable to find my rebate or its form. I have a copy of the Rebate Form (#H080004) with a start date of 11/06/08, an end date of 11/21/08, and a postmark date of 12/21/08.
It is for a $75.00 max. rebate value for free delivery on a Kenmore Top-Mount Refrigerator.

L
L
Lynne
AM, US
Mar 27, 2009 1:32 pm EDT

On hold with the second Sears Rebate Center and then I'm off to the store to demand they pick up the refridgerator and refund all of my money! This is a complete joke. We will no longer shop at Sears or Kmart!

M
M
Matt
Westminster, US
Apr 02, 2009 5:39 am EDT

How did you make out Lynne? We purchased a new oven and dishwasher for a little over $3000 in Dec of 2008 under the assumption of a 15% rebate. I submitted my rebate within 10 days of the purchase and I keep checking up on the status of my rebate, but nothing has changed. Today I checked and see this status "Record does not match after 5 days of searching". This is ridiculous and I'm wondering if I should go to the store and demand someone come pick up my appliances as well. The company I work offers employees access to the GE store where we can buy appliances at reduced prices. I almost bought my appliances from there, but similar appliances at Sears where cheaper when the rebate was factored into the cost. This is a complete scam and I wonder if anyone has contacted the better business bureau about this!

M
M
Mary
Fallbrook, US
Apr 06, 2009 6:59 pm EDT

Matt, I am having the exact same experience. Submitted rebate request 1-16-09 after purchasing a new fridge 1-11-09 (was told to wait until after delivery, since it is a delivery charge rebate). Checked online over and over. Status was always "processing rebate request" - until today, when I got the same message you did about "record does not match". Spoke with a Sears CS rep who researched it and confirmed that the records certainly DO match and there's no reason for the rebate to be denied. Their rebates are handled by a contractor called Ohana Companies, whose toll-free number [protected]) gets you nothing but eternal hold with a message asking you to call back during non-peak hours (whenever those are).

So they keep my money, collect interest on it, and force me to use valuable (i.e. BILLABLE) time on the phone trying to correct THEIR mistakes.

I didn't even make them hual away the old fridge - I recycled that through a local agency that works with the power company. I received THAT rebate in less than 3 weeks!

G
G
greg
US
Apr 30, 2009 11:51 am EDT

I purchased 3 appliances to qualify for the 20% off rebate #H090029 and lo and behold, the rebate center somehow received a purchase date of 1/12/2009 despite the fact that I ordered it on 1/09/2009 and sears.com confirms that date. The rebate expires on 1/10/2009 and there is of course nothing they can do on the rebate side about the incorrect date and sears.com wont help me either so it appears I am SOL. Similar to other people on here I would have purchased elsewhere had I known the rebate wouldnt go thru for some asinine reason. Anyone who still has a chance though, I recommend calling the [protected] number as close to 8am eastern as possible, you can generally get an agent right away or within a few minutes. Anytime after that during the day the hold times are ridiculous.

J
J
Jay Rock
Huntsville, US
Apr 30, 2009 3:47 pm EDT

We are getting the run around from Sears over a $56 rebate on Michelin tires. They mailed our check to an old address, then waiting another 4 months to contact us and resend the check. by the time it got to us, it was expired, which we did not know until it bounced at out bank and created a $15 fee.

I e-mailed Sears customer relation who advised me to call the customer service department. I did and spent 30 minutes on the phone with an agent who could find no record of my rebate check. She conferenced me in with their rebate department but the rep there claimed his group did not handle that rebate program. Then I was disconnected.

I e-mailed customer relations again and they gave me the number of the rebate center. I have called it 3 times and gotten a busy signal each time.

When Sears goes out of business I will do the happy dance. They suck.

M
M
MAD AS HELL!!!
Los Angeles, US
May 02, 2009 11:44 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Suffice it to say that Sears intentionally and systematically offers home delivery and installation rebates that they do not honor. Isn't this a fraudulent business practice? Many roadblocks are thrown up around the rebate application process that are frustrating and humiliating. This is my 3rd experience jumping through the "on-line and telephone" hoops to try and get a resolution. My daughter is dealing with the same problems re: "free home delivery and installation" of a gas range purchased in Nov. for Thanksgiving. WHERE ARE THE LAWS PROTECTING CONSUMERS FROM THESE "BAIT AND SWITCH" GREEDY & PREDATORY PRACTICES? Since our politicians are bought and paid for by major corporations, forget contacting them. The media scrambles for advertisings dollars and have decimated consumer fraud reporting...guess we'll all have to come together and boycott these @#$$%$#@ one day...SURE WE WILL! A BUNCH OF DOCILE SHEEP BEING FLEECED AND ACCEPTING IT WITHOUT EVEN A "BAAAAA!"

D
D
Dana
TUSTIN, US
May 15, 2009 1:31 pm EDT

I purchased a microwave, warming oven, refrigerator and dishwasher at The Great Indoors/Sears store, Irvine, CA on 9/28/08 and did receive a $65 delivery refund (after several phone calls to follow up because they said the original store receipt was too light to read, but I could read my photocopy) but not the GE Profile rebate for buying 3 GE products. I mailed the rebate form without serial numbers because they were not delivered until 11/22/08 (remodeling a new home, not moved in yet) which the form says is fine as long as you mail before the deadline. I mailed the rebate forms with serial numbers on 1/26/09. On 3/14/09 I followed up and after an hour holding and speaking to several different people, a supervisor 'Eric' said he would expedite my refund check so I would receive by 4/25/09. He said they had the serial numbers and read them off to me. Today, 5/15/09, I called the 'higher' rebate level phone # for rebates mailed before 11/08 and Sears could not even find the 3 GE appliances I purchased. After speaking to 2 people, I was transferred to the regular 'lowever level' Sears rebate line to find the rebate. Brett said he could not find any rebate and would ask the 'higher' level rebate center to investigate and they should know what the problem is within 7-10 days. He took my phone number but said to call if I don't hear anything. He said to call the 'higher' level I originally called today to follow up.
Stay tuned...this is ridiculous!
Dana, Tustin, CA

M
M
MAD AS HELL!!!
Los Angeles, US
May 15, 2009 1:59 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Welcome to my world! Been there, done that as mentioned above. NOW, try filing a complaint with the Ca. consumers ? located on the Attorney General's site if you think Sear's "jump through the hoops" process is bad. Their on-line form is horrific and I doubt that they have more than 3 to 5 people on staff for the whole state. Let's face it, we;re like those fish on Discovery channel that circle into a ball while the predators dart in and out feeding on the ones most accessable. A National Consumers Protection Act is needed and a special unit to enforce it. Don't hold your breath. BUT WAIT...WHAT ABOUT A CA. PROPISITON THAT WE COULD VOTE IN TO CREATE AN INDEPENDENT COMMISIION IN OUR STATE AT LEAST? UUMMMMM! By the way, Google Sears and learn that Sears is really a holding company more interested in finance than consumer merchandise. You do know they sold out to KMART>>>>RIGHT? AMERICAN CORPORATIONS ARE INHERENTLY GREEDY AND EVIL!

N
N
Nghia
Wichita, US
Jun 10, 2009 2:03 pm EDT

I made a purchase of a mower and a bagger almost 2 months ago. I submitted online a rebate request (for %5 on purchases of Lawn and Garden equipment of $299 or more). About a week later I received an email from the Rebate Center saying that the receipt/salescheck could not be found although the information that I entered has been carefully verified several times to be correct. I called in and talked with a Rep. She asked to check back after 31 days, from the day of purchase, for the purchase receipt to be validated. So, the 31st day went by and I checked back with them. They then said I needed to fax in the rebate offer along with a copy of the receipt because the pricing on the receipt was somehow(?) messed up. And I did that. Two weeks later, just now, I called in and they said my submission does not meet the rebate requirement because the item (the bagger, first item on the purchase) was less than $299. How about the mower, which was $1435, that was purchased together with the bagger? I asked. He, Tom a Rebate Supervisor, employee #5226, said he did not see that on the system! Why other Reps saw the item [mower], but you don't? I asked. He said " don't know. Is there anything else that I can help you?". I wasted a lot of time talking with Sears Rebate Center Reps, but still don't get the rebate that they advertised for. I think this is a fraud.

R
R
richard perry
US
Jun 21, 2009 2:42 pm EDT

I purchased a washer from Sears in Hyannis, MA on 4/27/09 and applied for the $75 delivery rebate on line on 5/2. The only response in almost 2 months has been to have my email flooded with Sears ads. When I go on line to check the status I am informed that I am unqualified as they cannot find my receipt. It is clear to me this is a scam intended to maximize their profits (but while making enemies of its customers). I will never buy from Sears again. I plan to make a consumer demand under Mass. Consumer Protection Act and sue in small claims if my demand is not satisfied within 30 days.
richard Perry

D
D
DadDog
Eden Prairie, US
Jun 27, 2009 2:12 pm EDT

Yesterday I bought a new Kenmore dryer at Sears and was given the rebate form to recover the cost of delivery of the new unit ($65) and haul-away of the old ($10). When I got home I looked at the form only to discover it is not a true rebate of cash, but instead comes in the form of a store credit. I returned to the store and confirmed that was indeed the case, and that the change from cash to store credit happened about 3 weeks ago, so the beginning of June, 2009. The manager was called and I talked with him, but he said it was out of his hands. I asked to cancel the delivery and have my account credited for a full refund, but he couldn't do that either. I had to call the 800# of the delivery outfit to "cancel delivery with refund." So, Sears customers be aware: the salesperson will tell you the delivery and haul-away costs will be rebated to you, but he won't tell you the rebate will be in the form of a store credit.

S
S
SearsRebatesAreaFarce
lexington, US
Jun 29, 2009 12:05 pm EDT

I bought a TV on January 5th online using my Sears credit card. It's the same story as all those above - first they said I had to wait past the return period, then in April the online form said my record did not match, so they fixed that, and now in June the Sears Rebate Center claims there never was a rebate at that time, and unless I can prove otherwise, my rebate is denied.

I canceled my Sears credit card. I will never buy from Sears again. Potential customers - be warned.

S
S
stoverebatescam
San Jose, US
Jul 05, 2009 12:04 pm EDT

Those of you who have managed to speak to a person on the telephone--what number did you call? I can only get the online email form. My story is much the same as many of you--my claim was denied twice, and then after an angry email (since I could find no phone number) it was "magically" approved, but I am still awaiting payment (which, according to the website, was mailed on "01/01/0001"). Perhaps the issue is that it was sent third-class mail?

Has anyone contacted an attorney to see if we have grounds for a lawsuit? It seems to me that Sears is hoping consumers will just give up on their rebates, or if they are contracting with a company that the company is doing the same. I am extremely frustrated and will not purchase more appliances from Sears.

C
C
Compl Sears
Muncie, US
Jul 07, 2009 1:43 pm EDT

I called [protected]. I am fully convinced the rebate center employs only those required to wear a helmet at all times. I called them most recently this morning. When speaking to a supervisor I was told they have issued my check 3 different times. I have even received confirmation emails saying my check has been mailed. While I understand the post office isn't the most efficient operation, there is no way they take upwards of 6 months to get mail to its destination, and continually lose mail. I received a $75 rebate card, but they have conveniently not processed my $202.64 payment. Sears and their rebate system is a complete joke. I like their products and prices, not their service after the purchase which is just as important in my eyes.

D
D
Debbie Coker
N. Charleston, US
Jul 17, 2009 7:31 pm EDT

After spending 7, 000 in Feb for three appliances, we will never do business with Sears again. Their rebate dept which I was told by Sears Consumers Solutions (yeah right) was a third party co and that Sears had no control of when the checks were sent out. Well Sears may want to do something about this third party co, becuase it is costing them customers. I was told in June I would receive my 259.00 check in 3 weeks when I didn't receive it I called back and they told me it would be another three weeks. Aug will make 6 months. We are getting ready to purchase a 55 in LED television and a washer and dryer and it will not be from Sears.

K
K
ken c
Alhambra, US
Jul 17, 2009 11:55 pm EDT

On March 29, 2009, I purchased a stove at Sears in Pasadena, California. The salesperson who helped me was Jeana. She even guided me on how to submit my rebate on the internet.

This morning, I called the rebate center [protected]) to check the status of my rebate, since the status page on the website still shows "in process" - yes, after 4 months later, nothing has changed. I was told I was not qualified because I did not meet the purchased price of $399. Why didn't they tell me this earlier?!?

First of all, Jeana said I was eligible for this rebate. Why would she bother guiding me in submitting the rebate in the first place? I guess they do anything to gain a sale, giving me fault information on a rebate I will never get back. Second, they didn't give me a rebate form. It looks like Sears doesn't want the consumer to know what's the qualifications - the terms and condition. All you had to do is enter the numbers on the receipt and wait 6-8 weeks for a result. Sears knows the facts, they hope the consumer will forget about the rebate and not follow up after 6-8 weeks and get denied. In my case, they didn't even notify me, I had not contact them.

I've been a loyal Sears customer over the years and I feel betrayed. I am so mad right now. I will never shop at Sears again. This is indeed a bait and switch tactic.

I am going to send a letter to Mr. W. Bruce Johnson, the CEO of Sears. This kind of business is unacceptable. Anybody here try to seek legal action? We need a class-action suit against Sears!

S
S
szamprogno
US
Jul 28, 2009 4:11 pm EDT

I fell for the same trick. I've been waiting for almos a year. First they told me that what I sent them was illegible but they couldn't tell me what they were missing. I'm glad I kept copies of everything. I sent them the same thing again but this time certified. I haven't heard back from them but if they come up with any other excuse, I'm going straight to BBB.

S
S
stoverebatescam
San Jose, US
Aug 01, 2009 12:13 pm EDT

I finally found a contact that helped me. "Sears Cares" agents patrol the message boards on "my sears" and respond to complaints in an attempt to smooth over the bad pr generated by the contracted service provided by the rebate center. Doesn't make up for their horrible program, but at least I got my rebate.

Give it a try: searscares@searshc.com.

C
C
cjmartn
Bandera, US
Aug 24, 2009 3:37 pm EDT

Have been waiting for $71 gift card rebate since last Dec. Call rebate center every month. Answer always the same - "we're forwarding your request to the finance department". After many calls finally asked to talk to someone in finance but they tell me they can't let me do that. Last call was told card reissued on 25 July and I should receive it within 20 days. Here it is 24 Aug and no card!

L
L
Laima Uboniene
Brooklyn, US
Sep 12, 2009 10:11 am EDT

In May 2009 i bought a stove at Sears and in June Sears Rebate Centre sent me the check, but i never received.So i called theme and they did tell me, that check was cashed in on June 15/2009. So, please take a look at this meter and let me know who took my check. Sincerely

T
T
TERESA GARSTECKI
378 SCHOOL HOUSE LN., US
Sep 15, 2009 3:35 pm EDT

THIS HAPPENED TO US TO WHEN WE BOUGHT OUR FREEZER.WE HAVE JUST BOUGHT A STOVE AND I GUESS WE WILL BE GOING THRU THIS AGAIN.MAYBE THE BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU WOULD BE INTERESTED IN THIS.I THINK IF IT TAKES A LONG TIME FOR THIS REBATE I WILL BE DOING THIS.

R
R
Robert Jaubelli
Worcester, US
Sep 24, 2009 5:35 pm EDT

Evrything I read is true, but I saw them very late.I bought a Kenmore dishwasher at Sears which has on the top big notice it was under the rebate program.The salesperson confirmed that this dishwasher is on program.She gave to me all rebate forms and receipts and from July until now, end of September, I hoped for $75 check rebate.Three days ago I had an Email from that famous Sears Rebate Center which said for receipt# or other reasons they can't proceed this rebate.I replyed to the mesage and they called me back and gave a phone number to call.I did and the person I talked said they can't pay because the salesperson informed me wrong and that dishwasher wasn't on rebate program.So at the end she offered me a $25 gift check.I wasn't agree and asked her if Sears can spend that "gift" for qualifying its employees .Any way Sears emploees are very qualifyed at laying their consumers.Looks like they are trained for this.Please don't go to bay at Sears.Not me any more.

S
S
stoverebatescam
San Jose, US
Sep 30, 2009 11:52 am EDT

Contact Sears Cares and they will help you with the rebate. Not that I'm willing to go through it all again, but at least I FINALLY got mine thanks to them.

C
C
Carlos in Miami
Miami, US
Oct 02, 2009 10:00 am EDT

Yes, Sears is a company that I and my family have been buying from for over 30 years. But my last purchase of a $2, 200 GE Profile stove/range will probably be my last purchase from them. I don't appreciate being lied to! The salesman at the Hialeah location in Miami told us that our purchase qualified for a $150.00 rebate. We carefully filled out the paperwork and submitted it. Only to get a post card back 4 months later saying; "We have analyzed your submission and have found that it does not match our sales data. As a result, your rebate submission is not eligible for a rebate payment at this time." And when you go to the rebate web site, www.mysearsrebate.com I got no where. I guess it's too much to ask that a big company like Sears treat their long time customers with respect. I will now by from Brandsmart, or Best Buy next time I need a big ticket item for my house.

X
X
Xaero Meng
Stanford, US
Oct 06, 2009 7:07 pm EDT

I made a purchase on 06/13/2009, which qualified for a $50 rebate card. However, I haven't received the rebate reward yet. I've contacted the Sears Rebate Center for several times. The first time, they said my rebate was on the way and I would receive it in 21 days. Then after one month, I contacted them again, and they cannot find my rebate info from their system. Last week, I called them again and they said they would contact me in about two business days. This the the email I received today:

"Unfortunately, we are unable to reissue you a Reward Card. You may have to contact Sears if you require further assistance."

I won't buy anything from Sears from now on.

S
S
stoverebatescam
San Jose, US
Oct 12, 2009 5:57 pm EDT

Carlos--I had your exact same experience. Call Sears Cares--they will get you your rebate. A pain, and doesn't make up for their horrible rebate process, but at least you won't be cheated out of your money! Email searscares@searshc.com .

X
X
Xaero Meng
Stanford, US
Dec 10, 2009 11:29 am EST

Update: I finally received the rewards card from Sears on Dec 9th, 2009. I have contacted their customer service for at least ten times during the past four months.

F
F
familyjohns
Santa Barbara, US
Jan 28, 2010 6:00 pm EST

No wonder Sears is having financial problems. Who wants to deal with a company that does this terrible rebate program. I have been waiting for months for our rebate. Their idiotic email responses tell us to wait 21 days for the mail. Mail across the country takes 4 days max! We have now waited over the 21 days and they still refuse to give us a supervisor or way to contact them by phone. NO WONDER! They would have so many irate customers on their phones. We are very disappointed and were pretty faithful Sears appliance buyers. We will definitely question our next purchase as this has left such a sour taste in our mouth.

G
G
Grumpier
Phoenix, US
May 17, 2010 6:42 pm EDT

I just want Sears to stop calling for survey and extended warranty sales ! [protected]

Stop !

G
G
Grumpier
Phoenix, US
May 17, 2010 6:53 pm EDT

We bought a new Kenmore washer / dryer set in 2009. The washer has been a problem. Water would not fill when starting a load in every cycle but delicate. Would switch cycles when filled. The dial does not align with cycles listed.

Repairman came and changed a water relay something-a-bob under warranty. Said he couldn't fix dial alignment.

These Kenmores are made by Whirlpool, who makes other brands. Junk ! You see Whirlpool, run !

A
A
AvoidSears
Bangor, US
Jun 03, 2010 2:35 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I have been waiting 6 months now for my rebate. I inquired several times only to get a generic response. They are now saying I do not qualify for rebate. They were promoting a sale with free delivery. We bought the appliance and Sears used a third party company in which we had to pay directly (not Sears), which costs us an additional $150 and no rebate! So what I thought was a good deal ended up costing us much more than expected. Bait and Switch! May be contacting the BBB.

  1. Sears Contacts

  2. Sears phone numbers
    +1 (847) 286-2500
    +1 (847) 286-2500
    Click up if you have successfully reached Sears by calling +1 (847) 286-2500 phone number 2 2 users reported that they have successfully reached Sears by calling +1 (847) 286-2500 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Sears by calling +1 (847) 286-2500 phone number 8 8 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Sears by calling +1 (847) 286-2500 phone number
    +1 (800) 665-2127
    +1 (800) 665-2127
    Click up if you have successfully reached Sears by calling +1 (800) 665-2127 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached Sears by calling +1 (800) 665-2127 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Sears by calling +1 (800) 665-2127 phone number 2 2 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Sears by calling +1 (800) 665-2127 phone number
    Sears Home Services
    +1 (866) 850-0518
    +1 (866) 850-0518
    Click up if you have successfully reached Sears by calling +1 (866) 850-0518 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached Sears by calling +1 (866) 850-0518 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Sears by calling +1 (866) 850-0518 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Sears by calling +1 (866) 850-0518 phone number
    New Orders
    +1 (877) 550-9254
    +1 (877) 550-9254
    Click up if you have successfully reached Sears by calling +1 (877) 550-9254 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached Sears by calling +1 (877) 550-9254 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Sears by calling +1 (877) 550-9254 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Sears by calling +1 (877) 550-9254 phone number
    Existing Orders
    More phone numbers
  3. Sears emails
  4. Sears address
    3333 Beverly Road, Hoffman Estates, Illinois, 60179, United States
  5. Sears social media
  6. Rachel
    Checked and verified by Rachel This contact information is personally checked and verified by the ComplaintsBoard representative. Learn more
    Jul 19, 2024
Sears Category
Sears is ranked 15 among 65 companies in the Department Stores category