Sears / Kenmore Elite Trio Refrigeratordefect in lighting

W
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

My husband and I purchased a Kenmore Elite Trio refrigerator in May of 2006. On Friday morning, August 29, 2008, I opened the refrigerator door and smelled something burning. When I touched a Mason jar containing tomato juice on the top shelf, the jar was extremely hot. A bowl next to it was likewise extremely hot, so much so that I couldn’t pick it up without using a potholder. In investigating further, I noticed that the light fixture cover was warped and the light fixture itself was burnt and scorched. I held in both of the door closure buttons and the lights would not go out. Concerned that the heat from the two 60-watt bulbs could cause a fire, I tried to remove the bulbs using a potholder to keep from getting burned. I was able to remove one of the bulbs but could only partially unscrew the second one due to expansion of the light socket caused by the extreme heat. We had to wait for the unit to cool down before the second bulb could be removed.

A month or so prior to this incident, my husband said the top of the freezer door was hot and questioned what may have been causing that. Apparently the lights in the freezer were staying on as well. Although we have had no further problems with the lights in the freezer, it is conceivable that it was caused by the same faulty components that are causing the hazardous condition with the lights in the refrigerator.
I contacted Sears and was told they are not aware of any problems with the lights in these refrigerators. I find that hard to believe since there are a multitude of postings on the internet regarding the lights in this refrigerator and numerous complaints have been filed with the Consumer Products Safety Commission. Sears’ suggested plan of action is to have a technician come out and apprise the situation, but I will be required to pay for the service call, which, I am told will be refunded up to $150.00. If Sears can refund the cost of a service call, then I am certain they can have a technician assess the damage without my having to pay up front. I fully intend to pursue this with a vehemence because someone’s home is going to burn down if something isn’t done about the defect in these refrigerators.

Responses

  • Li
    Linda0615 Feb 05, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I too am having the same exact issue as EVERYONE on this forum! It is now 11 years since purchasing my Kenmore Trio Model #795.[protected] and I just had the whole light compartment completely melt off the top of the fridge! The sockets are completely scorched and the white plastic casing is all melted. I have removed the light bulb contraption and only left the temperature mechanism inside the fridge until it gets repaired! I also called Sears and was being told I'd have to set up a service with a tech and pay $89 for a diagnostic fee, but I complained and asked if there was someone I could speak to regarding this FIRE HAZARD and that a RECALL should have been made for this! I mentioned I had read multiple incidents with the same situation and was told there is no recall for this model. I continued to insist on having someone to speak to about filing a complaint about this major fire hazard and that I did not want to spend money out of my pocket for something that is a manufacturer's defect. I was given an 800 number, which was wrong, it went to Whirlpool dishwasher department! I hung up and searched on the internet for Kenmore Customer Care/Products and found a number [protected]. The prompt asks whether you've purchased it at Sears/Kmart or other store, so I chose other store because I did not want to speak to a Sears person again, because they got my nowhere. A woman, Norma, answered and proceeded to ask for my model # and serial # and what the problem was. I explained the situation and that I needed to know about a recall or assistance with this serious matter. She set up a tech to come this Friday and did not mention any out-of-pocket costs to me. I will update on here once the tech has hopefully resolved this matter. I am worried, though, that they will just replace that one part, but what if it's the actual wiring inside the fridge that causes this malfunction? Hopefully that's not the case.
    Thanks to this forum hopefully no one else will have so many steps to take to fix this problem and hopefully something is done. I hope there is a class action lawsuit and people get compensated for these headaches! Shame on you Sears!

    Comments
    Comments
    Comments

    0 Votes
  • Ni
    Nickkoo Mar 20, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Same issue. It appears to be intermittent but too random to control. Food is hot. There should be some extended warranty given this is a defect. Has anyone seen a recall on this?

    0 Votes
  • Te
    Ted Ondatto Apr 08, 2015

    I have the same problem light bulb assembly in the upper portion of the Kenmore Elite Refrigerator Model number 795.[protected] did not turn off with the doors closed. The bulbs became extremely hot and melted the entire light fixture and top of the fridge itself. All the food on the top shelf was extremely hot. In order to remove the bulbs, an oven mitt was required. I am certain that this would have caused a house fire if not discovered. 

    This is an intermittent problem. I plugged the light assembly back in and shut the doors and the bulbs did once again turn off. 

    Looking online after this occurred I researched this issue online. This is a common problem with the model fridge. Individuals online have also indicated this is an intermittent problem.

    1 Votes
  • Ne
    NewnanGal Feb 14, 2015

    Purchased ours in 2006 and have had NO problems whatsoever with it other than replacing a broken drawer. Bought the extended warranty a couple of years ago and had regular checkup done in January for a door on the water filter that wouldn't stay closed. They said parts were no longer available so they gave me $2000 to replace it. It still works!!! The warranty was the best thing we ever did since we'll now get a fridge that can hold a 1 gallon bottle where this one never could. It was only a disappointment due to it's limited storage configuration.

    0 Votes
  • Js
    JSDColeman Jan 17, 2015

    So great to find this information. We had the plastic piece around the bulbs melt when the bulbs didn't turn off. All of our food was hot to the touch. Thank goodness we were home! We noticed a burning smell in the kitchen over Christmas break. It was this refrigerator...the bulbs would not turn off...the housing they were in is burned and we had to remove the burning hot bulbs to cool down the unit. Such a crazy fire hazard! Can't believe no recall. Thanks for all the numbers provided here! I will call them now.

    0 Votes
  • Ti
    Tim5 Oct 30, 2014

    Bottom line, if you are having this problem, call the [protected] number first and give them your model number.
    We have a Kenmore Elite we bought new in late 2007. Intermittently, we were having same problem this past year. On and off smells and hot bulbs. Finally noticed bulbs were on in the middle of the night last week. Took them out because of the burning around the plastic. Thankful no fire! Called Sears to schedule a service visit. The girl on the end of the line said we were not under warranty and she had never heard of this problem, but would charge me $95 dollars for a service visit. I explained I was reading on a Sears page this was a problem. She said there was no recall and wasn't interested in hearing about it. So, I call the [protected] number posted on this forum and after giving the representative the model number of my refrigerator, he said it was under recall warranty. The part has been ordered and once I receive the part to call them back to schedule the appointment at no charge. One would think those making service appointments at Sears might be educated in this obvious problem. Appreciate this forum and thankful it will be fixed soon.

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    morcegao Sep 16, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I had the same problem. I have a Kenmore Fridge 2006/09 model 795.[protected] I called today and after many transfers, I started to say that this is a Fire Hazard and I wanted to be covered by the service flash# 46-515R4. The last guy whom I talked to scheduled the maintenance to be done next week. Will see how that goes, in the meantime I have darkness in my fridge, better then set my house on fire because of "the brilliant idea of putting a simple light switch to be controlled by a electronic board". This should be just a wire with switch like old school stuff, would never fail.

    0 Votes
  • Cr
    craig turrentine Sep 03, 2014

    Model # [protected] Sept. 3rd 2014:
    I too have had the burning from the light staying on after closing the door. It melted the plastic lens and lens holder, I ordered the parts and replaced them myself and it's happening again. Does anyone have any satisfaction after there complaints?
    We don't feel that this is uncommon do to the same issues with so many people. Kenmore needs to recognize this problem and address it.
    I will be calling consumer reports, this is not right to pay for something of this value and get no response.
    Good luck to you all.


    Craig Turrentine

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Manny1331 Jul 21, 2014

    Strangely, my lights keep shorting out and only come on randomly now. I went looking for some help and ran into this forum. By reading this, I guess I'm lucky that my lights are out and not burning my fridge up! Thanks to all who have posted. [protected] is the recall line. I did not even have to give the Service Flash #. They just automatically looked in their system for recalls and are sending the parts out. Love me some interwebs!

    0 Votes
  • Rm
    rmglnz Jun 26, 2014

    June 26, 2014 Kenmore Elite refrigerator serial number 795.[protected] purchased from Sears Cerritos CA 2006. Both interior bulbs staying on and melted housing and increased temp inside. Called number jeepbear suggested [protected] and Danya on the other line went above and beyond her duties and located manager and service operator and found that there is a Service Flash 46-515R4 involved with this product. They ordered the parts to be delivered to my house and was given another number to call once it arrives to make an appointment for the service tech to come and fix the problem. Be persistent and respectful and insist to get a service number confirmation that it will be FREE OF CHARGE.
    I hope someone else stumbles unto this and be of help.

    0 Votes
  • Rc
    rclane Jun 25, 2014

    I am so thankful for this forum! My Kenmore Elite 795.[protected] (about 9 years old) did the exact same thing today. I called [protected] and provided model and serial number to Yvonne. She checked and stated that this model is one on the recall list. She said that she will order the repair kit and when we receive it to call and schedule the technician to come out and install. Will let you know if it happens!

    0 Votes
  • Mw
    mwodek Jun 17, 2014

    I was having the same issue with the light overheating & melting the housing...I kept calling the recall #[protected]. It depended on who I talked to, but now they are going to replace part#ABY72971502 at no cost to me. They ordered the part & are coming next week to replace it. The first person I talked to said it was under a recall, but I got disconnected. Called back & that person said there was no recall on my unit...so I kept calling to find a person that said it was covered. Good luck...we will see if it happens next week.

    0 Votes
  • Ji
    JimLees May 27, 2014

    Same Problem! Refrigerator light not shutting off and completely melting the plastic housing around it on May 25th, 2014. Unit was Mfrg. on feb. 2007. I need HELP in contacting someone in SEARS!. I started with phone call to [protected], was xtfer to [protected], then to [protected]. NO help! Then was given [protected], which is a Whirpool Microware recall number. Any suggestions?

    0 Votes
  • Kp
    KPE Jan 13, 2014

    I'm glad to hear someone was able to actually get their refrigerator repaired. I have had the same problem with the Kenmore Elite (Model # 795.[protected]) Refrigerator light not shutting off and completely melting the plastic housing around it on November 18, 2013. After doing some online research I called the Sears Product Resolution Line [protected] on November 19, 2013, and they told me to take out the light bulbs, leaving of course unsafe exposed light sockets until repairs could be made. Sears told me repairs would be made on December 5, 2013, but then canceled because the repair kit was on back order and unavailable. I have rescheduled another repair appointment for January 16, 2014, but the part is still on backorder and they are threatening to cancel the repair appointment until the backordered parts are made available. I asked Sears, Kenmore, and LG what my options are if the repair kit remains on backorder indefinitely and they said either wait for the parts or buy a new refrigerator at my own expense. I’ve looked online and it seems like the repair part has been on backorder since around June 2013. I confronted Sears and asked them how long this repair kit has been on backorder and unavailable and they say they don’t know. Sounds like Sears is avoiding doing repairs therefore willfully disregarding the safety of their consumers. I have been waiting over 53 days now to receive the repair kit and still waiting. This refrigerator lighting problem is a known safety hazard! However, Sears has told me the unit is safe as long as the lights are removed and to just wait for the repair which at this point may never happen if the repair kit remains on backorder. I think another class action lawsuit is in order for those consumers whose safety is continuing to be risked by Sears, LG, and Kenmore.

    0 Votes
  • Je
    jeepbear69 Oct 30, 2013

    UPDATE: My refrigerator has been completely repaired free of charge and is working properly! As of Oct. 7th, 2013, the repairman showed up as promised installed all the new parts that came a few days before and in about 15 minutes he was done and my fridge was back to normal and no more darkness inside. He replaced a circuit board and the entire light fixture and the new one looks better than the old one ever did. I am absolutely thrilled that I was able to get a repair done on such an old refrigerator. Thanks so much for all the information everyone posted on this site and I hope my post may help someone with the same issues in the future. This board just saved me about $2000.00 on a new refrigerator. Bless you all!
    Thanks again,
    Tony

    0 Votes
  • Je
    jeepbear69 Sep 30, 2013

    I am sure glad I found this list of information! I have the Kenmore Elite Model# 795.[protected], It was manufactured in June 2006. Now almost 8 years old and I'm the second owner and Saturday morning, I woke up around 7am and went to get something from the fridge to drink. When I opened the door, the plastic light bezel fell out onto the floor. It had fallen off before, so it didn't hit me until I opened a fresh gallon of milk bought the day before and immediately smelled that the milk had soured and then noticed that everything on the top shelf was extremely warm. Sure enough, my lights had been on all night with the doors closed. I got a dish towel and unscrewed the light bulbs enough that they went out and waited for them to cool before taking them out the rest of the way. I then went to my computer to look up the model number and found this list. I wrote down all the phone numbers listed and at first thought I was out of luck when I read that the Service Flash was only good for 3 years until I keep reading to the last post above. I went back to the fridge and wrote down the serial number and called the [protected] number. Being that it was Saturday, I didn't expect an answer, but a lady answered and told me her name was Evonna. I explained the story and told her about the service flash# 46-515R4. She asked me for the model and serial number, then took my address and phone number down and then she put me on hold to place the order for parts. When she returned to the line, she told me that I would receive the parts in 3 to 4 business days and told me that the first available opening for a technician to come out was October 7th and did I want the morning or afternoon time slot. I picked my time and she gave me a number of [protected] to call if the parts showed up earlier than the 7th, so I could contact the technician to see if they could come sooner. She was very polite throughout the entire conversation and before hanging up I asked if this was a common issue for this and she told me that they receive lots of calls on this model of refrigerator. I was totally in shock when I hung up the phone that I got someone to help me on the first try on a Saturday no less. I am now waiting for the parts to arrive and installation to happen and all at no cost to me according to Evonna. I am so happy that this post was so helpful. Thank all of you for posting your experiences and giving information to rectify the problem. Being on a fixed income, I am extremely lucky first off that it did not cause a fire and I caught it early enough and now it appears that it will be fixed free of charge. I am still amazed and looking forward to not having a dark fridge, I also learned that the freezer has a light that I didn't even know about because the bulb was burnt out. The internet is a wonderful tool for saving money not to mention mine and my families lives. I hope this information helps others to know that there is hope for getting your repairs made for free.
    Thanks again,
    Tony

    0 Votes
  • Fe
    Fernando K Elite Jul 31, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Thank God for internet!!!...I went thru the same deal with the smell of burning plastic and placing my camera phone inside the refrigerator to see if the interior lights were staying on and guess what? They did. Long story short, based on previous post, I called the number [protected]. The first day a lady answered and asked for model number, after entering model number on her terminal (I guess), she said call us tomorrow since my computer has a glitch right now. (I thought I was going to get the run-around). I called the following day and a different lade asked me for model #, serial # and told me that she would order parts for me and a technician would come to my house by Aug 15th. She added that if I received the parts soon I could call back the same number in order to have the technician come out earlier. Not bad after all. I have had this refrigerator since 2007 and other than this issue I had no other problems. I hope this helps someone else.
    Fernando.

    0 Votes
  • Wa
    Walter N Apr 26, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    LG model LFC25760TT French door refrigerator. Ice appeared on bottom of freezer below drawer due to water leaking from somewhere. Ice maker was turned off while this was happening. I have been told the drain was clogged. Anyone have experience with solving this issue? It happened a year ago... we defrosted and now it has happened again, so it appears to be a design issue that will be chronic.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    mahoneybee Feb 17, 2013

    I HATE cleaning this fridge worse than any I've ever owned in 40+ years! Gunk gets behind clear plastic parts that are not removable and it looks, and is, unsanitary. Would trade it in in a heartbeat.

    0 Votes
  • Hi
    HitTheTwit Nov 24, 2012

    Thanks to everyone for creating this wonderful info. We just smelled the terrible smell, and found that our bulbs wouldn't turn off either. A good way to test this is to put your phone into video camera mode and leave it on looking at the lights. This proved our theory quickly that the lights weren't turning off and were the source of the smell.
    I called the [protected] recommended earlier and the woman told me it wasn't covered. I told her the 46-515R4 service flash number and she told me she there was no recall on the device and that I could pay to have someone work on it. I said, "that is incorrect, I have seen multiple instances of this same issue occuring and the number I gave you will prove this. Please check your recall info and whatever else you need." She came back 5 seconds later and asked me to call [protected], still open tonight at 5:45est.

    I called them, and was immediately connected with a human. The human took my info, had me read off the model and serial number for the door, and then told me that a replacement part is in the mail to me. Service has been scheduled for a week from now, to give the package time to get here, and all this is free.
    Honestly, this fridge is 5 yrs old and I would have given up if not for this thread. Thank you to everyone for sharing this info.
    My summary of advice if the lights don't turn off for you: Call [protected], tell them you are having this issue, give them original customer and model info, and sit back and relax.

    Cheers!

    1 Votes
  • St
    SThomas01 Nov 06, 2012

    Thanks for all the great information! I have a Kenmore Elite Refrigerator, Model 795.[protected], built 04/07. We have never had a problem with it until last week when we experienced the same issues that everyone else has had (Bulbs overheating). I called [protected] and got the run around...I mentioned the Service Flash number and they acted like they had no idea what a Service Flash number was. The first time I called the lady said that all they could do was send out a tech for the $75 service fee. I told her "no thank you" and got off the phone with her and called back a few minutes later. I got a different person on the phone this time and he again said that he has never heard of a Service Flash. I was transfered 3 X before I got a very rude man on the phone who lied to me and said he was the same guy I was just talking to, but it was not the same guy. He then said "ill transfer you" and hung up on me.

    I called the [protected] that was mentioned in this forum and it is a recording that saysCongratulationsns! You won a free cruise" It tries to get you to push buttons to find out more about this free cruise before it hangs up on you!

    I called back the [protected] number and got a nice lady on the line this time. She again said she did not know what a Service Flash was, but offered to have a tech come out and diagnose the problem for a $75 service fee. She said that the tech would then determine it this was an issue that was covered under the Service Flash...Hmmmm...now it sounds like she knows what it is? I told her that they could send out the tech and he is scheduled tomorroworow (11/07/12). She also tried to sell me an extended warranty on this refrigerator for about $275.

    1 Votes
  • Sk
    skippyt Jun 29, 2012

    I have an Elite 795-[protected] that was purchased in 2006. I had replaced my plastic cover once and then put in CFL bulbs that don't heat up. I just found this posting, after searching quite a bit. Called the [protected] number and discussed my model of fridge and the issue I was having. I mentioned the Service Flash # 46-515R4 and guess what. They will have a service rep at my house next week to fix the problems. No cost to me. This is a common problem on the LG manufactured fridges that Sears sells. The repair involves the light houseing, wiring harness, cover and mother board. (The mother board has been redesigned to correct the problem.) If you are having the problem call. Also, I highly recommend using the CFL bulbs until it's fixed. They don't heat up. 6/28/2012

    0 Votes
  • Er
    Eric Hammond Sep 20, 2011

    Sears continues to fail!

    Since other people have posted that they have had success with this, I thought that I would try again. I called [protected] this morning and spoke to Gayle. I gave her my information and gave her the flash number, 46-515R4. She said the flash would only cover parts and labor. She mumbled something about it not covering things like travel. I said that I didn’t think I should have to pay for anything since this is a known problem. She put me on hold for a while. When she came back she told me they would not guarantee that there would not be a service charge and that was pretty much the end of our conversation.

    We have a Kenmore refrigerator, stove, and washing machine, all relatively new, and all have had significant problems. Like I said two years ago: Never again will I buy anything from Sears.

    0 Votes
  • Pd
    pdunlap93 Apr 17, 2011

    We have the same trio... about 2 years old... smelled something burning in the fridge and the light fixture was melted and so was the top of the fridge. Got one bulb out and the other broke in my hand. Disconnected the fixture completely from the fridge and I am trying to look on here to see what I should do next. Thank god we opened the fridge and smelled it burning before it caught on fire!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Mateo C Apr 14, 2011

    Kenmore Elite 795-[protected] Owned 4(?) years. Just found melted light fixture and melted butter in upper door bin. Guess I'll go after Sears too. 4/13/2011

    0 Votes
  • Bn
    bnrchild Apr 08, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I purchased an Elite Trio #795.[protected] in Dec. 2006. I returned the original refrigerator because the Ice machine was not working. It would take 2 days to produce one drop of the ice tray. I also had to have the seals replaced on the top 2 doors, I did this under warranty. Then before the year ran out I canceled my 3 year warranty so I wouldn't have to pay for it. Now the other day, like everyone else I opened my refrigerator and burned my hand on a jar then saw the upper light housing was melting. The top of my refrigerator is bubbled up and melting also. After 2 hours of calling Sears, and several numbers, I started searhing the net and found this web site. Thanks to all who posted. I called the number [protected] and talked to Ben, he was well aware of the problem and offered to have it fixed at no charge. He also said there are other service flashes concerning this Refrigerator, so when you call find out all of them. Ben told me they would repair all the service flashes when they come out. I'm scheduled for service on 04/13/11. I guess time will tell. There is no way to fix the ruined interior so it's hard to say what they will do about that.

    Comments

    0 Votes
  • Co
    ConsumerA Mar 21, 2011

    Thank you very much for this post. I had the same problem with my fridge. Without this post, I would not have gotten any action from Sears. I called several numbers and they all tried to get a technician to come out with a minimum $119 charge just to look at the problem. This number actually worked: [protected]. I mentioned the problem (and not even the Service Flash) and they were aware of the problem and said that there was an existing work order to get that fixed at no cost. Thanks!!

    1 Votes
  • Jr
    jrstreifel Feb 16, 2011

    I complained to the BBB in Chicago and within a few days got a response from Sears. They sent a tech and fixed the refrigerator free of charge and said that the elite was warrented for life for this problem. That's not what we got when we went through the normal channels to get the problem fixed. We had to use the Better Buisness bureau.

    0 Votes
  • Sj
    Sjhipso Dec 19, 2010

    We purchased a Kenmore Elite Trio refrigerator and had occasional issues with the light staying on but was told by Sears to watch it because sometimes the door doesn't get shut right. The other night everyone was asleep and I was headed to bed when I smelled something burning. I opened the refrigerator door and a puff of smoke came out. I smelled something burning. Everything on the top shelf was extremely hot to the touch and the sour cream lid was warped. I couldn’t pick it up items without using a potholder. I rushed to get my husband and we noticed that the light fixture cover was warped and the light fixture itself was burnt and scorched. I held in both of the door closure buttons and the lights would not go out. We tried to remove the bulbs using a potholder to keep from getting burned.
    My friends husband works for Sears and they have the same refridgerator and they have had the same problem including an issue with the ice maker.
    I am reporting this incident to the Consumer Product Safety Commission because upon investigation this is happening alot!

    0 Votes
  • Da
    dalamy Nov 21, 2010

    Called [protected] and mentioned Service Flash #46-515R4. We have a repair scheduled for Tuesday 10:00 am to 2:00 pm - NO charge! :O)

    0 Votes
  • Al
    Alfredo_99 Oct 07, 2010

    Just wanted all to know that this is still happening. Happened to me last night. Luckily, I noticed the burning smell prior to going to sleep. Thanks to all for continually reposting service flash #:SF46-515R4 and [protected].
    SEARS, ARE YOU LISTENING ???

    0 Votes
  • Je
    JenFlorida Oct 04, 2010

    Wow! Thank you to everyone for posting. I purchased my frig in Dec 2006 and last night had the same problem with the light. I was frantic. I can't imagine what could have happened had my child been home alone. So scary! Thanks to everyone's posts I was able to call [protected] provide the Service Flash # 46-515R4 and receive prompt attention. The rep even thanked me for being so helpful in providing the model and flash number. The tech will be here in 2 days and I've been assured there will be no charge to me. A positive result thanks to your posts.

    0 Votes
  • Cl
    clyinor Oct 01, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    RE: Kenmore Elite Model# 795.[protected], manufactured 06/07

    Just discovered the plastic light cover melting in my fridge about an hour ago. Called our local Sears almost in a panic because I couldn't move the thing to unplug it and the lights wouldn't go out. "Earliest we can get you a technician is Oct. 12" SERIOUSLY!! I'm terrified that I'm getting ready to have a fire!
    Called my husband in from work to move the fridge, unplug it, and then remove the light bulbs. Hopped on the internet to do some googling and found all y'all.
    Thank you so much for posting the 800 number and service flash number. I will repost those at the end of my comment.
    I still don't have a technician coming until the 12th, but at least I won't have to pay to have this "repair" done.

    In a nutshell:
    Get those light bulbs out of your fridge.
    Don't bother calling your local Sears.
    Call [protected]
    Tell them whats happening and give them Service Flash #:SF46-515R4

    0 Votes
  • In
    Investigator Galvan Sep 27, 2010

    I had the greatest experience calling [protected]. I spoke to a another guy named Wilbur and of course he didnt know anything about it but when I told him the Service Flash number he took a minute to do the research and viola! He found it. I have a tech coming out first thing in the morning. He confirmed this is a warranty for the life of the product and for future reference to tell others to ask the person assisting them to check the "LIS" on the model number. Along with the SF number it was enough and it was fast and easy. Thank goodness for technology (internet)...weird, were here complaining about technology using technology and then praising other technology for fixing the bad technology.

    Service Flash #:SF46-515R4

    0 Votes
  • Bo
    Bob and Sylvia Sep 23, 2010

    On Wed., Sept. 22, 2010 I opened the door to our Kenmore Elite bottom freezer refrigerator model 795.7730, 7731, 7724 and 7725 (not sure which one ours is) and found that the light had stayed on to the point of burning the housing and causing enought warmth to cook all the food stored on the top shelf and in the doors on both sides. Thanks so much for the informative postings above . I was able to talk with, someone using the toll free number above [protected] and the rep made out a customer safety report immediately. I received the service flash number - SF-46-515R4 and it was posted for the tech coming next week to make repair. Thank goodness we didn't have a fire - am happy that none of the rest of you had to deal with a fire as well. Appreciate all of your posts. We live in Northeast PA and had ordered this refrigerator model on line prior to moving here in 2007. This is the last SEARS product we will ever buy - and the on-line purchase isn't such a great idea either. There was no way to protect our purchases once the one year warranty expired. Thanks to the complaints board from us as well.

    0 Votes
  • Te
    TexasBrenda Aug 13, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hurrah! So glad to read how many are being helped by Sears now. Knowing who to call and what to say helps! I would like the thank the complaintsboard, too, for having this forum where people can share their story.

    0 Votes
  • Co
    coloradokenmoreowner Aug 13, 2010

    Thank you, Northtilley and TexasBrenda! We had the same problem - lights staying on when the doors were closed. Were were lucky enough to catch it in time and only lost a few items on the top shelf, but the casing around the light bulbs is burnt badly. We called Sears yesterday, BEFORE reading this board, to set up a service call and were told we would have a $75 service call fee, plus any repairs. Decided to do some research last night and came across this board. This morning I called the number provided by TexasBrenda and explained that we already had a service call set up and were told we would need to pay when we set up the call. Explained that I had done some research and found a service flash, provided them with the service flash number provided by Northtilley, and they added the service flash to the service call order. TADA! They said there would be NO CHARGE and asked me to call them if the technician gave us any problems. The call back to them took a total of 5 minutes! Thanks for the great info - you just saved us a few hundred bucks!

    0 Votes
  • Td
    Tdu2000 Aug 08, 2010

    Same problem with my Kenmore Elite Trio 795.[protected] (2007 model). Top lights stayed on and burnt the casing 2 weeks ago. Called [protected] and mentioned the service flash.

    The technician came out 2 days ago to replace the control board and light unit. That fixed light staying on problem, but it also introduced an ER FF error. I was told it is a different problem, which is not covered under the service flash. It is likely caused by a malfunction freezer fan.

    After the technician left, I took apart the freezer and tested both the ice maker fan and the evaporator fan. They worked fine. So I believe the issue is still with the control board. The problem is how to convince them so.

    Thanks everyone for the information.

    0 Votes
  • Sl
    slhallford Aug 04, 2010

    Without the help of this board, we would have been charged for the repair we had done today. Thank you SO much jennybrown for posting this information. If I had not had the new service flash number, the tech said it would have gone under the previous one which only covered 3 years from the purchase date.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Cheryl, Madison, Ct Aug 04, 2010

    I purchased my Kenmore Elite 795.[protected] in July 2006. I've had problems from the beginning. Shortly after I purchased it the motor in the freezer burned out. It took a repairman 2 weeks to come out and look at it and say "yep, it's broke" he had to order the part which took another 2 weeks. I've had issue with my dishwasher panel, stove, and washing machine. The other morning I noticed that the light in the refrigerator stayed on all night, all the food was very warm and spoiled. The plastic cover was melted and the light bulbs were so hot my husband had to use a kitchen towel to unscew the bulbs. When I called 188-4-my-home, I was transferred to 3 different departments then I was told they had no record of every having been to my house for repairs. I don't even know how to respond to something like that.

    Luckily I found this blog and called customer safety at [protected] to file a complaint. Then I called [protected] and spoke with Alan I used service flash # 46-515R4 and have a service person coming out on Aug 12 with no charge.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.