Sam's Clubscam

M
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

I ordered for B’day cake at SAMS Club for Sunday. Due to personal emergency I reached SAMS 10 minutes late. I spoke & requested to Store Manager named JOE to assist me, but he was so rude and not ready to even listen me & asked me to come back next day for pickup. Problem here is JOE was store manager but not concerned at all to help me out and asked me to go walmart. I don’t believe that they don’t have way to assist customer. This behavior was not acceptable from SAMS people & my daugther b’day was disaster!

Responses

  • Rd
    rdstore May 18, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Work in the area of a store and Saturday you still have the business first from 7:00am to 10:00am, I can understand mon thru fri, but the weekend and then you want more money for me to come and shop early with you. There is a problem and having hours like that on the weekend makes me wonder how anyone would want and continue shopping at your facilities. Time for me to take my money to another store where those types of restrictions are not in place ON THE WEEKEND.

    0 Votes
  • So
    Sohpoh Apr 11, 2013

    @JKLToy

    Can you help me too?

    I bought a laptop from Sams club on 1/31/13 and it was a display. It had problems from the get-go, but nothing too annoying until the other day. I closed the lid and next time I opened it the screen had apparently cracked?? And it was a small crack but the "ink" ended up spreading all over the screen over time. At this point the damage just keeps getting worse!

    I have been to the sams club I bought this from TWICE already trying to return it. The first time the "manger" literally YELLED at me to go away and that I dropped this and he will not take it back etc etc. I left thinking I will come back when this behemoth is not working to get a refund. I should mention, I still have like 20 days on my 90 day return policy.

    I went back today but- that manager guy told the store associates not to accept my return!! She also turned me away telling me the manufacturer will fix it- or give me a new one for free. I called and spent a good 30-40 minutes with "tech support" and the manufacturer to find out I will have to spend a LOT OF MONEY to get it fixed. She just said what she needed to to get me to leave.

    Oh no no no, this cannot be the way Sams club is treating a plus member who has spent thousands on thousands of dollars here EVERY MONTH. I used to supply my restaurant from here I am sure you can imagine the amount of money I have spent. And that is not even the issue, even if I bring them a broken laptop in pieces, they should still accept it if it is within 90 days with receipt. Am I wrong? The people at this club are so rude and keep saying since I didn't buy it with this defect I cannot return it with this defect, that since I "abused" it, they cannot accept it, and since it isn't restockable it is unreturnable, etc. What rubbish?!

    Please advise.

    0 Votes
  • Br
    bronxleda Mar 27, 2013

    I agree totally. I bought a computer from Sam's Club also. It was a display model. The store associate did unlock it and I put me in, but I later found all of the files on the computer were in the stores name and the associate's and further that all the free trials ect... were used up. The computer also had a tendency to to have all kinds of pop ups for porn sites, even while on e-bay. these Morts should not be allowed to do this to a computer. I had no choice but to do a full wipe and reset which takes an extremely long time.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Joseph Michael Nichols Oct 17, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    my vehicle was damaged in sams club parking lot after a bad storm several months ago in Gastonia N.C. The parking lot attendants left carts all over the lot while fleeing from the rain . My car received 1500.00 dollars in damages . A claim was submitted on site . sams club management and their insurance company reps. refuse to address this issue . All the insurance co needs to do is view the film from the cameras on top of the building .My car was damaged due to your attendants neglect . please can you do the right thing ? J mike

    0 Votes
  • Mr
    Mrknowitall Oct 18, 2011

    It is rude to be late and make demands to others because of your irresponsibility. I'm glad they put you in your place. This complaint only proves your immaturity. We need all businesses to put these selfish, immature selfish trailer trash in their place.

    0 Votes
  • St
    Still_Hopeful Jul 17, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Great advice, JKLTOy. Clear, specific.

    The Sam's environment sounds worse than a war zone, from what you describe re the managers & employees. Why is there such a bad attitude toward customers? Are mgrs & employees trained by HQ to act this way? Are mgrs paid commission by store sales volume? Are individual Sams stores franchises? (I've read each store/mgr can make their own rules).

    You should have an Insider Sams blog, lol. I'm sure it would be popular.

    ~~~~~~~~~

    0 Votes
  • Jk
    JKLTOy Mar 03, 2010

    I work at Sam's Club as an electronics associate.

    First things first: If the laptop was sold to you as a display, the password *should* be the Club #. Each club has a specific 4-digit club number - if you can find out the club number of the club that the laptop was purchased, there's a decent chance (assuming that the associates are following protocol) that that should work. That having been said, the fact that no one knows the password makes is, in my opinion, lame and beyond that, unacceptable.

    Secondly, and this is VERY important: as a member, you are entitled to a 90-day return policy on ALL electronics items. That is a company standard. Truth is, the managers at your club are in fact trying to pull wool over your eyes. They are telling you that the laptop is non-returnable / non-refundable because they would prefer it if YOU were responsible for the failed product. They'll get to keep your money and, in return, you'll get to keep your defective laptop. This is obviously wrong. Again, I work full-time at Sam's and have for years and I am telling you flatly that in addition to flat out lying to you, they are distorting company policy for profit at your expense.

    Here is what you MUST do if you really want to get your money back:

    1. If you are still within 90 days of your purchase, definitely call them ASAP and don't let them off the hook until you say to them that you are in fact aware of the 90-day return policy for all electronics and that they must honor it.

    2. If they still refuse, then I highly advise you to use the following tactic: Explain to them that they are defying company policy and that should they continue to refuse your refund that you will discuss the matter with the regional manager, as well as HOME OFFICE (this is code for corporate headquarters - managers will usually do just about anything to avoid member complaints directed to Home Office - remember this, I promise you that this threat is almost always very effective!)

    3. If it is now past 90 days, you can still threaten to contact Home Office with the understanding that the 90 days would not have elapsed had it not been for the intentional stalling tactics of the club managers - tactics that were being deliberately used to run out the clock, so to speak. Insist that had they actually followed the rules to begin with that the 90 days would not have elapsed. If they seem unmoved by this, threaten to expose them as the greedy liars that they are - threaten a call to Home Office as well as a consumer protection agency.

    4. If for some reason you don't have the receipt from your purchase, they will try to use this against you but please keep in mind that all purchases that members make are logged into a computer database. They can search your buying history - it takes only a few moments - so, with or without a receipt, the purchase of your laptop can still be proven through a quick search. So yeah, if your receipt is missing, don't sweat it and don't let them use it as a weapon against you. That having been said, without a receipt you will be forced to either exchange the laptop with another or they'll give you a Sam's Club gift card valued at the price of the return. You won't be able to get your money back without a receipt, but at the very least, they will still have to honor either an exchange or the issuance of a gift card, which is still better than nothing.

    5. Do not let them walk all over you. You must remain calm and assertive. Don't get angry with management, it won't do any good - if you remain cool-headed, firm, and persistent and if you make full use of the information that I've given to you here, then I am VERY VERY optimistic that you will in fact get the refund or exchange that you so rightly deserve.

    This advice goes out to anyone who shops at Sam's Club for electronics. As a member of Sam's Club, you have a number of safe-guards and privileges available to you - and while corrupt managers may attempt to hide these privileges from you, if you know your rights you'll be able to dish it back to those who would deny you!

    1 Votes
  • Xa
    XanD43 Jan 26, 2010

    We purchased a laptop at a Sam's 2 1/2 hours from our house. When we purchased the laptop they guaranteed if there was anything wrong with the laptop it would be returnable to any location. When we arrived home we found it to be password protected. We called and they didn't have the password. We asked if we could bring the laptop in to see what they could do. They told us that no matter what they would not return the computer. We asked to speak to the store manager. She said that it was not cost effective to return electronics and hung-up on us. We called corporate and they were of no help besides being able to file a formal complaint.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.