Menu
Register
Write a review File a complaint
Quest Diagnostics

Quest Diagnostics review: illegal balance billing 46

K
Author of the review
5:34 pm EST
Review updated:
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

Be careful about paying bills from Quest Diagnostics. Both my husband and myself have been "balance billed" by Quest for labwork. Quest is a preferred provider for both our insurance companies. Our insurance companies secure deep discounts from Quest for services (ex. insurance pays $30 when Quest billed for $310). Quest is not happy about this despite the fact that they freely enter into these contracts with the insurance companies when they agree to be preferred providers.

My insurance company has a co-insurance amount for labwork. My husbands does not, so he owes labs nothing for services provided. Quest first sent me a bill for the total amount they billed to the insurance company, and noted on their invoice that I was to remit a copy of my insurance company "explanation of benefits" if it showed I owed a lesser amount. I included the payment I owed per the explanation of benefits, and remitted a copy to Quest patient billing. At that time I thought my business with Quest was done.

Two weeks later I receive another bill from Quest. This bill showed my payment credited to my account, and a balance due for the difference between the entire amount billed and my payment. I called Quest and spoke to an extraordinarily rude individual who advised me to "just pay it" and when I asked to be transferred to customer service, she hung up on me. I called back and spoke to someone else who gave me a fax number and told me to fax a copy of my explanation of benefits to her. I did as I was instructed. My balance was not resolved after two weeks, so I called my insurance company. My insurance company advised me that Quest engaged in "balance billing" and that, after reviewing my records, I did not owe Quest anything other than what was indicated on the insurance explanation of benefits. My insurance company said they would contact Quest about the matter. A week later I received a letter from my insurance company stating that they sent Quest a copy of my explanation of benefits, and that they informed Quest that I owed only the amount per the explanation of benefits.

Today (two weeks later) I receive a letter from Quest advising me that my account is past due and they are going to send it to a collection agency. Their letter also informed me that "based on the explanation of benefits received from [my] insurance company, this balance is [my] responsibility". Funny how MY insurance company told me it wasn't. Guess my insurance company is trying to ruin my credit, huh? More likely Quest is trying to shake me down for the money. I am in the process of writing letters to Quest, my attorney, my insurance company, several news media agencies, my state representatives at the state and federal level, the New York State Health Insurance Department, and the New York State Attorney General's office. Quest has run afoul of the New York State AG before - see http://www.oag.state.ny.us/media_center/2003/jun/jun25a_03.html.

I can only quess that Quest engages in this highly illegal practice as it is so profitable for them. I have the education and the resources to fight this injustice. Quest must find that there are many people who will just fork over the money to avoid a hassle or because they fear collection agencies. Quest has tried to victimize the wrong person this time.

Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

More Quest Diagnostics reviews & complaints

Quest Diagnostics - false billing - scam! 12
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Quest Diagnostics - pediatric blood draw 4
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Quest Diagnostics - fraudulent billing 8
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Quest Diagnostics - overbilling uninsured 11
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
46 comments
Add a comment
R
R
RSL/sll
, US
Aug 30, 2022 9:52 pm EDT

My wife and I both continuously receive invoicing in tandem from quest for yearly routine bloodwork from December 2021. Each time we have to make the daunting phone calls to our insurance carrier BCBS. Each time the customer service agent calls Quest during our session. We receive the same story (verbatim), "The invoice has been taken care of but will take up to six weeks to clear the system. This will be the sixth time since Dec 2021 and we still have no satisfaction. I guessing the upcoming routine visit to Quest will result in a denial of services.

P
P
Pablitott
Dumfries, US
Aug 08, 2022 9:35 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Hi, my name is Pablo Trujillo and I have the same issue as you posted here with Quest Diagnostics, they are charging me even a service they never made, 3 months after the first service I got 4 bills over $1,200 for all pf them, when the insurance tells I $27 each. can you share the way you are facing this issue?

Thank you

L
L
Leslie Bell Willie
, US
Aug 05, 2022 12:32 pm EDT

Quest billed me 240 for a pap smear which is 100% covered by my insurance. I messaged several individuals via their website and kept records of the conversations. They had messed up my information completely. My insurance and I both called. They are supposed to re submit the claim. We will see.

S
S
SpecialPlaceInHellForCorporateScammers
Leavenworth, US
Apr 18, 2022 8:54 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I just finally got a grievance going through my insurance company today (April 18th 2022) after I dealt with Quest Diagnostic’s for a bill for $2878.64 that they said sent to my old insurance company Premera, back in October of 2021.

In October (for a July bill) I go “No Premera is my old insurance, you guys are billing the wrong one, my not so new one is Ambetter and has been since July 2020” then they keep sending different bill amounts every single month…that still has my old Premera insurance company on it. Different bills for different amounts (one even being $140 with no insurance company named) to try to get me going on a payment plan.

Then in January they finally sent me the same bill for $2878.64 with “most recent insurance claim filed to Ambetter” in January when in actuality they didn’t even send it to them until 2/28/22.

Judging by multiple claims being present on the same day it looks like I was double billed. So Ambetter covered the submitted request by my naturopathic who had to sent Quest my blood for the labs, but then Quest was trying to collect from me for some reason?

In February Quest then had the audacity to send the bill to collections in my name. I had to conference call them and Ambetter since Quest Diagnostics said my member ID didn’t exist so they couldn’t find me in Ambetters system (even though they had written it on the January bill). I was lucky I recorded the entire conversation and have it transcribed because this is seriously not okay.

Quest Diagnostic’s sent the bill to my insurance February 28th, 2022 AFTER they had spent 5 months trying to collect from me directly, and 2 months of it sitting in collections in my name as I’m looking for work….all after the same service billed from my doctor had been covered.

Can you say fraud? Sure they didn’t get money from me but the hours of time (were talking practically a part time job it felt like) is worth money. The time I spent going into further debt while dealing with this while also trying to find work is unacceptable.

They knew I was unemployed and was no longer receiving unemployment and could barely even pay bills….STILL they were trying to fraud me. There were a view convos I was in tears but they still they kept up the act, whatever it takes to get their money due to not filing it on time/double billing or whatever shady thing is going on here. The stress of thing and finding work together almost had me, I feel less like I’m drowning less today filing the grievance, but I’ll say my mental state severely suffered from Quests intentional scamming.

How do we get a class action lawsuit going? I’ve never sued in my life but this is a soul-less way to do business. Judging by a quick google search too it looks like it might not be the first time for them either. I’m sure there are others that may have been in similar situations to me and it was the thing that tipped them over the edge. This should not be happening to people ever, but especially to someone unemployed without unemployment insurance and still struggling to find work in the middle of this pandemic….

If a class action lawsuit does occur from all of this greedy deception, anyone with details please email me at saveonwforests@gmail.com

K
K
KatM1234
Pittsburgh, US
Apr 05, 2022 11:13 pm EDT

I'm currently going back and forth with Quest about a recent bill for some bloodwork. They are trying to bill me for "non-billable" work according to my insurance company. I do not have a copy of my invoice since they don't provide anything, just a balance due and a way to pay it. They are trying to bill me $500 for a service that my EOB is showing only $150 is due. When I first called Quest, they told me I had to reach out to my insurance company. My insurance immediately called Quest when I reached out, and said that they were trying to bill me for work that was "non-billable" per their contact. My insurance faxed over their contract and told me I should receive a new bill from Quest. I have not received that bill, and was jerked around via email when I reached out to Quest asking when I should get the new bill. At the moment, they are trying to say that my insurance denied part of the service and want another copy of my EOB. The insurance didn't deny anything, Quest just doesn't want to fulfill their portion of their contractual agreement and wants to get their money from their patients. I really hope I never have to use Quest ever again. Illegal business practices all around.

C
C
cokeefe
, US
Feb 04, 2022 12:59 am EST
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Reading all the comments here, I am really scared. At the time of my blood draw the woman doing the draw said I owed money so I thought I was paying her $84.00 for the draw, she said nothing about putting my card in their system and that I was authorizing them to take money from my account at a later date.
So, I am going to my bank and file a fraud charge on them and close my debit card out and get a new number.
If I don't, I'm likely going to get a "balancing" bill which will come in my email the same day they do another withdraw from my account. What is super strange is I have an online account with Quest and was able to see what the original bill was before it cleared the insurance company. Now, that is gone and I need a Billing Account number to get into my own billing but was never given an Account number as I don't get the Paper Bill. So, I can't even go online and see if I can withdraw my "Auto Deduct" that I never authorized willingly but was led into via deceptive business practice.

C
C
cokeefe
, US
Feb 04, 2022 12:25 am EST
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Hi. I went in for a blood draw on 12/15/2021. The woman that did the draw asked for insurance card and she did her computer entry real quick and then said I owed $84.00. I still had not received the blood draw but I trusted her and gave her my bank card. I thought she was taking the payment.
Well, the amount was never deducted from my bank so I called billing with a sinking feeling. The CSR was very ignorant and could not follow what I was trying to say; that I thought something wasn't right about the "transaction" I thought I made. She said a supervisor would call me back by the next day but nobody did.
Anyways, today I checked my email out and saw an email from Quest. They said my bill was ready and I owed $25.07 based on my insurance. So, I thought I could just pay online but can never open that part of my online account because you need an Account number which they never gave me. I just happened to open my Bank Account up and saw a Deduction for $25.07 from Quest.
I never authorized this knowingly, but obviously that deceptive woman who took my blood, must be getting incentives of some kind to get our Card numbers on file and most people won't do it. She told me point blank that I owed $84.00 and needed to pay so I thought I was doing that. I should have known better, as I thought $84 was kind of high for my insurance I have.

I would like to file a Deceptive Business practice or something. I don't care if it was only $25.07. It bothers me they have my card number. I am calling them tomorrow to see how I can have it removed but my guess is they will say they will do it, but How will I ever know for sure?

So, I am going to close that card due to fraud (cuz that is what this is) to ensure they can never get access to my bank account again.

L
L
Larenda Smith
Roseburg, US
Jan 06, 2022 6:32 pm EST

I also have been being overbilled by this company. I have contacted them and given them proof of payment as least 5 times. We are a private pay client and pay up front for a time of service discount. I have documentation showing we paid this in full at time of service. When calling them, they try to tell me this is an additional charge and I am not understanding my statement. Well, little did they know that I am a Cycle Revenue Administrator for a large healthcare organization and I understand coding and billing much better than the general population. When I called her out on this, she transferred me to a supervisor. My bill is still not resolved to this day. Worst company EVER! I will never give them my business or refer any of our thousands of patients to this company.

Z
Z
Zesty Deluxe
, US
Nov 18, 2019 2:12 pm EST

I have had the same issue with Quest illegally balance billing me. It is NOT an occasional mistake either, but every single time I have had testing at my Dr's office over the last several years. It has to be deliberate. Also, as stated throughout the thread, their customer service agents know NOTHING and aren't even worth calling (and they're rude and arrogant to boot). All they are going to tell you is to fax them a copy of the EOB. First, who has a fax machine anymore... LOL? Second, THEY RECEIVED THE EOB WHEN THEY GOT PAYMENT, why is this even necessary?

Just so you understand the enormous amounts they are over-billing, I'll just mention the amounts from my last 2 encounters and move on: 5/2019 testing (billed $160; I owe $8) and the 7/2019 testing (billed $533; I owe $21)

So this time I thought I'd be smart and just avoid the stress - As soon as I received the erroneous bill, I mailed the correct amount due along with a copy of the EOB. After all, their own invoice says to do just that right under the "Amount Enclosed" box. Additionally, I highlighted the EOB copy calling out the pertinent info: "Amount Allowed" and "Remarks/Codes". The remarks/codes area especially relevant because they clearly state "REQUIRES PROVIDER TO ACCEPT ALLOWABLE AS FULL PAYMENT". Then I draw a arrow between two. I am thinking, anyone who is literate can understand this and the issue should be closed. But no, 3 - 4 weeks later I get another bill still trying to get payment for the additional $160. In another week or two, I fully expect to get another bill for $480.

I am not even going to touch that they are charging such INSANE amounts for testing. I'll just note that both were for run of the mill testing (urinalysis and general health bloodwork). That's another fight for another day, but them billing me like this is definitely illegal.

D
D
DMac1009
, US
Oct 05, 2019 10:04 am EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I could have written this! I have the exact same complaint. I’ve had it and will fight these balance billing charges to get refunded for the money they deducted from my credit card, and the money I was forced to pay yesterday, as they refused to draw my blood without my paying a bill I did not owe!

H
H
Hal Goldfarb
, US
Aug 23, 2019 2:04 am EDT

Yeah. Noridian is on my list. They apparently mis-billed on purpose so that Quest can balance bill for much more than Medicare will pay.

SINGLE PAYER NOW!

F
F
Frito Pie
, US
Aug 18, 2019 11:45 pm EDT

Currently holding two pieces of paper:

One, from my insurance company, saying that they paid everything for the bloodwork and that I owe nothing.

The other, from Quest Diagnostics, saying I owe $47.65.

I'm not even shocked. This happens EVERY SINGLE TIME I get bloodwork done. It's at the point that I resist getting bloodwork, knowing that it's never going to be a smooth ride and that it will always - ALWAYS - result in a battle with Quest. Just hearing the words "Quest Diagnostics" gives me bad feeling in my stomach, a Pavlovian response to the years of fraudulent billing and threats that always come from them.

Is there no other laboratory that doctor can use? Why do they all use Quest when we all know how they roll?

M
M
mary j ma
, US
Mar 12, 2019 8:06 am EDT

I am a senior on Medicare. I just received a bill from Quest Diagnostics, billing from Cincinnati, Oh.
The amount of $1776.39 for blood testing. I have no doubt that this is a common practice for a medical services company. I would be surprised to have it proven that Quest DOES NOT deliberately target senior citizens for double billing. Get paid by Medicare, and then frighten the senior citizen into paying the inflated price also.

D
D
Donna Mielenz
, US
Dec 13, 2018 2:43 am EST

I'm going through this very thing with them. Getting bills for lab work that has already been paid by my insurance company. I can not stand companies who double dip. I hate giving them any kind of rating

J
J
JUPITER58
, US
Jun 19, 2018 5:13 pm EDT

I CONSIDER MYSELF A VERY HONEST PERSON BUT I'LL CONFESS TO HAVING NO ISSUE ABOUT SUING QUEST IF I HAD THE CHANCE. I MUST HAVE RECIEVED A TOTAL OF 8-9 BILLS (SAME BILLING AND CODE)AND ABOUT 3-4 WERE SENT 6 MNTHS AFTER THE BILL WAS PAID.I WOULDN'T TRUST THEM IN A 10000 YEARS

D
D
Donna Mielenz
, US
Dec 13, 2018 2:45 am EST
Replying to comment of JUPITER58

I went to my account on there website put in the invoice number on the bill and it said no number existed. So what does that tell you

L
L
Loristarr
, US
Apr 18, 2017 9:10 am EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I went to Quest this morning they opened the doors late and only the receptionist was there and she drew my blood racing back and fourth from taking peoples blood to her desk for paper work. When she called my name and I gave her my 2 insurance cards medicare and medicaid she then said I must give her my debit or credit card and I told her I had none she said this time she will take my blood but next time Quest demands the credit/debit card...I said for what reason I am totally covered and never had to give credit/debit before at Quest or any other place I go to to take blood. I felt so ashamed when she demanded it and in front of other patience too. I felt so poor that I didnt even have a credit debit card. I am disabled and cannot work and I felt this was a disgrace to me the way I was treated. I am now looking into why this person needs my credit info its just crazy and I wont go back there again and I am calling my councilman today about this situation. I always pay my bills I never had any bill that I havent paid.

I
I
idk?
, US
Apr 06, 2017 7:15 pm EDT

i think this is going to far, I think quest has to rethink its contracts not sure yet if they feel cheated, or being mean, or just want to begin a duration of financial abuse. but for a unwilling participant this is a back stab

H
H
Hortons
St. Petersburg, US
Aug 23, 2016 2:11 am EDT

I went to have my routine bloodwork done this morning. I have Aetna Gold and my co-pay is $35. However, they took my debit card and swiped a hold of $90 until the billing goes through in "two or three weeks." I got to thinking. What if I didn't have an extra $90 for them to hold? I guess I just wouldn't get my bloodwork done.

U
U
UpsetMom2328
San Antonio, US
Aug 23, 2016 2:11 am EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I will never again go to Quest Diagnosis! My daughter's pediatrician had to have blood work done and sent us to there. Both times we went, they were so unprofessional, very rude & impatient! You would think people who may have children as patients would be a little nicer. My daughters were so well behaved and for us to receive that kind of treatment is unacceptable! My daughter keeps asking "why they are so mean there?" I also have spoken with friends, who have had similar stories.

Q
Q
Quest are thieves
, US
May 10, 2016 11:08 am EDT

Lousy company. They billed $1, 555 for blood work and than tried coming after me for $40 after I already paid the my insurance co-pay. Go figure.

R
R
RUTALATV
Dix Hills, US
Nov 22, 2013 7:08 pm EST

Do NOT use Quest! They are a bunch of lazy uneducated workers. After I received a bill from them last year, I called them and had long and unpleasant conversation. During our conversation lady refused to re-submitt claim to my insurance company at that time and told me I have tell Cigna to pay them balance, even I explained there was an error my file. Now, more then a year later, they reported me to collection agency. My balance is a little over 11 dollars. Collection agency said because work was done more then a year ago the claim cannot be re-submitted.
Bottom line - they do not want to do their job and they will ruin your credit in addition to that. AVOID QUEST FOR ALL MEANS!

Valerie
Valerie
, US
May 22, 2008 4:36 am EDT

I wanted to alert anyone who uses Quest Diagnostics Labs to be VERY clear on what their co-payments might be. My bank account would be $313 lighter IF I had not dug deeper to uncover my true charges.

My insurer, Aetna, has contacted with Quest to accept an agreed upon amount for specific tests. However, I received billing for $313, much more than my co-payment of $16.

After several phone calls between Quest and Aetna, an alert Aetna employee identified the charges as "Balancing Billing" - a ploy Quest uses to attempt to get extra payment for their services.

An example being a submitted charge of $139.25 for cholesterol blood work - BUT Quest has contactually agreed to accept $12.64 from Aetna, along with $4.21 as my share...BUT Quest sent me a bill for the remaining difference of $122.40...which is classified as "Balance Billing." This is ILLEGAL and they have been sued for this in the past, most recently in Florida.

I shudder to think of how many unsuspecting folks have ended up paying them for services that should NOT be charged for in light of Quest's supposed agreement with health insurers. It took me over 2 hours being transferred from place to place but thank goodness, I was saved from being extorted $313.

My initial calls to Quest left me totally frustrated, but after I finally connected with a Quest employee with a clue (Monique) she finally recognized that the proper discounts had not been entered into my file. Four prior calls to Quest, did NOT meet with ANY resolution other than "Sorry but that is what you owe."

Don't accept one person's word for it - keep calling till you are 100 percent sure you are being told the correct info.

Z
Z
Zesty Deluxe
, US
Nov 18, 2019 3:44 pm EST
Replying to comment of Valerie

These aren't mistakes - they routinely commit "illegal balance billing". There is even class action lawsuits against them for this.

J
J
Jenb198
West Melbourne, US
Oct 13, 2013 10:22 am EDT

I am going through the same exact thing right now. They are trying to balance bill me as well and my insurance company has told me that I owe nothing and they have even contacted Quest twice telling them that I owe nothing and that they are trying to balance bill. I will never use Quest again and am willing to get a lawyer to fight this and make them pay for the lawyer in the end. This is utterly ridiculous and this is really what is wrong with today's healthcare. When your EOB statement says that it is the provider's responsibility and not the member's, then Quest needs to really educate their employees what that actually means and stop trying to balance bill the patients!

Q
Q
Quest has me seeing RED!!!
Van Buren, US
Jun 30, 2013 1:33 am EDT

I too am fighting with Quest. Seems they are the only ones who don't know what the hell is going on. My doctor's office has resubmitted the "correct" codes they want. Mind you, these are the same diagnoses codes I have had for several years and the previous lab had no problem with. My insurance said that they NEVER received a claim from Quest to pay for these labs so that is why they were never paid, so request Quest to bill them. Well, here it is almost 2 years later and despite the physicians office (which I work at) calling them 5 times that I know of and my insurance company, which I switched off of over a year ago to a new plan, waiting to get a bill from Quest still so they can pay for it and all I have to show is a letter from a collection agency saying they are about to start proceedings to garnish my wages! really? I have went through everything I know how to do. I initially started everything I've stated above. When I got the first letter from the collection agency I contacted them and told them I was not responsible for this bill and sent them copy of insurance payment for day of visit with diagnoses codes, orders, etc and the copies of my insurance saying that they never received a bill from Quest so that is why they didn't pay. Well, Quest never apparently responded to that and here I am... I am not paying them. That is why I pay health insurance premiums for coverage. I am not going to let some little piss-ant lab company who thinks they can screw people worse than we are all already getting screwed on a daily basis by our lovely government which loves to tax us to the last penny take me down. I am in the process of reporting this to every agency I can, seeing if I can report them to CLIA, medical board, Arkansas Dept of Health and also getting a lawyer involved to investigate this. I would rather pay a lawyer to do this than pay a crooked ### company that is only doing this out of pure, unadulterated greed. And to the "BILLER" above "blame everyone but yourself", if you really did work anywhere around healthcare, then you would know for a fact that this crap happens all the time and it isn't just people not knowing their policies! so, educate yourself a little more too hon and get out of the medical field if you do work in it because you are part of the problem. one of "those" people who don't give a crap and treat people like crap when all they want is a little understanding and explaination.

M
M
mary j ma
, US
Mar 12, 2019 8:15 am EDT

makes one payer system look really really really good

N
N
Najjar
Columbus, US
Jun 26, 2013 3:20 pm EDT

I was just notifed on a bill from 2.5 years ago that I never received prior to this call from a collections company. I am trying to contact someone from Quest Billing and no one is able to help or even knows of my account. Help!

K
K
KinMA
, US
Apr 23, 2013 10:01 am EDT

I have also had multiple problems with Quest's billing and am (somewhat) amazed at how many others have complaints with them. A number of years ago, I started receiving bills from Quest after various medical tests. Initially, I paid what was not covered by insurance and was then double- and triple-billed for the same procedures (invoices showed the same lab codes and same test dates), with Quest saying that this was not covered by insurance. I saved all my invoices, credit card statements and bank statements showing what I had paid; called my doctor's office, called my insurance company, called and e-mailed Quest numerous times and faxed copies of invoices showing what had been paid and when, along with my EOBs. I finally threatened to report them to the Attorney General, BBB and my insurance company for insurance fraud. Miraculously, the invoices stopped coming. Regretfully, I did not follow-through with my actions. Now, several years later, I have been billed by Quest with the explanation that my (one and only) insurance carrier has informed Quest that they are not my primary insurance carrier. This alarmed me so I called my insurace provider (BCBS of MA) who was helpful in getting the matter solved - Quest had billed the work 2 times, but incorrectly. Unfortunately, when BCBS tried to call Quest to get the matter straighetened out, Quest was closed so I was informed to call Quest and have them call BCBS directly. When I called Quest, I was told that there's nothing they can do. I am reponsible for providing correct insurance info (which I did, and it has not changed since the last time Quest performed lab work for me and was actually billed correctly). When I asked them to call BCBS to get it straigtened out, I was informed that "they can't be calling insurance providers as they other patients to help." (So I don't matter.) I was livid, so I immediately called BCBS back, and they took care of it within minutes. Needless to say, I will be filing fraud reports with all appropraite authorities. I will also be speaking with my doctors to voice my complaints.
I would suggest contacting your insurance carrier first when you have concerns regarding bills from Quest Diagnostics. Quest will give you the runaround and will bill you until they get as much money as they can from you - regardless of whether or not they are owed the money.

A
A
A COGGAN
ST AUGUSTINE, US
Mar 05, 2013 11:43 am EST

SO U WANT TO KNOW WHY THIS COUNTRIES MEDICAL BILLS R OT OF SITE?

QUEST IS A VERY GOOD EXAMPLE OF RIPPING OFF THE PUBLIC..
EXAMPLE LAB BILL $ 400. AND QUEST ACCEPTS FULL PAYMNET OF $ 65.00 FROM INSURANCE COMPANY.
THINK ABOUT THIS

PEOPLE WHO HAVE NO INSURANCE MUST PAY THE $ 400. PEOPLE ALSO WHO MUST PAY ON AN 80 /20 % BASIS WILL BE PAYING MORE THAN $65. THAT QUEST ACCEPTS FOR FULL PAYMENT ($80.) PLUS THEY REC THE 80% PORTION FROM INSURANCE COMPANY ( OR WAHT EVER THE INSURANCE PAYS THEM)... WHAT A RIP OFF

AND MR. OBAMA COULD CARE LESS ... NOTHING HA S BEEN DONE TO CORRECT THSES ISSUES NOT EVEN WITH THE NEW OBAMA CARE WHAT A JOKE
THE PUBLIC NEEDS TO STAND UP AND SPEAK OUT AGAINST THSES CRAZY PRACTICES IN MEDICAL CARE FOR THE GOV IS NOT DOING ANYTHING ..
WRITE SHOUT SCREAM LET THE GOV KNOW ABOUT THESE UNFAIR PRACTICES
AS FOR OTHER MEDICAL BILLS THE SAME PREVAILS ( DOC VISITS; PROCEDURES ETC.)

SPEAK UP WRITE YOUR CONGRESS MEN THE NEWS MEDIA ETC.

M
M
mary j ma
, US
Mar 12, 2019 8:20 am EDT
Replying to comment of A COGGAN

The first proposal for ACA was a one payer system. Republicans threatened to filibuster and a compromise had to be made. Made me mad, but figured half a sandwich was better than starving. We can get better health care if we stop listening to the people who claim helping people stay well and to heal is COMMUNISM, of SOCIALISM. No body thinks outrageous profits on peoples lives is good, except republicans in congress and the senate

M
M
MiamiSteve
San Antonio, US
Aug 15, 2011 10:13 pm EDT

Quest Diagnostics practice illegal credit card billing, its just a fact. I had blood work done with them and paid a $25 co-pay during the visit. About a month later I received another bill for another $25 additional cost that I chose not to pay. About 3 months later, they charged my debit card without my authorization. I guess they kept in on file. Luckily it didn't cause any checks to bounce. Unethical practice!

N
N
NOVAinsanity
Bristow, US
Jul 23, 2011 2:39 pm EDT

I went to Quest Lab for bloodwork. I dont have insurance. I told them I would pay by credit card. They told me they could not do the lab work my Doctor IN SAME BUILDING ordered. I told them I would go get cash. They said NO.

How can I be denied services due to no health insurance? Is that not discrimination?

J
J
jthomas21
Orange, US
Jun 29, 2011 3:52 am EDT

I got a bill from Quest for balance payment. What should i do? Please suggest.

J
J
Jabez Massey
Bartlett, US
May 04, 2011 5:17 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Quest can not answer questions on the bills they send. This is garbage. You should have sensible front line representatives to answer the most basic of customers questions. Quest has not put this in place. If you have an option, tell your Dr. to use another Lab. Chalk mine up to another complaint about Quest.

B
B
Blame every one but your self
Atmore, US
Oct 31, 2010 10:12 pm EDT

You guys get on my nerves ! Read your policy know what your getting before having services done. And you would not have this problem. I do insurance billing for a living for 19 years . ( Quest is crap ) your issue would have been corrected fast if your insuance company would have told you to call your dr office 1st because quest diagnostics does not make up code your dr office does you see that once your dr office got involve your issue was corrected ! It's up to your dr office to change which you call " invalid code" once your dr make those changes your claim get refile back to your insurance by the way you did not just have a pap smear you have more then a pap smear you guys lie so much. (mommyneedshelp ) did you read or find out what kind of insurance policy you were paying for ! Blame everyone but your self. Even if you have insurance here no GUARANTEE your going to get those saving if your paying for these type of benefits.

U
U
unhappylabcustomer
, US
Aug 04, 2010 4:48 pm EDT

I contacted Quest billing today. I am outraged at the unauthorized billing that they did towards me as well. I am dealing with the emotional rollercoaster of infertility treatments and bills already. I sent in a payment coupon to Quest for one of their lab bills, authorizing a payment of $50 from my debit card. Quest ignored the amount I clearly wrote down on the payment coupon, and charged me for the full lab balance due, which was several hundred dollars. I was outraged! I faced an overdraft fee from my bank, and when I contacted Quest billing dept., the man I spoke with was offensive and very unhelpful, stating this was the "first time" he had ever heard of this happening in the entire time he had worked at Quest. He should look on this complaint board - and see that this seems to happen often! I am paying with a paper check next time and maybe copies for my records for sure. The billing division of this company appears to conduct business fraudulantly in my opinion, and I will be speaking to my clinic about them as well!

Q
Q
Quest is crap
, US
Feb 08, 2010 9:17 pm EST

Quest is ridiculous. I have been battling them for over 2 years for a lab bill. They had the wrong information even though I called them and corrected them 3 different times. It has been a nightmare that I don't have time for and the customer service department sis extremely unprofessional and even a little combative. I think they should be investigated and put out of business.

I
I
incredulousinboyntonbeach
, US
Sep 12, 2009 10:25 pm EDT

I had a different but related experience. Actually there are two issues that I have observed: 1, Quest routinely bills outrageous charges (anywhere from four to seven times the "usual&customary" charge for their services); and 2, they sometimes make up their own diagnosis codes instead of using the codes supplied by the requesting physician, as a result of which insurance companies deny claims on the basis of "invalid codes." In my own case, Quest deliberately put an incorrect (invalid) code on the paperwork they sent to BCBS, so of course BCBS denied the claim and Quest repeatedly billed me the entire $626.80 for labwork worth less than $100 on the grounds that "my insurance company denied the claim" and that therefore I owed the "full amount." The labwork was done on 17 September 2008. I went round and round with them, begging them to re-submit using the doctor's codes (and they would repeatedly follow through by resubmitting with their own wrong code instead, generating more denials of the claim). I finally brought my requesting physician into the picture -- her office contacted QUEST multipletimes regarding the correct code that was originally sent to Quest, and also filed appeals to BCBS -- twice! -- and finally, on 29 July 2009, BCBS paid the claim in my favor -- they allowed $98.11, of which BCBS paid $88.31 and informed me that my responsibility (co-pay) was $9.78 ! So now it is mid-September 2009, and Quest has not yet billed me for the revised amount. I distrust Quest enough so that I sent them a check for $9.78, together with a photocopy of the BCBS explanation of benefits, because I can imagine them deliberately charging me a fraudulent "late fee."

By the way -- I very recently had a Pap smear, and the labwork was again done by Quest (I had no idea the doctor would send the speciment to Quest, so I didn't have the opportunity to ask her not to do so). They "billed" $195. to BCBS, and as per the BCBS explanation of benefits sheet, the allowed ("usual and customary") amount was $44.29, of which my responsibility is supposed to be $0.00 -- all this took place within 15 calendar days of my Pap smear.

M
M
Marc.
Tet, US
Aug 11, 2009 12:16 am EDT

It hasn't been 'fixed' in at least a year of its existence, and likely will not be unless more class action lawsuits are brought against them. You are right that there's no reason to take it out on the individuals on the other side of the phone, however while I work in software and know exactly how hard it is to design and manage complex systems, we bend over backwards to help customers in any way possible. I have not seen one example of Quest doing anything that could remotely be construed as such.

Quest Diagnostics — illegal balance billing

http://www.businessweek.com/magazine/content/08_36/b4098040915634_page_2.htm

W
W
wifeofamarine05
Havelock, US
Jul 30, 2009 7:59 pm EDT

As a former employee of Quest Diagnostics, NRSC in Pa, I can assure you that this is not done intentionally. The bills that are received by Quest are generated by their billing system. A problem that should be fixed by now. The problem was everytime a payment was entered on a patient account a bill would generate causing an influx of bills being generated. If the employee is new or has not ventured through the company in different departments, then they may ill advise the caller.

I do agree, when certain entities of an insurance company have contractual agreements with labs or o ther providers it is the patients responsibility to know and understand their copayment, co-insurance, and deductible. Because the laboratory is nationwide there are a wide range of insurances that participate or are non-par with the lab.

So I ask, please be patient as they try to iron out these kinks in their billing process.

W
W
WayTooOldForThis
, US
Sep 01, 2018 8:14 am EDT

The legal requirement of a binding contract with an insurance company is to provide the services for payment rendered. When the contract is habitually broken, resulting in the threat of collection agency action to their client, the erroneous billing of patients when payment has already been provided and agreed upon via contract, the problem is not a "kink". It is a pattern of behavior that costs time, money and additional stress to a patient who is already experiencing illness. Perhaps if Quest had to compensate for these deep flaws in a monetary way, they might make correcting them a priority. These are not innocent mistakes occurring on rare occasion, but rather a practice resulting in damage that is not a priority concern of Quest. Clearly, an organization whose mission statement has nothing to do with patient life quality.

J
J
JR_NYC
New York, US
Jul 28, 2009 10:53 am EDT

Can I ask what the resolution was on your situation? I have just received a 5th bill notice from Quest after my insurance company told me they had already paid.
I am filing a report with the BBB and NYS.

M
M
mommyneedshelp
Grayslake, US
Apr 10, 2009 5:43 pm EDT

I wish I could simply find some help online about negotiating with these ###. I am pregnant and have no maternity benefits with my insurance. My doctor negotiated a lower rate to help me out. The hospital negotiates a lower rate to help me. Yet Quest claims they have no such thing and that I must pay in full unless I make under 40K per year for a family of 4! Of course my family of 4 makes more than that as most do.
This is for $1400 in lab work charges that I KNOW they would accept 10-20% in a negotiated rate from an insurance company. But they won't negotiate a single penny for an individual.
They are gouging the "little guy" so bad and I have no idea where to turn to get them to take down this rate!
Does anyone have advice?
This is a nightmare with QUEST!

F
F
fedup consumer
San Antonio, US
Feb 10, 2009 12:35 pm EST

Based upon my own personal experience with Quest Diagnostics and their balance billing tactics, I completely concur that letters should be written to any and all regulatory authorities in addition to all parties named in Krankee Yankee's posted complaint. It may also draw attention to write a letter to the doctor(s) who are utilizing Quest informing them that you no longer want your lab work sent to Quest WITH a copy of ALL said correspondence to the following individual: Surya N. Mohapatra, M.D., Chairman of the Board, President, and CEO of Quest Diagnostics Corporate Office, 1290 Wall Street W., Lyndhurst, NJ, 07071.

Quest is not honoring their contractual obligation with these insurance companies. Be aware also that even when there are multiple insurance companies involved (a primary and a secondary), Quest is STILL obligated to honor EACH contract they have entered into, regardless of primary or secondary status. A contract IS a contract!

If the negotiated rates or co-payment amounts differ between contracted insurance companies, medical providers should not be billing the customer more than what EITHER contract allows. If the contract terms of each insurance company require the medical provider to file claim on behalf of the patient, then Quest should file with EACH insurance company BEFORE automatically attempting to extort funds directly from the patient. It all depends on the contract terms. But -- Quest does not get to pick and choose which portions (or which contracts) they choose to honor and those they do not.

It is also a very safe assumption that Quest is relying on the ignorance of the average patient who often does NOT understand his insurance coverage and who will often just pay up rather than take the time and trouble to stand against what is going on. Quest (and others like them) will continue these unlawful practices as long as customers allow them to get away with it. Unfortunately such practices are common among businesses as such is the world we live in. (I have found medical providers to be among the worst abusers.)

Don't let them get you.

Learn how the rating is calculated

Write a review File a complaint

Quest Diagnostics contacts

Phone number
Website
www.questdiagnostics.com
Category