The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
MediacomFraudulent services

I just signed up with mediacom to recieve cable service. I got my first bill on Feb. 22 and paid with a money order within a week. On March 22 I recieved my second bill and was extremely angry, they said that I had not paid my bill from the month before. I called the customer service 1 800 number and told that they had not recieved payment for the month before and there was nothing they could do, when I said that I had sent a money order about a week after I recieved the bill, they told me they hadn't recieved it and it would take six days to get it. They wouldn't tell me anything else so I hung up. My fiance had also had mediacom and we had internet, when it got shut off they charged us for the modem even though we had a reciept. They also said that we owed for the cable box even though we also had a reciept for it. They also tried to charge us for movies that we never ordered any movies. Someone needs to do something about this company, I am tired of being lied to and this fraud had to stop!!!

RESOLVED

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

  • Mediacom's response · Sep 03, 2012

    You should not have to experience this many issues with your service. Please send me an email with your phone number or account number to [email protected] and I would be happy to assist in finding the issue and working to increase the reliability of your service.

    James
    Mediacom Social Media Team

  • Mediacom's response · Jun 04, 2013

    Hello,

    I am sorry to hear about your poor experience with Mediacom. We do offer promotion for customers to try out our service. All customers do pay the regular rates after the length of the promotion. If you need further assistance, feel free to reach out to me at [email protected] and I will be more than happy to help!

    Thanks,
    Chris
    Mediacom Social Media Team

Responses

  • Me
    mediacomcustomer May 04, 2014

    At the moment, my Internet speed is 0.19 - 0.23 Mbps. The best I've ever seen when testing it was 5 - 7 Mbps, late at night. Mediacom's adds claim an upper limit of 30Mbs... no lower limit guarantee though. Maybe if they charged by the GByte, they'd be more incline to upgrade their network..

    I suspect that as we move more and more toward streaming, on demand, their network is being overwhelmed by streaming TV shows and movies. Likely, as they are a media company, the media download service takes precedent over all other Internet services...

    As I have limited options, I'm now considering Dish Networks Internet service... but I want the fibre optic, promised 20 years ago by Mediacom...

    When you look around the net at what other cable companies are charging, Mediacom is at the top of the heap.

    0 Votes
  • Ex
    exmediacom customer Jun 01, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I just changed over to dish today myself.I am so glad to not have to argue with Mediacom anymore I see people say that Mediacom is cheaper, and they are as long as you are under contract but as soon as the contract runs out the bills will double and even tripple.call Mediacom about this and they say if you sign another contract they will change the price to only double what it started with in the first contract.To me this makes no sence looks like keeping your old customers that has paid you like clock work every month is better than getting new ones that you dont know if they are ever going to pay.But the new customers get the breaks at Mediacom and the hell with the old customers.every time you call Mediacom they direct your call to a diffrent state with Direct the guy gave me the number directly to his office so if I have any problem I can call him directly.So I say good by forever Mediacom yall can all kiss my aass

    0 Votes
  • Dr
    Drobike Aug 30, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have had nothing but trouble with my cable TV, internet, and phone service with Mediacom. I have their VIP service (joke) which bundles all 3 for a discount. When I have trouble with the TV or Internet I usually have no phone as well so I can't call to complain. The phone service is unreliable often dropping calls or not accepting outside calls. The cable TV experiences tiling, loss of picture, freeze frame during "ON DEMAND" programs. Whenever we have bad weather we will have days of poor service with all 3.
    If you call (and the phone works) they try to get you to use their automated trouble shooting system which prompts you to perform various tasks on the equipment. This is a joke because their system doesn't accept or recognize your responses to their queries. Technicians take a week or more to schedule a site visit.

    In summary this is the worse Cable Company I have ever dealt with.

    0 Votes
  • Km
    kmloving Jan 09, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Well, guess the pics didn't show up.. am sure you get the picture tho !!! NOT HAPPY

    0 Votes
  • Km
    kmloving Jan 09, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Here are some pics of how the installers ran my cable to the places I have TV in my home. OMG -- I called them back and have another appt for a re-wire ... Hope the second time is a better job than the first... And no, I do not have a basement but the wires could have been a little more inconspicuous if they had been placed along the eave spouts and not wrapped around the house like a Christmas Present !!!

    0 Votes
  • Ne
    NeoTokyo Jul 15, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    OK but I had very poor Internet connectivity for 9 months and repeatedly tried to get a tech out to check everything out and run a new drop.

    I knew it was the areal drop because every time it would rain or snow or was windy our Internet would go out and the TV would get fuzzy and sometimes cut in and out.

    The operator that finally got a tech out to me said that she could only give me 2 weeks credit without a tech checking the lines first but if I accepted it that I would not be able to accept a credit if there was something found to be wrong with the line.

    I declined the credit and said that I want all 9 months that we had horrible Internet connectivity.
    She said as long as the tech could determine that the problem was on their end that I would get the credit.

    After 9 months they sent a tech out (After repeated phone calls and complaints from me and my wife) and he did find that the original coaxial was so old and out dated that it had to be from the original drop when the house was built in 1994!

    He wrote in his report that the drop was the problem.
    He said that I should have no problem receiving my 9 month credit as connection was poor at best.
    He said that I wouldn't have to call it or anything for the credit that it would be added automatically.

    About 45 days later and two bills I noticed that I had not received my credit yet.
    I called in and paid my bill and was transferred over to another customer service rep when I inquired about my absent credit.

    The female operator that I got was so rude to me and kept finishing every question with "Do you agree" or "Can I confirm that you accept that answer."

    She said that other than my contact that got the tech out there that I had NEVER called them before with a problem. I of course told her that she was wrong and she kept pushing that I had never called.

    I told her "I don't care that it says I have never called with a problem before, I have called several times with my problems!"

    She said that there was no way that I was going to get a credit on my account.
    She said a normal person would have called and complained a lot had they been paying for a service and not received those services.

    I told her that I HAD called SEVERAL times before and even made notes with the last operators but she continued to say that I had no prior calls to the one that initiated the service call.

    I told her that I called several times asking for a tech to come out and she flat out said I was lying that it would have been logged into the system.

    She asked me why that when a tech didn't show why I didn't call back and complain.
    I told her that its not my job to babysit the techs that fail to do their job.

    Finally she went into some sort of script trying to get me to say that I haven't called before and I just repeatedly asked for a manager.

    She said I could not talk to a manager, I asked why, she said because they were all busy at that time, I asked if I could wait, she said no, I asked if I could have a direct phone number to call one back, she said no.

    The only option that she gave me while yelling (Yes yelling!) at me was that a manager call me back within the hour. She sternly demanded a confirmation.
    I exhaled and said "OK" and she hung up on me.

    I never got a call back, not even a missed call, my phone would have recorded it.

    All in all, Mediacom doesn't care about their customers, they don't care about their operators enough either to give them good training.

    Mediacom is a Giant and doesn't care what it does or who it hurts.
    They will continue to ignore the problems at hand until a "David" comes to take the "Goliath" down hitting them in their Achilles heel -Their pocket book-

    Tssk Tssk again MediaCom.

    1 Votes
  • Ri
    RidgecrestCA May 21, 2010

    I AGREE!! I am a new customer today for satellite with mediacom. The guy came out this AM at 930 to set it up. It is now 3.40pm on a friday, I have made 5 calls to Customer Service, spent a total of 1hr 50min on hold and had 2 people hung up on me, one being a supervisor because they could not solve my problem. {I did not yell at them, I just persisted that they needed to fix my problem} I am on hold as I type. The problem... There is no channels!!! I even live in a small town, it would take them 5 mins to swing by and have a look, but they wont. 36mins in and I have just been hung up on for the 3rd time!!! I am calling Dish network right now and signing up with them - I dont care how much more they cost for the same things, it is worth paying JUST to NOT have to deal with MEDIACOM!!!

    My advice, save yourself the stress and waste of time PAY THE EXTRA - DO NOT USE MEDIA COM!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    RidgecrestCA May 21, 2010

    I am a new customer today for satellite with mediacom. The guy came out this AM at 930 to set it up. It is now 3.40pm on a friday, I have made 5 calls to Customer Service, spent a total of 1hr 50min on hold and had 2 people hung up on me, one being a supervisor because they could not solve my problem. {I did not yell at them, I just persisted that they needed to fix my problem} I am on hold as I type. The problem... There is no channels!!! I even live in a small town, it would take them 5 mins to swing by and have a look, but they wont. 36mins in and I have just been hung up on for the 3rd time!!! I am calling Dish network right now and signing up with them - I dont care how much more they cost for the same things, it is worth paying JUST to NOT have to deal with MEDIACOM!!!

    My advice, save yourself the stress and waste of time PAY THE EXTRA - DO NOT USE MEDIA COM!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    RidgecrestCA May 21, 2010

    I AGREE!! I am a new customer today for satellite with mediacom. The guy came out this AM at 930 to set it up. It is now 3.40pm on a friday, I have made 5 calls to Customer Service, spent a total of 1hr 50min on hold and had 2 people hung up on me, one being a supervisor because they could not solve my problem. {I did not yell at them, I just persisted that they needed to fix my problem} I am on hold as I type. The problem... There is no channels!!! I even live in a small town, it would take them 5 mins to swing by and have a look, but they wont. 36mins in and I have just been hung up on for the 3rd time!!! I am calling Dish network right now and signing up with them - I dont care how much more they cost for the same things, it is worth paying JUST to NOT have to deal with MEDIACOM!!!

    My advice, save yourself the stress and waste of time PAY THE EXTRA - DO NOT USE MEDIA COM!!!

    1 Votes
  • Ri
    RidgecrestCA May 21, 2010

    I am a new customer today for satellite with mediacom. The guy came out this AM at 930 to set it up. It is now 3.40pm on a friday, I have made 5 calls to Customer Service, spent a total of 1hr 50min on hold and had 2 people hung up on me, one being a supervisor because they could not solve my problem. {I did not yell at them, I just persisted that they needed to fix my problem} I am on hold as I type. The problem... There is no channels!!! I even live in a small town, it would take them 5 mins to swing by and have a look, but they wont. 36mins in and I have just been hung up on for the 3rd time!!! I am calling Dish network right now and signing up with them - I dont care how much more they cost for the same things, it is worth paying JUST to NOT have to deal with MEDIACOM!!!

    My advice, save yourself the stress and waste of time PAY THE EXTRA - DO NOT USE MEDIA COM!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    RidgecrestCA May 21, 2010

    I AGREE!! I am a new customer today for satellite with mediacom. The guy came out this AM at 930 to set it up. It is now 3.40pm on a friday, I have made 5 calls to Customer Service, spent a total of 1hr 50min on hold and had 2 people hung up on me, one being a supervisor because they could not solve my problem. {I did not yell at them, I just persisted that they needed to fix my problem} I am on hold as I type. The problem... There is no channels!!! I even live in a small town, it would take them 5 mins to swing by and have a look, but they wont. 36mins in and I have just been hung up on for the 3rd time!!! I am calling Dish network right now and signing up with them - I dont care how much more they cost for the same things, it is worth paying JUST to NOT have to deal with MEDIACOM!!!

    My advice, save yourself the stress and waste of time PAY THE EXTRA - DO NOT USE MEDIA COM!!!

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    mollydog Dec 30, 2009

    Why can't you put decent and good movies on Starz?They are CRAP/everyone of them.I have never been so irritated when I try to find something good.

    0 Votes
  • De
    Deb from Iowa Dec 18, 2009

    Mediacom e-mail in the Des Moines area has been "in transition" to a "better" service for more than a week. Initially, nothing worked, then e-mail was very slow or not sent at all. Now it has improved, but I'm using an Apple computer and needed help with resetting my account. After wading through an extensive phone tree and waiting on hold another ten minutes, I was finally connected to a human being. Unfortunately, he was no help at all- Mediacom does not support MacIntosh and he wasn't certified on MacIntosh. He had no further suggestions for me, and said it would "probably" be ok when the migration was finished. He had no idea when that would be. It wasn't really the tech person's fault-Mediacom just has terrible customer service!

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    Rainedrop61 Oct 15, 2009

    My mom was in the hospital for 2 weeks. She has cancer. She kept up with Mediacom telling them every otherday that when she got out she would pay her bill 220.00 They said fine. Then while she was in the hosptal they cut her internet. No big deal. She called them and explained again. They again said no problem. When you get out just pay it. Then they cut her phone. No problem we will use cells. Then she called them and said she will be coming out of the hospital and she will be paying the bill. Oh now they said wait! You now owe us 420.00 and you have to talk to a tech named Gary. She has tried unseccessfully for 3 days now to call him. He has only called her once at that was to say he will call he back on her cell at 7pm and then never did!!! Now she doesn't know where to go or who to go to? Does she pay the crooks 420.00 or go to dish? Or Direct tv? We have all tried to get ahold of him. He never returns our calls. Mediacom you are heartless and crooked as they come. Your csr's are airheads and you need to be closed down!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ho
    HollyRenee Jun 21, 2009

    For the honest truth about Mediacom, refer to this link. You will be surprised what I have dealt with from this company, and the way they run their business. http://www.associatedcontent.com/article/1852823/review_mediacom_digital_cable.html?cat=39

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    richard Nov 06, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Lately, everytime there is bad weather, the cable TV goes out. When and IF you can get through to customer service, they acknowledge that they are having "technical difficulties". Mediacom brags how much better they are than the "dish". What a joke.
    No credit is given on the monthly bill when a customer looses reception for hours on end. And they always want to send out a service person two or three days in the future; with a 4 hour cushion. Some of us have jobs we need to be at to pay for the cable bill!

    0 Votes
  • Rb
    RBH Oct 24, 2008

    So here I am... again... without phone service. It has been out for 6 hours now. When I went to a local pay phone, I got a busy signal all three times I tried to call as I stood in the rain. I went home and sent email which was answered with an auto reply. Eventually, after several emails, I got an email that indicated they would send my problem to the correct department to get the problem fixed. This is not the first time this has happened. In fact, it happens about once a month right along with losing my internet about once a month. This all started as soon as my first year was over and my rates went up. Go figure... more money for less service. How insane is that?

    0 Votes
  • Ih
    Ihatemediacom Sep 11, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have had sporadic internet for the past three weeks. It will work for a good fifteen minutes, only to promptly die for five minutes. The customer service there is absolutely atrocious. They offer the standard "Did you unplug your modem for at least 10 seconds?"

    OFCOURSE I DID [censored]. THAT IS WHY I AM CALLING YOU, IT DIDN'T WORK. THE LAST SEVEN PEOPLE ASKED ME THE SAME.

    I hope everyone that works there gets pancreatic cancer.

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    Richard Norbut Jul 28, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am a suscriber of Mediacom cable, internet and PHONE service after a multitude of service issues Mediacom sent me a free 60 minute long distsance phone card. As suscriber of their phone service unlimited long distance is included, how dumb is a feee 60 minute phone card?

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.