[Resolved] Maytagwon't clean dishes!

5

I have a quiet series 300 also, I may as well wash all the dishes by hand because if I put them in the dishwasher with ANY food on them, it will still be there when it's done "washing" them and I'll have to do it anyway. That's even with EVERY feature turned on despite that it takes forever to NOT clean the dishes. I've had it for a year, it's the WORST dishwasher I have EVER used. The door latch stopped working about a week after the warranty was up so now we have to pry it out with a knife to get it to latch so it will NOT wash the dishes. Basically it's a $400+ dollar sanitizer and a waste of water and electricity. I will never buy another Maytag appliance. Any future purchases will be Kenmore.

  • Updated by Wp2008 · Mar 19, 2012

    Hello AmyCM, Rene Colon, starryduck, Bad-Maytag. We read your posts, and we are sorry to learn about the frustration you have all experienced with your dishwasher. If you need assistance, please contact us with your name, phone number, address, site that you were contacted on, and the full model and serial number of your dishwasher, and email it to [email protected], and we will look into the issue further. Sincerely, Melanie.

  • Updated by Wp2008 · Feb 27, 2013

    Hello Rexnfx. My name is Amber and I am a representative with Maytag. We apologize about the frustration you have experienced with your dishwasher. If you would like us to look into this further, please provide your name, the name of the site you were contacted on (ComplaintsBoard), your user ID name (Rexnfx), your phone number, your address, your ticket number (34372), the model and serial numbers, and email the requested information to [email protected] We would be happy to review your concerns further. Sincerely, Amber.

  • Updated by Wp2008 · Jul 03, 2013

    Hi maria joseph. My name is Amber and I am a representative with Maytag. We truly regret to learn of these concerns you’re experiencing regarding your washer. If you would like to discuss this matter further, please email us at [email protected] and provide us with your complete contact information as well as the model and serial number of your appliance. Please also include the name of the site you were contacted on (ComplaintsBoard) along with your user name, and your ticket number (49886). We would be happy to review your concerns further. Thank you, Amber.

  • Updated by Wp2008 · Feb 09, 2014

    Hello Todd. My name is Melanie and I am a representative of Whirlpool. We apologize about the frustration you have experienced with your refrigerator. If you would like us to look into this further, please provide your name, the name of the site you were contacted on (Compliants Board), your user ID name (Tood W Underhill), your phone number, your address, the full model and serial number, and ticket number (143313) to Whirlpool[email protected] Please be sure to include all of the information so we can get back to you in a timely manner. We will be happy to review your concerns further. Sincerely, Melanie

  • Updated by Wp2008 · Aug 08, 2016

    Hello vern thiel. My name is Amber and I am a representative with Whirlpool. We truly apologize for the frustrations you have experienced with your washer. Based on the personal information you provided, I was able to locate a file in our system records and will be contacting you soon to discuss this matter further. Best regards, Amber.

Responses

  • Ed
    ed vautour Nov 25, 2006

    I will never buy or recommend a maytag product again.only four years of use and only used by one person myself the compressor is already finish maytag charges 500.00 dollars for part 67.00 for house call and labour fees thats almost 700.00 a fridge is suppose to last much much longer than that shame on you for advertising quality products when it is only junk

    1 Votes
  • Te
    terry kirkman Dec 02, 2006

    90 minutes today on hold....35 yesterday. no answer at all from the number given me for my extended warranty claim. when I called my dealer back to make sure I was doing the right thing I was reassured that not only was I dialing and asserting correctly but that there was no other recourse for me in my pursuits except to keep calling and stay on hold.

    My cordless phone literally lost its charge while I was on hold. the extended warranty company is called dependability plus. Wrong name: for sure!

    0 Votes
  • Fo
    Forrest E Wright Sr. Jan 19, 2007

    We purchase a Amana washer ( model # DLW330RAW) - ( serial # 11495296AP ). With this purchase of the washer we also purchased a extended warranty that was a 3-year contract. Last year 2006 washer started acting up we called for service, this was the first time someone came out to fix washer.

    At that time they replace belts . They did this twice. Now washer is smoking making loud noise. We call again another repair person can out. At this time service man told us that the washer had seized up again because the service person before him left something undone.

    This was on July 19th , 2006 at 12:48 pm. At this time service person said he had to order some parts and he would return on July 27th, 2006 at 2:16pm to repair washer he completed this on July 27th, 2006. This is what was replaced ( transmission kit, milks tool bearing, main bearing assembly and belt spin and pump.
    Washer work alright until this time here which was January 18th ,2007. Call at 11:05pm and talk with a customer service rep name Camille ( this all under our present Maytag Dependability Plus Service Certificate) .
    . I was given a claim number 1780357 and a date January 19th , 2007 also a time frame that the repair person would come to check this problem out the time frame was 8:00am to 5:00pm.
    About 2:30pm I called to check too see if repair man was going to come. At this time I was informed that I was not schedule for an appointment.
    Because the call was received after 5:00pm which the customer service rep should had mention this when I called on the 18th of January ,when you call after 5:00pm you can not be scheduled for service visit.
    Today when I called back I ask to speak to a supervisor
    I was put in touch with a supervisor named Jake his line # is 55347.
    He is telling me that nothing could be done for me to call Maytag. Called Maytag and I was switch back to a A&E rep at which time they switch me to Sears and Sears switch me to back to A&E which I finally took a date of January 25th ,2007 between the hours of 8:00am to 5:00pm. I have set waiting for this repair person all day long .
    This is really terrible that you pay your money for these services and still you get no satisfaction . It's has if you are being taken advantage of.
    I am totally dissatisfied with the work that has been done on my washer it has not work right since these service tech have service it.

    1 Votes
  • Su
    Suzie Feb 03, 2007

    Are you still under your manufacturers warranty? A & E Factory Service handles issues while under the first year.

    If you have an extended service contract - I would continue to call them. Were you scheduled for an appointment when you set up your claim or were they going to send it to a service provider?

    Verify the number that you are supposed to call (on your Certificate of Coverage) and call them to find out the status - also try calling at different times (later in the evening, Sundays) the call hold time is much less then. Hope this helps and let me know if I can help you further!

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    Kevin Ray May 13, 2007

    Great washing machine if you don't mind all of your clothes smelling like urine. The machine is faulty by design. All of our clothes smell of mildew regardless of the soap used, time left in drum, number of washes, repeated cleanings, repeated service calls, etc. Maytag has offered $200 off of a new Maytag washer. Why would anyone bother? How about $200 towards a GE, LG, Kenmore, ...

    0 Votes
  • Na
    Nathalie May 21, 2007

    You have got to be kidding. We bought our MAYTAG appliances, washer and dryer from Home Depot. Yeah, we spent a little bit more but hey, nothing like peace of mind. WRONG!! Delivery was 2.5 months late. We had just had a baby so it was really nice to hand wash out close and dry them hanging around the house.

    Because it took them so long to delivery we sent in our $50 rebate a little later than anticipated. WRONG again, we were refused as they received the paperwork after the deadline date. Eh. Nice. But it was their fault and we even wrote them a letter and mailed in with the rebates. No luck. The letter was still folded, almost as if no one had read it.

    8 months down the road, I noticed that our dryer was out of wrack, making these weird noises and a rolling sound. Almost like there was a rock rolling around when the dryer was working. Yep, someone came by. "The motor needs to be replaced" he said. What? It's only 8 months old.

    Please, don't make the same mistake I did, please do not buy Maytag - no peace of mind there!

    0 Votes
  • Em
    Emilia Monte Jun 07, 2007

    3 years ago we purchased a Maytag washing machine, which out of the blue it developed an overflowing problem. The washer kept filling up and would not shot down, which in turn flooded my basement causing damage to our carpet and other items. Naturally since the guaranteed had expired it meant that to repair the washer it would have set us back several hundreds of dollars so we chose to purchase a new washer. On May 29 I contacted Maytag via e-mail and just today received a reply which basically told me though luck, it was my responsibility to repair the machine no matter the cost. Is there anything that I can do?

    0 Votes
  • To
    Todd W. Underhill Jul 23, 2007

    DO NOT EVER BUY A MAYTAG APPLIANCE!!

    Their customer Service is the worst experience ever. My wife and I purchased a new side by side refrigerator. The compressor broke 1 1/2 weeks after the warranty expired. We got the compressor for free but Maytag wouldn't take into consideration that the warranty was only 1 1/2 weeks past the expiration date. The unit has also leaked for the whole 3 years. We have had them out twice for repairs and in total have had to pay $477.oo in service call fees (By the way the unit is still not fixed as of this email). We were on vacation when the last leak started again and had tile damage to the tune of over $500. The customer service Reps manager actually laughed out loud on the phone when I suggested that Maytag was liable to pay for the damages. The warranty is useless and the customer service is the same. Please I implore anyone who reads this: " Do NOT BUY A MAYTAG PRODUCT"!

    0 Votes
  • Md
    M D Jul 23, 2007

    I purchased a MAYTAG window air conditioner on line from Home Depot - they shipped me a Fedders which is okay BUT!!! The Fedders was made in 2005 - it was an old one and had to have the internal panel replaced in one month. I could of returned it to the store (they shipped free but refused to pick it up) however I was out my installation charge. I could get through to no one one this complaint - they were insulting. It doesn't matter I paid 199.00 plus having it installed. I am 76 years old can't haul air conditioners around.

    0 Votes
  • Ba
    Barb Jul 23, 2007

    After 1 hour and 40 minutes on hold to Maytag's 800 number. I did get a chance to talk top a real person concerning the 06 Maytag costly refrigerator. PROBLEM defective main circuit board (made in China). This circuit board controls all functions on this refrigerator.

    To my dissatisfaction Maytag/Whirlpool has not stated what they intend to do for subsequent circuit board failures. Yes, I did get a brochure to purchase an extended warranty. For a refrigerator costing $2610.00 a one year warranty is a bit skimpy. I have requested a response in writhing but none received to date 7-07. Please post similar complaints for the Maytag refrigerator for I know there have been many circuit board failures.

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    Raymond E. Turner Jul 24, 2007

    We have a washer that is covered by a MayTag dependability Plus coverage. On May 27, 2007 I called for service on the washer on June 5th a service technician came to our house parts was placed on order and a technician was scheduled to come back on June 12th.

    They called to reschedule because parts were on backorder but I should have them within a week. The parts were to be mailed to our house and I was to call to schedule a technician I called again on July 5th and was told the parts were still on backorder but I should receive them soon. Today is July 24th and the parts still have not arrived I called and was given another date of AUG 3, 2007 that the parts should be here by. Not sure I believe them.

    It's time to renew our annual Maintenance Coverage but I feel that we have not been provided the service we should have received and I feel that we should either receive a continuation of service at no charge or a replacement washer.

    I've emailed both Maytag complaining as well as MAYTAG Dependability Plus.

    0 Votes
  • Dr
    DR.&MRS JEROLD GRUBMAN Jul 27, 2007

    We have had numerous problems with this washer. Up until now, the service was fine.
    We now have had several boxes in our home for over a month waiting for service.
    We needed to reorder parts as the ones delivered were rusted. I was told to call asap when the parts came and did so. We were to have service onjuly28th by calling robert at 732 6202050. We did not get a return call. I called the service dept-paul and maria were helpful, routed my request for service and said i would get a call in an hour. It is now 5 hours later and i am still wating.
    I called again, spoke with a supervisor, he said that the service is for wed, aug 1. I am not home!!!And did not request this date!!
    After 5+ hrs of calling, being on hold for up to 25 minutes i had to reschedule for august 29. That would make 2+ months for service.
    I am very upset with the way you are handeling this service call/. Robert, paul and maria should have followed up with this.
    Maytag is supppose to be a reliable product. If this washer is any example of that, i would not recommend it and if someone did want to purchase it i would not recommend your service.
    On a 1 to 10, 1 being the lowest, that would be your score for this service.
    This has been a terrible experience and you can be sure that we will not be buying any maytag products in the future.

    Lenore grubman

    0 Votes
  • Ci
    Cindy Jul 27, 2007

    Add me to the circuit board flashing club. I have a Maytag Ice2NO... The first one bought April 2006 and deliver. It never gave me ice. I wrote and called the company and demanded a new one which they brought a week later. I told them for $2300 a didn't want a defective one. Now 15 months later I have the blinking lights and flapping ice machine thing. Luckily they extended my warranty to October 07 because of all the trouble with the first refrigerator. I called them and they are going to pay for a service call (whoo hoo a whole $65.00). Well, they will still receive a letter from me. I'm printing off all these complaints and sending them to Maytag. Of course they said they've never had ANY complaints. I told them I had read at least 64 on the internet!! It looks like Whirlpool has bought Maytag so I plan on writing Whirlpool/Maytag. I show an address at Benton Harbor MI for Whirlpool. Does anyone have a better one? I'm also going to copy Natl Home Depot and my local one so they know what kind of product they are selling. Personally I'd rather just have my money back.

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    Ray S Jul 30, 2007

    I totally agree with the lack of responsibility and indifference Maytag Dependability Plus program service provides.

    Our refrigerator broke down on July 26th. I called Maytag Dependability Plus on July 27th and was advised that the technician would be there to fix it within 4 hours. After patiently waiting for 4 hours, I called back only to be advised that no one can make it till Monday (2 days later) because the technicians do not work on weekends!! This call was made during the day on Friday when they had the entire day to fix it up.

    All my food and groceries have gone bad. I have no access to cold drinking water, no milk or anything to eat.

    I called them this morning Monday July 30th to be told that the technician has been informed and he will call us today before coming over. We get a call from a technician that he can not make it today. The earliest he can make it is hopefully tomorrow - 4 days after the complaint is lodged. I called the customer service back and ask them the purpose of 24/7 service claim. I was told, it is only customer service that is available 24/7, not the technical service!!! The attitude is condescending at the call center and it feels like you are being done a favor whereas we have paid for this service.

    I agree with other folks here that I totally agree in not going for any maytag products ever again!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    Carla Jean barber Aug 01, 2007

    I purchased a new Maytag washer and dryer in 2002. I bought Maytag because of the trust I had in quality appliances. According to your advertisements, Matags need very little if not no repairs. My washer and dryer have both been REPAIRED TWICE IN THE PAST 5 YEARS. I am very disappointed in the quality of these products. The washer and dryer we purchased in 1982 lasted us 20 years and were still working when I wanted updated models. I WISH I COULD HAVE MY OLD ONES BACK!

    IN 1980 AND DECADES BEFORE, TECHNOLOGY WAS AVAILABLE TO MAKE APPLIANCES THAT LAST 20 PLUS YEARS. WHAT ARE YOU DOING TO CREATE JUNK I CANNOT TRUST! Having appliances break down with our busy life styles is more then inconvenient. I know marketing is most important in this world, but I have lost all confidence in your ability to create machines that last. We pay thousands for appliances that end up as junk plus we spend hundreds every 2 years to keep the machines running ? What is wrong with this picture??? You make it sound like the washer technology is better than ever - Until you make them to last longer than 5-8 years, I will keep fixing what I have -at least I'll be supporting my local repair service instead of a company that cares only for sales hipe and looks of the appliance. You are regressing in engineering.

    Disgusted,
    Carla J. Barber
    616-457-6743.

    0 Votes
  • Si
    Sidestepping Rep Aug 09, 2007

    "The attitude is condescending at the call center and it feels like you are being done a favor whereas we have paid for this service." Indeed you have paid for a service. But the terms and conditions of that service are laid out in great detail in your contract. "Service is provided between the hours of 8 am to 5 pm, monday-friday at the discretion of the selected service provider." It does not say ANYWHERE in the contract about weekend service.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    John Riley Sep 03, 2007

    My may tag Ice2o refrigerator control panel started blinking and the ice door flap keeps opening and closing every few seconds. I went on line, since today is labor day and no one will answer the phone to try to report this problem, Maytag's message told me to go to Whirlpool.com, which was no help at all,can you believe that?
    While on line I looked up to see if other people have had this problem....there are several complaints in a row of this exact symptom which only seems to get worse over time, including ice maker malfunction to eventually having the entire fridge quit working all together, not to mention the service inadequacies! I shall return to post, as I go through what's proved to be by others a long frustrating ride.

    0 Votes
  • Do
    DOMINIC COLAMARTINO Dec 11, 2007

    MAYTG INDIFFERENCE IS PUTTING IT MILDLY! I A TOLD BY REPAIR TECH THAT PARTS ARE ON BACK ORDER. SUGGESTED I CALL MAYTAG DIRECTLY. CALL CENTER REP WAS SPEECHLESS WHEN I TOLD HIM WHAT TECH SAID. COMES BACK WITH LINE THAT TECH MUST CALL THEM AND ASK FOR "ADJUDICATION DEPT." AND THEY WILL HANDLE IT. I THEN ASKED TO BE TRANSFERRED OVER TO THEM AND WAS TOLD THEY WOULD NOT TALK TO ME.

    WHEN I ASKED WHAT THE ADJUDICATION DEPT DOES, HIS RESPONSE 'I CAN'T EVEN PRONOUNCE THE WORD, FORGET ABOUT WHAT THEY DO!

    TYPICAL OF THE CALL CENTER.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    Jaklyn Couto Dec 26, 2007

    I purchased a Maytag Refrigerator summer of 2001. It is the most noisy refrigerator I have ever had. I didn't have is 2 months when the door handle came off. It is a double door and the handle that is left got a weird off color look to it after awhile. It never seemed to be as cool as my other friends refrigerators but I really didn't do anything about it till last year when both the refrigerator and freezer would become warm then cool again, It ruined over $150.00 in food at that time. I called out Sears and they told me the repair would be $400.00 so I paid it. I believe it was less than a week later my food went bad again and I called them out. I got very angry because they wanted to charge me an additional $400.00 to repair again. They told me it was a different part they needed to replace. I threw a fit because I lost additional food and if it would have been fixed properly the first time this would not have happened. Also I probably would have complained to Maytag or done something else rather than put out almost as much as buying another refrigerator on one that never quite cooled right. He offered me a warranty for one year. I had just had a surgery and was in no mood to continue to argue so I paid and excepted the warranty. It seemed to be cool but not like the refrigerators I have been used to. This new warranty would expire Nov 2, 2007. Well if you want to call it luck, my refrigerator started with the same problems as last year and I called November 1, 2007 while still under the warranty. It was contracted out by Sears to First City Repairs. It took them 9 days to call me back and then they called me at work and said they were in the area. NO notice. I cant just leave work. By the time I was able to return their message he had left the area. It was crazy. I called Sears almost every day and they would say they were trying to get their contractor to call me. Finally I had had enough and called the excellerated complaints department . Finally I had service December 11.2007, over a month after the original complaint. Now I have another call in for the same problem, a week after the first repair. This refrigerator's purchase price was $1100.00 and I added another $800.00 in repairs. I don't know what they are going to do with this occurrence. I asked about the food spoilage again and Sears said they only refund once a year. Well it is not my fault their tech didn't correct the problem. Today while looking for a place to complain, I noticed a site with numerous complaints on Magtag appliances and they are not doing something about their inferior products or responding to complaints.

    0 Votes
  • Hu
    huey gremillion Jan 01, 2008

    we needed a compressor for the refrigator and said that none was in stock i called maytag and they sent it out the next day which was a thrusday and a installer put the compressor that monday two weeks later on a thrusday another compressor arrived and we called for repair to pick it up we were left with a ten dollar gift card and when we went to the store to get a perchase we could not use the gift card because it had to be ten dollars and if it was over we had to apply it to our credit card i do not have a sears credit card nor do i want one but the purchase had to be ten dollars and could only pay a few pennies if it was over ten dollars and it had to be applance or clothes so i think this stink because my son open a sears credit card and someone maxed his card by someone in your store or the bank i thnk this stinks i cannot get the ten dollars credit and being i was lied too i think you should make it up to us in some way after we did call you to pick up the compressor that was worth over five hundred dollars which i did not have to do and if you give out a gift card make it good for the amount no matter what let us use the gift card and pay with other money or credit card

    0 Votes
  • Gl
    Gloria Robles Jan 08, 2008

    I purchased a new Maytag French Door Refrigerator in September of 2006. On December 31, 2007 the ice-maker/temperature control panel/water dispenser...started flashing and the ice dispenser started opening and closing on it's own. The noise from the ice dispenser was so loud that even with our bedroom door closed we could still hear it all night long.

    I called Conn's where we purchased the fridge but they refused to help us other then sending out a repair person....at our expense. So, I called Maytag and they advised me that since my warranty had expired all they could do is give me a number that I could call for service....at our expense.

    I explained to the rep at Maytag that I had been on the internet and read some really terrible comments about this and other Maytag products. After much insistance the Maytag rep, who was familiar with my problem and agreed that they had gotten many complaints on the same issue, agreed to cover this problem by sending me the part and setting up a service call with a tech so that the part may be replaced. The tech should be at my home on 1/10/2008. The rep also agreed to extend my warranty through 11/8/2008.

    It was a good thing that she extended my warranty because, in the meantime, last night I get home from work and my fridge is not cooling. I placed a temperature gauge in the fridge and this morning it was 55 degrees in the fridge.

    I called Maytag again and they agreed to cover this as well. They provided the name and number to the company that will be sending out the tech and transferred me to them so that I could let them know what the fridge is doing now so that they may arrange for the tech to address this problem as well.

    I have my old side-by-side refrigerator (it is 15 years old) in my garage for drinks and other items that do not fit in my, almost $3000 "new" refridgerator....that is now not working. I've never had any problems with the old fridge, not one single service call! When I purchased this Maytag, again for almost $3000, I certainly thought it would last as long, if not longer, then my old fridge. And then, there's the issue of all the food gone bad in my Maytag French Door Fridge. We live a good 30 miles from the nearest grocery store and therefore make sure to have plenty of everything we need on stock in the fridge. I'll be cleaning out the fridge and throwing everything out when I get home from work today.

    I can only hope that Maytag keeps their word and actually takes care of the present problems with the new fridge. My main concern is, what happens when the new warranty runs out on 11/8/2008. I am terrified because of all the bad things I am reading about the Maytag appliances.

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    PAUL Jan 08, 2008

    call BBB WHY HERE I DO NOT CARE TO LISTEN OR SEE THIS

    0 Votes
  • Ti
    Tiffany Jan 13, 2008

    We just bought our house and the dishwasher came with it, and I find the same thing, that it doesn't clean the dishes, and I understand that you shoulnd't load the dishes into the dishwasher with a ton of food, but just risn off/scrape clean and still if there is any food on these dishes/utensils forget it, might as well just hand wash everything. I was starting to think that it was the way I load the dishwasher. I am glad that I came across this board.

    2 Votes
  • To
    Tom Jan 31, 2008

    Ironically, I too have the exact problem. I am a proclaimed "do it yourselfer" and as I type this, I have the thing torn apart (for the second time) HOPING to find and correct the problem. No go. No loose parts, large amounts of food, etc... Just dirty dishes! If I wasn't so cheap, I'd go out and get a replacement ASAP! Had this one for about 3 yrs. JUNK!

    2 Votes
  • Je
    Jeremy Pierce Feb 03, 2008

    I to have the same issue, but on top of that my control board on the dishwasher will not work (can't start machine). I have owned this machine for appox. 18 months, and I am starting to think that we are not the only ones having issues with the 300 series. I have browsed the net and have found 100+ ISSUES WITH THIS MACHINE.

    0 Votes
  • Bi
    Bill Ragan Feb 09, 2008

    Here is the message I sent to Maytag. I'm sure they will do nothing. My Mother bought a Maytag French Door Fridge MFI2568AEB from Home Depot. This 2400 product is a lemmon, and you know it. There are hundreds and hundreds of complaints about it on-line as well as several action news reports warning customers about this faulty product but they came too late for my mother. You know what the problem is, flashing lights, flapping ice door, etc. After reading about all these complaints on-line the all experienced the same problem... the circuit board is is bad. I think you should have to recall every one of these piece of craps and replace them with a new refrigerator but I'm sure that will take a class action lawsuit first. I'm sure that is in the works. Untill then I want you to pay for the part and labor and replace the circuit board. She has had this product just over a year, the ice maker makes no ice, while under warranty it was serviced several time (all ice maker) and we still have no ice... now the flapping, blinking door. I want you to fix it and I want you to pay for it.

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    Richard Maierle Feb 23, 2008

    I am glad to see I am not the only one that thinks the quiet serias 300 is junk. First of all the machine is not quiet. Maytag says its 56 decibels so I got a sound meter and it registered 64 decibels. Then the rack support broke under warranty and they replaced it. Then the rack support broke after warranty and had to buy a whole new rack for a hundred dollars. Now the dishes come out dirty and the control panel start switch works hit and miss. This unit is only two and a half years old and is total junk. Wehave always bought Maytag appliances but never again.

    1 Votes
  • Ju
    judi bizzoni Mar 16, 2008

    I have the series 300, recently noticing it is not so quiet.
    The unit is 2.5 years old. Use is limited to 1 time per week.
    Lately it has been making groaning noises. I don't believe that this is normal.

    Is there a mechanical issue here?

    2 Votes
  • Br
    Brian DiGiovanni Apr 10, 2008

    Hey everyone, I'm in the same class as owner CLASS A JUNK. I had my Quiet Series 300 for about 2-/1/2 to 3 years and first things first. The timer on this piece of junk acted up, then the door latch went and now it is not cleaning. Cleaning dishes by hand blows this thing out of the water. And that is just that, if I continue to wash, I'll just end up wasting water. Soon my water bill will be higher per gallon than the current gas prices. I bought a maytage washing machine 2 years ago too, and that piece of junk went on the brink. I think that when the Maytag Repairman on T.V. died so did the equipment. They should just bury their products next to the Maytag Repair Man lol. I will never in this life or the next life time every invest in a Maytag again. I bought a Fisher Paykal washing machine and that works wonders. I want to buy the same dishwasher brand too, but being in school, I'll just keep biting my lip until I get a job. Sorry there are so many good consumers that Maytag has taken to the laundry, no pun intended.

    If anyone can help me to fix this problem, please email me at [email protected] thanks again

    2 Votes
  • Ja
    Jan Debroek Apr 10, 2008

    I bought a Maytag Quiet series dishwasher from Sears. When I began to install the dishwasher, I found
    it had numerous defects - Black insulation on bottom of tub was falling off, and wouldn't stay in place because
    the "peel and stick" covering hadn't been removed. Foam padding over the door hinges and springs had
    been installed 2 inches out of place. Plastic moulding covering the opening at edges was cut to wrong length.
    Dishwasher wouldn't run because door latch inoperative, and it had no adjustment. Had to call for warranty
    service. Technician tried to bash stainless tub with sledgehammer to get latch receiver in proper position.
    Finally, at my suggestion, he drilled/filed latch receiver opening so latch would engage, and dishwasher
    now ran.
    I have to admit the dishwasher is quiet, compared to the Inglis I previously owned. The wash cycle takes
    a looooong time, 2 hours. At first, dishes came out clean, but lately, that's not the case.
    The racks are horrible - it's a tall tub, yet can hardly accomodate dishes for 4. There is no vent for
    steam during the hot dry cycle, and so the steam just condenses on the stainless tub and the
    dishes, meaning you have to dry the dishes when you take them out, and the interior is always wet,
    encouraging mildew.
    Obviously, Maytag has no quality control whatsoever, and exists, not to build appliances, but to
    create bonuses for the CEO and lay off workers.
    Do a Google on "Maytag Sucks" and see the ZILLIONS of complaints! I'll NEVER buy a Maytag
    appliance again!

    1 Votes
  • Tr
    Troy Apr 23, 2008

    To all of you considering purchasing a Maytag appliance, I would like to mention that I have purchased a top of the line Maytag dishwasher that lasted less than a year and a half, and a top of the line Maytag range/oven that is currently failing to maintain the oven heat. It warms up, sometimes, and if it does warm up, it very often fails to keep the temperature at the desired setting. I'm not talking a few degrees, what I mean is that after pre-heating, it just never kicks back on. Very frustrating when you have all of your other dishes ready to go, only to find the chicken in the oven is still raw. Talk about some runined dinners. This product was only two years old when it began failing. I thought this was the company that had so few repairs that their repairmen were bored? What junk!!!

    0 Votes
  • Li
    Lisa Toole May 02, 2008

    Don't bother calling a repair man for the Maytag Quiet Series 300. We have had a rapair man out twice and it is worse than ever. His good advice at the last visit: make sure you wash the dishes off before loading them in. GREAT! We are finally fed up and are ditching it for another brand. This is the worst dishwasher I have ever owned. It doesn't clean the dishes AT ALL. I always have to rewash as it leaves bits of food on the plates and in glasses, and food and ### builds up on the floor of the machine (right where the door opens up). I have tried dishwasher cleaners, but I still have to wipe it out with a towel. We really have not had the machine very long either, but what a waste of money. Maytag should be ashamed.

    2 Votes
  • Kl
    kl May 10, 2008

    Bought our Quiet Series 300 new for our newly remodled kitchen
    Runs long, poor washing since new. Did not buy service plan, as a do-it-yourselfer. I have replaced the broken door latch. Fixed the float sensor 3 times (a microswitch). The el-cheapo racks broke long ago and we use zipstyle wire cable straps to hold that crap together.
    It makes extremely loud noise every now and then. Eventually goes away. I don't think it can handle food of any kind maybe that's why it's designed to not wash food of the plates!

    Anyway - a positive note: I took the top prop off (it snaps off pretty easily) and sprayed water back through the holes. Lots of stuff washed out:little blue plastic shards and gunk from who knows where. It actually cleans the top rack now!!! Hooray.

    Now I've got to see if I can get it to clean the bottom rack better...

    We bought Maytag oven and microwave too, to match. What a mistake. We will never buy Maytag again. Wouldn't take it even if it were 1/10th of the price. Maytag bean-counters - you are putting your greedy selves out of business!

    1 Votes
  • Do
    Don Umphrey May 11, 2008

    We bought our Maytag Quiet Series 300 dishwasher about 2 1/2 years ago from Home Depot. After about a year, the control board stopped working. Maytag scheduled a visit with a repairman and I was given a four-hour window to stay home during which time this individual was supposed to show up. He finally came about four hours after the initial four-hour window had expired. But he didn't have the right part with him, so we had to reschedule with another repairman. He, too, missed the four-hour window and finally got here about four hours after the four-hour window had expired. So in order to get the problem fixed, I had to wait on the repairman 16 hours. I've never waited this long in a doctor's office, have you?

    Today, our control board stopped working again.

    Bottom line:

    Maytag has no respect for my time and thinks the repairman's time is more valuable than that of a doctor. (Oh, by the way, I have a Ph.D.)

    Maytag makes an inferior product--a complete waste of money.

    Make sure to tell your friends and neighbors about your negative experiences with Maytag. I will.

    1 Votes
  • Mo
    Monica May 20, 2008

    I'm so glad I found this board to voice my complaint! We purchased the Maytag Quiet Series 300 four years ago when we built our house. I chose it because we could use the Home Depot payment plan, and the stainless exterior looked good in our new kitchen.

    This has been a terrible mistake! I've had trouble for years with the little plastic end pieces falling off when I open out the racks on the top and bottom. Also, the wash cycle takes forever, at least three hours, so if I run it after supper, we have to go to sleep still listening to it run.

    But it finally completely quit cleaning the dishes two months ago. We waited a while and then called for someone to repair it. The company (A&E) said I had to be home between 8 am and 5 pm and wouldn't give me any better time estimate! I wasted a whole day waiting, and the guy showed up at 5:30 pm. Within five minutes, he said, "You need a new motor; that will be $680 if you want to replace it. My advice: don't buy anything Maytag. All the internal parts are plastic and they wear out."

    I'm so frustrated that I had to pay a $65 service fee to find out I need a new dishwasher! I've never had a major appliance just "die" like this -- and now I'm searching consumer reports to find a dishwasher that I can depend on!

    1 Votes
  • Bn
    B Neal May 22, 2008

    My beef is with Maytag the manufacture. We bought a new Maytag Refrigerator Stainless French Door w/ bottom freezer in Aug 2006. I believe we paid $2, 200-$2, 300 and within 6 months the ice maker also quit working. Seems to be a common theme with Maytag. It was under warranty and the repair guy didn't even ask any questions...he simply replaced it. I asked if he had replaced many of these icemakers recently... a lot he told me. Then the other night all functions of the refrigerator quick working. No humming or buzzing... no sounds at all. Nothing was working except the warm glow of the interior light. That was so I could witness my food stuff melting and going bad easier. Maytag and other US companies wonder why they close manufacturing plants and loose business, because they are making crap and not standing behind their products. At this point I would live to ship the damn thing to their CEO's home... COD and a note... "Here! You take it!"

    0 Votes
  • Na
    nancy May 24, 2008

    I purchased $4500 of Maytag appliances in September 2005, A French Door Refrigerator, a stainless steel tub dishwasher and a gas stove with convection oven a double door. In September of 2006 the refrigerator broke, was still under warranty and the repairman said that this refrigerator was a piece of junk and don't be surprised if it breaks down again. Sure enough in May 2008 the refrigerator broke. I had to purchase a new refrigerator and it wasn't a Maytag. In March 2008, the dishwasher broke. The motor seized up. I purchased a new dishwasher not a Maytag. Didn't want to get that dishwasher fixed because I was afraid it would burn down the house.In March 2008 the handle broke off the Maytag stove and my husband glued it back. I am just waiting now for the stove to break. I was going to purchase Whirlpool appliances never had a problem with them but then I heard they bought out Maytag. So that was the end of purchasing Whirlpool.

    DO NOT BUY ANY MAYTAG appliances. They are HORRIBLE. I am seriously thinking about suing Maytag/Whirlpool.

    0 Votes
  • We
    wendy May 31, 2008

    I've had all the same problems as you all have listed. My new Maytag was installed when I moved to a new home 5 years ago, and I insisted on a Maytag as I had one in my previous home and it was fantastic - cleaned well (even without rinse agent) and only one minor repair problem in 20+years.
    This one has been a nightmare and I will never buy another Maytag product of any kind, nor is it likely that anyone I tell about my experience will!

    1 Votes
  • Li
    Linda Jun 03, 2008

    Purchased Maytag slide in range in 2001. Used self clean in 03, electric control panel went out. Warrantied at $350 to them. Oct. 07, same thing. Self cleaned, oven didn't work. Called tech support, instructions to change out electric coil almost electricuted myself per their tech. Still didn't work, was control panel again. Took Maytag 3 repairmen and 4 weeks to fiqure the problem out. Once they fiqured it out, part was ordered and repair rescheduled. Part no good. Re order, rescheduled. One month to repair, 3 days to Thanksgiving before repair was done. Started in mid-Oct.

    Self cleaned oven last week, oven out again. Can't even get a person to return my call this time.

    I would think that 3 times the same problem occurred this would be a lemon and they would acknowledge it.

    Worst customer service I have ever seen. I will never buy another Maytag or anything that is affiliated with Maytag.

    Lonely repairman, what a joke! Well, maybe he is because they don't want to fix what they make.

    0 Votes
  • Br
    Bryan Jun 09, 2008

    Thanks to everyone who has taken the time to write about your quiet series 300 issues. I purchased our 300 after a significant amount of research for price vs. quality. I've had a Maytag refrigerator since 98 and was very pleased with it, so I went out and bought what I thought was the top of the line for over $500.

    My rack broke over a year ago, the racks showed rust within the first year and now this piece of trash cleans about 50% of the dishes and I can't figure out if there is a motor out or what. It's like it runs on two motors and one isn't doing the job. The other one is working hard enough to achieve some success, but not enough to go unnoticed. I was on the bubble about calling a repairman, but now after reading all these comments I'm going to buy another dishwasher. Any suggestions on models or brands? I'm debating on buying some super cheap model that I can replace every year despite any loud noise it might make. Investing in the top of the line certainly hasn't helped...

    p.s. Maytag if you're paying attention to your consumers please note this. The next Maytag product that crosses my threshold will be on the way out not on the way in...

    1 Votes

Post your comment