Menu
ADVERTISIMENT
Home Appliances Maytag won't clean dishes!
More

Maytag - won't clean dishes!

B
Author of the complaint
1:34 pm
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

I have a quiet series 300 also, I may as well wash all the dishes by hand because if I put them in the dishwasher with ANY food on them, it will still be there when it's done "washing" them and I'll have to do it anyway. That's even with EVERY feature turned on despite that it takes forever to NOT clean the dishes. I've had it for a year, it's the WORST dishwasher I have EVER used. The door latch stopped working about a week after the warranty was up so now we have to pry it out with a knife to get it to latch so it will NOT wash the dishes. Basically it's a $400+ dollar sanitizer and a waste of water and electricity. I will never buy another Maytag appliance. Any future purchases will be Kenmore.

ADVERTISIMENT
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

Helpful? 0 0
Share
Reply

More Maytag complaints & reviews

Maytag - problems with the ice maker!
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company left an official comment to this complaint.
Maytag - spin cycle problems
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company left an official comment to this complaint.
Maytag - piece of junk!
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Maytag - maytag centennial washer
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Maytag - the worst appliance experience!
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Maytag - washer
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company left an official comment to this complaint.
Maytag - compressor burned out-5th year!
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Maytag - refrigerator
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company left an official comment to this complaint.
359 comments
Add a comment
F
Jan 19, 2007 1:34 pm

We purchase a Amana washer ( model # DLW330RAW) - ( serial # 11495296AP ). With this purchase of the washer we also purchased a extended warranty that was a 3-year contract. Last year 2006 washer started acting up we called for service, this was the first time someone came out to fix washer.

At that time they replace belts . They did this twice. Now washer is smoking making loud noise. We call again another repair person can out. At this time service man told us that the washer had seized up again because the service person before him left something undone.

This was on July 19th , 2006 at 12:48 pm. At this time service person said he had to order some parts and he would return on July 27th, 2006 at 2:16pm to repair washer he completed this on July 27th, 2006. This is what was replaced ( transmission kit, milks tool bearing, main bearing assembly and belt spin and pump.
Washer work alright until this time here which was January 18th ,2007. Call at 11:05pm and talk with a customer service rep name Camille ( this all under our present Maytag Dependability Plus Service Certificate) .
. I was given a claim number 1780357 and a date January 19th , 2007 also a time frame that the repair person would come to check this problem out the time frame was 8:00am to 5:00pm.
About 2:30pm I called to check too see if repair man was going to come. At this time I was informed that I was not schedule for an appointment.
Because the call was received after 5:00pm which the customer service rep should had mention this when I called on the 18th of January ,when you call after 5:00pm you can not be scheduled for service visit.
Today when I called back I ask to speak to a supervisor
I was put in touch with a supervisor named Jake his line # is 55347.
He is telling me that nothing could be done for me to call Maytag. Called Maytag and I was switch back to a A&E rep at which time they switch me to Sears and Sears switch me to back to A&E which I finally took a date of January 25th ,2007 between the hours of 8:00am to 5:00pm. I have set waiting for this repair person all day long .
This is really terrible that you pay your money for these services and still you get no satisfaction . It's has if you are being taken advantage of.
I am totally dissatisfied with the work that has been done on my washer it has not work right since these service tech have service it.

Helpful?
0 0
T
Jul 23, 2007 1:34 pm

DO NOT EVER BUY A MAYTAG APPLIANCE!

Their customer Service is the worst experience ever. My wife and I purchased a new side by side refrigerator. The compressor broke 1 1/2 weeks after the warranty expired. We got the compressor for free but Maytag wouldn't take into consideration that the warranty was only 1 1/2 weeks past the expiration date. The unit has also leaked for the whole 3 years. We have had them out twice for repairs and in total have had to pay $477.oo in service call fees (By the way the unit is still not fixed as of this email). We were on vacation when the last leak started again and had tile damage to the tune of over $500. The customer service Reps manager actually laughed out loud on the phone when I suggested that Maytag was liable to pay for the damages. The warranty is useless and the customer service is the same. Please I implore anyone who reads this: " Do NOT BUY A MAYTAG PRODUCT"!

Helpful?
0 0
D
Jul 27, 2007 1:34 pm

We have had numerous problems with this washer. Up until now, the service was fine.
We now have had several boxes in our home for over a month waiting for service.
We needed to reorder parts as the ones delivered were rusted. I was told to call asap when the parts came and did so. We were to have service onjuly28th by calling robert at [protected]. We did not get a return call. I called the service dept-paul and maria were helpful, routed my request for service and said i would get a call in an hour. It is now 5 hours later and i am still wating.
I called again, spoke with a supervisor, he said that the service is for wed, aug 1. I am not home!And did not request this date!
After 5+ hrs of calling, being on hold for up to 25 minutes i had to reschedule for august 29. That would make 2+ months for service.
I am very upset with the way you are handeling this service call/. Robert, paul and maria should have followed up with this.
Maytag is supppose to be a reliable product. If this washer is any example of that, i would not recommend it and if someone did want to purchase it i would not recommend your service.
On a 1 to 10, 1 being the lowest, that would be your score for this service.
This has been a terrible experience and you can be sure that we will not be buying any maytag products in the future.

Lenore grubman

Helpful?
0 0
R
Jul 24, 2007 1:34 pm

We have a washer that is covered by a MayTag dependability Plus coverage. On May 27, 2007 I called for service on the washer on June 5th a service technician came to our house parts was placed on order and a technician was scheduled to come back on June 12th.

They called to reschedule because parts were on backorder but I should have them within a week. The parts were to be mailed to our house and I was to call to schedule a technician I called again on July 5th and was told the parts were still on backorder but I should receive them soon. Today is July 24th and the parts still have not arrived I called and was given another date of AUG 3, 2007 that the parts should be here by. Not sure I believe them.

It's time to renew our annual Maintenance Coverage but I feel that we have not been provided the service we should have received and I feel that we should either receive a continuation of service at no charge or a replacement washer.

I've emailed both Maytag complaining as well as MAYTAG Dependability Plus.

Helpful?
0 0
B
Dec 06, 2011 1:34 pm

The amazing Maytag or mayrag quiet series Dishwasher that I researched before purchasing in 2003 and installing in our new home is the biggest piece of crap that I have ever purchased. Within the first 2 months the silverware baskets broke, the door latch stopped working and we played a game where you would count the number is food particles that were left on all the dishes after a wash cycle (if you want to call it a wash cycle). This past summer I spent half a day taking apart the inside unit to see what was not working. After enduring the stench of filthy water loaded with food chunks (the grinding blade was duller than a butter knife) and a slime layer covering everything I touched I concluded that I was done with this piece of crap.

I purchased Kenmore (I asked plumbers what they would buy) from Sears for $200 less than what I paid for the Mayrag and lo and behold, the dishes are clean, I cannot even hear the unit run and our satisfaction is beyond our dreams.

Just like GM and Chrysler who took bail out, I will make my purchases based on more than what the internet "experts" say to get.

Helpful?
0 0
N

We purchased a Maytag Dishwasher "Legacy Series" "Quiet 300" with purchase price of 650.00. Six months after warranty expired the silverware basket was falling apart causing pieces to grind in component, the coating on dishware rack was falling off causing rust. Repeated attempts to have product serviced under the "good name" of Maytag, a company that should stand behind its name and supposed quality informed me that they would sell me a "repair kit" at half price IF I purchased it within 30 days. Letters all the way to top management produced the same run around results. I've informed Maytag that once this unit completely falls apart, I will remove it from my kitchen, purchase another non-maytag/whirlpool product and dump their unit on the front lawn of their manufacturing facility for all to see. Gee, they gonna call the cops?

Helpful?
0 0
D
Nov 28, 2012 1:34 pm

I purchased a Maytag refrigerator nearly 3 years ago and the white frame surrounding the glass cracked on the left side then broke, so called Maytag for a replacement. I was informed that the replacement would cost $157. To say that I was shocked would be an under statement considering that frame was nothing but plastic, so why should have to pay $157 when there was nothing wrong with the glass? Well I was informed that it wasn't sold separate and there was no alternative, because I was concerned that this may happen again in 2 years. Now, I probably wouldn't be so upset if I had children but there's no one using the refrigerator but myself so I complained to the complaint center and was told that my concerns will be documented.

I am truly disappointed in Maytag because there was a time when they took pride in the products and services. Now it seem that the consumers aren't as important as they used to be.

Helpful?
0 0
J
Oct 17, 2008 1:34 pm

I bought a Maytag dishwasher on 8/30. It was delivered on 9/2 with a dent on the front panel. The installer said it would take only a week to get a new panel and it only pops off and back on with the new panel. 6 weeks later an numerous phone calls the panel is finally delivered by a Jersey Appliance tech.
He proceeds to take the entire door apart. My first thought is it will never work right again because he sat there scratching his head. He than proceeded to open the box with the new panel and it is a Samsung panel! He said he would order a new panel for us. He put our door back together and guess what. The dishwasher does not release soap or dry the dishes anymore. I call the appliance store back (See-More Appliance) and arrange for a tech to fix the dishwasher. The appointment is scheduled for 2 days later between 1-5. I called at 4:15 to make sure they were coming. I get he is on call number 4 and I am call number 6 and yes he would be there. At 6 pm I get a call the truck is broken. YEAH RIGHT! I asked to speak to a supervisior I get disconnected. I call back and get the "oh I am so sorry" we can get someone out to you next week between 1-5. This place sucks big time. I would never do business with See-More Applicance or this repair place again!

Helpful?
0 0
J

My Name is ***** and I am at the point of tears. We first walked into a Sears store on March 6th to purchase a dishwasher in Monroe Michigan. The sales person said we needed to order it online since the store was closing. On March 8th we purchased the dishwasher(order# 3********) with my Sears card. we waited to the scheduled delivery date which was March 28th. On March 28th the Installation dept. called and said the dishwasher had been lost and it would not be delivered. We then called customer solutions and talked to many different case workers over the next few days. We finally talked to an case manager named Amy in Arizona who promised us a upgraded dishwasher because the dishwasher was out of stock, (order # *******). She said she couldn't just order it because we had to wait until they re-credited the amount before we could purchase it. We were never able to contact Amy again. On March 31st I called and reordered the dishwasher and I was promised a delivery date of Friday April 13th with installation. Yesterday my husband received a call letting us know they had problems with the paper work and they were going to work to get us our dishwasher by Friday. I was worried about the Friday delivery date so I called Customer Solutions once again tonight and spoke to another case manager in Arizona named Leticia, She informed us we received an email earlier today, but was unaware of any problems with the delivery of our dishwasher. She told us our dishwasher was in the system to be delivered after April 18th. When I disconnected with her I checked my emails and they stated they reprocessed my Dishwasher(without my permission) and will call me April 18th to let me know when they will deliver the dishwasher. I have been waiting since March 8th for my dishwasher to arrive. I do not understand why sears can not get me a dishwasher, since I ordered one over a month ago! I have talked to several Case workers and so far no one has actually been able to get my dishwasher to me. We have been without a dishwasher and have been eagerly waiting and very disappointed every time Sears messes up the order. I am at my wits end and I was wondering if there was something you could do to get us our dishwasher? We are unsure who else to turn to. Thank you for your time. It is now April 17th, we were promised our dishwasher would be delivered today, we wait ed thru the time frame and no dish washer. We called online solutions again and they said "someone must have gave your dishwasher to someone else" installation then said it will be delivered on the 18th and we would get a call tonight with a new time frame, but we waited till 9:00 pm and they never called! I then contacted the installation dept again and the girl stated they don't call at night, they call in the morning and she tells all her customers that. I then asked to speak to a manager because she wouldn't help me any further and she said she would love to and transferred me to a dept which was closed. I called back spoke to someone else and she said they do call at night and she called the installation guy for me. He did not answer his phone, so she said she left a message and they will call first thing in the morning. i am not holding my breath! ef45a4

Helpful?
0 0
F
May 01, 2009 1:34 pm

I called Maytag Warranty for repair of my washer. Was not given a claim number and was told I will be notified. I waited over a day for a call. I called Maytag back again and was told to make my own service call. I called the company I was told to call and they said it would be over a week before a service person could be here. I have a house full of kids and being out of a washer for over a week is unsat. I had a problem a couple months ago with the washer and called and had service the next day. I called Maytag back and requested another service company and was told they cannot do, that the one assigned is it.I requested a supervisor and was refused with some lame excuse..I called another service unit that could be here tomorrow then I told them the claim number and they said can't do because Maytag has assigned a company to repair. I called Maytag again and was told they will send an email to somewhere within the company and ask them to assign another repair company. If I have to wait over a week for service when there are two companies here that can service the machine this week, then I see a cancellation after this repaid...

Helpful?
0 0

This machine was purchased in 2008 - from day one it sounded like a train coming through my house - However the issue is this is the third Timer Third Timer - Now Also needs New Motor - Also needs new Water Level Switch - Best Buy Purchase with extended warranty - They send Refurbished Parts - Called Maytag no Recall - Want a NEW Machine Without one for one month - Trying to get Best Buy to honor their warranty - Replace this piece of garbage - Maytag will Do Nothing - Don't buy this garbage!

Helpful?
0 0
B
Aug 08, 2016 1:34 pm

bought a $1800.00 oven ts series three years ago...now I know that Maytag did not make the oven igniter switch...but boys you better start buying from a better manufacturer. Parts plus labor $200.00.
It sure does put a black eye on your company when you pay that much for an appliance and fork out more $$$ for inferior parts. Needless to say I am a little disappointed.

Helpful?
0 0
B
Aug 08, 2016 1:34 pm

I bought a maytag neptune clothes dryer for nearly $1000. In less than 5 years the stainless steel drum started separating at the seam. Now there is a huge gap that clothes get caught on. Now when the timer counts down and gets to 1 instead of going off it continues to run. If you do not get the clothes out immediately they get so hot that when you open the door it sets off the smoke alarm. The appliance repair man said it would cost between $400 to $500. When I contacted Maytag to see if they would give me a discount on the parts they said be a use of the poor economy the would not help. I will NEVER buy any Maytag products again and would never recommend their products!

Helpful?
0 0
P
Aug 08, 2016 1:34 pm

Refused to send a repairman until a week after Washer broke. Man came, no tools, did not know how to get front of washer off. Said needed new tub, is leaking. Mumbled, had trouble understanding him. Said would have to order parts. Another week, not fixed, so called, the man ans so RUDE and confused me. Said my fault as I had not called to say the part was in, and I said must be some mistake, this is Extended Warranty, why was I responsible for the part. Said UPS would bring part to my house and I was to pick up the part and carry it into the house. I am 73 yr old, just had surgery on shoulder, cannot pick up the tub. UPS did deliver, at the end of my 1/2 mile lane on county road. I called told them where the washer was located. Several days later, another man came, said to me, after I had been paying all that money to Maytag Extended Warranty, that A & E would not put in tub, so he picked up new tub and left with it. I am here, stranded, cannot go to laundry place, I spent hundreds of dollars on Extended Warranty, and I have laundry piling up, cannot drive due to surgery, cannot lift anything, cannot do laundry. I wasted hundreds of dollars of money for service they so RUDE in denying/

Helpful?
0 0
V

call maytag and knowbody knows about the sensor problem at least angie doesn't and it's on the net need help

Helpful?
0 0
M
Aug 08, 2016 1:34 pm

I purchased a maytag neptune several years ago. I have had nothing but
problems. When the repair man came to repair it he said I had just missed
the time frame for the lawsuit against Maytag. Well in fact I had not. But by
the time I found this out, then it was to late. I had always wanted a
Maytag because of the dependability, but I will never buy another one. They
had to replace the motor in it last year. Thank goodness it was still under
warranty. Now the door lock will not work, so therefore it cannot spin. I am
not sure if it is worth the salvage or not. Problem is right now I cannot
afford to go out and purchase another washer and dryer.

Helpful?
0 0
M
Aug 08, 2016 1:34 pm

February 26,2008
Original appointment schedules for Feb 26,2008 between 8:00am-12:00pm. Called at 10:ooam for status and was told that the repairman was on call # 3 in the 94403 area. My job is his next one. I called again at 12:15 and received the same status of being # 3 in the 94403 area and no estimation of when the repairman will be coming. The manager Niki at [protected] sent off two text messages to have the repairman call me within 15 minutes.
Still waiting for call...it is now 1:05pm.

Helpful?
0 0
H
Aug 08, 2016 1:34 pm

Just purchased (1 day) and the ice maker stopped turning the auger. I suspect that the ice sometimes catches on the dispenser orifice and prevents the auger from turning which caused too much strain on motor and burns it out. Will wait and see what the warranty technician says. I have a bad feeling about this fridge. Had a Maytag washer which also turned out to be lemon. Had to replace a resistor with higher capacity since all the replacement boards kept coming with the same under powered resistor. I though Maytag would raised its quality now that they are merged with Whirlpool.

Helpful?
0 0
D

When we had our Dishwasher service due to recall the door didnt close right and upon further investigation we found screws left out. Now were afraid to use this machine do to the screws being left out. This is not professional we need this addressed as soon as possible and maybe Maytag needs to know the quality of service that you are servicing there brands. My wife and I work untill 4:00 each day Monday thru Friday you can reach us at the number provided or you can email me at [email protected] We appreciate a quick response to this issue since it was your technicians negligence.

Helpful?
0 0
R

A&E Factory Service is AWFUL. ABSOLUTELY AWFUL. The Technician came late. This caused both my wife and I to miss a day of work. When the Tech came, looked at the washer, and said the motor needs to be replaced. He said he had one in the truck. When he returned, he told me it would cost $331.24. I signed a paper agreeing to pay it. Once he took the motor out of the box, it was broken. He said he didn't have another one and it would have to be ordered. He then said he needed payment. "For What?" I asked. He said I had to pay for the motor. Now tell me: Why should I pay for a part that's not working?!? He explained it's A&E's policy for the customer to pay for parts. I don't have a problem with that, provided the part is working! He then told me the part would be delivered to my home (big deal!), and it would take two weeks before another service could be scheduled. To recap: My wife and I miss a day of work waiting for a Tech to come late within a FOUR HOUR WINDOW, when the Tech finally arrives, he has a replacement part that's broken, and yet still expects to get paid for a "service" that wasn't performed? How does your company stay in business?

Helpful?
0 0
K
Aug 08, 2016 1:34 pm

Don't purchase appliances if you are doing a kitchen remodel too far in advance. The warranty starts at the time of purchase. I bought a Maytag microwave and had it installed 6 weeks later. It died on Thanksgiving heating up some food. I called the service dept and waited 20 minutes to speak to someone. I was told that I could buy a service plus package for 2 years and pay $299 + tax and have it repaired. I yelled... I paid $300 for the microwave 13 months ago! Don't buy Maytag! It is not the same company as we remember the old Maytag repairman! Whirlpool makes the products now and this is the second problem I have had with my new appliances. My oven door fell open on my dog in the summer ( still under warranty) and the service told me that there was no spring on one side of the oven door. Send the extra $$ on quality... don't use store credit cards.. I wish I paid with my AMEX

Helpful?
0 0
L
Jul 26, 2016 1:34 pm

I have had 2 different repairmen out and they said my washer cannot be fixed. It will not spin all the water out of my clothes. Even after sending back thru the spin cycle several extra times they still come out too wet to put in the dryer. What can be done? Any recalls for this problem?

Helpful?
0 0
S
Jul 05, 2016 1:34 pm

13 months after purchasing my stainless steel drum may tag dishwasher, which I loved, the control panel stops working! Warranty gone! We pull the panel off and find melted wires from control board!
I have researched this on the Net and find numerous complaints about the same dishwasher and it happens within a year of purchasing it. $400 to fix!

Helpful?
0 0
S

NO BRAVO for MAYTAG! This washing machine was fixed under warranty during the first year we had it. It makes loud grinding and rattling noises. This probem has now recurred over 3 more periods of time and is less than 2 years old. I contacted Maytag and the refused to cover the cost of fixing the same thing that was wrong with it when under warranty. It is my problem now. I think if Maytag is selling washing machines that can't properly do the job then I as a customer am being ripped off. Obviously there is something wrong about how the machine is built. To add insult to injury they tried to sell me a further product that I can get locally.

Helpful?
0 0
G

I purchased a Maytag Gas Range in May of 2007 and it has yet to work properly. It is not calibrated properly, it heats up 25 degrees higher than whatever temperature you set it for, the burners will not go to a low setting either. When it was under warrenty they came out and could not repair it. I now have an extended warrenty with GE, what a mistake that was... they have been out 5 times and have not fixed it yet. Now they are claiming that after this next service call they will not come back out.

I called Maytag to let them know the problems I was having with their product and they did not care since I was not under their warrenty any longer.

Can anyone help?

Helpful?
0 0
N
May 21, 2007 1:34 pm

You have got to be kidding. We bought our MAYTAG appliances, washer and dryer from Home Depot. Yeah, we spent a little bit more but hey, nothing like peace of mind. WRONG! Delivery was 2.5 months late. We had just had a baby so it was really nice to hand wash out close and dry them hanging around the house.

Because it took them so long to delivery we sent in our $50 rebate a little later than anticipated. WRONG again, we were refused as they received the paperwork after the deadline date. Eh. Nice. But it was their fault and we even wrote them a letter and mailed in with the rebates. No luck. The letter was still folded, almost as if no one had read it.

8 months down the road, I noticed that our dryer was out of wrack, making these weird noises and a rolling sound. Almost like there was a rock rolling around when the dryer was working. Yep, someone came by. "The motor needs to be replaced" he said. What? It's only 8 months old.

Please, don't make the same mistake I did, please do not buy Maytag - no peace of mind there!

Helpful?
0 0
A
Oct 23, 2008 1:34 pm

I have a dishwasher I purchase on 3/18/06 along with 2 other Maytag products. I have had nothing but problems with the dishwasher. On 2/15/07, my dishwasher started leaking. It wasn't part of the recall, but it was leaking buckets. Three service calls later, you finally agreed to replace the seal on the door and spray arm. In July 08, my control panel stopped working. You sent over A&E service factory. The technician advised that the part I wouldn't have to pay for, just the service call. I did. One month later, they finally came back with the part and installed it. As of yesterday, 10/22, the control stopped working again. I called and spoke with Beverly at the customer service office. She put me on hold and advised that I did not need to pay for the service call or the part. The service call was set up for today. The technician from A&E service factory came out. He said I would have to pay for a new part. I told him no. I asked if there was a warranty on parts. He said no. There is just the original warranty on the unit itself. He told me to call Maytag while he was there. I did and the supervisor was useless. I called the parts department after I told the technician to leave and hung up with customer service. I spoke with Jaime and she was very helpful. She called A&E service factory for me and came back and said the technician was wrong and that they will come back, free of charge with a new part but I have to wait until his information is downloaded. If I do not hear back, I will be calling again tomorrow. If this is not taken care of I am going to purchase another dishwasher but from a different company liek GE or an international co. I will never purchase another MAYTAG applianace again and I will never recommend to another to purchase Maytag. In fact, I am going to post my story on the internet to let everyone know the lack of knowledge from your authorized technicians, lack of quality in product and lack of quality in parts. It is a crime to produce a product that only lasts a little over 2 years when you should be getting at least 8-10 out of it. I might have even been satisified with 5 years, but 2 is ridiculous. The financial hardship to purchase another unit because of the lack of quality is a CRIME!

Helpful?
0 0
A
Oct 28, 2009 1:34 pm

I have been a Maytag Customer over 34 years. I am now 53 years of age. My husband and I decided to give our previous Maytag washer and dryer to one of our relatives. Our relative needed the new appliances and was unable to purchase new. We were confident that the washer and dryer would provide many more years of service. The appliances were 20 years old when gifted.

In place of our previous washer and dryer we purchased a Maytag Performa Washer & Dryer. We are very unhappy with the perfomance of our NEW washer and dryer. The washer does not spin dry the clothes adequately. If the load is off balance the washer continues to spin and actually shake the machine. I have spent way too much time re-spinning loads of laundry. The washer does not perform as WELL or Close to our previous macine. The dryer does not dry clothes on the first attempt. This occurs most often on the Auto Dry function. These units are suppose to be energy efficient, WRONG.

To make matters worse we purchased a Maytag French Door with ice/water in the door. The icemaker does not work half the time. We have balanced the refridgerator, had a representative work on it, etc. nothing seems to work. The icemaker for no reason will stop working. We have to cycle the icemaker off for a couple of hours and then restart. The machine then makes ice. However, all the ice is fused together, the icemaker can not handle the frozen chunks and causes the "screw" to jump out. If the ice isn't frozen together it is inoperable due the mechanism used to move the ice out of its socket.

I am no longer a happy Maytag consumer. My husband refuses to purchase a MayTag product again. What have you done to your products to have such poor quality? I am upset since I have always purchased Maytag products. Any advice?

Helpful?
0 0
A
Jun 20, 2011 1:34 pm

I bought a Maytag Electric Gemini Rage in 2005. I also purchased the extended warranty at that time. It worked just fine until July of 2009, when it started throwing error codes. The oven completely shuts off when this happens. I have had 7 parts replaced ( computer board/clock has been replaced 3 times, oven door locks both upper and lower have been replaced, and harness wiring has been replaced.)It continues to throw error codes and shut down. Then it will re-set itself so by the time the tech gets out to service it there are no apparent problems. This has happened even after new parts were installed. To further complicate matters, Whirlpool switched warranty companies this year and do not even recognize the 5 trips out that were made prior to March 2010. I have called both the warranty company and Whirlpool and have been told that unless a tech says that my oven is "not repairable" there is nothing that will be done.I cannot put anything in my oven without the fear that it will shut off and ruin whatever is in the oven. It went out at Christmas this year, and although a new computer board was installed the week before Christmas, it threw error codes 4 days before Christmas and I was not able to use it for the holiday at all. I had to purchase a roaster oven in which to cook my turkey. Had to cancel my cookie baking for Christmas entirely.And by the time a tech came out the Monday after Christmas, it had somehow re-set itself and he could find no problems. It happened again this week after I had put a chicken in to roast; it threw error codes and shut off. I have tried unplugging it, shutting it off at the main circuit, and it never seems to fix it for long. I am truly beyond frustrated at this point. I feel that it should be REPLACED, so that I can have the peace of mind to know that when I go to use my oven, it will not shut off mid-bake. I have been patient, but I feel that this problem needs to be resolved. As this unit seems to be a lemon it should be replaced at no charge. I would appreciate any help to get this range replaced as soon as possible.

Helpful?
0 0
T
Feb 26, 2010 1:34 pm

I called customer service this a.m. The store is at 1350 Veterans Parkway in Clarksville, In. The Black Lady I spoke to could not have been more rude. When I ask her name or if I could speak with someone else she said " Goodnite" and hung up. I was calling concerning a washer and dryer I had purchased on Friday. This person should NOT have a job in customer service. The store code is [protected]. My name is Carole Lamb and I have in the past done alot of business with Lowe's. Because of her I will cancel my Maytag order. Thank You and I hope that lady will be replaced. Too many nice people are looking for a job.

Helpful?
0 0

I bought a Maytag washer approximately six weeks ago and it sticks on spin/rinse. I called and was told a tech would be out 9/17 between 1 and 5. I called at 4:15 to check whereabouts of the tech. Was told he was running late but would be there. At 6:30 I called again and was told no one answered the door, which was a flat out lie. I was in the living room/ kitchen all day. Then I was told by the same person the request for repairs was called in and cancelled. She gave me the same time I called looking for info when tech was coming. Two lies by same person. I called Maytag service again and they are suppose to send someone out 9/21 between 1 and 5, heard this one before. In the mean time I lose money and time from my job because they cannot do theirs correctly. last Maytag product I will ever buy.

Helpful?
0 0
M
Nov 30, 2009 1:34 pm

Maytag Support has been difficult to contact and competely unresponsive about getting the appropriate technician out to fix a big screen TV. I've lined up a service rep that has the part and is in the neighborhood to fix the set today. Maytag, however, will not send authorization, deciding instead to use another service company that will arrive later in the week.

The entire issue seems to revolve around making the change. They're completely unwilling to do so, yet will not give any reason when asked. Consideration for the customer is apparently of no concern to them whatsoever.

I will never buy a Maytag product or any product that uses Maytag Support for their warranty coverage. I'm absolutely disgusted with the way they do business.

Helpful?
0 0
S
Jun 27, 2009 1:34 pm

I purchased 4 new Maytag applainces through Whirlpool, because of a kitchen remodel, on May 12, 2009. They were installed the second week in June. The vented microwave, installed above the stove, did not heat up to cook. The repairman states that the circuit board needs to be replaced, and will take 10 days -2 wks to arrive. In addition, the plate on the microwave, states that it was manufactured in 2006. My intent was to purchase a new product; not one that is already 3 yrs old. Please explain why I was sent a 3 yr old product; I expect to have it replaced by a new model. Susan Diemer

Helpful?
0 0
J

I bought a Maytag Neptune washer six years ago. I just paid a repairman $100.00 for him to tell me that it would take $700.00 to fix the thing because the bearings went out and the whole tub would have to be replaced. That was how much I originally paid for the machine! What happened to going green? Why can't manufacturers make a product that will last a reasonable time. We don't make that kind of money to just buy another appliance every year or so. I thought I was getting the best..Boy, I thought wrong. Shame on you Whirlpool! I will never buy one of your products again. I also had one of your refrigerators! The thing couldn't make ice no matter how many repair people came out to try and fix it. At least I had the smarts to tell them to take that sorry piece of crap out of my house! Don't buy Whirlpool...Maytag...You will be sorry!

Helpful?
0 0
H

Waited 6 hours for A & E today. I called them, they alledged they called me to make me aware of they delay, thay had NOT called at all. Told me it would be several hours and would call my cell when they were heaed my way. One hour later the technician called and wondered if I had rescheduled? Told him I was told between 8 and noon today, it was 2:00pm. He said he would be there in 20 minutes. I said CMA!

Once I realized A & e is owned or a subsidary of Sears/K-Mart it al made sense.

How they stay in business is beyond me. Never again would I use them and this was for a recall of a piece of Maytag junk.

Helpful?
0 0
M
Sep 05, 2009 1:34 pm

Bought the Maytag Quiet Series 100 dishwasher as an upgrade for a new house. 3 1/2 yrs later, of minimal use, the control panel has now quit. The cost for the control panel $170.00 plus installation. May as well buy a new dishwasher, IT WONT BE A MAYTAG. Thanks to all the other Maytag complaints posted, I will not spend the money to repair it, as the repairs never seem to end on this junk. This dishwasher was a waste of money and I will never buy Maytag products again nor would I advise anyone else to.

As well their customer service could not care less about consumer issues. Extremely poor product for what one pays for it.

Helpful?
0 0
T
Jun 23, 2008 1:34 pm

Purchase a Maytag dryer 2 years and 2 months ago. The dryer stopped working. Had Sears out to take a look and they took the dryer apart and found that the outer drum had a six inch crack in the drum. Likely a manufacturing defect that finally got so bad the dryer failed. I called Maytag and they did NOTHING. Thought it perfectly acceptable that a two year old dryer failed by a larger crack in the outer drum (the one that is outside and not visible unless it is taken apart). I will NEVER purchase another Maytag appliance.

Helpful?
0 0
S

My husband and I purchased a refrigerator from Sears and have had nothing but trouble with it. It is a Maytag and it is a piece of crap. The salesman was awful. He was so busy trying to push a "service plan" on us for HALF THE COST OF THE ITEM it was difficult to get our questions answered. Because the item was a “manager's special” we were treated like we should not care that it does not work properly. Maytag and Sears have both declined to help us. The deliverymen were horrible and there was a dead cockroach in the bottom of the refrigerator. This has been an awful experience and I will never buy from Sears or Maytag again. I seriously caution anyone who chooses Sears. They sell broken product and will refuse to help you unless you buy a $600 service plan. SCAM!

Helpful?
0 0
G
Jan 08, 2008 1:34 pm

I purchased a new Maytag French Door Refrigerator in September of 2006. On December 31, 2007 the ice-maker/temperature control panel/water dispenser...started flashing and the ice dispenser started opening and closing on it's own. The noise from the ice dispenser was so loud that even with our bedroom door closed we could still hear it all night long.

I called Conn's where we purchased the fridge but they refused to help us other then sending out a repair person...at our expense. So, I called Maytag and they advised me that since my warranty had expired all they could do is give me a number that I could call for service...at our expense.

I explained to the rep at Maytag that I had been on the internet and read some really terrible comments about this and other Maytag products. After much insistance the Maytag rep, who was familiar with my problem and agreed that they had gotten many complaints on the same issue, agreed to cover this problem by sending me the part and setting up a service call with a tech so that the part may be replaced. The tech should be at my home on 1/10/2008. The rep also agreed to extend my warranty through 11/8/2008.

It was a good thing that she extended my warranty because, in the meantime, last night I get home from work and my fridge is not cooling. I placed a temperature gauge in the fridge and this morning it was 55 degrees in the fridge.

I called Maytag again and they agreed to cover this as well. They provided the name and number to the company that will be sending out the tech and transferred me to them so that I could let them know what the fridge is doing now so that they may arrange for the tech to address this problem as well.

I have my old side-by-side refrigerator (it is 15 years old) in my garage for drinks and other items that do not fit in my, almost $3000 "new" refridgerator...that is now not working. I've never had any problems with the old fridge, not one single service call! When I purchased this Maytag, again for almost $3000, I certainly thought it would last as long, if not longer, then my old fridge. And then, there's the issue of all the food gone bad in my Maytag French Door Fridge. We live a good 30 miles from the nearest grocery store and therefore make sure to have plenty of everything we need on stock in the fridge. I'll be cleaning out the fridge and throwing everything out when I get home from work today.

I can only hope that Maytag keeps their word and actually takes care of the present problems with the new fridge. My main concern is, what happens when the new warranty runs out on 11/8/2008. I am terrified because of all the bad things I am reading about the Maytag appliances.

Helpful?
0 0
B
Jul 23, 2007 1:34 pm

After 1 hour and 40 minutes on hold to Maytag's 800 number. I did get a chance to talk top a real person concerning the 06 Maytag costly refrigerator. PROBLEM defective main circuit board (made in China). This circuit board controls all functions on this refrigerator.

To my dissatisfaction Maytag/Whirlpool has not stated what they intend to do for subsequent circuit board failures. Yes, I did get a brochure to purchase an extended warranty. For a refrigerator costing $2610.00 a one year warranty is a bit skimpy. I have requested a response in writhing but none received to date 7-07. Please post similar complaints for the Maytag refrigerator for I know there have been many circuit board failures.

Helpful?
0 0
ADVERTISIMENT

Learn how the rating is calculated

831 complaints
449 resolved 382 unresolved

Maytag contacts

(added by reviewer)
553 Benson Road, Michigan United States
ADVERTISIMENT