Menu
Register
Write a review File a complaint
Marlboro

Marlboro review: fsc cigarettes 75

A
Author of the review
11:08 am EST
Review updated:
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

I have smoked Marlboros Blend No. 27 for a while now, as have all my friends. With this new FSC cigarette, 75% of the people who smoked them that I knew became violently ill. The people who were around that did not smoke did not get sick. One person I know got so sick from them he quit all together. I got sick too and came very close to quitting. We are scouting out the last bit of old No. 27's and stocking up but I refuse to smoke these FSC Cigarettes once my stash has depleted. Im switching brands as soon as I can't find any non-FSC Marlboros. Its pretty ridiculous.

Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

75 comments
Add a comment
S
S
sksyup77
Norway, US
Nov 23, 2009 6:41 pm EST

I have smoked marlboros for 16 years. I felt i had a trusted relationship with my favorite brand of smokes. They were my side kick, went every where with me, even had a smoke while using the toilet. After you continually buy the same brand out of the known taste and familliar aroma they have when they are lit. There should be some kind of chioce for the smokers out here in the real world. Life all on its on can be vary stressfull enough to need some type of release. Smoking was mine. I dont even smoke in my house or throw my butts out the window; i actually put them out in a butt can or in the ask try in the car and empty it later. Neither one of these places is at risk of being lit on fire by one of MY cigarettes. I should be able to purchase smokes with FSC paper or withOUT FSC paper. Why is this not my choice. The FSC paper makes my throught swell making it very hard for me to swallow liquids. This side affect goes away after not smoking them for a while but it happens EVERY TIME I HAVE A SMOKE! 16 years with marlboro then i was blindly betrayed into unknownly smoking these cigarettes that could have possibly killed me if i had not figured out what was happening. I almost cried as i purchased a pack of Winstons. (They were know for no additives so i figured i would be safe with this brand. Then only 3 month go by and my throat have swelled up yet again. I was confused ... additive free yet they have the FSC paper ADDed to them. I only have a few packs of NON-FSC smokes i have found recently, but if things dont change back the way they were i too will have to give up my love of smoking because someone ELSE is changing something forcing me to do something i want to continue to do. Lonna

D
D
Disgruntled in Kentucky
Louisville, US
Nov 21, 2009 5:58 pm EST

It is November 21, 2009, ...
are non-FSC cigarettes available at all gas/retail stores in Tennessee?
Or, do I need to look for specific stores in order to purchase non-FSC cigarettes?
Thanks in advance for any information...

H
H
HBDD06
Chardon, US
Nov 19, 2009 2:51 pm EST

These cigarettes are horrible! Im buying more lighters due to the fact i have to keep relighting the cigarrete so it will stay lit! CHANGE THEM BACK!

S
S
Shana Stone
Mulberry, US
Nov 16, 2009 8:29 pm EST

The FSC law is on a state to state level right now, so everyone needs to complain to their state rep. and state senator and let them know how sick these FSC cigarettes are making us.

D
D
Disappointed_Smoker
, US
Nov 14, 2009 10:06 am EST

It's a shame that in a country where people scream for Equal Rights for all people - smokers are the most discriminated group in existence. First they ban smoking in public places (forcing people here in the Northeast to stand outside in the middle of Winter to enjoy a smoke), and now this ridiculous FSC nonsense.

People who don't smoke don't like the smell. Yes, we get it.
But that doesn't give the government permission to treat us like lepers.

I won't babble on about all that's previously been said, but it's all true - they taste horrible, they are more dangerous than the previous version, and they are causing me more harmful side effects (more coughing, sore throat, etc).

This is discrimination in it's purest form... and I hope that eventually a huge lawsuit ensues, and people who are being harmed by these horrible new products can be reimbursed for their suffering. I can hear the "holier than thou" non-smokers saying "Well you don't HAVE to smoke... you can quit"! That may be true.. but smoking is not illegal... and this is a pitiful sneaky ploy of the government to force people to quit. It's a sad move by the greatest country in the world.

All I can do is shake my head in amazement. With all the problems facing our nation, with all the people legitimately suffering, hungry, homeless... our government chooses to waste time and money on things like this.

S
S
Shana Stone
Mulberry, US
Nov 04, 2009 2:50 am EST

Sounds like a wonderful idea Barnbrat. I think everyone of us should start putting the pressure on the media, so that we are heard on this issue!

T
T
Trod on American
, US
Nov 03, 2009 7:55 pm EST

I am tired of having governmental controls on things that the government has no business controlling. If they want to make a fire safe cigarette for people that are incapable of properly extinguishing a cigarette then so be it, for alcoholics, drug addicts and some older folks it may be a good idea. I am non of those and have been properly putting out my cigarettes for some 30 years now. They are stating that the reason for this is that the new product will save lives by less house fires. Does that mean we can look forward to no Christmas lights on our trees or an outlet cop coming in daily to check that we are not overloading our outlets? Will I lose my iron and my blow dryer? While they are taking away things that are "potentially" dangerous what else will they target? Sugar? Salt? Fast food? We better do everything we can to get this overturned or we will be living like they did in Demolition Man. If you haven't seen that movie rent it...it will scare the hell out of you.

C
C
CobyD
24740, US
Nov 03, 2009 11:36 am EST

Fire Safe Marolboro Lights have give me a sore throat and made my glands in my throat swell up as well as giving me masive migranes...ive been a marlboro smoker for 2 decades and this has never happend before...if this is how its going to be ### marlboro ill goto camel...this needs to be addressed a.s.a.p how many fires really come from ciggerettes? i mean really...Coby Duncan Princeton WV

K
K
Ken123
Las Vegas, US
Nov 01, 2009 2:02 pm EST

SMOKERS! You all should switch over to the E CIG! Traditional Cigarettes will Kill you! E Cig will not KILL YOU These are Way More Healthier. I have been smoking mine for about 6 months Now Love it best Flavor is Strawberry and Vanilla ... I was a smoker of 1 1/2 packs of Marlboro Light 100's for 20 years I have cut back to only 5 Cigarettes per day with hopes of completely getting of those horrible things! The 2 piece design is the Best.. no more atomizer problems as for the Cartridge and atomizer are built together no more leaking filters with the 3 piece design. Not to saythe least 1 Carton of smokes that cost $45.99-$65.00 only will cost you with the ECig $14.99 for a carton! The 2 piece design will give you the highest Vapor Volume on the market Awesome Product!
www.vaporcraze.com Email: vaporcraze@hotmail.com or www.greensmoke.com
Are great!

Z
Z
240zracer
, US
Oct 30, 2009 3:15 am EDT

What we need is a National Smokers Organization. I would vote against any lawmaker that supported FSC and/or higher taxes. By the way, the reason the cigarette goes out is the "bands" of thicker paper that block the air needed to keep the tobacco going. You can fix the cigarette with a needle by poking a few holes in the bands. The needles that are made for poking a finger for a blood test work really well. I'm not doing it much, but I feel better knowing that I can. What really bothers me about FSC is that I now have to suck on my cigarette harder and more often to keep it lit. I also think it is now possible that the hot ash could fall off without my realizing it and that is dangerous. I have been smoking for many, many years and certainly know how to smoke safely and use proper ashtrays that extinguish my cigarette. Now I have to learn again, with a more unpredictible and more dangerous product. I too think that smokers are being singled out. Are they afraid to tax alcohol? Why? Too many voters in that segment? Personally, I think when a cigarette caused fire was probably caused by a drinker with a cigarette. Heck, tax the crap out of cell phones. They cause car accidents just like drunks do. They tax us because we are a minority, but we CAN vote, correct?

B
B
Barnbrat
Muskegon, US
Oct 27, 2009 6:19 pm EDT

Hey Shana,

I have an idea. Let's tell Glen Beck about this.

B
B
Barnbrat
Muskegon, US
Oct 27, 2009 6:16 pm EDT

Is anyone else suffering from a burning sensation on the inner lining of their mouth along the lips and cheeks? I wasn't even aware of this new FSC garbage and worried I that infection was setting in.

Do the papers from self-rolled cigarettes contain this chemical?

E
E
Eldo21699
, US
Oct 23, 2009 5:39 pm EDT

FSC cigarettes are disgusting. I am not paying 6 dollars for a pack of smokes that tastes nasty and gives me a headache.

M
M
123Misty
Dayton, US
Oct 20, 2009 4:57 am EDT

I live in Ohio, I thought it was odd that my cigarette went out for no reason. I decided to look at my pack of cigs and sure enough I was blind sided by the FSC. I went to lite my cigarette back up and it caught of fire. The flame only lasted a few seconds, but it was still very scary. This is bullshi*, from what I have heard, the cigarette companies didn't want to do it, they were forced to. I still do not think it is right though.

Check out that website.

http://www.examiner.com/examiner/x-11705-NY-Holistic-Body--Spirit-Examiner~y2009m7d12-Are-the-new-FSC-firesafe-cigarettes-making-smokers-sicker-than-ever

A
A
ANGRY IN OHIO
, US
Oct 19, 2009 10:07 pm EDT

I thought i would mention to everyone who mentioned rolling their own, I told Phillip Morris the very same thing today when i called having a hissy. They told me that the papers to roll your will also... by law be 'banded' or FSC also. They told me before buying them I might want to check that out ! x( I too get headaches, and have had my chair freggin' burned by the fire falling off ! Been smoking 30 years and have NEVVER burned anything before. I would like to know when they are going to make candles illlegal ?! Ya know the saying---guns dont kill people, people kill people ? Well cigarettes (and candles) dont start fires, irresponsible people start fires ! UUURRRGGG!
The Harvard School of Health reported that when comparing NY Cigarettes (FSC) versus Regular Cigarettes, the FSC cigarettes produced 13.9% more Naphthalene and 11.4% more carbon monoxide than regular cigarettes. Naphthalene is commonly found in moth balls, and exposure in high amounts can result in headache, nausea, vomiting, diarrhea, malaise, confusion, anemia, jaundice, convulsions, and coma. Therefore, it has been proven that FSC cigarettes contain higher levels of chemicals that are harmful to smokers.
http://www.thepetitionsite.com/1/repeal-fire-safe-cigarette-laws
And in this country with FREEDOM OF THE PRESS and all...isnt it just mysterious that NOTHING has been on the news locally or nationally about this ?! Before during or after the law that we did NOT vote on ! Again...UURRRGGGHHH !
ANGRY IN OHIO !

S
S
Shana Stone
Mulberry, US
Sep 16, 2009 2:14 pm EDT

I would like to know why news stations and newspapers are ignoring our concerns with the FSC's? Is this how it's going to be, that we are just simply ignored? Apparently, since we are less than human...we will just have to deal with it! I am very dissapointed in the media for not giving a damn that we are genuinely having major health problems from these poisonous new cigarettes!

S
S
Shana Stone
Mulberry, US
Sep 16, 2009 12:31 am EDT

My name is Shana Stone, and I am writing this on behalf of myself, and the many thousands of smokers who are becoming ill from these new FSC cigarettes. I, along with the many thousands of smokers, have experienced serious health problems from the new FSC cigarettes, and I hope that once the FDA takes over, they will find that there have been new toxic chemicals added to them, and will have these so called FSC cigarettes banned! It is your duty to make sure that we are not being poisoned. I have not seen any evidence where the FSC's are any safer for preventing fires than the original cigarettes. In fact, it has been more of a problem since the FSC's came along. Many smokers have already complained about the fire hazards of the FSC cigarettes. For example: the fire falling off while smoking an FSC, and burning them, their clothes, their furniture, etc. Smokers, as a whole, should not be punished for one individual smoker's irresponsibilty. Saving 700-900 lives a year from cigarette related fires, does NOT constitute killing thousands of smokers from these toxic FSC cigarettes! I really hope that something will be done to repeal this new law. We, as american citizens, should've had a say as to whether we wanted the FSC cigarettes or not, since "WE" are the ones who pay the absolutely outrageous taxes on our cigarettes!

S
S
Stormbringer
Flushing, US
Sep 14, 2009 5:46 pm EDT

It is a terrible product. I commute from Michigan (Still FSC free) to Indiana for work. I was blindsided by this when I purchased Winstons in Indiana. I thought I was going crazy, and almost crashed my car thinking that I must have knocked the cherry off in my lap when the fire mysteriously disappeared. Then I started noticing the foul taste, the headache and nausia set in. Michigan smokers used to buy cigarettes in Indiana because they were cheaper. Now Hoosiers are flocking to Michigan to pay more for their cigarettes in an effort to avoid this disgusting product forced upon unsuspecting consumers of a highly addictive product. This is a good test of how the pacification of our society is working. A huge population of people (Tobacco addicts) once again laying down and taking it. Extorted by insane taxes, condescended on socially by those lucky enough to have escaped this addictions' grasp. And now this. I feel the oppression. It is only the beginning.

G
G
gerriwarren1
, US
Sep 08, 2009 6:17 am EDT

I think they should of asked us if we wanted a change, and what does it really do except go out and we have to puff on it so much more and maybe even light up more often. I know I shouldnt smoke but if I choose to do so then I should be able to smoke what I like and with the cost of every pack much higher, I think it would be better to roll my own, HOW COULD IT BE ANY WORSE

P
P
PO'd American
Las Vegas, US
Aug 27, 2009 9:26 pm EDT

I'd like to know who is responsible for the change in laws that enables them shove this crap down our throats! No doubt, some radical, extremist tobaccophobe who had the contacts in DC to get this foisted upon the smoking public without the public even being aware that it was in the works! Just like everything else being done in Washington, by either the White House or our exalted congressmen/legislators, they think they are more qualified than us and therefore, only too happy to make decisions for us. I for one, am sick and tired of their intrusion into my life and will do what ever I can to change this. They all need to be run out of town on a rail or, more preferably, a "spit" !

Sign me,

A pissed off American!

P.S. Anyone who reads this and knows of a site or blog that I can join to help repeal this change, please contact me at jsonnylv3500@cox.net.

Thanks.

D
D
DIXIEROADIE
, US
Aug 12, 2009 11:39 pm EDT

I think a lawsuit should be filed to force the removal of this poison they have added.I guess I can always get a can of bugle and some papers and roll my own instead of lining Marlboro's pockets for the worst possible additive you can put in cigs...how ironic they want to save our lives by adding a poison.We know they are bad for our health but we have the freedom to choose whether to smoke or not to, but when they force this FSC poison into our bodies they better be ready for another round of lawsuits, we care no more what some Harvard dr, who is probably on some anti-smoking board and has done no serious research to the healt risk they have exposed us to.

C
C
cjhicks1121
Odessa, US
Aug 07, 2009 2:58 pm EDT

I have been smoking Marlboro since 1976. The new FSC has got to go! The taste alone is awful but what burns me up, and I mean burn... you have them in your mouth, and they will go out, you set them in an ashtray, they will continue to burn, maybe not on the outside, but on the inside. I have a very severe burn on the top of my leg to prove it that is going to be a nasty scar for the rest of my life, and burn marks in 2 vehicles that had none before this. How many complaints do you need to go back to the original?

M
M
mrs Christine Mc Donald
Houston, US
Jul 19, 2009 8:38 pm EDT

I have smoked Marlboro at least 15 years. what have you done to them I light up and before you know it it has gone out not just once but maybe2-3 times what is the reason for this, I am a concerned smoker

W
W
wooten
Onalaska, US
Jul 13, 2009 11:38 pm EDT

thank GOD that i have children that live in states that i don't. (TX) i travel & have been lucky enough to get cigarettes that don't have the FSC code on them. i'm about to run out & have had trouble finding them online. i've NEVER had a cough, sore throat, hacking like i've had since they've put that damn code into effect. i feel like i'm smoking a generic cigarette that i've never been able to smoke without those effects. guess the gov. (big brother) has decided to use our minds once again and let us know just what it is that we can do, when we can do it & how we can do it while we pay for it all. Just lucky americans that are so free aren't we?!

binder
binder
, US
Jul 10, 2009 1:03 am EDT

HOW COULD A TOBACCO COMPANY DO SOMETHING SO BACKHANDED?!?

N
N
non-filter
Frankfort, US
Jul 10, 2009 12:48 am EDT

They're awful, but they're gonna be everywhere soon. Sounds like I got TN til January, then OH til May, and then, Wyoming is the only hold out in the country. Guess I'll have to roll my own. It's disgraceful that there was never a vote or even a discussion, or even a dictatoresque announcement about this happening. A little special interest group just decided they wanted it done, and went after it and got it done. Why don't we fight back, I've tried but I'm in a small minority. http://www.non-filters.com

D
D
DaveGTR11
Oneida, US
Jun 19, 2009 12:52 pm EDT

FSC Cigarettes SUCK! They make my sinuses messed up, my throat sore, and my head hurt. There's corn starch in the paper to keep them from burning unless you puff on it like crazy which in turn makes you smoke more. The government is ridiculous, they're getting too big and want to take over everything. Now smokers (and soda drinkers) have to make up the national debt with MORE taxes! You can all thank Obama and the liberal idiots for the taxes! Luckily, I live in Tennessee and they don't have FSC cigarettes... yet.

J
J
jpeterson80103
Byers, US
Jun 10, 2009 3:02 am EDT

I agree with everyone. This new FSC crap is for the birds. I can't stand to smoke this new crap they have been putting in the cigarettes. Most of my friends agree with me on the taste and how they burn. Sometimes the cigarettes taste stale and other times they taste like they are soaked in oil. Plus I don't get this fire safe cigarette thing, these cigarettes are supposed to go out and not catch things on fire. But when an ash or part of a cherry would come off these cigarettes and dam they burn worse than having the regular cigarette ash or cherry fall off onto bare skin. I think it's a lot of government BS! Yes smoking is bad and yes I should quit but making cigarettes with this crap seems like a violation of our constitutional rights! I wish we could ban this crap!

J
J
joe
Las Vegas, US
Jun 08, 2009 2:47 pm EDT

I HATE FSC CIGARETTES! THE WORST. I WAS LOOKING FOR A REASON TO QUIT AND NOW I HAVE IT. THERE SHOULD HAVE BEEN SOME SORT OF MENTION OF THIS. I FEEL THIS IS ANOTHER MISREPRESENTATION FROM PHILLIP MORRIS. THE PRICE GOES UP AND THE QUALITY GOES DOWN. TOTALLY SUCKS BIGTIME. I WILL NOT GO FOR THIS ANYMORE. I WOULD BET THE FSC IS WORSE THAN BEFORE. I HATE THEM. I GET MAD SMOKING THEM. HAVENT THEY EVER HEARD OF A FOCUS GROUP? THEY DONT CARE ANYWAY. IM GETTING THE PATCH TODAY, SO I DONT CARE. THESE FSC CIGS CAN GO STRAIGHT TO HELL IN A HANDBASKET!

LET ME REITTERATE...I HATE FSC! I HOPE THEY DIE AND GO TO HELL

C
C
cst
, US
May 13, 2009 1:13 am EDT

I was not aware of the whole FSC cigarette issue until a friend told me to look on my cigarette box and see if the FSC was there. I looked and sure enough it's there. I decided to look online to find out what I could about it. I recently moved from one state to another and noticed the cigarettes here taste horrible. I thought maybe my tastebuds were "off" due to the allergies I have here. I've noticed I can't breathe as well as I could before we moved. The heavy feeling in my chest NEVER goes away here. The cigarettes I'm smoking now almost make me sick. I think I'll just stop smoking all together.

R
R
ruslstac
Arlington, US
Mar 23, 2009 3:39 pm EDT

I am from Arlington Tx. I have noticed that I have had a sinus and brochial infection and or a cold of and on since the new FSC cigarettes came out. I spent some time thinking that I just had a bad case and bad luck for the season. I am fairly convinced now that these cigarettes are the cause. I have had and gotten over and then gotten this cold again three different times. Something is definantly not right here. I am going to continue to investigate. I realize that I should stop smoking for my own health benefits, but I should not have to because of a bad product. And if the reason for my sickness turns out to be these cigarettes, due to some chemical or extra paper, you can bet that I will be looking for legal issues.

J
J
johnnybegood69
Chicopee, US
Feb 21, 2009 2:52 am EST

I have been searching the internet for places to get NON FSC Cigarettes...here is what I come up with.

This place has lots of good comments about them in blogs over the net.

You can get NON FSC cigs like Marlboro, Camel, Parliament, Winston, Salem, Newport, and all the most popular brands WITHOUT Fire Safe Paper.

Anyone looking for the cigs without the FSC paper...here is your answer:

http://www.carolinacartons.com/

Glad to help out, others pointed me to them and now I am a happy NON-FSC smoker again...ENJOY! maybe this will help out others as well...

Buy NON FSC Cigarettes here:

http://www.carolinacartons.com/

Here is the link to all you need to know about what states do and do not have the FSC Law:

http://www.carolinacartons.com/selfcigs_008.htm

H
H
HIPOFOMOCO
MALAKOFF, US
Jan 30, 2009 1:07 pm EST

MY WIFE AND I AND A FRIEND THAT ALL SMOKE HAS BEEN SICK DUE DIRECTLY FROM MARLBORO RED AND 100 FIRE SAFE CRAP.
WE HAVE SPENT A FEW BUCKS GOING BACK AND FORTH TO THE HOSPITAL AND REGULAR DOCTORS OFFICES TO FIND OUT WHAT THIS IS. DEFINATELY DIRECTLY LINKED TO THE FIRE SAFE STUFF. IF YOU KNOW OF A LAW SUITE OR SOMETHING WE CAN DO, PLEASE LET ME KNOW. @ HIPOFOMOCO@YAHOO.COM THEY, MEANING THE MARLBORO COMPANY OR THE GOVERNMENT SHOULD NOT BE ABLE TO CHANGE THINGS LIKE THESE WITHOUT NOTIFICATION OR NOT KNOWING WHAT THESE CHANGES WILL DO OR WHAT THEY HAVE ALREADY DONE TO THE PEOPLE THAT SMOKE AND SUPPORT THEIR COMPANY AND PAY THE GOVERNMENT THE TAXES TO SMOKE.
RANDY J. SIMS
TRINIDAD TEXAS

T
T
tarheel
Chicopee, US
Jan 20, 2009 5:32 pm EST

Sorry I had a typo... www.carolinacartons.com

T
T
tarheel
Chicopee, US
Jan 20, 2009 5:30 pm EST

You can still purchase NON FSC cigarettes online: http://www.carolinacrtons.com

  1. Marlboro Contacts

  2. Marlboro phone numbers
    +1 (800) 627-5267
    +1 (800) 627-5267
    Click up if you have successfully reached Marlboro by calling +1 (800) 627-5267 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached Marlboro by calling +1 (800) 627-5267 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Marlboro by calling +1 (800) 627-5267 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Marlboro by calling +1 (800) 627-5267 phone number
    Customer Service
    +1 (800) 898-2888
    +1 (800) 898-2888
    Click up if you have successfully reached Marlboro by calling +1 (800) 898-2888 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached Marlboro by calling +1 (800) 898-2888 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Marlboro by calling +1 (800) 898-2888 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Marlboro by calling +1 (800) 898-2888 phone number
    Customer Service
  3. Marlboro emails
  4. Marlboro address
    New York, New York, United States
  5. Marlboro social media
  6. Janet
    Checked and verified by Janet This contact information is personally checked and verified by the ComplaintsBoard representative. Learn more
    Jun 14, 2024