SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Marlboro Light 100terrible quality product!

1
K Review updated:

My husband and I have been buying Marlboro Light 100's for about 12 years now. And we have noticed the last carton we bought, the cigarettes don't burn right, you have to light the cigarettes at least four times just to get through one. We are very disappointed in this and will not be purchasing Marlboro's anymore.

Responses

  • W
      Jan 11, 2008

    I have noticed the same thing with the marlboro light regular cigarettes and have been smoking them on and off for years. Numerous others I know who smoke them have noticed the same thing and we will all, probably, switch to another brand or... quit like we should!!!!!!!!!

    0 Votes
  • P
      Jan 24, 2008

    My Husband and I both smoke Marlboro cigarettes. I smoke Marlboro light Menthols and he smokes Marlboro Lights. We buy our cirgarettes from different places and one day my Husband was telling me what was happening to his cigarettes. I was so excited to know that I wasn't going crazy it was happening to somebody else besides me. The 1st incident for both of us was when we were driving. I all of a sudden notice that my cherry was missing and I started to freak out wandering what damage that missing cherry was going to cause. This could have caused me to get into a car accident but I decided whatever damage happens to the car its not worth risking my life over. After that incident I just knew that there was a problem with the cirgarettes. I really want to know what is going on here considering the amount of money we 're spending .

    0 Votes
  • J
      Feb 02, 2008

    I have a complaint about Marlboro reds. The filter papers stains my fingers. From the moisture in my mouth. You should make all your Marlboro products brown filter paper free. So this stops happen every time you smoke. I've tried washing my hands free of the paper die and its still there!

    -1 Votes
  • L
      Mar 27, 2008

    I have been smoking Marlboro Lights for quite some time. I have been noticing a couple of things that is really starting to bother me. My cigarette doesn't light right it lights half way most of the time. It goes out very quickly if I don't keep puffing. I am smoking so much more and it just doesn't burn right. I am getting really close to switching to another brand and seeing if it's any better. It's annoying.

    0 Votes
  • M
      Apr 07, 2008

    I have been smoking Marlboro reds for over 20 years now. During the last five or six years the quality went really bad and is still going from bad to worse. It is very common now that the smell is really awful and cigarettes are filled with tobacco in a very bad way that you almost feel pain when trying to smoke a cigarette - to say nothing with pieces of wood therein which means a very poor quality of tobacco. For some time I had to shift to Marlboro Lights, but that was even worse. I live in Qatar and my complaint is really common here. I just wonder why such a big company would risk a brand that took years and years to be that known. Many people already quit Marlboro for other brands which I did also for some time. It's really strange that I tried to log into Marlboro site to write about that (thinking they would care), but I found out that there is almost no way to file any complaint about quality. I think I may ### to another brand soon and this time it may be for good. Well, just before I go, I'm trying to light a red Marlboro cigarette right now and it just feels like a piece of stone!!!

    0 Votes
  • H
      Apr 27, 2008

    I am so glad I found these posts! My fiance, his mother and I all thought we were going crazy! We buy our cigarettes from different stores and are having a hard time keeping them lit. She smokes regular Marlboros, I smoke lights and my fiance smokes Marlboro 100s (Red). When he first told me he was having a problem I teased him about it... then I noticed it was happening to me too. I made a complaint on the Marlboro website. Please I urge everyone to do the same.
    http://www.philipmorrisusa.com/en/cms/Home/default.aspx

    +1 Votes
  • T
      May 25, 2008

    I am having the same problem. For about the last two months or so every pack of Marlboro Lights I have bought burns like crap. The cigarette goes out half way through and it feels like I'm not getting any air through them, like as if they do when they are broken and air escapes out the side. It's not like a bad batch or something, because I buy them in Pa and De at various locations. If I can't quit, I'll be switching brands.

    +1 Votes
  • G
      Jun 04, 2008

    heard that there are made differently and that it was a saftey issue...the UPC code has FSC stamped above it...

    0 Votes
  • G
      Jun 04, 2008

    (FSC)Fire-Safe-Cirgrettes
    http://www.stateline.org/live/details/story...

    The six states that passed legislation requiring self-extinguishing cigarettes before this year are California, Illinois, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New York and Vermont. These states enacted laws this year: Alaska, Connecticut, Delaware, Iowa, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Minnesota, Montana, New Jersey, Oregon, Rhode Island, Texas and Utah.

    0 Votes
  • K
      Jun 14, 2008

    These fire-safe cigarettes are BS. I've burnt myself more in the last few months than I have after years of smoking. It starts to extinguish, I take a drag and the hot ash falls in my lap. Or if I flick the cig too hard the tip falls off and I have to relight it and then it tastes like crap.

    0 Votes
  • K
      Jun 20, 2008

    The "safety" cigarettes came out last year in California. I smoke Light 100's as do 2 or my friends. We all noticed we've been smoking more for at least the last 6 mos.

    I wonder if they're doing something to make them more addictive. Either more nicotine so you want even more, or less nicotiine so you're never satisfied! I heard a rumor they were doing one or the other a few years ago, to make us smoke more. I think it sucks if they're doing that.

    I think I'm gonna buy the gum & cut down by half.

    0 Votes
  • D
      Jul 04, 2008

    Re: Marlboro light 100s

    I notice I'm smoking more too over the past three months. I've smoked a single pack for just about forever. Only over the past few months I've been breaking into a 3rd pack. That's nuts. Plus, they're burning fast. That fact sticks out like a sore thumb. I don't feel a bit satisfied either after a cigarette.

    The paper is catching fire in the ashtray too lately, which never used to happen except with the cheap cigarettes so that's another reason that there is something wrong these days.

    Yea, there's something really going on so I'm switching today because I've never, ever smoked so much and it's not for any other reason either. After so many years, you get to know that dang cigarette pretty darn good and I think we're being ripped off right now.

    0 Votes
  • Q
      Jul 07, 2008

    i am a minor that went from smoking menthols, to camel reds, to marlboros reds. i agree that sometimes i either have to light it again or my cherry fell out. and i am also worried about the fiberglass because my friend has puked blood. please e-mail me

    0 Votes
  • S
      Jul 12, 2008

    Yes, they are burning faster. The real catch is that if you don't suck quickly enough, they burnout... which makes you want to take more puffs. So, to counter the law for 'safe cigarettes' they have made cigarettes that burn faster. If smokers continued to smoke at the pace that they do, their cigarettes would go out before they they had a chance to pick it up again. So, inhale quick. As much as I hate smoking (I have been for most of my adult life) I really want to quit this brand...

    what I really would like is a smokers bill -- of rights!!!

    0 Votes
  • F
      Jul 28, 2008

    My brother picked up my cigarettes yesterday to smoke one. Mine were from Kentucky, his from Indiana. With the first drag, he said "yuk!", looked at the side of the box and said, "I knew it. These are FSC cigs. They taste like sh**." He KNEW by the taste that they were not the same. I had never even heard of FSC until then. I had noticed that the things didn't burn the same, seemed to burn faster, and got hot enough at the tip to burn my lips more often. This sucks. I was trying to cut back to lights to reduce some of the tar - and my husband bought a whole carton of these crappy things (cigs in KY are $15 a carton cheaper), but it looks like I'm headed right back to my Ohio purchased Red 100's. Last longer, no burning my lips, and taste a whole lot better.

    0 Votes
  • T
      Nov 07, 2008

    Try these guys... no fire safe paper!!!

    Www.cartons4free.com

    They come from north carolina and they do not have that horrible fire safe paper.

    They answer the phone or if they are on the other line and you leave a message they call back!! they also answer your emails and they email you once your order has shipped!!!

    Good service!

    0 Votes
  • M
      Nov 14, 2008

    It Is Obvious That Marlboro is cuting costs. it sucks for us since we hve to go to a cheaper brand but, hay, they really, don't taste any differant!

    0 Votes
  • K
      Nov 16, 2008

    I noticed about 7 packs ago (here in pa) thet they taste different, do not stay lit and in general, suck! I have been a marlboro smoker for a lot of years and, they are now like smoking a paper towel.

    Fire-proof cigarettes?? this is some sort of a sick joke right??

    What's next fire proof natural gas? fireproof logs for the fireplace? perhaps gasoline that will not even ignite with a blowtorch?

    Did these #s forget somewhere along the line that cigarettes are supposed to be set fire to??

    The cherry falling off is the biggest fire hazzard of all!

    I see another version of coca-cola messing with a proven formula.
    Disaster... winston, here I come!

    0 Votes
  • P
      Nov 20, 2008

    I started to notice with the past two cartons I bought, that there was something terribly wrong with these smokes. At first I thought maybe the store was selling stale cigarettes. But then I bought at 2 different stores with the exact same results! Ash falls off and goes everywhere. If their intention was to make a fire safe cigarette, they missed by a mile. I have holes in a number of shirts now, and my husband was getting really snarky with me about it. I have smoked Marlboros for over 20 years, so I knew something was wrong. I was going to write to Phillip Morris, but figured I'd do a search to see if others were having the same experience. I knew about the self extinguishing cigarettes that California insisted upon (they seem to have a law for everything including toilet paper thickness), but I had no idea it was being forced down the throats of other states as well. This is an outrage. Yes, I suppose this is as good a reason as any to quit now. I hate these things. And yeah, the flavor went to the dogs too.

    0 Votes
  • J
      Nov 21, 2008

    I have been smoking for 50 years now. Always enjoyed a cigarette. I smoke 3 packs a day. I recenly purchased my regular 2 cartons a week. I thought I got a bad carton. They tasted funny would not draw right. I told the clerk at the store I got a bad carton of cigarettes. I had trouble keeping them light and they tasted very funny. Oh, she said, They are now fireproof cigarettes I thought she was making that up. I bought another carton. same thing. I went online and found out they are now Fireproof cigarettes. I guess, they are going to force me to quit for sure now. They are absolustely terrible tasting cigarettes. I bet they will defitelely be harmful to your health just the taste alone is enough to gag you. I hope they change back to the regular cigarettes and I mean soon.

    0 Votes
  • T
      Jan 27, 2009

    These so called Fire Proof Cigerattes are the most horrible thing in the world. They physically make me sick, I mean migraines, nausea, the whole works. I wonder if there is anyway we can all contact Phillip Morris and plead for the regular ones back...

    0 Votes
  • J
      Jan 30, 2009

    as in the former complaints i have read my marlboro lt 100s suck bad! was lucky enough to get a pack minus the fsc and man did I enjoy those cigs! I didn't even realize how much I enjoyed them until my daughter and i were comparing packs and her had the fsc where mine did not. i was on the last cigarette from my pack at the time and recollection of NOT having to suck hard and keep relighting of that pack came as a vision to me and she and i shared the TOTALLY different taste of the non fsc cig. I have almost caught my hair on fire when i relight as it flames and stays lit as a torch for a minute . if i'd had bangs my hair WOULD have ignited. Vey dangerous now but texas has adopted the law so dont know what to do. did we vote on this law or was it made law for us? just wondered because i do go to the polls to vote and i never recall this being up for a vote. thanks

    0 Votes
  • M
      Feb 07, 2009

    Marlboro is BURNING FASTER by far and I am not nuts. I hate admitting I even smoke, but man, I am spending $80 a week now and it was bad enough paying $40 a week for the smoking habit. So I find I am not chain smoking per se-each Marlboro cig burns so fast I light a second one [every time] without thinking about it-to get the min nicotine in my blood stream. THAT WAS THEIR PLAN MAN!!!

    They know more about us than we know about our own selves! I really want to quit now that it has come to flat out extortion. They have to help people stop smoking on one hand-so they devised ways to make the remaining fools [us] smoke twice as much! And we do not realize we are until the toll is matching our electric bill!!!

    I am so mad I pray I can stop smoking. I know it is not lasting 4-5 minutes. It is lasting maybe 2 1/2 minutes and THEY know it too!
    I heaerd Chantix works and is like $120 amonth-you take the pill and smoke all you want. After a few weeks you just won't want to smoke-it will be disgusting. So if I am paying $80 a week to RJ Reyolds, I better budget the $120 for Chantix and MAYBE some nic patches-that worked great for long plane flights.

    You are NOT Crazy!!! Marlboro made our cigarettes blow out twice as fast-than we can get to the bank to buy more. Mabel White

    0 Votes
  • C
      Feb 17, 2009

    I agree with what is going on with Marlboro Lights 100's! They don't burn like they are suppose to! Either they are going out 2 or 3 times per cigarette, or they burn too fast. I just wonder if they are adding more Nicotine? It sure seems like they (the cigarette company's) have been suspected of doing this before. Before I become more addicted, I would rather quit smoking all together. I will not spend any more money on cigarettes, if they are trying to make my bad habit worse, especially!

    0 Votes
  • M
      Apr 01, 2009

    I am very suprised by what i have been reading. I hadn't even heard of fsc before i read this article. I live in England and have been smoking Marlboro lights for quite some time now. They taste great and once lit they never go out. I am a little worried that my country will push in the new fsc but until then i will continue to enjoy the same cigarettes i have been smoking for many years. You guys should do as much complaining as you can to push out these crap sounding fsc and get the normal onces back. It is ridiculous to come up with a cigarette that extinguishes itself, it defeats the object of smoking! When i smoke hand rolled cigarettes they seem to always be going out but at least the taste and flavour is good!

    0 Votes
  • J
      May 25, 2009

    I agree. It's a bunch of sneaky, underhanded state legislators who are responsible for this. I only heard about this 3 days ago. Two days ago I bought my first carton of Marlboro Light 100's only to discover that what I had been told about them was true. I can't imagine why this wasn't put on a ballot for each state to vote on. It's a total conspiracy to tax smokers, who are never given any say in the matter whatsoever. I hope some "smoking" wiz kid attorney out there takes up the battle for those of us who aren't sure what to do about it other than complain to the manufacturer.

    0 Votes
  • W
      May 26, 2009

    What is it that makes them fireproof? Is it a chemical for some sort? If it is I sure hope they have done the reasurch and aren't going to say come back 10-15 years from now and say ..oops they cause cancer so sorry folks!!

    0 Votes
  • R
      Aug 13, 2009
    Marlboro - Is it that big of a deal?
    United States

    Why on earth is everyone freaking out? Ive burned my finger on several occasions, while drunk ofcourse, forgetting that I had a lit cigarette in my hand. I just wish they could find a solution to prohibit lighting the wrong end of a marlboro light when your drunk. But seriously, was it this bad when they changed the 1960's marlboro red colors to the less of a cherry red to a brighter red in the mid to late 70's? Is it that big of a deal people? You still get your nicotine, that we obviously and desperately need. Would anyone have noticed if it weren't on the pack or if we wouldn't have been told? Probably not. You wouldve just sucked harder. If you don't like it, switch. But the other companies are all going to follow suit if this little plan sticks. So, shut up, light up, and suck harder to keep your preciouse little life line lit, I know I will. Have a great day and thank you for smoking.

    -1 Votes
  • W
      Aug 25, 2009

    I got the story that some idiot burned himself to death smoking in bed and a cigarette company was sued for it!! Since then, it would seem that all the cig companies are going to the FSC cigs to avoid the repercussions from that lawsuit. I refuse to buy cigs at the latest prices and I refuse to smoke those NASTY FSC cigarettes. Try the self-rolling products that roll filter cigs and buy a quality cig tobacco. I prefer Bali-shag light or full-flavor since I smoked Marlboro reds or lights. I roll mine tightly packed and my cigs burn for a long time. Once you roll a few mistakes and then get the hang of it, it'll take you about 15 minutes to roll a good 20 somkes that taste great! Also, costs a heck of a lot less too.

    0 Votes
  • S
      Sep 17, 2009

    I have the Answer to all your problems.


    Quit Smoking

    -1 Votes
  • J
      Sep 21, 2009

    Marlboro 100 regulars have gone way downhill over the last six months.
    They won't stay lit and the flavor tastes like cow dung. Are these mexican imports being pawned off on us?
    I also notice that they've cut way back on the nicotine about a year ago. My consumption has since doubled trying to get my fix.
    Then I find that I can quit smoking for two or three days without going through withdrawl symptoms.
    I've had to finally switch over to cigars to get my nicotine fix.
    Been smoking marlboro 100 regulars since 1971 and this is the first time I've ever noticed a change in the product. They made some rather obviously changes all of a sudden, taste, burn time has shortened - burns like a firecracker fuse - the taste changed dramatically and they won't stay lit. And, they doubled in price about the same time all these changes took place.

    I understand the goverment nannies are "sin" taxing the hell out tobacco, but marlboro should be up front with honest and full disclosure to their clients about any changes in the product, and then let their clients make an informed choice. If it'sd something mandated by law, then smokers can pressure their congressmen. If Reynolds makes the changes without dosclosure, then Reynolds will take the heat. It's a matter of trust, and this underhanded ### pisses people off! If these changes lead your clients to feeling betrayed, they will quit. And the only ones that have more fury than a woman scorned, is an ex-smoker pressuring congress to put you out of bidness. That will result ina no-win situation for both you, and your loyal clients.
    So wise up Reynolds and get your ### together before it bites you on the ###.
    If you want to market a nicotine-free cigarette then do it, but for God's sake, rename them to marlboro blanks or something, rather than masquerade them under the banner of regulars!

    0 Votes
  • B
      Sep 30, 2009

    That is what cig's do now. The tobacco companies changed the cig's to Fire Safe. That is where they burn out if they are not smoked. Hence, FSC on all the cig. packs.

    0 Votes
  • C
      Oct 24, 2009

    Wow I can't believe all the people having the same problem I have. I thought is was just me. My last carton I bought is so bad, constantly going out, flair up when relighting and yesterday I almost set a friend on fire when a large piece fell off on to her pant leg and stayed glowing read. I had to swat her leg to get it to go out. I scared her to death. I'm trying to find a way to make a direct complaint but have not found a way yet. At $60 a carton this is BS.

    0 Votes
  • Y
      Oct 24, 2009

    This was my old brand, hubby and I had to switch to Camel Wide Lights. They not only changed to fire safe cigarettes, which are completely pointless because they don't go out in the ashtray - only when you are smoking them - then when you get down toward the filter, the cherry will just fall off and burn you/the carpet/furniture/etc. I was really disappointed with this - I have tasted generic 2 dollar a pack smokes that are better than the new Light 100s. This was my favorite non-menthol cigarette. Philip Morris can kiss my ### if they think I'm going to pay 6 bucks a pack for an inferior cigarette that is akin to roll-your-owns in quality!

    0 Votes
  • D
      Oct 26, 2009

    I know cigarettes are bad for peaple allready...but add a fireproof chemical to them and this will surely kill us FASTER . . one thing Ive learned in life is fireproof products are a major health hazzard (this will be like ASBESTOS) they are not safe they SUCK ! ! ! ! ! ! !

    0 Votes
  • S
      Nov 07, 2009

    I agree with evereyone.. IF I WANTED A CIGAR THEN I WOULD HAVE BOUGHT ONE!!!

    0 Votes
  • P
      Jan 04, 2010

    WELL #1 FSC IS NOT GOING TO WORK, THE CHERRY FALLS OFF MORE WITH THE NEW PAPERS, ITS A PAIN IN THE NECK TO KEEP RELIGHTING AND THE THE CIG TASTE LIKE "CRAP" #2 IF THIS WAS VOTED INTO LAW, I WAS UNDER THE IMPRESSION THE PEOPLE HAVE A RIGHT TO VOTE ON IT AND NOT JUST THE BEURACRATS TO DO ALL THE VOTING. I SWEAR I NEVER SAW THIS ON THE BALLOT ABOUT APPROVING FIREPROFF PAPERS FOR CIG. ONCE AGAIN OUR CONSTITUIONAL RIGHTS ARE BEING TAKEN AWAY.
    AFTER READING ALL THE COMMENTS IT SEEMS LIKE ALL I HEAR IS I SMOKE ALOT MORE THAN I HAVE IN MONTHS. SURE WE STOP FIRES BUT IN THE MEAN TIME WE INCREASE HEALTH ISSUES AND THE CIGARETTE COMPANIES GET RICHER.
    NOT A VERY HAPPY CAMPER

    0 Votes
  • C
      Mar 23, 2010

    heatherbirdlady said it to perfection. [censored] FSC. give us our ciggs back. i bet the motha [censored]as that changed the law don't even smoke. [censored] the american government. They want to get rid of us smokers with that damn carpet glue poison. [censored] YOU Government!

    +1 Votes
  • J
      Apr 26, 2010

    I was a 27 year Marborol Light customer. I live in Fl. They are now $50 bucks on sale, $55 REGULAR. I started smoking Richwood Filtered Cigars. They are so much smoother than a Marborol Light and they cost $12 a carton. They are sold at tobacco outlet stores and sometimes I run out when they are closed so I buy 2 packs of M Ls. I too have noticed the aforementioned FSC lable. I also thought I was getting stale cigs. I am smoking one right now from a weekend pack. It tastes like a Spirit or a USA OR WORSE YET A CHECKER. What a stupid move by Phillip Morris . They already lost many life long customers due to taxes. Now they have even lost my " oh s*** the outlets closed I gotta pay out the a** for cigs again" business.
    Are camel lights FSC also? I used to smoke those when they where on 2 fers.

    0 Votes
  • M
      May 21, 2010

    The problem here is marlboro, it's a bum brand. I have, and always will smoke true blue 100's soft pack. Its a smooth smoke, and you can see the difference: draw, cherry holding on to the tip and slow burn time. Sure, its $8 a pack here in MA, but it takes me a few minutes and thats more than my friends get out of their brands (Marlboro lights, Merit 100's and I believe one friend was smoking Parliament). Unroll a Marlboro, and compare that to when you unroll a true.

    0 Votes

Post your comment