Marlboro Cigarettesburning of cigarettes

N
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer
Review updated:

I bought 2 packs of marlboro cigarettes and when i smoked them they would either stop burning and go out or the cherry of the cigarette would fall off. Ive been smoking for a while and if this keeps happening i will end up changing brands.

Responses

  • To
    tomax87 Aug 12, 2008

    This is the NEW safty cigerettes you have to continue to puff or they go out. This is to decress the fire hazord of cigerettes. You will find the same thing with all brands of cigerettes now.

    0 Votes
  • Li
    lisa Sep 04, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have smoked marlboro for years and the new ones are more hazardous than the old ones, I have burnt car seats, blankets my bedspread and many other things when are you going to change them back to the old way, if your not I am going to change brands.

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    sarah becker Sep 28, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have been smoking marlboro for many years now and the other day when i bought a packet they were all hared like they have been out of the packet for ages so i had to chuck them all away becasue they were unsmokeable andi am disscusted by the product that was sold to me becasue i have never had this problem before. im thinking now about changing brands...


    yours sinserly
    sarah

    1 Votes
  • Ta
    tarheel Nov 07, 2008

    Try these guys... no fire safe paper!!!

    Www.cartons4free.com

    They come from north carolina and they do not have that horrible fire safe paper.

    They answer the phone or if they are on the other line and you leave a message they call back!! they also answer your emails and they email you once your order has shipped!!!

    Good service!

    1 Votes
  • Te
    Terry Nov 14, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I had no idea that there was to be a change in the paper used to make my cigarettes. I wish Marlboro would have told the vendors (retailers) of this plan so they could have explained to me that my cigartettes were going to burn in a different manner. I thought that there was something wrong with my entire carton. I realize that tobacco products are the hot topic of discussion these days, but as a consumer that still enjoys to smoke, I would appreciate any news regarding my brand (or any brand) of tobacco product.

    1 Votes
  • Cu
    curt tiebel Nov 19, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I'm totally disgusted with the taste and smell. I am changing to Camel in hopes of a better smoke. Tired of relighting, also!

    1 Votes
  • Ji
    jim Nov 28, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    they need to change them back!they taste different dont burn keep going out.they suck!dam safety nazis!

    1 Votes
  • Ta
    tarheel Dec 03, 2008

    You can still get NON FSC Marlboro's and many other brands at http://www.carolinacartons.com

    1 Votes
  • Fr
    freshmeatz Dec 03, 2008

    Nope they lost money now, I quit, spent my monthly cig money on chantix rather then waste another 20 years feeding this company money. F U C K corporations anymore all greed.
    Smokes taste like chit, but they spend huge amounts on mail ads with no free coupons. they had their chance, stop smoking tobacco, stick with weed for the relaxing effect after a long day.

    0 Votes
  • Bo
    bob bounds Dec 28, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Apparently, Texas is late in joining the fray. After 40 years of Marlboro flip-tops, my last two cartons (FSC) have almost made me quit. I've e-mailed Marlboro and asked for a refund or 2 cartons of non-FSC. Have not heard back, yet. FSC stands for Fulla S..t Cigarette! They taste awful!

    0 Votes
  • An
    Angela Jan 14, 2009

    Absolutely! They made a mistake with this one by far...

    1 Votes
  • Rn
    RNR Jan 26, 2009

    My husband and I have smoked Marlboro cigarettes for over 25 years. We have now dropped this cigarette and switched to camels. These cigarettes do not stay lit and they taste awful. We believe more has changed about the cigarette besides the paper.

    1 Votes
  • Ga
    gary b Jan 27, 2009

    i agree . these smokes taste awful and are dangerous on the road. i have to look down to the floor board to see if i dropped the cherry.they suck !!!

    1 Votes
  • Rh
    rhizo Jan 30, 2009

    I was unhappy with the change at first. Now I appreciate the fact they go out because I can re-light them. Saves money & tobacco.

    1 Votes
  • Dd
    ddpedigo Feb 04, 2009

    I was wondering what was going on with Marlboro, I thought I had gotten two bad cartons. They taste horrible, will not stay lit and the end stays very hot, burns weird and falls off. It also keeps going out if you sit it in the ashtray. I have to agree they changed more than the paper. I finally cut one open and you can notice very lite colored particles in the tobacco, it is not tobacco. I also think it is giving me a headache. I was telling a friend how I have been having headaches and she told me about the change so I looked it up and found this page. Is anyone else having headaches?

    1 Votes
  • john7777 Feb 04, 2009

    Just go to Camels. There cheaper and they have the fire prevention crap in them.

    1 Votes
  • Da
    dave Feb 09, 2009

    It took us a while for us to get here, but we are with all of the complaints! Quality has gone down and we are considering going with Basics. We came back to Marlboro out of loyalty, but if they can't be loyal to us, then we won't be with them!

    0 Votes
  • Fs
    FSC hater Feb 09, 2009

    Time to start rolling your own again, at least the mexican drug cartels won't poison you as long as your pay for your product, plus it's tax free!

    0 Votes
  • Pe
    peachykeen Mar 23, 2009

    I'm having the same issue and thought I was getting illegal imports from China. Nice to know there is a reason why the cigs won't stay burning.

    0 Votes
  • Sw
    SwitchingBrands May 29, 2009

    These cigarettes are absolutely horrible! I can't imagine that they actually tested them on real smokers and got the thumbs up! I've smoked Marlboro for many years but until they change them back to the original, no fire-safe papers, I'm switching brands.

    0 Votes
  • Ki
    kirjondra Jun 05, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    price went up quality went way way down...

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Mark Jun 12, 2009

    The one thing I will have to say is, I like the idea of having a fire sate cigarett, but when it comes to the point where it is now im starting to get headaches from every pack of cigarettes I purchase to smoke, I have been buying these "Fire Safe" Cigarettes for two weeks or so. I smoke a pack in two days. My wife has stated the same thing. What is being put into the paper to cause this. This is more health safety than Fire safty in my opinon. The Cherry falling off this is a bigger issue of starting fires of even getting burns, This is not a safe Product, and In my opinion should not be available to purchase. I will fully accept a smokable non-harming cigarette that is "Safe" in all ways to smoke.

    Thank you,
    Mark

    [protected]@silentdaredevils.com

    0 Votes
  • Tr
    Tracy Jun 12, 2009

    You people ever hear of no smoking and lung cancer? Switch to quitting. I've seen lung cancer turn to brain cancer in the flick of a lighter.

    You folks are unreal complaining about a cigarette that shouldn't be produced in the first place. Gross smell and even you smell gross from smoking them. Ever see the walls of your house? Yellowed nicotine. Do you wonder why you have less friends?

    The Marlboro man died from brain cancer. Camels are worse, they cause more cancer more quickly. Go for it, people! More power to you, you will surely give the world a cleaner place to be when you croak.

    Brain cancer starts with headaches. Go see your doctor, even though certain cigarettes cause non treatable fatal brain tumors. They might be able to prolong your life for a few months more.

    Cigarettes have over 2000 carcinogens in them. Carcinogens cause cancer. Try to see which one of you can get it faster, have a race. Betcha no one wins.

    0 Votes
  • Tr
    Tracy Jun 12, 2009

    Mark you can't be a medicalist! You should know better than to smoke. The headaches are starting, next comes the heart attack or lung/brain cancer. You know your body is trying to tell you to stop, but you're addicted to the nicotine and the other carcinogens they put in tobacco and paper. Shame on you and your wife for smoking when you tell people not to. I doubt you are a medicalist at all.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Mark Jun 12, 2009

    Your Correct I'm not a Medicalist in the Medicinal field, I am a PC Medicalist, I fix sick computers, not sick people. I didn't know this is where you come to get criticism? I thought it was to leave a complaint. I do not tell people to not smoke, I only tell them if they currently do not smoke, I would not want anyone to go through what I have since I started to smoke. 13 years ago.

    Tracy, I know i'm not perfect but what makes you seam like you have the upper hand? Everyone has cancer cells, these are dormant till you eat drink go somewhere that will activate them for most individuals it would be smoking, I have never had headaches till these past two packs I have made the purchase for.

    0 Votes
  • Ag
    AgentFiftySeven Jun 27, 2009

    Hey Tracy...blow me. You don't see me messing with your posts in the bondage forums, do you? Thanks for the life-changing earth-shattering revelation that cigarettes cause cancer. And if I do 'croak' from cigarettes, I hope it happens while I'm behind the wheel and barreling towards your car at about 90 miles an hour. Oh well, I can dream, can't I?

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    Cathi In Ohio Jul 10, 2009

    It is NOT only Marlboro's its ALL brands...I smoke cheapRodgers and couldn't figure out why they were going out sooo much then I found an article on it at http://www.smokinglobby.com/forum/about3551.html

    0 Votes
  • Df
    D from Dallas Jul 18, 2009

    I am a 2 pack a day smoker and have been loyal to the Marlboro brand for 30 years.

    These new "safety" cigarettes are more dangerous than ever! I have burnt my clothes, car seats, furniture, myself and others!

    The new paper seems to fly off the cigarette and continues to burn after it lands. It's almost impossible to keep lit and lately, my cigarettes have been loosely packed or perhaps half-full. I simply don't enjoy smoking your product anymore.

    I will roll my own cigarettes from now on.

    0 Votes
  • Te
    teetot1 Aug 03, 2009

    I have been wondering what the hell was going on with my cigarettes. I'm getting quite frustrated myself. Never smoked anything i liked better than Marlboro Lt 100's but I'm about to start shopping around.

    0 Votes
  • Gw
    Gwen~Anne P. Aug 09, 2009

    At approximately $50.00 a carton I feel as though I am totally being ripped off. I have been smoking Marlboro Lights for 23 years and my last two cartons were crap. Thought it was a fluke that the first carton was peeling at the butt and kept going out repeatedly. Second carton did the exact same thing and totally pissed me off. Anyone know where I can get a good cigerette that does not do this crap?

    Debating to just quit.
    Gwen~Anne

    0 Votes
  • Be
    beau1 Aug 17, 2009

    I agree with the roll your own, but Im talking cigarette tobacco

    http://www.rollyourown.com

    all kinds of different tobacco and cigarette accesories

    FSC = Federal Safety Commision

    does it surprise anyone that the government has gotten involved. I wonder how much money they are giving to the tobacco growers to add ### that tastes awful, but still keep them addicted!!

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Johnam Aug 19, 2009

    I agree with all the posters about this, Myself recieved a carton last week only to find a very funny smell kinda like perfume or a very off musky smell, and a even worst taste. Figuring maybe it was a fluke like i got the carton that was sitting in the back of some werehouse for years and they finally picked it up to ship it out, i bought another carton this week, and its just as bad if not worse then the previous carton. I am disgusted with Marlboro and will definately be looking for another brand to start.
    Thanks for taking my money Marlboro and giving me a crap product...it only lets us see your real colors

    0 Votes
  • Do
    donkey9376 Sep 14, 2009

    these fire safe cigarettes suck. I was thinking they were just leaving alot more moisture in the cigarettes, despite the changed taste, now i know better, its the paper! so much for trying to dry the cigarettes by leaving the box open. seriously sucks . I very much dislike the change. and what the heck is in the paper. as if smoking wasnt bad enough, now ive got fire ###ent in my paper, and god knows what in the "tobacco" . wtf.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    joejr Oct 12, 2009

    What the heck are you as a major cigrette company thinking...this new FSC is BullCrap...YOU JUST LOST A CUSTOMER...

    0 Votes
  • Di
    dixie38671 Nov 06, 2009

    I smoke dorals and my boyfriend smokes winston. I used to smoke marlboro, but when they changed their ciggs I changed brands and so did he. Unfortunately, now both doral and winston have changed to. I don't know what we are going to do. I hate these new ciggs. I have been smoking for 15 years he has been smoking for over 30 years and this is absolutely ridiculous.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    Shealy Nov 30, 2009

    I have just recently gotten the Marlboro Cigarettes that don't burn or the fire falls off. I thought it was new. After reading all these complaints I see this is the way it is going to be. I will be changing brands. I have smoked Marlboro for over 25 years. I can't believe you didn't let the consumer know the cigarettes were going to change.

    0 Votes
  • Ec
    ecksploshun Nov 30, 2009

    ridiculous. it's more dangerous because there's no consistency to how the paper actually burns. I've had huge chunks of cherry fall out of the cig into my lap.

    0 Votes
  • Ec
    ecksploshun Nov 30, 2009

    bottom line is...these smokes are more dangerous. i've had two of them drop partial cherries in my lap. i think the paper doesn't burn evenly.

    0 Votes
  • Al
    Allison Calera, AL Nov 30, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    ok now I know it is not me or my husband that are the only ones having headachaches, why wasn`t the consumer (you know the ones that have made a lot of people rich and the ones people complain about, but love what the taxes we pay does for them ) warned about the change and effects of the FSC. Just found out today 11/30/09 that our cigarrettes suck for a reason. I guess 5.20 a pk isnt good enough. We are aware of dangers of smoking pk says it plainly and aren`t all of us dumb enough to smoke while sleeping. guess the questions are answered of : old people smoking 2 pks a day and lived til they were 90 yrs old not anymore they want to kill use early.jokes on them we cant buy if were not ALIVE, Go back to genuine tobacco we will stay around enjoying our smokes at whatever price. The rate going now marlboro is making the people at Tylenol happy. Guess I`ll find a better brand marlboro is losing now.

    0 Votes
  • Kw
    Kwanja Dec 08, 2009

    I, too, have encountered all of these traits in my cigarettes. They now give me a headache; won't stay lit in my hand or an ashtray if I am not constantly drawing on it; cherry falls out; burns off center; smells different; tastes different; and causes my tongue to tingle at times. I am VERY DISSATISFIED! Change them back. They are a safety hazard now! When the cherry falls into my lap or the floorboard, I am distracted from my driving awareness to check on the cherry. Grrrr! Ugh!

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.