The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Kmart Pension Service Canterscam to keep death benefit

Six month after filing for my mother's death benefit, KMart is still stalling and refusing to give us any information regarding why they have not paid the benefit she earned. Each 30-45 days they ask for additional information and stall for an additional 30-45 days. Finally they admitted that they had all the information and the check would come within 45 days; it didn't. I called, and they said it now it would be 45 BUSINESS days. After that, and there was no check, they said they would investigate and that would take another 20 days. Seven months later? No check.

Responses

  • Ka
    Kaye T Apr 08, 2017

    I also have had nothing but trouble - my mom died last August (2016) and after sending everything to them (certified mail) I am still trying to get them to spring into action. My mom had a death benefit of only $2700 but it would certainly help with her bills. She spent 30 years with K-Mart in South Houston and this is the thanks she gets!! I hope the employees that give us all the run around do not work for K-Mart / Sears too long or they to will be screwed. Now that the Kardashian's have purchased Sears and K-Mart maybe we should all send them our information and maybe they will have pity on all of us. Imagine all the others out there in the same boat as us. God Bless us and Sears/K-Mart can go to *&^%%#$#

    0 Votes
  • De
    Dennis Motz Jul 14, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My wife is a last stage alzheimers patient I can, t find any thing about the $ 5000 death benefit ins she got when she retired in 1992. HELP PLEASE Dennis [email protected]

    1 Votes
  • Ca
    Carol Lynn May 29, 2013

    Beware of Kmart retirement benefits, they will not pay you anything after you reach age 62, I was receiving 294.00 a month and this was suppose to be for life like any pension, (I left the company with 17 yrs. of employment at that time I was told my pension was 424.00 a month) now i only get 12.62 a month, that"s right only 12.62 a month. Yes, I am with the rest of you, They need to be sued.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Maria E Santiago Apr 25, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    The idea is to frustate you to the point that you give up, no information as to what they need when you call. Them 45 days later you get the next request for the probate information. After you send it you wants 45 days for to to review it.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    jolly elf Nov 26, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My mom passed away in july. I sent K-mart pension plan a copy of the death certificate. I asked for her benefits. I recieved a letter back asking me to re-submit my claim, I am thinking wow I will get a check ! silly me The letter that i recieved again stated that My mom
    elected the life income option at her retirement therefore no further benefits are due after her death.. And yet I have never even seen any copies of said paperwork, and the letter is signed, .
    Sincerely Service Center not a name of a real person anywhere. MY return reciept was marked by sam little as well. he must work in the mail room. [protected]
    I am thinking that a lawyer may have to send in a letter on my behalf.

    0 Votes
  • Ne
    need help please! Aug 25, 2012

    How do you get to talk to anyone at the pension service center? I have sent them correspondence without a response from them. I have sent them return receipt requested all signed by Sam Little.

    0 Votes
  • Un
    unotmeir Jun 04, 2012

    Has anyone ever decided to file a lawsuit?

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    cheecher Feb 27, 2012

    I don't think Kmart wants to pay anyone any benefits they have earned. I applied for my pension in July of 2011. They had me as unmarried. I was taking the single life annuity so marriage wasn't an issue. In November of 2011 I contacted them as I hadn't received anything or heard anything from them. I was told I had to submit the paperwork on my marriage and have it notarized. I did that and sent it in. Now it is March of 2012 and I still haven't heard or received anything. You can not get through to them on phone because they keep you on hold for a long time. Like 30 minutes or longer. Who has time to sit around with a phone up to your ear all day? I am very frustrated to say the least.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    michibilly Feb 17, 2012

    Stealth pilot... I don't think that eight months would classify as an 'awful hurry'. My mother's death benefit went to her estate to settle her debts and contribute toward her funeral, which my brother and I had already paid. It was nice to get that tiny amount of money from KMart to offset a little of cost. I realize that some comments to complaints here will be idiotic and I accept that. I guess some people like Stealth pilot just need to belittle people with legitimate complaints to look like big shots, but in actuality they just look stupid.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    michibilly Feb 17, 2012

    The idea is to frustrate you to the point that you give up, and I'm sure some do because the benefit, like everything else at KMart, is crappy. You are given NO information as to what they need when you call. In a couple of weeks you will get a letter asking for the first thing they want, the death certificate; nothing more. Then, 45 days later you get the next request for the probate information. After you send it, you want another 45 days for them to review it. Then after another 45 days, they will tell you that you need a federal tax ID and you will have to contact IRS to get that handled; that takes about two weeks.. (Interesting thing about that is that KMart then takes taxes out of the benefit before you get it as well, and when you go to file, IRS says that you don't need to pay those taxes that KMart deducted.) You then get a letter telling you that your death benefit is approved, and you will wait another 45 days for the check. Our total wait was a little over eight months. My mother had another insurance policy and I sent them a death certificate as well; they returned it with the check in a week.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    mimi4 u Jan 16, 2012

    Wow my mother died in August I still have no beanies..im looking now cause they told me to send a copy of my change of last name I did..but 8 months n no check..that's messed up..btw way for the other creep..if your mom thought enough of u to put ur name on a paper u might want it to..im sure her mother is rolling over now in her grave ..sorry keep posted we might have to get a class act suit ..going.

    0 Votes
  • Fi
    Firebug May 24, 2011

    I can't really tell yet. I have ask for info on how to file a claim and have received nothing. I have death certificate and the actual paperwork but no details on where to send this and to who.. Would appreciate an answer. Please answer my letters. Not in a great hurry, but it does belong to me and don't understand all these delays these people are having.

    0 Votes
  • Bi
    BigBobbyD Apr 08, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have had the same issues with Kmart. It has now been 8 months and I have yet to receive my first check. I also have waited the 45 day business day period. I called and was told that they would expedite the process and it should be resolved within 20 business days. Obviously Kmart has no idea what the word expedite means. The 20 days have since past and I still have yet to receive a check. I also would like to add that I had to begin the process on 4 different dates. I was told the 3 previous times that they never received the paper work. I find that hard to believe since I faxed all of the information to the fax number listed on the form and received a confirmation each time, that the fax was transmitted successfully.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.