JC Penney / Liz & Co Luggageunreliable bags

D
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

Last Friday I purchased 2 pieces of luggage from JC Penney from "Liz & Co" which is apparently a Liz Clairborne "licensee" company called Banda nco. It was a gift for my daughter's 18th birthday as she was taking her first trip alone and was going to Scotland. She is recovering from a broken arm and broken sternum from an auto accident, so I wanted something easy to handle and reliable. I paid over $200 these 2 pieces of luggage. The wheels on the big bag broke while going through the airport. I contacted JC Penney, Liz Claiborne Co and Bandanco -- Bandanco had the nerve to email me back telling me to ship them the bag (at my expense) and they would repair it or replace it in 3 to 4 weeks. Meanwhile, my daughter is in Scotland with a bag she cannot carry or roll -- relying on complete strangers to help her.

Any suggestions?

Dianne Shackelford
Ben Wheeler, TX

Responses

  • Co
    Cooper731 Jul 29, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I received this Liz&co. luggage as a gift from my daughter as a birthday gift. I love the luggage it is beautiful however, the wheels are disfuctional and have been from my very first trip to Paris France. It was mere hell dragging this luggage through the airports. I would be satisfied with wheel replacements that work. Thank You

    0 Votes
  • Sr
    S raj Jul 15, 2016

    Hi we bought 2 suitcases and the material has withstood 2 or 3 international travel well until this last time wheels broke. I like the product but would like replacement wheels sent but have no Contact no. To call company. Pls provide the same. Thanks.

    0 Votes
  • Je
    JerseyJo May 01, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I also purchased a three piece set of Liz Claiborne luggage from JC Penney in September, 2012. The luggage remained intact on our first trip in October, 2012, however, during our second trip in March, 2013, the wheel broke off the large suitcase. Having only used the set twice, and the pieces were only six months old, I was very disappointed. After reading many complaints on several websites, it's apparent there is a design flaw coupled with the use of inferior materials. Will not being purchasing LC items in the future.

    0 Votes
  • Ti
    Tina Rulon Jan 27, 2012

    my boyfriend took our liz &co suitcase while flying out of town, and while pulling it the wheel broke on him as well.we are extremely disappointed in our purchase and will no longer be purchasing anything from Liz & Co!

    0 Votes
  • Sk
    skcarter Aug 26, 2011

    I, too, bought Liz Claiborne roller suitcase, and the first time it went through
    the airlines, a wheel broke off. I don't know where to find a luggage repair
    person. I know JC Penny will show no responsibility. Any ideas? Sandra Carter

    0 Votes
  • Ba
    badar S Aug 16, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I bought 25" Liz Claiborne suitcase within two uses its handle either would not release or stay up! Any phone numbers or e-mail address to contact Liz Claiborne.

    Badar

    0 Votes
  • Al
    alwaysfaithfull Mar 16, 2011

    I also purchased Liz Claiborne Luggage for my wife from JC Penny last fall. The very first trip, a wheel just broke off. Upon close inspection, I discovered a very cheap plastic wheel that was not obviously designed for the stress that it must endure as luggage!

    0 Votes
  • Ol
    Olga Bostick Jan 21, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I purchased a 3 piece, burgundy color, Liz Clairborne luggage from Macy's. The first trip with the luggage, the handle on the carry-on would not release. I returned it to Macy's and it was exchanged. Just recently, on a second airline flight a wheel on the 25 1/2" suitcase broke off. Where can I find a wheel replacement or a repair shop?

    Sarah Bostick

    0 Votes
  • Tr
    Tricia Read Aug 13, 2009

    I also have purchased Liz Clairborne luggage from J.C. Penney and on the first trip with the luggage the wheel was broken after the first airplane flight. I suspect very poor wheel design.

    1 Votes
  • Ka
    karenfourcade Aug 04, 2009

    I bought four pieces of the Fluer De Lias Liz Claiborne luggage for more than $400. The first time I used it to go to California from New Orleans the handle would not go down. I was embarassed to have to use the luggage with the handle staying up the whole trip. When I returned to New Orleans I returned the piece to J.C. Penney for another piece. Then my daughter went on her honeymoon to Hawii and the handle broke off altogether from another piece. Now I am stuck with a piece with no handle. So with two uses of the luggage I come home with two broken pieces, not good odds. I would like to know if they have a place to get a replacement handle as they no longer make the style I bought.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.