HSBC Credit Cardunauthorized charges

J
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

We transferred credit card balances to HSBC for zero percent interest in December of 2007. We immediately started getting calls trying to get us to take out their Account Protection Plus coverage which I repeatedly refused to do. The company began charging us for Account Protection Plus coverage on February 4, 2008 and have continued to do so to the present date. I have called several times telling them we did not want this protection. I was assured the charges would stop which they did not. I do not no why these people do not understand NO.

They even charged a dollar a month service charge for the insurance. To date total charges amount to $284.83 which we never authorized and tried to get stopped from day one.

I feel these unauthorized charges should be refunded

Jim Hogue

Responses

  • Ba
    bajaskier Nov 12, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Take them to small claims court. You will recover the charges, court costs, and may even get punative damages.

    1 Votes
  • Li
    Lisa C Dec 01, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I'm have same problem, but at least they stopped charging me for the debt cancellation protection. I'm still trying
    to get them to remove the first 8 months charges from my account. They say that they have proof that I ordered this service, but I don't know how, when I never signed anything. If they think I won't get a lawyer to have this
    removed they better think again! I wish Mitsibushi would use a different company to handle their financing.
    If you have any more info or update on your fight with this company please keep us posted!

    1 Votes
  • Au
    Audrey B. Mar 14, 2009

    I'm having the same problem with my account and the same charges. Getting an HSBC live person to talk to is nearly impossible. If you call the [protected] which not too surprisingly is from Account Protection Plus, HSBC Services, you will talk to someone...in another country. And they will switch you to another and another while you listen to a constant recording begging you to sign up for their services, they say they will remove the charge but I've had no luck there as well. So far the charges add up to almost $400.00.

    Also, after having signed up for the card they continuously called my house four or five times a day and (and in some cases night) trying to get me to sign up for this service. I refused. Finally I bought a new phone where it was possible for me to block their calls which I did. A lot of good that did me. I am in the process of firing off one more letter to them, along with a letter to the office of the California Attorney General.

    1 Votes
  • Mr
    mr.someone Apr 29, 2009

    Worst service- deceptive annual fee charges. sold me a bundle of cards and promised NO ANNUAL FEE NO MINIMUM BALANCE REQUIRED. 1 year down charged me 150 Dhs for each card as annual fee.just called them up and cancelled everything...peace of mind- HSBC suxxxxxxxxxxx...

    0 Votes
  • Rq
    rqs81 May 19, 2009

    hi i have the same issue just found out and i have paid 110 up to day
    did a seach on the phone and found this complaint
    how can we fix this

    1 Votes
  • Wa
    Wallace Flowers Aug 20, 2009

    I am filing with the states atty. Probably won't do any good because the solicator is in a foriegn country. I have said no so many times and this time it was put on anyway and put me overlimit and they say maybe in a couple of months they will get it straightened out.

    1 Votes
  • Su
    sunflower (2) Aug 25, 2010

    I sent $54.00 to japan from UK to order some books and mitsibushi bank only sent this person $12.90, they have kept more than half of my money i am still trying to complain, if anyone know where to complain please let me know on here.

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Robbbbb Aug 12, 2012

    Same problem here. I've been repeatedly calling them to remove this service. I never agreed to or authorized this, and every time I call I get someone who barely speaks English.

    There is currently a class action lawsuit against HSBC in the amount of $23.5 million. To file a claim, go to www.EsslingerSettlement.com

    Unfortunately, HSBC will STILL keep charging you! I have a claim filed, and was just charged for this service again.

    1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem