SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Godish.comSCAM

1
P Review updated:

I welcome any comments from Dish Network regarding my complaint against godish.com a.k.a. Today's Satellite, inc. I believe Dish Network has some responsibility as it pertains to my complaint. Godish.com claims to originate an average of eight hundred to twelve hundred new customers a day for Dish Network. I discovered hundreds of other individual's complaints against godish.com just like mine on numerous internet sites. The following is my complaint:

June 2, 2010, Napa, CA - I recently established Dish satellite service through godish.com over the telephone. The phone order processing time with godish.com was approximately twenty-five minutes. A good portion of the time was attributed from the godish.com representative describing disclosures - about ten all together - each of which were lengthy in detail, spoken fast and considerably convoluted. At one point I requested the representative to stop and repeat a portion of one of the sections - she insisted to allow her to finish with all of the disclosures and we could revisit the question later. I would bet somewhere among the fast talk there was mention of a "fee" but the approach by godish.com is a very well planned and deliberate strategy - inundate the consumer with a barrage of information so that it would be humanly impossible to comprehend the little things they want to slip by the consumer.

Early into the phone order, all relevant information was requested and collected by godish.com. This included my social security number for a credit check - to establish an account with Dish satellite - as well a credit card. The godish.com representative explained that a credit card was needed to establish verification of my identity - another step to establish my account with Dish satellite. At this time there was no mention of any fees or amounts to be charged to the card, simply for identification purposes as Dish would be providing all equipment and installation at their cost. It made sense at the time- if I should default on the account, Dish would have recourse to collect for their equipment and installation costs. Again, no mention of any fees or charges by godish.com. The order was completed and we had an installation date scheduled. So far so good.

A few days had passed from the date we had established the account when I discovered the charge on my credit card activity online. I routinely audit my credit card accounts, debit card accounts and bank accounts. Usually every two or three days. I have outstanding credit and want to keep it that way. I was completely surprised to find a charge for $49.99. I immediately brought my discovery to my husband's attention as he participated in the ordering process with godish.com over a speaker phone. Just like myself, he couldn't recall any reference from the godish.com representative of any charges. He was just as surprised as I was. He concurred with me that the only reason we needed to provide my credit card was to verify my identity as part of establishing the account with Dish satellite. Without any time wasted, we contacted godish.com to explain that we were charged. They claim we were well informed and that it was clearly disclosed during the phone order. They claim to have the "recorded" conversation which includes me agreeing to paying the fee. Neither my husband nor myself were told they would be charging me a $49.99 processing fee. We both are very diligent and thorough when making purchases - especially those involving contractual agreements for payments over a period of time. We argued with the godish.com representative that we simply would have not completed the order if we were aware of the fee, as we would have shopped around more to see if this was a standard practice of other Dish retailers or if it were negotiable.

I am a licensed professional in the medical field, earn a six figure salary, have excellent credit with absolutely no debt. I have better things to do with my time than to contest and pursue collecting back my $49.99 that was taken from me without my authorization. I searched online for others that may have experienced this with godish.com. It wasn't a surprise to me that I easily discovered countless complaints from other individuals against godish.com for the very same thing.

What next? I will provide a thorough explanation of my experience and complaint with supporting evidence of other individual's complaints to the following parties:

Texas Attorney General's Office
County Sheriff's Office
City Police Department
Local Better Business Bureau
Local Chamber of Commerce
City Mayor's Office
Postmaster General
Commissioner's Office of The FCC

As I mentioned earlier I have better things to do with my time, however I WILL MAKE TIME TO PURSUE HOLDING THOSE THAT MISLEAD, DECEIVED AND DEFRAUDED MYSELF AND OTHERS FULLY ACCOUNTABLE.

Comments welcome: [protected]@gmail.com

Responses

  • To
    Tom J of texas Jun 02, 2013

    I am pleased to hear that someone out there is not taking scams lying down, she also provided some very good advice about contacting state & local officials about bad practices. THANK YOU

    0 Votes
  • Ha
    Harlequin12345 Jul 25, 2013

    I contacted godish for their $19.99 internet service, using four different phone numbers. In all cases I was told that that promotion was not avalable in my area or they had no knowlage of such. I was then offered internet service for an increased price. Yet their add stated in large print "HIGH SPEED INTERNET, NO MATTER WHERE YOU LIVE". I have since gone on their web site and tried the following zip codes to see if I could find an area where it was offered: IOWA 52801 thru 52809, 52745, 52746, 52248, 52773, 52753, 52758, ILLINOIS, 61201, 61204, 61299, 61282, 61244. These codes cover a considerable area of east central Iowa and west central Illinois. I feel the add is a fraudulant come on leading to a bait and switch. I also have filed a complaint to the Iowa attorney general's office fraud division, the Postal service fraud division (I got the add in the mail) and the BBB.
    [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Darthruv9 Jan 05, 2015

    This is referring GoDish as well. Long story short a $75.00 gift card was promised to me in September 2014 and I never received it. They told me the promotion was never offered in 2014 and I must of been offered another promotion. So they went to the recordings department and determined it was promised to me on the phone call and the gift card is being sent. Fast forward three months later and guess what no card. So I called today and guess what it's not being sent nor was there ever a recording. They are separate from dish but like some of the other posts they should be held accountable as well. I was given the run around many times from their operators and wasted much time with this nonsense. Dish did accommodate after becoming agrovated. So take this post for what it's worth and be careful of GoDish. This is one of the few ways of getting back... Have a nice day😡

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Cherylfromcali Sep 30, 2015

    My husband signed up with DishNetwork through Go Dish for a $100 gift card promotion back in June 2015. He has been communicating with Go Dish for the status of the promotional gift card & has been given the run arounds since then. He was told that his information was wrong which was their reason for the long processing time. He called again in early August, the rep said that his info was corrected so he should receive something in a few weeks. He spoke to another rep at the end of August and was told that he was sent an email by [email protected] for the redemption form but never received it. We searched our email from that sender & nothing. So he called Go Dish today and the rep told him that the email was sent twice and will be unable to help him. My husband has been so patient with Go Dish but has been frustrated with the whole situation. I decided to step into handle the matter. I spoke to a Go Dish rep (Darion from Houston, TX) & complained to her that we signed up back June and still have not received the $100 gift card that was promised as a promotional gift. I vented to her that if things aren't resolved today that I will have no choice but to complain to the Better Business Bureau & Consumers Affairs Office of their scam & fraudulent business practices. I was put on hold for a few minutes & she came back on the line saying that we should receive something in the mail in a few weeks. We were done with Go Dish and was not satisfied with the same empty solutionso I searched online for the 3rd party redemption company ( Mpell solutions 800-450-1575) and spoke to a friendly rep and was able to email my redemption form with no run arounds. She was able to help me in 1 day versus the 3 months of headache and inconvenience from Go Dish that my husband endured. He is now happy and relieved that he will be receiving his $100 gift card finally!

    0 Votes
  • La
    LaNada War Jack Feb 28, 2016

    I don't understand the question of attitude towards Complaint. I agree with making a complaint but disagree with the service. My dish with internet was installed on friday afternoon 2/26/16. I noticed the internet was very slow yesterday but thought i may be just working itself out and when it kept on slowing down, I called dish back today 2/28/16. They told me I had used all my data and I said if the data only lasts a day, I didnt want it. They informed me that I signed a separate contract for internet services and it would cost me over $400 to disconnect it. They also told me that I would have high speed internet from 1am to 8am and I told them I would be sleeping during that time. When I signed the my name, I wasn't told that my internet would only last a day and I would have to purchase more bites to last till the end of the month. This is a scam and now I am trapped into continuing my service for two years.

    0 Votes
  • Tj
    TJ Miller Jun 09, 2016

    I feel that Dish Has Used Many Bait and Switch promotions in their adds with me...I also had a unauthorized credit card charge from them for $49.95 that was not ever mentioned, regarding the $100. Visa Refund: after I was told that was part of the contract we have never received any info regarding visa $100 rebate program... after many calls...Dish says Refund is not from them but a Godish company...after three month and many pho calls I am finally told they are sending a form by email and I'm to fill it out and paste and send back...I am 90 Years old...and not that computer savvy and I think they count on that fact and hope people can't comply so they don't have to pay the money after all...it all about money, I was told none of this up front and am now told if I can figure out how to dance with all these instructions I might get the card another in 6-8 weeks! That Puts me up to 5-6 months maybe...What a scam and If I wish to Cancel with Dish I will have to get a attorney and try to cancel my contract...beware of their advertising...also dish should make sure of the other companies that they are in bed with to do as they say other wise it ruins Dish reputation for honesty and disclosure, I know that After having Cox Cable for 26 years, that the Dish Company changeover was a Great Error that I Made, the Reception is terrible and the customer service is a joke. [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Av
    avi solveng Jun 16, 2017

    we need to have O A N, One America News Chanel, Dish have it verizon have it and Dish don't have that good news Chanel ???????????

    0 Votes
  • Th
    The checkyouself Checker Jun 16, 2017

    I think you should dispute the charge with your credit card company... once that is done, call Godish, and tell them you want a copy of the recorded converstation, before you pay them. If they refuse, tell them that you will not pay the fee until THEY provide proof that you acknowledgesd the charge in the original conversation. If they try to threaten collections, just tell them you will happy to pay, ONLY if they can supply proof of your verifixation of the charge.

    Shady companies like this don't deserve to exist!

    1 Votes
  • Ca
    Carol5464 Jul 28, 2017

    Dish would not honor my gift card, the reason was bogus. I was supposed to receive a free gift card of $100 for signing up. I did everything that was required of me. Very unfair & unprofessional business practices. I'm going to cancel my account.

    0 Votes
  • Cl
    clearlyclear Aug 09, 2017

    I also was scammed out of the 49.99 and have tried to get my credit card company to cancel it, but so far have not had any success. In addition I was told there would be $100 Visa card issued for signing up. I followed the instructions but now 12 weeks later have not received the card and their processing agent mpellsolutions.com reports they have not received my submission. GoDish is a scam.

    0 Votes
  • Cl
    clearlyclear Aug 25, 2017

    GoDish is still scamming people and DISH does not care. Does anyone want to start a class action lawsuit, i would certainly be interested. It would appear to me that there is a strong basis and thousands of people who could participate

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Mary Ann Harrel Sep 13, 2017

    That's correct. I thought GoDish was Dish when I looked for the phone number. If the speed talker mentioned $49.99 for having them do nothing but fill out forms to submit to Dish, I certainly didn't hear it! Right after I hung up I realized it wasn't Dish. I called Dish and said my concerns about a scam and were they authorized. I got some words back that kept referring to them as their retailers. So I assume everything was ok, until I got a bill with an additional $49.99 on it! They called it a processing fee. I call it a rip off. Clearly Dish doesn't seem to mind as long as they get business.

    0 Votes
  • Bo
    BobVr. Nov 09, 2019

    Now it is 2019 and they are still at it. Now they promise a gift card for signing up. We have been waiting for over 3 months and still nothing. Every time I contact them I get a different answer as to why I have not received it. It is supposed to be paid through rewardcenteronline.com which is a division of the Chana companies Inc. I have filed complaints on all 3 with the BBB. Still waiting to hear from anyone!

    0 Votes

Post your comment