The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
FTD Florist Onlineno delivery, no refunds

On 5/7, we placed an order for mother's day flowers to be delivered. According to their website, "Same day FTD flowers delivery offer applies to online flowers delivered within the U.S. and Canada if placed before 12 noon Mon-Sat." So we requested to have them delivered on 5/7. Well, no flowers have been delivered up to today (5/13). I have called them numerous times and keep getting the order center. All they can do is send the "floral manager" an email. Well... I have 17 emails sent to the floral manager. On one of my calls, they were nice to give me the "Hidden Customer Service" phone number. Well when you hit the option for customer service, guess what, I get dialed back into the order center. I checked my credit card and they have charged me. Matter of fact, they charged me the same day I ordered them. I cant speak to anyone to get a refund. I have disputed the charges with my credit card company and also filed a formal complaint with the Boston Better Business Bureau. WARNING TO ALL... DO NOT ORDER FROM THESE THEIVES!!!

Responses

  • Jo
    Jo Barbot Sep 13, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I ordered flowers on 9/11 for a dear friend for her birthday and received an order confirmation she would get them for 9/12 her birthday. I called her and she did not receive the flowers so called the 800 number but shop closed but I would receive a call from shop 9/13 next day. No call so I called 2 times both times was told that shop not available filling orders but promised I would be called. My friend still did not get flowers. 2nd time cancelled my order but never got cancellation email. I called B of A to get my money back. I will never use this company again and am posting on this on Facebook!

    0 Votes
  • Vi
    Virginia Glover May 04, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I just ordered flowers for my aunt's funeral. Not only did the order not get placed, but the so that they were suppose to send it to doesn't deal with FTD! My friend is the owner of said shop and she informed me that she never received an order. I drove over 4 hours to be with my family and had to place another order. My card hasn't been charge yet and it better not. I have called and called and same as the others are saying, someone sends a message to a manager and that's it.. This website is not a true FTD. I even called them and guess what they can not find my order yea cause it's not with them.. Never again and they will be reported.. BBB...

    0 Votes
  • Di
    dissatisfied recipient Feb 28, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My daughter was sent flowers from a friend in sympathy for her dad's death. The arrangement was left by the door which in the summer would be fine but the high temp for the day was 20 degrees, the flowers were dead--and frozen. We called 3 times, someone finally called her back and delivered again (they were asked to call so my daughter would be home--they did not), and left the flowers next to the door in 17 degree weather. Again the flowers were both dead and frozen. Called and was told someone would get back to her, 3 days later nothing. I'm sorry but wouldn't a reputable florist know you can't leave flowers outside when the temperature is below 20 degrees?

    0 Votes
  • St
    STarleton Jun 27, 2014

    I wish that I had read all of your comments before I placed my order. And really have you ever tried to speak with someone from this company. I actually thought that I was ordering FTD Florist - you know the real flower people. This makes me so mad - cannot get an answer - no one there can help me.


    I will NOT MAKE THIS MISTAKE AGAIN. I hope someone - some where - some time can shut these folks down. Bad business practices!

    0 Votes
  • Je
    jesse78 Feb 19, 2014

    Same boat I ordered on 2/13/14 and to date no flowers and no call back..I have left a message for a call back 8 times. and sent emails...no response...the call center is over seas and no one will can help to reach the company directly...total scam!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    Kenneth_C Feb 16, 2014

    A COMPLETE FRAUD!!!
    Long story short...I ordered flowers-DIDN'T GET THEM! Called customer service 3 times-NOTHING!!! All these posts on here defending by a so called Alex of Flowers the company are BS, I called that number and got the run around, they (CSR's) don't even know who their supervisor is. They hide behind the fact that all they are is an off site processing center. DO NOT, I repeat...DO NOT EVER ORDER FLOWERS FROM THIS SITE, unless you want to get stiffed with a bill and NO FLOWERS!
    p.s. This company is so bad, I will not stop here...I will make sure every social media site I can review on, will know how horrible of an experience I had...and apparently thousands of other people too!

    0 Votes
  • Su
    sunflower2810 Feb 15, 2014

    Totally agree with you I am filing a complaint with the BBB I believe they are a scam sane thing happened to me and my husband. Very frustrating and the # they provide for customers is A joke!!! They dont even know which florist is making the arrangement! Called 4 times still no phone call back!!!

    0 Votes
  • Br
    Bramandus Feb 14, 2014

    COMPLETE SCAM. PAID $64.98 FOR NOTHING. RUINED MY WIFES VALENTINES DAY. I CANT BE THERE BECAUSE OF WORK AND I WANTED TO SEND SOMETHING TO LET HER KNOW I WAS THINKING OF HER. ISTEAD I HAD TO HAVE HER CHECK THE CREDIT CARD TO FIND THE CHARGE AND NO FLOWERS! DISCUSTING PEOPLE AND YOU CANT GET AHOLD OF THEM IN ANYWAY. NEVER EVER ORDER FROM THESE PEOPLE. THEY ARE SCAMMING THEIVES.

    0 Votes
  • Br
    Bramandus Feb 14, 2014

    CHARGED ME $64.98 FOR NOTHING. WHAT THE HELL IS WRONG WITH YOU PEOPLE??? I NEED TO GET IN TOUCH WITH SOMEONE NOW THIS IS ###.

    0 Votes
  • Fl
    flowersllc Jun 26, 2013

    We take every complaint seriously, in the event you need to address us directly, please find the contact information below:

    You can reach a supervisor at flowers directly.
    Alex N.
    [protected] or Toll Free [protected]
    9-5 EST Mon-Fri or at [email protected]
    Response within 24 business hours
    www.ftdfloristsonline.com/flowers

    0 Votes
  • Fl
    FLTRX372 Mar 04, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Alex reached out to me and has promised that a full refund will be posted. I haven't seen this yet and am awaiting a response. I will post here when I have an update.

    0 Votes
  • Fl
    FlowerPower88 Feb 23, 2013

    @ S John Aamodt

    I believe I was able to find your order. I am very sorry about any frustration that we may have caused you. Unfortunately, it appears that we were needing to go outside of our network to have this order filled. What had happened is that when we heard back and cleared the drastic change to your order's appearance, the shop we had been in contact was not answering our calls. We contacted because we were concerned we might not be able to place the order with them in time to have your order delivered prior to the service. I do show that a refund was processed, however, if you feel as though your issue is not resolved, I am more than happy to discuss further resolution. Please feel free to e-mail me at [email protected], or you can call direct at [protected].

    Kind Regards,
    Alex, Manager
    Flowers, FTD Member Florist
    www.ftdfloristsonline.com/flowers
    www.flowers.ms
    [protected]

    0 Votes
  • Fl
    FlowerPower88 Feb 23, 2013

    @MAYGIRL30

    We do have a substitution policy as well as a return policy when it comes to full refund. We work with tens of thousands of local florists across the U.S. and Canada. Product availability and design interpenetration may vary. If at this juncture you feel that your issue has not been resolved then I am happy to authorize a complete refund. Please contact me via e-mail at [email protected] or feel free to call at [protected].

    Kind Regards,
    Alex, Manager
    Flowers, FTD Member Florist
    www.ftdfloristsonline.com/flowers
    www.flowers.ms
    [protected]

    0 Votes
  • Fl
    FlowerPower88 Feb 23, 2013

    @FightWithScam

    I'm very sorry to hear of your difficulties. I'm hoping that by now someone was able to resolve your complaint. If not, I would like to discuss a resolution. Please feel free to e-mail me at [email protected] or call me at [protected].


    Kind Regards,
    Alex, Manager
    Flowers, FTD Member Florist
    www.ftdfloristsonline.com/flowers
    www.flowers.ms
    [protected]
    [protected]

    1 Votes
  • Fl
    FlowerPower88 Feb 23, 2013

    @ FLTRX372
    I'm sorry to hear that the arrangement your ordered was sub-par. I believe that you reached out to me via e-mail. If that is the case, I responded to you and I'm hoping to have your order resolved very shortly. Valentine's Day is the busiest floral holiday of the year and we're doing the best we can to touch base with our customers and resolve all issues as quickly as possible. Please feel free to e-mail me at [email protected] or call at [protected].

    Kind Regards,
    Alex, Manager
    Flowers, FTD Member Florist
    www.ftdfloristsonline.com/flowers
    www.flowers.ms
    [protected]
    [protected]

    0 Votes
  • Fl
    FLTRX372 Feb 22, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Good evening. I placed an order through their website on Wednesday 13 February 2013. I ordered product 13-V8, the large version at a cost of $89.98 after the service charge. Their on-line catalog shows this to be a really nice display of roses with a pretty heart-shaped vase. On 15 February, a day late, a completely different and much smaller arrangement was delivered to my wife. I have called their 800 number several (5) times and someone takes my information, ostensibly for a return call. I have not received a return call, and I have not received the refund that I asked for after my 4th call to them. I originally simply wanted the arrangement that I ordered delivered as promised but by the fourth call only wanted a refund. My order number was [protected]. I really hope that others see this so they don't get ripped off as I have.

    Chris Potter

    0 Votes
  • Jj
    j.john Feb 20, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    warning, warning warning warning do not call [protected] for flowers, you will not receive your order, and have fight to get your money back. There are a lot more web site on line to use. you have been warning. Thieves and a rip-off

    0 Votes
  • Sj
    S John Aamodt Dec 06, 2012

    Another customer with poor results. A friends father passed away so I went online and Googled FTD florists and got this website. I found a beautiful arrangement of flowers and was surprised by the $15 coupon they offered plus Free Delivery. I placed the order and received order confirmation. I noticed no where on the confirmation did it state when I wanted them delivered to the funeral home so I called the 1-800 number and then this is when the trouble started. I got the message center and had to go through the entire order information again so he could send it to a manager to review. A little while later I got a call from Patrick and he told me they had trouble finding a florist in the area to deliver the flowers but found someone to do it, however they would have to do a substitution. I asked what they were going to substitute and he told me it was at the discretion of the florist. The following day I received a phone call that I missed and called back to get the message center and again had to jump through hoops to have someone call me back. I got a call back from Katherine asking how she could help me. I told her I was returning her phone call and she said she had made the call in error that everything was fine. I asked if I could have the name of the florist so I could call them directly to make sure everything was fine and the flowers would be delivered the following day for the funeral. She told me she could not disclose the name for legal reason. I told her I found this complaints website and I am very concerned if they will be able to get these flowers delivered. 30 minutes later I get a call back from Katherine asking me to call her ASAP. I called the 800 number again and said I wanted to speak to Katherine and I wasn't leaving a message. Katherine told me the florist wasn't sure if they could fill the order since they will only be working a couple hours tomorrow (day of the funeral). I told her to cancel the order. It is now 2:30 in the afternoon and too late to place an order for flowers with a guarantee of delivery for tomorrow morning. My take on this is they lure you in with a coupon and free delivery, then can't find a florist to work with that will accept the price they sold it at so they "substitute" a bouquet within that price range. Stay away from this site.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    MARYGIRL30 Dec 01, 2012

    I wish I would have done more research about this company before ordering flowers for my friends birthday! I have never been so disgusted with a business in all my life and will do anything to prevent any other customer being frustrated or ripped off. I ordered flowers for my best friends birthday to be delivered to her at school (she is a teacher). As the end of the school day was approaching, I realized the flowers hadn't been delivered and called the [protected] number to see what the status of the flowers were. I was told they would research it and call me back. They never did, so I called back and was told they would be guaranteed by 4. I told them the delivery would be difficult with school getting out and gave them an alternative address to deliver to just in case. Around 4:30, I get a phone call from the delivery driver who doesn't speak English and I don't speak Spanish, so communicating was very difficult. I was able to gather that he was late to the school and was going to the alternative address to deliver. I said ok and expected to hear back within a few minutes as the school and her home are less than 5 minutes apart. 45 minutes go by and no phone call. I call the driver back and he hangs up on me. I figure out the name of the actual local florist and call them to see if they can communicate better so I can give the driver directions. They tell me they will take care of it and call me back. Another 45 minutes passes and nothing. Call the company back and they tell me the driver is lost and cant find the home. I end up having to drive around for two hours trying to find the driver and get the flowers from him. I had to deliver the flowers myself! With all the frustration and stress, I didn't realize until after taking the flowers that they were the wrong arrangement. I called the 1-800 number again and was told they would forward my complaint to the manager and I would get a phone call back. Never received one, so I called back. Had to go through the whole story again and was told the same thing. No manager ever called. Finally, today I call again and am transferred to Alex. The same Alex who is posting on here saying to contact him and he will resolve your issues, but that is a bunch of bull. He doesn't take responsibility for anything, talks in circles and tries to make the customer feel like they did something wrong. I demanded a refund and was told if I wanted a refund, they would need to go take the flowers back from my friend. Are you kidding me? Their policy states right on their website that satisfaction is guaranteed or your money back. Apparently they don't take that seriously. Terrible customer service, terrible manager and a complete scam and rip-off. Alex will do NOTHING to help you resolve your issue and will just treat you with disrespect. I am still livid about the whole situation. I will also be contacting my bank, the BBB and the department of commerce there in Mass. This company should not be allowed to do business with anyone.

    0 Votes
  • Fi
    FightWithScam Nov 05, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I agree that this company is a HUGE SCAM!!! Don't let you to be used by scammers. With same measure of success you can put you $100 in a garbage. Ordered flowers for my wife for our 30 anniversary 2 weeks ago. No flowers, no answers, repeated my info for customer service 6 times - no return calls, not today, not tomorrow, never! I would better donate this money to Sandy hurricane victims than for these scammers!

    0 Votes
  • Fl
    FlowerPower88 Sep 10, 2012

    Dear PBR1,

    If you can also provide me with further information on your order, I would be more than happy to address your complaint. If you can, call me at [protected] or e-mail me at [email protected] as I would like to avoid any personal information of you or your recipient from being published on a public forum. If we have made any kind of a mistake, I am more than happy to arrange for a complimentary delivery. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience.

    Kind Regards,
    Alex, Manager
    Flowers, FTD Member Florist
    www.ftdfloristsonline.com/flowers
    www.flowers.ms
    [protected]

    0 Votes
  • Fl
    FlowerPower88 Sep 10, 2012

    Dear Spoled a Birthday,

    If you can provide me with further information on your order, I would be more than happy to address your complaint. If you can, call me at [protected] or e-mail me at [email protected] as I would like to avoid any personal information of you or your recipient from being published on a public forum. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience.

    Kind Regards,
    Alex, Manager
    Flowers, FTD Member Florist
    www.ftdfloristsonline.com/flowers
    www.flowers.ms
    [protected]

    0 Votes
  • Pb
    PBR1 Sep 03, 2012

    Same thing, no flowers delivered, call not returned and still charged!!! TELL THE WORLD never do business with these guys

    0 Votes
  • Sp
    Spoiled a Birthday Aug 09, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I just ordered a plant from this website on Tuesday August 7th for delivery today, August 9th. Delivery for August 9th is stated on the receipt I printed out. It is nearly 6:30pm in the time zone where the plant was to be delivered for a birthday. When I tried to call the 1-800 number to find out the status of delivery, I found out the 1-800 number and the 1-617 number both go to an answering service that is neither helpful nor efficient. They each said they were unable to determine the status of my order. One answering service tech said I'd receive a call from the manager this evening "shortly". After learning there is a block on my credit card for this charge, I called back. Another tech said she could only pass along the complaint and that it was "after hours"... a much different story than I received from the first tech who said the hours were until 9pm. As far as I'm concerned, "Excellent service" seems to be the opposite of what this company is capable of -- As for valued customers-- Evidently I wasn't one and from the looks of this complaint board, which I wish I would have seen prior to making the order, several people aren't "valued customers"!!! As for 100% customer satisfaction-- NO...far from it!! Try ZERO%. I hope the state of Massachusetts takes action against this company. FTD should be alerted to their scam as well and I'll be happy to do that! At this point, I'm waiting for the refund to be credited back to my credit card as I'm sure the plant is not going to show up at its destination. In the meantime, I will be alerting EVERY SINGLE FACEBOOK friend and actual friend NOT TO USE this website!!!

    0 Votes
  • Fl
    FlowerPower88 Jun 27, 2012

    Dear Valued Customers,

    I would just like to post some contact information in the event that you are having any difficulties reaching our company. If you call the number posted on your e-mail confirmation with a problem and feel that you're not getting any results, please contact our local number at [protected]. You can also e-mail me personally at [email protected] Our goal is to provide you with excellent service and that you wont feel the need to resort to using this board as a means to voice any complaint you might have. We will do our absolute best to resolve your issue.

    Kind Regards,
    Alex, Manager
    Flowers, FTD Member Florist
    www.ftdfloristsonline.com/flowers
    www.flowers.ms
    [protected]
    [protected]

    0 Votes
  • Jw
    jwilliams149 Feb 22, 2012

    I also ordered from this website. Ordered my wife flowers for valentine’s day and big surprise they weren’t delivered, Called the very next day along with an email asking the status of my order. The customer service # is a joke, the rep kept telling me they couldn’t give me a status update and they would send a message to the manager and that some would contact me. Don't listen to the company's rep on here saying they'll get back to you within 24 hrs. I was just contacted via email 1 week later saying my order was cancelled. No explanation was given to as why they weren’t delivered. I went as far as to contact the florist association in Texas, they informed me about these fraudulent websites and how they rip you off. They also informed me that by ordering on these websites will actually decrease the amount of product you’ll get for your money. To get the most for your money contact your local florist directly next time. If you want to complain about your experience go to www.tsfa.org and click on the link to file a complaint with the Texas Attorney General’s office. Times are already tough for everyone last thing we need is some ### company trying to rip off the hard working American’s. Let’s put a stop to this. I’m very interested in hearing the response from the companies rep on here, but guess I’ll have to wait a week for that as well.

    1 Votes
  • Al
    almar453 Feb 20, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    same complaint order flowers call and got service, and they will check it out call 3 times so far, guess what no call back and no credit yet it was for valentines #[protected] sign piss off ex customer AM

    0 Votes
  • Br
    Breedencc May 16, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I don't think people are lazy for using this service. I mean, they do have a site showing the flowers that you can order, unlike mist local florists. If I am in Cali and I want to order for my Mother in Florida, I don't think I'd be lazy for going online looking for the perfect flowers on a website that claims to uphold the FTD name. I work over 12 hours a day and would definitely not consider myself to be lazy. Also, i was recrntly stationed in Iraq where working/office hours are NOT the same as stateside. So if I had been there vice California, I would be lazy for udon this service? I think not. The bottom line is, this website is a scam (or seems to be). This guy who "Claims" to own the company or whatever and takes the orders and complaints seriously is not very believeable. I can say that because I have called 8 times in the last 7 days and have yet to revive a call back on my order issue.

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    KeolaO May 12, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    clearly the problem is that they are in over their heads, and instead of cutting back they make us suffer. this company will not be around much longer, but until they go bankrupt for poor management skills and a lack of any decency, please consider these warnings and use a different company.

    0 Votes
  • Me
    Meek30 May 11, 2011

    Same situation happened to me. I placed the order for Mother's Day flowers and they have yet to be delivered, but you bet your bottom dollar my account has been charged. I too called the 1-800 provided and no one is able to help they have to take a message and forward to the manager. I even asked the managers name and was advised they could not disclose that info...yeah right; I don't think they even know the managers name. My bank was so helpful in filing a dispute and crediting my account...I agree BEWARE. I will never ever ever ever use them again. Very frustrating experience...Don't post the number on here, unless it is of some use. [protected] is a joke...

    0 Votes
  • To
    Tom M C May 08, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I placed an order in at 10 am for delivery at 5 pm that afternoon. The site advertises that same day delivery is no problem if ordered before 2 pm, so I should have been in plenty of time. However when the flowers had not arrived by 5:40 pm, I became concerned and called the service center to let them know the office where the delivery was to be made would close at 6 pm and asked them to have the florist make the promised delivery right away. The service agent assured me a supervisor would handle it immediately and then call me back to confirm it had been done. No delivery was ever made and I never received a call. I've also emailed and gotten no response. The worst part is not the money, but the fact that it was an occasion where it was very important that the flowers be delivered as guaranteed. The difficulties this company's failure has caused go way beyond the cost of the flowers. The experience left me highly embarrassed and several other people very sad. I will never use these guys again and will take every opportunity I get to discourage other people from using them.

    1 Votes
  • Ch
    ChazBoston Apr 19, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Orders placed after business hours, are seen by the florists when they open the following day. In the event services are early the next day, giving the florist a total of one business hour to get the order and fill and deliver the requested item, we will do our best to find a shop that will be able to accommodate such a request. However this is often too short a time period to allow for receipt of order, preparation of the arrangement and delivery of said arrangement. We will inform our customer as soon as possible, and offer to have the arrangement redirected to the residence of the family. I would recommend in the event you have an important occasion you give the delivering florist, at least a business day to get the order, prepare the order and deliver the order, as we want a high quality product delivered. Providing one business hour to do all of the aforementioned tasks seems too short a time for something so important.

    -1 Votes
  • Ta
    TammyK Apr 19, 2011

    I placed an order with ftdfloristsonline.com for a dear friend's mother's funeral. I placed the order the day before and the services were at 10am the next morning. Nowhere was I told that this might be a problem. I put all the details in the order. Even on my email confirmation I recieved no notice of a problem of delivery. I received a call at 9:53 am the day of the services that they were unable to deliver the flowers. This was not even enough notice to try to make other arrangements. I live six hours from where the services were held and could not attend. Now not even any flowers were there from me. I SHOULD NOT have trusted this website and I highly caution anyone else from using it also. I was given a refund but this in no way could make up for the lack of service I received.

    1 Votes
  • Hur Guler Flowers.ms Mar 13, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I'm the owner of Flowers LLC. We are a real FTDfloristsonline ie FTD florist online member and we guarantee satisfaction. In other words if you're not happy we give refunds. I suspect the poster of this message is not genuine and his message is politically motivated because he's against ordering from online florist and yearning to go back to the days before internet. We are in business because we provide excellent customer service and invest considerable amount of time in internet marketing.
    Hur Guler [protected] website ftdfloristsonline.com/flowers or flowers.ms

    -4 Votes
  • Al
    Alvarez20 May 14, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I too used this company to have flowers delivered on Mother's Day. No delivery. I received an email telling me my order is on hold. This company had all the indicators of being fraudulent. I talked to four different people, sent five emails. I even called the [protected] number, which I was told is the floral shop. It is not. I finally sent an email requesting a complete refund. While waiting for a response, I contacted FTD customer service and was told "Flowers" is a business in Cambridge, MA. They are not FTD, but a company that orders flowers through authorized FTD florists. On 5/13, I received a call from "Nathaniel". He is another employee for Flowers. Nathaniel told me the owner, Hur Guler was not available, but they were very sorry for the inconvenience. He offered excuses for the delay/mistake, and offered an upgrade and apology note with a guarantee delivery for Friday, 5/14. I inquired which flower company he was going to use and on 5/14 verified this with the actual florist. "Flowers" of Cambridge finally came through and placed the order for delivery. I did not use this company because of price, I used them because they advertise "FTDfloristsonline". This company has issues and will never receive another dime of my hard earned money. Google a florist in the area to which you want delivery and use them direct.

    1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.