The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
DriveTimelies to customers and takes advantage of people needing second chance financing

I had purchased a car from Drivetime in April 2008 and made every payment on time, and of $202.02 bi-weekly because of my bad credit! In June 2009 I called and spoke with Drivetime's finance company-DT Credit Corporation to notify them I had been laid off and was looking for work. I should have know from that moment on this would be an awful experience! The Manager said that because my account was in good standing and I had always paid on time, she could not help me.

2 weeks after that I found work and by this time DT Credit Corporation Collection Representatives were calling. Eventhough I was out of work for only 3 weeks I got majorly behind on all of my bills. Also, my husband quit recieving commission so we lost most of our household income for our family of 5. From June to August 2009 I would recieve 2 phone calls a day and so does my husband from there collection reps threating me with repocession and talking to me like I was a dog, like that kind of behavior will make me pull money out of my wallet that I dont have.

Between my husband and myself DT Credit Corp. Collection Reps call us 4 times a day! Once to me and my husband around 9am when they first open and then they call us both again around 5pm before they go home, like in between that time I've managed to come up with an extra $1500?? Thats harrassment!

I went to the dealership and decided I could not afford the car and I would return it, despite the reprocussions of having a voulentary repocession on my credit-my 3 boys eating was more important. The Manager at the dealership said there was no one there that could help me and that they just sale cars here. It was funny because this same Manager was the guy who was so nice, helpful and kind when I went into there dealership 1 year ago and bought the car, just like a sucker! He gave me the phone number to collections, which I called and worked out a payment arrangement with a Collections Manager. If I made a $202.02 payment in good faith, she would defer my 2 months past due (in other words give me a payment extension to make me current where the 2 months past due would be added to the end of my loan with them) I had to waid until that Friday when i got paid and I called in to make the payment and a different Manager told me that because of the ways there billing periods worked that I needed to hold off on making my payment that day, but to call back the very next day to make the payment, that way I would qualify for the payment extension and it would give me an extra week to make my next payment and that she would note on my account to wave the $10 or so they charge to do a check by phone. The very next day at 11 am I called in to the same Manager who was off that day, but the guy who answered said that he couldnt wave the check by phone fee, so I was upset, but since I wanted the extension so badly I went ahead and bit the check by phone fee and made an extra $25 to my standard payment making it a total of $140.00 or something like that. He went over all the payment extension information and got my fax number and email to send the papers to sign and fax back.

4 days went by when the guy called me back and told me he was sorry but the Manger who promised the payment extension made a mistake and that because I had not made 6 payments within a 90day period I was not elidgable for the payment extension. Which remember, in June when I was first laid off I knew I would have problems with the car payment and I asked them to help me which they refused to do and keep in mind I paid the last 1 1/2 yrs on time without any problems! I was furious, because by this time I was $800 past due and with all the utility bills, other car payments, healthcare expenses for 5 un-insured people, and food for 5 there was no way I could catch that up and pay my regular monthly payments of $404.04!!

The other day the collections people called my cell phone, which I had left with my 10 yr old son while I went to the hospital with my other child and the collections rep thought she was talking to me and cussed out my son and also said he was lying. This rep used the F--- word!

I had fraud on my checking account which made my checking account overdrawn and I bounced a check because Wachovia was investigating the transactions so they called my work and threatened me over $87.00. Over the last 4 months I talk to atleast 2 reps everyday who either agree with me after reviewing the notes on the account and they apologize, or they continue to lie to me over and over. They cuss, they yell, they are just awful! Sad thing is I also have a car with Americredit and all I did was call 1 time and ask and they helped! With Drivetime it is like pulling teeth! I dont avoid there calls either! If I miss there call and they get voicemail, I dial them right back and tell them I am sorry but Im at work. I keep in constant communication with them and even have made all my payments the last month in a half, so its not like I am dodging them! And all these promises of extensions and help have been thouraly noted on my account information so its not like my word vs. theres, they just flat out lie and then say they are sorry there is nothing they can do, "When can you make your next payment", and every day I have to tell both reps that call me that I get paid on the 1st and the 15th, my paydays do not change so quit asking! I take about 45 minutes of my work time to talk to them and also even went to the Emergency Room because after the rep talked to me harshly and cussed and threatned me for 20 minutes, I had an terrible anxiety attack and passed out from the stress of it all! I know its not worth it, and you would laugh when I tell you I really dont need the car, I have 2 that are paid for that just sit in my drive way, but because they did sell me a wonderful, dependable car I do want to try and work with them to keep it so I have something reliable to drive my 3 children to and from school in! I am sure DT Credit Corp. is suffering along with all of America during these hard economic times, but come on...when your willing to pay and you just need a little help getting back on your feet a company needs to be able to work with you, otherwise they will end up just loosing money if they repo it and it just gets sold in an actution.

I am now $1500.00 past due and have been making my payments of $202.02 on Aug 1, Aug. 30 and Sept. 15 and they still have me as 59 days past due and have now referred me to a repo man. I have called and talked to manager after manager and went up to the dealership and emailed the corporate office 3 times to get some help. I am not asking to skimp out on my financial obligations, just to move my past due amout to the end of my loan. I had all the nessisary paper work to prove I was laid off and that now I make 1`/2 of what I use to make, my husbands pay was cut with him now not getting commision, and my X husband quit paying child support. I have robbed peter to pay paul and now paul is broke! I have downsized and pawned valuables in my house just to be able to put food on the table. At this point since Drivetime refuses to work with there customers they can come get the car!

Responses

  • Th
    The little people won Oct 21, 2009

    I understand how u feel as I was a a FORMER DT customer. This is what u need to do. Contact your states Attorney General. File a complaint and tell them everything they did. The attorney general will send them the notice and they have to respond to it. This will stop the harrassing phone calls to friends and family as this is against the law and bad business. Not to mention all the rudeness and foul mouths they all have down at DT. Tell the AG everything. The file another complaint with the FTC. They have specific rules and regulations regarding debt collections and telemarketing, the whole bit. If any one of those rules are violated they company is in violation. This wlll also stop the phone calls. Good luck and remember we do have people out there to help us...we just need to know where and how to find them.

    0 Votes
  • Td
    TDA1909 May 15, 2010

    Wow! all these stories sound just like mine, i was actually told that me being a 42 year old man and cant afford his truck payment must be an embarrassment to my family. I hung up on them, , , the next day they called my father and said i have disappeared and they couldn't get in touch with me, , wow if you answer the phone they talk to you like you have stolen the car, if you avoid the calls they will contact everyone on your contact information. Oh did i mention i am only 23 days past due, i was laid off and doubled my payment last month to help get caught up, they don't care.

    0 Votes
  • sgfsfsdf Jul 11, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    TO ALL OF YOU (tYRA, TDA1909, AND The little people won),

    The contract that you signed states "make payment $____ on _____, or we will repo the car. What isn't clear about this? It seems to make perfect sense to me. Am I missing out on something?

    @Tyra
    Listen, you seem like a good person, but bad things happen to good people. You are not the only person to lose their job, miss a payment, and deal with collections.

    @Little people won
    Hey, the Attorney General won't do [censor] w/out proof. Some guy recently settled with a debt company for harassment. He had tons of voice mails, phone records, and tapes. I doubt customers of DriveTime care enough to work this hard. Come on, they ended up purchasing from DT because they didn't care enough to pay their bills in the past.

    Discussing this is almost pointless. I'm open for rebuttals.

    -1 Votes
  • Th
    Things change Aug 24, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hey sgfsfsdf, don't be an [censor]. Bad things do happen to good people. The problem is, that greedy [censor] companies like DT have no common sense or compassion. People work hard for what they have, and when hard times fall companies like DT need to understand that harassing phone calls and threats do not help matters in any way. I understand that in todays business everything is run by computer, and that companies have lost the ability to think for themselves. That they must abide by what some machine is telling them other than using common sense. If it were the case that people instead of computers were making decessions, and that a person actually looked at a customers history with the company and that customer had been in good standing until tragedy struck the compassionate thing to do is work with the customer and set up an arrangement they can afford, otherwise your pissing in the wind. That is only common sense. It is a shame that I had to explain what compassion and common sense means, and how it works, get off your computer and go make some friends.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions