SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Dollar Generalwrongful termination

1
R Review updated:

Hello my name is rashekia cross. I am a former dollar general employee @ store #1350 in fla. I strongly believe that I was wrongfully terminated over a customer's check not clearing the bank for insufficent funds. I, as a cashier, made a mistake in pushing the cash tender button instead of the check button. The amount of the check was $332.10. After making this mistake I immediately notified my assistant manager (Toni robinson) about the error. She came over and took a look @ the check and nonchanlty blew it off. Now, ms. Robinson has been a dg employee for at least 2 years now. Maybe an asst. Manager for a yr, she should have known proper procedure. It is funny, I now know that after my dismissal of the company that she should have did a transaction void and had me re-rung the items. Also, more importantly she didn't receive a write up thus making it her final write up. But I was written up and terminated. I need to be the asst. Manager and she needs to be demoted back down to a cashier. How does that sound? So, in the words of a infamous (Tony) to another toni - "every dog has their day" - scarface!!! Thanks for hearing my side of the real story. !!!

Responses

  • C
      Mar 29, 2008

    I was hired by Dollar General in November 07' to take over the running of their Platteville Location. I had very little training before being left on my own with a store that had only 4 other employees besides myself.
    During that time I found out the keys were being left outside the Coke machine for the other girls to open the next day. Upon my taking over the store and finding this out I had tried contacting my Dm about this with no response back. 10 days after I had taken over the store and worked approximately 72 hours the second week I was there, there was money missing from the safe. 2 days later there was more, a whole deposit. I reported everything to my DM based on my past experience in dealing with missing money, and awaited her guidance in what to do next.
    At this time my assistant manager who was only there for 9 days quits, and my 1st lead decides she will not be blamed for this quits on me. Leaving me SO shorthanded I practically slept at the store. I had to OPEN AND close the store each day while STILL getting reports done, checking in vendors, and organizing the store.
    I had to wait an additional 30 days (through the holidays) working 58-70 hours each week and only being paid for 40 hours each week before I was approached by another DM. He asked me questions about other goings on in the store and then the missing money, then said he has to ask me for my keys. IT'S POLICY he states. If and when we call you back it would be with back pay. I said ok.
    I waited from January 19th to March 21st to find out what was going on, and when I would be coming back. I signed over my bank account records, and credit card statements to them was interviewed by the police and still had not heard anything.
    I up-rooted my life in Chicago, and quit my 10.50 an hour job to come out here to take over THIS job.
    Then I get a phone call from my DM stating yah, we are not going to take you back. I said I don't understand...I didn't do anything wrong here, and she said well that is our decision.
    Reason...Violation of Company Policy and MissAppropriation of FUNDS! I asked her was there something that they found that states I stole the money? She said no, but we could not find out who did steal the money, so it then falls on the Store Managers shoulders.
    I AM the one who NOTIFIED THEM I wanted the store locks and safe codes changed, and THEY never responded to my calls and THIS IS How I am PAID for my concern???
    I have been a manager for close to 8 years and never in my life have I come across a store/DM with complete and utter lack of concern for store protection! They would more likely blame the least likely victim in this than hold the TRUE person responsible! I had complete faith in the system here and it has completed disappointed me to the point I am BOILING UP with ANGER about the whole situation! My Integrity has NEVER been in question in all my life as a Manager or even a simple employee in any corporation I have ever worked!

    +2 Votes
  • J
      Apr 28, 2008

    To Whom it May Concern

    My name is Jamie Carrier i was the Asst. Manager at the local Dollar General. Another Co-worker and i were moving the merchandise off the floor so the floors could be striped and waxed when Sonya Gillispe came into the store and ask one of the other employes where i was he told her, she proceeded to the back of the store where i was and began screaming and cussing at me, at this point i ask her to leave the store she refused so i followed her to the door she walked out and i held the door where she could not come back into the store. Then she called one of the officers here in town on his cell phone not dispatch. The officer came to the store took my statement, during this time i called my manager she was of course no where to be found when i finally reached her she said and i quote "There was nothing else that i could do that i had followed proceedure." Then later that night before the other employee and i closed the store Sonya called a number of times threating me and the other employee. I then called Mandy and told her that i thought she need to get to the store in case of another insident. Then later the same night Mandy called the officer that took my statement and talked with him he told her it was a he said she said type of thing. The following days Sonya drove by the store called the store called me ugly names and a few other chose words and would hang up. Then Mandy called the DM which is Ruth Kepkha originally she was supposed to come to the store and investigate Mandy but insteed she was there to investigate me during all of this Mandy had been told by Ruth not to speak to Sonya in any matter but she did and told Sonya to get written statements from the people that were with her and they were not even in the store. My co-workers also wrote statements about what had happened it seems to me that Ruth and Mandy did not even take any of that into concederation. I was at work and closing about a week later Ruth called me and informed me that i was suspended until the investigation was completed so i gave Mandy the keys. On my way out the door Mandy had called the Police on me for no reason. I did nothing other than remove a problem from the store and i feel that i was treated unfairly..And further more it wasnt a week before this occurence that Ruth ask me if i wanted a managment position. I am going to however give dollar general the chance to redeem themselves. Because Mandy and Ruth are the ones that need to be investigated Mandy treats the other employees very unfair she degrades them in front of customers and the customers on several occations have ask me what happend they thought that i was the manager because i was there more than Mandy was she left me there for an entire week by myself and got paid for the week and she maybe worked 15 hours and got paid for a full week. I would greatfully appreciate your responce on this matter if not i will go higher.

    Thank you

    0 Votes
  • S
      May 01, 2008

    Thats dg for you. what you did wrong was piss off the wrong person. all dms have a god complex and if you disagree with them on ANYTHING you are treated like garbage so you will quit and if you dont quit they WILL manufacture a reason to fire you, then replace you with somebody new and start the whole act over again with them.

    0 Votes
  • S
      May 01, 2008

    GIVING DOLLAR GENERAL ANOTHER CHANCE IS A WASTE OF YOUR VALUBLE TIME #1 YOU WERE TREATED BY YOUR SUPPERVISERS THE SAME WAY THEY WERE TREATED BY THEIRS. #2 GO FOR A JOB INTERVIEW FOR ANY OTHER RETAILER AND WATCH THEIR REACTION WHEN YOU TELL THEM YOUR PREVIOUS EXPERIANCE IS WITH DOLLAR GENERAL. ALL OTHER RETAIL COMPANY KNOW WHAT TYPE OF COMPANY DOLLAR GENERAL IS AND THEY FRANKLY DO NOT WANT ANY EMPLOYEE THAT HAS EVER WORKED THERE.

    +1 Votes
  • T
      Jul 24, 2008

    I WORK WITH DOLLAR GENRAL IN PEMBROKE YEAR PF 2007 AS LEAD CLERK I LOVE MY JOB ON MY MISTAKE HANDED A CASHIER MY KEY LOST MY JOB AND THE MANAGER THE NOW IS DOING THE SAME THING I KNOW IT TO BE TRUE.

    0 Votes
  • S
      Aug 19, 2008

    I HAVE BEEN WORKING FOR DOLLAR GENERAL FOR 2MONTHS I PUT ON A HAPPY FACE I AM YOUNG 28 YEARS OF AGE IN MY HOME TOWN I HAVE BEEN FOR 22 YEARS PEOPLE LIKE A HAPPY FACE. I HAVE WORKED HARD MYSELF AND TWO ITHERS HAVE HAD STOCK OUT WITH IN1 DAY AND A HALF EVERY THINGS WAS GOING GOOD. BUT SOMEONE STARTED USEING MY NUMBERS TO DO PRICE CHECKS REMIND YOU THIS LADY HAS FELL 3 TIMES IN THIS STORE AND HAS RESEVED COMP. FOR THIS. ANYWAY SHE DID THIS AND 3 TIMES I HAVE BEEN SHORT WHILE WORKING WITH HER. LAST NIGHT WHEN I GOT BACK FROM A HALF AN HOUR BRAKE MY REGISTER WAS LOCKED WERE THE MANAGER HAD TO UNLOCK MY REGISTER TO GET IN THIS EMPL. HAD USED MY REGISTER TO DO PRICE CHECKS I AM VERY, VERY, ANGUERY AND MAD ABOUT THE WHOLE THING !!! YOUNGSVILLE NORTH CAROLINA

    0 Votes
  • R
      Aug 26, 2008

    WHAT IN THE HELL IS WRONG WITH DOLLAR GENERAL? DOES ANY INTELLIGIENT, SMART, WISE AND OPEN-MINDED PERSON RECOGNIZE AND REALIZE THAT THESE TRAGIC AND UNFORTUNATE SITUATIONS NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED. PLEASE THIS HAS TO STOP!!! FROM REGIONAL MANAGERS TO ASSISTANT MANAGERS AND ALL IN BETWEEN, I AM BEGINNING TO THINK THIS A CONSPIRACY. ARE WE LIVING IN THE TWILIGHT ZONE? BOTTOM LINE: WHAT'S RIGHT IS RIGHT AND WRONG IS WRONG? WE HAVE MANAGERS STEALING MONEY FROM THE SAFE, PETTY CASH AND FROM AN EMPLOYEES CASH REGISTER WHILE THAT EMPLOYEE GOES ON A BREAK OR TO THE RESTROOM. PLEASE, NOW IS THAT FAIR, TRUE RIGHT AND JUST. MR. WILLIAM RICK DRELING, WHICH IS THE CEO OF DOLLAR GENERAL CORPORATION NEEDS TO BE AWARE OFALL OF THESE IMPORTANT MATTERS. WHAT TYPE OF PEOPLE IS HE ENTRUSTING TO REPRESENT FOR HIS COMPANY? THANK YOU VERY MUCH FOR YOUR TIME!!

    0 Votes
  • R
      Aug 26, 2008

    RUTH AND MANDY SOUND LIKE THEY ARE FAIRWEATHER FRIENDS. DOLLAR GENERAL'S CEO, MR. RICK DREILING NEEDS TO BE AWARE OF THIS MATTER. PLEASE CONTINUE TO LOOK FURTHER IINTO THIS MATTER.

    0 Votes
  • R
      Aug 28, 2008

    Dollar General Complaints - WRONGFUL TERMINATION
    Review all Dollar General complaints
    Dollar General
    Posted: 2008-08-26 by RASHEKIA R. Y. CROSS [send email]
    WRONGFUL TERMINATION

    Complaint Rating:
    Company information:
    DOLLAR GENERAL
    894 N. NOVA RD
    Daytona Beach, Florida
    United States
    Phone: [protected]

    HELLO MY NAME IS RASHEKIA CROSS. I AM A FORMER DOLLAR GENERAL EMPLOYEE @ STORE #1350 IN FLA. I STRONGLY BELIEVE THAT I WAS WRONGFULLY TERMINATED OVER A CUSTOMER'S CHECK NOT CLEARING THE BANK FOR INSUFFICENT FUNDS. I, AS A CASHIER, MADE A MISTAKE IN PUSHING THE CASH TENDER BUTTON INSTEAD OF THE CHECK BUTTON. THE AMOUNT OF THE CHECK WAS $332.10. AFTER MAKING THIS MISTAKE I IMMEDIATELY NOTIFIED MY ASSISTANT MANAGER (TONI ROBINSON) ABOUT THE ERROR. SHE CAME OVER AND TOOK A LOOK @ THE CHECK AND NONCHANLTY BLEW IT OFF. NOW, MS. ROBINSON HAS BEEN A DG EMPLOYEE FOR AT LEAST 2 YEARS NOW. MAYBE AN ASST. MANAGER FOR A YR, SHE SHOULD HAVE KNOWN PROPER PROCEDURE. IT IS FUNNY, I NOW KNOW THAT AFTER MY DISMISSAL OF THE COMPANY THAT SHE SHOULD HAVE DID A TRANSACTION VOID AND HAD ME RE-RUNG THE ITEMS. ALSO, MORE IMPORTANTLY SHE DIDN'T RECEIVE A WRITE UP THUS MAKING IT HER FINAL WRITE UP. BUT I WAS WRITTEN UP AND TERMINATED. I NEED TO BE THE ASST. MANAGER AND SHE NEEDS TO BE DEMOTED BACK DOWN TO A CASHIER. HOW DOES THAT SOUND? SO, IN THE WORDS OF A INFAMOUS (TONY) TO ANOTHER TONI- "EVERY DOG HAS THEIR DAY"- SCARFACE!!! THANKS FOR HEARING MY SIDE OF THE REAL STORY.!!!
    Comments United States Other
    Share with others:
    Was the above complaint useful to you?
    More Dollar General complaints

    Dollar General - Bad Managment
    Dollar General - Bad management!
    Dollar General - Wrongful Termination
    Dollar General - manager
    Dollar General - Scamed and cheated!
    Dollar General - Wrongful Termination





    Post your Comment
    Please check text spelling before submitting comment

    0 Votes
  • D
      Sep 12, 2008

    I am a manager, this is common, it has happened alot, i dont think you should have got terminated for this.

    0 Votes
  • L
      Sep 18, 2008

    I was employed by Dollar General for 16 months. The DM and her sidekick came in one day and accused me of modifying time to cheat employees out of time and also using the assistant's password in an effort to blame her. The irony of this whole thing is that no one knows any other person's password. I admitted that I did adjust payroll on a weekly basis as I never was sure who was going to come to work; that employees were shown thee hours before submitting; that I would have no reason to use any other person password. They also accused my of not working the hours I had discussed as the schedule did not show this. Sales were up, thefts were down; the store never looked better; all moves were done. Who did they think did this. I worked on numerous occassions up to 72 hours a week, not to mention missing family events. Nothing was investigated; I was denied unemployment; I was cheated out of my vacation. When I did ask for vacation time the DM told me there was no one to cover. Dollar General uses you until you have nothing else to give and then you discarded with the trash!

    +3 Votes
  • S
      Sep 18, 2008

    Is there anyother managers, asst. manager who would like to file a class action suit against Dollar General? Does anyone have an attorney we could all contact?

    +1 Votes
  • M
      Oct 18, 2008

    I was told by my dm that I was fired due to payroll edits, this investigation had been going on for 3 months, all employees gave a written statement that they had not been cheated out of any pay or time.This did not matter they said because there time was changed. No one lost and no one gain any thing by this time change. I have been with the company for 9 yrs. and have always did payroll the same and never has corporate or the dm talked to me about it and said I WAS DOING SOMETHING WRONG. In being fired I lost my 3 weeks vac. and a bonus of 2500.00 I do not feel what they did was right. I have never even been wrote up in all the yrs.If I had made a person lose pay because of these time edits or cheated the company out of money then I could understand why the fired me but I feel I should have been written up not terminated

    +2 Votes
  • C
      Nov 29, 2008

    That is crazy that, that happened if there was not a problem before and you had been going by the same process for over nine years and then all of a sudden this happened something must of been changed. Either one of the other managers talked to the dm or somebody told about a problem, but regardless this is unfair and gives you grounds to sue for wrongful termination and solve it there. It had happened to someone I knew and the took it to court and they won the case.

    +1 Votes
  • S
      Feb 19, 2009

    I would like to be involved in a lawsuit as I too was wrongly terminated

    +2 Votes
  • 1
      Feb 19, 2009

    Family Dollar, Dollar General, different names, same story. Believe me, in the long run, you will be much better off not working for these unethical people. Take a little time for yourself, rest, then pick yourself up and go work in another line. These stores aren't worth it.
    (and WM is no better.)

    0 Votes
  • C
      Mar 17, 2009

    i also was used by dollar general. i gave all i could to them and they gave me nothing.i was set up even had proof i went over the district manager's head.
    they accused me of things i didn't do which i proved i didn't . whats important
    is this is a small town where i live people around know me.this is only a small amount of what i could tell you. about tis company.you know i loved my
    job there i would of stayed.i have been in retail for 30+years i put in for manage
    position twice you know what they said(quote, you havn't enough training
    i laughed and went on still working hoping some day could be manager but it
    never happens.well like i saidthis only a small amount of things that happen to me.it's not the company its some of the people who work for them.

    0 Votes
  • K
      May 22, 2009

    oh yeah seems to happen to at least one to two stores in ever district. i transferred to a store in iowa after working for the company for three years well in this certain store they had been through four managers before me i was starting to be blamed for things that i shouldn't have been blamed for i was there nine months and in those nine months i was suspended twice and then terminated sales were up inventory was looking wonderful and i got them store model then i was out the door

    0 Votes
  • M
      May 23, 2009

    Dollar General is a horrible place to work. My boss had surgery, and with no management training I was expected to run the store during the busy Christmas season with only five part-time employees. Before my boss got back, some money went missing. Two employees were terminated, basically because one person lied to get herself promoted. Her story was never checked out. I was kept on, being told I did a good job, however, I gave my notice. My last week, I decided to use some of my vacationt time, and my district manager called. He said technically I was still under investigation! Needless to say, I didn't get my vacation pay, and was told that I was terminated AFTER I quit. I was refused unemployment as well. I wish people would boycott that store based on unethical practices with employees.

    0 Votes
  • M
      May 23, 2009

    She was not the boss, Jason. She was a cashier. I stayed on after the other two were fired. One of them was a keyholder below me. Please read and comprehend the entire paragraph before commenting.

    0 Votes
  • M
      May 23, 2009

    Jason, please learn to punctuate, use proper English, and capitalize. I'm beginning to understand why no one takes you seriously, because you are obviously uneducated and no not about that which you speak.

    0 Votes
  • L
      Oct 26, 2009

    I feel ya, I worked at store 3728 in Orlando florida as a lead sales associate. The manager and district manager saw how hard I worked so guess what happened. They started never coming in. The store manager ended up stealing ten grand from the store. So a new store manager comes in and I tell her and the district manager about all the theft that is being caused by the employees and they do nothing about it. Then the I get terminated for a 1.12 cent overage, can you believe that. I tried disputing it and they said that the termination was supported by write ups I never saw. I just thought it was ridiculous that I worked so hard and was very honest with them that they let me go and kept the theives and the people who never came to work in uniform. And the district manager made discriminate remarks to me so when I went above him and complained about the dm (Doug Benjamin) I was terminated for the shortage a few days later. Funny

    0 Votes
  • D
      Feb 20, 2010

    RASHEKIA, FILE A COMPLAINT WITH THE HUMAN RIGHTS COMMISSION OR THE EQUAL EMPLOYMENT OPPORTUNITY COMMISSION - IT'S FREE.

    +1 Votes
  • D
      Feb 20, 2010

    FILE A COMPLAINT WITH THE HUMAN RIGHTS COMMISSION AND/OR THE EQUAL EMPLOYMENT OPPORTUNITY COMMISSION - IT'S FREE.

    0 Votes
  • R
      Jun 09, 2010

    I also use to be a store manager for dollar general and was terminated for wage and hour violations after putting in for a transfer out of my DM's district and calling his boss due to the fact that he was very rude to me and hung up on me then when he returned from vacation and I was already working in another store he found three different things to investigate before he came up with the wage an hour violation. As the store manager I worked an average of 55 hours a week and 6 days a week, I was never questioned about anything until he got mad and forced people to write statements against me so they could keep their jobs. I feel that dollar general should be sued not only for these reasons but also a manager is suppose to do managerial work not all the physical labor and everything else we do that is why we are managers.

    0 Votes
  • M
      Nov 26, 2010

    Yea she should have been fired not you. I'man asst. Manager and I know you have to run the ck through. I've had it happen but the ck cleared thank goodness for the employees sake. She didn't call me or tell anyone.

    0 Votes
  • L
      Oct 24, 2011

    I was wronfully terminated. since then i have been on all boards giving advice to people then i decided something has to be done to make this company do right by its customer and employees. the way i see it, dollar general doesnt want to hear complaints from either side, that means something is wrong in thier company, . so i have found a lawyer that is willing to do a fari labor standards act suit. this is a class action fo store managers. wait i am not finished, i am going to try to bring out the other assocaites. and what they do to you. i have a reporter who wants to hear from all dg employees. if you are interested in either one of these. email me. but first i want to say, you have to really mean that you want this. some people can complain and get it off thier chest, and they are done. but there are people like me that is not going to give up. [protected]@embarqmail.com

    0 Votes
  • S
      Jun 20, 2019

    @lil ms robinhood I was a assistant manager for a year had 40 hrs vac time ... my grandmother was on her last days in hospice I told my manager I need to take few days off which she said no problem then when I told her the days. She said sorry but you can’t take those days well I told her and the dm I was going to Maryland to say goodbye to my grandma and I was told to get a letter from hospice which I did . My store manager text me few days later asking how I was and I explained what was going on then the next day I text her to let her know when I would. Be back never heard anything text again she didn’t respond so I called the store and found out I was terminated wtf. Terminated for going and saying goodbye to my dying grandma.. not only that never got lunches but when she did payroll she would put. That. We took lunches . I would love to get in on any of these class action suits . My name is Kelli and email Is [protected]@gmail Thank you so much

    0 Votes
  • J
      Jan 05, 2020

    @lil ms robinhood Your email says it’s protected please contact me I need help my wife is in need of help because there are some very sketchy and unethical things going on at her store that happened while she was on maternity leave and it’s looking like they are trying to blame her even though we have video evidence of the crimes

    0 Votes
  • J
      Jan 05, 2020

    @JesseRackley My email is [protected]@gmail.com please contact me we have to expose this misconduct

    0 Votes
  • J
      Jan 05, 2020

    @JesseRackley j rack 1246

    0 Votes
  • J
      Jan 05, 2020

    @Supermom1488 j rack 1246 at gmail dot com

    0 Votes
  • J
      Jan 05, 2020

    @lil ms robinhood Please contact me j rack 1246 at gmail dot com or write you email like this

    0 Votes
  • E
      Jun 22, 2012

    I was wrongfully terminated also. I made more money than the current DM wanted to pay. He is now trying to hire someone in at $7000 less a year than I was making. I would love to get in on this class action suit.
    Eileen
    my email is [protected]@sbcglobal.net

    0 Votes
  • L
      Jan 09, 2013

    Dollar General is a horrible store to work for. I have only been working there for a month and have already put in my 2 week notice.

    0 Votes
  • D
      Jul 22, 2016

    I was hired as a cashier back in 2012, and within 6 months I had been promoted three times. I became the store manager, and took on the role guns a blazin! I devoted more than 90 hours a week and got paid for 40. I suppose this is the risk you accept when you become salary. I had to endure the first few weeks as store manager with a very unruly employee. He walked away from his open drawer several times, sold merchandise out the door after close, and when the sexual comments did not stop I had to terminate his employment. A week went by and I got an unexpected visit from our DM. He took me into my office, handed me a piece of paper, and proceeded to ask me to write a statement of why I broke company policy a month earlier. When I looked at him with a puzzling look, he proceeded to tell me that I had performed an act to violate company policy. The incident that he was speaking of was this. A month earlier I got an emergency phone call from my oldest son. He is epileptic, and was on the side of the road and needed help. So I immediately called every keyholder we had to come to relieve me, because-even though I should have a keyholder scheduled-Dollar General would limit me hours to distribute. As usual, no one would answer my call. An employee that was there had been a former keyholder, and my situation was urgent. I left the store, got to my son, put him in an ambulance, and called my sister to meet him at the hospital for me. Because I had no choice but to get back to the store, and was gone a total of 20 minutes. Long story short, the disgrundled employee that I had let go-was there. Since I let him go he retaliated, and had me fired. We went to court after that, and I won on the wrongful termination. Now, I have an amazing group at the DG close to my new home-and I would really like to work there, but I have no idea how to contact corporate to see if I am even rehirable.

    0 Votes

Post your comment