SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Credit One Bankfraudulent billing practices!

1
D Review updated:

This company is another one of those credit card companies that thinks that they can squeeze blood from a turnip. We have been trying to pay these people every single month and calling them and working with them and still they charge our credit card fees that surpass the amount of money that we pay.

This creates a never-ending debt that can never be repaid that they hope to be charging us for forever. They refuse to work with us and they simply demand money that we just don't have. We are sorry that we got into debt, but we are like a lot of people who did that.

We don't have any active credit accounts anymore and we are paying off $7,500 in debt at the rate of $293 per month. At that rate, the debt will be paid in a little over two years. I think that we are working as hard as we possibly can to get out of debt, but this company, unlike the other 14 creditors on our debt management plan, refuses to accept payments, keeps the size of the debt going up and plans on taking the next step of suing us.

Thing is, we beg food from the church every month now and there is nothing for them to get from suing us. No judge on the planet will force us to beg more food from the church every month and that is what these people think they are going to get one to do. Good luck with that, Credit One.

  • Updated by Psalm 91-BIBLE · Oct 12, 2018

    I cannot be more upset with this credit card company. One star is too much! This company should not exist because of how they ROB my money. God is watching you 24/7 and one day all the lies will come to light.

  • Updated by Psalm 91-BIBLE · Oct 12, 2018

    If I never had a situation in which I need to accept any credit card offer, I would had never accept this credit card company. My money keeps disappearing, funds takes 7-10 days to show up in my account. Even my $0.70 disappear from night to morning. Please stop abusing my money.

Responses

  • Ji
    Jim Edward May 17, 2007

    Relax Deborah, they won't be anywhere near suing you until you actually start hearing from a collection agency or attorney doing physical business in your own home state. And even if they do eventually sue you, that is simply a judgment, they still have to collect it, and in your case, sounds like that would just mean more annoying phone calls. Just hang up on them and don't take it so personal. Or act like you don't understand their english when they call you, I have had fun with that. You call America? Hello? I sorry, I do not understand. Huh? What?

    0 Votes
  • Mm
    mmadrid2324 Oct 30, 2018

    @Jim Edward I had to call them and pretend that I would pay the $10 convenience fee to pay over the phone. Once I had a live person on the phone I told them that I would not pay the $10 because their system is down and I have been trying to make a payment for a week. I was able to make a payment for free as a "one time courtesy" LOL! Now I'll have to keep an eye out on my next statement to make sure they didn't add $10 to my balance...what a scam this folks are!!

    1 Votes
  • Js
    js23 May 17, 2007

    How about just paying your bills. Yes they are charging fees. All credit card companies charge fees. You agreed to those fees when you accepted the card. Quit whining and pay the debt you owe.

    -21 Votes
  • Or
    originallegaleagle Jan 10, 2017

    @js23 Well js I HOPE CREDIT ONE GIVES YOU THAT RAISE NOW because you sound exactly like their CUSTOMER SERVICE REPS.

    6 Votes
  • Ga
    Gary Fletcher Dec 28, 2017

    @js23 You stupid sob. It's not about fee's in general. It's about crooked business practices. By the way, why are you sticking up for them? You are probably one of their shills. Go away [censor]!!

    5 Votes
  • Th
    Thomas Coulson Aug 18, 2018

    @js23 Who the F are you? Some filthy rich person I’m sure

    3 Votes
  • Ti
    Tim Bowers Dec 11, 2018

    @js23 Hey bone head when a bank charges U a fee in case U become disabled and Ur already disabled and retired and didnt authorize said payment maybe U shud shut the fuck up U russian troll

    -1 Votes
  • Se
    seyearbe Apr 16, 2019

    @js23 Why don't you mind your own business!!! Do you come on these forums just to tear people down because of your own insecurity? She is not questioning the debt, she is questioning their practices and by law we have the right to do that. So keep your unhelpful opinions to yourself!

    0 Votes
  • La
    L A Paulson May 24, 2007

    I came to this website seeking information via google on Credit One. I received an offer in the mail and wanted to make sure the bank is not some type of scam, so I am grateful for there being a communication board.

    While we ALL understand how important it is to pay our bills, simply put: life happens and in a heartbeat a job can be lost or a death of a spouse that supports the monthly needed income which can have detrimental effects on our budgets-- and then comes DEBT. People such as the person who tells you to pay your bills hasn't experienced that-- and let's hope that "what comes around goes around" will not come back to bite them in the butt! No matter the circumstance-- life happens, and we all are presented with challenges in life.

    Jim Edward's comments above are very much so accurate, so I hope you find some relief and comfort in all of that. If you ever find yourself in this situation where the debt has eventually gone to a collection agency-- they are more than likely to work out a promising repayment plan. If not, and circumstances begin to get out of control-- contact your local FDCPA attorney. They can usually be found on the web. :) CHIN UP!

    0 Votes
  • Ga
    Gary Fletcher Dec 28, 2017

    @L A Paulson They wouldn't compromise with you or give you the sweat off of their balls if you were dying of thirst.

    1 Votes
  • Th
    Thomas Coulson Aug 18, 2018

    @Gary Fletcher I just don’t want to pay my bill via phone as they charge $10.00. That may not seem like a lot, but my only income is Social Security & ten dollars to pay the bill is a lot for me. I tried 5 times to see up an account but have not been successful.

    2 Votes
  • Co
    Corlett F. Evans Aug 03, 2007

    Credit One Bank received my payment, cashed my check, then did not credit my account. I sent them a copy of the check, a bank statement from the bank, a copy of the bank manager's card and a letter. Then Credit One told me that another company had cashed the check. Because we are a law firm, our mail is picked up by a private company and delivered directly to the post office. I also use unwashable ink on my checks to prevent theft. I don't think so. It has been over a month and I am still being harassed by phone calls, up to four a day, by Credit One. It took 13 faxes to get a response from someone, and then they tell me that another company cashed the check. I find this highly implausible when my copy of the check still says Credit One Bank. I am still considering my next steps which include the Better Business Bureau, an investigative reporter and a possible lawsuit.

    5 Votes
  • Tz
    tzarius78 May 15, 2018

    @Corlett F. Evans Call FTC. The bbb has no power

    0 Votes
  • To
    Tony G Sep 12, 2007

    Look this is not a bank----this is a very high risk CC company------they charge you to even make a payment cause no "real" bank will work with them on setting up a no fee to them fix-----what you should do is apply for a loan thru a bank or simply stop paying them and let the court set up payments for you and the judge can impose a "no fee" and freeze the amount owed where all the money you send in via court order will be applied as princible and no interest will be charged----people please read the small print when dealing with these types of high risk companies----they in the bussiness to make money off of people that have had problems with thier credit in the past----and to the smart guy that posted "just pay your bills" ---everyone including you sir has or will have problems sometime in thier lifes with paying bills----so I hope you get thru this and in the future deal with "real banks" only when you need to get a credit card not these very high risk ones. Thank you

    0 Votes
  • Or
    originallegaleagle Jan 10, 2017

    @Tony G But Tony Credit One Card Services is owned by
    Credit One Bank, National Association and they are FDIC certified #25620
    and regulated by the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency
    Charter Class-National

    -1 Votes
  • Mr
    mrsbuttonpusher Apr 21, 2017

    @Tony G First of all most people don't know that Credit One Bank is not a "real" bank. Especially if you are very young and don't have any experience with the reputations of credit card companies out there.
    My daughter paid off a jewelry store account and a few weeks later got a pre-approved platinum visa card offer in the mail from Credit One bank.
    Limit was 300$ after 75$ in fees she was left with 225$, which was fine with her since she was just looking to establish a credit history.
    Everything was good until she used the card for a relatives birthday party. It had been less than 30 days since she got her card in the mail and they were already calling her at least 8 times a day BEFORE a payment was even due.

    Beware this company somehow uses numbers that are in your area code to trick you into answering their call to demand a payment and threaten you with outrageous penalties if they don't get your payment within 24 hours.all BEFORE the payment due date!!
    Also making a payment is next to impossible online, even if you are successful in paying they use words like the funds won't be available for at least 11 days.
    She asked me for help to keep her account in good standing.
    So one time I loaned her a payment (only 25 $) and her balance was right around 200$
    and the next month her new balance was 300.$, even though she hadn't used it to charge anything.
    Fees added on for late payments even though payments were made 2 weeks prior to due date.
    How is this fair?
    But I do like your idea of letting a court set up payments so they can't keep you from paying off the balance.
    It's a shame consumers have to resort to that in order to get a fair chance.

    0 Votes
  • De
    Dee Rock Oct 05, 2007

    Avoid. Avoid. Avoid.

    4 Votes
  • Ma
    Marjorie S Oct 26, 2007

    I've had a card from them for awhile now and so far all seems well. But, I can't seem to get their website online. I've tried and tried and tried and googled and yahoo searched, but to no avail. It comes up that there isn't such a page. So, if anyone can send me the link I'd appreciate it. Thanks.

    1 Votes
  • Or
    originallegaleagle Jan 10, 2017

    @Marjorie S www.creditonebank.com

    -1 Votes
  • Ga
    Gary Fletcher Dec 28, 2017

    @originallegaleagle Presently, that site does not work

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    CHARLES SOWELL Oct 30, 2007

    You may not like the rules but you did agree to the terms and conditions of the credit card. If you did not read the terms and conditions before you got the card that is your fault. You need to take responsibility for your actions!!

    -1 Votes
  • Th
    Thomas Coulson Aug 18, 2018

    @CHARLES SOWELL Really? You sound like someone who voted for Trump

    0 Votes
  • Wi
    Wilson Yates Oct 31, 2007

    I came to this site because credit one bank sent me a letter
    saying I can settle my account, to send a certain amount of money.

    The thing is, I never had a Credit one bank account. I called and asked them why they sent me the bill. he confirmed my name and SS# and said some credit card #. I looked at my old credit card and the numbers didn't match, then I realized my credit card is Capital One Visa, not credit One bank. I asked the man on the other end if Capital One Visa and Credit One bank are the same and he said no. I said, Well then you made a mistake r someone committed fraud. He told me I still have to pay it unless I prove it is not me. I said, I have never had another credit card besides Capital One Visa, and a prepaid one.
    I am planning t pay off my Capital One visa, and if this was a letter from them, I would pay it... what gets me is he told me I have made a payment of $20. on the card on a certain date, and I for the life of me can't remember ever paying for something I don't have. Any advice on this one?

    0 Votes
  • Cd
    C. Diggs Mar 16, 2017

    @Wilson Yates I just got a court order to detest a bill from this company, even though I've never used their services.

    1 Votes
  • Br
    bree Oct 31, 2007

    They do not post payments on time. Online payments should not take over ten days. They also try to come up with lame excuses as to why it did not process. Funny all my other online payments went through just fine. I also have my online receipt of payment for proof. They are trying to be sneaky and charge you fraudulent late fees. They tried to charge me a 29.00 late fee. Little do they know not everybody was born yesterday. Total ### that take advantage of low income or bad credit citizens. The web site is so ridiculously slow on updating payments. (not surprising because of how sneaky they are. The only reason I got the card with a low limit was to build my credit back up. I am paying the balance and canceling my account. NEVER DO BUSINESS WITH NO-NAME CREDIT COMPANIES... VERY SHADY BLOODSUCKERS... THE BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU SHOULD SHUT THE COMPANY DOWN!!! ONLY IN AMERICA... GOTTA LOVE IT... CORPORATE PIGS!!!

    5 Votes
  • Or
    originallegaleagle Jan 10, 2017

    @bree Well file a complaint with the FDIC Credit One is a bank
    as a matter of fact a National Bank FDIC #25620
    It always helps when you know what you're talking about.
    Have a good one

    -1 Votes
  • Li
    lizbeth andrews Nov 13, 2007

    TO MR. JUST PAY YOUR BILLS WELL WE DID JUST THAT. PAID THE CARD OFF THEN HERE THEY PRESENTED FEES AND MORE FEES TO THE TUNE OF 139.00. THE CARD WAS PAID IN FULL. THEN THEY TOOK A PAYMENT FROM MY CHECKING ACCOUNT WITHOUT AUTHORIZATION. THE FEES WERE BOGUS THE COMPANY AND THINK TWICE BEFORE YOU DO BUSINESS WITH THEM EVER. I HAVE TO CLOSE MY CHECKING ACCOUNT BECAUSE IF THEY DID IT ONCE NO TELLING WHAT THEY WILL DO NEXT. CLEAN IT OUT! I AM ALSO FILING A COMPLAINT WITH THE BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU.

    1 Votes
  • Do
    Donna Heiss Jun 29, 2019

    @lizbeth andrews They did the same thing to me

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    JO JO AND FLUFFY Dec 04, 2007

    From my past legal experience, it is best to look online and get the name of the President or CEO of a corporation. Lets take Capital One Corporation, it is Richard D. Fairbanks, CEO in VA. If I experience a problem with my Capital One Credit Card, I contact Mr. Fairbanks' executive office and discuss the problem.

    Presidents and CEO's make decisions that other employees CANNOT make and they do something to solve your case.

    Have A Nice Day!!

    0 Votes
  • St
    STEPHANIE GOODBODY Dec 05, 2007

    I LOVE THE HIGH AMOUNT OF FEES THEY POST TO YOUR ACCOUNT EVERY MONTH. I HATE THE CARD AND I AM GOING TO GET IT PAYED OFF QUICKLY AND RIP UP THE CARD.

    -1 Votes
  • Jo
    JOHN JOHNSTON Dec 11, 2007

    I have a recording on my answering machine of a guy leaving a message and using the "N" word over and over again. Talking about i would be angry if someone took money out of my account like that. This recording will be going to the proper people, i do have his name because i called back and the stupid girl gave me his name. Then i recorded that conversation with him.

    2 Votes
  • Sa
    Savannah L Dec 13, 2007

    I have read some pretty bad remarks here and I am disappointed at some of the so called human beings leaving comments on this site. First, I am truly sorry for this person's situation and if you are begging for food why in the HELL are you paying a credit card anything? Stop, your credit is already trashed and your options are these.

    1. Spend your money on food, clothing and shelter for your family. Get back on your feet and in a year, two or three call these jerks and offer to settle. They will by then take 25 to 30 cents on the dollar or less.

    2. GO BANKRUPT, the laws are there for your protection and there is no shame in it, HELL Texaco even went Bankrupt one time. But stop talking to bill collectors period, it's useless!

    Remember, you are dealing with a subprime high interest rate predator, nothing more. They use to put people in Prison for doing exactly what they are doing and it was called Loan Sharking!
    As to these fools that say you owe the money and it's a question of morals that applys when equal morals are applied by both parties, here this is not the case.

    GOOD LUCK AND God Bless you!

    2 Votes
  • Un
    unhappy customer Dec 25, 2007

    Credit one is awful. Charging $5.95 to make a payment whether you use your banking account or debit card.

    1 Votes
  • Do
    Doug Dec 28, 2007

    I don't like the charge for online payment just like the person in the last post said. $5.95 for a online payment sucks.

    1 Votes
  • Ma
    Matthew Decker Jan 03, 2008

    I have been monitoring this and posts like this for some time since my disagreement began with Credit One. I have also posted reports on sites like /link removed/ From Deborah's post and the following comments:

    I believe in all that support the belief of Credit One's fraudulent billing, pyramiding late charges, and predatory lending practices. I have been with this bank well over 4 years. Like millions of Americans, I had slow credit and I submitted to an offer from this bank, as they prey people with slow, no, or bad credit simply because we're vulnerable. We felt left out in a nation and world that pushes the idea of credit upon everyone, and if you don't have it, you're nobody. I disagree. You don't need credit to survive. Break away from these people and YOU will have more power of your future, I guarantee it.

    My situation: I was just around a balance of $220 out of a $500 credit line by Credit One when I had problems financially and work. I did what I can to cover the necessities but a lot of my bills and credit cards got out of hand. I am a fighter and sucked it up, paying what I can and getting back to my feet. For my credit cards, I enrolled all of them in Consumer Education Services, Inc, a Care One Credit service for helping consolidate my credit cards and pay them off. CESI worked with me well and negotiated substantially lower interest rates, and set me up with a payment plan on my cards. Within a few months, I was on schedule and pretty much back on my feet. Every card accepted my proposal and worked with me no problem except Credit One. They refused every proposal CESI sent them and refused to work with me in helping to pay them off. I admitted I fell behind, had problems but was willing to settle and most of all PAY THEM. I just wanted to have them stop their charges so I can work on negating the principal. They refuse every time and there is a new charge on my card every other week. I pay them every month still, and yet they charge back more on my account than I'm paying them. It's called Pyramiding Charges, and it's against consumer rights according to the FDIC. Now I am in a situation where I am attending school, paying health insurance, working full time, paying a car & insurance along with several housing and utility bills. Not that I'm crying for help because I do what I have to do. Just Credit One's refusal to work with me, and still charge me ridiculous charges seems unfair. Yes, I accepted the card and agreed to the conditions, but why weren't charges such as a "closed account maintenance fee" in the Terms? You find it let me know. I will be writing my full story and follow up on this bank. Please email me for more details.

    To all those who simply say "pay your bills" and "it's your fault," I say you are ignorant. You are ignorant to post such a thing because you don't understand the situation, and your knowledge of it shows. This is obviously happening to more people than anyone can keep up with. Google "Credit One Bank Complaints" and see how many results you get. They have an "F" rating with the BBB and every other Consumer Complaints Board that looked at them. They are NOT a legit Bank, and the practices they use are not only fraudulent and predatory, but they're wrong. This company should not be in business. To simply say they can get away with it because it was in their "Terms & Disclosures" is wrong because A)They are not accurate, and B) They do not disclose changes in their polices as required by the consumer rights by the FDIC. They simply leave it open to "can change without notice." They use loopholes to jump through the system and that's how they can get away with it. Email me to challenge me on it, I not only welcome it, but encourage it. I did my research. They violate several rights on the FDIC. Check them out on this page: http://www.fdic.gov/consumers/consumer/rights/index.html.

    The only way, we as consumers (AKA: the powerless) can do anything is by petitioning to the government, and attacking them at a "customer service" level. Their refusal to follow up disputes, work with customers, work with agencies such as the Better Business Bureau, their call center agents' knowledge of the business, and their lack of customer commitment is the way, en masse we can effect them. On Credit One's website, their customer service motto states:

    "Our Customers
    We are proud of our accomplishments as a company, and perhaps just as important to us is the genuine concern and attention we strive to show towards every one of our customers. We are dedicated to serving the needs of our customers with superior customer service." -Credit One Bank

    Is it just me, or is there anyone else that not only disagrees with that statement, but has felt Credit One has not lived up to that statement in you dealing with them? I am in the process of creating a petition, and a beginning a report on all who have been affected by the wrongful business practices of this bank. They must not get away with these practices and prey on the hard-working consumers who just want a fair credit card company, and wish to not hurt their credit, but work past mistakes and be on the way to establishing good credit.

    It is hard enough to survive and make a living as a working-class citizen without companies like this taking waste money from you to feed their corporate CEOs and officials. Enough is enough. I ask all who have been affected by this bank to email me at [email protected] to share their story. With each series of complaints I will forward them to the FDIC, FTC, BBB, and other government agencies in charge of funding, insuring, and governing these corporations. The only way we can do anything is with everyone's help. Stop throwing your rent, food, clothes, gas, insurance, mortgage, utilities, and overtime pay to these greedy companies who are in business not to help you, I promise, but to harm you and take whatever they can from you before people start speaking up. It's NOT OK to just sit back and let them ruin your credit and take YOUR working dollars. Don't listen to people who tell you to do nothing. Don't be afraid of companies like this. Please email me and together we can work to alleviate one of these companies from crushing us with their fraudulent charges. Don't be taken advantage of. This is not a case of only a handful of people being robbed by this company, this is THOUSANDS of people. Read the reports online, I'm not making this up. If we expose this company for who they are and especially to the media, and once people know who they are, WE as consumers have the power to stop them, but only if you fight.

    I do thank you for reading this post and I thank everyone in advance for any support. Please, I do not wish to be emailed by people who will only say "just pay them" that's not what this is about. Keep your advice to yourself. If you tell people to "just pay your bills" you must not have it that hard, so how about sharing a little dough with the rest of us? Keep those things to yourself. Mistakes happen, accidents happen, and unfortunately people get in debt. You're not alone. But fessing up to those mistakes and fighting back can make a difference. This company cannot ignore everyone and together as consumers, we can make a difference.

    Please join in the new Members Against Predatory Lending & Extortions (MAPLE). I am asking for only those consumers who have been taken advantage or feel they have been taken advantage of by this Credit One Bank company. You're not alone .. help yourself, and help others now.

    Thanks for listening, please email me for any updates and questions on MAPLE.

    Matthew Decker.

    5 Votes
  • Or
    originallegaleagle Jan 10, 2017

    @Matthew Decker Matthew Credit One Card Services is owned by Credit One National Bank
    they are FDIC insured cert#25620 and the FDIC told you of the pryamid scam thing call them back tell them you want your money after all they insure them

    -1 Votes
  • Ru
    Ruth2871 Jul 24, 2019

    @Matthew Decker Hi Matthew...I cannot stand this company. They are crooks!

    1 Votes
  • Su
    SUSAN MARTINEZ Jan 09, 2008

    It is so true Credit One Bank is the worst bank to do business with I owe them 500.00 and they do not want to work with me. I asked them if I could settle my account with them for .50 Cents on the dollar and they said we do not work with settlements. there payment department looks like it's based out of Pakistan and they have no control of what is happening to our economy here in the states. Or they don't have tv's I guess. I refuse to pay someone that won't work with me. I told them my salary has been reduced . and they don't want to hear it pay up at it.!

    3 Votes
  • Gr
    Grace LoSacco Jan 19, 2008

    I payed off my account and called to close. MY ACCOUNT WAS PAID IN FULL! All of a sudden, the next month, I get a bill for $5.95 for "monthly service charges". So, I went online and paid it figuring it was my final payment... no big deal. Well, get this... I just now received a bill for $6.00 for a "direct check fee"! Are you kidding me? I didn't even pay with a check, I paid with my visa check card!!! Well, as I type this complaint, I am sitting on hold waiting to speak with someone in regards to this FRAUD! Very VERY horrible company to get involved with!

    1 Votes
  • Ma
    Marilyn Humphrey Feb 15, 2017

    @Grace LoSacco oh gosh, that's what I'm going through now. I paid the balance on my account in full in December, 2016. Then, in February, I got a statement saying I am late on my payments and my bill is $29.00. I paid them OFF! I called 3 separate times and couldn't understand them at all, even asked to speak to someone who spoke English. Finally I hung up, printed out all my evidence that I had paid that account off. So now I wait to see what happens next.

    0 Votes
  • An
    Annon Feb 24, 2008

    While I agree that their fees are unreasonable, you all DID sign on the dotted line in your haste to have the card. All of the fees are outlined in the guidelines that most of you obviously didn't bother to read. If you don't read the fine print, don't whine about it later on. Credit One is a business just like everyone else and they want the money back that they let you use (and NOT at 50 cents on the dollar like someone else in this post mentioned. How about we pay you 50 cents on the dollar for the time you've worked next payday and see how you like that). Pay off the card and cut it up.

    0 Votes
  • Lo
    lori Mar 06, 2008

    I signed up for a debt management program and put all my credit cards in it, the only one that would not work with the program is Credit One, the debt program sent letters to them asking to accept a proposal , they still would not budge, I tried calling numerious times and most the time I spoke to someone who could barely speak english - each time I asked to speak to a manager and they would not let me - I explained the situation with them on how I am in a debt program and to please allow my balance be in the program - they said NO WAY... so here I am just making the minimum each month while they hack on over the limit charges, and late charges, I can only pay them at the end of the month each month, and still I get hacked on charges...they call me 5 times a day starting from 8am to 10pm and demand me to pay the full balance that has accured... I dont know what to do...

    0 Votes
  • Be
    Bella28nyc Mar 18, 2008

    Matthew Decker: I just received an offer for a credit card in the mail from Credit One Bank. I immediately looked at the back of the "Confirmed Approval" offer and noticed something called "Closed Account Maintenance Fee". It states that there is a $3.00 per month fee after account closure until paid in full. It also states that there is a 23.90% annual percentage rate (APR), a $69 annual membership fee, and a one time only enrollment fee of $69. As if the fact that a one time fee is somehow beneficial to us, when in fact a legitimate creditor should NEVER charge these bogus fees. I must admit that the whole offer was alluring to me at first because I have HORRIBLE credit and I thought this was a perfect way to rebuild my credit ( or even build it at all for that matter). I went so far as to go to their website to accept their offer (www.AcceptMyCard.com) and got so far as to even fill out the first page when it suddenly hit me that I must be a ### for even considering this whole thing. The only thing is that I actually put in my SS# before I actually closed the page and now I'm worried that they will try and pin a non-authorized card on me. Coming to this site and reading the comments here is only making me worry more.

    0 Votes
  • Jg
    JGhera Mar 20, 2008

    Credit One has done the same thing to me and, of course, due to all of the late fees/over the limit charges, my account is about $200 over what it was when this all started.

    The representatives are rude, inconsiderate and downright hateful.

    Funny how every other credit card will work w/you to get your life straightened out but Credit One is bent on ruining you and, in the doing so, collecting their precious monthly fees.

    Isn't there a law against this type of stuff?

    Oh ... and to all the individuals that continually say ... pay your bills, you signed up for this, blah blah blah ... sometimes life hands you sour grapes and when that happens, situations change and money becomes scarce.

    1 Votes
  • Jo
    John Reder Apr 11, 2008

    I had a card with Cedit One that expired in 2007. I never received a new card and called the comapny. A few weeks later I received a letter about the replacement card, saying that if I had not received it to call them "IMMEDIATELY". I called and spoke to a woman who sounded as if she was in India. She RUFUSED to take the report of the missing card saying that it was too soon. I told her that if the comapny was going to refuse to take a report on the missing card that I wanted to cancel the account. Every month since then I have received billing for a monthly fee on a card I never received. ( I owe them ($0) except the monthly fees for the card I never received.
    I made numerous calls to the company, yet I still received harrassing calls from their debt collectors. Finally today I received a letter saying that they had reported me to the credit bureaus as a delinquint account. When I called them they told me that I HAD NEVER CALLED THEM about this. (an outright lie).
    I have filed an initial complaint with the FTC and will follow this matter up no matter how long it takes. (I am going to ask that they produce their phone records to prove who is telling the truth. (A subpoena for theirphone records is a perfectly valid legal request)
    Anyone interested in adding anything to what I tell the FTC please contact me.

    1 Votes
  • Jo
    John Reder Apr 11, 2008

    I have to add here that I think "JessicaSimpson's" comment was totally uncalled for. We are all use to the great failure of the promise of the internet for positive interaction.
    Too often we have these "poor souls" that are so impotent in life that they have to come online and find people to attack, from hiding and they ruin any chance of meaningful exchange.
    If all you can do is "punch" somebody and run away, you have had no victory, you have had a disgrace, and Deborah Cunningham is the one who comes out looking honorable and "Jessica's" perverse enjoyment of trying to hurt someone from hiding and running away hurts all of us who are trying to use these kind of forums in the hopes of seeing change.

    0 Votes
  • Se
    Sean Apr 27, 2008

    Hey - I work for Credit One Bank and let's start by clearing up a few things. The whole point of this card is to help those rebuild their credit. Plain and simple. Yes, the APR is high, but at the same time, no one else will touch you - so it's either this...or another card just like it. The payment processing fee is a hot topic I see. What people do NOT SEEM TO UNDERSTAND is that it costs money to process those payments. Since we are not a part a huge corporation, we foot the bill for all payments done via phone or web. There are free options though...like...mailing in your payment 7-10 days before your due date, using a bill pay service through your bank, MoneyGram & Western Union.

    As for other complaints...we do not prey on the unsuspecting public. We send out pre-approvals to those who qualify. No one is putting a gun to your head to accept the offer. When you get the pre-approval letter, you were "pre-approved" at that time. However, something could change on your credit report within the time of the mailer being printed and mailed out and you applying. Maybe a collection account appeared since the "soft pull" was done, maybe you were late on a payment..who knows. Anyone with common sense knows when you accept a pre-approval offer, your credit report will get pulled to see if you qualify. It is a application for credit. Plain and simple.

    Now, let's break down these fees that people seem to disagree with. Keep in mind - they are listed in the Terms & Conditions on the pre-approval, the disclosure information when the card arrives and on the website. If you don't agree with the terms...then don't apply. Once you activate the card, it is considered a legal contract and you accept all fees incurred. It is not anyone's fault but your own if you do not read these.

    Enrollment Fee - $69. Standard fee, one time only that covers the cost of setting up the account and is also standard with cards like these.

    Late Fee - $29. Your payment is due 25 days from your statement cycle date. That also is stated on the Terms & Conditions. If your payment is not posted to your account by Midnight Pacific Time on your due date, you are assessed a late fee. We have no control of the US Postal Service. Any rep will tell you to give 7-10 days before your due date to allow for mail time. If you can't manage that, change your billing due date to make it easier for you. Now, MoneyGram and Western Union post to your account the same day payment is made. Debit Cards post same day to your account as well. Debit Cards have a cutoff time of 2pm PST to post same day. MoneyGram is 2pm PST as well and Western Union is 1:30pm PST. Any of those payments received after the cutoff times will post the next business day and backdate to the day the payment was received. ACH payments or "electronic checks" will post within 48 hours of the payment being made. Reason why is that the checking account has to be verified before payment can be posted. Why would we post a payment from a closed account? With debit cards, we get instant authorization. For compliance reasons, we state this on the website and when you pay by phone. If paying by ACH is the way you want to pay, then make it 48 hours before your due date to allow for this verification. If the payment was received on your due date and a late fee bills, just call us and we will remove it. You will be educated on the posting times for ACH payments and given advice to pay your bill 2 days before your due date. Also, if your statement states your minimum payment is $20 and you pay $10, you will be assessed a late fee. Your minimum payment is required by the due date to avoid any late fees.

    Overlimit Fee - $29. Here is how to avoid this - DO NOT GO OVER LIMIT!!! Keep track of your balance and do not ride your limit. Easiest way people get overlimit is by maxing the card out the first day they get it and just make the minimum payment. Well, when your statement bills, you get your finance charges on the balance you carry from one statement to the next. Also, the annual fee of $5.75 . I tell people to leave $30. of available credit so these fees can bill and not put the card over limit. Each card has a "threshold" of $40 - Meaning, you can go overlimit by $40 before an Overlimit Fee is billed.

    Annual Fee - $5.75. Our yearly fee of $69 broken up into monthly installments. This bills like this for one reason: By having this fee bill every month guarantees activity and therefore requires a payment to be made. This allows the bank to report to all 3 credit agencies on a monthly basis. Besides, if you cancel before the year is out, you only pay the months you had the card. You are not out the entire $69 fee. A lot of cards like ours have you pay the enrollment fee and the yearly fee up front.

    APR (finance charges) - Don't carry a balance and you won't pay the interest. Gee. What a concept.

    In closing,

    This card is not for everyone. By making your payments on time, by not going overlimit, and keeping this card under control, you will rebuild your credit faster. It has been proven and done numerous times. However, if you get the card and max it out, late on payments and so forth...you only hurt yourself and you are responsible for ALL CHARGES INCURRED. Limit increases are given to those who take care of the card and pay their payments on time and never go overlimit. That is common sense. Why would a lender give more money to someone who can't handle the current loan amount?

    Just an F.Y.I though - and this is listed in the Terms & Conditions as well. The day your statement cycles will be the same each month. The statement is a "snapshot" of your account on that day and that is what gets reported to all 3 credit agencies.

    Now,

    If the account is late, overlimit...the account is going to be transferred to a 3rd party to assist us in getting payment or getting the account back under limit. The calls are set on auto-dial and comply with each state's laws. We can call as many times as allowed by law to get payment. It is a debt you owe, so we are trying to get the monies owed. If you don't want collection calls, pay your bill. Pretty simple stuff.

    Reason for this response is because I am sick and tired of people NOT READING ANYTHING before they sign up for something, and thinking this is free money and wonder why they have a bill.

    Oh yea..Cash Advances.

    23.9% per day until the advance is paid in full. Also, the fee for a cash advance is $5 or 4% of the advance amount. Also, the fees assessed by the ATM you use will not be cheap either.

    A payday advance is cheaper.

    a $20 Cash Advance will cost you $28 including all the fees. If you carry that over, the APR keeps adding up.


    Pretty simple stuff. If you just read the T&C and are responsible with credit.

    Also - we are audited every year by the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency...and we pass the audit every year with flying colors. They determine if we are open for business or not.

    In the way of debt consolidation agencies and Credit One Bank not participating in the program - The account needs to be current before going into debt consolidation. If you are current, no problem. If you have not paid your bill in 6 months...ain't going to happen. Read the letters you and the agency you are working with when the proposal is declined.

    -1 Votes
  • Ma
    Mario Trevino Aug 13, 2017

    @Sean With respect to the following sentence in your comments. There are free options though...like...mailing in your payment 7-10 days before your due date, using a bill pay service through your bank, MoneyGram & Western Union.

    I have two unapplied payments done on 7-27-17 for $100 and again on 8-3-17 for $75. Could you elaborate why this happens. In order to prevent a problem wth my payment being on time I had to pay an express fee of $9.95 for $100 to make sure the payment was not late. When I asked your phone agent why she said that I could only make one electronic payment in a 30 day rolling period. Would you be so kind as to point out where that is printed even in the fine print. By the way using one of those online credit reporting websites they were soliciting a Capitalone card which I apply for not yours. Once I got the card as the word BANK is not prominent on the card, gray on gray and the infamous gray on gray, I assumee it was CapitalLOne. Nice bait and switch. Perhaps since your a small outfit, your more then likely using a third party vendor to process your receivables. I would assume system glitches or just latency can keep payment from posting on a timely basis. The CBC is not the defining goverment agency with regards to alowing you to doing business. I wonder if a sleazy Law Firm would entertain a Class Action lawsuit. Since if they win they will get the lions share of the procees. Plus fines under the Fair Credit Reporting Act. I have no dispute with your fees, interest rate charges or annual renewal fees due to doing business. I do fine your how to pay your bill leaning a little towards the how can we generate late fees for late payments. How does a client know that his check will be applied in time when sent 7-10 days in advane of due date. It could just conveniently just sit on someone's inbox past the date. In all fairness it is a complicated business. If ever you wish to become a major player in this industry you must protect your brand. Nothing wrong with greed but don't kill the goose that lays the golden eggs your customers. Remember your sins will not remain hidden in this day and age of social media.

    1 Votes
  • Vi
    Viv Apr 30, 2008

    It is so interesting reading the comments.

    She should always read the fine print beforing signing or accepting anything. It clearly states the fees and charges applied to your account. Though I disagree with the high interest rate, it is a business. This credit card is for "high risk " clients. And only people that have less than perfect credit apply for this card.

    I actually have a Credit One credit card and I have never had any kind of problems. I pay my bill on time (also, a little extra), I receive increases, my payments always post when they are suppose to and I have never had an issue with understanding a customer service representative or issues with their website.

    I thank Credit One Bank for helping me rebuild my credit! Now I have great credit and I keep the credit card because the have been good to me.

    -1 Votes
  • Ju
    Justin May 06, 2008

    Credit One is right for some people. I'll give you my story for instance. My Fico on Transunion was 510 when I signed up for a Credit one bank cc. Therefore no one else was going to take me. Anyhow I made my payments in full each month. By month three I received a card offer from Orchard Bank and was approved. This is probably the company to start with if they would approve you if you are in the credit dumps. These cards had $300 dollar limits FYI. At six months I received a WaMu offer for a card and was approved for $1300. Kept making my payments on time and at about 9 months got capone $2000, Hsbc Discover $2000, ESPN Visa $1000. What happened next was really exciting... This was all within a year... Bank of America $8500 which is now $9000. Citibank Platinum $8700, Citibank CashRewards $7000. So use the Credit One to get started eat their $10 a month fees and cancel it once you get to where I am now. 510 Fico to 670 in one year.

    0 Votes
  • De
    Deborah Parks May 24, 2008

    I have had a card for three years and got it to rebuild my credit. I always make my payments on time, have never been over the limit and always pay double the monthly payment. They won't lower their interest rate for the above or anything else for that matter. I can't even get a credit limit increase which may be in part due to the economy, but it is not a good card. They have outrageous fees and I always paid my bill online and now they have tacked a 7.00 monthly fee for that. I now mail a check, and don't use the card and will be paying it off asap. I DO NOT RECOMMEND this card for anyone.
    Orchard bank has a good card and lower fees with much better interest rates and they reward good payment history.

    This was the first offer of credit I received after filing a bankruptcy due to medical bills and I was feeling desparate to establish credit. Please do not let this happen to you.
    Get one good card with decent fees even if it is a low initial credit limit, pay on time and always pay more than your minimum payment and the best is to pay it in full each month. Your credit will bounce back slowly but you won't be paying out hundreds a years in fees.

    1 Votes
  • Ti
    tim fred Jun 09, 2008

    Why dont you all just pay your bill? like really credit one is the only bank that will give you loser with low credit a card..so why ### about it? just be happy someone out there is doing something to help you in the long run...you read the terms then you would understand about the fees they bill you...nothing is hidding you just need to learn to read and you will be good have a nice day :)

    0 Votes
  • Fr
    Frank Clark Jun 20, 2008

    my complaint is Credit one Bank is charging me $200.00 for cutting up my credit card and sending it back to them with a final payment, and closing my account.They say it cost them $150 to make each card, that is the printing and the plastic card itself.

    0 Votes
  • Ih
    I hate Credit One Jul 16, 2008

    I have had a few occasions where I needed to talk to their customer service reps and they have been rude and inconsiderate of my situation. I've even noticed that when it comes to questions regarding billing and payments or FEES...They laugh into the phone with a chuckle or sigh as if they are making me some kind of "private" inside joke. I'm sure I make more per hour than any of them will ever acheive in their low life careers yet they make their so-called "Customers" feel like we are way beneath their time and trouble when we call for assistance with our cards. These people are truly vultures in every sense of the word, they work for a company that encourages them to lie, cheat, steal, manipulate and harass people into giving them our sensitive data and money in order for their scam to go on.
    STOP PAYING THEM, just stop. They are ruining our scores and making us pay them to get richer. Stop paying them even if it means losing a few points on our own scores. We can always write the credit scoring agencies and tell them how we got into trouble by using these fake companies, we can always add credit file disputes, but we can never get out of the way if we keep dealing with predators like these.

    1 Votes
  • Ca
    Cathy Sep 27, 2008

    Hey Sean-Who-Works-At-Credit-One-Bank...It is my opinion that your employer is in business to rip consumers off. Just like another comment above says: Life happens. Mine was a divorce that resulted in my filing bankruptcy. My Credit One Bank credit card account was discharged, however, Credit One continually calls me, bills me, sends me threatening letters, and turns the account over to various collection agencies (who happen to be affiliated with Credit One Bank). And I only owed less than $300. I have documented phone calls and copies of letters with court documents sent countless times to countless entities proving I no longer owe the debt. But Credit One, and its affiliates, turn a deaf ear and Credit One Bank continues to attempt to collect the account. THIS IS ILLEGAL. This action is in violation of U.S. Bankruptcy laws. And, because of Credit One Bank's flagrant disregard for those laws, I have legal recourse to pursue action through federal courts against Credit One Bank. And guess what Sean-Who-Works-For-Credit-One-Bank? That is exactly what has begun. Oh, you might want to help your employer stay in business during these times with the financially-troubled market (and, hence, you'll be able to keep your "wonderful" job), by recommending Credit One Bank begin COMPLYING with the orders that have been issued by the court, instead of IGNORING them!

    1 Votes
  • Se
    Sean Nov 14, 2008

    I closed my account with Credit One Bank over the phone, using my Debit card. Three months later I realized my credit score had been adversly affected by a chare of $7 fees plus late paymens that I did not know about. The charge was for closing the account but they didn't bother charging my Bank. Now if I wanted to pay tha $7 on the phone, would I get another charge of $7 an on and on and on? I tried to explain this to a semi ###ed customer service who just couldn't understand what was going on.

    She said I owe the $7 because I paid by mail, I told her there is no $7 charge if you pay by mail, obviously I used my Debit Card, she said Oh, then you probably didn't make the $7 payment on your debit card when you closed the account. I said the genius, why would you process the payment.

    Unethical bank, I'll take this to BBB

    1 Votes
  • Te
    Tee76 Dec 29, 2008

    This company is nothing more than a bunch of corporate thieves. I paid my bill on time but as usual they sit and wait to process the payment in order to charge me late fees.After calling up and having to complain and talk to some foreigner who shouldnt be working in customer service because they cant grasp basic english, they finally admitted my negative account balance was a mistake on their part and my account would be back to normal within 24 hours and put me back on the positive side with available credit...but guess what 48 hrs have passed and im now $17 more dollars in the hole...what do they charge you finace charges and hidden fees daily now?

    Not to mention now i have their "collections department" calling my phone all day every day from 8am til 11 at night, even after talking to the GED having ###s and clearing things up they still call every 30 minutes, so now im about to charge them with harassment.

    No to mention i've already proceeded to file a complaint with the BBB as well as my States Attorney General and Nevada's Attorney Genereal.Im also looking into to reporting this company to the F.B.I as well. Wouldnt be the first time these clowns have been investigated or sued, last time they were ordered to pay back millions to customers they ripped off.They use to be known as "First National Bank Of Marin" go look on the BBC website, they have a terrible rating with them and over 300 complaints filed on them in less than 2 years.

    For anyone wanting a physical address to contact them instead of dealing with Middle Eastern people on the phone or P.O Box's... here's Credit One's actual information (takin straight from the BBB's website)


    Credit One Financial
    585 Pilot Rd.
    Las Vegas, NV
    89119

    Phone Number: (702) 269-1000

    Type of Entity: Corporation
    Incorporated: 12/17/1998 in NV
    Principal: Robert DeJong, President
    Customer Contact: Jim Shaughnessy, Vice President - Director Transaction Services
    BBB Accreditation Status: This company is not a BBB Accredited Business

    1 Votes
  • Da
    dannyr666 Jan 04, 2009

    Credit One Bank is run by a bunch of sleezy people. They first try to charge you 7 bucks just to pay your bill online. If you try to mail in your payment they will intentionally hold the payment until you qualify for a late charge. I mailed two payments to credit card companies the same day. I live in California the bill to my credit card in Deleware was received in two days. Credit One bank which billing address was in the same state as I was California(they used to be in Nevada) wasn't processed until six business days after I mailed it a day after my bill was due. They charged me a late fee.

    0 Votes
  • Ga
    GAK Feb 18, 2009

    F**K Credit One!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ga
    GAK Feb 18, 2009

    I HOPE THIS BANK GOES UNDER! THEY FING SUCK!!! CRASH AND BURN!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    JUDY CAMPOS Mar 02, 2009

    I DO NOT OWE THIS COMPANY- I NEED THIS TO BE TAKEN OFF OF MY CREDIT REPORT IMMEDIATELY THANK YOU

    0 Votes

Post your comment