SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Walmart Money Cardrude customer service/transaction

Review updated:

I just had the worst customer service experience. I have a money card from wal mart which I only use if I dont have my check card available. I made a transaction to a company and the card was declined. When I contacted wal mart they told me I only had $1.00 avaliable and I put $120 on the card. When I called wal mart they told me that because the company requested the amount it came off my card but the transaction was declined. So not only did I not receive the service I attempted to pay for but I had to wait 2-3 business days before I got my money back. When I spoke with a supervisor she was very inconsiderate and was not empathetic. I was so frustrated and when I asked her a question again, she interrupted me to give me a confirmation # and then she hung up the phone on me. Once I receive my refund they will never have to worry about me using this card EVER AGAIN!!! I will stick to regular prepaid card from now on.

Ni
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Ma
      Jan 05, 2009
    Walmart Money Card - buyer beware
    Mary
    Missouri
    United States

    Buyer beware... I bought a walmart visa cash card thinking it would be safer to use online... Wrong... You can't use it... I drove 30 miles into town to buy it... Activated it... And it has been declined... When I call walmart they say call the 877 number... When you call the 877 number that tell you to activated the card then says it is invalid... I am out 139.00 until this is fixed... I was trying to order a book for school that I need now... And the money is tied up... Even if your life depends on it... You will die before you get this straightened out...

    0 Votes
  • Ro
      Apr 22, 2009
    Walmart Money Card - withdrawl of unauthoriesed funds
    walmart
    hattisburg
    Mississippi
    United States

    on [protected] at 8:33pm, I purchased a walmartmoney card. When I made it home I activated the card. When I checked the balance on the card, the electronic statement showed me owing vision bill and other businesses.
    How can this be possible? Number one, brand new card.Number two, I know nothing about these companies.
    When I called the money card center, I was told more than less they can not do any thing about this matter. Iwas told that I have to straighten the matters with the company.
    Today [protected], I (Rose Graham) am submitting a complaint to you and the Better Business Bureau.
    My home phone is [protected]
    Email address is [protected]@gmail.com

    0 Votes
  • Ge
      Aug 31, 2009

    well, basically you are screwed. beside the fact that all your credit information is now in the hands of telemarketers, you also have poor credit reported against you...haha idiot...

    0 Votes
  • Po
      Sep 30, 2009
    Walmart Money Card - no recourse for problems
    Walmart
    Madison
    Mississippi
    United States

    I purchased a Walmart money card at the Madison Walmart. I paid $38.00...35.00 loaded on the card and a 3.oo fee for the card. The same day I gave the money card to a child as a birthday gift. No...I did not read the microscopic print on the back of the card that says u must "activate" the card by going to a website or calling a number. Nor did I realize that the "activation code" was on the receipt! Needless to say...I certainly didnt give the kid the receipt. He saved his money for something he really wanted and 3 weeks later...the card doesnt work. His mom tried website, phone calls, etc until she finally called me and told me about the problem. I went through the same routine...unless u have an activated card...the online and phone number stops u dead in your tracks. There is no mechanism for online complaint. I no longer have the receipt...I do have my checkings account statement with the amount. The Madison Walmart has not offered any solutions. Someone was going to call me in a few days...that was 5 days ago, Previously I purchased gift cards and simply mailed them because the money was already on them. The cashier scanned the card...I thought that what she was doing. This is a huge scam. Basically my money was stolen. Do not buy this card. If u cant activate it for whatever reason u are out of the money and no one will help u. What if u spill something on ur receipt, accidently throw it out with the bags, cant read it???? Walmart should be ashamed to allow this scam to carry their name.

    0 Votes
  • Rd
      Feb 02, 2010
    Walmart Money Card - no access to funds
    GE Money Bank
    Utah
    United States

    I lost my card, called to have it re-issued and was charged $20 to have a new one fedex mailed to me within 5 business days. Today is day 7. No tracking number could be provided when I requested it. I have two accounts with this company. I simply asked that they transfer the money to my other account which they told me they could not do even if I provided them with every bit of account detail etc. They speak limited english and have no ability to escalate a call. The supervisor was actually dumber than the rep.

    My complaint is this. I have 850.00 in the bank account. I need the money know for gas and basics. I have waited this long and they still will do nothing to get me access to the funds.

    DO NOT USE THIS SERVICE UNLESS YOU HAVE TOO. I have filed complaints with the BBB and local state attorney general over this.

    0 Votes
  • Dp
      May 03, 2010
    Walmart Money Card - scam
    Walmart
    Epping
    New Hampshire
    United States

    One month ago, I picked up a walmart prepaid Visa Card to do some online shopping. Iasked the cashier if itwas already to go, She said, " yes". However, when I went to use it I had to activate it by the code on my reciept. I had already tossed it in the trash. It took 3 trips to walmart to get a copy of my reciept.

    I then called with that activation number. Even though this was a prepaid card, I had to give my name address, birthdate, sociaol security # to a computer voiced program. After all of this, they then put me on hold for along time to talk to a person. I finally hung up. Later, I called back, to check on my card was activated. My card was not activated, I went back on hold. I finally asked for a refund via program. They are going to send me a check in 7-10 business days. They will have had my money for 1 and 1/2 months, they could use it, but I couldn't. This was a terriable experience. I asked to be paid interest for holding my money, they refused. Again this involved no credit, it was all prepaid. I thought this was going to be like the visa gift cards I use to buy at the mall.

    Don't do it. If you did, and you feel like me. I hope they get sued, sign me up.

    0 Votes
  • Je
      Jun 04, 2010

    They've had my money for 5 weeks now, they keep sending the refund to my old address (they've admitted) even though I have updated my address every time I call them.

    They are getting a letter from my lawyer this week.

    0 Votes
  • Be
      Jul 12, 2010
    Walmart Money Card - do not buy walmart moneycard
    walmart
    `
    Baton Rouge
    Louisiana
    United States

    I bought a walmart money card so that i could buy a iphone 4 online at apple.com. i placed my order and the card would not allow apple to take the funds so my order was cancelled. so i reodered with my bebit card and every thing was fine.

    The next day i try to use the money card to take my cash off and they are telling me that the funds were not on the card. per apple the funds were available and that the card holder just needed to release the funds. customer service told me that it would be july 20 before i can get my funds and it was only july 10!!! I had to go off on those people before they would listen. they put me on hold for 50 minutes and then came back and said it would be 2 days and i should have my money. if i dont have my money in two days. i will personally tell eveyone at green dot and walmart off until they give me my money.

    0 Votes
  • Up
      Aug 11, 2010
    Walmart Money Card - helpful to thefts
    WALMART MONEY CARD
    United States

    I purchased an Walmart Money Card for my cousin and kept the authorization number so that it could not be used by anyone but my cousin. The card was stolen in the mail. When I called Walmart asked them to cancel the card because it was stolen. They told me that they gave the authorization number to the theft because they called for the authorization number. I asked for a refund of my money since they gave the authorization code to the theft. The employee and then the manager told me that there was nothing they could do to get me back my money even though it was their fault that the card was used by the thefts. I will never ever use a pre paid card by Walmart ever again and that includes their gift cards because only a STUPID company would give the authorization number for a card to someone who doesnt have the number. I HATE WALMARTY MONEY CARD with a passion.

    0 Votes
  • Da
      Sep 09, 2010

    Card is a scam!
    This card is a scam by GE capital and Walmart!
    No funds are available to the consumer until the permanent card arrives in the mail.
    This has been reported to several regulatory agencies.
    This one is ripe for class action.
    Card is a scam!

    0 Votes
  • Da
      Sep 09, 2010

    Card is a scam!
    This card is a scam by GE capital and Walmart!
    No funds are available to the consumer until the permanent card arrives in the mail.
    This has been reported to several regulatory agencies.
    This one is ripe for class action.
    Card is a scam!

    0 Votes
  • In
      Sep 13, 2010
    Walmart Money Card - poor service all the way around
    Statham
    United States

    Tried to activate card last night online and I was told that I would only receive a temporary card. I called to ask why and I was told that their third party system would not verify my information. I tried to verify it carefully going over all my info to make sure spelling was correct. He then told me it was pointless because it waws already denied by the post office. So I said there was a problem with my address which was strange because someone who just moved in with me that has not had a change of address used my address and had a card mailed to them. But me, the owner was denied. I then asked to speak to a supervisor...placed on hold for ten minutes before I was disconnected. Second call got better, I was told that it was not my business to know who was verifying my information...name, address and full social number...WOW! Asked for supervisor and was disconnected. Still holding for someone an hour later with sense. The manager now says that the national database of the united states has my social security number...This is a complete waste of time...I will never buy one of these again.

    0 Votes
  • As
      Nov 17, 2010
    Walmart Money Card - refused transactions
    New York
    United States

    Beware when buying a walmart prepaid visa for online purchases. If its not a purchase that can be made by a child they (GE moneybank) will deny your transaction. I bought my walmart money to buy my medicine overseas because like many Americans I have no health insurance. The medicine that I need is perfectly legal and I used to get with my insurance. At first my walmart card worked fine but not any more. It gets refused on every overseas pharmacy that I try to use it on. Now I use another Visa and it works just fine. When I bought my walmart money card I didn't realize that I was getting a prepaid Chucky Cheese gift card.

    0 Votes
  • Wv
      Dec 16, 2010

    I have almost the same problem, I had ordered a new debit card and paid for next day delivery, I ordered on a Friday so I was told that there was no way that I could get it until Monday. That was fine, I waited all day long on Monday, and called several times as the time was getting later and later. The lady that I spoke with assured me that they would deliver it up to 7pm. I waited but never got my card. Then on Tuesday I did the same thing, still nothing. I also was told that it was due to weather problems. It was sunny out and the roads were clear. On Wednesday I called and was once again promised that it would be here. I called customer service and found out that my card was not going to be delivered again, due to weather problems, (I guess that UPS and the school busses and my local mail man flew in...rolls eyes) I asked to be connected with a supervisor, after about two minutes on hold, I was DISCONNECTED! That infuriated me, I called back and immediately asked to speak with a supervisor, I was then told that the driver did not have time to deliver my order! They did not have a problem with time in taking the overnight fee off of my credit card though. I explained to them that this was my debit card, and that I have no money until it is delivered, they told me that I could drive two hours to their office and pick it up, then I was told that I couldn't do that because it was not a pick up spot, and that I would have to go 4 hours away to do that, they wouldn't even leave it at my post office. When I told the woman that I would go that far to get it because it was my debit card, but I expected to be compensated for my gas, stress and my original charge for the overnight, she then got in touch with the driver and he said that he just doesn't have the time to make my delivery and if I wanted it he would call to arrange a place for us to meet and he would give it to me. I live approximately one hour from anywhere, back in the woods in WV. I still have to pay for my gas to get my card, and if I wanted my fees compensated I would have to get in touch with the shipper and get them. I don't believe that the bank that shipped my card will be very pleased with this, but I do plan to do so. I am also upset because the main reason that I wanted it so quickly was to be able to order my children some gifts online for X-mas, now I have to pay UPS extra to have them in time for X-mas. I will do that, but I think that FedEx should have to reimburse me for these charges, and for the lies, stress and gas. I will NEVER use FedEx again and I will not be quiet until something is done to my sattisfaction, I have all the time in the world to complain to many different people, and plan on doing so. I wish I would have saved myself some money and aggrevation and just let them mail it, I would have already recieved it.

    0 Votes
  • Po
      Dec 16, 2010

    @Stealth: That is a very excellent point. I used to work at a store where if you didn't key in the exact amount that was on the card it would be declined. However, if you did it correctly, it always worked.

    +1 Votes
  • Po
      Dec 16, 2010

    I was in the blizzard in Minnesota. One of the worst I've ever seen. About 2 feet of snow, winds 35 MPH, and white-out conditions.

    +1 Votes
  • Jo
      Jan 16, 2011
    Walmart Money Card - great except when you need it
    Walmart
    Florida
    United States
    walmartmoneycard.com

    I got a Walmart Money Card so that I could replace my previous prepaid debit card. It does have the lowest fees I've been able to find because I use the direct deposit from my work to avoid check cashing fees. I've only got a small monthly fee to pay and never have to worry about overdrafts.

    The problem is that it's nearly impossible to get a check cashed or deposited into the thing. Unless it is a payroll check or a tax check they refuse to put the money in my account. I don't even have the option to wait until the funds clear to use the money. They simply won't deposit anything out of the norm, such as personal checks or even the financial aid check from my university. That's what has me so angry today. Not only does the check have the state university name on it, it has a prominent bank as the backing institution. It's practically as good as a tax check.

    Now because it is the weekend before Martin Luther King Jr day, I cannot put any money on my account without forking over $30 to a check cashing company. None of the local grocery stores will touch it, no regular banks are open today or tomorrow because of the holiday. It's annoying to know that right now people are able to deposit cash onto their cards or put their paychecks on them, but Walmart won't touch this. I'm a student. How is this NOT able to fall under the payroll category? How the heck to they expect students to cash their checks?

    0 Votes
  • Ma
      Jan 25, 2011

    I tried using mine at a bar. Guess what happened? Exactly.

    0 Votes
  • Ru
      May 08, 2011
    Walmart Money Card - fraud attempt to defraud minor child
    Walmart
    Chesterfield
    Virginia
    United States
    Walmart.com

    Daughter recieved a Walmart MoneyCard as a birthday gift. In order to activate the card she was required to enter her Social Security number, then was notified a guardian was needeed. In further phone calls with representatives in the Phillipines we (guardian) were asked for social, phone, birthdate and e-mail. Obviously a cheap way for Walmart to collect personal information from several sources. This should be investigated immediately.

    0 Votes
  • Br
      Aug 19, 2011
    Walmart Money Card - insufficent refund
    Michigan
    United States

    I purchased a Walmart Money Card as a gift for my daughter for Christmas. When she tried using it, they told her she was subject to a fee for nonusuage. She then said oh no I don't want this card. I can't use it. At which point they told her that she could give the card to me and I could get a full refund! When I called the company and said I wanted my $53 back they said no problem we'll refund the amount back to you. Well I got the check and they kept $20 and I have no idea why. I am throughly disgusted and will definetly go to the store I purchased the card from and complain! Of course I'll get a response that they have nothing to do with the card, but I plan on making a big stink about it!

    0 Votes
  • Pr
      Nov 01, 2011

    I'm currently going through the same problem. I had to report my card lost/stolen because a fraudulent company stole my info while in Vegas. A "manager" told me the card was FedExed...only to find out now 7 days later, that it was sent via regular mail. (I think they use "FedEx" as a general term for mailing..i.e. "We FedExed it, " instead of "We mailed it.")

    Not to mention, since disputing the fraudulent transactions and reporting my card lost/stolen on 10/25/11 (today is 11/01/11) my account balance has changed 7 times. And, I have had absolutely no access to my account. How does that happen, when no new transactions are being posted to the account, right?

    When I called last night, I was told that my card may not come until 11/09/11, a whole week from now. I've already been waiting a week. And like you, I have no money for basics...gas, food, no way to pay my now late bills.

    I will never use this card again and would not recommend it to anyone. As a matter of fact, I would like to warn anyone thinking about getting this card to stay clear. I'd rather go back to the old cash-only days, than to use a WalMart Money Card.

    0 Votes
  • Sw
      Nov 06, 2011
    Walmart Money Card - ripoff/company stealing money off my card
    walmart
    Cleveland
    Tennessee
    United States
    Phone: [protected]

    I received a text on my phone and it said I had 253.00 on it. So I went to walmart to buy a few things I needed for my new house and car. When I went through checkout and had to slide my card through to pay for it they said I had no money on my card at all. This card is nothing but a piece of crap and I will never use the walmart money card again in my life.

    0 Votes
  • Hu
      Jan 01, 2012
    Walmart Money Card - poor business practices
    Green Dot / G.E. Money Bank
    California
    United States

    Company Information:

    Walmart MoneyCard
    P.O. Box 1187
    Monrovia, CA 91017
    Website: http://www.walmartmoneycard.com
    Phone: [protected]

    Complaint Text

    Was unable to re-load card, called their Service Agents and was told a "hold" had been placed upon this card. I queried as to why, they told me it was because of the deposits that had been applied and used in the 4 months previous. All deposits had gone in through proper channels, all awaited their "pending period" and all were applied and subsequently used without any difficulty. Then on 12/27/2017 a cash deposit to this card was attempted and the card was refused. Because this is very odd, I called Walmart Money card immediately, they informed me that my card had been blocked and a "Security Specialist" would call within 24 hours. No call came, I called back, again no clear idea of what was the problem and again no return call from the Security Specialist. I again called twice more and today, 12/31/2017, I called to cancel this card but they refused to cancel the card, admitted that this had taken longer than the 10 business days they allot, (first time I had heard 10 business days), and could do nothing to close this card at the consumer's request. I was again told that they would email this Security Specialist with my request. It has been more than enough time for Walmart money card to have contacted me if they suspect fraud despite my checking the account and finding zero fraud activity on my own card, in fact when fraud is suspected the first person they should have contacted is the registered card holder, me, which they still have failed to do.

    Resolution Sought: Consider the Card closed by this customer effective 12/31/2017. Apply no further fees. Refund balance and apologize to this customer for their lack of follow through in communications, resolution, and services regarding this account. Their lack of follow through cost this customer in excess of 24 hours of "waiting by the phone as directed by their service agents for a call that never came" as they admit on 2 occasions since that date (12/27/11) when this customer called again, and again.
    Invoice Number:

    Product or Service: Walmart Money Card is a Pre-Paid Visa-MasterCard service. Parent Company is Green Dot owned by G.E. Capitol Money bank

    0 Votes
  • Je
      Mar 18, 2012

    walmart card is so easy for fraud because people are buying the walmart family pack card that you can add another person in 24hrs after the first card is been activated then they add a person o they can file there taxes because second person not verified because if they had it could stop all this fraud look at amount of walmart cards been sold at one time walmart needs to find a way to prevent this this is one the biggest card been used for this tax fraud i have been reporting this family for over 3years to the irs and nothing been done they are riding around with new cars plastic surgery someone needs to do something!!!

    0 Votes
  • La
      Feb 26, 2013
    Walmart Money Card - returned item no refund of money
    walamrt
    Alabama
    United States

    bought a card to pay for my cellphone on ebay, paid as a gust on paypal website, with walmart money card. cellphone had issues and sent item back, 3 months later no phone and im out the 74.99 and my time and all the faxing 7.00 each time total money out over 200.00. contacted the bbc they did nothing save yourself don't buy one

    0 Votes
  • Ym
      Jun 15, 2013
    Walmart Money Card - no access to account
    Walmart
    Virginia
    United States

    I purchased a money card from Walmart in December of 2017. I used it many times and was happy with the card. I had no problem with the fees because they were clearly explained from the start and I accepted them. The problems started when I complained about an unauthorized charge on the card. This happened when I paid a "shipping and handling" fee for a vitamin supplement. Once the vitamin company had my card information they proceeded to make charges on the card. When I complained about these charges Walmart money card not only said they were authorized but then blocked my card from use anywhere except the vitamin supplement company. That's right I can't use the card anywhere but the offending vitamin company can post charges against my card. The only up side to this is that the card is almost out of funding. The downside is that I have lost about $150.00. Sound unbelievable? Get a money card and use it for a while. YOU WILL HAVE PROBLEMS!

    0 Votes
  • Wi
      Jun 15, 2013

    get a debit card from a real bank, not Walmart.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
      Jul 11, 2013

    I was double charged on a transaction for the amount of $310.45, when I called Walmart MoneyCard support and customer service I was told to provide proof from the processing company because they can't make outside calls to investigate, after providing them with a proof that the processing company reversed the charges and refunded the money back to my card, they said they already closed the case and can't refund the money, and I am $310 poorer and can't do anything with Walmart to help me, no one is willing to provide me with any proof that they actually worked on my case or actually contacted the card processing company, someone got my $310 and Walmart MoneyCard is not giving it back to me

    0 Votes
  • 28
      Feb 18, 2014
    Walmart Money Card - nothing but a hassle
    Walmart Money Card
    Ohio
    United States

    STAY AWAY. I had a card for some time and would NOT recommend it. Since
    Greendot took over. They told me I had to create a new email address
    with Yahoo or Gmail to me able to use the online features. I was able to
    use my own email address in the past until Greendot took over. There
    system will only work with Yahoo or Gmail emails. Ridiculous.

    0 Votes
  • Pe
      Feb 06, 2015
    Walmart Money Card - research before you buy
    [protected]@mail.com
    Pottsville
    United States

    I have had a walmart money card for 5 years and NEVER had one problem that any of you have had. I only paid $4.95 and if my deposits are over $1000 a month I have NO service fees. I haven't put money on it in almost a years and was charged only a $3.00 service fee. The only thing that changed in them 5 years is the auto bill payment, and the reason for that is because of costumer complaints. People are setting up auto pay and most of the time not realizing it. Auto means automatic, so if you put $100 on your phone bill and select auto pay than every month they will take $100. That's Not walmart that's the phone company. Also I have called customer service a few times and was never charged $2.00 so I have no idea what that's about.
    I choose the walmart money card because out of all the cards out there this one has the least amount of fees. I only use it at walmart ATMs (no charge), at any store as debit (no charge), and if I need cash I get cash back (no charge). Every cent counts in this day and age and almost every job makes you get direct deposit, and yes I have had a few bank accounts and was so sick of this charge and that charge. Bank of America I closed my account in 2017 and still got charges, tell how the h ll is that happening. I closed that account because someone stole my debit card and was using it as I was on the phone with them and wanted me to pay for those charges yea I don't think so, but I did so I could close the account and two years later the letters started stating I owed another $160. Not going to happen. Every purchase with my WMC shows on my account with in 15 mins so no over draft charges. As for a minor not being able to have a card like this, I admit I was a little upset about this at first but then realized why they can't, no one under the age of 18 in most states can't have a checking account well debit cards are almost the same thing in a sense, that's why they have visa gift cards.

    I can't get a credit card because I was responsible and paid all my bills in time and with cash when I got credit cards I cut them up and tossed them, my thinking was I don't want to be in debt, what if I lose my job and can't pay them?, so I never used any of them and now I'm 34 with NO CREDIT, apparently bad credit is better then none? Really!! That thought never even crossed my mind. So I pretty much have to have a pre paid debit card.
    I watch what my mom goes through with her checking account and I feel for her I really do. They put things on hold so it looks like she has the money when she doesn't She writes every purchase down and yet some how ends up short. The only thing I do like about her bank is they will cover one bounce fee a month. Which means, if her purchase was $100 but she only has $50, they will cover the $100 but charge her $35 to do it, so she don't owe the bank and the store. Still she lives off every cent so that $35 ends up coming out of a bill, which ends up being paid late. She has even been thinking about going to a WMC pre paid debit card just so that won't happen.
    I recommend this card to everyone I know. And no I do not work for any bank or walmart, but after every card out there that I researched this was the one I felt had the best benefits. Before anyone chooses anything you need to look into it yourself, don't blame others because you picked it because the girl who sold it to you told you to, would you buy a car before driving it or even before finding out information about it, of course not. If you can't read the fine print than look it up, or call the company first. Get info before you buy. ALWAYS!!!

    0 Votes

Post your comment