Menu
ADVERTISIMENT
Home Unauthorized Charges Walmart check receipt! double charged all of the time!

Walmart  -  check receipt! double charged all of the time!

J
Author of the complaint
6:46 am
Review updated:
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

This is the third time in a row I have shopped at a WalMart and found my receipt incorrect with double charged. Not only do they act like its my fault, even when I have not left the check-out stand, they have an excuse which is lame. I called up the manager and asked for an explanation. He claims: Walmart makes their scanners very sensitive so the checker can be fast(which also makes it difficult to hear any double ring-ups) and because of this, are double charging.

Big problem!

Charges are NOT near each other on receipt! No answer to that one from manager. I told him what it looks like to me... SCAM! He said he was sorry and walked away.

BE AWARE and check your receipt carefully for doubles that are not even close to each other on receipt.

ADVERTISIMENT

More Walmart complaints & reviews

Walmart - gift card
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Walmart - Site to store misleading on actual delivery time
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Walmart - failure to fulfill obligation of agreement
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Walmart - falsely arrest
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
16 comments
Add a comment
E
May 05, 2022 4:45 am

I have had this happen to me as well. I always get it corrected before I pay. Another thing to watch out for is the shelf price says one thing but the register will charge you a higher price. The Walmart's in my area are now doing this. One Walmart started doing it and then another started doing it as well. It appears that Walmart slowly implements this kind of stuff gradually from one store to the next mostlikely in hopes that no one will notice it.

M
Aug 25, 2019 9:59 pm

Seriously? How do you not notice until you are home if you are overcharged that much? 60 bucks?

K
Jul 23, 2019 12:31 am

This is insane that this is happening to people! I never check my receipts but when I went to return some items I bought today I realized they had charged me six times for my one 50lbs bag of egg layer crumble for my chickens. I thought buying it at Walmart would be the cheapest route. WRONG at $11.98 a bag, thats $60 in overcharges! How could I miss this? An because its been over a week, I asked if they could help me out but they said they will not do anything if its not within 24 hours of telling them. Thats BS! Now realizing how much money I lost to them I am going to go back and make a serious complaint and try AGAIN to get my money back.

T
Apr 26, 2019 7:23 pm

Got double charged on a box of 32 variety ice-cream $9.97. Didn't notice til I got home as I had a variety of other foods, apples etc., but I remember scanning it well, 1 box, 1 beep. Funny thing is, if a stray grape rolls onto your scale it all but alerts the authorities. I believe they are buffing their profits by randomly robbing people also.

K
Jan 04, 2019 11:47 pm

Today at Wal-mart I bought several items; make-up, toiletries, soap, lotions, etc. When I got home and checked my receipt, I discovered I'd been charged SIX TIMES for one bottle of Pantene shampoo. The charges were not in sequence and at $4.97 a bottle, that adds up to nearly $25. of overcharges. Needless to say I will be returning to Wal-mart for my refund tomorrow. How is Wal-mart getting away with this scam?

J
Oct 15, 2018 12:21 pm

I had Walmart double charge me for two $ 2.54 items. What made it so suspicious
was the double ring up items were on the BOTTOM of the ticket and no where near
the two proper items.

If they do this every 1000, or even 10, 000 customers, they're involved in MAJOR THEFT.

Since then I have weighing been weighing their 93/7 one pound hamburger packages,
weighing ONLY the hamburger. Not once has it ever been 16 oz. It's been
between 14.8 and 15.8 oz and usually comes in at about 15. 5oz.

N
Aug 02, 2018 11:27 am

Just happened to me today at self-checkout kiosk. Scanned two $12 bags of almonds - the kiosk rang each one up twice. I didn't catch it until I got home. $24 was worth a trip back on my bike!

L
Aug 16, 2017 10:27 am

On the double charge issue, I've had it happen several times. Can 't say for sure about the times before
but yesterday's double charge was several items after the original charge and was the last item on the
sales receipt.

I'm guessing Walmart doesn't tell their employees to do this because sooner or later it would get out and
hit all the media. I am guessing however that Walmart does this deliberately through their software.
I'd guess, for example, they pick a fairly low cost item on say every 50 or 100, or even 1000 sales thru that register
and double bill it. Think how many dollars of pure profit they'd make in a day.

View 0 more photos
O
Nov 03, 2014 5:03 pm

Jeez me too! justb checked my receipt and i got charged twice during my self checkout... these scanner are crazy. buyer beware!

J
Jun 11, 2010 5:17 pm

You are a SUCKER! [censor] Regina Cross and [censor] Walmart. You should have knocked that [censor] out COLD! No human being should ever stand to be spit at in the face, regardless of where they are. You are a coward and obvioulsy have major insecurities...otherwise you would have gone balistic on the [censor]. Shame on YOU and shame on Walmart!

B
Jun 10, 2010 2:33 pm
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Yes, be EXTREMELY CAREFUL at Walmart!

I try to use on the Self-Checkout Registers so that I can verify each item individually (price and quantity). It takes a little more time / effort, but it's so much easier.

Also, if you find an error, notify the Cashier BEFORE YOU PAY for anything! They can correct it at the register quickly and easily, if they know what they are doing (not complaining about Cashiers in Training; they need time). If you wait until AFTER YOU PAY, then you will have to go to their Customer N0-Service Desk to get it corrected, which will take much longer; and depending on payment method, can take days or weeks to get the money back.

T
May 28, 2017 12:35 pm
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more
Replying to comment of BCZip

Seriously? As long as it takes to check out usually? People waiting and you want me to stand there and go over my receipt before I pay? The cashier kept coming around the counter and scanning things, I told him some of this stuff I wanted to pay for separate so he stopped, but apparently had already scanned the cheese and then scanned it again on the next batch. Too much trouble to fight the parking lot and the employees of Walmart to go back now. $3.88

P
Dec 02, 2008 3:08 pm

I need a copy of my reciept

M
Feb 24, 2008 8:23 am

hi im a mother of 3 small children in need of help ! heres what happen to me in a walmart ,i was shopping for a toy for my 4yr son it was his birthday . i was in the toy dept the employee named REGINA CROSS .was on a phone yelling bad words my son said some of the words this girl used .i asked the employee .not to talk like that in front of my kids .i was told if i didnt shut my mouth she would kick my a**. needless to say i ended my shopping and left the store.on my way out i asked to speek with her manager .he told me he would handel it .well 2days later i was in the same store and ran in to REGINA CROSS again i was pushed and yelled at and REGINA SPIT IN MY FACES walmart feels that REGINA CROSS should keep her job .i feel as a mother,a shopper ,as a customer , walmart should of fired this girl i now shop in fear of this employee .ive found out this employee has has a number of complaints on her but yet still works for walmart ,we dont have a kmart or a mall and i cant drive 70miles to another store i need help why is walmart allso spitn in my face couse i feel they are by not doing anything bout this here more info on the employee i found on the net but she still works for walmart anyone out there plz help me with this >>>> info of store and employee >>>more on this employee RINGA CROSS >>>>employee of walmart -v- the public shoppers
copy or call:OR: send to:

Wal-Mart Supercenter - www.walmart.com
38020 US Highway 18, Prairie Du Chien - [protected]
http://www.google.com/search?sourceid=navclient& amp;ie=UTF-8&rls=SUNA,SUNA:2006-11,SUNA:en& ;q=wal+marts+Prairie+du+Chien%2fWisconsin+

employee:: REGINA CROSS /TOY:DEPT
Wal-Mart Supercenter - [protected]
Prairie Du Chien -

10 of 12 people found the following review helpful:
fired due to her own misconduct in the toy dept where
kids may be at'

customer reviews: [email protected]: i think they should start shutting down businesses
that hire want to hire people like that to be around are kids.

(13 customer reviews) :fired due to her own misconduct/
she should not work in toys/?how could walmart not do anything bout her/
its wrong for wal-mart not to act on it/i say fire her/if that was my kids
some one would be in jail/wal-mart should care bout the people who shop there
we keep there store going with out the public they wouldnt be a store/ive been
in the store and had that girl help me,i didnt like her/
::that is just a few from are reviews,

Share your thoughts with other customers:post on link 3
309 posted comments:
:: hi my name is jody.l .i was ...

A
Sep 23, 2007 4:32 pm

Your complaint makes no sense. For one thing, in order for the cashier to double scan an item(the same item,different positions on the receipt), s/he would have to remove said item from it's bag & rescan. Did you witness this? Sounds to me like a glitch in the system, although I've never heard of such a thing.

S
Aug 21, 2020 12:39 pm

They are complete [censored]. They want to stop me to on the way out to check things that aren't in a bag as they are too big I simply tell them no thank you but they do not give a crap about their double charges cuz they're complete [censored]

ADVERTISIMENT

Learn how the rating is calculated

2173 complaints
738 resolved 1435 unresolved

Walmart contacts

(added by reviewer)
850 Cherry Avenue, Florida United States
ADVERTISIMENT