SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Lightinthebox / scam tactic to avoid refund for return

England, Surrey, United Kingdom Review updated:

I ordered a dress from them and after good communication throughout the process and while waiting - it was late but they offered a partial refund for this as compensation - I was not happy with the dress as it was much bigger than expected. Instead of 33 1/2 inches around the bust this was around 35 inches, it was huge and could not be altered because of the built in bra, it also had fabric bulging inaesthetically instead of the draping on the original model and the strap on one shoulder was much wider at the base making it really unflattering. But worst of all, the underneath fabric was a shiny polyester-like material which looked cheap and tacky in flash photography which made it impossible for me to wear at my event. After numerous emails and persistence on my part, I returned the dress accordingly for a full refund.

The reply from Customer Sv was that they 'tested' it and measured it and it was fine so they cannot give me a full refund. As I had said in my previous emails, the dress size - which I have also tried on and measured several times and have photos to prove this - was not the only reason of my disappointment with the dress.

I could not have worn this dress even if it was the correct size because the underneath fabric was shiny in flash photography and looked like a Christmas light, reason which I have mentioned again and again. I would also like to point out that the photo on the website did not show the dress as having this cheap tacky shiny underfabric but it showed it in a soft delicate pastel, effect which is completely lost in flash photography - which there would have been plenty of at the event I needed it for.

I am profoundly disappointed with this tactic, I sent the dress specifically for a full refund, not for them to 'test' it and say whatever they want now that they have it and it's sort of my word against them. This was a lot of money for a dress that did not match the standard shown and modelled on your website, leaving aside the matter of the sizing.

I was so excited and pleased with the decision of ordering this dress and it has turned into a complete nightmare. I would not order from them again, really difficult to deal with and a waste of significant money.

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Li
      12th of Apr, 2012

    Dear EmiliaNic,

    I'm sorry you got the wrong size of the dress you ordered and it came with other issues. Please send me the order number to [protected]@lightinthebox.com for me to follow up on you refund. Thank you for your patience and understanding.

    Sincerely,
    Angelie
    LightInTheBox

    0 Votes

Post your comment