The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

Family Dollar / I recently fell outside of this store

1 February 20, 2010 Family Dollar Store 5927 MartinCapitol Heights, MD, United States Review updated:

February 20, 2010


Family Dollar Store
5927 Martin Luther King Jr. Hwy
Capitol Heights, MD [protected]
Phone: [protected]

To Whom IT May Concern:

My name is Mr. Eric W. Smith, and I’m a regular customer of the Family Dollar Store located at the above address. On the morning of Saturday, February 20, 2010 around 9:40am, while leaving the Family Dollar store carrying several bags, I slipped and fell backwards on my back on some black ice directly in front of the walk way of the store. I notified that their were plenty of sand and salt scattered all over the parking lot area of the Family Dollar store, but not in front of the walk way of the Family Dollar store. After a few minutes of falling, I decided to go back into the store to get some form on an incident report filled. The Family Dollar Manager: Mr. John Walter on duty filed the incident report on my behalf. He informed me that someone will be contacting me about this incident. Due to my recent fall, my neck and right shoulder have been giving me severe pain and stiffness. I went see my doctor on Tuesday, February 23, 2010 at 1:00pm. So far I missed 4 days of work (02/22/10 – 02/25/10) due to the injuries I received from that fall. As of March 10, 2010, no one from the Family Dollar establishment has yet to contact me. My doctor’s office needs the Family Dollar to provide my accident claim number so that they can get reimbursed for my doctor’s fees as well as me to be reimbursed from losing 4 days of work and pain and suffering. I have been a valued customer at the Capitol Heights, MD location for over 5 years now, but since this incident, I have yet to return back to that store. I’m asking that someone from your Family Dollar Corporate office contact me and my doctor’s office as soon as possible to resolve this issue. Failure to contact either my doctor or myself will cause me to file a complaint with the Better Business Bureau.
Sincerely yours,

Eric W. Smith
513 71st street
Capitol Heights, MD 20743
H# [protected]

My Doctor’s Office number for
Dr. H Herbert Washington
O# [protected]

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Ke
      13th of Jun, 2010
    0 Votes

    Well Mr. Eric W. Smith do you have a witness to this fall? If so you should have mentioned that above. And I don't want to sound rude, but I highly doubt family dollar is going to contact you. And for the better Business Bureau you should have contacted them way before you even posted this on the internet. With all the scams that arise, you most likely will be fighting tooth and nail for what really may not be worth it. But Post if you won your claim. I most likely wont find my way back here. but im sure someone else would Good luck Mr. Eric W. Smith.

  • To
      17th of Jun, 2010
    0 Votes

    Just to let you know Mr. Smith, Family Dollar rents their store locations and the Owner of the actual building is responsible for the sidewalks, parking lots, and snow removal/salting. When an accident report is filed, corporate has to forward all info to the Owner and their Insurance provider. Family Dollar has no bearing on this process, and is not responsible for the delay. The Family Dollar in my town in Maine had a similar accident this past winter, it was taken care of within 30 days, Their building owner also takes good care of the building and grounds so he handled the claim as soon as he could.

  • Ha
      17th of Jan, 2011
    0 Votes

    I FELL IN the store...in a PUDDLE of UNDILUTED cleaning solution that smelled like Pine SOl or other...Nothing was marked to show this was wet...I fell so hard on my right hip and back and had to catch myself with my right elbow to keep from hitting the back of my head!!! My rear of course, was already starting to form a knot/bruise...The one worker even admitted he heard me fall in the back...BUT NO ONE EVER CAME to offer help!!! He admitted this to the person when the claim was called in that night ..right in front of me!!! NO ONE even called me the next day or after to check on ME!!! just now, over 5 days later...someone calls and acted as if it could have been MY FAULT!!! Unbelievable!!!

  • Da
      13th of Mar, 2011
    0 Votes

    You need a layer

  • Sw
      15th of Nov, 2017
    0 Votes

    today 11/14/17 i was in my local Family Dollar(i am a frequent shopper since day 1) and while looking at make-up and chatting with the manager as she rang up another customer, i proceeded to the rear of the store to exchange my bottle sodas(they were room temp) I slipped and fell SO HARD! Apparently there were 3 drops of fabric softener right in my path and down I went. Not a slip or slide like I was safe at 3rd base but BANG, BOOM bruising my left knee and elbow, I have a brace on my right foot/ankle as well as my right palm/wrist!! I absolutely adore the employees there but they insisted on an incident report. I expect no money just due diligence, as there are alot of elderly that also shop this location. I will say i will continue to shop here I love the people and the atmosphere.

Post your comment