SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Chase Bankcredit card gouging

1
W Review updated:

Like others I have experienced outrageous gouging by Chase Bank. My credit card interest rate used to be 11 percent. By mistake, I went over my credit limit one month. I corrected the situation the next month, but Chase raised my interest rate to an outrageous 29.9 percent. I sent them a letter asking for a more reasonable rate. I got back a form letter, telling me "tough." I am closing my account, and I will never do business with Chase ever again. Beware of this bank.

Responses

  • I AGREE totally with you. It is terrible the way they gouge people. I liked to have never gotten rid of them when I used to have an account. Just like you said one little mistake I made they really socked it to me triple times!!! =/

    I no longer have any credit cards now. *sigh of relief*

    +2 Votes
  • oops I dont know why that finger is pointing down up there but like I said I agree totally with you my friend!

    +1 Votes
  • P
      Jun 30, 2009

    Absolutely impossible to deal with! I too went from 6.99% to 29% without one missed payment. I was told this was because it was the end of a promotion and they had notified me by mail (I do my banking online) that I could keep the rate if I responded by the end of March. When I saw my new rate online, I called and was told, "Sorry, but there is nothing I can do!" I am currently switching my accounts to Heritage.

    Eileen

    0 Votes
  •   Jun 30, 2009

    Hi, there is a growing movement to fight back against Chase Bank. I have set a July 15th deadline for Chase Bank to reverse their 2% to 5% raise in the monthly minimum payment. After that date, one Chase Bank executive board member will need to resign.

    It is time to start making counter demands.

    http://www.bloggersagainstchasebank.com
    http://www.daily-protest.com
    http://www.changeinterms.com
    http://www.consumeraffairs.com/credit_cards/chase_credit_cards.html

    You are not alone, but don't disappear on us either. You will need to be persistent and involved to be victorious against Chase Bank.

    0 Votes
  • R
      Jul 18, 2009

    Been gouged with the excessive 39.00 late fee by Chase? Then write, via snail mail: Kelly Hanick
    Chase Card Services
    PO Box 182 918 OH
    OH 1-0554
    Westerville, OH 43081

    Mr. Hanick is the director Chase's customer service department. I've tried unsucessfully to have that outrageous fee removed for 2 months. I recently sent Hanick a letter, but have not received a response. Let's inundate him with letters of complaint.

    0 Votes
  • T
      Jul 21, 2009

    I am in the same boat. 29.99% Chase Customer Service rep told me that I could not discuss the rate, and that she could not refer me to her supervisor. This is because of a policy set by Mr. Hanick. She told me that my remedy was to write to Mr. Hanick and that he probably would not respond.

    What ###.

    So what do we do?

    0 Votes
  • S
      Jul 22, 2009

    Kelly Hanick is Chase's customer service director (which is an oxymoron)

    Write him at his home address Kelly Hanick
    37 Wilkinson Dr
    Landenberg, PA 19350

    Or give the ol' boy a jingle [protected]

    0 Votes
  • F
      Jul 24, 2009

    I just got off the phone after a 15 minute run around in which I had to talk to 3 different people and still got no satisfaction other than getting to yell at some useless people who laughably refer to themselves as Customer Service reps.

    I started the conversation asking for a supervisor in order to request the $39 fee and jump from 3.9% to 29.9% be removed from my account for having inadvertently made my payment ONE DAY LATE for the first time in the decade that I have had this account.

    The first rep put me on hold and, after a few minutes, transferred me into voice mail so that I had to hang up and start over.

    The second continually told me, "Gee, sorry - nothing we can do." and refused to let me speak to a supervisor, saying that there was none on duty.

    After I screamed at her to put anyone on the phone other than herself, I was put on hold for another 5 minutes until someone named Carlos came on the line, assuring me he had authority to make a decision on my account.

    But without even listening to my explantion, he said - "Your payment was late - nothing we can do."

    When I told him I would most assuredly be closing my account he gave a half hearted "Sorry." response and then happily gave me Mr. Hanicks address to which to send my complaint.

    How very sad that they have so little regard for their customers. I am lucky that at least I have the money to pay off adn then cancel this account and avoid what is now an $85 monthly fee for a balance of less that $3500. I feel very sorry for anyone else who gets stuck in this situation and can't pay off the account to avoid their outrageous fees.

    Karma will get them for treating their customers so badly. Eventually they will have none left.

    0 Votes
  • N
      Jul 27, 2009

    Chase bank is going down. Last month I did NOT receive my monthly statement due to lost in the mail or whatever, and by the time I reallized it and made my payment it was ONE day late. After speaking to a customer service rep in India somewhere about the $39.00 late fee, I was also givin the name and address of Kelly Hanick. Letter going out in the mail today. We'll see. I have two accounts with Chase that will be transfered to a bank that appreciates my business. You would think that in this economy, Chase would be happy just to receive payments from customers period.

    0 Votes
  • R
      Jul 27, 2009

    Not fair, did you mail your letter of complaint to PO box in Ohio? I did, and that address is a decoy. I never heard a response. We need to band together and make an issue of Chase's policies. They are the modern day robber barons.

    0 Votes
  • A
      Jul 27, 2009

    I closed my Chase travel credit card because i don't use it and they started to charge me 29$ annul fee. I spoke with a representative to close the account, I aslo told him that since i have not used this card for a very long time (they just started charging the annul fee-strange) so i can get refund for the annul fee as I am closing it, so he agreed. But this month i received a balance of $44 in my account (29 annual fee+15 late fee) I called them complaining that this account has been closed, they said they know and i still need to pay everything, after fighting with them, they gave my Mr. Hanick's adders to send a compliant letter. Not sure if it's gonna be helpful. Anyone has and suggestions?
    Thanks

    0 Votes
  • C
      Jul 27, 2009

    Hey everyone! Call this deadbeat Kelly Hanick at his new home number: [protected]... his home address is 204 Sandy Flash Drive, Kennet Square, PA 19348

    Chase SUCKS!!!

    Take your business somewhere else... or better yet... don't pay your balances... save your money... pay cash only! Use the Dave Ramsey plan (check out Daveramsey.com)

    0 Votes
  • C
      Jul 27, 2009

    Chase credit has the worst customer services. First they over charged the balance transfer fee ($522), promotional letter said $75. Second, after I paid of the balance. They send me a financial charge ($119). I was told to write to Kelly Hanick. I will also write to Gordon Smith Chase CEO. Wait and see what will happen?????

    0 Votes
  • A
      Jul 28, 2009

    Hi Everyone,

    I just had a similar situation with Chase just yesterday. having been a customer for over 15 years and having a revolving balance I made a payment online from an account that I have recently closed and of course I was hit with the 39 late fee and called Chase to get some appreciation. Just got the same script "nothing we can do" please write to Mr. Hanick. Probably I'll write just to have the letter for my records. I know will not do any good and the only option is to pay the entire balance asap, close the accounts and move to a bank that appreciates its customers as this one does not do that.

    By the way the representative said I was going to get an answer in 7 days. Well! I'll be surprise if I get one. Let's unite, take our business somewhere else and hope Chase files chapter 7 and becomes history!

    0 Votes
  • R
      Jul 28, 2009

    O man same problem, but mine was because of an autopayment from an old checking account that I closed. This is awful customer service.

    I just sent my letter to Kelly.

    0 Votes
  • R
      Jul 30, 2009

    Anyone else call Hanick's number? I did. Got a machine. I'll try again later.

    0 Votes
  • T
      Jul 30, 2009

    same story here. my bank account shows that my payment came out of my account on the 24th, but chase didn't post it until the 27th. it was due on sunday the 26th. one day late.

    i used their online contact form to try to challenge it, but got a "no" in reply. then i called and the guy gave me hanick's info.

    it all seems pretty unreasonable to me - not to mention greedy. i mean, it would be different if i was habitually late with my payment.

    i'm gonna cancel my account if they're unwilling to work with me.

    i searched for hanick online and found this other address: http://www.spoke.com/info/p4YEJsp/KellyHanick

    0 Votes
  • J
      Jul 31, 2009

    I sent my letter last week to Mr. Hanick. After reading all of these posting I feel like I will not be hearing from him and if I do it won't be helpful.

    I can't wait to pay off my card and quit Chase.

    I had fraud on my checking acct and changed it at the bank with the representative and she said everything would be switched over online, including my credit cards, so when I went to pay my bill I did not realize that my old acct number was still there and not the new one. I paid early only to get hit with two $39 fees. I suppose it was my fault for not noticing the last 4 digits of the acct but i just changed it and I trusted what the bank said, it would all be updated.

    UPDATED MY ###!!!

    If I don't hear back or I do and it is 'tough' there will be full on protesting CHASE BANK!!!

    write to him: snail mail:
    Kelly Hanick
    Chase Card Services
    PO Box 182 918 OH
    OH 1-0554
    Westerville, OH 43081

    0 Votes
  • H
      Jul 31, 2009

    [protected] - This a fax machine. He probably changed his number, if that was really it.

    0 Votes
  • H
      Jul 31, 2009

    Did anyone send letters as CERTIFIED mail to Mr. Hanick? Otherwise, they can just simply play the game of "we never received anything."

    Also, I was given a different address from the customer service rep.

    Chase Card Services
    Attn: Kelly Hanick
    PO Box 182918
    OH1-0554
    Columbus, OH [protected]

    I'm planning on sending a certified letter tomorrow.

    If you'd like to read my experience, here it is. They tried to pull funds from the wrong account twice in a row and charged $39 both times.


    July 31, 2009

    Jon Metcalf
    xxx

    July 31, 2009
    Kelly Hanick
    PO Box 182918
    OH1-0554
    Columbus, OH [protected]

    Re: Visa Account xxx, Jon Metcalf

    Dear Mr. Hanick:

    I was given your information by one of your company’s customer service reps and I am writing to you to request a refund of two separate fees of $39 charged to my account in July. The details are as follows.

    I make my payments online. Primarily, I use one account to make payments, and that is my Zions Bank account. The other account, Mountain America, I rarely use to make payment (I can think of only one time I’ve ever used it). Of these two accounts, the Zions account is the default account listed when I go to schedule a payment online. I point this out as it will be important information as I explain what happened.

    As I do normally, I scheduled my July payment online. In the dropdown, I did not make any changes to the default account that funds come out of. So, Zions was the selected account. After making payment, I went on my way and didn’t give it another thought. A couple of weeks later, I noticed that my Mountain American account was showing a $20 charge for an ACH/Chase transaction for insufficient funds. I finally figured out that Chase had tried to withdraw from this account, and not the Zions account as I had specified. I obviously would not have tried to use the Mountain America account to pay $250 since this account had a zero balance.

    Again, I scheduled my payment online as I describe above and AGAIN the same thing happened. Would I really have done the same thing to myself twice in a row? Immediately, I scheduled a payment for the 3rd time, again doing the same thing I had done the previous two attempts. This time, everything worked the way it should have, and my Zions account was debited properly.

    Clearly, I cannot be held responsible for these fees since Chase’s online system attempted to withdraw funds from an account that I did not authorize for those payments. I respectfully request that the $78 in fees and any associated finance charges be refunded to my account as soon as possible. Because there is no one in the call center who seems to have authorization to reverse these fees, I am appealing to you to facilitate the refund. If needed, please call me directly at [protected] and I’d be happy to share any additional details you may require.

    I appreciate your time.

    Sincerely,


    Jon Metcalf

    0 Votes
  • H
      Jul 31, 2009

    I'm not sure what kind of success you'll have, but file complaints with your state's AG and with all the regulatory agencies.

    http://www.bcsalliance.com/x_creditcardtricks_a.html

    File a Complaint Against Your Credit Card Company
    Report the credit card issuer to the Comptroller of the Currency. Phone number is [protected].


    Report the company to your state's attorney general's office. You can find links to your state's AG website at naag.org. Your state might allow you to file a complaint online. This is probably the most effective complaint to make as it is the attorney general's who have filed most of the lawsuits against credit card companies. For example, it was the California AG who sued Providian and forced them to pay the largest judgment against a credit card company ever.


    Report the company to the Better Business Bureau. Submit your case for dispute resolution online at www.bbb.org.


    Report the company to your elected representatives. You can find their email / mailing addresses at www.house.gov and www.senate.gov. Note that the banking industry (which is comprised mostly of credit card companies) has a lot of power in Washington, D.C. in the form of lobbyists and contributions to election campaigns. Despite this fact, your elected officials are more afraid of you because you can vote them out of office. If you think contacting them is a waste of time you're wrong. Someone will read your correspondence -- if enough complaints are received something will be done about it. Learn more.


    Report the company to banking regulators. Their mailing address is Division of Credit Practices, Bureau of Consumer Protection, Federal Trade Commission, Washington, D.C. 20580 or file a complaint online at www.ftc.gov.

    +1 Votes
  • R
      Aug 03, 2009

    Hey folks,

    That PO Box for Hanick in Columbus is almost assuredly a decoy of some sort. I mailed a letter and Chase told me there is no record of them receiving it. We have 2 home addresses for the guy, and the one in Kennet Sq Pa is probably the correct one. We can all band together and send him a polite letter of complaint at his home, which other than being a nuiscance likely won't do any good.

    Reporting Chase to state's AG and the appropriate regulatory agencies is the proper thing to do, but what are the chances of that succeeding? I say we bombard his personal mailbox with letters of complaint.

    +1 Votes
  • E
      Aug 03, 2009

    does anyone have a currrent phone number or email address to this kelly hanick guy..i absolutley hate chase with all my heart!

    +1 Votes
  • O
      Aug 03, 2009

    The Chase customer service is awful. I will close my account soon. I have always made my full statement payment - never paid a fee - until I was misled by a customer service rep who told me I could skip the June payment with no finance charge. Boy was that a mistake.

    And there is this very very rude CSR named Jackie at the 800 number - who is running Chase JP? They will lose business in mass with this poor customer service

    +1 Votes
  • F
      Aug 04, 2009

    I had the same experience as many you, when my online payment (ironically initiated through my Chase bank account) didn't go through. I noticed the problem and paid two days after the due date, but not before being slapped with a $39 late fee. I was also charged $14 in finance charges on my next bill. The customer service reps I spoke to were unhelpful and refused to escalate my call. I sent a letter to Kelly Hanick and today got a form letter back that cheerfully informed me the late fee can't be reversed and listed some helpful tips for avoiding late fees, including paying at least five days in advance of the due date. Since I initiated my online payment eleven days in advance of the due date, I don't find that advice particularly helpful.

    I've posted the details of my situation here: http://www.emilymorganti.com/blog/?p=53

    I sent my letter to the PO box in Ohio, so apparently that is a valid address. I sent it on July 15 and received the response today (it's dated July 27 and postmarked July 31).

    +1 Votes
  • N
      Aug 06, 2009

    guys
    i am in same boat of $39.00 of late fee..because i was late by 1 hour according to 4PM EST . I CANCELLED MY ACCOUNT.
    STOP BANKING WITH THESE ###.

    +1 Votes
  • M
      Aug 06, 2009

    Well Chase just got me also.. I had a 0% till DEC. 09 just got my bill and a late charge was there, called and was told too bad but we never received your payment, we are not responsible for the mail. I told them that the other 5 payments including my house payment made it to their destination and can't understand why Chase never goth theirs, Was told " SORYY BUT NO ONE HAS THE POWER TO REVERSE A LATE CHARGE - AND TO TOP IT OFF NOW THE RATE IS 9.49.. I was late paying my Sam's Cub Discover (GE CAPITAL) I called them told them I knew I was late and what to do (I pay it off every month and is the only card I use!!) The lady told me to hold on for a second - could hear her typing (more then I ever herd talking to CHASE) she asked me when I was going to pay ( I pay at my local Sam' Club or Walmart) I told her today GUESS WHAT???? THEY WILL WAIVE THE LATE CHARGE FOR GREAT CUSTOMERS - ONCE!!!
    I started a business a few years back and have played the balance transfer game since then - no new credit just transfer from 0% to 0% - pay the 3% upfront, but I guess Chase is not happy with a measly 3% upfront, now they throw your payment in the trash and sock you with a $39.00 late fee and move you from 0% to 9.49...
    No 1 time forgiveness - and I honestly feel THEY lost my payment on purpose!!! F U CHASE ...
    I will be giving out FREE GAS ON MY CARD SOON... Make sure the cameras can't get a plate number and -- OH hell call the fraud dept. ###. I have many cards I will make back the intrest they think they are making on me - and if I get caught I dont think they will want to take me to court, for the simple fact they will have the media to deal with...

    +1 Votes
  • A
      Aug 08, 2009

    this site is very discouraging as I just got stuck with a 39.00 late fee and my interest rate jacked up from 3% to 11.24%. My payment was posted 1 day late. 15 years being a customer, only 1 late payment in all those years. I too wrote a letter to Kelly Hanick, haven't heard a word and its been 2 weeks. I was hoping my efforts would maybe pay off for me but after reading all this it sounds like a waste of time.

    +1 Votes
  • B
      Aug 11, 2009

    Totally agree with all comments, and I found that Kelly Hanic is a Senior VP with customer service in Philadelphia. He is not even at the address in Ohio. This is a dummy address set up for complaints

    0 Votes
  • D
      Aug 12, 2009

    I agree with the above comments that Chase is extremely customer un-friendly. My experience is that I made a payment several days before the due date, but mistakenly rounded the payment the wrong way, thus short paying by $1.02; generating finance charges of $43. I received no cooperation from Customer Service when I called asking to have the charges waived, pointing out that my account was always paid in full on a timely basis, and more importantly pointing out how much in merchant fees my charges were generating for Chase; was told one supervisor was "on a conference call", left contact information with no return call, another supervisor told me did not have authority to do anything about my situation, I was forwarded to the voice mail of Customer Service Manager Angela Houska, left her my contact information, she did not return the call, instead sent me a letter stating finance charges were correctly computed since balance was not paid in full. Letter was self serving b.s. with "we value your business and want you to be completely satisfied. If we can help in any other way, please call the toll free number, we are here 24 hours a day to serve your credit card needs."

    I was also given Kelly Hanick's mailing address, I have written letters to him and to Houska, am skeptical of any action on their part. Best thing I can do is take my business elsewhere, the loss of the merchant fees they will no longer continue to get from my charges will dwarf the finance charges they squeezed out of me this one time, bad business decision on Chase's part, but you can't screw a customer and expect him to remain a customer.

    0 Votes
  • J
      Aug 12, 2009

    Wow, same experience here. I went over my limit by $3 inadvertently (Chase does NOT update your online account figures daily), thinking I was well within my limit. Cue the outrageous $39 fee.

    Same thing, after three hang ups by the Chase representatives, a referral to Mr. Hanick. The reps themselves were reasonably polite, but read from a script ("Thank you for your business, unfortunately, we are unable to do anything about over-limit fees here").

    I am not heartened by the seeming lack of responses received here from Hanick, but will write anyway.

    I am generally laissez-faire, but this is something wrong with these outrageous fees.

    0 Votes
  • J
      Aug 12, 2009

    I have been trying unsuccessfully to get the $39.99 late fee removed from my account and I have had similar experiences to everyone else whose complaints I've read. This is ridiculous. I will now write to Mr. Hanick at his home address, fully aware that I will not receive a response.
    I'd like to hear about the experiences of those who tried writing to Kally Hanick at his home.
    Thanks.

    0 Votes
  • A
      Aug 12, 2009

    actually i wouldnt do it. he could sue you for that. contact a lawyer first

    0 Votes
  • L
      Aug 13, 2009

    Oh I am SO SO Happy to find this site. I jsut got off the phone with Chase and am shaking with anger. I also got Kelly's PO box, but after working in customer service I am well aware that spending more of my time to write my issue down on paper is a complete waste. I found his email and new number

    +1.302.282.5226
    kelly.[protected]@chase.com

    I called the number and got his voice mail, but its about 2 Am on the East coast so I am not surprised. It was hid voicemail though which he stated his name.
    I also filed a complaint with the OCC (US Dept. of the treasury) here:

    http://www.helpwithmybank.gov/complaints/index.html

    Maybe if they get enough complaints they will do something.
    I would be embarrassed to work for a complany with such Scheisty business practices. I just look forward to the class action lawsuit that will inevitably ensue with their sneaky practices.

    0 Votes
  • L
      Aug 13, 2009

    I am SO SO happy to have found this site. I just got off the phone with Chase and was given the same spiel about how they are very sorry, but basically the situation is my fault. I was hit with the SAME situation as Jon Metcalf, but not only did they charge me the $78 returned payment fee, they also increased my APR from 11.9% to 27.4% I am shaking with anger right now. I had cancelled my old Chase bank account over a year ago and opened a new one with my husband. This whole year I had been making payments from the right account with no problems, but all of a sudden these past 2 months Chase somehow located this old account and is telling me that it is my fault that they could not locate the account. I went online to find this account to cancel the bad account and could not find it, how did Chase find it?
    What makes it worse is that they gave me the address of Kelly Hanick, but I am well aware I would be wasting my time and 42 cents in postage by mailing him. His is on Linkdin and Jigsaw. His email and real phone are:

    +1.302.282.5226
    kelly.[protected]@chase.com

    I called but it is 2 AM on the Eeast Coast so I was not surprised he didn't answer, but he did state his name on his voicemail.

    I also filed a complaint with the OCC (US Dept. of Treasury) here:

    http://www.helpwithmybank.gov/complaints/index.html

    Something has to change, it is SO wrong what is happening and I truly look forward to the Class action suits that will inevitably ensue with Chase's Scheisty business practices.

    0 Votes
  • R
      Aug 14, 2009

    Hey everybody,

    Just mailed a letter (direct, but non-threatening) to Kelly Hanick at his home address of :

    Kelly Hanick
    204 Sandy Flash Dr
    Kennet Square PA 19348

    Let's bombard his home mailbox with letters of complaint!

    0 Votes
  • C
      Aug 16, 2009

    I was late on a payment by 2 weeks. I had $100 left on the card and was going to pay it off. I received a late charge and all the accrued finance charge from my purchase. I called customer service and some person from India answered the phone. He wouldn’t help at all. I was told to mail this loser at Chase Kelly Hanick who won’t even read the mail and doesn’t give a damn. He makes his millions and we have to fight to get our hard earned money back that has been stolen by Chase. They lack value, morals, and care for their customers. I bank with them and will stop if I don’t get my money back. Did anyone get their money back?

    0 Votes
  • D
      Aug 20, 2009

    Everything that all of you have stated has really been a smack in the face. What was I thinking that this guy Kelly Hanick was going to help. What a jack...!! I hope he gets his soon and suffer like all of us common folks.

    0 Votes
  • J
      Aug 22, 2009

    can't say anything that hasn't already been said. how are they still in business? with this type of bad press, they can't be retaining or growing. it will catch up with them...wonder if there is an anti- Chase app on Facebook yet.

    0 Votes
  • A
      Aug 25, 2009

    Do not bank with this piss of shiet bank, they rip off people big time.. DOn do that.. becarfull.. They still my money.. big time, ..

    0 Votes

Post your comment