AirtelCallHome.comno customer care number active, website full of errors!

1
V

I recently purchased the Prepaid card from Airtel for making calls to India. They have great rate of 7.9 c per minute with a promotional offer of doubling your balance on the first purchase and the first recharge before Jan 1st and Jan 31st respectively. But what is the use of all this, when businesses rush in to cash in on the holiday season and come out with Applications that don't serve the purpose.

1) The website is error prone. It takes a long time to populate any dynamic data like my balance or my user account information.

2) I cannot register my number to make pinless call as it has been throwing the same error for the past two days.

3) I cannot get hold of a Customer Care representative through the Toll Free number they have published.

I think this is my last purchase from Airtel, if things don't get better by this week. I am going to stick with RelianceIndiaCall or some other provider.

Responses

  • Su
    Sudheer Gade Dec 14, 2006

    I have signed up for using Airtel calling cards on December 11th. The card offered substantial savings over the existing competitor rates. Now coming to the problem(s):

    1) I tried registering my phone number to use the pinless dialing feature using their website www.airtelcallhome.com, but due to some reason (the site actually says "cannot register due to some error") I had been unsuccessful in registering my number.

    2) I tried to contact their so-called 24/7 call center but to no avail. The number just wouldn't work(1-877-247-5150).

    3) I tried to register a complaint through their website it just wouldn't allow me to do it.

    Sometimes it gets onto my nerves, oops I almost forgot. The site let me pay the amount, it just worked fine.

    0 Votes
  • La
    LakshmiNarayanan Dec 14, 2006

    I fully agree with all the complaints by other members. These airtel guys are really cheating. When I registered with them the website gave me an error stating that the credit card transaction failed but still they charged my card. Unknowingly I had tried to register 3 times for $25 each and all have been charged to my account. Now neither my account is created nor have they provided me the minutes. This is fraud and some severe action must be taken against them. Their customer care number is always engaged and even if I get the line, I'm not able to speak with the customer care representative. Even they are not allowing me to register a complaint on their website. This is utter non-sense. They should understand that they are doing business in the US and should not cheat customers like this. Pls anyone tell me how should I gain back this money. Once I get it back I'll never turn back to airtel.

    0 Votes
  • To
    tootlehoo Dec 15, 2006

    Laxminarayan, even I am having the same problem with them. The have charged my credit card but not given me any user id/password. Now whenever I try to call them, their number is always busy. No reply to emails.

    I think someone should go ahead and sue them.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    Sharat Chandra Dec 15, 2006

    This is the Worst site I have ever seen. Airtel is ROBBING us. They are charging the credit cards but not giving any pin/ account number. The most frustrating part is, I received the message that transaction failed and credit card not charged, but then It is charged. They are THIEVES robbing our hard earned money. We should certainly sue that. Call center number does not work and Mail bounce back.

    0 Votes
  • Su
    Sunil Dec 15, 2006

    Same story.
    Credit card charged twice. incorrect registration info.no way to complain.cannot use service.
    $20 down the drain.
    IT IS A SCAM. DON'T USE THIS SERVICE

    0 Votes
  • Pr
    prasad Dec 15, 2006

    I wasted my money and time. I called customer service (could able to connect after so busy signals) and waited for nearly 1 hour to speak with CSR (I just waited to speak to them and to convey my anger ---lost all patience by then), lodged a complaint. More over CSR is saying (even through my credit card statement was showing that it paid to BHARTI AIRTEL), he did not see that and asking me contact my credit card company to get back that amount. What a waste of time and energy? Even they offer me FREE of calls to India, I never go for BHARTI AIRTEL this kind of scam. Beware others!

    0 Votes
  • Ek
    Ekambaranath Dec 15, 2006

    Recently I tried to register at this site, it's full of errors on registration, but the amount got deducted from my account with out any information. Even I sent couple of mail to their customer care mail ID and also submitted complaint on their website. Finally It's turned no use.The number given as 24X7 is never takes you to any service representative.It's waste of time to try on it.
    Finally I decided to take it to dispute on this.

    It's very bad to see the service of this company, when it tries to get base with international customers.
    Cheap thing never makes happy - this is bottom line.
    Reliance is good and I never face any problem either in service or quality. Happy to go back to Reliance, even though it is 5 cents more. It brings more smiles on face.

    0 Votes
  • Sr
    Srinivas Gopalan Dec 15, 2006

    AIRTEL SUCKS BIG TIME. Since the first time it gave an error message that the registration is unsuccessful, I tries the second time with another credit card. Guess what it failed again but my Credit card was charged in both instances. Lost $50 down the drain. Is there a way to file complaint against these guys. From my Amex card charge, I came to know this payment was sent by Paypal to some place in San Jose. It was sent to:

    PAYPAL PRO
    2145 HAMILTON AVE
    SAN JOSE CA 95125
    USA

    Can some one confirm if this is a real address and if so can we complain through Paypal.

    Thanks.

    0 Votes
  • Vi
    Vijay Reddy Dec 15, 2006

    I had the same problem, I have signed up with $25.00, and registration was not successful, and Airtel charged my credit card. Called the customer care no, but it doesn't work.

    0 Votes
  • Ki
    Kiku Dec 15, 2006

    I have seen my patience level going hay way after useless trials to register at AirtelCallHome.com. Its a pathetic service brought by INDIA's leading Telecom company Bharti.

    I have nearly tried around 15 times to register at their site seeing the promotional offer it was providing. Obviously cheaper service means saving some extra bucks to stay tuned to our folks in INDIA. But, this calling service has gone beyond that. It neither provided registration and robbed our hard earned money. There is a sentimental and emotional disrupt with this stupid service of airtel. I am planning to complain about this to the US Regulatory board. If everyone supports then Airtel is finished. The plight will end even though we don't get our money back, but, at least have the satisfaction that they have been closed.
    A high profile company in INDIA doesn't pay to lose their market here in the US.

    thanks,
    -K

    0 Votes
  • Si
    sirshendu nath Dec 15, 2006

    Same story here.
    Registered for 25 dollar.
    Card charged.
    Did not received any account info.
    Cannot get customer service.

    What a shame!

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Roger Dec 15, 2006

    Same story, wasted $50.00!

    I wasted several hours to connect to the 877-247-5150 and never got hold of any csr.

    I must have sent 10 emails to complain their service but, not a single one get response.
    This is nothing but fraud.

    Please spread the word to all your friends and family members.

    0 Votes
  • Uk
    uk Dec 15, 2006

    I registered , got billed in my credit card but never go any email about the user id. As a result i cannot even login to the web site. Their customer service number is always busy.

    Have been using relianceindiacall for about 2 years without any such problems.

    Stay Away from Airtel.

    0 Votes
  • At
    Atul Jadhav Dec 15, 2006

    The website is horrible. After signing showed me failure of credit card and deducted money twice from my account.

    Keep away, dangerous!

    0 Votes
  • Du
    Durga Dec 15, 2006

    I went to http://www.airtelworld.com/. There I found a banner for this stupid site. Its seems this site is holds by airtel only. So there is an address for us to claim our money.

    0 Votes
  • Dr
    dr shiv dhawan Dec 15, 2006

    I agree, I registered on 15th December 2006. there was supposed to be a special offer of double talk time. For $10 i was supposed to get 250 minutes of talk time- but got only 125 minutes. the web page does not open nor does anyone answer the helpline.

    Can someone get Sunil Bharti Mittal's e-mail id and send him a e-mail directly telling him he is running a fraud?

    Surely we have lawyers and attorneys in to this who can advise on how to sue Airtel.

    Shiv Dhawan

    0 Votes
  • La
    Lakshman Dec 16, 2006

    100% agreed!

    Me, another victim for this and one more of my friend. Airtel really made a bad mark in this business. They have given enough mental & economical pressure to the persons who ever had registered with them.

    For whoever is ready to take legal actions against them, you can count on me.

    Thanks
    Lakshman

    0 Votes
  • Na
    Navin Dec 16, 2006

    Hi all,

    I registered yesterday for 100$, they charged my Credit Card bus still I didn't get my user id... Now whenever I try to call them, their number is always busy. No reply to emails.

    I think someone should go ahead and sue them.

    0 Votes
  • Va
    Varada Dec 16, 2006

    Guys, can we get together and do something about this? I just got cheated my self. Same issues you guys ran into, no username/password. Registration is unsuccessful. The toll free number is busy. Sick product to seel on the web. Big time cheater. Please beware all your friends. Don't spend a dollar on this one. IT SUCKS!

    0 Votes
  • Vi
    Vijay Dec 16, 2006

    This is blatant fraud. I was charged $50 from my credit card and I am unable to use the same. It says dial the registered number which I do not understand nor when I try to register it says error. Some times it even does not allow to login and says ID or password incorrect.

    This is really fraud on us we should all try to take a severe action on them.
    Probably this is the way Suni Bharathi Mittal became a member of top 10 Indians.

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    sambasiva rao Dec 16, 2006

    Guys,

    I am registered for $100 yesterday night. but i didn't get user id and password to my mail id. Its very bad service. I tried to call them from morning onwords no response from customer care.

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    Rahul singh Dec 16, 2006

    Airtel is cheating people. It is true that the Website is full of errors after the registration has done. I am loosing $25. I just want to sue the Airtel.
    Also they have our credit card details with them.
    It is shame on Airtel.
    We want our money back!

    0 Votes
  • Ya
    yasmeen Dec 16, 2006

    Airtelcallhome.com is scam. My registration failed, inspite of that i was charged. please, please don't sign up!

    AIRTEL CALL HOME IS CHEAT!

    0 Votes
  • Bh
    Bhargava Hukunda Dec 16, 2006

    Screwed up website ...... Lousy service .... I used my debit card and registered twice and got charged both the times ..... I have been trying to reach the supposedly 24 hr customer service line 1 877 247 5150 and it does not go through. The complaint form on the website does not submit and if it submits, i get a ### auto mailer with some junk in it and telling that they will get back!

    Seems like sunil mittal is enrolling subscribers like this and making his money.

    Pleeeeeeassssssssse ... Pleaaaaaaaaaseeee .. Do not sign up .......

    Even if we are paying 4 cents extra with reliance india call ... I now think that they are much much better and more responsive .....

    Am really pissed off with airtel ... And just holding back all the fowl language :((((

    0 Votes
  • Ar
    arunim Dec 16, 2006

    Guys i agree with u ..... i didn't read the board before i tried registration and now i am repenting !! the registration failed .... but as of now my card has not being charged ...lets see what happens .... the Customer care sucks big time .... the only thing i would suggest is "DON'T GO THE COMPANY NAME".

    0 Votes
  • As
    Ashish Dec 16, 2006

    Airtel Sucks big time!!!!
    Awful website, Nothing works @ the first attempt except the amount paid.. to them.
    1-877-247-4047 number takes days to get connected.....
    And May be some one can ask Mittal What is his definition of pinless dialing....Hopeless!!! May be he only knows how to register the phone number to his website. I flushed $20 down... :-(

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    Parthasarathi Sengupta Dec 16, 2006

    I signed up with Airtel yesterday, and touch wood, I haven't had any problems with them. I'm quite happy with their service.

    0 Votes
  • Ni
    NishantKumar Dec 17, 2006

    I recently purchased the Prepaid card from Airtel for making calls to India. The following problem I am facing:

    1) The website is error prone. It takes a long time to populate any dynamic data like my balance or my user account information.

    2) I cannot register my number to make pinless call as it has been throwing the same error for the past 7 days. From today I am not even able to access my online account. It is saying Invalid user and password.

    3) I cannot get hold of a Customer Care representative through the Toll Free number they have published. Either number is busy or its not connecting at all or keeping on hold for full 1 hour with no attention.
    4) I am not able to make any call so far.
    5) No response to my query and concerns.

    I think this is my last purchase from Airtel, if things don't get better by this week. I am going to stick with RelianceIndiaCall or some other provider.

    0 Votes
  • Ga
    gaurav agrawal Dec 17, 2006

    I've purchased a card yesterday and they have not yet send me my email in which i have my pin .... it's like what the hell .... i m screwed ... i want my money back .....

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Cherrie Dec 17, 2006

    This website sucks bigtime, i got registered and charged on my credit card too, but did not receive any email, tried calling form my registered ph no. but dont have a pin. its such a pain in the neck to try a 100 times but the customer service no. doesn't work.

    This is a fraud, didn't expect this from airtel. i have been using reliance for past 6 months but without any issues.

    0 Votes
  • Ki
    Kishore Jetty Dec 17, 2006

    Me too fell in this trap. We should take some preventive action now to warn other people. If anyone of you have got hold to media people back in India, it would be helpful to send the information to them so that they can circulate this to others.

    It should send some alert signals to Airtel brand.

    0 Votes
  • Ab
    AB Dec 17, 2006

    This is true. I have faced the similar situation. The website mentions other countries, but none of the other country name shows in the alphabetical list. Who has even permitted them to start a service without verifying their service quality. This is nothing short of public harassment and publically looting people. The Mittals should be taken to task by the Govt of India.

    0 Votes
  • Su
    suresh babu datla Dec 18, 2006

    Hi, this is another victim of airtel. For the last one week, i have been trying to get back my stolen money. Mails and phone-calls lead to mere waste of time. I wish someone who is aware of the legal process would come forward and initiate the fight. Issue is not about losing 25$ or 50$, its about being cheated...

    0 Votes
  • Vj
    VJ Dec 18, 2006

    Same story. Got dinged by aitel with my credit card charged, but no service provided. Tried contacting their toll free number, but to no avail. No responses to e-mails sent. Man, what a day light robbery this is. I plan to complain to the FTC, state attorney general, better business bureau and any body else willing to listen. Planning to advertise this in the NDTV message boards. I have also contacted the NDTV eyewitness alerting them about this scam. Spread the word around folks.

    0 Votes
  • An
    Anty Dec 18, 2006

    I completely agree with all negative comments about Airtel callhome, posted here. I registered for this service next day of launch. At the end of registration I got a message that, some error in registration, so registration is not successful. But along with that i got another message "Login with your registered phone number" When i tried, I got a message "Invalid userID".

    I am shocked to notice that my account is charged for non existing service.

    Today I made my 100th try to contact customer service. Truly speaking, its non-existing. The number is disconnected. First one or two days number was working, someone answered the call. They didn't know anything about service or how it works. After sometime number also not working.

    Also I sent my 7th mail to customer care. No reply.

    Is anyone aware where to register official compliant for this.

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    Mohit Virendra Dec 18, 2006

    Yes, I agree. I have faced the same problem.

    I purchased an Airtel CallHome plan at 6:30 pm EST on Dec 16th.

    (1) I did not get a confirmation email.
    (2) I also cannot access my account online using the
    username and password. I am getting an "invalid username/password" error.
    (3) I cannot make calls using this plan.
    (4) Their Customer Care number (1-877-247-5150) is not working.
    (5) My credit card has been charged for $25

    Mohit

    0 Votes
  • Vi
    Vimal Purohit Dec 18, 2006

    I heard that it is cheaper card to call India and decided to try. Hence I try to register myself. But it failed, so i tried again and it failes. I tried again and failed. Means I tried three times and failed all three times. All times i got message that Credit card validation failure. Now all of sudden I get message from airtelcallhome.com about my 3 registration. And they charged my credit cards. So please do not try again if your registration process failed after proving credit card information.

    0 Votes
  • Ku
    Kumar Dec 18, 2006

    Looks like most of them here are frustrated about the airtel registration/ credit card being charged and no email being sent.

    I had the same problem too. I tried three times to register and finally it went thru and unfortunately the email they sent out goes to the junk mail folder. Three user/id was created for me since i registered 3 times. I just used one account and I transfered the balance amount from each account to the last one that i use thru online.

    I have been using the service for few days and the call quality is as good reliance. There is not easy dial option with them so you have to type the whole number. Customer service number is always busy.

    0 Votes
  • Ki
    Kishore Kumar Dec 18, 2006

    Airtel..cheating Indians..bloody Airtel..i lost my valuable money..these type of service providers should be banned!!I didn't even get mail from this and i was unable to login and don't the 10 digit code and password..bloody Bharti-Airtel..### Off...

    0 Votes
  • Si
    Sivaram Dec 19, 2006

    Guys, I am providing the registration information of www.airtelcallhome.com website. I thought it might be useful for some one who is willing to call them directly.

    Here are the details. ( These Details are retrived from http://www.networksolutions.com/whois/index.jsp )


    Registration Service Provided By: SM SOLUTIONS
    Contact: +91.9818434801

    Domain Name: AIRTELCALLHOME.COM

    Registrant:
    Bharti Airtel Limited
    Anubha Arora ([email protected])
    H-5/12, Qutub Ambiemce
    Mehrauli Road
    new delhi
    Delhi,110030
    IN
    Tel. +91.01244132222

    Creation Date: 01-Sep-2006
    Expiration Date: 01-Sep-2007

    Domain servers in listed order:
    ns1.comsatmax.com
    ns2.comsatmax.com


    Administrative Contact:
    Bharti Airtel Limited
    Anubha Arora ([email protected])
    H-5/12, Qutub Ambiemce
    Mehrauli Road
    new delhi
    Delhi,110030
    IN
    Tel. +91.01244132222

    Technical Contact:
    Bharti Airtel Limited
    Anubha Arora ([email protected])
    H-5/12, Qutub Ambiemce
    Mehrauli Road
    new delhi
    Delhi,110030
    IN
    Tel. +91.01244132222

    Billing Contact:
    Bharti Airtel Limited
    Anubha Arora ([email protected])
    H-5/12, Qutub Ambiemce
    Mehrauli Road
    new delhi
    Delhi,110030
    IN
    Tel. +91.01244132222

    Status:ACTIVE

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    In The News

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem