The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Webrootfraud and cheating

J

I renewed my subscription to Webroot Virus protection. They placed me on automatic renewal, of my subscription, without my permission. They offered a website to click on to get this removed. I tried and tried to get this removed. They kept demanding more information. Finally I never got a response when I clicked on one of their buttons. I called them and was never able to talk to talk to anybody.

I got a run around and a persons voice kept telling me how they were protecting me by making my renewal automatic. They also said I would be given a notice and plenty of time to reject their offer before my next renewal. We both know that after pulling what they have that they can't be trusted to do this.

At this stage I want a refund and nothing to do with these people. I read what the Aussie said about never getting a refund from these people, I have not asked for a refund but I am sure I would get the run around from these thugs if I did.. I do want to put some other protection and get them out of my computer before I proceed. Please advise me how to proceed.

Responses

  • Ri
    Rick Perla May 02, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I also have a complaint. I was unable to download a renewal. Called them, some tech person came onto my computer afer giving him permission. Did a super scan(scam) saying I had some virus, and it would cost $250 or $399 . I believe this is a major scam, I had use webroot many years. No More.

    0 Votes
  • Ge
    george95 Jan 28, 2016

    i have no idea who they are, ... just got a charge and the customer service guy is incapable and the manager's gone home for the day, at 4:00, ... total fraud

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    JohnStud Nov 07, 2015

    Wow, you all had RIDICULOUS complaints. I've had Webroot for 4 years now. Eight days ago I received a notice saying my subscription would be renewed in ten days. Today, I got online, chatted with a professional and he sent me the link to get off the automatic renewal process. Put my serial number in, the automatic renewal came off my web console in less than 2 minutes. Done. The things the people above are complaining about lead me to believe they are sharing the SAME brain cells... Get into the year 2015 people... Everything is electronic.

    0 Votes
  • Ji
    jimnic Sep 29, 2015

    What a scam! After buying webroot on line, i went in circles trying to download the product only to find out after 60 mins in a chat, that it takes 2 days for my credit card to clear so i cannot download the product until then!!! Does not state this anywere.

    Scam. Buy at walmart mccaffey at least you get it installed right away!

    0 Votes
  • No
    nothinseasy Jul 01, 2015

    Webroot did not send any emails to me prior to renewal. Contrary to what the shill said above, burying in all that "legal crap" an auto renewal provision is probably illegal; why he thinks it's fine and good and it's our fault... like I said he's probably a shill. I don't even expect that companies are holding on to my credit card information. I was frankly shocked when this happened.

    0 Votes
  • Bl
    Bluefish44 Jun 03, 2014

    I had the same bad experience as others did above. Previous to the latest versions, I just bought the window washer program and it worked fine--there wasn't all this other stuff attached to it that I didn't need/ want. I HAVE virus protection, thank you. All I want is the ability to overwrite old data and make deleted data space available for use.

    Anyone know of a program that will do just that? Also one that will work to overwrite data from all the major browsers, including Opera and Chrome?

    0 Votes
  • Ic
    iceblast May 07, 2013

    I own a computer repair shop. I clean viruses off computers everyday. I have been using Spy Sweeper, now Webroot for about 15 years. I have install it well over a thousand times. I have never had a problem with a key code, or billing problem that they didn't take care of right a way. Just call them up, give them your keycode or name, or email address. They will pull up the info and they will correct the problem. I have had them just give me a new keycode by email to solve the problem.

    Webroot has always been the best protection for your computer. Their current version is faster and smaller then everyone else's. It's really good for old machines that don't have the ram or cpu power. Because Webroot has such a small resource foot print. With newer machines, you won't notice any impact on your computers performance.

    The version of Webroot that came out before this one, was good protection, but not a good program. It was very bulky. It started slow, and it could have problems installing and uninstalling. I wasn't really happy with it. It worked fine for me. Because I know how to keep my computer clean and running probably. But average computer users had problems. I know, because I had to tackle those problems. Even with the problems that version had, I still recommended it. Because I know all the other protection programs out there. I've seen how poorly they protection my customers machines.

    I never trust email for problems. I just pick up the phone and call the company. Talk to a person, and usually the problem is solved.

    If your copy expires uninstall it, if you have a problem doing that, download the Webroot Removal Program, and have it uninstall it. It seems every expired version of protection out there can cause problems if you don't uninstall it after it expires. Also, before you renew a copy, you should uninstall and reinstall it. Fresh install, with new key. Otherwise, you might run into a problem.

    If you are worried about a auto-renewal, just buy it from the store, not from Webroot themselves. That way they don't have a credit card number, and they can't run a auto-renewal program on your copy. It's better to look for the best deal on a new copy of Webroot each year, then do a auto-renewal. Also, I wouldn't by it from Best Buy. You could by a copy from them, brand new in a unopened box, and when you install it, the key code might already be uses, or expired. It's usually a special copy made for Best Buy, Best Buy will appear in the installation process.

    Webroot is the best protection out there. Bitdefender doesn't work very well in hostile environments. It usually takes 45mins to do a update, and scans can take hours. If they even complete. I don't understand how this program is listed as number one when it's just crap software. For one month I installed the free trial on my customers computers, but Webroot didn't have a free trial that I could use at that time, and Bitdefender was giving 30 days free. My customers didn't have any protection worth calling protection, and I usually install a free trial of Webroot, since I couldn't do that. I installed what was suppose to be the number one protection program on the market. For one month I installed Bitdefender, and most of the time I had to uninstall it, or couldn't install it at all. Bitdefender requires 1gb of ram to install. Which makes it a huge resource hog. older systems slowed down big time. You could feel this programs impact on every computer I installed it on. It was making me look bad. Because the computers were lagging. Then I found a new trial program for Webroot and dropped Bitdefender in the trash can. The only way they are number one, is they paid the review to put it there. Webroot has always been the best. But nothing is prefect.

    So, if you want the best protection buy Webroot.

    0 Votes
  • Do
    dodgehemi59 Mar 04, 2013

    webroot is the biggest rip off ever cancel last year lost 60.00 dollars and called them and canceled over phone and they hit me agim for 60.00 more this week just cancl agin dont get hung with this company

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    Jupasto Oct 02, 2012

    I just got a notice as well to renew my "uninterrupted Protection". Well screw Webroot. They canceled my Window Washer program so that it no longer worked so I wasn't even using their damn software.

    Webroot is a not an upright and forthcoming company and I'd discourage people from using their software!

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    Rainmann Jun 25, 2012

    Last night I too found 90 day old emails in a spam email folder from Webroot about the automatic renewal. I did the usual searches and read many, many complaints. Even found a form online to apply for a refund, but it was limited to 70 days and I was over that limit. Today I called the customer service number, hold time no more than 5 minutes. A young lady answered, asked my email address, and in a minute got approval for a full refund in my case. I don't work for Webroot or even know anyone that does, but I'm very thankful they are not the thieves described by so many others. I'm not a fan of any automatic renewal fine print, but Webroot did right by me just the same.

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    Rainmann Jun 25, 2012

    Last night I too found 90 day old emails in a spam email folder from Webroot. I did the usual searches and read many, many complaints. Found a form online to apply for a refund, but it was limited to 70 days and I was over that limit. Today I called the customer service number, hold time no more than 5 minutes. A young lady answered, asked my email address, and got approval for a full refund in my case. I don't work for Webroot or even know anyone that does, but I'm very thankful they are not the thieves described by so many others. I'm not a fan of any automatic renewal fine print, but Webroot did right by me just the same.

    0 Votes
  • Du
    Dusk Nov 12, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    i agree that the auto renewal is a pain but it was quite simple for me to cancel it. when they send you the email with the warning about the renewal it has a link in that email to go to a page (http://updates.webroot.com/autorenewal/auto_renewal_optout.php) to cancel renewal. all it asks for is the keycode which for me was also right in the renewal warning email.

    1 Votes
  • Ro
    Roksolid01 May 31, 2011

    This showed up today. I had absolutly no idea i was on an automatic renewal and never have been on one in the past with software without being clearly notified! They are crooks.
    PU WEBROOT SOFTWAR PND ($43.65)

    0 Votes
  • Pl
    pljnw Apr 21, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This is what I did. We were sent an email by Webroot about a week ago -- stating Spy Sweeper had been automatically renewed. We had no way of declining, and tried every email and phone number available to us, but it was like a catch 22. So... I posted a complaint on Twitter, and within minutes, I received a tweet back, asking for our email or phone number via DM. For those who are not familiar DM is a direct message that is private to the public. I kept on top of it -- and continued to tweet publically. I was reassured we would get a reversal on the renewal and our credited the fee. Within a few days we had a credit from Webroot. They followed through ASAP. In a nutshell, Tweeting can be the most damaging to their reputation, as well as Facebook, but I'm not on FB. I did have our daughter post something about the scam, but she is private, so only her friends saw it. Had I not gotten satisfaction via Twitter, I would have signed up for a FB account and made it wide open, just to post a comment about Webroot tactics. I didn't have to do that. Good luck people. If you are persistent, I think you will get your money back. You just have to go public. This forum is good too, but apparently not enough if you have not had results.

    1 Votes
  • Jo
    JoeWT12 Apr 05, 2011

    I was aware of the opportunity to cancel the service before renewal, and I DID, a FULL 3 months before the date! I have an email from them telling me I canceled my account and that I wouldn't be charged when renewal time came around. Guess what? When the renewal date came around they charged my card away! COMPLETE SCAM!!!

    0 Votes
  • Wh
    WhoDat! Mar 11, 2011

    Call the Better Business Bureau, (BBB) that's what I did. They are a bunch of crooks.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Joe105 Sep 02, 2010

    Webroot may have a fantastic product, but one thing I now for certain: Their "customer service" is HORRIBLE. They will either placeyou on hold for upwards of an hour or more- literally- in order ot correct a problem which they have caused, or prompt you to use their "paid professional service." They do not return phone calls when promised nor emails (ie: "We'll have a supervisor call you back within an hour") .

    The way they treat you as a customer alone is reason enough to shop for a competitors product. Even though I have a year and a half left on my "subscription, " I intend to uninstall everything Webroot and move on. Their customer service stinks.

    0 Votes
  • Sc
    Scott555 Jul 07, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I just got charged $80 out of the blue. I got several overdrafts due to it. I had NO e-mails warning me prior to this charge. It may be in their agreement in the beginning but if that was the only warning they are WAY shady. They know most people never read those. Very upsetting. I really liked their software but this whole thing has left a bitter taste in my mouth. I will NOT be buying any more of their products in the future. And will go out of my way to warn others about them. Can somebody say class action lawsuit?!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ad
    Ada.Busybee Jul 07, 2010

    I have to agree with all of the comments made here. "Been there, done that." We finally got through on [protected] and canceled with just the email address.
    I will add one more thing, TREND antivirus was pre-installed on a laptop we bought from BEST BUY on their recommendation.

    0 Votes
  • Ta
    Tamml May 30, 2010

    WebRoot came "free" for 6 months with my computer as part of a bundle deal from Best Buy. I tried to refuse it at time of purchase, but the sales associate talked me into it, saying it would just expire after 6 months, anyway. Turns out the version they sold me isn't even compatible with my laptop, nor would it let me completely uninstall it. 6 months later I noticed a withdrawal from my account, not from WebRoot, but from the Best Buy where I purchased it. They must have some kind of deal. I am especially pissed because I didn't even pay with my debit card; I paid with cash. They refused the sale without credit card info for "security reasons". I am between jobs right now, and this came at the worst possible time. The $42.50 they took left me with a mere $4 in my account. I feel completely scammed.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    California people Apr 07, 2010

    I also got a auto renewal charge. I just file for a refund under this link.

    http://www.webroot.com/consumerservice/refund.php

    1 Votes
  • Ke
    Ken Black Apr 04, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Although Bob Roberts info on the "uninterrupted protection" language in the software agreement allowing the auto-renewals seems plausible and explains why I received an auto-renewal notice today from webroot, I think it's a shady practice, and these ridiculous accept/don't accept software agreements are part of what's wrong with our culture! I mean, the majority of your typical computer users do not read these statements. The statements are on every update and install we do, often because we are told we are at risk if we don't, and this can number over a hundred a year. If you actually try to read one (because, you know, it's what "you're supposed to do!"), it's a lot of overly complicated boring legal-ize lingo that typically will (1) prohibit you from giving the software free to others (2) tell you that they are not responsible if their software eats and destroys your computer and/or data, and (3) um...I already forgot because I would usually nod off after reading the first part of the agreement!

    But, strangely, (though not unexpectedly), if you talk to any lawyer, legal aide, teacher, corporate lackey, or software company employee, you are told that you should absolutely stop and read this garbage every time you see it! I mean, it IS a legally binding document!

    Oh, and what options do you have anyways? If you stopped your busy life to try and read the language, and then said "I disagree", then you cannot install the product. And what if you bought this PC software over the counter. You know, the software that you cannot get a refund on if you open the package. Doesn't matter if it does not work on your system, or if you disagree with their software license. You simply cannot get your money back if your open it!

    Where are the consumer rights in this screwed up arrangement?

    I'm worried that this is the type of time wasting disconnect that is dragging the modern age down. The more we live in a fantasy land where we are supposed to do something that 95% of us do not do, the more stressful our lives become.

    Sorry to rant on this issue. But, I've been fascinated by computers since they first became available for consumers. But I am ticked off that the industry (and of course an overly litigious society) have so screwed up the computer software industry with the legal language and no (no! not ever!) return policies.

    Thank you, and Good Night!

    0 Votes
  • Jc
    jc2020 Feb 11, 2010

    These people are cheats. I got cheated too and think this company deserves to go bankrupt and the owner and their children deserves the same in return (what goes around comes around).

    0 Votes
  • El
    elrod the avenger Jan 20, 2010

    This has been my experience. I honestly think this thing has become little more than a sophisticated fraud shop. They don't explain the many ways their programs don't work. They add on charges after you agree to a purchase.
    A rock bottom scam. I would be deeply ashamed to be associated with this hunk of junk garbage peddling swindle. I don't understand how they stay in business.

    0 Votes
  • Ou
    out there Jan 19, 2010

    Yes this is a bunch of #&%@ that they are pulling. Hope someone has reported this to the Government fraud watchers to get this stopped. I two was just waiting for my two year subscription to run out in Dec. 2009 so I could just remove this junk so-called protection that did little if anything for me. My computer got so corrupted with junk that I was suppose to be protected from a computer tech. had to wipe it clean and start me all over and helped me then download a free protection from AVIRA that works so much better then what I had paid for through webroot. Bill W.

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    SadSue Dec 30, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    DO YOUR RESEARCH!! DO NOT BUY A WEBROOT SUBSCRIPTION!! DO NOT GET INVOLVED WITH SUCH A SLEAZY COMPANY. MY YEARLY SUBSCRIPTION DOES NOT END UNTIL A WEEK FROM NOW AND WHAT DID I GET IN MY INBOX? AN AUTO-RENEWAL THAT I DID NOT AUTHORIZE. I TRIED TO CALL NUMEROUS TIMES TO NO AVAIL I MUST HAVE E-MAILED CUSTOMER SUPPORT 10 TIMES BEFORE I GOT A REPLY. QUICK WAS THE COMPANY TO YANK MONEY FROM MY ACCOUNT WITHOUT MY KNOWLEDGE, BUT HOW SLOW THEY WERE TO CONNECT WITH A DISTRAUGHT CUSTOMER.

    FIND OUT IF OTHER COMPANIES USE SUCH A SHAMEFUL, SNEAKY TACTIC TO BILL YOU WHEN YOUR SUBSCRIPTION NEARLY ENDS. IF YOU KNOW THAT THEY DO NOT, PLEASE LIST THOSE COMPANIES HERE FOR ALL OF US TO GAIN FAITH IN GOOD BUSINESS PRACTICES AGAIN.

    0 Votes
  • Ba
    bamatina09 Dec 17, 2009

    When a company "hides" terms in little print and buries the "auto renewal" in the middle of massive pages that they know customers won't read, they are not wanting customers to see it, period! Therefore, even though we buy the service and they never offer up the "auto renewal" function on the main purchase screen, their practice is being underhanded and sneaky. I don't appreciate it at all whatsoever and they will no longer get my business. Taking someone's money without permission is stealing, pure and simple. Whatever legal terms you can fluff it up or color it up with makes no difference to me. Stealing is stealing! One thing is certain, they will reap what they sow.

    0 Votes
  • To
    Tom Martello Dec 02, 2009

    They take your money and do not renew the subscription. No amount of complaints will alter the situation, save your money there are other things out there, free and cheaper.

    0 Votes
  • To
    Tom Martello Dec 02, 2009

    In short, they take your money give you a receipt and then tell you that you have to renew, as your subscription has run out. I complain, get a ticket with a number, contact them with further informatio 3 times, still no reply. The phone help is only for the usa not Australia and I cannot afford to wait 20 minutes or more on long distance calls, but you cannot complain about the service, as there ain't any.
    Tom

    0 Votes
  • Ed
    Edeeot Sep 08, 2009

    I called the number as indicated by individual above and it worked like a champ, they asked for my email and removed the account from their records to not be charged.

    0 Votes
  • Dj
    djprco Aug 16, 2009

    Hillar, you really think that I could just call my credit card company (Amex) in my country (Croatia), and that they will cancelled charge from Webroot??? How will I prove them, that I didn't give my permission for charging my account? I can try, but it's funny way...

    0 Votes
  • Hi
    Hillar Aug 02, 2009

    All you have to do is call your credit card Co. and file for a chargeback

    0 Votes
  • Sp
    speaker2007 Jul 20, 2009

    all i have to say is webroot stinks and i wouldn't advise anyone to subscribe to it. Their customer support is terrible.

    1 Votes
  • Rl
    R. L. O. Jul 04, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Be aware, Bob Roberts, who wrote the nice paragraphs about Webroot, is one of their employee. I renewed my subscription in January 2009, it would expire 1 year later. I immediately got warnings my subscription had expired. I reloaded software but soon the same thing happened. I filed a complaint. They gave me a program to run to gather data and send them. It did not work so I uploaded the data to them manually. They refused to answer me after that. After 6 months of problems, I uninstalled it.

    Their CEO died about 1 year ago. He was the brains behind the company. Since then I feel they have gone downhill. Do not buy any Webroot products. There are better solutions out there.

    R. O.

    1 Votes
  • Su
    SuperVepr Jul 02, 2009

    Uhhhh huh huh

    0 Votes
  • Su
    SuperVepr Jul 02, 2009

    Uhhh, huh, huh, uhhhhh you said root. Uhhh huh huh

    1 Votes
  • An
    Another Utah Guy Jul 02, 2009

    I've installed literally thousands of software programs and never once have there been an "automatic renewal" provision. This is definitely a crooked company out to rip off not just anyone - *their paying customers*. I haven't resolved the issue yet but believe me - I won't be stuck with the charges.

    0 Votes
  • Ut
    UtahGuy Jun 27, 2009

    The autorenew policy of Webroot Software is in clear violation of Utah Code
    Title 15 Chapter 10 - Service Contracts Act*.


    Specifically:

    ========================================================================================

    *[protected]. Notice requirement.

    *(1) A service contract may not contain an automatic renewal provision
    unless the seller provides the consumer written notice complying with
    Subsection (2) that informs the consumer of the automatic renewal provision.
    (2) (a) The seller shall provide the written notice required under
    Subsection (1) to the consumer:
    (i) personally;
    (ii) by certified mail; or
    (iii) prominently displayed on the first page of a monthly statement.

    ========================================================================================

    People move. They change their email addresses. Notice of automatic renewal via email is insufficient to protect the consumer, especially when they were forced into the agreement to begin with.

    Other states have similar 'automatic renewal' provisions. Contact your Attorney General with your complaint.

    As long as Webroot is making a profit from you, they won't stop.

    Very shady business practice.

    1 Votes
  • Ma
    Malcolm Pickwell Jun 07, 2009

    I have been charged twice for my subscription I can't get them to reverse the entry, they did credit back and then cancelled my sugscription saying I only paid once

    0 Votes
  • Bo
    Bob Roberts May 27, 2009

    I just need to reiterate this. While I think it is a shady practice, Webroot did not, at any time, charge ANY PERSON, "without permission."

    When you sign up for their product you agree to automatic renewal. You know when you install the software and it says END USER LICENSE AGREEMENT and a bunch of legal crap. You clicked on "I agree to these terms" when installing the program. If you took 5 minutes to read what you were agreeing to, you would have seen that Automatic Renewal (or as Webroot terms it "uninterrupted protection") is part of what you agreed to.

    Again, by clicking I AGREE and installing the product, you DID give Webroot permission, whether you know it or not.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.