The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Walmart Money Cardverification process

I purchased a walmart moneycard week of June 24 for my daughter to use while I am underway. I originally set the card up in her name and the system told me she had to be 18, so I put it in my name. And set up a direct deposit (allotment) to the card. The verification process questions asked me questions about my ex- in-laws whom I had not communicated with in over 20 yrs. So, since I did not know the information that the questions ask, I answered them honestly and selected not known or whatever the last choice for the 3 questions where. Then on July 5, I purchased a monypak card and tried to load the moneycard and it had me call a representative. They told me that I was not verifiable, my card is placed on hold to exhaust my balance, and that I am banned from every purchasing a walmart moneycard. I explained to the representative that the questions that where asked did not pertain to me and that the questions where unjust, I have not communicated with my ex-in-laws in over 20 years. She told me that the questions come from a data bank and that they ask questions related to people in my family. So heads up to those of us who are divorced and still caring your spouse last name!!! In a since we have to keep in touch with our ex-in-laws so that you can be verified to get a prepaid card!!!

Walmart needs to update their system!! Because this is ridiculous!! Now I have to cancel the allotment, and get her another card from ANOTHER BUSINESS, so that she will have the funds she needs while I am underway!!! In short WALMART MONEYCARDS VERIFCATION SYSTEM IS OUTDATED AND NEEDS SOME WORK DONE TO IT!!!

Responses

  • Da
    dara frieden Feb 15, 2016

    I bought this card last YEAR FOR TAXES... last year when my money got put on card there was a block put on it I had to upload my id to there websit.. it was pose to take two days to unblock my card, it took weeks... now this year my card has been blocked again... now iv done all the steps again and its been fore days and the block still has not been moved but when it does and it will by the grace of god I will no longer be a walmart card holder...to me its a scam that you trust people with your lump some of money just for them to block you out from using your own stuff...someone needs to do there job and unblock my card sincerely dara frieden

    0 Votes
  • Case#sf551083

    0 Votes
  • Ki
    Kimberly mundy Feb 26, 2015

    My name is Kimberly Mundy I tried to use my Walmart card, and it decline at the register I called Walmart customer service and a woman told me I need to upload my driver's license to verify who I am

    0 Votes
  • St
    Steptoe Feb 15, 2015

    My name is Elliott Steptoe I tried to use my Walmart card, and it decline at the register I called Walmart customer service and a woman told me I need to upload my driver's license to verify who I am

    Comments

    0 Votes
  • Sp
    Spike10 Feb 12, 2015

    It is my understanding that the "questions" are for your benefit not theirs. They have no way of knowing that your sisters name was "Betty". All you need to do is make sure that whatever letters you type in as an answer when set up your account, you also always use for the same verification answer. Be it "Betty" or "faucet" or "12:45". Their computer is only interested in ensuring that the same letters are used regardless of what they are. The use of family names / addresses is so that you recall the answer with ease.

    0 Votes
  • St
    Steptoe Feb 12, 2015

    My name is Elliott Steptoe on 02/11/2015 I went to Walmart to buy some things and could not use my Walmart money card, so I called Walmart customer service # the woman told me I needed to verify who I am, so I am uploading my Driver's License.

    0 Votes
  • Di
    diana moyer Oct 28, 2014

    i was never treated so bad in all my life do not do bissness with them they will hold your money against your will and you can call and call to no one that now anything

    0 Votes
  • Bl
    bliu Nov 10, 2013

    The same thing happen to me they asked me question about my sister 's and brother birthday. I have not talk to them for i while and don't remember what day its on. Old adresses I didn't know that they were security question and though it was none of her business how do i know she not going to sell my information. I have six sister's and one brother five kids I don't remember everything its not fair because the representative told me to keep trying until i get the security question right.i tried three times the last time i was approved and they sent me a card but than they flagged it and turn off the card telling me that i could never get a walmart card i called again to corporate number and the guy told me i should have got the question right the first time I said i did not know they were security question's. I need the card to pay back a student loan so the could just take the moeny off he didn't care he said there was nothing he could do. I said i cancelled the first two cards so it didn't look like fraud he did care i just wantt o know why the representative told me that i could keep trying it's preloadable card i just wanted to pay a bill there are other ways to get verification I was so mad. I was paying back a federal grant I had giving them the card number already now i have to find another way so sad thats not fraud they have all my information. BEWARE PLEASE THE PEOPLE DON'T CARE TO HELP OR WORK IT OUT

    0 Votes
  • Tr
    trudy duplessis Jan 13, 2013

    charges weremade on my walmartmoney card to Spriintless for amounts of 100.00 and 54.00. I do not have none of products. I did not order any of their products...

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    Jamison R Feb 21, 2012

    Was due a refund from Christmas and the card was reported lost or stolen and Walmart cancelled the card. I was told that my $39.97 would be send to me by mail. On 1/15/2012. Well its past that date and when i call the number on back of card now and state my name, im getting the run around.

    0 Votes
  • Go
    Gordie Martin Aug 28, 2011

    I loaded $1000.00 to my card to pay for my flight to las vegas and they told me my card was expired and that they couldnt use it. I need the money back or put on another card of mine or a new one fed ex to las vegas a.s.a.p. I have no money because of that

    0 Votes
  • Da
    DaveR3100 Sep 09, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Card is a scam!
    This card is a scam by GE capital and Walmart!
    No funds are available to the consumer until the permanent card arrives in the mail.
    This has been reported to several regulatory agencies.
    This one is ripe for class action.
    Card is a scam!

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Misskimberly Jul 10, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Well i did not have that problem but if i were you I would call the number on the card. You will get a person. Once you have you card activated pull all your money off it and go with a different prepaid card! My husband and I were robbed for 99.95, the posted transaction did not give detailed information. So we called and explained issue to them, they told us 10 buisness days, and even then no guarentees that we will get our money back. So your money is not safe with them. good luck to you :D

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    cheesymcgee Jul 10, 2010

    OMG that jsut hapend to me too !!!

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    cheesymcgee Jul 10, 2010

    i have bought a money card activated online AND over the phone it will not! . IT keeps teling me that it us in active !!!
    so did i loose all of my money i cant get ahold of ANY humans over the phone !!! any one eslse with this problem please help!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ru
    Ruben Gonzalez Apr 10, 2010

    I tried to pay for purchases online and even at a store and I get declined every time . I KNOW THERE is money in my visa account but I still get declined

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    Kellym Oct 06, 2009

    I called the number to activate. They would not acknowledge my birth date. I tried on line, and was told i needed a receipt from two weeks ago that i had thrown out. The way this card works is ridiculous. You would think a company as huge as walmart would come up with a better card.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    callieharvey Sep 03, 2009

    I loaded my walmart money card yesterday with $25.00, today I went to pay a bill online and was told my card was declined because I have no money loaded. I would appriciate getting my money put back on there or I will stop using the card and dealing with walmart altogether.

    0 Votes
  • Jt
    jt44 Jun 29, 2009

    ok how do you even go about refunding it?? i have one that i lost a while ago so i cant go online to check the balance and when i call the refund number i get an operator that just says "would you like to activate or leanr more?" not helpful at all! now im 150 dollares short.

    0 Votes
  • De
    dest May 26, 2009

    They wont even activate my temp. walmart money card nor will they refund my money i put on the card. The operater i talked to got hatefull with me as well.

    1 Votes
  • Ve
    Vera Apr 13, 2009

    I tried to obtain information concerning my moneycard through the internet. I put in my account number and I got the message that the number was invalid. I tried calling customer service and I only got a recording. The Federal government should look very carefully into this Walmart money card. Especially the hidden fees.

    -1 Votes
  • Mo
    Momoffour Mar 30, 2009

    The card holds $35 when you pay at the pump. It will credit your account back in a few days. All pumps have notices on them about this hold.

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Robert Feb 08, 2009

    I purchesed a walmart money card, and have been charged almost double what the original amount was. I had 77.75 for a balance. I bought 17.75 worth of gas at the pump. They say I now have a balance of 42.75. I dont understand. Then ask for a transaction history off the web site, all I get is an empty screen. Im not happy!!

    0 Votes
  • St
    Steven Jan 08, 2009

    Paid for prepaid wal mart money card and now i have been informed that my money card has an overdraft on it. How can a prepaid card obtain an overdraft! If i get a bill there will be legal action that will ensue.

    Paralegal

    0 Votes
  • Ad
    adrian smith Nov 19, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    i agree i wasn't able to use it as a credit card but i was able to use it with google chechout and paypal. both are much faster and easier in my opinion anyway. Though i still haven't received my personalized card and it's been over two weeks.

    0 Votes
  • Pr
    prayingforwalmartmoneycard Oct 13, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    On the 10th of October Walmart charged two unauthorized purchases to my account, when I telephoned the CSPR to dispute the charges she could not verify the purchase made, nor could she provide me an approval or confirmatin number.

    0 Votes
  • Do
    DOC Sep 13, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    THE ONLY REASON I PURCHASED THIS CARD WAS TO ORDER ON LINE, BUT IT DON'T WORK THIS IS THE SECOND CARD I BOUGHT AND SO FAR ALL I HAVE IS TWO CARDS AND LOST MONEY

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    Submit

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.