The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Walgreens Pharmacywould not fill a refill

T Review updated:

This is the second time this has happened in the last 6 months.

Tonight I tried to pick my class 3 controlled substance 2 days early. It's a refill. Insurance would not pay until tomorrow which was only 3 hours away. I asked if they would run it on my secondary insurance since I was there and picking up another script they told me no. So I said I would pay cash, again they told me no. The pharmacist at walgreens said I had to wait exactly 15 days from date of the last refill. It's a 15 day script.

Now they have put a flag in the computer saying they will have to call my doctor to get my refill. I'm sick of being treated like a criminal when I go in to pick my controlled substance up.

Because of this I have decided i'm going to transfer all off my scripts (8) to a local pharmacy.
Bottom line I'm fed up with getting looks and comments from the pharmacist and staff when I go to walgreens for my pain medicine.

Responses

  • Na
    Natalie13 Aug 08, 2021

    They can personally label you as "narcwatch" for any reason by anyone which means you are a suspect addict or pusher, they dont keep record of who put the label or why but its usually the cause of harrassment and rudeness in my own experience and not allowing me to fill my schedule 4 as early as anyone else and making me wait exactly 30 days for a 3p day scrpit i ask why they say "someone" left a note to wait, i ask why the note to wait theu dont know, so i say so let me get this straight youre making me wait bc someone maybe nit even a pharmacist left a comment to always make me wait without explanation and you are going against store policy to follow a NOTE! YEP sorry maam, and hangs up on me. Now i know why im sure they labled mw as this apparently is a common Walgreens practice, and to boot, my daughter's soon to be father in law in a pharmacist at Walgreens, im sure if and when he has or will look up my name hell have a pretty [censored]ty perception of me all bc of some "person" who did nit know me from adam for whatever reason stuck a label on me, i dont get opioids, i only get 1 sched 4 rx, every month for the last 5 years the dose has never changed and ive never asked them for a refill any earlier than im allowed.

    0 Votes
  • Li
    Liesl Evns Nov 29, 2021
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Natalie13 I had a similar problem. If I get profiled or humiliated I will proceed to go to an attorney. I will advise for you to do the same thing.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    danse_macabre Jan 18, 2017

    I agree with the complaint against Walgreen's

    0 Votes
  • Xr
    xro May 27, 2016

    I had the same problem with Walgreens for my Ambien. It last 30 days, sometimes I have to be there on the 29th day to get another blood pressure script and I ask if I can also pick it up. They always say no and that its exactly 30 days. The government does not require this as there is a 7 day rule per prescription written. Its not the Gov't as I work here, its walgreens. PS I am transferring to another pharmacy after this that is no associated with walgreens. I spoke to another pharmacist at a competitor who said they are being hard to deal with and people just will go elsewhere

    0 Votes
  • Da
    danse_macabre Jan 18, 2017

    @xro You're exactly right, Walgreens makes their own internal laws that are more stringent than state or federal law. The fact is that Walgreen's doesn't care about the patient; they care about covering their rear ends at the expense of the patient. Ultimately, Walgreen's is accountable first and foremost to their shareholders. Patients typically come in last in terms of priority. Walgreen's should be fighting for patients against the DEA, not cowardly bowing down by issuing secretive internal policies that make access to medications even more difficult. The executive team at Walgreen's corporate are simply cowards who refuse to allocate any legal resources to ongoing protection of patients. Instead, they have taken on the role of the drug store police. There are thousands of complaints against Walgreen's and they do absolutely nothing. Way to go Walgreen's! You officially suck!

    0 Votes
  • Da
    danse_macabre Apr 28, 2013

    I've had the same experience, Walgreens in St. Paul MN at Randolf loves to police patient medications in reckless disregard for the well being of the patient and intentions of the prescribing doctor.

    0 Votes
  • Rd
    Rduval Apr 20, 2013

    Walgreens treats people who have prescriptions for any controlled medication, like they're a drug addict...don't do any business with them...ever! They are a bunch of incompetent liars! I hate Walgreen pharmacists!

    0 Votes
  • Bl
    blinder Nov 21, 2010

    Binder has once again proven the theorem I+A=D. Internet+Anonymous=[censor]

    0 Votes
  • An
    angry_at_walgreens Dec 10, 2009

    Walgreens may be a business, but the pharmacists who work there like to flex their power. I have had numerous experiences where the Walgreens pharmacy would not fill my prescription, even though my doctor either wrote me the script or called it in. The last experience I was told it was a refill too soon. When I pointed out that it wasn't a refill (state law does not allow more than 30 day supply), it was a medicine that MY doctor prescribes me once a month. The pharmacist than told me it that my insurance wouldn't cover it, I replied that I would pay cash. She then said it was at her discretion to fill the prescription and she wasn't going to fill it. Not all pharmacists are lazy or so disappointed with their lives they have to exert power by withholding medication, Walgreens does seem to attract quite a few of them.

    0 Votes
  • binder Aug 31, 2009

    "I'm sick of being treated like a criminal when I go in to pick my controlled substance up."

    CONTROLLED SUBSTANCE. Not, "Get another refill whenever the hell I feel like it" substance. Walgreens is a business first and foremost. They would have sold you your drugs if not bound by law. I hope your doctor subscribes something for your rampant paranoia.

    2 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    Submit

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.